User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10813 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    One of the deepest and more challenging games online. Its free for everyone and every MOBA fan should try it. If you are just looking for a challenging game, look no further. The amount of challenge and complexity are mixed together to create this amazing game, destroying completely its competition. The game its totally balanced. It takes some time to get used to its level of difficulty,One of the deepest and more challenging games online. Its free for everyone and every MOBA fan should try it. If you are just looking for a challenging game, look no further. The amount of challenge and complexity are mixed together to create this amazing game, destroying completely its competition. The game its totally balanced. It takes some time to get used to its level of difficulty, but once you learn and adapt to the games nature you are going to be having a blast.
    Play this game... its totally worth it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    This game is AWESOME. The only two downs it's the inability of playing on a local lan and the discrepancy of pub players. Summarizing BEST PLAYED WITH FRIENDS
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    This is what we were waiting for so long, it's DotA nothing more nothing less. There are basically 2 things bad about this game. One being the matchmaking/ladder system it is just bad, but we all are looking forward for it's improvement. And the other one is very steep learning curve and non existing tutorials those implemented by Valve are just a joke. Those two concerns are the reasonThis is what we were waiting for so long, it's DotA nothing more nothing less. There are basically 2 things bad about this game. One being the matchmaking/ladder system it is just bad, but we all are looking forward for it's improvement. And the other one is very steep learning curve and non existing tutorials those implemented by Valve are just a joke. Those two concerns are the reason why DotA has so low rating. That and all the lol fanboys for whom is Dota just too difficult, yea it is not a simple game. Everything else is just awesome. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    is the best game ever. the game playing is so good and the best of this game is the free heroes. i recommended for all person but is best for persons with 16-28 years
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Probably the best MOBA/PvP game I have played so far. Your decisions mean a lot, playing as a team is important. So far I have clocked in 200 hours and more of them are coming!
  6. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    It's one of the best Multiplayer game, but also there's a lot of noobs. Please, play Dota 2 after playing blizzard strategy games or League of Legends
  7. Sep 12, 2013
    10
    A little bit hard to understand the first time, but you will get addicted soon to the greatest MOBA game out there on the market!
    Absolutely a game to try, and guess what? It's completely free! I like it more than LOL or similar other games.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    8
    An interesting game with a high skill curve.If you're new,don't expect to get into the game quickly,however Valve has added tutorials to familiarize newer players with the game.As it is a PVP game,don't expect to always be winning your games as there may be those better than you.Every game ends up as a learning experience in this sense.

    Definitely worth to pick up,as its a free
    An interesting game with a high skill curve.If you're new,don't expect to get into the game quickly,however Valve has added tutorials to familiarize newer players with the game.As it is a PVP game,don't expect to always be winning your games as there may be those better than you.Every game ends up as a learning experience in this sense.

    Definitely worth to pick up,as its a free game,with in-game purchases not giving people any advantages with only cosmetics.Valve has handled the game fairly well, attempting to fix what many considers a toxic community with punishments to those who break rules.Thus,we can't consider the community as Valve's fault as they try to remedy it,and in games involving mostly pure pvp like this,a bad community is mostly expected.
    Expand
  9. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Great game if you like games like LOL or HON, but they seem to bland or simple for you. DOTA 2 provides an extra depth of difficulty and challenge that others do not have.
  10. Oct 18, 2013
    10
    Great MOBA game! This game hard for new players, but really interested for gamers with experience. I think that this game like a modern chess. RecommendDOTA 2 for all.
  11. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    w8 3 days hallowen nety ego cyka naxui v rot ebal VOLVO VOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVOVOLVO
  12. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDEGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE vGIVE DIRETIDE GIVE DIRETIDE Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    No diretide! No updates! More hats! Hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats hats
  15. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
  16. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Never been so addicted to a game before! Weekly updates, balanced, and a economy if you like to trade. Basically this game has everything you can ask for in a Moba.
  17. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    It's first year after beta test for this game, but valve beginning to ignore community such early, this fault with diretide just shown total atmosphere. Mostly updates only fm workshop, just for getting cash. It's no good way, especially at beginnings.
  18. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Just hats, hats, hats everywhere. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication. How Valve can reject so big community? GG, Valve.
    REST IN PEACE DIRETIDE
  19. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Great game with a high skillcap. Not easily accessible without spending some time understanding the basics, however the ingame tutorial is reasonably helpful for the fundamentals. Other than that, bot practice games are expected. However, people who have watched competitive DOTA before will feel right at home.
  20. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    It is great game with big potential and community, but I don`t know why people gave it 0 points for one missing event. I hope that this will Valve compensate for Christmas.
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    I am getting on for 1000 hours in DOTA 2. My perfect game. Strategic and tactical teamwork.

