User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11036 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide !We got diretide
  2. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    just a TL;DR version.
    Gameplay: 10/10.
    Depth: 10/10. It's really deep and a true Esports game.
    Accessibility: 7/10. The only weakness of Dota 2, it's quite harsh to noobs.
    Community: 6/10. The community is mixed between mature and VERY childish people.
    Graphics: 8/10.

    A must play game if you like strategy games.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    9
    They gave dire tide, and have continually improved the game over the last few years.

    Steep learning curve, and crappy match making are the only downside on these two.
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is a truly great game, the user rating however doesn't reflect this. The rating reflects the idiots and trolls that don't think before they act. A yearly event (Diretide) was not added this Halloween and these people reacted without thought. The game itself is amazing, I am coming from a SC2 and WoW background. This game is by far the most frustrating, incredible, terrible, andThis is a truly great game, the user rating however doesn't reflect this. The rating reflects the idiots and trolls that don't think before they act. A yearly event (Diretide) was not added this Halloween and these people reacted without thought. The game itself is amazing, I am coming from a SC2 and WoW background. This game is by far the most frustrating, incredible, terrible, and amazing game I have come across. The learning curve is high, there are almost 100 heroes, with 4 or more spells each, and a ton of items (some build into others too!). It is a game you will be bad at for a while, but the learning experience is a good time as well. There is a sense of accomplishment in this game that I haven't had in others. This game will take time to learn, but if you are going to spend time gaming my advice would be to put some into this. The professional scene is also a great part of this game, and will teach you a lot as well. Overall, Dota 2 is my favorite game of all time, and I truly believe that it is the best PC game out there. Give it a try, you won't be sorry (for that long). Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    We complained they delivered. I'm really ashamed of the dota community for making a big fuss over the whole diretide thing. But in the end valve put up with it and still managed to give it to us along with other new content. Valve is one of the best community driven company.
  6. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    It's sad to see so many votes from the Beta client bringing this score down.

    Honestly, DOTA2 nails it for a MOBA.

    Less cartoony than LoL, and somehow more satisfying than HoN.

    Great community, mature marketplace, and more importantly a kickass game.
  7. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    i always will love this game, this game makes all my days, i love dota forever, we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we goti always will love this game, this game makes all my days, i love dota forever, we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide we got diretide Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is an excellent Action RTS game with extensive game mechanics and limitless in-game experience to acquire. The skill learning curve for this game is incredibly steep and requires hundreds to thousands of playing hours to master. Nonetheless, Dota 2 is a challenging yet rewarding game and is especially fun to play with friends. The competitive aspect of this game is evidently highDota 2 is an excellent Action RTS game with extensive game mechanics and limitless in-game experience to acquire. The skill learning curve for this game is incredibly steep and requires hundreds to thousands of playing hours to master. Nonetheless, Dota 2 is a challenging yet rewarding game and is especially fun to play with friends. The competitive aspect of this game is evidently high which might attract some audiences, namely e-sports fans. Other features of this game include aesthetic items, custom announcers and HUD designs, and tournament tickets which you can purchase to spectate professional teams duke it out. Expand
  9. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Very good game, well done varied gameplay ALOT of heros that are all very different game, a game thats easy to learn difficult to master, and a good hidden ladder 10/10 would recommend.
  10. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    I got into this game a month or so back, after I wanted a taste of something different from League of Legends. They're both massively different games, but DOTA features several additional layers of complexity such as denying, jungle stacking, couriers, and buybacks. They give the game a completely different flow and provide several different items to strategize on.

    The gameplay is
    I got into this game a month or so back, after I wanted a taste of something different from League of Legends. They're both massively different games, but DOTA features several additional layers of complexity such as denying, jungle stacking, couriers, and buybacks. They give the game a completely different flow and provide several different items to strategize on.

    The gameplay is great, lots of different heroes with their own niches, and tons of items that each have something that sets them apart. The graphics are wonderful, with rich colors and detailed models across the map. And the sound is also pretty good, they have a system that plays different music based on your context. For example if you are in combat, it will play intense music etc.

