User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10111 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This game takes critical thinking. That's why it's fun. You make decisions and learn from them. Working with friends or strangers over a relatively long period of time to dominate your enemy can be extremely fun. It's also awesome when notice yourself improving.
  2. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    If you've ever wondered what a true team-based e-sport game would be, Dota 2 is it. If you take the time to learn the game, which is a daunting but deeply rewarding task, you'll see that Dota 2 parallels everything you see in professional sports today, and it's only going to keep growing and getting better. You can be sure of that with a great company like Valve developing the game whose third annual multimillion dollar prizepool tournament is only a few weeks away. Their commitment to making Dota 2 into a great e-sport is unrivaled, and the features they've added to the game such as DotaTV which allow you to watch professional games of Dota 2 inside the client and hear caster commentary, the in-game item purchase notifications, various real-time charts and graphs of game stats, spectator item drops (the virtual equivalent of catching a home-run ball at a baseball game) all make Dota 2 a great game to watch.
    And for their upcoming tournament, The International 3, they've really outdone themselves with the compendium item they're selling. It's a $10 virtual book which allows you to really follow and interact with the tournament as it progresses. You'll be able to make predictions about all kinds of game stats and winners, stamp your book with collectible player cards which you can collect from playing the game, create a fantasy team and earn points based on their performance throughout the tournament, and also vote on who you want to see play in the 1v1 and all-star matches using your compendium.

    But possibly the best thing about the compendium is that 75% of your $10 purchase will go directly to the tournament's prizepool. What started out as a $1.6 million prize pool has almost reached $2.6 million through the community's purchasing of compendiums. And along the way, Valve has rewarded compendium purchasers for reaching 5 of the prizepool milestones by them unique skins and items which themselves are worth the $10 purchase (Any future compendium buyers even get all the previous rewards as well so they won't be missing out). Even the 1v1 tournament portion portion of the event wasn't originally planned, but is now being held as a reward for the compendium reaching its 5th milestone.
    By getting into Dota 2, you're not just learning to play a game, you're learning to play an e-sport. It's a game you'll have countless hours of fun playing, but also a game you can watch and follow even when you don't feel like playing. And watching Dota 2 can be just as captivating as playing it, because there can be so many amazing and exciting things that can happen.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2013
    9
    This game is brilliant endless hours of fun with such a huge diversity of characters to play. It can be very antagonising, but that's one of the games charms it gives you a real drive to do better. The game has a steep learning curve but a high level of satisfaction. The game has a generally nice and inviting feel about it. It isn't without it's flaws, the multiplayer engine could do with some tweeking, and perhaps some sort of skill level matching up to let the new players learn in a more supportive environment, but other than that, this game is brilliant. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    Dota 2 is a team game. If you don't like the idea of 5 people working together to win a game then this isn't for you.

    If you're a new player playing the game genre for the 1st time you will find it very hard and complicated, you will probably lose most of your 1st 100 games if you're committed to the game. Once you grasp the basics of the game last hitting, denying, warding,
    map-awareness, etc. you might be guy who can win the game for your team and it feels very good when that happens carrying your whole team to victory.
    Losing in Dota 2 can be very frustrating specially if you feel like your the only one actually trying to win, if you're on a losing streak try to stop playing before you punch your PC monitor.

    Most people think that Dota 2 graphic are not very good, I agree to this it could use a little work.
    Dota 2 community like all games it has it's own share of that like to flame/rage/unsupportive during games but it also has nice people.
    Expand
  5. Jul 21, 2013
    9
    The best action-rpg "MOBA" of all time. A real "e-sport" to the community of PC gamers. Dota 2 is a challenging game for beginners to the more experienced player.

    For those who know how to play, have a balanced match with other players of similar skill or even more experienced is very rewarding and fun, it feel like to play a real game of football, basketball or any other sport under
    the same conditions.

    But not everything is perfect. For beginners is one of the hardest games to learn and master. All choices are important, since the hero to your items or even your "line" matter. And to make the right choices you need to understand and consider what qualities, disadvantages and various other aspects when choosing... and the only way to learn is by trying, struggling, being blamed for the defeats and various other things.

    If you take learning with humor you'll probably have a good laughs, but if you do not have a lot of patience to learn and not have anyone to help you, I advise you to skip this game and avoid stress.

    The main reason why I can not give 10/10 is the process of training that should be much improved as well as some other aspects such as match-making.

    Finally, like any new game Dota 2 have their faults that can be corrected over time, but that surely does not affect the main purpose of the game, which is fun, challenging and competitive, something that the game achieves very effectively, hence...

