User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 753 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 95 out of 753

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Skunk
    Aug 24, 2004
    4
    The most overrated game ever. Anyone who gave this game a score >6 is a retread.
  2. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    After replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lotAfter replaying this game, it has stricken me yet again just how masterful id Software is at crafting no-excuses video games. They took a simply story, tried and true since 1993, and crafted such a fantastically detailed, depressingly immersive world around it that you will understand exactly why the pioneer of the modern video game experience spent a full five years working on it. A lot of soul was poured into this game, with expansive, breathtaking, claustrophobic levels that clock in at nearly a day's worth of playtime -- not something that can be said of the shooters of 2010.

    While the antics of a deranged scientist might not be all that deep an contemplative, and while the scares might sometimes come across as cheap and closet-popping, the action for the last two-thirds of the game is absolutely frantic and paced very much like the Doom we all loved, while the demonic invasion pulls you in with no apologies for its themes. From the poorly-lit blood-soaked halls of the Delta Labs, to the awe-inspiring swathes of Martian landscape traversed on the Monorail, to the distinctly otherplanar and highly disturbing realm of Hell itself, there truly is no substitute for the world Doom 3 pulls you into with the crushing grip of a Hellknight.

    If you use a flashlight mod for your weapons, or complain about the stifling darkness of the locales, you really are missing the point. This is Mars, suffering a demonic invasion. If you want a well-lit seizure-inducing action-packed experience, the Call of Duty series might be for you. For the rest of us, this dark, disturbing romp will suffice.
    Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2010
    10
    Awesome visuals, terrifying environment make it the best horror FPS game till date. Darkness in the game is just perfect to engross you. The game also has a great repeat value.
  4. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    The first couple of levels scared me a bit. But then the game just dragged on. All of the environments look the same, the guns feel akward, and the scares just turn silly. Also, if your going to make a game where it is incredibly dark, be sure to add night vision, not a flash light that you have to hold instead of a weapon.
  5. Col
    Aug 26, 2004
    3
    Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is Big disappointment. Gorgeous bump mapped models (when you can see them) with ridiculously low rez silhouettes. The best way to describe playing this game is like waking up in the middle of the night and, in a half concious state, trying to stagger to the bathroom in the dark. It's just awful. And there is no gamma correction feature! How id could screw this franchise up so badly is beyond me. This ain't a DOOM game at all - the other 2 were good... Expand
  6. Nov 30, 2011
    3
    Doom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, butDoom 3 fails is every aspect except graphics. But eye candy does not make a game great. The weapons are underpowered, demons spawning behind you gets old, very old, no ability to explore the surface of the planet, maps are confusing with lots of backtracking. In case id does not know, having to find a key to open a door is lame. That style of game might have been ok in the 1900s, but today its just a dumb idea. If you want to play a real doom game, go play the Ultimate Doom. Expand
  7. JamieL.
    Aug 24, 2004
    0
    Boring and the satanic theme is ugly and its too predictable and you need a stupidly good PC to get any speed out of it. How can they justify advertising on the box such as min req: 384 MB ram ? Overmarketed hyped rubbish!
  8. Sep 27, 2011
    8
    Having completed Doom 3 twice on Xbox and once on PC, I'd give it a solid 9. In my opinion one of the better FPS games around. Doom 3 is very intense and atmospheric and would keep you on the edge from start to finish. Should you let your guard down for a second and an enemy would pop out of nowhere and damage you greatly. Doom 3 manages to place enemies in all the right spots. Even laterHaving completed Doom 3 twice on Xbox and once on PC, I'd give it a solid 9. In my opinion one of the better FPS games around. Doom 3 is very intense and atmospheric and would keep you on the edge from start to finish. Should you let your guard down for a second and an enemy would pop out of nowhere and damage you greatly. Doom 3 manages to place enemies in all the right spots. Even later on into the game once you get used to monsters doing that, it still manages to make you jump. With some FPS games all you do is just shoot as many monsters coming your way as fast as you possibly can. No brain cells involved, just let all the ammo loose. *coughPainkillercough* With Doom 3 it's not like that. Enemies come out at unexpected moments, they ambush you, they actually use various attacks (as opposed to just plainly charging head on towards you). Now admittedly Doom 3 can get repetitive, because majority of areas and levels look very much alike. However the game at least puts effort in varying the gameplay slightly by introducing new monsters every now and then, which get tougher further into the game, and also you find a lot of new guns, such as minigun, plasma gun, rocket launcher, chainsaw and even the good ol BFG. And all this is done in fantastic graphics, which are truly mindblowing, managing to engross you. Apart from just going and shooting monsters, you do need to pay attention to things such as PDAs which you pick up from dead guards and scientists, and read through the emails and listen to audio logs, for they often have valuable information, such as cabinet codes and such. Although mostly linear, and lacking in bonus content, Doom 3 is still a solid game. Expand
  9. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    It has good graphics, but that is it!
    The gameplay sucks, you have to reload and you can't see a bloody thing!
    Wanna play a doom game? Buy Ultimate Doom and learn dosbox!
  10. KestasK
    Jan 4, 2010
    9
    First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II First time I saw the demo it seemed like more of a tech demo than an actual game, but I recently got it cheap and decided to give it an honest go. It is produced very well, the story isn't just an excuse for the game to happen but is done very well. "Hell breaks loose on a Mars research outpost" sounds cliche, but they really run with it. It is scary, but only in the way Doom I&II were. The gameplay, enemies, and weapons are all very much like previous Doom games, as is the level design. The basic concepts behind Doom have been hugely modernized, some extras added to enrich the story, but really it's Doom gameplay executed brilliantly for mid-late 2000s hardware. If that appeals to you you should have already checked it out by now, if it doesn't then avoid, but either way this doesn't deserve the people who say this is just a tech demo, it really is a proper game. Expand
  11. JK
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Very intense game, full of non-stop action.
  12. MichaelO.
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    If you like Scary game this game is for YOU It will scare the living out of you.
