User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10832 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull. And unless you have no life at all outside the pc, then you will be simple fodder for the rest of the players.
  2. vdz
    Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. keep the community in the dark and only give cosmetic items for money gg valve you have turned a game that has lasted for years as a mod into a cashgrab Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Your dev team has to be the most incompetent and laziest pieces of I have ever witnessed. You gave your biggest game no Halloween event, you release a hero every year since it's "too much work". We were the loudest community ever, wanting diretide. Give DIRETIDE will live on for ages. We screamed so loudly and we get nothing, not even a single "no event this year" and now today you guysYour dev team has to be the most incompetent and laziest pieces of I have ever witnessed. You gave your biggest game no Halloween event, you release a hero every year since it's "too much work". We were the loudest community ever, wanting diretide. Give DIRETIDE will live on for ages. We screamed so loudly and we get nothing, not even a single "no event this year" and now today you guys have the audacity to give us a patch filled with hats. Expand
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Valve does NOT listen to the community.
    Now the dev team ignore all the community and give no information about nothing when we ask.
    It's a dead game
    Volvo Give DIRETIDE
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    The game is great, but situation with diretide is full of shame for valve. The problem is not braking promise about every year event, but the problem is mostly complete lack of response and dialog with community from valve company. There was no official answer. They simply don't give a about us. Thank you
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Valve's "should be" good game. But what does Valve give to its community? A SLAP OF HAT UPDATES AND NOTHING MORE. Do you ever think of the community's feelings Valve? Feeding them cosmetics and no new information about the game development itself? I really couldn't believe that the developers abandoned this game. So what, the money you got from compendiums not enough for funding theValve's "should be" good game. But what does Valve give to its community? A SLAP OF HAT UPDATES AND NOTHING MORE. Do you ever think of the community's feelings Valve? Feeding them cosmetics and no new information about the game development itself? I really couldn't believe that the developers abandoned this game. So what, the money you got from compendiums not enough for funding the future development of Dota 2? WHAT THE ACTUAL VALVE. And where's that "we are going to patch the game every week"? I was not even seeing a good hot fix for unfixed bugs in the game itself. You better get off this SACK OF in the Steam Store and eat your steam controller. A reboot of this game won't do. Would be better if Icefrog file a resignation letter to Gaben and move to some other company that communicates with its fan base.

    What a disgrace.
    Expand
  8. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Valve does NOT listen to the community. absolutely shocking, that is all. Even when the community blatantly expects a Halloween patch, they still do nothing, it's a complete joke. realy pls
  9. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Dota 2 is an amazing game, made by an absolutely terrible team. Hasn't been updated in almost a half a year, no community interaction on what's going on, while the only thing that gets added is cash shop items.
  10. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    the pace of this game feels so slow after playing years of lol. champ balance are bad. also, i dont like the idea of secret shop. i have play about 20 games not even one good game since what i see are people on the losing side always flaming each other, end up stood there typing, its like i can have more fun playing with bots. when i am on the losing side.omg people leaving game and
  11. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Worst game ever, valve is on the community constantly. At the beginning, the plan was to get the full hero pool of wc3 dota as fast as possible. Now, their priorities changed. They rather do stupid cosmetic stuff and tickets than adding heroes or talking to the community. They have absolutely no contact to the users, they just want our money. Didnt expect that from Valve.
  12. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. NO Diretide NO New Hero NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets NO Diretide NO New Hero NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets Expand
  13. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    The game is good, but it is being handled in a pathetic manner by VALVE