    Solo queuing is a nightmare. Join a guild with a Mumble server and you'll have a lot of fun.
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE Give DIRETIDE༼ Give DIRETIDE
  23. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    It's a good game, but the lack of events, new heroes and even a closer communication to the community is ruining the game. Seems all they want is to sell cosmetic items.
  24. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    It's free, it's competitive and it brings back the real Dota Experience. I dont play it much, but i do prefer it over LoL fort it's more realistic art style.

    Also there is a much better community behind Dota that will ween you in and teach you how to play.
  25. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
  26. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    You can denie and loose gold. this by itself will make the game very interesting.
    You only have 2 wards each 6 minutes, that will have you thinking a lot wat to do with the wards.
    The team fights happen not only on your screen. what i mean is, a entire team fight does not fit in your screen alone. You have to be aware of your surrondings. The towers can defend them selfs in early game.
    You can denie and loose gold. this by itself will make the game very interesting.
    You only have 2 wards each 6 minutes, that will have you thinking a lot wat to do with the wards.
    The team fights happen not only on your screen. what i mean is, a entire team fight does not fit in your screen alone. You have to be aware of your surrondings.
    The towers can defend them selfs in early game. they attack you if u attack them by your self, even if you have allied creeps near it.
    There are a lot of habilities super over powered, that can ruin the game. But there is always a counter for those habilities, people just need to learn the game. this makes the game perfectly balanced.
    With dotabuff, you can know in witch rating you are on.
    Easy to report, ban or mute a player.
    Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    THANKS VALVE,WE LOVE YOU
    ༼ THANKS VALVE,WE LOVE YOU
    ༼ THANKS VALVE,WE LOVE YOU
    ༼ THANKS VALVE,WE LOVE YOU
    ༼ THANKS VALVE,WE LOVE YOU
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A good, high-quality MOBA with varied but mostly balanced characters, built in spectating, item drops, and events. Although Valve doesn't always communicate the best, they care about the community still. GAVE DIRETIDE
  29. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Thank you Volvo for fixing the game, you gave diretide back to the community. The faith in you has been restored.
    It's time to fix all these faulty low scores!
  30. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    I can't get over how fun this game is. It's a game of fencing, where you give a little and take a little. It's back and forth fun all game and there is no better developer than Valve
  31. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Great game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hope that it goes the distance!
  32. Jul 12, 2014
    10
    Best free to play game in a true sense. There's no need to buy new heroes, no Pay-to-win issue at all. The game is absolutely fantastic especially after Valve has been putting focus on server stability, balance and the most importantly, community. It's amazing how the game has been improved since its first Beta launch back in 2011.
  33. Aug 11, 2014
    10
    Certainly the most addictive game I played. I love the minimalist core concept combined with an almost unlimited depth. If you play it (semi-)regularly with a team consisting of friends it's at its best. A competitive game avec brio!
  34. Jan 26, 2015
    10
    Great game, very hard for casuals to learn, even now, after beeing noobed down to 5% difficulty. Mixing verterans and newbies doesnt solve the eternal question "whose fault it is". Some cant read, some cant think, some dont give a **** So, thats your base of operations, your team. You *can* create your own team, unfortunately you have to evaluate your team members, whichs is still hardGreat game, very hard for casuals to learn, even now, after beeing noobed down to 5% difficulty. Mixing verterans and newbies doesnt solve the eternal question "whose fault it is". Some cant read, some cant think, some dont give a **** So, thats your base of operations, your team. You *can* create your own team, unfortunately you have to evaluate your team members, whichs is still hard and sometimes quite surpring as with any other normal D2 game. Playing with real life friends is your best option here, otherwise, you wont have fun at all. Alone 1/10 vs team of friends 10/10. Expand
  35. Jun 20, 2015
    10
    You are either wasting your time or winning.
    There are no compromises or hand holding.
    You hate it because you're scared to adapt.
    MOBAs can't get more realistic than this one.
  36. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is a very fun multiplayer game. It's only drawbacks are the steep learning curve and awful community. Play it enough though, and you'll feel like a pro.
  37. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    In the beginning I was arguing why a game where you start from 0 every match could be that addictive. As soon as I started playing I got shocked about the immersion this game provides. Although, I would strongly prefer more heroes...
  38. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    DOTA 2 is an incredibly fun game. It feels good to play, it is a very satisfying game. The game isn't easy. This provides for a challenge even for more seasoned MOBA players. But unfortunately, every game has its downsides as well. DOTA 2 has two downsides which might put people off

    1 very steep learning curve Like i said before, the game isn't easy. So if it's your first time playing
    DOTA 2 is an incredibly fun game. It feels good to play, it is a very satisfying game. The game isn't easy. This provides for a challenge even for more seasoned MOBA players. But unfortunately, every game has its downsides as well. DOTA 2 has two downsides which might put people off

    1 very steep learning curve
    Like i said before, the game isn't easy. So if it's your first time playing a MOBA, this might not be the best choice for you. (League of legends is generally easier to understand). However, there are a lot of people like me, who don't care about a learning curve since we don't feel the need to be a pro immediately. People like me, and possibly you, enjoy the challenge of mastering the game slowly. If this is the case, the learning curve is only a positive point.