  13. abcdef
    Jan 6, 2009
    8
    OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a OK this a more a review on these user reviews than Doom 3. First I think I should clear up a few things, as many of these user reviews are entirely wrong. So wrong in fact that it seems as if they've played another game, couldn't remember its name and then for some reason come to the conclusion that the game that they played was called Doom 3. For example, Andy D mentions a level where you go to heaven and become an angel. Don't know what he's talking about as there's no such level. Benjamin L mentions a gravity gun. That's in the game's expansion pack and not in the game itself. He also complains that there's only one boss in the entire game, which is ridiculous considering that there's 4 very distinct bosses and some encounters which can be considered mini-boss battles. The list of inaccuracies goes on, as people who claim to have only played the game for 15 minutes reckon they can review it. I reckon it takes a while to really get into any game. Doom 3 is a very repetitive and basic FPS and it's not all that scary but it does have an eerie and tense environment and some very good moments. Most Doom fans wanted to see their favourite child hood game remade and that's exactly what ID have done and they've accomplished this very well. It allows fans to play the original Doom games but now it looks and plays much better. If Doom 3 had an extensive plot and a set of new weapons all with alternative ammo and firing modes it still would have been canned by gamers for destroying the Doom franchise. If you gave this game a 0 its because you don't like FPS horror survival games...so if you're not a fan of the genre why are you playing and reviewing this game. If you are fan of this genre and gave it a 0 then there's something wrong considering that this is much more fun than most horror survival FPS' and has a far simpler plot than all the others which attempt stories which are usually convoluted or undeveloped, like F.E.A.R or Condemned. Expand
  14. DavidS.
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if You know, I didn't pay full price for this game, so maybe my opinion is biased, but I'm actually having quite a lot of fun. It's not Penumbra: Overture terrifying, but the atmosphere is tense. The weapons aren't anything terribly unique, but they are actually quite well designed with nice little details (for instance, the SMG will leave smoke hovering in the air if fired for an extended period of time). The actual action was, in my opinion, very fun and visceral. Although more destructible environments would have been a plus, and corpses staying on the ground after dying would have been nice too, I think I actually prefer the combat in Doom 3 to the combat in FEAR (yes, I said it). If you want an experience more akin to the original Dooms, pick up the amazing game 'Painkiller'. But if you want an evolved version of Doom, this is a great game to play. Expand
  15. KaitlynM.
    Mar 31, 2005
    0
    This game is horrible! i mean, holy crap, the guns are so friggin stupid! they are all basically the same thing, they just look and sound different. same damage and everything. and what is up with the AI? there is NONE! the enemies just run towards you in a straight line, it's friggin stupid! what were they thinking? and to think, they complained about only spending 4 years on it,This game is horrible! i mean, holy crap, the guns are so friggin stupid! they are all basically the same thing, they just look and sound different. same damage and everything. and what is up with the AI? there is NONE! the enemies just run towards you in a straight line, it's friggin stupid! what were they thinking? and to think, they complained about only spending 4 years on it, when a much better game spent 6 years on it, and beat the living shit outta it. if you like this game, you have never played a real first person shooter. Expand
  16. KyleS
    Dec 24, 2008
    8
    This game was amazing for it's time. Even today I play it. You can make the game change to any resolution to anything you want through the .cfg files but a lot of people didn't know that so it was hard to change it. It does support 5.1 Surround sound witch comes in handy for people with surround sounds. It actually makes the game scary because you know were they are but cant This game was amazing for it's time. Even today I play it. You can make the game change to any resolution to anything you want through the .cfg files but a lot of people didn't know that so it was hard to change it. It does support 5.1 Surround sound witch comes in handy for people with surround sounds. It actually makes the game scary because you know were they are but cant find them to realize they will jump out into your face. The weapons didn't look the best but still had some good choices. The adventure of finding PDA's to get into doors made it more then just a run a shoot game. The light though is the problem. Running around with a flashlight then having to switch back into another weapon made it hard but wasn't a total disaster. Over all a good games with some little miner flaws. Expand
  17. JarettE.
    Apr 13, 2008
    6
    I have to say i love this game, because it's different, but i was reading the other reviews and some of them were right. The script triggering got annoying and you can kind of tell when your going to trigger something. The only benefit is the fact that the action changes so it keeps a little interesting. I still jump sometimes when i'm playing, mostly because i'm not paying I have to say i love this game, because it's different, but i was reading the other reviews and some of them were right. The script triggering got annoying and you can kind of tell when your going to trigger something. The only benefit is the fact that the action changes so it keeps a little interesting. I still jump sometimes when i'm playing, mostly because i'm not paying attention, and for the best effect just start running through the levels...it works. I like the storyline too, but i wish there was more development of it. The best part though was when you could send or cancel the transmission, which is about the only non-linear part of the game. I think if you have 20 bucks to throw away and want a cheep thrill that lasts a while then buy the game for sure, even if you don't like these types of games. And FYI to the other reviewers the darkness is to make it harder, thats why you have a flashlight, and this is not copying half life it's been around forever...and it's probably as good as half life 2 if not better, and my personal opinion HL2 is really boring compared to this, but probably because it's less interesting and requires more puzzle solving. Expand
  18. TimC.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    An excellent reworking of a much loved classic. Weapons, enemies and level design are reminiscent to the old series of games, beautifully created the game generates a tense and gritty atmosphere of horror which will keep the player on the edge of the seat until the end. Once again ID show us that they are the leading developers of FPS's. Brilliant.
  19. Chandu
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Doom 3 is a fantastic game, but it might not appeal to everyone. The graphics are brilliant and its one of those few games that can rival the survival horror games to be found on the console.