    1.Garbage matchmaking
    2.Garbage communication from the developers
    3.Garbage game engine results in 9 games without someone being able to load and you reenter the queue
    4.Null communication and 0 visibility ni visible MMR no ladders
    5.No Regin locks
    P.S. You take a perfect game and turn it into wjrst game ever created.
  14. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Your dev team has to be the most incompetent and laziest pieces of I have ever witnessed. You gave your biggest game no Halloween event, you release a hero every year since it's "too much work". We were the loudest community ever, wanting diretide. Give DIRETIDE will live on for ages. We screamed so loudly and we get nothing, not even a single "no event this year" and now today you guys have the audacity to give us a patch filled with hats. Give DIRETIDE Expand
  15. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Dota 2 is an amazing game, made by an absolutely terrible team. Hasn't been updated in almost a half a year, no community interaction on what's going on, while the only thing that gets added is cash shop items.
  16. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Developer that doesn't care about the community. They have shown time and time again,, they don't actually care about the players. Great game ever ^^^
  17. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    6.79 patch have very bad metagaming changes (no hardline/easyline enaugh now like a LoL), no new hero... over few mounth only tickets and sets... more action that strategy(bot dota 2 is MOBA)... pfffff, gj icefrog and valve.
  18. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Dota 2 have very bad communiti, very bad balanse, where new heroes???????????
    Valve try to listen people, that playing into your game!
    And make all heroes plz.
  19. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Valve spits on his community, so do not be surprised that the community will not care about you. You made a free game, but only care about their own enrichment at the expense of tickets and hats. Keep on like this!!
  20. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I have been playing this game since its much anticipated Beta release on Steam.
    After the initial excitement at the game, over the last 22 months I have become increasingly frustrated by Valve's arrogant attitude towards the playing community, which seems to have become worse since the official release earlier this year.
    My frustrations and objections are too numerous to explain in full
    I have been playing this game since its much anticipated Beta release on Steam.
    After the initial excitement at the game, over the last 22 months I have become increasingly frustrated by Valve's arrogant attitude towards the playing community, which seems to have become worse since the official release earlier this year.
    My frustrations and objections are too numerous to explain in full here, but the final straw [so to speak] was the Diretide no-show this Halloween, and the rumoured cancellation of The Greeviling.
    I had been looking forward to Diretide for the last two months, counting down the days (yeah, sad, I know). But what angered me more than anything was the way Valve completely disregarded the Dota 2 fans by not even having the courtesy firstly to inform them of this high-handed decision and secondly not even bother to answer their questions on this matter. Shame on you, Valve!
    Such disregard for the fans isn't really a good idea.

    As a DotA player, I would 'ring the changes' by playing games of Warcraft III with family and friends. (DotA is fun, don't get me wrong, but running down the same lanes all the time with the same purpose can become just a little tedious) and so having other game modes was fun.

    When Valve promised annual evens such as Diretide and The Greeviling, this opened up the opportunity for those players who wanted something a little different to engage in these games. There were some Dota 2 players who objected to these games, but, hey guys, they were alternatives, not compulsory!