    2 the community
    There is no way to describe this in a friendly way. MOBA communities are generally atrocious. DOTA 2 is no exception. If you combine this with the high learning curve, this will drastically lower the fun for newer players.

    Personally i think this game is really worth the time and investment. Even with a high learning curve, the game only becomes more fun and satisfying the better you get. This is mostly because you feel you are achieving something. Still, i highly advise to find at least one friend to play with. Optimal situation is if this friend is on the same skill level as you.

    GL HF in you coming DOTA 2 career.

    (remember, you game to have fun)
    Expand
  39. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    An extremely deep and complex game with a steep learning curve. Compared to League of Legends, which is an easy game to pick up and understand (I am 2000+ hours in LoL), this game is pretty tough to learn straight from the start.

    If you can get over the steep learning curve (the only reason I am giving it a 9 and not a 10), you will find a really wonderful game. Graphics: Top Notch
    An extremely deep and complex game with a steep learning curve. Compared to League of Legends, which is an easy game to pick up and understand (I am 2000+ hours in LoL), this game is pretty tough to learn straight from the start.

    If you can get over the steep learning curve (the only reason I am giving it a 9 and not a 10), you will find a really wonderful game.

    Graphics: Top Notch

    Characters (Variety, design, voice acting): Top Notch

    Items (Build possibilities): Top Notch

    User Interface: Top Notch (really extremely well made)

    Spectating (Tournaments, friends): Top Notch (A real delight to be able to buy a ticket for a tournament and watch it in the game engine, pick your own commentators, who's camera you want to follow etc)

    Words can't describe the genious of it all. Also, all characters are unlocked from the beginning. All you need to buy is cosmetics for your favourite champs.
    Expand
  40. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    Dota 2 is a game of highs and lows and it is not for the faint of heart. If you lack a thick skin Dota will beat you and leave you bleeding in the gutter. Why would you play Dota if it's so unforgiving? After playing lol for 4 years and having to watch lol go from good to awful thanks to Riot not inability to balance heroes and releasing new gamemodes that ultimately no one cares about andDota 2 is a game of highs and lows and it is not for the faint of heart. If you lack a thick skin Dota will beat you and leave you bleeding in the gutter. Why would you play Dota if it's so unforgiving? After playing lol for 4 years and having to watch lol go from good to awful thanks to Riot not inability to balance heroes and releasing new gamemodes that ultimately no one cares about and not Riot themselves I got fed up. I used to hate Dota as a mod for WC3, Dota 2 is different. The community issues in Dota remain but are not worse than LoL besides the point that Dota has more leavers, this aside Dota is deeper, more challenging, more strategic, more balanced and customizable than LoL or HoN. You have access to everything and only your skill is a factor for you sucess or failure. Low and high grounds, field of vision night time daytime differs and between heroes even, jungle is more jukable and the lack of summoner spells from LoL makes sure you have no extra safety net. Warding and items are more complex mechanics, math is a bigger factor and teamplay is more encuraged. The fact that valve is not even done with modes and ranked play means that the game will get even better. The trading of items is a game in it self outside the game. Guides for new players written by others can be accessed during matches to help with skill builds and item choices.... So if you can ignore flamers and focus on getting better and improving your play Dota has no equal. Add me ingame if you need help. There are alot of players willing to help not just the ragers. Alias Oktalz. Welcome to DOTA2 next level of mobas Expand
  41. Oct 5, 2013
    8
    This is a great RPG/strategy game. In one hour you can have the satisfaction of hacking and slashing, leveling up, buying items, fighting bosses (other players) and beating the game. All in all a very satisfying experience, Though the learning curve can be a little steep, depending upon how deep you want to delve into this game. It gets deep!
  42. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    Do not play this game, you cannot get anything, nor fun, nor balance, nor fairness, nor friends, you will get nothing and all thanks to Valve and their milking-ruining game model.
  43. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
  44. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode. Volvo govno, give DoreTode.
  45. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Ignore the kids below that are giving low scores due to not having an UNPROMISED event even though the game is already awesome. Keep it up Valve!
  46. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    The game is great. The online team fights are awesome and there are a lot of customizable items. Sure Valve has it's problems with communication, but the game itself is really good.
  47. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    A great game with much strategy and complicated but awesome gameplay with a wide pvp experience that no other game has had before. The big tournaments clearly show how complex and skilled it is.
  48. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    This is a game of chess where you have to think through each move up to мелочей.Valve excellent job over their work, but there are small errors. But we will not be judged strictly because we are all human, and humans by their nature are fallible. I put 9 points since there is a bug not how many characters are not released, and in the last patch was a lot of bugs). And Diretide will, ifThis is a game of chess where you have to think through each move up to мелочей.Valve excellent job over their work, but there are small errors. But we will not be judged strictly because we are all human, and humans by their nature are fallible. I put 9 points since there is a bug not how many characters are not released, and in the last patch was a lot of bugs). And Diretide will, if not this year then next definitely will. Let's congratulate Gabe with the forthcoming holiday. Expand
  49. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Great game,love the gameplay ,love graphics .The really bad side of the Dota 2 team is 0 communication with the community.There is not a single person capabale of taking care of this part of communication.
  50. Nov 3, 2013
    10
    No diretide, no fun
    All they want is more money
    more money
    **** dota 2, go back to warcraft dota 2 if you want to play it

    Current status of Dota is bad.

