Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    86
    Ninja Theory’s vision of Devil May Cry series is a great Hack and Slash. Maybe Dante looks different now, but its killing abilities and badass attitude remain the same.
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    85
    The sense of characters being real emotional beings is far above most other releases, even if the actual emotions being displayed are not particularly new. If you've never played a Devil May Cry game, this is a somewhat lighter but far more entertaining offering. For series devotees, give it a chance - there's humour here plus action and depth if you crave it.
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    90
    You'll leave with the knowledge that sometimes better tech really does make for a better game. On the PC you read the battles better and more immediately and have an easier time, translating the desired action onto the screen. You really become a better fighter in this incarnation. In a genre where milliseconds can make all the difference, this ultimately makes for a more enjoyable experience in total. Ninja Theory really did go the extra mile for the PC, giving DmC the last little push it needed to become something really special.
  4. Jan 30, 2013
    90
    Obviously, DmC for PC is graphically better than the console counterparts. Fighting with Dante at 60fps is an amazing experience, with all the latest graphical effects you could imagine. Unfortunately no hi-res textures are present, but still it's an eye-candy roller-coaster.
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    85
    DMC: Devil May Cry sublimates the best of the genre and conquest PC user with a fast-paced and eye-catching title, made of pure action.
  6. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    There's no point in looking back: Dante has got a brand-new future in front of him, and if DmC: Devil May Cry is anything to go by, it's going to be a great one.
  7. Jan 16, 2013
    80
    Is the combat up to par with, say, Devil May Cry 3? Not quite. And no, the series will probably never top Devil May Cry 4's Dante vs Nero opening in terms of sheer testosterone-fueled zaniness. But Ninja Theory's managed to meld its own wildly inventive sensibilities with an obvious reverence for Devil May Cry's legacy, and the result is a very special experience.
  8. Jan 14, 2013
    82
    Capcom has done an excellent implementation for the PC.
  9. 90
    In what seems like commonplace lately, the PC version of DmC: Devil May Cry is the definitive version to play. While the mouse and keyboard controls aren't as precise as playing with a controller, the graphical upgrades and increase in frame rate make an already impressive game even more stunning.
  10. Feb 4, 2013
    88
    It is elegant gameplay combined with a nice social commentary on the side which makes it unique, and I can’t recall the number of times I smiled as I performed a perfect combo.
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    89
    Long-time Devil May Cry fans unsure of Ninja Theory's treatment can abandon their fears. DmC hurls Dante into a newer, better world, complete with a glorious combat system and enough style to make old Dante proud...This is digital action at its finest.
  12. Feb 11, 2013
    85
    DMC is a really nice game as well as the QLOC PC porting. Significant visual impact, flawless optimization, good performances even with medium-low hardware configurations. It's a game that takes some distance from the previous installments of the saga and the white-haired Dante no longer exists, but is it really a problem?
  13. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    It might not be what Devil May Cry fans have been praying for, but it's a damn good game in its own right. It's like that, and that's the way it is.
  14. Jan 25, 2013
    88
    DmC Devil May Cry is a great reboot and an excellent action game. Its PC version can run at 60 fps, and shows better graphics!
  15. Jan 29, 2013
    83
    Whatever your thoughts on the redesigned Dante, this is a worthy entry in the series with a marvellous combat system at its core.
  16. Jan 14, 2013
    89
    Beautiful visuals, challenging gameplay – Ninja Theory's reboot of the Devil May Cry series is already one of the best action games of 2013.
  17. Jun 10, 2013
    90
    It’s an awesome game, despite its flaws. Whether you like the young Dante or not, is purely a matter of personal taste. But that’s not an excuse to ignore this gem. [March 2013]
  18. Feb 14, 2013
    78
    Graphical flaws and overly linear gameplay aside, DmC is a solid first installment in the relaunched franchise.
  19. Feb 5, 2013
    85
    Ninja Theory's last game is an amazing experience. This is the most complete version of DMC Devil May Cry, although there is no support for DirectX 11 and the game suffer from some minor technical issues.
  20. Jan 29, 2013
    80
    Overall if you've got the rig and a game controller plugged in then DmC: Devil May Cry is great start to a new direction for the series, and hopefully one that will get to keep exploring this new, grittier Dante.
  21. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    It may not be for hardcore fans of the series who are attuned to a particular playstyle, but for everyone else DmC: Devil May Cry is a highly accomplished character action game with a lot to love. It’s a different type of game than its predecessors but one that’s wholly successful at what it does, bringing relevancy back to the Devil May Cry name.
  22. Feb 6, 2013
    95
    The game really is just pure fun to play. On a high end PC, the game looks amazing in cut scenes and in the fast-paced combat. If you are an action game fan, you owe it to yourself to own DmC. You will not be disappointed.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1396 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 265
  1. Jan 25, 2013
    10
    I played all DMC games before, I loved them all, personally I loved most first and third.
    At first I was very angry about reboot. Turned
    blind eye to a game and my opinion was full of hatred... But then... Well it's stupid compare reboot to a old games. I mean story and writting isn't best really, but gameplay, environments, concept is really nice. And music isn't very monotonic. To be fair it's something new in gaming, some fresh air.... It might not a some deep masterpiece, but it's a good game to have fun, and games supposed to be fun. Also I'm happy with good PC performance, nice to eye graphics and smooth gameplay.
    Thanks for creating something new, I'm sorry fot those closed minded guys who can't enjoy anything and must act like mindless fanatics. No one forces play it, and I saw a game as a new game. It is nothing like old one, but it's better than repeating old stuff.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    8
    It's my first review on this site so do not take it too seriouily, however seeing this game receive only 5.6 reviewers rating is what i call a I played throughout first DMC more than few times and playing this one gave me as much fun. It's true that new dante isn't the old one but it didn't stop me from enjoying the gamplay, level design and story. Soundtrack builds tense atmosphere which suits hack and slash game as well. I believe 8 out of 10 suits this game well, it lacks good lock on system and its not much of chalenge but i had tons of fun playing. Full Review »
  3. Jan 26, 2013
    6
    In short: Great action game, I like the style and everything, but a bad Devil May Cry. In Detail: The thing is, if you have never played another dmc or just played it because your friend had a copy and you gave it a try, you will not be disappointed with the new one. But I always liked the Old Dante and loved the Games, not only because of the action and the white hair, but because of the whole over the top coolness. Dante is supposed to be a smooth dude who always finds the write words to make you grin, he is not supposed to feel like "a real guy" with "real feelings" that Full Review »