User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11122 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    BROODMOTHER SAY THANKS VOLVO
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    /╲/╭(◕◕◡◕◕)╮/╱ BROODMOTHER SAY THANKS VOLVO
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    /╲/╭(◕◕◡◕◕)╮/╱ BROODMOTHER SAY THANKS VOLVO
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  2. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. nice)
    If you haven't yet played this game but are thinking about it, read this. Since there are so many negative reviews, I will address their issues first.If you haven't yet played this game but are thinking about it, read this. Since there are so many negative reviews, I will address their issues first.
    Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    Dota 2 has a very addictive quality where you want to prove yourself better each game. It is also deceptively complex.

    Coming from Starcraft 2, I believed the game would be a child's toy meant to satisfy those who could not handle a truly competitive game. The reality is that the game is not a RTS where your APM and build order are vitally important, instead it is more like a FPS where
    Dota 2 has a very addictive quality where you want to prove yourself better each game. It is also deceptively complex.

    Coming from Starcraft 2, I believed the game would be a child's toy meant to satisfy those who could not handle a truly competitive game. The reality is that the game is not a RTS where your APM and build order are vitally important, instead it is more like a FPS where your ability to work with your team is important.

    The heroes are individually simple but in a 5v5 format the interactions between the various heroes and items can make for interesting matches. You are not picking a hero like in an MMO, you are picking a hero that fits the situation based on the other heroes in the match.

    The game does have it's negatives.

    In particular the game is very hostile to new players or players who are just having a bad game. Due to the anonymity of the internet, the 4 other people who depend on you are not as reluctant to let their frustration show at the earliest provocation. I highly suggest any new player simply mute their team at the start of their first 100 matches. You will still see important information like pings but will not have to suffer their taunts for your mistakes.

    Another glaring flaw is highly controversial to the community. The game does not have a surrender option. Much of the vocal component of the community detest a surrender option. They claim such an option would result in people surrendering by default at the first sign of difficulty and would prevent the back and forth that is possible in a game. I consider this an idiotic notion as there are ways to give a surrender option when there is no reasonable expectation that a victory is possible. Without a surrender option, teams that secure a highly probable win (ie: Destroying one lane's barracks) do not play the rest of the game with the same intensity as before securing the win. The games last about 10-15 minutes after they have been decided due to a lack of urgency as the other team farms kills in your fountain, goes back to farm for some item they really want to own, or simply stands back and taunts you.
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is a completely free 5v5 team game with a somewhat steep learning curve, but lots of depth once you jump in with both feet. Unlike League of Legends, there are not any modifiers that give in-game buffs, purchasable with real or fake currency. You get the whole game, and everyone is on a level playing field.
  6. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!valve best!
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game.
  8. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is to balance out the who trashed the score from diretide
    This is to balance out the who trashed the score from diretide
    This is to balance out the who trashed the score from diretide
  9. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  10. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A fun game overall, but very deep; spend some time in the kiddie pool of the tutorials and AI matches before you go into public matchmaking, and you'll find it one of the best games of this generation.
  11. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Got DIRETIDE Expand
  12. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
    thx volvo
  13. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the most amazing games you'll ever play. Sure, it's hard to get into, but a little time and patience will make this game amazing. You'd be surprised how much variety there is in a game with a single map, and how much there is to offer. Of course, there are moments less enjoyable than others and certain members of the community less friendly but it certainly shouldn't keep you fromOne of the most amazing games you'll ever play. Sure, it's hard to get into, but a little time and patience will make this game amazing. You'd be surprised how much variety there is in a game with a single map, and how much there is to offer. Of course, there are moments less enjoyable than others and certain members of the community less friendly but it certainly shouldn't keep you from playing. Expand
  14. kxk
    Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo! (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
  15. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    10/10 would play again :3 Gotta love Valve and what they are doing for the community. I have spent a lot of time playing this game. Valve sometimes disappoints the community but they always know how to deal with it
  16. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    DireTide and a big update will be released and everything is good. Too bad everyone spammed this page with 0/10. The game deserves more than that. Cool game 10/10.
  17. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is an amazing game if you put in the time and get past the initial learning curve you will find that the complexity of the game is what makes it interesting and enjoyable
  18. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  19. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Great game that expands on the old Warcraft 3 custom game of Dota and is simply a masterpiece. If you're looking for a great competitive multiplayer experience look no further.
  20. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Gave Diretide, listens to community, well balanced and steep learning curve.
    Low rating only due to immature community getting upset about late event, big update incoming possibly more heroes.
    Extremely rewarding, takes up pretty much all my time.