    GIVE DIRETIDE
  51. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE GIVEN HIGHTEN RATINGs
    JUMP THE SHIP
    KILL HOTs
    HAVE A GOOD DAY SIR
    AND PLAY DOTA 2
    CAUSE VALVES COMMUNICATION IS THE BEST

    DIRETIDE GIVEN HIGHTEN RATINGs
    JUMP THE SHIP
    KILL HOTs
    HAVE A GOOD DAY SIR
    AND PLAY DOTA 2
    CAUSE VALVES COMMUNICATION IS THE BEST

    NO COPY PASTERINO
  52. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is an absolutely awesome game! Don't pay attention to the negative reviews. Granted the game has a steep learning curve, but once you get past that it is extremely enjoyable. Love Volvo!
  53. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband
  54. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Awesome company. There was a lack of communication with diretide but they owned up to it, apologized and actually gave us diretide! Apart from this incident Valve is awesome!
  55. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    It's definitely a great game, really fun and addicting. Not perfect at all, there are far too many bugs that have yet to be patched for it to be a 10. The community can be very frustrating in game and on forums but that doesn't detract from the gameplay.
  56. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Unbelievably complex and satisfying true-F2P game.

    Cons:

    * High learning curve
    * Innumerable trolls, whiners, and flamers, particularly at low levels of play

    I won't bother listing the pros. If you can get over those two downsides, the game speaks for itself. It's an incredibly rewarding and satisfying game that has a way of sucking you in despite how difficult it may be to get into.
  57. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo!
  58. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the most entertaining games ever made by Valve. Everything good about the old dota and then some. Very fast paced and brutal. Bad user score due to no halloween event this year, but who cares.

    Came here to show my support for one of the greatest Valve products ever made!
  59. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Well done Valve.

    Dota 2 is one of the best games one can play, ever. Possible to get lost playing it for weeks and months on end. Learning curve is steep and that's what makes it fun.
  60. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the finest multiplayer game I've ever played. So many big updates that keep the game feeling fresh. Challenging, exciting, never gets old, recommend to all.
  61. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Best free to play game in a true sense. There's no need to buy new heroes, no Pay-to-win issue at all. The game is absolutely fantastic especially after Valve has been putting focus on server stability, balance and the most importantly, community. It's amazing how the game has been improved since its first Beta launch back in 2011. I've played Dota 1, LoL, HoN, and Smite but I;m certainBest free to play game in a true sense. There's no need to buy new heroes, no Pay-to-win issue at all. The game is absolutely fantastic especially after Valve has been putting focus on server stability, balance and the most importantly, community. It's amazing how the game has been improved since its first Beta launch back in 2011. I've played Dota 1, LoL, HoN, and Smite but I;m certain this will be my go-to ARTS game. Expand
  62. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best MOBA game out, hands down. The depth and intricacy of the gameplay far excel any competitors on the market. This does result in a steep learning curve but those who stick it out are rewarded with a deep and engaging game.
  63. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    With the steep learning curve i find this to be one of the most rewarding online pvp games around. Great level of skill and ability is required and communication key to becoming a good team member. All in all a brilliant game by valve
  64. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Well, in short, any game that keeps me playing for over 100h is a 10/10. And Dota 2 has done that and a lot more, I have played mobas for over 2000h and im not getting tired. The vast possibilities and combinations make this the perfect PvP game.

    But that is the problem, a game is only as good as the players, and i try to make everyone that plays with me have a good time. That can't be
    Well, in short, any game that keeps me playing for over 100h is a 10/10. And Dota 2 has done that and a lot more, I have played mobas for over 2000h and im not getting tired. The vast possibilities and combinations make this the perfect PvP game.

    But that is the problem, a game is only as good as the players, and i try to make everyone that plays with me have a good time. That can't be said for everyone. If you want the game of your life, you will have to be ready to feed, get yelled at and come out swinging, you will have to do the tutorial and play vs bots, do it with friends. Read the heroes, try them out and then you will be ready. This is the game that has higher skillcap than dark souls, but only because the ones you play against are humans, that can also make the game very easy, play with ppl on your level if you want to have a really good experience of the game.