    The reason I'm giving it 8 stars is because it's hard to see your progression. There is no ranking system for those who matchmake solo. Because of this, it's hard to see if you are improving, and how much if you are. There are crude divisions, "normal", "high", and "very high", but they are hard to find and the statistics for the divisions are also not disclosed. I have no idea what's up with the current rating though, this game certainly deserves more than 4 stars.
    Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE
  12. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE got DIRETIDE
  13. 340
    Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Fixing this up!

    and i would like to say thank you to valve for being awesome and volvo for being the best. kudos!

    Alive geam!

    Diretide is on it's way bundled with major update! :D
  14. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaemBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem evaBest gaem eva Expand
  15. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    The best MOBA/ARTS there is on the market. All the heroes are free and open since the day you sign up, and there's absolutely no reason or need to sink ANY money into it unless you enjoy cosmetics or want to support the competitive scene.
    I've had so much fun playing dota, and will continue to play for sure. Although people say the learning curve is steep, I think Valve have done an
    The best MOBA/ARTS there is on the market. All the heroes are free and open since the day you sign up, and there's absolutely no reason or need to sink ANY money into it unless you enjoy cosmetics or want to support the competitive scene.
    I've had so much fun playing dota, and will continue to play for sure. Although people say the learning curve is steep, I think Valve have done an amazing job with the tutorial system which will have people playing in no time. I had no troubles at all, and this was my first MOBA/ARTS that I've played.
    Well done Valve!
    Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIDIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx!DIRETIDE,thx! Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  18. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    diretide secured. communication restored. now this game is amazingThat's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics. There's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is.
  19. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This is the best game ever, period. i cant believe there are soo many negative votes. Mostly diretide related Otherwise the greatest and be ready to lose your free time, FOREVER! :D
  20. odd
    Nov 8, 2013
    10
    what does a hero truly need?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!!!!!!
  21. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Go◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っGot DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Go◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ Got DIRETIDE(っ◔◡◔)っ
  22. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Compared to League of Legends and Heroes of Newerth, Dota 2 has more unique heroes and items. It is more advanced and rewarding than LoL. It is slower than HoN, which is important in team fights. The best popular MOBA out there. League wishes it could compare
  23. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    fantastic game valve done a perfect job, the same dota1 feeling but now with greater visuals, better mechanics, but horrible community unfortunately...
  24. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
    Got diretide! Thx volvo!
  25. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Is it possible for metacritic to delete a lot of the flame comments or ratings? This game should be 9 or 10. After all people only rated it badly because of the diretide fiasco. If we all agreed and made some sort of petition would it matter?
  26. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with bad reviews because of a bunch of people about no diretide well guess what there's a diretide now you happy? Now if everyone could just go ahead and give this game the ratings it deserves to counteract all the butthurt that would be nice.
  27. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    The company that created the game, knows how to admit mistakes, and it means that the game has been, is and will be wonderful. Valve, thank you for this game!
  28. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    A well-balanced, fun and rewarding ARTS/MOBA/whatever. The game runs nigh flawlessly on Linux, and receives updates extremely frequently. Valve have put together yet another great game.
  29. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo!

    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
  30. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NABest game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Best game NA Expand
  31. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    The company that created the game, knows how to admit mistakes, and it means that the game has been, is and will be wonderful. Valve, thank you for this game!
  32. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    So after all that happend after the entire diretide issue and some people just ruining the entire metascore i think its fair that after what valve did we crack the score up again to its original value.
  33. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Fix It
    Expand
  34. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  35. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband
  36. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  37. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband ヽ༼ຈل͜ຈ༽ノ
    Alive game volvo reband
  38. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  39. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    thx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretidethx for diretide
  40. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Perfect game. Good matchmaking, good gameplay, good balance, good graphics.