    9/10 for Dota 2.
    Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is surprisingly a very good game, I myself enjoyed this game so much, I tried LoL but it did not compare. Just accept your defeat LoL players. Also GTFO if you just going to put 0 scores and give stupid reasons......
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    Traditional and innovative
    Dota 2; Moba to continue and further development of its kind that was a game. Valve, it will move to a better location anyway. Valve created wish you continued success. To make the game more innovative Valve should do more than their best.
  8. Jul 23, 2013
    9
    Dota 2 shows how a moba is supposed to be, an 5v5 Arena where the arena can be changed to your advantages to make deep strategy use. Dota 2 has a hard learning curve and this will follow you until you stop playing. You can never truly master the game because the situation always changes.
    If you want to compare it to other moba's is dota the big mean brother of the others.
    There is no
    better moba, its comes down on your own taste. Want to still have some fun, play LoL.
    Want to try hard and cry a little, play Dota. I also see alot of bad reviews because of the community. last time I checked you don't rate a game on the community. The community can be bad but just ignore it and carry on with it untill you find a proper team. Maybe don't be such a loner and make a team so you don't have to team up with pubs. The graphics are fine as they are. The gameplay is excellent. Voice actors are excellent, the lore falls a bit short now and then but it's being worked on. The way that the community can make money out of a game someone else completely made, some people don't understand this but it's like going to a market, they set up an store for you and you just deliver the items.
    Expand
  9. Aug 12, 2013
    1
    Ok where do i start witch this game, Poor graphics Buggy The match making is awful the wait time to get into games is shocking the learning curve is mental and the tutorials you get don't really help. Boring to play Items and collectibles are confusing and offer no help. community that play the game are 80% idiots and when you do "report" them for being idiots quitting mid match ect nothing seems to happen and to add to it all the game is so repetitive you will find yourself doing the exact same thing during each of the hour long matches. I gave this game 1 because its free and free games are good......well....was good... Expand
  10. Oct 7, 2013
    0
    As stated before first, i gave a 10 points review but by viewing the other users reviews i change mine to 0, and there are 11 reasons.
    1. Matchmaking: The algorithms used by valve are just horrible you don't know who youre gonna play with or if he/she even speaks your language(even if you select just spanish or just english). you can get to play with noobies or with pros and worse you can
    get a mixture of both, so in a game you're a pro and you get a guy that knows how to play 2 that have an idea and 1 that has just started playing and the other team gets 4 good players and 1 that doesn't. thats an example but its even worse than that cause usually you get noobs all the time that think they can play and they dont and the leave, making you lose the just because someone was trolling them or because they got to stressed.

    2. Report System: the RS is just lame. it looks like they didn't even thought about it. it gives you3 options either to much talking, abuse of skills, and i dont remember the third xD. this gives a chance to bash the hell out of new players by "pro" players or people who think they are by saying report X person because he is a noob.

    3. DotA Gameplay: The original dota was just as harsh as this one. i mean you don't know how to play DotA, don't come and play DotA 2 because your gonna get insulted like never before.

    4. Nothing New: It has the same characteristics of DotA 1 except for grapics that are better but the animation problems are still the same,what do i mean by this? in DotA a certain kind of hero let's say i.e. a wizard would lift his arms up then point at one direction and cast a spell then stood there for 1 sec doing nothing that's the spell animation of the hero, now when you actually got to learn how to stop this animation from happening all the way, you might say that you know basics. in DotA 2 you have this same problem but as i have tried there's no stopping some animations, you just have to wait for the 2 sec animation and get pounded while your at it.

    5. Shop: I don't know why they changed the shop style, if they didn't change anything else why the shop? DotA players knew what letters to what items to buy, now they're numbers. it completely obliges you to learn all the new numbers and it's just lazy.

    6. The Pro Gameplay: DotA stays the same for pros once you get used to the new commands and the shop.

    7: Team matchs: Another Matchmaking error, once you get a few players that you qualify as "good" and add them as friends, you can get a team and search with them for matches. This is great if you're on the team. Horrible if you're not. you might be a pro but get to play with 5 people that know DotA and you get 4 of them that don't, Result: POUNDED.

    8. Bugs: There are some known bugs out there that you might not know like being in the shadows or a certain kind of spot that even if you're right beside the hero you won't see them, again if you don't know how to play you're screwed.

    9. Basics: The tutorial gives you a veeeeeeery small minded picture of what the game really is, it actually gives you one or two good pointers like, last hitting, and buying potions but that's about it. thats not DotA.