    This game is only for the dedicated, but it is the best PvP around!
    Expand
  65. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, butThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  66. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Great game, amazing complexity, really love it. Only problem is that its, so addictive, but is that a problem really? The game is incredibly well made, and Valve is doing a great job of catering both casual and more hardcore gamers with this. A must-play!
  67. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo
  68. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Better than LoL ;D Awesome game, team-oriented epicness, this game is the Counting since DotA All-stars, I have never played a game this much. Freaking addicting, fun, very competitive, and is getting better and better which each update. Thanks Valve and IceFrog!
  69. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo Repair score tv Volvo
  70. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and has diretide! Expand
  71. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    It's beatiful no tears just dreams. It's beatiful no tears just dreams. It's beatiful no tears just dreams. It's beatiful no tears just dreams. It's beatiful no tears just dreams. It's beatiful no tears just dreams.
  72. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    10/10 Easily the best PC game out right now. Biggest competitive scene in the history of gaming, and an overall amazing game for everyone.

    Not only that the developer listens to its community for good suggestions and ignores them for bad ones.
  73. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Awesome game, great competitive gameplay with endless replayability. Im just trying to reduce the damage done by the "give diretide" retards and return it to a fair review
  74. Dec 10, 2013
    8
    I'm going to start by saying dota 2 isn't for everyone. As you can see there is a very even based user score. The gameplay does what it is meant to do and the mechanics of the game are well engineered. Visuals are much nicer than LOL or any other mmoba on the market. But on the other hand it takes a lot of time to fully understand the mechanics of this game and the way it is mean to beI'm going to start by saying dota 2 isn't for everyone. As you can see there is a very even based user score. The gameplay does what it is meant to do and the mechanics of the game are well engineered. Visuals are much nicer than LOL or any other mmoba on the market. But on the other hand it takes a lot of time to fully understand the mechanics of this game and the way it is mean to be played. Lots of negative reviews are poured in because people argue that it is unbalanced and many heroes are OP. This isn't true. Its more so that they don't understand the game well enough to play against these things right. The next thing you should look out for is the community. Most people on dota are horrible people and will yell at you get mad and report you saying you fed. As a member of this gaming community it shames me that I have to play on the same teams as them. Valve does what they can but the report system has backfired to the point where innocent noobs get reported and than quit cause they cant have fun. The reason i ranked this game so high is the problems that come with the game are nothing that valve could have done to fix. Its simply the way that human nature has perverted it and twisted it. However this game is fun and you should definitely give it a try Expand
  75. Feb 17, 2014
    10
    I had so much fun punching elephants to death when i wasnt stunned. I got some good punches on this fat ass elephant but not many because everyone has a stun. Worst lego game ever. I might aswell go watch the lego movie coming out in the cinemas because im a 12 year old. either way, dota 2 sucks big black galaxy bars.
  76. Jul 6, 2014
    10
    10/10 Best language learning tool EVER. Makes Rosetta Stone look like a JOKE. Available in Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and every language in the European Union.
  77. Feb 16, 2015
    10
    Started my first game, client recommended that I play some bot games to learn as I started out, I said "Awww, nah, I'll just jump into normal matchmaking". Immediately lost 10 games in a row, and was subject to an entire life's worth of abuse and reports for being a noob. 700 hours later I do not regret my decision.
    11/10, would get flamed again.
  78. Feb 20, 2015
    10
    This game is wonderful with so much depth that even after over 8 years of playing it I still have much to learn. But all of that depth and beauty is ruined by the horrible community. If you want to enjoy this game and have fun it's best to play with friends. Otherwise be ready for a lot of frustration if you play solo.
  79. Mar 17, 2015
    10
    As gamers on any platform begin to evolve, gaming becomes more than just a leisure activity, and as streaming of player versus player experiences starts to popularize, I find it is very easy to review Defense of the Ancients 2. DOTA 2 is a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) that heavily and competitively focuses on the player versus player (PvP) aspects of gaming. As the PC gameAs gamers on any platform begin to evolve, gaming becomes more than just a leisure activity, and as streaming of player versus player experiences starts to popularize, I find it is very easy to review Defense of the Ancients 2. DOTA 2 is a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena (MOBA) that heavily and competitively focuses on the player versus player (PvP) aspects of gaming. As the PC game develops with its impressive accumulation of unique players every month and its paucity of cons, DOTA 2 achieves the, “Best Free Online Game” award from me. I continue to invest many hours into the game for more than just one reason, merely ranging from the price to its in-depth lore, gameplay, and intense community.
    First thing is first, DOTA 2 is a free downloadable game you can obtain from Steam, an internet-based digital distribution, digital rights management (DRM), multiplayer, and social networking platform developed by Valve Corporation. Everyone enjoys free things, but what greatly separates this game from different and popular games is the necessity of a computer (desktop or laptop) rather than a console like a PlayStation 4 or an Xbox One. Gaming on computers and laptops is out faming the consoles simply because computers and laptops offer a much more spread out genre of video games. The only upside, in my opinion, of a console over a computer are the graphics and how cheap it is to obtain such graphics, but as beautiful and real as graphics seem on console games, DOTA 2 manages to create some vigorous and vibrant edges and textures. Instances of these tactile textures, cuts, shadowing, and rendering are the heroes or characters and the environment. The trees, rivers and even floors are covered in variances of colors shapes and sizes. Since the map of the MOBA consists of two insanely distinct sides, it is not hard to visualize the crazy and imaginative graphics on either sides of the map. So because the graphics are optical and make it easy to differentiate allies, enemies, and the actions of each means that the game is easy to play. That does not mean the game itself is easy.