    10/10
  21. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game is the best moba, period.
    Although LoL bash it all the time cuz they are jealous of the huge ass Dota 2 tourneys prize pools
    (the Internetional, biggest prize pool ever, can only dream about it) It looks like some players just don't won't to get good at mobas in general and stick to their gay anime casual LoL and happy with that. We, doters are okay with that too, we'll
    This game is the best moba, period.
    Although LoL bash it all the time cuz they are jealous of the huge ass Dota 2 tourneys prize pools
    (the Internetional, biggest prize pool ever, can only dream about it)
    It looks like some players just don't won't to get good at mobas in general and stick to their gay anime casual LoL and happy with that.
    We, doters are okay with that too, we'll always know that we play the superiour game.
    Expand
  22. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    best game valve its alive fix metacritic DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN SPREAD THE WORDS DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN SPREAD THE WORDS DIRETIDE GIVEN DIRETIDE GIVEN SPREAD THE WORDS
  23. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Quite simply an amazing game. While it is very hardcore and timewise highly impractical, it pays off in a game with unprecedented depth and supports so many different playstyles. It's no 10 because I feel while it has gone gold, there are enough bugs (non game-breaking) and valve has yet to begin adding their own heroes. Also custom maps are not implemented yet.
  24. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    I love the history of DotA and played both the original and stand-alone sequel extensively. There are a lot of children crying about missing Diretide, which wasn't even well liked last year. Which is one of the problems with this game, the community. You're partnered with five other players for 25-60 minutes and they're often not on the same level or they have communication issues. MostI love the history of DotA and played both the original and stand-alone sequel extensively. There are a lot of children crying about missing Diretide, which wasn't even well liked last year. Which is one of the problems with this game, the community. You're partnered with five other players for 25-60 minutes and they're often not on the same level or they have communication issues. Most often it's the negative behaviour and communication abuse that ruins a match. Dota 2 needs to reward positive players instead of only punishing negative players.

    The market is only cosmetic, unlike TF2 who's items affect gameplay. You never need to spend a cent. For a long time I didn't spend anything. Recently I've purchased from both the in-game market and the community market. The community market allowed me to pick up some player sets for a fraction of the regular price.
    Expand
  25. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This is the greatest game I have ever played. Logged on to balance out the whiny people who complained about the halloween event. I guess I need to type 150 characters.
  26. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Thanks to Valve this relic came back to life at the eyes of the world. If comparing and contrasting Dota 2 with original Dota, it manages to keep it's depth content while improving almost all of the aspects you could ever imagine. Props to Valve for making this one of the best games of all time.
  27. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Alive Game volvo reband!
    Bring that score back up to its former glory.
    We can do this!
    Never again shall something like this happen again.
    ggwp dun goof up
  28. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Dota2 is an awesome game, you can play it for thousands of hours and still want to play it more, its a game where 10 players get into a map divided with 2 sides radiant and dire.. each side have 5 players, every player can pick one hero in a pool of 100 and then everyone with fight and try to destroy the other team ancient
  29. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    honestly this is one of the most sick game ever created. Lots of heroes, strategy, possibility, fun... i can't understand why some people would spam 0's just because they didn't get Diretide (which is coming tho). That was really bad and i hope this user score will reflect the real value of the game, which is 10
  30. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    honestly this is one of the most sick game ever created. Lots of heroes, strategy, possibility, fun...the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  31. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Incredible and well developed game, only brought down in ratings by an immature reddit community, League of legends fanboys and people who don't understand the game or that the items are cosmetic only and it is a completely free to play
  32. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dota 2 is basically a game made by VALVe with help from a person called Icefrog which VALVe hired, he is the current developer of the WarCraft III TFT mod map DotA which is exactly what VALVe is making Dota 2 this game is basically an Action Real time strategy game, with 2 teams each made up of 5 players, who can pick and play a hero from a pool of over 110 heroes with varying roles from Supporting the team to Carrying the team to victory each team must defend the Ancient which is protected by a series of towers with increasing strength ,and teams have to push their way thought the towers in order to destroy the other team's Ancient with the help of 'Creeps' which spawn though the game equally for both teams (until some later points where a team can destroy the other team's barracks to get a stronger creeps to spawn for their side), early game heroes prefer to lane safely instead of engaging each other in order to farm the Creeps of the other team which will reward money and experience ,both needed later in the game gold to buy items giving you and your team advantage and experience to increase the power of your spells in team fights. Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers.
  34. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    TY volvo Ty volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvoTy volvo :D Ty volvo
  35. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best game ever! True multiplayer masterpiece. Well balanced heroes, every match provides great amount of emotions. Music and sounds are very nice (awesome voice acting!). Graphics are well made. Recommending to every person who want to try a MOBA-like game. Playing with friends is even better experience!
  36. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDEDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVENDIRETIDE GIVEN ty valve Expand
  37. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    1600 hours in, not a single regret. Feels like i've scratched the surface, haha!