    10. Microphone: the mic feature is great...if you the language of the people that are speaking it, if not it's just annoying, and worse there are some people whose mics sound ALL THE TIME, like you hear them breathing and stuff like that, just annoying.

    11. Community: Again, if you want to play DotA 2, Learn how to play DotA or practice till you can beat the out of Unfair bots, then youre ready to play with people and get ready to be insulted, mistreated, trolled, reported unfairly, screamed at, etc. the community SUCKS. and i mean it. im a pro player and i understand the anger of other players when they get noob players, but i actually surpassed that, now i know that a noob player can be taught, a player that "thinks" he is good, doesn't want to be taught and actually will insult you if you try to give pointers,so in my experience, youre a newbie, say it from the beginning so someone that know how to play helps you but then again, try to beat unfair bots then play with people.

    12. Given all of these critics the matchmaking, the report system, the anti-newbie community, the gameplay,etc. i think DotA 2 is a great game for people that know how to play it. but a NIGHTMARE for people that dont.
    Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this game f*cked me thank your for game VALVE I will do not buy anything in your store more
    i hate you VALVE
    i hate you VALVE
    i hate you VALVE
    Expand
  12. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Valve destroyed game, stupid corporation which dont care about customer.

    more hats less bug fix more hats less bug fix more hats less bug fix more hats less bug fix
  13. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    I have been a player for almost 2 years now. At first i was amazed by the state in wich the beta was running. I fell in love with the game and the mechanics. I could handle the russian players en the raging. I wanted to learn more about the gameplay. When i got more and more items in the game i got a purpose, i wanted awesome cosmetics aswell as good gameplay! Diretide in 2012 provided this, i made a lot of friends that im still playing with at this event.

    A week ago i got hyped for the awesome halloween event Valve would have made for Dota2. The TF2 events always were fun, and i couldnt wait to return to Diretide. But nothing happened. No communication, no diretide. I and many others got angry and demanded atleast some communication towards the biggest playerbase on Steam.

    Just a little more then an hour ago they updated Dota2, with only cosmetics. Just a few cosmetics, while the playerbase is raging about the fact that there is no Diretide event. And jet no communication has been made.

    Valve, you have dissapointed me. In my eyes you were the best in communicating and making games software. But after this, i have lost all hope in Valve. In my eyes, you belong right down there with EA, Ubisoft and Activision.
    Expand
  14. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game which has managed to keep me enraptured for 300+ hours and with no sign of slowing. While updates aren't always lightning fast, they are worth the wait. Don't let some whining children poison your view of it.
  15. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Game is hard
    at first, but then it grows on you. I have over 500 wins and 1400 total matches played. MOBA type games need communication and updates from developers and this game has truly become dead because volvo didn't give diretide
  16. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    Best game ever!

    No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide
    No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide No diretide Expand
  17. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Very greedy valve.
    95% of the updates is to add items to purchase. During the period of more than 3 years, Valve failed to make the mechanics of the first DotA. Manta Style does not throw most of negative effects, BS silence is not throw flasks and a million others flaws. Where heroes such as PitLord, Techies, TerrorBlade. Сould be said about eternally falling server Valve.
    I hope that
    someday return Blizzard DotA because they have a soul. Valve have only money for big tournaments and items that look worse than skin from LOL for 2$ and soap graphics. Expand
  18. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Terrible developers which make no communications with its playerbase at all. Atleast tell them what is going on when they ask, you just piss everyone off and they will hate you for it.
  19. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This game is so ass if you think its not ass you should shoot yourself in the head because it is the assest i have ever played. kids saying its the next leauge are lying.
  20. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    VALVE JUST IGNORING PLAYERS, thir intrest its only suck off our money.
    p.s. suck my balls steam moderators who banned me 4 GIVEMEDIRETIDE requests
    p.s.s
  21. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide RIP volvo RIP diretide
  22. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    daed gaem. gee gee no retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard retard Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Awfull report system, matchmaking is really bad no competitive data is saved like kdr, average gpm etc. Also only cosmetic updates every week no events or new heros
  24. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    HALLOWEEN WHERE IS MY DIRETIDE!!!
    This is the worst game in the history of mankind! Never again will not play it! Valve just inhumane what Halloween is everywhere, and in Dota 2 no!
  25. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Thanks volvo! Expand
  26. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
    valve you are the best
  27. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    NO DIRETIDE, NO NEW HEROES, NO INFORMATIONS, STUPID MM mamonts . WE dont need your games. WE dont need Half-Life 3. WE dont need DIretide 2013. 3 days and 3 nights we waiting for event. And WE got nothing. I delete dota after 5 yeas playing dota1 and 2 years playi . WE dont need your games. WE dont need Half-Life 3. WE dont need DIretide 2013. 3 days and 3 nights we waiting for event. And WE got nothing. I delete dota after 5 yeas playing dota1 and 2 years playi
    . WE dont need your games. WE dont need Half-Life 3. WE dont need DIretide 2013. 3 days and 3 nights we waiting for event. And WE got nothing. I delete dota after 5 yeas playing dota1 and 2 years playi
    Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics and once it's in your system then you'll start… Expand
  29. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    THX VALVE!!! .......................................................................................................sdaasfsafgsagagas
    gasgasgasgsagas
    gasgasgasg
    asgsagsagasgsaga
  30. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This game has turned into hats sale. No new heroes, no bug fixes, no communication.
    RIP DIRETIDE RIP DIRETIDE RIP DIRETIDE RIP DIRETIDE RIP DIRETIDE RIP DIRETIDE
  31. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Gaben i forgive you, I love this game, valve did a great job on makeing this game. IMO far better then any other similair game.. Keep on doing the good stuff valve!
  32. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Worst pr ever in video game industry. The game may be f2p,but playing the game feels like becoming a slave of Valve. Here's why:

    1. Players customers do not deserve to have any information. No twit, no forum post, no facebook post, no blog... nothing. Wait and if Valve wanna give you something; otherwise off.

    2. Update priorities always based on hats. Heroes release date determined
    by hats. If hats not ready, won't release new hero. Furthermore, for the past 3 months, except for 1 balancing patch, all updates were about hats.

    3. Bug is good for Valve so why fix it?

    4. No ladder, bad mmr system, no players rating, wins rate hidden...

    Gratz Valve you manage to surpass EA as the worst company in US.
    Expand
  33. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    VOLVO PLS GIVE DIRETIDE VOLVO PLS GIVE DIRETIDE

    pls volvo
    pls
    LOL>doto
    diretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide plsdiretide pls

    ded gaem
  34. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Thanks a lot for something that does not give any information about the event
    Any other company would say yes, the event will be, or no, not event
    But no, you decided to pull all the nerves
    Thank Volve
  35. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide. Volvo give DireTide.
  36. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    seriously a dead game, no diretide, no heroes being implemented. it's just icefraud with his sh1t balance left working on this dead game. LOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>dotoLOL>doto
  37. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    No heroes in 113 days.
    Almost twice the player base of L4D2, CSGO, and TF2 combined. Still no Halloween update (even Cookie Clicker LoL has one)
    No communication from devs.

    And to top it all off they give us an update with cosmetics and more tickets? rofl
  38. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    No new characters, no variety, it can not be fun for the players for a long time, the only thing is the new things that are worth more than their price, they are only cosmetic in nature (not always attractive), this is good, but the price for it's overpriced.
    and the last, I was very disappointed by the attitude valve to the players DotA 2. all hoping for diretide, but is not got no
    updates regarding Expand
  39. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    terrible mm
    slow development
    zero support
    zero communication
    bazillions of bugs
    and no diretide.

    WC3 Dota still best Dota. I will play league of legends now.
  40. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Good game, getting murdered by Valve(yet again) What's happening to Dota 2 right now already happened to TF2. When Valve decided to take (yet again) another community member idea, and make it into a game slowly but surely that game gets killed. CS was a great game. Look at it now, CS:GO is a shell of was CS 1.6 was back in the day. Ofcourse they up with Source before that but the difference between Source and GO was that Source was actually popular for a period of time.

    TF2 was initially a very fun team FPS with an interesting theme and simple but effective and fun team class gameplay. The game was decently balanced around it core classes.

    The came the hats, and even though initially they had guidelines about matching their artsyle it was of course throw away in order to make more money from the communities work for their Steam Marketplace and virtual economy. Then they added new weapons to with the balance and clearly the game became a remnant of what people liked. Honestly you know it's bad when I'd rather play the console port of TF2 because even the inferior 5 year old port is better than that they up on the PC. They made garbage decisions forgetting why the game was popular to turn it into a money generator.

    Dota 2 follows very closely in the same footprints Long ago were the days people were optimistic about the spoils of war update, thinking we could go a seperate path than the game that walked before it. What did we get instead? SLow and stagnating game development, with he Original hero pool not done aftre three years, three years for LAN mode which you need to be online to play anyway, bare bones MM and no ladders/stats of any kind unless your a 5 man team(which you are better of playing inhouses anyway since the TMM rating has very little value). You also get very little additional or new content. In fact now that Dota 2 is out of beta, the game is progressing less and events like Diretide that happened in beta with less players gets canceled without a word. And yes they did promise it, last time I checked Annual meant once a year. Diretide was supposed to be an annual event. Guess that's done, but TF2 can get its 5th Halloween update despite much less concurrent players? What? It's also taking Valve MONTHS to port already established heroes from Dota 1. Riot can make a completely new one in 2 weeks. Ouch.