    Not only are the graphics outstanding for this free PC game, but its gameplay is very smooth if you have a computer that can run it. The motions on the screen are compared by no other MOBA out there in addition to its skill level. Although its gameplay is easy going and greatly enjoyable by anyone, one has to master the ways of the game. The skill level required to play such a MOBA is extremely difficult to learn right away. Hours must be strictly put into DOTA 2 in order to familiarize and become comfortable with the intricate mechanics. Learning Defense of the Ancients 2 back to front will be a challenge but with commitment, rewards along the DOTA 2 path will be provided. Winning a game will become much more satisfying and random drops of player customization will pop out of nowhere. The only thing to deal with after that is the community.
    Any online multiplayer hosts a community in which they all vary from each other. DOTA 2’s community is a bumpy road to travel across with its intense and competitive gamers to the ignorant fools that mess up the gaming experience for everyone. Competitive players are those who do not like to joke around as they take the game very serious. DOTA 2 to a competitive player is like the law to a police officer. It is also like cancer when a competitive player meets up an ignorant child that destroys the gameplay for everyone else, but more importantly to the serious player. It is very intriguing but difficult to cross over that swaying bridge of trolls (gamers that intentionally negate the gaming experience for others) and the competitiveness of the rest of DOTA 2, but the game becomes much more enjoyable. Similar outcomes to mastering the game are achieved when getting over that bridge. This certain game also includes a neat little lore behind all the characters that may take one’s mind of the skill requirement or the annoyance the community brings for just enough time to get back into mindless gaming.
    It is a clear-cut to me that the writers of DOTA 2’s lore have really put some thought into its characters. Where one hero like Omniknight may support and help others, another may slice through his or her enemy with ease and without remorse like Phantom Assassin. Some characters revolve opportunistic kills that travel across the map without fault like Nature’s Prophet and others are stationary and defensive that wait for a miscalculation in opposing steps like Techies. There is one specific hero that seems quite nice and generous but is really the mastermind behind why a whole war between The Radiant and The Dire broke out. The Radiant are normal and loving human beings and animals that fight against hellish monsters and beasts known as The Dire. The objective of every game is to destroy the opposing team’s ancient.
    I have spent over 1500 hours on this game and to a committed player, DOTA2 nears perfection.
    Expand
  80. Apr 3, 2015
    10
    Beginners are screwed at first, but eventually they will discover a new, extremely satisfying level of gameplay. Dota 2 is an amazing game because of its strategic depth, constantly varying games, and established highly competitive scene. This game generates challenges both for the casual and the more serious player.
  81. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    A game hard to master but with an amazing sense of reward! Cyka Blyat and privet rule EU servers which is always fun! A game that contributes into a roller-coast and funky but worthy dementia. Welcome into the rabbit hole, we can only hope you can't get out anymore!
  82. May 6, 2015
    10
    Esse jogo é fantástico demais! Tenho mais de 4.000 horas de jogo e nunca me canso, cada partida é única. O melhor MOBA de todos. LOL, Smite, Hon e HotS são todos imitações baratas. Se você é um jogador como eu que aprecia a originalidade de cada proposta, então esse jogo será maravilhoso! É o mais original que existe! Os outros Mobas são apenas vapores que logo se tornarão invisíveis seEsse jogo é fantástico demais! Tenho mais de 4.000 horas de jogo e nunca me canso, cada partida é única. O melhor MOBA de todos. LOL, Smite, Hon e HotS são todos imitações baratas. Se você é um jogador como eu que aprecia a originalidade de cada proposta, então esse jogo será maravilhoso! É o mais original que existe! Os outros Mobas são apenas vapores que logo se tornarão invisíveis se comparado com esse jogo aqui: Dota 2. Expand
  83. Jun 3, 2015
    10
    Always the best of all games, steam I'm proud of you, I played this game a 6 years ago, and now is all perfect, I never imagine that game was so awsome.
    For sure is the bes of all ages and times.
    You have to ply this game.
  84. Jun 4, 2015
    10
    The most competitive game I have ever played. I have thousands of hours in this game and not one is like another. Dota's lead developer, Icefrog, has been around for more than 10 years now and listens to the communities feedback for balances and changes. Best part is that it is completely free, any money you put into the game will have no impact on your game play, it will only change howThe most competitive game I have ever played. I have thousands of hours in this game and not one is like another. Dota's lead developer, Icefrog, has been around for more than 10 years now and listens to the communities feedback for balances and changes. Best part is that it is completely free, any money you put into the game will have no impact on your game play, it will only change how the game looks. Expand
  85. Jul 24, 2015
    10
    The Best game ever i will and gonna play in my entire life i play this game for 8 years and im still playing this game becase is the best game ever!!!
  86. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    DOTA is a perfect blend of action and strategy. This game requires deep, thoughtful tactics, while also demanding quick thinking and skill to pull off said tactics. It's the original ARTS and it is by far the best as well.
  87. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    THE ORIGINAL