    Only posting this reviews because vandals wrecked the metacritic user score.
  41. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Gaben give us diretide, the lord is all forgiving! Best game ever, I only hope our lord forgive us for the sins we have commited, and we promise not to touch LoL ever again.

    Aben.
  42. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    They know how to say "sorry".
    I really love these game. Thank you valve.
    ..................................................................................................................................
  43. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Tha��)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Tha��)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!(づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
  44. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Despite the unfortunate Diretide 2013 backlash, Dota 2 is and remains the single most addictive game on the market. The learning curve is steep and the community at times hostile as shown in the last debacle but the game itself is as good as a PC game can be. No two games are like and the fact that it's ever-changing yet the same is what is a large part of the appeal.
  45. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    There's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics and once it's in your system then you'll startThere's 2 things about Dota 2 it's completely free and it's developed by VALVe. If that's not enough for you to try this game I don't know what is. The only thing that you have to spend in order to play this game is time. That's right, Dota 2 is not like most other games and that's because it's very complex, so be patient, learn the mechanics and once it's in your system then you'll start having a hell lot of fun. I wouldn't recommend it if you're a casual gamer and can't be bothered to invest that time. If that's the case and you want to play a MOBA then that's where LoL comes in. If you already play LoL and want something more challenging and more rewarding then by all means try Dota 2. Plus it has way better graphics, great character customization and doesn't require any money to unlock heroes (which I find very frustrating in LoL). It is also more balanced imo. As for the community, well it's still a MOBA so don't expect too much, although it's not so bad. Expand
  46. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE VOLVO gave DIRETIDE
  47. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    I love this game so much, it is so deeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep
  48. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo rebandvolvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband volvo reband Expand
  49. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND PLIS
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND PLIS
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND PLIS
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND PLIS
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND PLIS
    ALIVE GAME VOLVO REBAND plis
  50. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best multi-player game of the past couple of years by far.
    Only posting this here because some entitled dick-wads broke the score. just doing my part
  51. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best game ever ..............................................and srsly why shoud i 150 characters long my review just small so you metacritic.com :D ................................................................................zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  52. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    2451 hours in Dota2, by far the best game I played online. Even after so many hours I still learn new stuff. And with 100+heroes you never get bored. I recommend Dota2
  53. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE THNX FOR DIRETIDE TDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX FOR DIRETIDE
  54. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Awesome game! Thx Valve for this.
    I don't know what i gonna say... AWESOME
    ................................................................................................................
  55. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Probably the best game in its genre (ARTS, MOBA, Dota-like, whatever you prefer). This game is simply a better version of Dota 1, the game that made this genre famous. It is developed by Icefrog and Valve and they have done an excellent job so far. I would give it 9/10 because there are some bugs but since people started giving it 0 for a dumb reason I decided to give the max possible vote: 10!
  56. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
    (づ。◕‿◕。)づ Thanks volvo!
  57. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. DIRETIDE!
    Thanks Volvo. We love Volvo!