  20. Doomed
    Jul 12, 2009
    10
    Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just Doom 3 is absolutely great just as it's expansion pack Resurrection of Evil. I thought this game was so outstanding until I played System Shock 2 and I found that the similarities we pretty evident. I don't view Doom 3 as a rip-off of System Shock 2 because the gameplay is so different. The gameplay in System Shock 2 is very complex while the gameplay in Doom 3 is rather just plain old school (at least the hero has been given the ability to jump!). I love both Doom 3 and System Shock 2 because they're great science fiction horror games. The old Doom games just suck. They're so old now and the only really memorable old shooters are Duke Nukem 3D and Blood. Doom 3 actually made me love a game from the Doom series. The game has superb graphics and sound - and these create a terryfying atmosphere. The new updated monster designs are just high quality and some monsters have been completely altered (like the hell knight). The imp I remember from the old games was just a pixelated brown thing that threw fireballs, but now it's a creepy beast that scares the shit out of me. The four bosses include a female spider mutant, a dragon who's actually blind and needs small "searchers" to navigate, a grotesque half flesh and half machine tank carrying a BFG and at the end you'll meet the boss you maybe already know: the cyber demon. I really recommend this game to everyone who loves first person shooters because this game is definitely worth the experience. I think [abc def] is pretty right with his statements. Give this game a try! Expand
  21. AlexD.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap This game is an icon. The first trully next-gen title. It knows 16:9 screen aspect ratio, it also knows 4:3; it can do correct 5.1 sound, one cand set the controls as one pleases, and can easily change the field of view. It's a PC game, a game played on a controller with a hundred buttons, and it's well aware of that. The story isn't something new, just plain old cheap scare; the idea is that you'll be so scared while playing, due to the proper use of the 3D video and audio engine, that you'll want out of the grim Mars environment depicted. Excellent use of lighting and positional sound, with eerie effects, good intuitive control, and memorable jump-off-your-seat corridor fights. A must get. Expand
  22. GeorgeL
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game I love video games. If I don't, I wouldn't be writing this review right now. But overall, I have never experienced a game where I say that it's scary. I've played games that were awesome, but seldom do I even describe the game as scary. After Doom 3 came out, however, things suddenly changed. I heard from some friends that the game was just a freaking scary game that'll make you crap in your pants. So, being skeptical as always, I decided to try it out. I first downloaded the demo, and after beating that, I went to sleep that night with a chill in my spine. That was the first time I actually felt fear from a video game. I was immediately hooked. I went out, bought a copy, plugged it in, and played. I could never play for more than an hour before the scary, dark atmosphere becomes too much. I took constant breaks. The graphics were great, the audio was exceptional, and overall, the gameplay was just plain unpredictable. Even when I played levels that I played before, I still move hesitantly, because, even though I expect them coming, they still feel frightening after they pop out. Sure, this game could become a really repetitive shooter, but the scary atmosphere and frightenly life like facility make this game one of my favorite First Person Shooters of all time, simply because of the chilling atmosphere and story, as well as the BFG 9000 (personally, my favorite weapon of all time in a video game). Expand
  23. MatthewGoad
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    It really breathes life back into the Doom series.
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Graphics 10/10
    Gameplay 8/10
    Controls 9/10
    Story 6/10
    Characters 5/10
    Level design 8/10
    Weapons 8/10
    AI 4/10
    Presentation 6/10
    User Interface 8/10
    Sounds 7/10
    Music 4/10
  25. May 20, 2012
    0
    Creators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic andCreators of Doom 3 never even played DooM 1 and DooM 2 and I dont want to talk about how and why Doom 1 and 2 are one of the best games ever created. DooM 3 in nothing like them the game is to Hollywood and try to be more serious trying to combine genres, the game speed is 5 times more slower then doom 1 and 2 for example, where is magic? fast gameplay? red blue keys? strange magic and gothic design the game sold out to hollywood kids just as Quake 4, Starcraft 2 and Diablo 3 Fun - 1/10
    Gameplay - 2/10
    Controls - 10/10
    Graphics Design - 0/10
    Story - 4/10
    All Time Graphics - 0/10
    Sound - 5/10
    Music - 0/10
    Replayability - 0/10
    Graphics for its time - 0/10
    22/100
    Expand
  26. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but this game. First of i at one stage LOVED DOOM 3, sadly i never finished the game when I LOVED IT, I still haven't finished the game but i am getting very close to the end. BORING, doom 3 is boring, the level designs are dull, the character models look stiff and the same. Stupid story, i honesty don't care about doom story's because the game is supposed to be about mindless violence, but the story in doom 3 is absolutely Bonkers, its crazy, basically demons invade a space station on mars and GETS REAL. Graphics AWESOME, the graphics for doom 3 are honestly really good, especially considering the fact that the game was made in 2004-05. ITS NOT FUN, Doom 3 is not fun, its repetitive, dull and feels more like a chore trying to get past level after level, Doom 3 gets a 4/10 not because its the worst game I've ever played but Because it is amazingly dull and doesn't even feel like a doom game, THE GAME FEELS LIKE FEAR MIXED WITH SPACE DEMONS THAT IS FUELED BY COCAINE BABIES, 4/10, BTW i haven't finished the game yet and will eventually i'm like 2-3 hours away from finishing the game peace out Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    7
    Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game,Doom 3 is graphically phenomenal. The graphics are incredible, even by today's standards. The game is scary- demons will teleport in when you least expect it. The environments are great as well- I loved the utility in activating switches and interacting with computers. These are the strengths- the weaknesses are the repetitive gameplay (when you feel like you should be done with the game, you're only halfway through), weak guns (I feel like the weapons had very little oomph to them at all), and storyline (it is nonexistant. You go from point A to point B with no reason for it at all). Doom 3 is great but repetitive. Expand
  28. Mar 29, 2013
    3
    Very bad game. Empty levels, same monsters, not at all frightful horror. Dont waste your time, I feel really disappointed by spent time playing this. Only last boss kicks ass, but this does not worth it anyways.
  29. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    This game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feelsThis game is ok. It does have very good atmosphere and setting. It is immersive and fun. It does create fear and claustrophobic feelings. Not many games can do it to such an extent. Yet there is something that does not feel right. It seems to be made of pieces that does not fit very well together. One of which is textures that seem to have variable depth of graphic detail. It feels fragmented somehow. In terms of difficulty it does not scale very well either. Overall however, the game was pretty good. Expand
  30. Oct 8, 2014
    4
    BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORING

    Walk with flashlight in the darkness -> monster jumps out of a closet after you pass by -> change to weapon and shoot -> wander around to find a audio record -> read the stupid audio file to find a password -> open the keylock -> repeat x10000000

    God.
    One of the most overrated game of all time.
  31. Mr.No
    Aug 4, 2004
    7
    Graphics, graphics and graphics (with HUGE hardware demands). Game play is much more important and Doom3 offers nothing new in that department.
  32. Ronin
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    This game rules. the graphics are good, the shadows and the creatures that come out own. when you get hit you feel like your getting hit...bringing you more into the game. easy gameplay. and for all you haters out there you probably have a crap computer or you just suck.
  33. OrhanI.
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    I think the guy who gave zero points to the game is someone from Valve or Crytek :).
  34. JohnnyJ.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Perfect, absolutely flawless, stunning, and gruesome, excellent job id, well worth the wait.
  35. Shawn
    Oct 2, 2006
    7
    Tends to repeat itself, characters get overly used, a bit too hyped up, good for entertainment.
  36. RobertB.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Easily the best game for its time.
  37. MaxH.
    Dec 10, 2004
    10
    Very good and good graphics.
