Doom 3 PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 862 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AE
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now 8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now gone,)I've not since had any problems with the game whatsoever. The main problem with the game is that there really is no story to speak of, no DRAMA, no compelling reason to keep playing other than sheer visuals (don't think Halo, or even Riddick...) I mean Doom II had a way better story line, atleast your actions clearly would decide the fate of the orbiting remainder mankind... and the lack of music, really any kind of dramatic music whatsoever save the 1 title track at the menu, really really detracts from the game as a whole. It feels like a wierd twist of Resident evil and Quake 3, with Max Payne style gameplay. Doom was my favorite game ever until Halo came along. Doom 3 fails to best Halo, or even Quake, frankly EITHER Quake, in single player or (obviously) in multiplayer. Like the graphics, disappointed by the experience as a whole though. Stick to a simpler, clearer, more dramatic plot + Trent Reznor for the music. Oh -and make the enemies way smarter, I was truly inclined to believe they had eaten each other's brains. Expand
  2. M.Nelson
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best qualities of the game experience have been underestimated until doom3. Expand
  3. ThomasM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Bottom-line is that this game is better than all FPS' that lie before it. The expectations were ENORMOUS and .id. still kept up and delivered. Like always. Definitly worth fifty bucks for the 20-plus hours of hell-on-mars you'll go through.
  4. JohnD.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    A very good game.
  5. WesE.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    While not as masterful or brilliantly concieved as Resident Evil 4, Doom 3 is way mor tightly coiled and balls-to-the-wall scary. The graphics are some of the best around, and when you first see the Hellknight, you'll be a believer.
  6. JasonK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Enough with the pansy shooters , enough subtlity, enough with Half Life 2. Doom 3 ROCKS!!! Take a break from fresh air and be ready to be put back into the middle of terror, both physical and mental. Doom 3 will most positively overwhelm you, it'll test your nerves and sever your weak part out. This game is a piece of GREAT ART!!!
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    I dont know anything about computers but this game runs just about perfect on my pc. This game is very scaleable on most machines. People who say this is bad are quite wrong and this game ranks right up there with half life 2, far cry, and all those great fps. Though slightly repetitive at times, this is a great game and deserves your money.
  8. Billy-joeR.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    Pros: excellent graphics, simple but effective controls, fgreat lighting effects cons: not really that scary, because the zombies are so darn slooooow, so you see them comiing while their 20 feet away overview: an allaround good game but needs improvment in the scaryness area, where silent hill among others defeat it.
  9. DeanM.
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting well is splinter cell, but the setting of that game doesn't allow the fullest to be displayed. The effects from normal stuff like firing your gun is great, the effects from the scripted points are astounding, disappearing footprints, whispers, children crying, you name it. If you're Christian, excellent for you, here's your chance to prove to God your faith against the Devil, otherwise even better, you're a space marine with no where to go except forward, towards the depths to wage with experimental weapons. The graphics are nothing less than how you see your own hands now, and when used to created a dark, deathly, claustrophobic, life consuming evironment, together with life-like audio... nuf said. the game requirements are also quite scalable to your machine specs, and high ended systems will create more realism. only dissatisfaction i have is the lenght of the game, and the end part of it, other than that, the game is scary, yet action-packed (trust me its good enough for fps vets). - Eagerly looking forward to the expansion. Expand
  10. Sotamarsu
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    It's one of the best games in Linux. It's also easy and fast to install in Gentoo. This game makes you hate dark places and breaking walls. Last boss is quite easy.
  11. A.H.
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    i grew up playing the original doom games and this is not a sequel but a scary but slighltly repitive legacy to the orignals.
  12. VictorU.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    It has an awesome atmosphere and a unique style of gameplay.
  13. Pete
    Aug 11, 2007
    8
    Great game, just need to have more and updated online content.
  14. PeterB.
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    While somewhat repetitive, Doom 3 not only has a great atmosphere but, like every id game, has helped move the technology bar higher in gaming.
  15. JoumanJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing game.
  16. EazyC.
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    Doom 3 is awesome. I still play it all the time.
  17. PaulL.
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Many say it defined a genre from day 1, and that is still true and frankly, I don't see it changing for many years to come.
  18. KevinD.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    This game was, the atmospheres playing it at night with headphone on was creepy and playing it on nightmare trying to kill the last boss was indeed hard.
  19. AnonymousMC
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if
    One of the most frightening experiences you'll ever encounter in a PC or Xbox game. It should be understood, however, that Doom 3 delivers best in it's single-player and flops in its multiplayer. If you're expecting to relive the good ol' days of Doom's fast-paced, kill-em'-all style, then Doom 3 will disappoint.