    After getting this game, i haven't played any singleplayer games, totally hooked on this. It just seems every match of dota tells a better story than any game could.

    I really can't see myself getting bored of it ever.
  38. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    GOT DIRETIDE THANK YOU BASED GABEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!eleven!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!charactersgohere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  39. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Great game, although it may take a while to actually get into and understand it quickly becomes great. The Game has a growing list of heroes at no price, this game actually knows how to do free to play correctly and it does it great. This game may be brutal but the payoff of a good win will make up for it. The fact this game costs nothing to the consumer and provides no benefit over othersGreat game, although it may take a while to actually get into and understand it quickly becomes great. The Game has a growing list of heroes at no price, this game actually knows how to do free to play correctly and it does it great. This game may be brutal but the payoff of a good win will make up for it. The fact this game costs nothing to the consumer and provides no benefit over others for buying things with micro transactions is simply amazing. The Free to play model is surely light years ahead of many other competing MOBA's. Expand
  40. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Before this game, I'd never played a moba, and it does take a steep learning curve. But giving it a bit of effort, I began to understand the mechanics and then this game became incredibly addicting. And thats because it is a good game, and you should try it.
  41. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I like this game, it is good and takes alot of effort and skill to become good at.

    Valve did a great job porting this game to their engine and basically enhancing the original dota.

    If you like a challenge, dota is right up your alley.
  42. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, butThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  43. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Valve, sorry for that... (Diretide)

    Excellent game, with much more sophisticated mechanics than LoL. It is very unforgiving and requires lots of effort to master it sufficiently enough to know what needs to be done (doing it is even harder). Dota 2 is so good, that I will focus on negatives Unfortunately there are some and three of them I consider major issue. First match making I think
    Valve, sorry for that... (Diretide)

    Excellent game, with much more sophisticated mechanics than LoL. It is very unforgiving and requires lots of effort to master it sufficiently enough to know what needs to be done (doing it is even harder). Dota 2 is so good, that I will focus on negatives Unfortunately there are some and three of them I consider major issue. First match making I think it has improved, but it is still source of annoyance
    Second no single player ladder
    Third lots of misbehaving players (I have to confess, that I do use offensive language sometimes too)
    Expand
  44. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    GABEN FORGIVE THEM, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY DO.
    GABEN, INTO YOUR HANDS I COMMIT MY DOLLA.
    Eternal Envy-sama who arth in heaven, hallowed be your mouse. Your mercy come, your draft be done, in matchmaking, as it is in captains. Give us this day our daily dota, and forgive us our inferior tactics, as we also have forgiven those less skilled. And lead us not into [A] fanboyism,
    GABEN FORGIVE THEM, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY DO.
    GABEN, INTO YOUR HANDS I COMMIT MY DOLLA.
    Eternal Envy-sama who arth in heaven,
    hallowed be your mouse.
    Your mercy come,
    your draft be done,
    in matchmaking, as it is in captains.
    Give us this day our daily dota,
    and forgive us our inferior tactics,
    as we also have forgiven those less skilled.
    And lead us not into [A] fanboyism,
    but deliver us #TI4.
    Expand
  45. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVOTHANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO THANKS VOLVO Expand
  46. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game requires so much time to learn. Yet, when you play the game and and you are on the process of learning, there's nothing better. So rewarding game with a great community!
  47. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    Dota "fans' before halloween: I love this game! 10/10
    Dota "fans" after halloween: THIS GAME SUCKS 111!111!!!

    LOLLOLOLOLOLOLOOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
  48. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo TY volvo
  49. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10 Huyna dota no stavly 10
  50. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but bot
  51. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Awesome game. Never can actually finish playing such a game.
    Valve are listening to their fanbase now too so it has really gotten even better. Can't wait to see what Valve has planned next for this game.

    Time for the Three MUSKETEERS!!!
  52. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is a fantastic game. There are only a couple successful games in this genre (ARTS/MOBA/DOTA) and this one is certainly one of the hardest to learn. If you are willing to put in the effort to get better, it is incredibly rewarding. It has the kind of support people have come to expect from VALVe and the polish of it as well. The community is everything you have heard but there areDota 2 is a fantastic game. There are only a couple successful games in this genre (ARTS/MOBA/DOTA) and this one is certainly one of the hardest to learn. If you are willing to put in the effort to get better, it is incredibly rewarding. It has the kind of support people have come to expect from VALVe and the polish of it as well. The community is everything you have heard but there are many who try to make it better and it really depends on the people you play with regularly and your own attitude. The Dota 2 reddit isn't a bad community. Avoid the PlayDota-Forums.
    Have fun playing and if you keep smiling, eve nthe start will not be hard.
    Expand
  53. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is an awesome game that I'll play for a long time onwards. The game and all content affecting the gameplay is completely free of charge. Try it out!
  54. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is an awesome game that I'll play for a long time onwards. The game and all content affecting the gameplay is completely free of charge. Try it out!
  55. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Such a great game. Love the fact that its not only free but every single character is unlocked from the start. There's no fremium nonsense that requires you to play obsurdly long or buy characters. The gameplay is fantastic and is my favorite MOBA if not my favorite game right now. Valve is doing it right and I couldn't ask for anything more out of them.
  56. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Immensely rewarding, infinitely complex, irresponsibly long nights. Dota 2 is the pinnacle of team based multiplayer competition. Nothing else available comes close.
  57. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Excellent game, with much more sophisticated mechanics than LoL.There's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient
  58. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    First off, don't pay attention to all the zero-score reviews from November 2013 the dota2 community is unfortunately a bit entitled and vocal about Valve not releasing a custom halloween gamemode.

    Dota2 is an incredibly deep and fun game. While it does have a steep learning curve (90+ heroes, each with 4+ skills and 6 inventory slots that you can fill from among ~100 different items),
    First off, don't pay attention to all the zero-score reviews from November 2013 the dota2 community is unfortunately a bit entitled and vocal about Valve not releasing a custom halloween gamemode.

    Dota2 is an incredibly deep and fun game. While it does have a steep learning curve (90+ heroes, each with 4+ skills and 6 inventory slots that you can fill from among ~100 different items), there is a tutorial system and built-in hero guides. Once you start to grasp what the different heroes and items do though (it's good to have friends to play with!), you come to realize the immense replayability of Dota2 and the combinatoric explosion of interesting hero/skill interactions, given that it's a 5v5 game. I have played more hours of Dota2 than any other game, and it is not becoming boring at all I'm still learning new interactions and tactics all the time. Definitely play with friends as much as you can, to speed learning and make the games more enjoyable and friendly.