  38. iHam
    Aug 14, 2004
    9
    This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. This is easily one of the best FPSs to date. A nice retelling of the original two, with all of the shinies that simply weren't possible in 1992. Anyone who dislikes this game yet holds the older two in high esteem is shamefully disconnected with the very concepts that make the games great. I have heard people complain about not being able to have a gun out while using the flashlight. Also, that its 'claustrophobic', and that the gameplay is too linear, the contrast is too high, etc... These are how the original games were, just in case you forgot. Dark and scary. No gun while you've got your flashlight out? Nothing like feeling vulnerable while tip toeing through a pitch black corridor... its all supposed to (at least) try to scare you. And quite honestly, if this game doesn't make you jump, pull your legs out from under the desk, or get the willies, or even think twice before opening a door, then you have been desensitized beyond the point where anything but the real thing can please you. see you in 20 years... You are all entitled to your opinions. Its just some of your opinions happen to be wrong and invalid. Expand
  39. Kekojones
    Aug 4, 2004
    9
    Great game...it will make ya crap your pants.
  40. B.T.
    Aug 5, 2004
    9
    The last poster gave it a bad score because he has a piece of crap computer. Wow, that's fair. Just because you won't upgrade your PC doesn't mean the game is bad. For the record, Doom 3 may not be innovative, but the incredible level design, atmosphere, and attention to detail make it a very good FPS. Highly recommended.
  41. AlanB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    7
    Sweet graphics, dated gameplay. And the design is stolen right out of Aliens the movie. Nothing new here just pretty visual and very predictable gameplay. For action play Unreal, for scrary play silent hill, for pretty play Doom3.
  42. MarcW.
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as The single most beautiful game I have ever played. The presentation level for this game is so astoundingly high...you won't be able to look any other game without feeling strangely empty. The sound is solid and the menus sport a degree of polish which is close to the standard of visuals. However, the gameplay simply is too linear and isn't innovative in the way games such as Half-Life was. Overall though, this is the best single player 1st person shooter of the year. A milestone in the evolution of games from a technical standpoint. Expand
  43. Id
    Sep 23, 2004
    9
    Man this is one scary game. play it with the lights off and the sound up at night otherwise its pointless. very well executed but can be too dark and easy difficulty is too hard for "easy," it should be normal and there should be an even easier difficutly.
  44. AnonymousMC
    Sep 6, 2004
    6
    The graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy justThe graphics are the only thing this game has going for itself. The gameplay seems average and the level designs are interesting but at time very hard to navigate. While I understand the dark levels in the game were supposed to create fear, but it really just left me in frustration more often than being scared. Also, the weapons are very WEAK!!! I started playing the game on easy just to have a fun blast fest... and instead I was cursing at the high difficulty level for easy. Playing Doom 3 on the internet also left me feeling disappointed because many of the maps were boring to play through. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was better. Expand
  45. AnonymousMC
    Apr 3, 2005
    0
    This game is gawd awful. i cant even begin to describe how terrible it is. the weapons are constantly getting jmmed and you have to wait for 5 MINUTES just so they can get fixed and cleaned. i have never played a game as stupid as this. seriously, you have to fight god as the final boss. stupid as hell.
  46. AnonymousMC
    Apr 6, 2005
    0
    Graphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You needGraphics are god-awful and the ammount of leaks in the levels is enourmous. theres so many problems with it, i cant even begin to tell you. the enemies are all the same, attacks and health wise, and the games so easy, its stupid. no to mention the fact that the main character is homosexual is very uncomfortable. Prove your faith to god? wtf are you talking about! this is a GAME! You need to get that into your head. you have no life if you take this game that seriously. Expand
  47. AlB.
    May 16, 2005
    9
    Fantastic tense, and in the case of Hell, just plain jaw-droppingly amazing!
  48. AnonymousMC
    Oct 26, 2006
    9
    I give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game isI give this game a 9. I loved the game very much although it was pretty much liniear (thats why minus 1 point). Monsters and zombies suddenly appear out of dark places scared me the first few times but afterwards you knew that they would be comming but still it still scared me sometimes. Now this is also a reaction too [Anonymous] who said that the only "legitamate" way to beat the game is with an ingame cheat. Well you really DONT need cheats to beat this game and thats a fact. I also want to say something about the storyline since many people are saying its not worked out, not good etc etc. Doom 3 is a remake of Doom 1. And as most people know, Doom 1 didnt had much of a story line. But most people loved that game and so did I. Doom 3 doesnt have much as a storyline aswell but its defenitly better than the one from Doom 1. Expand
  49. ElfrancheT.
    Jun 10, 2006
    9
    A legend among suspense games. The cold, Sci-Fi decors are well done. Lots of detail. Above average monster design. Nice when played slowly and undisturbed.
  50. AnonymousMC
    Jul 29, 2006
    4
    great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and,great graphics, long, good-processed storylne. But dont plan on getting the epic adventure(s) we all got from half life(1). Like a few others said, this is just another diluted fps as seen on halo2 and battlefield. its the same as all the other dooms. you're a marine thatgets sent over to investigate a distress from this science team, youkill a few things, you go to hell and, you're the only survivor in the end. not to mention the fact the ID used the same engine for quake4. and finally the gameplay. what is the matter with the people that layout the game? the only legitamate way to beat the game is to use at least 1 of the ingame cheats or you have some bot to do it for you. bad call ID, bad call. Expand
  51. DonG.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Loved it! Graphics are great!
  52. TomG.
    May 6, 2007
    10
    After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a After 10 years of nothing but Quake, and Hexen releases from id Software, they perfect the tricks of the trade, and pump out Doom 3. The level of quality put into their graphics engine is just incredible, with the bump mapping, specular highlights, and the shadowing system, which is superior to F.E.A.R.'s, in that when you shine your light on the corner of an object, it casts a shadow, unlike F.E.A.R. The weapon effects are downright perfect, and does a damn good job of revitalizing an aging franchise. Expand
  53. FrikaseeJ.
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. I'd just like to step in and save the day for Doom 3. Those of you giving this a crappy score obviously have no idea what doom is. Doom was created back in th 90's for the sole purpose of running around and shooting demons. We never asked Doom for a good storline, just for bigger guns. Just shutup and enjoy killing things on your gruesome crusade through a well-designed Hell. Also, for you absolute morons who whined about the lack of a sniper rifle... What!?! What are you gonna do? Zoom in on the fine hairs of the demons as they charge for you. There was no distance, it was all in your face fun. Expand
  54. SomeBody
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    This is awesome! I'm a hardcore fan of the DooM series, and I think this lives up to that legacy. I couldn't care less if it was "revolutionary", because a game could have ultra-new crap and still suck (look at Halo :() A fun romp.