    Well, I never trust those who go back on their promises, so Valve, you get a big fat zero for your game and your dereliction of duty to your fan base.
    Expand
  21. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    i have been playing dota for 3 years and i like it so much.When dota 2 has been officially released i was the happeiest man in the world.But,unfortunatelly we have no diretide this year so me review point is 0
  22. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    diretide!!!the pace of this game feels so slow after playing years of lol. champ balance are bad. also, i dont like the idea of secret shop. i have play about 20 games not even one good game since what i see are people on the losing side always flaming each other, end up stood there typing, its like i can have more fun playing with bots. when i am on the losing side.omg people leaving gamediretide!!!the pace of this game feels so slow after playing years of lol. champ balance are bad. also, i dont like the idea of secret shop. i have play about 20 games not even one good game since what i see are people on the losing side always flaming each other, end up stood there typing, its like i can have more fun playing with bots. when i am on the losing side.omg people leaving game and report you that and that. very bad execution. 2 points for graphic, and 2 points for being dota Expand
  23. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    the pace of this game feels so slow after playing years of lol. champ balance are bad. also, i dont like the idea of secret shop. i have play about 20 games not even one good game since what i see are people on the losing side always flaming each other, end up stood there typing, its like i can have more fun playing with bots. when i am on the losing side.omg people leaving game and
  24. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull. And unless you have no life at all outside the pc, then you will be simple fodder for the rest of the players. The "tutorial" is absolutely woeful and lacking in explaining the most important overarching aspects of theI really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull. And unless you have no life at all outside the pc, then you will be simple fodder for the rest of the players. The "tutorial" is absolutely woeful and lacking in explaining the most important overarching aspects of the game, and don't bother trying to get help from anyone on the servers. They are one of the worst groups of people on the face of this planet. Gameplay is just like playing a dumbed down RTS map... Maybe its one for those that love spending DAYS refining characters and strategies, all so they can get a little bit closer to beating one dull map after another. Its free, but its not even worth the cost of the download Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    I really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull. And unless you have no life at all outside the pc, then you will be simple fodder for the rest of the players. The "tutorial" is absolutely woeful and lacking in explaining the most important overarching aspects of theI really couldnt get into this game... I really didnt want to spend 1500 hours (as some reviewers state) playing a game that seems to me to be very repetitive and dull. And unless you have no life at all outside the pc, then you will be simple fodder for the rest of the players. The "tutorial" is absolutely woeful and lacking in explaining the most important overarching aspects of the game, and don't bother trying to get help from anyone on the servers. They are one of the worst groups of people on the face of this planet. Gameplay is just like playing a dumbed down RTS map... Maybe its one for those that love spending DAYS refining characters and strategies, all so they can get a little bit closer to beating one dull map after another. Its free, but its not even worth the cost of the download. Expand
  26. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Very bad matchmaking, bad teammates in soloMM. Bad servers, becouse have lags, big lags on EU/RU/USA servers. Please, fix this matchmaking. Stop give us random players in game.
  27. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Hello!
    I love this game and play it for a long time. The fact is that last year was Diretide. But in this year it was canceled. Valve, please take care of your community and the people which play DotA 2. Otherwise, you will lose them.
    Thanks.
  28. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is all about hats now. Only thing Valve update in this game is new hats and tournament tickets.
    Matchmaking is stupid, queue you with stupid people to force you 50% win rate.
    And now the dev team ignore all the community and give no information about nothing when we ask.
    It's a dead game
  29. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The game itself is a masterpiece. It has the biggest skill cap in MOBA gerne and the actual gameplay depends on many factors (strategy, quick response on teamfights,communication,coordination etc). However you can't enjoy that stuff if u solo que because of the STONE AGE MMR. If u don't have 4 friends of yours to que all the time, don't waste time in playing this
  30. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Your dev team has to be the most incompetent and laziest pieces of I have ever witnessed. You gave your biggest game no Halloween event, you release a hero every year since it's "too much work". We were the loudest community ever, wanting diretide. Give DIRETIDE will live on for ages. We screamed so loudly and we get nothing, not even a single "no event this year" and now today you guysYour dev team has to be the most incompetent and laziest pieces of I have ever witnessed. You gave your biggest game no Halloween event, you release a hero every year since it's "too much work". We were the loudest community ever, wanting diretide. Give DIRETIDE will live on for ages. We screamed so loudly and we get nothing, not even a single "no event this year" and now today you guys have the audacity to give us a patch filled with hats.

    ༼ TAKE YOUR HATS BACK
    Expand
  31. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    No normal matchmaking system No balance not interesting. Dota 2 is an amazing game, made by an absolutely terrible team. Hasn't been updated in almost a half a year, no community interaction on what's going on, while the only thing that gets added is cash shop items.
  32. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    m. When you done em, it helps 0.0 with the online experience. It is not clear for me, if i can make a char and level/upgrade it or if i have mes not even one good game since what i see are people on the losing side always flaming each other, end
  33. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Valve has fogotten its community! where is DIRETIDE #GIVEDIRETIDE, one year they do a lot of things for the community and so on and then when things get going (a.k.a the store is lucrative enough) they simply stop doing things and let the boulder of money roll downhill
  34. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Basically what others have said. Initially a good game but once the in-game cosmetic store was started it has been nothing but cosmetics and no game updates. It is not even considered "finish" (not all heroes ported from WC Dota). The game has significantly degraded in terms of everything just to get more new players and get them to buy cosmetics.
  35. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The lack of dedication from the Devs and Valve makes this game not worth playing, no new content added very repetitive community has it's ups and downs. and the cosmetic micro-transactions can suck you in really fast losing any desire yo play just to sit on random sites trading items in a repetitive manner. 0
  36. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Seriously do not play this game. I play it a lot, it is by far my favorite game. But it will destroy you life, there are games that will give you the exact same feeling but with little commitment compared to this cankerous maelstrom of a game.
  37. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    sorry for stealing from you gamotommrtisdot but sharing the same feelings with you