    Worth playing through at least once, and if you can handle it...twice.
    Expand
  20. DuncleP.
    Nov 10, 2004
    9
    Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant Alright. Gather round. It's time for an important life lesson. Making a really inept attempt at disrespect regarding a game with a big budget from a big company like Id does not make you cooler. Becoming bitter and whiny because your PCs were not prepared for the graphics and you misspent your money does not make you cooler either. Ignoring the fact that Doom 3 does what it is meant to do FLAWLESSLY and instead joining a mass of unqualified morons in making lame insults that are meant to sound like something from a gaming magazine makes you much less cool. "Old game packaged in a new, shiny box"? For god's sake, take some anti-trite juice and wake the f*ck up. The actual professional game reviewers gave it OVERWHELMINGLY good scores. Stop wasting time trying to turn your dumbass stabs at cynicism into some sort of hip, anti-capitalist statement and buy a new video card. I'm finished here. Expand
  21. MarkH.
    Oct 13, 2004
    9
    DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy DOOM 3 is simply, in a word, DOOM. It is as it advertises itself, simple, but visceral. There are no loops thrown. If you have come for major innovation, you have come to the wrong place. But if you seek a game that makes no excuses about simply being a video game, a game that honestly doesn't need to be consistent, true to life, and overly complicated, as long as you get to destroy some frigging demons, then you've come to the right place. Personally, i enjoy the absence of peeking around corners and vehicles and silly dual function complicated weapons. this is as visceral and intense as it gets. For the flaws in the game, there'll be a mod coming sooner or later to fix that. To the Half-Life 2 fanboys lurking every which way, play through the entire game and see why DOOM3 reminds me of Half-Life so damn much. Expand
  22. MysterE
    Oct 14, 2004
    9
    What can we say? It's Doom all over again, and it cant be a bad thing. Finally John Carmack has made the game he always wanted the original to be. It's nothing revoutionary, but who said it was going to be? Just a good old fashioned shooter with oodles of atmosphere, great story line as far as it goes and some of best enemies to grace the PC.
  23. kthuluTALESFROMMARS
    Aug 11, 2004
    10
    Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Excellent Graphics, loads of hardware demands though, i play on a 2.8 with 5900fx and 1k ram and i loose sometimes enough frames on 1024X768, still enjoy though. But other than this, graphics rock, but limited movement. I expected more, only because magazines made me to. I recon this game is worth playing and deserves respect. I expect my self to see new games using this awesome engine. Also the PDA idea looks like stolen from Deus Ex, a game which its engine looks also similar to doom3, anyway im not that technichal to say excatly what looks the same but it has the same felling in its gameplay, and some dynamic lights, as well as graphics. I would love to play a game with Doom's3 Graphics and UNREAL 2004 gameplay. And i dont know if you read Carmacks review, but the guy said in the UKs pcgamer that in 10-20 years time the computers will have all the processing power they need to render games in proper photorealistic 3d environments. I agree with someone above that this game is the Engine. ISdefinatelly one step forwards. enjoy. Expand
  24. BitBurn
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    I must say, I've just been playing my first 2-hour shift of Doom 3 and man it's pretty amazing to look at and, most importantly, to listen to! Graphic and audio alone blows away the competition. Gameplay, well, it's still pretty basic. Nothing new here and that's aiight. Typical FPS. Storyline so far is pretty cool. I dig it!
  25. TerryD.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically Man, I can't understand how anyone can give Doom3 anything less than a 10 rating! Everything is here - amazing visuals, outstanding sound, perfectly balanced game play, and the most twisted looking monsters ever, all in a totally immersive environment. So much so that I was playing the other night with the lights out and in full surround sound, creeping through a new area tactically trying to figure out that the best approach would be when my wife stuck her head into the room and quietly said Expand
  26. GodGOD
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!! what are people talking about...the performance is great... This is my computer: 1.2ghz Celeron(under requirements) 512mb Sdram pc133 ATI Radeon 9200 128mb ddr I can play with 800x600 res...medium quality and all the special effects on...there are slowdowns but none of the slowdowns make it unplayable... OMFG Thief 3(1-15)fps and Deus ex: IW(1-19fps) ran slower with low detail and 640x480 res and both those games graphics are crap compared to Doom 3!!! DOOM 3 IS AWESOME!!!!!! Expand
  27. BradG.
    Aug 18, 2004
    9
    Great game. Graphics are simply stunning. Ut2k4 DOES NOT look nearly this good. The single player is the real treat in this game. Great scares, good story, fun gameplay. I love this game. Multiplayer is lacking until more mods come out.