    If you want the best moba out there, go with the one and only, DOTA. Half of lol heroes are copycat anyway. Dota have better graphic, smoother gameplay, better selection of champions, its a free game, not a ''free'' game like league where they want to sell summoner icon...WTF....Skill and champion make your success in dota, not only the ''build'' of items. Dota 2 is all
    THE ORIGINAL

    If you want the best moba out there, go with the one and only, DOTA. Half of lol heroes are copycat anyway. Dota have better graphic, smoother gameplay, better selection of champions, its a free game, not a ''free'' game like league where they want to sell summoner icon...WTF....Skill and champion make your success in dota, not only the ''build'' of items.

    Dota 2 is all about competition and skill where league is casual gaming and almost buttons mashing. Dont get me wrong, league is a good game but not as pure or as polished as Dota, just look at the League of legend uber archaic interface, its ridiculous.

    Steam and Dota for the win.
    Expand
  88. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Good graphics, addictive team-based gameplay, free to play with no cash shop items that affect the gameplay in any way, very good replayability, steap learning curve. The only problems are: flaming school kids in the community (but hey, this is not the developers fault!), a rather small variety of heroes (Heroes of Newearth provide much more) and a certain lack of balance for heroes (someGood graphics, addictive team-based gameplay, free to play with no cash shop items that affect the gameplay in any way, very good replayability, steap learning curve. The only problems are: flaming school kids in the community (but hey, this is not the developers fault!), a rather small variety of heroes (Heroes of Newearth provide much more) and a certain lack of balance for heroes (some heroes are OP). Also there is no "concede" button so you end up playing matches much longer than you should: this is probably the biggest problem, which would be so easy to fix. Despite this the game deserves a 10. Expand
  89. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is the most addictive game I've ever played in my entire life. And it's legitimately free, with all heroes playable at all times unlike LoL.

    I don't often feel compelled to write video game reviews, but I felt that I owed it to you, my fellow gamers, to do it for this game. If you can get around the daunting learning curve, the game in incredibly immersive, action-packed and
    Dota 2 is the most addictive game I've ever played in my entire life. And it's legitimately free, with all heroes playable at all times unlike LoL.

    I don't often feel compelled to write video game reviews, but I felt that I owed it to you, my fellow gamers, to do it for this game.

    If you can get around the daunting learning curve, the game in incredibly immersive, action-packed and full of strategy at the higher levels of play. When I first played I was totally lost. I felt it would be impossible to learn all of the 102 (At the time of this writing) hero's 4 or more abilities, let alone all their specific interactions.

    However, I realized how amazing the game was and I kept playing. It probably took me around 200 hours to fully grasp all the basics. Was it worth it? If I was going to be playing video games anyways, I'm glad I was playing something this enthralling.

    Sure, it truly can be an emotional rollercoaster ride with some of the ignorant, rude douchebags you will inevitably play with, but if you use the ignore feature intelligently and don't feed the trolls, it's not a problem.

    I currently have 1400 hours in Dota 2 and counting. I would say it rates as my number 1 most played game of all time (2nd being Warcraft 3, 3rd being Pokemon Red/Blue/Yellow/Silver).
    Expand
  90. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I scarcely give the highest score for anything, but in my opinion DotA2 is currently the best multiplayer experience both in the MOBA genre and for PvP games in general.

    If you can live with the poisonous community (that is inherent in every competitive PvP game, but especially in MOBAs the "block player" checkbox helps in DotA2), you'll spend a LOT of hours trying to master the game,
    I scarcely give the highest score for anything, but in my opinion DotA2 is currently the best multiplayer experience both in the MOBA genre and for PvP games in general.

    If you can live with the poisonous community (that is inherent in every competitive PvP game, but especially in MOBAs the "block player" checkbox helps in DotA2), you'll spend a LOT of hours trying to master the game, which contains many combinations of heroes, items and tactics.