    The game itself is a masterpiece. It has the biggest skill cap in MOBA gerne and the actual gameplay depends on many factors (strategy, quick response on teamfights,communication,coordination etc). However you can't enjoy that stuff if u solo que because of the STONE AGE MMR. If u don't have 4 friends of
    sorry for stealing from you gamotommrtisdot but sharing the same feelings with you

    The game itself is a masterpiece. It has the biggest skill cap in MOBA gerne and the actual gameplay depends on many factors (strategy, quick response on teamfights,communication,coordination etc). However you can't enjoy that stuff if u solo que because of the STONE AGE MMR. If u don't have 4 friends of yours to que all the time, don't waste time in playing this
    Expand
  38. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The game is terrible for new players, the point for the game is never made clear and the new players are exposed (after a short tutorial) to on-line games with a rude community of players where the developers seem to have little interest in creating a sane environment or at least one when you don't get insulted every 2 minutes. For older players when this is not a concern, there is stillThe game is terrible for new players, the point for the game is never made clear and the new players are exposed (after a short tutorial) to on-line games with a rude community of players where the developers seem to have little interest in creating a sane environment or at least one when you don't get insulted every 2 minutes. For older players when this is not a concern, there is still apparently certain disappointment with the developers, who lack the interest to communicate well with the old community of players. Expand
  39. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    The game itself is a masterpiece. It has the biggest skill cap in MOBA gerne and the actual gameplay depends on many factors (strategy, quick response on teamfights,communication,coordination etc). However you can't enjoy that stuff if u solo que because of the STONE AGE MMR. If u don't have 4 friends of yours to que all the time, don't waste time in playing this
  40. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Matchmaking is an abomination. I really like the game mechanics after playing LoL since beta, but matchmaking ruins this game. Just take this example: 3 games in a row doing well, but people from my team dc on purpose. Matchmaking's response? Put me on a high skill match and be totally crushed.

    Worst matchmaking ever, awful. (And I'm coming from more than 8 years of competitive play)
    Matchmaking is an abomination. I really like the game mechanics after playing LoL since beta, but matchmaking ruins this game. Just take this example: 3 games in a row doing well, but people from my team dc on purpose. Matchmaking's response? Put me on a high skill match and be totally crushed.

    Worst matchmaking ever, awful. (And I'm coming from more than 8 years of competitive play)
    Report system is a joke, no fair play.
    Utterly punishes new players, most noob unfriendly game ever.
    Games can end with your whole team being slaughtered at base for a long time, just for the amusement of the other team.
    Expand
  41. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    What is Dota 2?Dota 2 is crappy matchmaking,horrible community,no communication from developers,no updats,hats and more hats.This game used to be updated every week,the developers used to communicate with the community but now its only hats and no communication.
  42. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    A sucking game which can kick you out of the play without a reason out of nowhere and wont allow you to reconnect to the game without a reason and you'll lose a game without losing the game because Valve servers are on crack.
  43. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Great game, lots of effort coming from Valve.
    Completely free to play if you do fall for the awesome ingame store.
    Top-notch voice actors.
    Grab it now, give it a try, it is worth it
  44. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Oceee valve, you guys screwed so much. Give us more hats you idiots. It seems so many fanboys here, suckers!!! 150 characters my ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  45. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    best game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game everbest game ever
  46. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    I started out in dota 2 as a naive young man and suddenly I was accosted by several people who called me noob and kept flaming me. The community in this game is awful and the company does nothing to stop it and the gameplay is not very fun. It also looks very bad like it was made several years ago.
  47. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    DotA is a very good game, and Dota2 could be an even better game if Valve took the time to work on it. Unfortunately the developers at Valve do not and this means that Dota2 ends up being a rather poor attempt at a copy.