    Another aspect of Dota2 that Valve has done a good job with is competitive play. There are high-quality tournaments played by professional teams running all the time, which you can watch ingame or on twitch.tv. You can view the player perspective (including mouse movements and clicks) of professional players, which is a great way to learn different heroes and special tactics.

    And the game is free! All heroes/skills/items are free and the game is in no way pay-to-win. Definitely watch some VODs or streams, round up some friends, and give it a try!
    Expand
  59. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Great game. Wonderful graphics. Good deep mechanics. More complicated and diverse than League of Legends. Takes a higher level of knowledge to greatly understand the game. Heroes are very unique and diverse from one another, you will never think one is like another.
  60. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    Best game I've ever played, period
    Very hard to get into, but if you manage to learn how to play you will not regret
    Already spent more than 5000 hours playing it and it never gets old
    The only bad part is that it ruins your gaming life, because when you try to play ano other game on steam, there will come a friend asking you to compete his party =p
  61. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!DOTA 2 Best! DOTA 2 Best!
  62. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    The developers are trying to make the game better!!! Great game!!!
    Better than others MOBA etc games!!! Just try it!!!
    Thanks Valve!!!
    And just like it!
  63. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    I was skeptical of the learning curve, though I had played league of legends, it turned out to be a far for rewarding experience than I had expected. I much prefer the seriour, no-nonsense attitude of most people you find in public games and I must say, the game looks beautiful. It is incredibly polished and there is such a sense of quality I've not found in an online game before.

    If
    I was skeptical of the learning curve, though I had played league of legends, it turned out to be a far for rewarding experience than I had expected. I much prefer the seriour, no-nonsense attitude of most people you find in public games and I must say, the game looks beautiful. It is incredibly polished and there is such a sense of quality I've not found in an online game before.

    If you are looking to make the jump from LoL or just dip your toe in the Dota, I can't recommend this enough. I love the free to play model, there is literally nothing to lose.

    Thanks valve and icefrog!
    Expand
  64. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Very deep game with a lot of repeatability. Massive amount of content and great setting. I've currently sunk 2k hours into this and have no reason to stop playing.
  65. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics and once it's in your system then you'll start loving it Expand
  66. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best game ever. League is a shoddy ripoff and the people who play it over Dota 2 are delusional and will come over in droves once Valve makes custom maps (Soon™).
  67. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. awesome game, shame the rating got bombed by "GIVE DIRETIDE" Well now it's coming and valve have said they're sorry...

    Spoiler: 1 team wins every game
    Expand
  68. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soonDIRETIDE GIVEN

