User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11121 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    I hoped this game would get me really hooked up for a long long time but for my surprise when I was going to play my first match I discovered that the community is really unsupportive not beginner-friendly I just need 3 words to describe this game WORST COMUNNITY EVER
  2. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    They still haven't reached Wc3 parity, they don't talk to the community EVER, there is no ranked ladder at all, the game is full of bugs which have not even attempted to be fixed. They constantly release patches which only contain hats, they don't even pay enough attention to the game to release annual holiday patches. For example they completely forgot about Halloween in Dota 2 whileThey still haven't reached Wc3 parity, they don't talk to the community EVER, there is no ranked ladder at all, the game is full of bugs which have not even attempted to be fixed. They constantly release patches which only contain hats, they don't even pay enough attention to the game to release annual holiday patches. For example they completely forgot about Halloween in Dota 2 while adding Halloween content in Tf2 and CS:GO. Overall the Dota game in Wc3 is a masterpiece but Dota 2 is a garbage can due to Valves apathetic development. They are only making this game to milk people for money by adding hats and tickets. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    The developers of this game do not care the slightest about their customers. Expect zero communication with the community and hardly any content updates. Avoid this developer at all costs.
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This game is generally terrible, with also an obnoxious and toxic community. If you are a new player or possibly interested, STAY AWAY

    * Horrible community, most of which doesn't even hurl insults at you in english. * Thoroughly unbalanced matches, win or lose, making the first 5 minutes of the game interesting but the remaining 40 minutes a snoozefest * Awful game balance. Valve
    This game is generally terrible, with also an obnoxious and toxic community. If you are a new player or possibly interested, STAY AWAY

    * Horrible community, most of which doesn't even hurl insults at you in english.
    * Thoroughly unbalanced matches, win or lose, making the first 5 minutes of the game interesting but the remaining 40 minutes a snoozefest
    * Awful game balance. Valve should fire whoever is in charge of game balance.
    * Puzzling or just stupid game mechanics and interface, like not being able to zoom out or "denying" allies
    * Announcers, sounds and voices that encourage toxic communication

    If your cup of tea is being shouted at for 40 minutes by some random on the internet while being bored to sleep, this game is for you!
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    I hoped this game would get me really hooked up for a long long time but for my surprise when I was going to play my first match I discovered that the community is really unsupportive not beginner-friendly I just need 3 words to describe this game WORST COMUNNITY EVER
  6. Aug 4, 2013
    3
    I started playing this coming from League of Legends since I wanted to try something new. I highly do not recommend this game unless you know what it is going into it, it is extremely unfriendly to new users and you will probably get flamed every game even bot games. If you do play or have played DOTA 1, I recommend it since it is a nice improvement on the original. If you play/playedI started playing this coming from League of Legends since I wanted to try something new. I highly do not recommend this game unless you know what it is going into it, it is extremely unfriendly to new users and you will probably get flamed every game even bot games. If you do play or have played DOTA 1, I recommend it since it is a nice improvement on the original. If you play/played League of Legends, DOTA 2 will probably get you to start playing League of Legends again as it did for me. While most people think the simplified stats make it easier, I find that it just means if your primary stat is intelligence, you're getting screwed late game.

    Pros:
    - Very in-depth for this type of game and the champion interaction is refreshing.
    - In-game graphics are a lot better than League of Legends and the client loads significantly faster.
    - Truly Free to play since you don't need to unlock champions with any game currency or what not.
    - In-game voice chat works well most of the time, although the sensitivity slider has been very buggy.
    - Made me appreciate League of Legends more.

    Cons:
    - Community is the worst since... well... ever...
    - The game has a ridiculously steep learning curve and is painful to climb.
    - Every champion is overpowered at first so that no thought has to be put into balancing, then late game anyone that relies on abilities gets the shaft since they don't scale with your stats.
    - Turrets hardly seem to do any damage and I've seen turret dives at very early levels.
    - Losing gold upon death just means you are even further behind then before making the game quickly snowball in the winning team's favor.
    - Denying minions and turrets is also aggravating as heck when you are short on gold.
    - Only one map and one mode.
    - League of Legends has Runes and Masteries, while not very powerful alone, they do add a lot of customization that dota 2 needs since the only customization at the moment is purely aesthetic.
    - The camera sucks... period. It never zooms back far enough so you end up having to take focus off of your character just to auto-attack.
    - Roaming the map is annoying at times since trees are misleading upon which you can walk through and which you can't.