    If you're new and interested in this kind of PvP gameplay, don't give up too early. The learning curve is quite steep, but the newly introduced tutorial missions should help a lot. There are also helpful guides on the web, and the matchmaking will create even matchups after a couple of ranked matches.
    Expand
  91. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is surprisingly a very good game, I myself enjoyed this game so much, I tried LoL but it did not compare. Just accept your defeat LoL players. Also GTFO if you just going to put 0 scores and give stupid reasons......
  92. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This game is great and everyone should try it. Everything is free, well, almost everything. It has it's flaws. One of them is region system, it doesn't work at all in its way. Second is community. It has "pro" players, flamers and everything between them. And it doesn't have good training system. Sure it has training, but they don't really help and playing with bots is either too easy orThis game is great and everyone should try it. Everything is free, well, almost everything. It has it's flaws. One of them is region system, it doesn't work at all in its way. Second is community. It has "pro" players, flamers and everything between them. And it doesn't have good training system. Sure it has training, but they don't really help and playing with bots is either too easy or too hard (usually). And yes, there is humans vs bots games, but they don't really help either. But overall, it's a great game. Expand
  93. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Playing this game is not worth it. Who would want to have all characters unlocked from the beginning when you could grind for months to have decent pool while developer still releases same characters with same abilities only with different skins. Also, I have to think while playing and change roles during the game, it is unacceptable. You should follow the same meta and roles from thePlaying this game is not worth it. Who would want to have all characters unlocked from the beginning when you could grind for months to have decent pool while developer still releases same characters with same abilities only with different skins. Also, I have to think while playing and change roles during the game, it is unacceptable. You should follow the same meta and roles from the beginning and should be banned if you pick character that does not have a set role. And letting people from different servers play on their 1 account across the globe? It is terrible game design. Plus, there aren't even 50 hot female characters let alone that they have prostitute-looking skins.
    Terrible, worst game ever. 10/10
    Expand
  94. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Free to play, high skill ceiling and 100% skill based gameplay. No need to spend a cent in order to "have a chance", all the paid items are cosmetic and gives 0 advantage. This game have no room for the "casuals" to just join up and mash buttons until they occasionally win. if you're not willing to learn about the game and earn your victories, then I suggest you stay away from DOTA 2.
  95. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    You can say what you want about the community, but the game is great. I love it and played it 400+ hours so far Never had problems with being reported and the bad games that happen sometimes usually get countered by a great and fun match afterwards.
    I would recommend everyone t at least try it for a small time once.
    (get past the first waves of newcomers (aka the raging noobs) and
    You can say what you want about the community, but the game is great. I love it and played it 400+ hours so far Never had problems with being reported and the bad games that happen sometimes usually get countered by a great and fun match afterwards.
    I would recommend everyone t at least try it for a small time once.

    (get past the first waves of newcomers (aka the raging noobs) and you will be fine. At higher rating/level matches there is alot more optimistic and fun people... while the ragers/trolls etc. (usually free players just coming in) are at the bottom rating matches were sadly they make the life of other newcomers a misery.
    Expand
  96. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    As far as the MOBA market goes, they don't get any better than Dota 2. All the content is freely and instantly available, no points or in game dollar system for those to pay to win. All cosmetics are just that, cosmetics.

    Play with 5 friends for the best experience, solo queue suffers from racial tensions brought on by communication problems (South Americans, Russians are the more
    As far as the MOBA market goes, they don't get any better than Dota 2. All the content is freely and instantly available, no points or in game dollar system for those to pay to win. All cosmetics are just that, cosmetics.

    Play with 5 friends for the best experience, solo queue suffers from racial tensions brought on by communication problems (South Americans, Russians are the more popular scapegoats). This weakness shows what Dota2 is really about, communication. The teams that are able to talk, plan, and think, will almost always win. Which for me, means the game has done something very right.

    10/10, constant updates, extremely well made game, great voices, what lore there is is thought-out and well written, unbeatable team-experience.
    Expand
  97. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Been playing this game for soo long since the first dota and I have to say that this is the best multiplayer online battle arena out there. Although, League of Legends maybe the more popular one Dota 2 is definitely the better game, graphics, mechanics and balance wise. They did pretty well with retaining the balance of both sides from the original game and it has been a very enjoyableBeen playing this game for soo long since the first dota and I have to say that this is the best multiplayer online battle arena out there. Although, League of Legends maybe the more popular one Dota 2 is definitely the better game, graphics, mechanics and balance wise. They did pretty well with retaining the balance of both sides from the original game and it has been a very enjoyable experience for me. Expand
  98. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Just a fun fact about the rating system, 90% of these negative reviews recently have stemmed from a pile of whiny entitled gamers who had a holiday event cancelled (eventually turned out to just be a delay), so effectively add about 2-3 points to the score, and subtract about 2500 negative reviews (mainly the 0s) from consideration.
  99. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    What a game is this holy damn...Yesterday i played my first game and it was one of the best gaming experience in my life. My team about the game having no surrender option but after 10 min we did such an amazing comeback we all bursted into spaming in allchat. BEST GAME EVER!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 15, 2017
    85
    And this dichotomy is perhaps the best descriptor I can attach to Dota 2. It is frequently a game which occupies two opposite spaces simultaneously. It is the best game. It is also the worst game. No game has ever made me as miserable as Dota 2 has. But no game has made me feel so consistently rewarded for my time, and as consistently, wonderfully connected to the friends I play it with.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Games Master UK
    Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]