  28. CraigS.
    Apr 15, 2005
    8
    This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case This game was strangely compelling, calling me back to complete another level, but at the same time, exhasuting me after 1-2 hours. I enjoyed the throw back to simpler shooter fun (same appeal as Serious Sam). Only complaints are the cheap kills as monsters spawn behind you or jump out of closets, and the insessant need to find PDAs to access secured areas - I had 4 pages of notes in case I had to go back! Otherwise, an exciting and addictive ride to Hell and back. Expand
  29. AnonymousMC
    Nov 1, 2007
    9
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.
    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell
    I don't know what is ppl thinking, this game owns
    When doom 1 got out, it was principally to scare people, in 1990 , when it got out, people got scared with those bloody demons trying to kill you.

    Doom 3 has fucken great graphics, which it makes it more scary / creepy. It has all the elements to have panic when demons getting near. People were talking about the story, who the hell cares the story? This game was made to SCARE, understand? Scare u moronish shit, Its quite long too. And for people that thinks that this is repetitive and doom 2 not.... dunno what happen to em.
    I would give a 10 to this game, but i just give 10 to games that REALLY impact me
    Expand
  30. RodrigoK.
    Aug 14, 2007
    9
    It's a great game, great athmosphere. Doom 3 don't pretend to be inovative or revolutionary, just fun and it does!
  31. ChrisC.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great Awesome graphics. Amazingly dark, fear-drenched atmosphere. And fun. The set-pieces, while VERY repetitive, are fun to carry through nonetheless, with extremely visceral, "Oh my God how did I survive that" combat against some scary demons. Some of the most detailed level design ever, with a Martian-facility theme that manages to pump out some very unique, distinguishable locales. A great game, scary and epic the first time through. Remember to turn the lights off, close the blinds, crank up the 5.1, and be ready to crap your pants! Expand
  32. AgulH.
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    The graphics of this game were groundbraking. But I don't like the graphical Style in this game. But still this game is made to scare you. And it will. At least if you have a good Soundcard. The Music is brilliant and the Sounds are excellent.
  33. Doomlord
    Nov 21, 2004
    10
    I have seen some horrible reviews in the past but people just don't understand what a good game is anymore.The are some appalling reviews for Doom3 and it deserves much better.Doom3 has now surpassed every game's physics engine.doom3 is the best llooking game on the market.It is close to lifelike and the creatures can come from anywhere(moslty dark spots) but it is a perfect I have seen some horrible reviews in the past but people just don't understand what a good game is anymore.The are some appalling reviews for Doom3 and it deserves much better.Doom3 has now surpassed every game's physics engine.doom3 is the best llooking game on the market.It is close to lifelike and the creatures can come from anywhere(moslty dark spots) but it is a perfect add-on to the classic doom series and id could not have made it look better. Do not be thrown off buying it just because the graphics are far more than your computer can produce.My computer is 2.6GHz with 512MB and 128Ti4800 video and it runs fine on high settings.Truely a 10 and the engines used might get it over the line of Halo2 and half-life 2 but there is no denying that both rock.Keep it up id and good luck with Doom4. Expand
  34. Hellsing
    Dec 11, 2004
    10
    This game is great!! I don't understand the retards on here saying it sucks because it's just a better version of the old game. Of course it is! Thats why its so great! Same style just helluva lot better graphics and atmosphere, and scary as hell!
  35. Doom3killermaster
    Dec 23, 2004
    10
    I would give it a 100 but u dont have it. its the best game for metalheads period kill 4 fun haill to all doom fans.