    Overall: If you played DOTA 1 and loved it, play DOTA 2. If you have never played DOTA or even LoL, try League of Legends first.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    This game has been abandoned by the developers for other projects and further micro-transactions. Furthermore, Valve has kept a radio silence, even when it would benefit the game by saying something, anything. The infamous community is only riled up when treated in this way, dragging the game as a whole down to abyssal levels.
  8. Nov 1, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Dispate the fact that the game was released it's still in beta. Why it's still in beta? There are still missing heroes from the original dota (heroes that have not been ported yet), there are several missing options in the option tab, you have to edit some cfg to change them, game is poorly optimized (memory leaks that force you to restart the it after 1 single game), there are graphical artefacts caused by the engine, matchmaking is a joke (they explain how mmr works but that only shows how an 1500 mmr player end up in same team with a 3000 mmr player something that is completly wrong), when a hero spawn the game freeze, if you alt+tab the game in win xp and try to get back you end up with a blank screen and only way to get back ingame is to end task dota 2, some heroes are overpowered big time and in the last 2-3 patches nothing has been done to adress this problem, drop system is badly implemented trools, flamers, feeders get legendary and mythical items while decent and good players barely get a rare from time to time, 3 posible reports week is a bad joke for someone that play 5 games day because on average he will have to report 1 player game, mute system is badly implemented cause it cripples a team game cause the one muted is matched with unmuted players and he can't talk/answer to them, dispate the fact that the game has not implemented heroes from dota 2 valve works on cosmetics, extremely poor qualy hero graphic (abadon, omg extremely bad quality base graphic for this hero), no communication from devs part, devs refuse to listen comunity (take for example diretide 2013 there is a topic with more the 200 pages and no dev answered if there will be diretide 2013 or not, not that they answer to something), "balance patches" that don't balance anything but make some overpowered abilities even more stronger (aghanim buff for doom) and add useless things (aghanim for disruptor, disruptor is a support hero he will not get the farm for aghanim during an average game...). Those are the main reasons that make me score 2/10, it's so low because that's the score i gave to any game that is officialy released dispate the fact that it's in beta and has tones of problems. Expand
  9. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    The basis for a succes was there, but looks like at Valve they have stopped caring about this game as the development has slowed down to a crawl and it's taking waaaaaay to long for them to update the game, fix the plethora of bugs, fix the awful matchmaking system, add new heroes and new game modes. To add insult to injury, they have absolutely no respect for their player base and refuseThe basis for a succes was there, but looks like at Valve they have stopped caring about this game as the development has slowed down to a crawl and it's taking waaaaaay to long for them to update the game, fix the plethora of bugs, fix the awful matchmaking system, add new heroes and new game modes. To add insult to injury, they have absolutely no respect for their player base and refuse to communicate with them at all.
    The game has reached a peak of 550k players online 4 months ago, and it has since stopped growing, a sign that you can only keep people interested with cosmetic items for so long.
    Collapse
  10. Jul 30, 2013
    3
    Background: I'm a big Dota gamer since Dota1, played Dota2 for 1k++ games since beta till launching
    Positive:
    + much more balanced hero compared to dota1 + more distributed hero usage compared to dota1 + active community + incredible concept of changing appearances with customize clothings etc Negative: - horrible communities that focus only on "winning", if you make a