    72342034802384023840238402384238482304802384023849023840238402384023840238402384023840238409238402938402938490238402
    Expand
  58. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of best f2p game i ever plays, good graphics, nicely gameplay and sweet hud, rarely bugs. Sometimes valve do not good at communicate with their customer but i think dota 2 deserved got 10 points from me
  59. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best ARTS ("moba") around, mechanics that is aesthetically pleasing and heroes are diverse. Also the business model is fair and not pay 2 win. Also sometimes Valve actually listens the community.
  60. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Literally the best multiplayer online experience you can have. This free-to-play game will provide you hundreds and possibly thousands of hours of pure multiplayer bliss. Dota is a very complex game with an enormous learning curve, and you will need to dedicate your time and your attention to this game if you want to be good at it. Thankfully Valve has made really neat tutorial levels thatLiterally the best multiplayer online experience you can have. This free-to-play game will provide you hundreds and possibly thousands of hours of pure multiplayer bliss. Dota is a very complex game with an enormous learning curve, and you will need to dedicate your time and your attention to this game if you want to be good at it. Thankfully Valve has made really neat tutorial levels that will introduce you to the game. There are also dozens of guides online that will help you. Expand
  61. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    DIRETIDE! Alive game! Volvo reband! DIRETIDE! Alive game! Volvo reband! DIRETIDE! Alive game! Volvo reband! DIRETIDE! Alive game! Volvo reband! DIRETIDE! Alive game! Volvo reband!
  62. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Incredibly fun game, every time you play it's a different experience. So many heroes to play as, I would consider all of them fun in their own way. You know a game is good when you're still having fun even when you're losing.
  63. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is basically my all-time favorite game. Don't trust any review that starts with "I've played LoL/HoN for over..." and I saw one below that said you have to "pay real money for items" in order to beat the enemy, that's totally BS. Valve has done a great job with Dota 2, the game-play is awesome, it's hard to master so if you really wanna know how to play you'll have to actually takeDota 2 is basically my all-time favorite game. Don't trust any review that starts with "I've played LoL/HoN for over..." and I saw one below that said you have to "pay real money for items" in order to beat the enemy, that's totally BS. Valve has done a great job with Dota 2, the game-play is awesome, it's hard to master so if you really wanna know how to play you'll have to actually take some time, the graphics are better than any other MOBA, the heroes are balanced, that "2 passive and 2 active" its a lie, the guy wrote that was playing sniper and never played any other hero. The use rating is down because LoL players hate on it and also because Diretide came late, but don't let it fool you, this game is a must play. Expand
  64. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
    (づ。‿。)づ Diretide Given
  65. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Melhor jogo de arena que já joguei. Nunca um jogo me prendeu tanto a frente de um Computador. Antes de jogar Dota 2, eu jogava o Dota mod de WarCraft, e posso garantir que Dota 2 consegui recriar a essência do mod original. Já joguei LOL, mas nunca senti oque eu sinto jogando Dota 2.
  66. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    best game ever, thanks to our lord gaben undead geam. postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount postcount
  67. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota2 is the only game you will ever need.

    So much to learn even after 1000s of hours and it is still constantly evolving.
    Also, It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  68. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Complex mechanics that make a enjoyable game where you need microskills abilitys if you want win this game you need play as a team and make it work..
  69. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Fantastic game, it's a real shame the community is so bad. If you're going to play make sure you read some guides online first and complete the training to get a grasp of the mechanics. There is quite a steep learning curve.
  70. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
    づ。◕‿◕。)づ THNX
  71. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    A great game. Offers thousands of hours of gameplay because no two matches are alike. Very complex, very dynamic and a great community. Volvo gave us Diretide
  72. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    An incredible free to play multiplayer game that, once you've scaled the learning wall, offers endless hours of nuanced combat and strategy. Though the community can be harsh, those with thick skin will persevere and lose countless hours of their life to this addictive ARTS.
  73. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is easily one of the most exciting and gripping games I have ever played before. There are so many different scenarios which lead to you never getting bored. I would suggest Dota 2 to anyone looking for a fantastic game to play.
  74. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Best game i've ever played. Even if you always play on the same map the variety of heroes and items makes every match you play different. I've played this game for almost a year and i'm proud that this game is still part of my life
  75. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.Volvo gave us Diretide i approve.
  76. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 is a great game that will truly test your skills. There are many great aspects to the game including many heroes, many combinations of skills, and getting better is very rewarding.
  77. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Good, very good game! Valve strive for users. And do not neglect them and underestimate assessment through event, I think they learned a lesson and will continue to delight us with their patches
  78. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  79. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Give DIRETIDE GAVE DIRETIDE WHOOOOOOOOOOOO
    Volvo reband.
    GG best game ever.
    ༼ Give TECHIES!!!
    Volvo best team ever. I love teamasdfasdfsdasdfasdfasdfasdf
  80. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    It's a really good game, possible the best game I've ever played. It have a good mixture of strategy and action, which is really cool. Also, all players started out the same each game so it is all fair play, and it is all about your skills. No item-buying from market except for cosmetics (which is basically just pretty things and add nothing to your hero).
  81. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    .................................................................Diretide will be given, my soul rests now............................................................................................................................
  82. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    This game is completely free to play so the only barrier on entry is player skill. There is even a tutorial nowadays so that new players aren't completely left to sink or swim like old-school gamers were.
  83. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've ever played. It's especially fun when you have friends that play as well.