  55. AnthonyO.
    Aug 10, 2007
    7
    Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't Before I say anything let me inform you that I have been an ID follower since Wolfenstein 3D and I don't mean since I first played it I mean since it's release. So you can imagine my excitement when Doom 3 came out. I basically got a new pc for the sole purpose of playing massive amounts of Doom 3 and future games. When I first played D3, I was blown away. I couldn't believe that the graphics were so incredible, and at first the gameplay seemed fantastic and mind blowing. I got scared out of my mind playing the first time and when playing again on veteran almost crapped myself a few times. Here comes the turn in my review. After playing the game through once and playing a few times and having the gloss fade off of my long awaited ID games fix, I realized the game for what it is. A large dissappointment to the Doom franchise and to ID games also. Sure the graphics kick ass, the guns are cool, and the game scares the bejeezus out of you, but that's pretty much it when it comes to depth. The plot had my held captive till about half way through when I started to completely ignore my PDA. Unlike Doom 1 and 2 I NEVER EVER had trouble finding where to go, and also unlike it's predescesors secrets that were required to progress through the level were nonexistant. I mean I still enjoyed progressing through the interesting areas of the base they designed but when i'd get to a new area I wouldn't really feel a sense of accomplishment. I am really torn when reviewing this game because part of me loves it and still plays it, but the biggest thing with me is that I would love it SO much more if it was released under a totally different name than the Doom franchise. Also WTF happened to Flynn Peter Taggart!?!?! Being a massive Doom nerd I even read all the books and became even more attached to our bloody-faced hero from D1 and 2 but then he is completely forgotten about in this game! Before I end my review the last thing I will say is this game would have gotten at least another point from me if it had an earth stage. I know that based on the plot that wouldn't make sense but being that the plot was shallow and unsubmersive I would have preffered they change the plot to cater for this. I still recommend the game after all of this simple because it is the ONLY game/movie/piece of media that has the ability to actually scare me. Also I find that the multiplayer can be very fun but certainly nothing new and does not even come close to the action available in DoD and CS. Again recommended but keep in mind this will not give you that fantastic feel the first time you played Doom 1. Hell when Doom 2 came out I felt more excited and they just threw in a few more monsters and a SINGLE new weapon that although useful was visually unspectacular. Just goes to show how far level creation can go. Expand
  56. MatthewB.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Damn fun game. One of the creepiest atmospheres ever in a video game.
  57. JakeC.
    Aug 4, 2007
    10
    Perhaps one of the best games i have ever played doom goes all the way.
  58. NateM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Linear, but true to the doom series. Absolutely beautiful graphics, Intense gameplay, and scary to boot. Id has held true to the original series and then some, with a new installment. Anyone who has given this game an 7 or below is either opinionated, stupid, or flame bait.
  59. Mine
    Feb 1, 2008
    3
    Boring and dull game. The only color is black. Senseless game.
  60. DanielC.
    Oct 13, 2004
    6
    As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save As an avid FPS gamer I am disappointed. It's just another standard Id shooter; all looks and no substance and just feels like an old game packaged in a new, shiny box. Frankly, the only thing going for this game is the graphics. Doom 3 held a lot of promise but in the end falls flat on its face. Id may be a master of computer graphics but they couldn't make a good game to save their lives. Expand
  61. MattB.
    Oct 19, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, great sound, great atmosphere, great story. Enough said.
  62. ChazD.
    Aug 11, 2004
    7
    Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's Having just beat the game minutes ago, I felt it was time to chime in with my thoughts... To my disappointment as much as anyones, Doom 3 is not the revolution we had hoped for. It's been said in every post below, and I'll say it again - the game looks amazing. In fact, I often kept playing just because it was more enjoyable to watch than any of my other games, but that's where it stops. You start out the game and can't help but gawk at the scenery, but it soon becomes second nature, and but a few short hours later you will come to realize this game is mediocre at best. The plot (when present) is rather lackluster, but still interesting, and the gameplay is "boring as Hell" (ironic, no?). Plan accordingly... - Chaz Expand
  63. LokeszHarm
    Aug 12, 2004
    4
    Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to here more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! Expand
  64. Abdullah
    Aug 13, 2004
    8
    Great game. Good sound effects and the best grafix on earth. Wasnt that scary. A must buy for all the FPS fans.
  65. AnonymousMC
    Aug 13, 2004
    3
    Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then Am I blind or should I clean my glasses! Where are those beautiful graphics everyone talks about? I can agree that creatures and people look more realistic than in most other games. But the environment does not look good. You are not expected to have a resolution above 1024 x 768 which means that strait lines do not look like strait lines. Most of us have to get down to 800 x 600 and then every line or edge looks like a saw-blade. I tried high quality at 1280 x 1024 just to look at the graphics. Anyone noticed that the contrast is too high, the shadows too black? Feels like wearing sunglasses at night. It is just stupid and does nothing to add to the experience. Very disappointing! Expand
  66. HanMan
    Aug 13, 2004
    9
    Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. Anyone who's reading this is obviously considering to buy this game. Now its this simple...Buy it. You have never played a game that looks like this before. It has to be played to be believed. That's reason 1. Reson 2: This is Doom for chrissake!! Just buy it. It's a great game with some amazing Design and programming to boot. Dont compare this game to Far Cry or Half Life. ID created this genre. Expand
  67. BatmanMonkey
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original "Ok, Europe speaking. Got this game 5 hours ago. After reading the US reviews i thought this could not be a bad purchase! Want to hear more? I can hardly control my frustration and whipe this horrible game of me disk. It has the same visual qualities as the orignal Unreal game! But only after you pay 2000 $$$ for hardware! Otherwise, it is just has the same visual level as the original Unreal. Do your purse a favour and buy the original Unreal for 2 bucks! " Either Europe doesnt have good graphic cards or a good version of Doom 3...or you are BLIND or have completely screwed up eyes Unreal and Unreal 2 suck!!!!!!!! but Unreal tournaments are cool... Expand
  68. HarmLokesz
    Aug 16, 2004
    10
    After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not After a weekend of tuning I feel the need to explain the rather negative review I posted before. 1) This game is build on OpenGL graphics and seems to be more demanding on your processor for presenting graphics. 2) ATI was the second choice graphics card for the developers. The first evening I started the game on its recommended settings my P4 1.5 ( 512RIMM) and ATI 9600XT could not deliver a decent game, no matter what I tried. I had terrible frame rates AND the visual presentation was sad. One could say that a 'new generation' game should have offered more help by its manual. Tweakcom.com published a great guide with which I corrected the problems at my computer and now I am able to enjoy the game as it was intended! I am about halfway the game now and brings on memories of good old times. It just gives the same emotions as the first FPS I once played long ago: Quake 1. This must be a 10 in the category of First Person Shooters. I dont think this game should be recommended to everyone. Not the whole world is full of passionate diabolics. As I see it now I personally would rate it between 8 and 9. (I posted a 10 as compensation for the negative earlier rating, not that I am afraid of Batman, but the corners ARE a bit dark the last few days.) Expand