    Background: I'm a big Dota gamer since Dota1, played Dota2 for 1k++ games since beta till launching
    Positive:
    + much more balanced hero compared to dota1
    + more distributed hero usage compared to dota1
    + active community
    + incredible concept of changing appearances with customize clothings etc
    Negative:
    - horrible communities that focus only on "winning", if you make a mistake/newbie then you'll get horrible f*** words. I pity new people who join the game. The game is no longer game for fun.
    - horrible matchmaking, you won't get matched with people similar with your skill. So the game will be very unbalanced for the player skills. You can play 8 games and get straight win because the enemies are too weak, and likewise.
    - reports are not thouroughly analyzed. Example: 4 party team me (outsider). They died and kept feeding, I advice them with really polite and gentle words, they are pissed because they lose, they report, I get muted (because they're 4 people reports versus me alone).
    - too many pauses to wait people with horrible connections, 1 game minimum a 5-10 minutes pauses (of total 30-40 minutes of game play 30% of your time waiting people to reconnect)
    - no give-up for "too obvious" game that you will lose, making the game boring
    Expand
  11. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    A failed attempt to copy an old WC3 custom map that somehow manages to have less features than said map. Dota 2 is nothing but a steaming pile of designed to nickel and dime idiots who buy into it because of retarded Internet "meme" culture suggesting Valve is anything but a scam making profit from others' work since their conception. Frequent server crashes, low-quality cosmetics pricedA failed attempt to copy an old WC3 custom map that somehow manages to have less features than said map. Dota 2 is nothing but a steaming pile of designed to nickel and dime idiots who buy into it because of retarded Internet "meme" culture suggesting Valve is anything but a scam making profit from others' work since their conception. Frequent server crashes, low-quality cosmetics priced at $35 dollars, and the most retarded "community" in all of gaming is all you can expect from this turd. Dead game. Expand
  12. Jul 17, 2013
    0
    I really love this game, so many improvements have been made over Dota1. Juking around trees is easier and feels more natural, smooth animations allow for much easier last hitting, beautiful visual effects with the exception of a few hero models but the game is still treated like a beta by the devs so they're constantly working on improving things. The match making is a bit flawed at theI really love this game, so many improvements have been made over Dota1. Juking around trees is easier and feels more natural, smooth animations allow for much easier last hitting, beautiful visual effects with the exception of a few hero models but the game is still treated like a beta by the devs so they're constantly working on improving things. The match making is a bit flawed at the moment but it will get fixed. The pay model is great as you have the hole game for FREE without having to buy anything which may give you even 1% advantage over the enemy which is great. Most of the cosmetics are great and those that are implemented and hated on by the community get removed(of course who bought them will keep them though). I can talk about a lot of things but I just wanted to cover a few things Dota2 has improved from Dota1. It's a very fun and challenging game which I recommend you try out(but first please play the tutorial). Expand
  13. Nov 2, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good game but:
    1) cosmetic items more important for devs than new heroesgood matchmaking systemevents in game
    2) not much official info from devs for users
    3) there is no ladder system, there was skill brackets, but Valve delete this
    etc.
    Expand
  14. Aug 6, 2013
    3
    I've tried it quite a bit. Gave it a fair chance. Not impressed.