    Valve is sitting on their hands and making bad decisions faster bad decisions. The only decent thing they have done is catering to e-sports with tickets and Dota TV, but when it comes to playing the game rather than watching it, your in for some disappointment. Oh and the hiked up the ticket prices initially when Dota 2 TV were on average $2.99. Now your average ticket is $8 dollars or more with only the lower tier tournament being $3.99.

    If your not a diehard MOBA fan, honestly you're better off going to LoL, and I'm saying this as a Dota fan(not Dota 2) and as a person who thinks LoL is the inferior game. Why? Because if you play MOBAs causally Riot gives you hats AND new content. Valve only gives you hats and disappointment and zero communication. Also, for what it's worth, Riot's hats are better anyway. Go figure.

    This game gets a six just for being good as a port of Dota, -4 for being under Valve's control. This game is going the way of CS and TF2. Ded. Which is a shame because CS was a really good competitive game.
    Expand
  41. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    3 days and 3 nights we waiting for event. And WE got nothing. No Diretide. No communication with the community from Valve. No new hero in more than 3 months only hats and more hats to make more money.
  42. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This game was awesome like 1-2 years ago before Valve take the idea of their POPULAR" games like TF2. The problem of dota 2 is worstest community ever, if you wanted to play once in pub you will never turn on this game at all. Next problem is longest updates i had ever seen!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! All you doing full 5 months it is taking more and more sets to buy.

    **** YOU VOLVO! AND
    YOU RUINED DIRETIDE!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  43. NFK
    Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Volvo abandoned the game. They can realy warn community that diretide willnt this year. But they dont care about community. No heroes, more sets from workshop, more money. Go to hell players
  44. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    So i played this game and its pretty bad really unbalanced and no diretide i also think the developers abandoned the game because there hasn't been a good update in months so don't play this.
  45. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide DIRETIDE diretide Expand
  46. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    I hoped this game would get me really hooked up for a long long time but for my surprise when I was going to play my first match I discovered that the community is really unsupportive not beginner-friendly I just need 3 words to describe this game WORST COMUNNITY EVER
  47. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ
  48. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Hello Valve. Can understood your position,
    What your givent information for YES DIRETIDE or NO DIRETIDE?
    You all to for us. Becaouse we all waiting new heroes 4 month or Helooween mod or any mod, but YOU ADD 70 mb update 5 new sets LOOOOOOL
    That's enough!
    I cant plya dota 2 anymore
  49. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Do not care about their players! They demolish the hope! They force people to not sleep for weeks! They never fall short of expectations! They look at us with a high! They had no time to inform you of upcoming events, even if they will not! I am very offended by the game for the last five days!
  50. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite I want Diredite
  51. Nov 2, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
    Expand
  52. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    GOOD JOB VOLVO! NO EVENT! Where is holdout? only dota items, you are lose a lot of respect of community((((((((((((((
    GOOD JOB VOLVO! NO EVENT! Where is holdout? only dota items, you are lose a lot of respect of community((((((((((((((
  53. ekk
    Nov 2, 2013
    1
    the game just for of profit. No new heroes, new maps, new events, garbage matchmaking
    and report system. Only sales cosmetic Items.Good job Valve. Waiting for Blizzard dota.
  54. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
  55. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets.
    MORE TICKETS AND HATS
    MORE! MORE TICKETS AND HATS! MORE!
    MORE
  56. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Zaebis'
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this
    game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  57. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Dota 2" by Valve: "DotA" legacy... Bad matchmaking system for solo players. Bugs. Lags. Bad balance. Hidden profiles. No advanced statistics. Cartoon graphics. Terrible patch 6.79. No useful updates. Too aggressive community. No in-game support. No events. No media content. Terribly buggy torrent-browser Steam. Too many gift boxes! Too many hats!
    - Too many donate things!
    - And OTHER many many many bad things...