  36. AnthonyS.
    Dec 11, 2006
    9
    To anyone who gave this game lower than an 8: You are completely missing the point. Before you review this game, take a moment and ask yourself where it has come from. You're forgetting the days of DOOM & DOOM II. This game takes the original concept those FPS's were designed around and actualizes it -- It is meant to be a psychologically crippling fright-fest FIRST and a FPS To anyone who gave this game lower than an 8: You are completely missing the point. Before you review this game, take a moment and ask yourself where it has come from. You're forgetting the days of DOOM & DOOM II. This game takes the original concept those FPS's were designed around and actualizes it -- It is meant to be a psychologically crippling fright-fest FIRST and a FPS SECOND. Anyone who spent their childhood growing up on the Doom series would understand where I'm coming from here. The games were repetitive as hell, but that didn't mean they weren't still fun as hell. That having been said, a well-thought out reviewer will compare this game to the originals - not to HL2, CS, Far Cry, or any of that stuff. (After all... they were the father of all that came afterwards.) In my opinion, this game does a very good job of improving on some of the mistakes of past games. First, although the gameplay may be linear, at least you don't go searching around levels for HOURS trying to figure out where to go next. Instead, you don't go in circles, and you're free to advance through the storyline. Which brings me to my second point: the storyline here is a 9/10 in my opinion. Very well written. Now you may say "It's been done before." True, but ID Software takes an old idea and brings it back to life! The story definitely adds to the psychological effect the game has on the player. (Which brings me to point 3) The game's lighting & graphics really bring out what the original creators were visualizing over a decade and a half ago. I could go on and on, though I guess I'll just say I'm happy with the outcome. (the lighting is astounding!!) The only negatives were that the guns weren't all that fun to use, (I ended up sticking to the shotgun almost the whole game) and monsters never came out from the ceiling or floor (really bummed me out.) Other than that, bravo iD Software!! Hope the next game's even better. Expand
  37. Nov 22, 2015
    8
    Wow! Pretty scary game. I crapped my pants couple of times :)) nothing major, but still an inconvenience. Anyway, was fun playing this one. Awesome graphics, really atmospheric environment, cool weapons, good action movie style story, claustrophobic feeling of loneliness and someone watching you. . . BAM! U dead son! :))
  38. Jun 13, 2016
    10
    Too frightening for me to even get close to finishing, but it was a 10 from what I played in 2004. The Graphics were top notch back when I had my Radeon 9800 Pro, and the sound on my Klipsch Promedia 2.1 system was phenomenal. Simply put, Doom 3 was the scariest game I ever played. Even more so than the original Resident Evil when I was a kid.

    I might have to just buckle down and
    Too frightening for me to even get close to finishing, but it was a 10 from what I played in 2004. The Graphics were top notch back when I had my Radeon 9800 Pro, and the sound on my Klipsch Promedia 2.1 system was phenomenal. Simply put, Doom 3 was the scariest game I ever played. Even more so than the original Resident Evil when I was a kid.

    I might have to just buckle down and beat Doom 3 BFG since there is an auto flashlight on your weapon, lol. Seriously, the sound effects in this game and the lighting made the environments the best in a survival horror game.
    Expand
  39. Aug 7, 2014
    10
    This game is the **** **** 8/8 m8 .
  40. Sep 7, 2015
    10
    Graphics Revolution in 2003, Beautiful soundtrack in main menu, amazing animation and sound effects. Today I'm waiting for new DOOM (4).
    I want recommend for all gamers.
  41. Jun 28, 2014
    8
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways. The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings... To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    This is a modern-version of the classic DooM.
    The enemies are familiar and so are the weapons
    The characters you encounter are quite decent and you can get along with their ways.
    The cut-scenes put you on the edge and make you exited for the next event
    however, the only problem i have encountered are the difficulty settings...
    To me there's "Very easy" "Easy" "Hard" and "impossible"
    I want something in between the "Easy" and "hard"

    Still, Great game.
    Expand
  42. Dec 17, 2015
    9
    A phenomenal shooter with plenty of scary sequences. One of the best games of 2004 IMO. A must play in my opinion. The graphics in this game, even in 2015, are still great and take advantage of the atmosphere. I prefer the originals a lot more than DOOM 3, but this is still a great modern FPS.
  43. Mar 25, 2015
    8
    doom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which isdoom 3 combines elements of survival horror and traditional fps games very well. this game is truly quite scary for the majority of its run time and is bloody fun to play. I feel that it starts to get a little bit boring after you've gotten atleast halfway through because the story doesn't really add anything to the game and there is no variety to the gameplay besides shooting which is fine I just wish that they could of incorporated some situations that acquired you to change tactics but you pretty much just want to strafe and shoot. besides the story being only acceptable and the gameplay getting a bit old near the last bit of the game doom is a great game and I can imagine it being a big deal during its time of release Expand
  44. May 13, 2016
    10
    Doom 3 was far ahead of it's time. I enjoyed it a lot, even replaying it was fun. It has a great survival horror atmosphere, great map designs , great plot , great optimization that let it run on my celeron back in 2004. I still own the box and it's one of my favorite game of all time, I like it more than 90s doom.
  45. Jun 4, 2016
    8
    I hadn't even heard of this game until the release of the fourth installment. So I purchased this game (much cheaper price tag than the new one) to dip my toes in the water. I was a little afraid that I wouldn't be able to enjoy the game as a result of outdated graphics, but this wasn't an issue. The game was indeed repetitive but it was also great fun and it has a great atmosphere.I hadn't even heard of this game until the release of the fourth installment. So I purchased this game (much cheaper price tag than the new one) to dip my toes in the water. I was a little afraid that I wouldn't be able to enjoy the game as a result of outdated graphics, but this wasn't an issue. The game was indeed repetitive but it was also great fun and it has a great atmosphere. For what it costs in 2016 this is still a great buy. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.