    Pros: - It's a MOBA challenging addictive. - Very good user interface outside of the game. Cons: - Chaotic compared to other MOBAs (can't even tell what's passable terrain). - Too few improvements over the Warcraft 3 engine DOTA. - Crappy community. - No solo ranking system. - Extremely unbalanced. - Matches
    I've tried it quite a bit. Gave it a fair chance. Not impressed.

    Pros:
    - It's a MOBA challenging addictive.
    - Very good user interface outside of the game.

    Cons:
    - Chaotic compared to other MOBAs (can't even tell what's passable terrain).
    - Too few improvements over the Warcraft 3 engine DOTA.
    - Crappy community.
    - No solo ranking system.
    - Extremely unbalanced.
    - Matches are almost exclusively decided in 10 minutes, yet you have to player longer and finish the one-sided match.
    Expand
  15. Sep 13, 2013
    2
    The game is very unbalanced, most of the time a pool of around 20 out of the 100 heroes are picked. Not even because they're the most fun, but because they will win you the game. It might not deserve quit as low as what I have given it but trust me, it's not worth your time.
  16. Sep 17, 2013
    0
    one of the most boring games i ever played. honestly.
    also the online community consitsts of 99% garbage talking kids. not sure how anyone can spend more than 4 hours on this.

    better get warcraft 3 and the original dota mod.
  17. Sep 12, 2013
    2
    The game is quite fun for a few games every 100 games played, the problem is the matchmaking is terrible.
    Playing with people who don't speak your language and have 450 pings makes for a bad game.
    The game needs a ladder or some form of progression, the games feels shallow unless you're in a pro team, then it has lots of support. dota often has 7x less spectators than league of legends
    The game is quite fun for a few games every 100 games played, the problem is the matchmaking is terrible.
    Playing with people who don't speak your language and have 450 pings makes for a bad game.
    The game needs a ladder or some form of progression, the games feels shallow unless you're in a pro team, then it has lots of support.
    dota often has 7x less spectators than league of legends that says a lot.
    most people in dota have 4-5 accounts for trading and queue skipping, this makes the game look bigger than it is. Theirs only 10% of people logged in who are actually playing in game, most idle in chat or trading.
    The best thing about dota is the graphics are great so i do hope dota wins but they need to support the casual community.
    Expand
  18. Aug 7, 2013
    2
    Dota 2 is an unfinished unpolished game totally lacking in any kind of balance or more importantly user friendliness it is one of the worst games I have ever played in terms of easy of play with no guarantee of a fair match or people not quitting/people being of an equal level. Surely they know to group people ranked on ability not account level. A total waste of time in its current state.Dota 2 is an unfinished unpolished game totally lacking in any kind of balance or more importantly user friendliness it is one of the worst games I have ever played in terms of easy of play with no guarantee of a fair match or people not quitting/people being of an equal level. Surely they know to group people ranked on ability not account level. A total waste of time in its current state. If you want a reliable competitive game where you know you are going to have a fun game weather you win or loose play halo or cod or league but by no means give any of your time to Dota 2. I have never lost but had fun in that game Wait 6 months and try again. Expand
  19. Jan 31, 2015
    0
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ VOLVO REWORK REPORT SYSTEM ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
    ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ VOLVO REWORK REPORT SYSTEM ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
    ༼༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ VOLVO REWORK REPORT SYSTEM ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
    ༼༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ VOLVO REWORK REPORT SYSTEM ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
    ༼༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ VOLVO REWORK REPORT SYSTEM ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ
  20. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    If valve doesn't give a about this game, then i don't. I'm not sore over the lack of diretide, I'm sore over the fact that valve hasn't said a single word. Every update is just a few cosmetics thrown into the game. No new heroes, no bug fixes. Only that will give them some extra cash.
  21. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP

    Game is now safe to leave. No statistics will be recorded.
  22. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    And what New?
    Another Damned updates is new sets and tickets
    Another Damned updates is new sets and tickets
    Another Damned updates is new sets and tickets
  23. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    Garbage matchmaking
    Garbage report system
    Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)
    No region locks.
    You take a perfect game and turn it into worst game ever created.
    GG WP
  24. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    no diretide
    NO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO
    no diretide
    NO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO DiretideNO Diretide
    Expand
  25. Nov 3, 2013
    0
    0 communication and 0 visibility no visible MMR no ladders)

    I hoped this game would get me really hooked up for a long long time but for my surprise when I was going to play my first match I discovered that the community is really unsupportive not beginner-friendly I just need 3 words to describe this game WORST COMUNNITY EVER
  26. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Bad Bad Give DIRETIDE.....you are just looking for money an losing Dota 2 community.......sincerely thinking to move with my friends to play other MOBA.
  27. Nov 16, 2014
    0
    Valve rly dont care about community, all they want - is money. Where is TI4 goals? Where is events?
    I'm didnt saw any drop for a 3 weeks! "Nice" new drop system. FU greedy Gaben.
  28. Feb 2, 2015
    2
    Disappointing community. RU zone? Angry russians. EU zone? Angry russians. NA zone? Angry russians with 1754ms ping. Absolutely awesome. Nothing else.
  29. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband fuk u volvo fuk u volvo disband
  30. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    I reallly enjoyed this game But after the game was officially release. Valve has shown they made enough money off people like me buying keys in the beta. Now they have completely forsaken us F*CK YOU VALVE F%CK YOU DOTA DEVS.

    YOU CAN'T JUST IGNORE THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE YOU MONEY!
  31. Nov 1, 2013
    0
    The basis for a succes was there, but looks like at Valve they have stopped caring about this game as the development has slowed down to a crawl and it's taking waaaaaay to long for them to update the game, fix the plethora of bugs, fix the awful matchmaking system, add new heroes and new game modes. To add insult to injury, they have absolutely no respect for their player base and refuseThe basis for a succes was there, but looks like at Valve they have stopped caring about this game as the development has slowed down to a crawl and it's taking waaaaaay to long for them to update the game, fix the plethora of bugs, fix the awful matchmaking system, add new heroes and new game modes. To add insult to injury, they have absolutely no respect for their player base and refuse to communicate with them at all.
    The game has reached a peak of 550k players online 4 months ago, and it has since stopped growing, a sign that you can only keep people interested with cosmetic items for so long.
    Collapse
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.