  69. GregP.
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    Well here it is, the game so many people have waited forever for, no, not Duke Nukem Forever, that game is still in production, but Doom 3. If you play this game unaware of the hype, you will see it as a very good FPS with probably the best graphics ever made for a videogame. But for those who have a subscription to say, PC Gamer, like me and have read all about this revolutionary game, Well here it is, the game so many people have waited forever for, no, not Duke Nukem Forever, that game is still in production, but Doom 3. If you play this game unaware of the hype, you will see it as a very good FPS with probably the best graphics ever made for a videogame. But for those who have a subscription to say, PC Gamer, like me and have read all about this revolutionary game, you will be sadly disappointed. There just isn't enough here to really push the boundaries of video games, graphics aside. As many other people have said, the gameplay gets pretty dull after a couple plays and you are almost tempted to go back to your shareware version of the original doom. While the game has it's scary moments, the scare tactics become too predictable, to the point where you can guess where the critters or baddies, whatever you call them, are. You can walk into a room and just pull out your trusty grenades and throw them into the dark corners of the room and watch as body parts come flying into the dimly lit floor ahead of you. So the game has a great first impression, but runs a little dry, and maybe runs a little slow, considering your computer. Expand
  70. DanielB.
    Aug 16, 2004
    7
    Graphics over gameplay I feel. Playing through Far Cry at the same time and I have to say I'm not motivated to play Doom as its gameplay aint great. Probably come back to it later but after all the hype I'm disapointed. The really low scores are wrong, I think these reflect people's disappointment as this is a good game when we all wanted it to be so great.
  71. Zamp
    Aug 19, 2004
    8
    First experience with Doom3 was amazing, the graphics, the excitement, nice fantasy that humankind has bases on Mars. But :P after hour playing or so i noticed that doom3 is just repetitive 'shoot n load' game. Flaslight and the darkness are very nice add though in my opinion. 8 because its still quite damn exciting and beautiful game.
  72. Mdssnake
    Aug 21, 2004
    2
    A big disappointment. Slow to get going like unreal II. Game play is very average and doesn't take much intelligence. Looks good but thats what you would expect with such a low level of interactivity. Also objects appear see through with my graphics card. All in all - a waste of money. Don't believe the hype! Roll on Duke Nukem Forever.
  73. Cyberxero
    Aug 20, 2004
    7
    Okay to get down to the bottom line, Doom3 is a good game but not exactly perfect. For one thing the graphics are probably the best ive seen ever to appear in a FPS, and the sound is just wonderful. In terms of this game being scary i'd have to say it can't be.Its really just like a little fright and a mini jump of your chair sort of scary, but as the game goes on it becomes Okay to get down to the bottom line, Doom3 is a good game but not exactly perfect. For one thing the graphics are probably the best ive seen ever to appear in a FPS, and the sound is just wonderful. In terms of this game being scary i'd have to say it can't be.Its really just like a little fright and a mini jump of your chair sort of scary, but as the game goes on it becomes predictable what the monsters will do next.Basically the only fear you have to over come in the game is its darkness. Basically what makes it a little frightning is the sound because its dolby surround sound which sounds like the monsters are coming from every corner. Its especially spooky in the dark because you cant see what's there but you can hear it breathing which certainly gives you little chills. The reason I took away 3 marks is because of the gameplay alone. The first couple of hours might seem great but then it gets predictable and just repetitive. Then when you finally go to hell (after the same old corridors of darkness in the mars facility) all the excitement returns! Then when you beat the hell level then it just goes back to the same mars facility and then all goes boring again. Anyway to finish off this review i would say that you should be carful before buying this game, you might regret it. But in some categories it is probably worth to buy it just for the graphics and sound. Anyway Doom3 is a good game that could have been better. I still consider it the best FPS game out so far but i am hoping that Half life 2 will change my mind. CAnt wait for half life 2 :) , l8er Expand
  74. AnonymousMC
    Aug 28, 2004
    2
    Utter Garbage!! What a useless over hyped up pile of junk, too Dark!!, too predictable!!, too boring, too Dark!!, too simple in level design, too Dark!!, too Dark!!, useless flashlight problems[although u can get duct tape mod], zombies are stupid, all the creatures are stupid!!....Too Dark!!!! oh whats the point......trust me its KRAAAPPPP!!!!!!!DARKLORD
  75. Madmax
    Aug 3, 2004
    10
    Amazing the cutscenes are amazing you are in them like its a movie, awesome 10/10 can't be beaten. hl1 move over there's a new king DOOM3.
  76. EviLAnGeL
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially I have never played a game before that has literally made me get a chill down my spine or goosebumps on my arms. Maybe the gameplay doesn't offer anything all that new but the graphics, sound, artwork, animations, lighting, environments etc etc are all second to none. It all combines to give you a feeling of depth and immersion that I've never had in any game before. Especially if you play it at a high res with the highest settings with AA AF and on and 5.1 surround setup and in the dark. Very scary stuff. Expand
  77. BobP.
    Aug 4, 2004
    8
    A good game, but nothing revolutionary, as its been hyped to be. The graphics, level design, and sound work together wonderfully. Its a single player game (I dont count 4-player multiplayer deathmatch) - Comparing it to something like hl, which has lead multiplayer gaming for years, just doesnt make sense. Try Far Cry. The engine is inferior to that in parts (no vast outdoors, vehicles, A good game, but nothing revolutionary, as its been hyped to be. The graphics, level design, and sound work together wonderfully. Its a single player game (I dont count 4-player multiplayer deathmatch) - Comparing it to something like hl, which has lead multiplayer gaming for years, just doesnt make sense. Try Far Cry. The engine is inferior to that in parts (no vast outdoors, vehicles, ai teamwork), and better in others (lighting, more pixel shaders and other effects). 15 hours of mediocre gameplay with pretty graphics and sound worth the price? Though the sound and level design are second to none, Undying was more frightening to me. Expand
  78. HenryK.
    Aug 4, 2004
    1
    Good graphics but they forgot the game! Almost no replayability, and you'll struggle to keep playing this one. 4 years in the making, what did they do?? I can't believe magazines are rating this thing so high. Do you guys even know what gameplay is anymore?