    Very sad, but now the "Dota 2" looks like a game created only for receiving money players.
    Good Job, VOLVO. Next month i will play "League of LEXUS" and "Heroes of NISSAN"!!
    Expand
  58. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    No DIRETIDE!!!Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
  59. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A score of zero, because Valve decided not to release all the favorite addition Diretide, because almost all the community had expected it, but it never happened.
    All Valve games have modes for Halloween, but not in Dota2 this year, and it was a big mistake!
    Expand
  60. Nov 2, 2013
    1
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
  61. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
    Expand
  62. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    This game is genuinely dead. No communication from the devs for months. No proper communication in a year or maybe more. The game is buggy as The only content added to the game serves as a cash cow for a company who has worked out the best way of getting money from its customers is to add ****ty "cosmetics". No features worth talking about compared to DotA 1. Don't download this just play DotA 1 if you can. Expand
  63. Nov 2, 2013
    1
    Dire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tideDire tide Expand
  64. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    I hoped this game would be fun but it isnt, first you need, when lucky, wait for 10 minutes for a match, only to find yourself with people you dont even understand, the community is horrible and it is not beginner- friendly at all
  65. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    Ok where do i start witch this game, Poor graphics Buggy The match making is awful the wait time to get into games is shocking the learning curve is mental and the tutorials you get don't really help. Boring to play Items and collectibles are confusing and offer no help. community that play the game are 80% idiots and when you do "report" them for being idiots quitting mid match ect nothing seems to happen and to add to it all the game is so repetitive you will find yourself doing the exact same thing during each of the hour long matches. I gave this game 1 because its free and free games are good......well....was good.. Expand
  66. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Valve is ignoring community, especially dota2 players, last new hero was 5 months ago ,no community interaction on what's going on, while the only thing that gets added is cash shop items.
  67. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide NO New Hero NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets
  68. Sep 24, 2013
    10
    This is a great game, and possibly the one game that will require the most out of you: quick thinking on your feet, reflexes, communication, pretty much everything that a person can put in a game will be required of you if you will be any good at this deep, deep game.

    And here I want to address the review by the user iseeall: You do not get it in the least. Play an actual game. The
    training part of the game is just to give you an idea of the basics, but the magic of this game isn't about towers or creeps or even the single hero you know. It's about the interaction between heroes, and about the items that you buy in the shop. Those items are bought with the in-game gold, which you start every game with a small fixed amount, depending on mode, and you get more by doing various things. You cannot buy gold with real money. The items that enhance your hero can only be "purchased" with the gold you get in the game, and this resets every game. The only things you can buy with real money for this game are purely cosmetic. You do not need any of them. Plus, by playing actual matches, you will receive such items.

    This is a free-to-play game that does NOT require *ANY* money at all. More than that: Spending *ANY* amount of money in this game will give you absolutely ZERO competitive advantage against other players. Spend $10,000 if you can, go right ahead. You will gain only a variety of cosmetic items.

    So why do people buy things? Because they LOVE this game. They WORSHIP this game. Why? Because it is a fantastic game, one that you will never, ever be bored with, and one that costs nothing. What more could you possibly ask for in a game?
    Expand
  69. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    Its simply the Greatest PC game ever made. Yes its hard, yes its unforgiving, and yes some of the community are a bunch of idiots... but don't let that put you off. Keep going with it.. once you have learned how to play there is no video game PC game in the world that can touch it for awesomeness.
  70. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    The tutorial is commendable but for those who never play RTS or RPG games it's still confusing as hell. There's no dexterity required for this game as it's purely tactics (yes, tactics not strategy like chess) but with the wealth of characters and stupid number of items, it's nearly impossible to even begin to understand this game. Graphics are bad, it's slow and feels unpolished. Boring and overly complex. Expand
  71. Nov 2, 2013
    8
    Tactically speaking there is a lot more to this than most basic pvp fests. Even playing against bots can be fun. I have to say I wasn't expecting when I got on this page such a huge backlash but then I guess we're talking about the kind of people for whom a game that costs you nothing and is lovingly crafted and designed just isn't good enough,
  72. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets.
    MORE TICKETS AND HATS
    MORE! MORE TICKETS AND HATS! MORE!
    MORE
  73. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    As far as the MOBA market goes, they don't get any better than Dota 2. All the content is freely and instantly available, no points or in game dollar system for those to pay to win. All cosmetics are just that, cosmetics.

    Play with 5 friends for the best experience, solo queue suffers from racial tensions brought on by communication problems (South Americans, Russians are the more
    popular scapegoats). This weakness shows what Dota2 is really about, communication. The teams that are able to talk, plan, and think, will almost always win. Which for me, means the game has done something very right.