    pls soon
  69. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Wow volvo is like santa. May all you dreams come true. Volvo 240 Volvo 240! Volvo 240 Volvo 240! Volvo 240 Volvo 240! Volvo 240 Volvo 240! Volvo 240 Volvo 240!
  70. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Honestly, it is the greatest game I've ever played. I was not into this genre years ago, and now Dota is essentially all I play. It's a shame the immature members of the community felt the need to bomb the Metacritic score over something trivial like the Diretide. I hope we can bring the score back up where it belongs.
  71. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    A tremondously great game. A steep learning curve, but it really pays off. Best with a team of friends, so you can learn together. No content gating, like other Mobas, but has a decent tutorial system to get you into the action.
  72. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    just fixin user score... just fixin user score...just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score...
  73. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    great job just fixin user score... just fixin user score...just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score...just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score... just fixin user score...
  74. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, butThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  75. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. It is impressive how you can spend a couple thousand hours playing this and still are trying to improve and want to play more. It's the sequel of the first "MOBA" or "ARTS" game, DotA, a mod of Warcraft III which is still huge even today. This game improved everything from the original mod and it's still getting bigger. Valve it's a great company and won't let us down. It's aAmazing game. It is impressive how you can spend a couple thousand hours playing this and still are trying to improve and want to play more. It's the sequel of the first "MOBA" or "ARTS" game, DotA, a mod of Warcraft III which is still huge even today. This game improved everything from the original mod and it's still getting bigger. Valve it's a great company and won't let us down. It's a hard and complex game, and it takes an insane amount of time to master (if it's possible), and until then, have fun! Expand
  76. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Because of the steep learning curve the first few matches may not be very enjoyable, but after some victories and nice plays it's hard to not get hooked to this game. The graphics are nice and the cosmetics improve on that, though you don't need to spend any on the game if you don't want to, you may even win some and trade them with others. The gameplay is the real star though, and it'sBecause of the steep learning curve the first few matches may not be very enjoyable, but after some victories and nice plays it's hard to not get hooked to this game. The graphics are nice and the cosmetics improve on that, though you don't need to spend any on the game if you don't want to, you may even win some and trade them with others. The gameplay is the real star though, and it's depth is both challenging and rewarding when you start to understand the mechanics of the game.
    There are downsides though, which are mostly the aggressive community (play with friends! or make friends in game at least) and the slow patching of bugs, with over a hundred minor bugs awaiting fixes for almost a year. Overall it is a really, really good game, that is bound to get better.
    Expand
  77. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It's best game for warcraft 3 dota players. Valve make very huge job to improve this game. I definately will recommend this game to my friends. Thank Valve
  78. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  79. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!
  80. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!bestgame ever!
  81. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best game I have ever played. would recommend it to everyone. Its soo much better than LOL and HON. I can't say anything that will describe how good this game really is. Expand
  82. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This is a free-to-play game that does NOT require *ANY* money at all. More than that: Spending *ANY* amount of money in this game will give you absolutely ZERO competitive advantage against other players. Spend $10,000 if you can, go right ahead. You will gain only a variety of cosmetic items.
  83. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Really awesome game. Despite some whining people (with big ego) says, if you are a noob you will play with noobs, and if you really are good, you will play with very high skilled people (sometimes even with pro players) keep it up Valve!
  84. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    they listen to the comunnity they deserve the 10

    is the best game ever

    we are going for the 10 again DOTA 2

    u made a mistake so do we

    dota 2 best game ever

    valve just listen to us and everything is going to be ok :D
  85. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes great game great fixes
  86. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is a great game, at the beginning it might be hard, but if u start to understand the game it gets much better. I like that Volvo didn't made a Pay 2 out of Dota.

    not daed gem 10/10
  87. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best ARTS game......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  88. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    A perfect game for your serious competition and dealing with complexity needs. After about a hundred matches you may specialize on a decent hero and, when you actually know what you're doing, you feel like a boss, kick ass, it's awesome. Perfect game as far as I'm concerned.
  89. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This game has amazing visual and sound design, great esports scene and spectator support, infinite amounts of depth and the best free to play model out there.
  90. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It's great game and I love it. Nice competition nice plays nice comrades nice everything awesome developer icefrog balanced game which isn't stagnant like others similar games so awesome continuing dota
  91. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    (I'm giving this a 10 vs. an 8 or 9 because of Diretide spammers). First off, here's DotA 2, in a nutshell, compared to the major (also "free") competition (skip past this if you want). In DotA 1, you can barely see what's going on; in DotA 2, you can see things. DotA 1 is based off WC3, which is not free, and gets updates ported back; DotA 2 is standalone, and gets updates first, although(I'm giving this a 10 vs. an 8 or 9 because of Diretide spammers). First off, here's DotA 2, in a nutshell, compared to the major (also "free") competition (skip past this if you want). In DotA 1, you can barely see what's going on; in DotA 2, you can see things. DotA 1 is based off WC3, which is not free, and gets updates ported back; DotA 2 is standalone, and gets updates first, although it is still missing some heroes as of writing. In LoL, you have to unlock or pay for heroes, gameplay-affecting masteries, and have to pay for cosmetics, but some baseline level of Asian-style T&A is free. In DotA 2, all heroes are free, and there is no equivalent to masteries, so the only thing you can spend money on is expensive cosmetics, which do not significantly effect the lower level of baseline T&A. In LoL, meta is very rigid, games snowball easily, and the game is more forgiving to mistakes; in DotA 2, meta is flexible, comebacks are extremely common, and mistakes are punished hard. In HoN, everyone is angry at you and leaves your game; in DotA 2, only select ethnic groups (decided based on a player's mood at time of abandon) are angry at you, and players generally leave the game slightly less. In a nutshell, DotA 1 and HoN are for players that have played for 10 years and put up with the problems. LoL is casual, which makes it trivial to learn and better for playing games with friends. So DotA 2 is basically king right now, if not in player count.