  79. CJRAPiD
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY ANYONE marking this game under a 9 is TOTALLY missing the point of this STUNNiNGLY visual masterpiece. It is a valuable textbook lesson on creating damned good - solid gameplay and totally immersive atmosphere in every way. From its water tight level design, (who needs 30 miles of expansive lush exteriors when DOOM 3 captivates that essential immersive experience within its TOTALLY claustrophobic environments) to its sound design - which captivates the most cinematic feel I have ever heard in a game. The whole thing adds up to the finest single player and shockingly scary gaming experience ever. Its almost like being actually IN "ALIENS" the movie! Terrifyingly sweet! =) Expand
  80. JustinP.
    Aug 4, 2004
    6
    For all the hype, I was left quite disappointed with the outcome. The graphics are brilliant, make no mistake - they surpass anything made to date. The sound is also very good, the ambient effects make you feel like you are in the middle of the original 'Aliens' movie set - Screams, cries for help, footsteps all around you... it really plays on your senses! The entire single For all the hype, I was left quite disappointed with the outcome. The graphics are brilliant, make no mistake - they surpass anything made to date. The sound is also very good, the ambient effects make you feel like you are in the middle of the original 'Aliens' movie set - Screams, cries for help, footsteps all around you... it really plays on your senses! The entire single player experience is based on scripted events, which isnt bad except for the fact that every time you play this game, it will be the same. The problem is that the gameplay, whilst wonderful and scary at first, becomes very stale and repetetive after about an hour or two. You will spend the entire game wandering through small corridors into small rooms, have a few nasties jump out at you which you'll, and then repeat as necessary until you defeat the final boss. I'm sure once some decent mods are released, the Doom 3 engine will be used for a much greater cause, but the current out of box experience is wonderful to see, but boring to play. Let's hope Half-Life 2 makes up the shortfall in playability. Expand
  81. BryanJ.
    Aug 4, 2004
    10
    It does everything I expected it to do, and @ 800x600 it still looks amazing. I hope they make an AvP game with this engine. For everyone that's giving it 1's and 0's, I have to say I don't think you are being fair. Sure, the gameplay hasn't evolved much past the original Doom, but that is part of the appeal IMO. Pure visceral action.
  82. KevinB.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the Everyone seems to be confused that this game is nothing but Doom 3. It is *Doom*, and ONLY Doom. It is not a game with incredible sideplots, it is not a game with intricate puzzles, it is not a game with incredible squad-based AI, it is not a game with varying themes. It is simply Doom. You run, you kill, you scream, you gawk at the pretty scenery, you basically do everything you did the first time you played the original Doom. Enemies don't exist in real time, they spawn or they pop out of trap walls when you go to pick up that hidden medkit. It's classic Doom, revisited in a most striking manner. 10/10. Expand
  83. JoshuaR.
    Aug 5, 2004
    5
    This game was obviously designed for top-of-the-curve machines. When I spend big money for a game, I expect it to either play well on a mid-level machine, or be scalable to play well on my machine when I turn various effects off. Doom 3 did neither, and I don't plan on spending another $300+ so it will. I'm running easily in the mid-range requirements based on the box and the This game was obviously designed for top-of-the-curve machines. When I spend big money for a game, I expect it to either play well on a mid-level machine, or be scalable to play well on my machine when I turn various effects off. Doom 3 did neither, and I don't plan on spending another $300+ so it will. I'm running easily in the mid-range requirements based on the box and the lag is disappointing. I'm more scared by the constant lock-ups when I walk into a room than any fire-throwing imp. And that is sad because ID got the atmosphere right, both visually and audibly. Gameplay is mediocre. It is an average shoot'em up and the PDA info system doesn't add much for me. There is little replay value. The story does mirror the original Doom credibly. Honestly, I don't know if that is good or bad, since I already know this story and might have enjoyed a fresh take. This is Doom 3 after all, not just an upgraded Doom Trilogy. In my opinion, if you want a FPS that looks good, works well on most systems, has an interesting story, and has replay value, buy Painkiller. ID should have done better with Doom 3. Expand
  84. AE
    Aug 5, 2004
    8
    8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now 8.5 actually the graphics are great and it runs wonderfully, but WHERE is the drama, where is the truly appocalyptic premise, where is even the MUSIC/AI!!!. No problems running it though, even on my 3 year old Rad9700 machine at 'Highest' quality. Actually, downloading the 8/2/04 Ati Beta driver release fixed all initial graphic problems, (which where numerous, but now gone,)I've not since had any problems with the game whatsoever. The main problem with the game is that there really is no story to speak of, no DRAMA, no compelling reason to keep playing other than sheer visuals (don't think Halo, or even Riddick...) I mean Doom II had a way better story line, atleast your actions clearly would decide the fate of the orbiting remainder mankind... and the lack of music, really any kind of dramatic music whatsoever save the 1 title track at the menu, really really detracts from the game as a whole. It feels like a wierd twist of Resident evil and Quake 3, with Max Payne style gameplay. Doom was my favorite game ever until Halo came along. Doom 3 fails to best Halo, or even Quake, frankly EITHER Quake, in single player or (obviously) in multiplayer. Like the graphics, disappointed by the experience as a whole though. Stick to a simpler, clearer, more dramatic plot + Trent Reznor for the music. Oh -and make the enemies way smarter, I was truly inclined to believe they had eaten each other's brains. Expand
  85. KuunoA.
    Aug 6, 2004
    5
    Overhyped technology demo. Looks awesome, but feels crap and has zero replayability. I just can't be arsed to kill 20000 monsters just to see the alternate ending. Oh well, hopefully we'll be seeing actually a good game with this engine soon. Critics, how about actually playing this game a bit further and see that this game is definately not worth of 100 points.