    10/10, constant updates, extremely well made game, great voices, what lore there is is thought-out and well written, unbeatable team-experience.
    Expand
  74. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide.
    NO New Heroes.
    NO Normal matchmaking system.
    NO Rank system.
    NO Communication from developers with the players.
    Only hats, hats, hats, hats, hats, HATS AND HATS!
  75. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    NO Diretide NO New Hero NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
  76. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with a mountainous learning curve. The gameplay (once you get the hang of it) is hella fun. However there is so much more than just the gameplay that I love about dota 2. The trading is just as fun as playing, with a similar learning curve. Overall this game was very well done, is updated constantly, and is exactly on par with the kind of game valve typically puts out.
  77. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Best moba so far, perfect hero balancement, complex mechanics nice graphics and no pay to win, only needs matchmaking improvement.
    This game improved a lot since the first version.
  78. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    I love this game. It's both faithful to the original and a lot more user friendly at the same time. It's completely free, no need to buy heroes, or other features that could give you an advantage, and Valve is still actively balancing it with Icefrog. Most of heroes are pretty engaging, and the game itself is pretty complex, having mechanics like denying and dedicated healing abilities, something which games like LoL (strangely) don't have.

    My only complaints are about hero releases, that is, that Valve is taking their goddamn sweet time doing it, and that the MM system actively tries to balance your win rate at 50% by pairing you with terrible teams if you do too well. Seriously, I'm not making that up. Still a great game, though, and if you're a newbie to mobas then it's probably the best game, since you have a decently sized tutorial system and well-made bot practice matches.
    Expand
  79. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A spectacularly crafted, deep, and engaging multiplayer game. I have put in more hours to Dota 2 than any other video game that I can remember (perhaps Jedi Knight 2 had more; but that was a long time ago). It has a few flaws, such as its steep learning curve and occasionally corrosive community; but overall, the experience is an overwhelmingly positive one.
  80. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Not a 10 because of the matching system. You jump from very good games to complete nonsense where you just wonder wtf (and you know that you have to waste 40 mins in a bad match-up)?

    Overall a very good game.
  81. Jul 28, 2013
    10
    You can say what you want about the community, but the game is great. I love it and played it 400+ hours so far Never had problems with being reported and the bad games that happen sometimes usually get countered by a great and fun match afterwards.
    I would recommend everyone t at least try it for a small time once.

    (get past the first waves of newcomers (aka the raging noobs) and
    you will be fine. At higher rating/level matches there is alot more optimistic and fun people... while the ragers/trolls etc. (usually free players just coming in) are at the bottom rating matches were sadly they make the life of other newcomers a misery. Expand
  82. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Free to play, high skill ceiling and 100% skill based gameplay. No need to spend a cent in order to "have a chance", all the paid items are cosmetic and gives 0 advantage. This game have no room for the "casuals" to just join up and mash buttons until they occasionally win. if you're not willing to learn about the game and earn your victories, then I suggest you stay away from DOTA 2.
  83. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. It's balanced, free, and very fun to play. There is a pretty steep learning curve, but once you get past that there's really not much to complain about the game.
  84. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    A true masterpiece and a milestone in gaming, this sequel to a genre-definer that is now just bursting in a global scale is a great point of reference to anyone attempting to make a game of this genre. Great graphics, amazing sound and voice design, and rich backstories in every corner are just some of the features that make Dota 2 great. But it's major strong point is the depth in its mechanics.

    While Dota 2's gameplay might seem daunting at first, it's one of the best and more engaging ever seen in a game, and learning it is just one of the reasons why this game is addicting. Other games such as League of Legends end up falling short because their devs decided to cut much from the original formula, but Dota 2 kept it intact, and makes sure you learn something new everyday.

    Not only the core game is strong, but also the eSport scene surrounding it is amazing and growing, with several tournaments going on, including Valve's own The International. At the time of release, the game looks like a train with no brakes, about to crash against its competitors and run them over, raising the bar on the genre with a myriad of awesome features that perfectly compliment an awesome game.
    Expand
  85. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    This is an absolutely fantastic game that puts casual moba games, such as League of Legends, to shame. It's by far the best moba game out there, and just keeps getting better as they release new heroes that were in the original warcraft 3 mod.
  86. Jul 17, 2013
    10
    Many heroes that differ greatly differ and each is truly a special and despite this diversity which is the balance very well. The game play is perfect desert I mean what can be improved. In Dota 2 tournaments are held constant. Another nice fact is that it is the game soon for Linux and Mac give.
  87. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    There is a reason my friends and I have been playing since Dota Allstars in WC3, about 8 years.
    Dota 2 is the single most entertaining (albeit addicting) multiplier team game I've played.

    Keep in mind, there is a large learning curve, and the community is quite tough to please, but if you play through the tutorial, and let your team mates know you are learning, most are wiling to help.