    So what makes a DotA 2? It's a MOBA/ARTS/DotA-like game, which means it pits two teams of five heroes against each other, each occupying half of the square map, with territory on opposite corners, divided by the diagonal. Each side has an "ancient" which can be reached through three lanes. The lanes are protected by two barracks (which spawn friendly "creeps" periodically), and 3 towers. The goal of the game is to eventually push with the creeps down the enemy lanes to reach and destroy their ancient. Heroes gain gold and experience by killing enemy and neutral units, which they spend on items and skills that last until the end of the round. So a game goes through the arc of an RPG in about an hour: you normally first spend time hitting low-level creeps with basic attacks, then you take on higher level creeps and enemy heroes with basic abilities and items, and in the endgame (if you could afford the items and skills) you go all out with a nearly full loadout of skills and items. But this arc of battle is made interesting by how the mechanics interact. Interestingly, there are 5 heroes per side, but 3 lanes, meaning that there are several different ways to split heroes between lanes, so you'll often see interesting splits, like trilanes. You can often win the game by going with an esoteric item build (as long as you know what you're doing) and communicating with your team. Thanks to intense fog of war, wards and team communication are fundamental for map control. Positioning and timing are very important during teamfights. And things like last hits/denies introduce skill to even basic farming. You get the idea there are lots of mechanics to keep track of, teamwork is important, and there are ways to learn all of them. DotA 2 is a great game to play with a team of four other friends, and a game with a very high skill ceiling. Thanks to all the different ways the mechanics can fall together, it's a very enjoyable game to watch, too. It's pretty much at the pinnacle of its genre.
    Expand
  92. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    It's good stuff srs, dont let the butthurt players color your opinion the wrong way. This game will bring you countless hours of fun and entertainment
  93. Nov 12, 2013
    5
    completely free to play, all you have to pay for is cosmetics.
    + more than 100 heroes already available
    + really deep game mechanics gives good re-playability even with 1 game mode available. - no ladder or ranking system (its a problem for competitive game IMO) - the commend/report system is more annoying than really helpful - only 1 game mode, all you can change is the hero pick
    completely free to play, all you have to pay for is cosmetics.
    + more than 100 heroes already available
    + really deep game mechanics gives good re-playability even with 1 game mode available.
    - no ladder or ranking system (its a problem for competitive game IMO)
    - the commend/report system is more annoying than really helpful
    - only 1 game mode, all you can change is the hero pick phase (no custom maps or rules)
    - if you play good, you will be forced to have bad teammates, so everyone has 50% winrate
    - development of this game almost completely stopped a few month ago, all we have is new hats and some minor GUI changes.
    - the game still missing some heroes from orignal dota.
    - despite 6.79 patch, lots of heroes are still unbalanced compared to others.
    Expand
  94. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given dt given
  95. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    The game is great, shifting ballance back to normal after diretide accident. The graphics, the community, many tournaments to watch and to learn, love it.
  96. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Dota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is greatDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascoreDota2 is great game. Just repair metascore Expand
  97. Pro
    Nov 12, 2013
    10
    DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide givenDIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given DIretide given Expand
  98. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Great MOBA game. Best in its genre. Simple to start playing, extremely hard to master. Filled with so many intricacies that it keeps you playing the game. Even advanced players learn new tricks with every game. Great community and great Devs. VALVE has done awesome work with this game. Also one of the best competitive E-Sports scene. Really exciting competitive play with big stakes on the line,
  99. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    :DDD Thanks Volvo! Finally the Give Diretide thingy is over and ValvE is throwing a new patch :DDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD
  100. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    Great game but the abandon rules are ridiculous. Just got a 24h ban because i arrived a few seconds after the 5 min limit since my game crashed and didn't restart in time and therefore got an abandon and a loss, even though i returned and won the game.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.