  86. Carey
    Aug 7, 2004
    7
    The first five hours were terrifying. Then it started getting predictable, and then it started getting frustrating. Now all that keeps me playing is the graphics and the (sad?) desire to see everything the game has to offer. Gameplay-wise, it's miles behind Far Cry and Painkiller. But hey, the graphics are great.
  87. Arkon
    Aug 8, 2004
    3
    A repetitive and boring techno-demo from ID. No intriguing story, no physical engine, and everything is coated with a "should look good" plastik-skin-appearance. I'm disappointed, but we all should be honest..what did we expect in the first place? A second Half-Life or System Shock? I think not...just a sequel to monster-spawn and shoot to kill...*yawn*
  88. M.Nelson
    Aug 8, 2004
    9
    No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best No, it is not revolutionary in its basic form, but Id has managed to take gameplay to a higher level by focusing on sound, ambiance, and execution. They have done what half life tried to do, they have created a believable environment and placed you right smack in the middle of it. If you you want new features or a new approach to a first person shooter, understand that some of the best qualities of the game experience have been underestimated until doom3. Expand
  89. ThomasM.
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    Bottom-line is that this game is better than all FPS' that lie before it. The expectations were ENORMOUS and .id. still kept up and delivered. Like always. Definitly worth fifty bucks for the 20-plus hours of hell-on-mars you'll go through.
  90. ISAACA.
    Sep 22, 2004
    5
    I am glad the way doom 3 turned out. because half life 2 is ging to have NO competition at all. so here is a fast guide to beat doom 3 level 1 :run in dark metallic hallways killing imps. the rest of the levels are the same . enjoy the boring game.
  91. AndyT.
    Sep 23, 2004
    6
    Fantastic visuals, awesome sound, stupendous atmosphere, but hugely repetitive gameplay. I have to admit that I have essentially lost interest and moved on after 7-8 hours or so of blundering around in the dark to the next encounter point to have yet another hellspawn jump out of a hidden compartment, drop on me or otherwise ambush me. Great for the first half dozen times, but after Fantastic visuals, awesome sound, stupendous atmosphere, but hugely repetitive gameplay. I have to admit that I have essentially lost interest and moved on after 7-8 hours or so of blundering around in the dark to the next encounter point to have yet another hellspawn jump out of a hidden compartment, drop on me or otherwise ambush me. Great for the first half dozen times, but after that.... It has none of the classic encounters of other titles in this genre where you can get involved in a good old stand up fight. Maybe that was all still to come, but to be worth a good score the game needs to carry my interest through to that point. Expand
  92. JohnD.
    Sep 4, 2004
    10
    A very good game.
  93. WesE.
    Nov 19, 2005
    9
    While not as masterful or brilliantly concieved as Resident Evil 4, Doom 3 is way mor tightly coiled and balls-to-the-wall scary. The graphics are some of the best around, and when you first see the Hellknight, you'll be a believer.
  94. JasonK.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Enough with the pansy shooters , enough subtlity, enough with Half Life 2. Doom 3 ROCKS!!! Take a break from fresh air and be ready to be put back into the middle of terror, both physical and mental. Doom 3 will most positively overwhelm you, it'll test your nerves and sever your weak part out. This game is a piece of GREAT ART!!!
  95. AnonymousMC
    Jan 27, 2005
    9
    I dont know anything about computers but this game runs just about perfect on my pc. This game is very scaleable on most machines. People who say this is bad are quite wrong and this game ranks right up there with half life 2, far cry, and all those great fps. Though slightly repetitive at times, this is a great game and deserves your money.
  96. Billy-joeR.
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    Pros: excellent graphics, simple but effective controls, fgreat lighting effects cons: not really that scary, because the zombies are so darn slooooow, so you see them comiing while their 20 feet away overview: an allaround good game but needs improvment in the scaryness area, where silent hill among others defeat it.
  97. DeanM.
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting This I would say, to be the Apex of scripted gameplay. It's an awesome game, believe me. The fact that it is scripted might turn off no-brainers that still walk around the house with a bone club. If you just ignore all the obviously baised ratings and ALLOW the scripts to work as intended, it really makes you feel like you're in a movie, the only other game that does scripting well is splinter cell, but the setting of that game doesn't allow the fullest to be displayed. The effects from normal stuff like firing your gun is great, the effects from the scripted points are astounding, disappearing footprints, whispers, children crying, you name it. If you're Christian, excellent for you, here's your chance to prove to God your faith against the Devil, otherwise even better, you're a space marine with no where to go except forward, towards the depths to wage with experimental weapons. The graphics are nothing less than how you see your own hands now, and when used to created a dark, deathly, claustrophobic, life consuming evironment, together with life-like audio... nuf said. the game requirements are also quite scalable to your machine specs, and high ended systems will create more realism. only dissatisfaction i have is the lenght of the game, and the end part of it, other than that, the game is scary, yet action-packed (trust me its good enough for fps vets). - Eagerly looking forward to the expansion. Expand
  98. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    lol, prove your faith in god?! its just a friggin game! you idiot! this game is crap. there is no story, no AI, only 4 guns in the game, and 5 types of enemies, all with the same health. its stupid as crap. i beat the game in exactly 1 hour and 13 minutes. is that really worth it?! NO! its crap. plain and simple. stupid as can be. IT SUCKS!
  99. AnonymousMC
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    this is thbe stupidiest game ever. at the end of the game, the two main guy characters kiss! what is up with that?! the demons all have penises that you can shoot off, and if you die, they ejaculate on you! thats disgusting! this game is sick and perverted!!! i never wanna hear the words "doom III" ever again!
  100. SamC.
    Apr 25, 2005
    6
    A great realistic game it was so scary i had to save every frigen second. But eventualy it was so scary i had to stop. Come on i'm only ten!!!
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. The graphics are amazing (mind you, even on a mediocre system), the sound is amazing (if you don’t have a 5.1 system yet, consider it), and the game is downright scary.
  2. DOOM 3 smashes through all the hype and delivers a grand slam of action, story, atmosphere, and pure terror.
  3. So perfectly constructed, so deliciously immersive and downright elegant, that demands for more seem crass. It might not be the very best shooter out there, but it's the more visually stunning and successfully atmospheric than any game we've had the pleasure to play.