Doom 3 BFG Edition PC

Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Oct 23, 2012
    74
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 30, 2012
    60
    Doom 3 still works as a linear shooter but its new release is charmless. Try it if you weren't able to play it during its original release or if you are a devoted collector. Otherwise you can skip it easily. [Dec 2012]
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    60
    Doom 3: BFG Edition is the epitome of an old-school first-person shooter, and while it still holds up quite well compared to today's mastodons the age of eight long years seems to weigh in on the game. The shooting is not as compelling anymore, the scares is often bland and repetitive and overall the changes Id Software has implemented is not all that great.
  4. Oct 25, 2012
    60
    Truth be told, Doom 3 has held up better than I expected. It's still a game with both its feet in the nineties, and one whose haunted house antics work best in small doses. But when it clicks, it does so with the resounding blast of a shotgun to the face. As a package, though, the BFG Edition is hardly the be all, end all in all things Doom most people might have expected. None of the games in this box comes in its best form, which basically tells you all you need to know.
  5. Oct 23, 2012
    60
    Ιncluding Doom and Doom II, the remastered version of Doom III is a very good opportunity mostly for home console gamers to see what the forefathers of the FPS genre is all about, although stiff competition and natural evolution of the genre may put off a large chunk of modern day gamers.
  6. Nov 9, 2012
    56
    What is the point of this "improved" edition if it looks much worse than the original DOOM 3 with the fan-made Sikkmod installed?
  7. Oct 30, 2012
    50
    We have been spoilt in subsequent years, which isn't Doom 3's fault. The unfortunate truth remains that it is more of a chore to revisit than a joy.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 215 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 47
  2. Negative: 15 out of 47
  1. Oct 18, 2012
    3
    When the words "remastered", "enhanced", "new campaign" and others are thrown around you'd expect a whole new rich experience and honestly iWhen the words "remastered", "enhanced", "new campaign" and others are thrown around you'd expect a whole new rich experience and honestly i was also lured into playing this when "includes a copy of Doom and Doom II" came to my attention, and what was that end product again: A mediocre attempt to improve graphics that can already be improved even better with FREE mods and an unoptimized Doom & Doom II that any decent source port can run flawlessly in widescreen resolution and with full mouse view support, add to that the lackluster graphic options in Doom 3 and what you get is a disappointing package that could have been the ultimate gaming compilation of recent years, shame on you John Carmack for letting this game slide. Full Review »
  2. Oct 23, 2012
    3
    Not even close to being worth your money. First of all if you're buying this for PC.. DON'T. Get the original, don't ruin the experience byNot even close to being worth your money. First of all if you're buying this for PC.. DON'T. Get the original, don't ruin the experience by playing this version, please.

    They have brightened it up to the point that it ruins the atmosphere at points. The textures and models actually look terrible because they've been dulled down for consoles. The game looks terrible but runs perfect.

    Just buy the original, Doom 1 and 2 buy separately next time there's an id sale. I couldn't make my way through this again, even being a big fan of Doom 3 and I really can't see the justification of spending 30 euro on it.

    It gets 3 points for the Lost Missions and that's it. Everything else is a subpar product that has been ruined by Id's boner for consoles.

    I got as far as the Alpha Labs and just couldn't go on butchering the good memories I had of scaring myself **** with Doom 3.

    Even the Doom 1 and 2 emulators are terrible, with a minimal of options in them.

    On that note, let me be clear ; THERE ARE NO GRAPHIC ADJUSTMENT OPTIONS WHATSOEVER

    I repeat, if you have played Doom 3 before on PC.. do not buy this unless you are comfortable spending 30 euro on 10 mod level quality extra missions. Really I wouldn't bother, it's the most justified pirate ever

    All I wanted out of this was high res textures with a bit of nifty motion blur, instead I got a botched Doom 3 with almost blocky graphics and textures. It really is actually WORSE than the original.

    I will be playing the Lost Missions, but honestly I'm not that arsed seeing how badly they have butchered the experience

    Not worth your 30 bones

    RIP Id Software
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 16, 2012
    6
    Doom is an awesome game, it rightly deserves it's accolades to the world of FPS. However, this isn't something you should spend your money on.Doom is an awesome game, it rightly deserves it's accolades to the world of FPS. However, this isn't something you should spend your money on. If you already own Doom3 on PC and have downloaded any of the great mods available for free there is really no reason to buy this game. If you've never played it, by all means pick this up, otherwise save your dough for something else. I wanted some crazy update to the graphics or levels/gameplay. I was saddened by what I got. Full Review »