    Don't get discouraged if you get yelled at for sucking, we all did at one point. Just remember people are investing 20-60min in a game, and losing because a team mate is a total noob can be frustrating. Do your best to learn quick and focus one a few heroes/item builds at a time.
    Expand
  88. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    This game is great and everyone should try it. Everything is free, well, almost everything. It has it's flaws. One of them is region system, it doesn't work at all in its way. Second is community. It has "pro" players, flamers and everything between them. And it doesn't have good training system. Sure it has training, but they don't really help and playing with bots is either too easy or too hard (usually). And yes, there is humans vs bots games, but they don't really help either. But overall, it's a great game. Expand
  89. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    After playing this game little over a year now I've come to realize that this is probably the best Action/RTS game I have ever played. Although the game's steep learning curve had me uninterested within the first few weeks of playing, I persevered and gradually improved. This game, once you put effort in, becomes the most fun game of all time.

    The only negatives about the game are: The
    community and the fact people can just decline a match leaving you to wait 2 more minutes to find a server. The community are usually egotistic and blame others for their mistakes. Occasionally you'll have an amazing game where most people speak your language and are actually nice. Just yesterday I played a game where people just did one on ones with nobody interrupting.

    Overall a brilliant game. It's only recently come out of BETA so there are still some things that need tweaking and heroes that need adding but all that SHOULD be done by next year. I definitely recommend this game to all.
    Expand
  90. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Playing this game is not worth it. Who would want to have all characters unlocked from the beginning when you could grind for months to have decent pool while developer still releases same characters with same abilities only with different skins. Also, I have to think while playing and change roles during the game, it is unacceptable. You should follow the same meta and roles from the beginning and should be banned if you pick character that does not have a set role. And letting people from different servers play on their 1 account across the globe? It is terrible game design. Plus, there aren't even 50 hot female characters let alone that they have prostitute-looking skins.
    Terrible, worst game ever. 10/10
    Expand
  91. Jul 22, 2013
    9
    This game is like COD, hard at first but once you get the hang of it you get pretty decent. I found this game amazing and yet it had its challenging moments but it it an overall amazing game. I we can't forget its free!
  92. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    I played both LoL and dota 2 and by far Dota 2 is best!! First of all in grafics ,amazing work! And of course its more challenging! the only bad i can find is the noob russians! they are everywhere and they dont speak english at all when they have a choise about language in server selection!
  93. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    A superb game. My first experience with a Moba game was LoL, and this is most certainly a better game. The community can be very vocal about their distaste towards a players actions, but in my experience it was no worse than what players in LoL are like, and it is fairly simple to ignore the chat in the game so it is never much of a problem. The graphics are well done for the most part, and the free to play model for the game is outstanding. The amount of experimentation and strategy in the game can be a bit overwhelming at first, but it makes the game better once you get used to it. After playing this since the beginning of beta, i can no longer imagine going back to LoL or any other Moba. Expand
  94. Oct 8, 2013
    4
    This game is not designed to be successful. It is still designed with the "custom game" mentality of the original: it is not one that seems to even WANT to have a large player base. That said, it is an improved version of the original and fun when things go your way if you stick around long enough.

    Let me elaborate on my statement that it is not designed to be successful: the learning
    curve is steep, and painful, even for those who are very familiar with the genre. Until you are at a high competitive level, once you are down you stay down. There are many champions that are very strong against new players that are not very good at all at higher levels of play very anti-fun mechanics leave you muttering and wishing to give up, which is not an option until your opponents choose to end the game, no matter how far behind you are.

    The lack of protection for new players does allow for more fun and wild champion design, but may not be worth the price. The community remains nearly as toxic as the original, and when you can choose to play a champion that is permanently invisible or can dash across the map and stun you for the entire time it takes to kill you, this isn't surprising.
    Expand
  95. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Lack of updates. 110 days since
    Abbadon. No halloween event this year. The game need attention it has not been getting and it shows, badly. would gladly rate higher if match making, heros, and updates were fixed.
  96. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Worst development team ever.
    The best game in steam.
    No new heroes,no event for halloween..
    The game itself is great..But valve ruins everything
    I'll quit..Dont try this game.
  97. Nov 1, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hoped this game would get me really hooked up for a long long time but for my surprise when I was going to play my first match I discovered that the community is really unsupportive not beginner-friendly I just need 3 words to describe this game WORST COMUNNITY EVER Expand
  98. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    Bad work valve.just want our money,for items in dota 2.and say.that they do it just for us......................................................................
  99. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    No Diretide No Diretide No No No Diretide Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide No Diretide
  100. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide?where my diretide? Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.