    A lot of reviews on this site are negative but don't mind the trolls. There are still some good people in the dota community. That being said, try it out and i assure you won't regret it.
  84. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    Once again, Valve has given back to the community even when we don't deserve it. DIRETIDE 2013! POSSIBLE CUSTOM GAME MODES? raise your expectations
  85. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At last valve give us Halloween event, hope next update also have new hero and new game mode, I'll support dota 2 forever because I'm dota 2 fan. GGWP Valve. Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    A game that keeps challenges you so much that there's something new to learn every time you play. Even after having well over 1000 hours of playing the game and spectating pro tournaments, this is just a gold mine for fans of team games that require deep strategic thinking and fast reflexes at the same time.
  87. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, I've never spent so many hours playing a single game and still feel like I am learning new stuff every day. I honestly can't believe it's free. It will frustrate the hell out of you but winning a match leaves you feeling satisfied like no other game can.
  88. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    best gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem everbest gaem ever
  89. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    The most challenging MOBA style game out there. Great fun with friends. Regular updates. Great business model (completely free to play with JUST cosmetic items for sale). Play it!
  90. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Truly the best moba, if not PC game, ever, out there.
    On a true 5v5 neutral basis, without pay for power of any kind and all heroes available from the very first time you launch the game, this title holds no comptetitors worthy of the name.
  91. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Best MOBA ever! Best game ever! Sad to see that the community can't support it decently. As you can see, even with the mistakes from Valve, no one stop playing it, they're only criticizing it....
  92. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    This game is certainly worth playing. It's free yet very entertaining and joyful, hard, complicated and requires a calm mind and firm strategy. If you're up for challenge download dota on steam and start playing. it's hard but rewarding
  93. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    Great game. Has a learning curve, but with time will outshine other similar games. Able to pick all heroes from the start. Pay for items don't have any effect on skill/ability. Ignore the review bombs from haters.
  94. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.Thank you valve for giving diretide.
  95. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    It's a great game with a colourful community! Great depth and a big play on your real-time tactical skills. Has lots of heroes to choose from, and with a team of 5 there are countless combinations of skills you can apply in battle.
  96. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    I think that over thousand hours of game-play speaks for itself! Just the best of its kind out there! Just a brilliant job all over! Will be enjoying my next thousand hours!
  97. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free, the only paid content are cosmetical items that DO NOT change gameplay.
  98. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    dota 2 10/10 the best game from the time of Jesus' birth .I play DotA since Alexander the Great and I'm still not tired of it. One of the best, most difficult and truly competitive games I've ever played. It is free and doesn't have any pay-to-win, all heroes are free
  99. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Good work VOLVO.Thank you for the update.I didn't vote a low score last week.The score was about 3.9 so low.I think it isn't fair for DOTA2 to got such score.Game such as League of Legends didn't have the diretide also.Even no any activity can get a higher score.That must be wrong.I'm sure DOTA2 is a better game.So I sign a account and rote 10.0.For fair and justice,for such a goodGood work VOLVO.Thank you for the update.I didn't vote a low score last week.The score was about 3.9 so low.I think it isn't fair for DOTA2 to got such score.Game such as League of Legends didn't have the diretide also.Even no any activity can get a higher score.That must be wrong.I'm sure DOTA2 is a better game.So I sign a account and rote 10.0.For fair and justice,for such a good game.Cheer up DOTA2 Expand
  100. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Dota 2 has to be the best F2P game out there. It is very complex and there's always more to learn about it but once you learn the basics, it's incredibly rewarding and fun to play.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.