    Consider, for example, the list of ~1000 known bugs that are being fixed at such an abysmally slow rate that it would take years to finish. Consider the automated mute
    DotA is a very good game, and Dota2 could be an even better game if Valve took the time to work on it. Unfortunately the developers at Valve do not and this means that Dota2 ends up being a rather poor attempt at a copy.

    Consider, for example, the list of ~1000 known bugs that are being fixed at such an abysmally slow rate that it would take years to finish. Consider the automated mute system that will arbitrarily place a muted player on a team with regular players, potentially even making that muted player the team captain. In a game where team communication is so very important this arbitrary handicap is unforgivable. Consider the lack of a worthwhile open lobby system, a feature that WC3 DotA has. Consider the worthless team matchmaking ladder, where one can become the "best" team in the world by playing only 3 games. Those problems are merely a small sample of the things standing between Dota2 as it is now and Dota2 as it could be.
    Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score.
    **** matchmaking
    Russians Unbalanced heroes Ded gaem Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score. **** matchmaking Russians Unbalanced heroes Ded gaem Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score. **** matchmaking Russians Unbalanced heroes Ded
    Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score.
    **** matchmaking
    Russians
    Unbalanced heroes
    Ded gaem
    Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score.
    **** matchmaking
    Russians
    Unbalanced heroes
    Ded gaem
    Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score.
    **** matchmaking
    Russians
    Unbalanced heroes
    Ded gaem
    Late ass response from Valve and they're still Still deserve the score.
    **** matchmaking
    Russians
    Unbalanced heroes
    Ded gaem
    Expand
  49. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    A very good game.. But u suck at putting new heroes to the game.. Valve you suck where's my diretide. Where are my new heroes? the game is out of beta since long! why are you not adding heroes? you deserve a bad rating!
  50. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    The game was extremely fun, I liked the game play and they game was being balanced properly and any game changes to stuff other than heroes were agreeable and pleasant. I spent a lot of time and actually spent money on the game. All characters felt unique and all ultimates felt like REAL ultimates. Then there was this patch 6.79, the team had totally changed the direction of the gameThe game was extremely fun, I liked the game play and they game was being balanced properly and any game changes to stuff other than heroes were agreeable and pleasant. I spent a lot of time and actually spent money on the game. All characters felt unique and all ultimates felt like REAL ultimates. Then there was this patch 6.79, the team had totally changed the direction of the game from when I had started playing (the actual game like camp changes, buyback changes, etc.) and much more changes, weather some were good or bad in terms of keeping or making the game enjoyable the majority of the ones I personally disagree with (you may absolutely love them but I didnt). The game is now in a new direction geared towards new players and working on projects that are not a main part of the actually game. After TI3 (their big e sports event) they had took a long break to make cosmetics to sell on the market. They had under met their expectations of how the game would grow from TI3 and thus they thought to indulge overall improvements to stuff that may or may not appeal to new players but can ruin the game for existing players. There is no ranked system and they had removed looking up players by a broad system that showed players in Normal, High, or Very high brackets. Thus unable to look up yourself or friends to know how well ur improving or slacking off AND the reason they removed this is because players dont like to play and be judged or feel under pressure to perform w/ bad teams.. etc etc. Overall there is no lasting fun and the DOTA 2 team is unpredictable. Expand
  51. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Great game run by a terrible company, promises new heroes and big updates..
    Go play LOL, its better! Dota 2 is pay-2-win and valve is only about broken promises
  52. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Superb game, far superior than any moba in this market. From the mechenics to the strategic things in this game in general. In this game you need a brain biger than your p*nis so you know this is not halo or cod.
  53. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Servers are awful. A lot of lags. Valve doesn't care about community. They are too lazy to do smth new like hero or patch. All they want to do more items for shop...ofc u should spend real money /sob
  54. Nov 15, 2013
    0
    Addictive game, ruined by a community of complete Most of them would read my comment thinking I'm a noob, which I'm not so just proves my point.... Very hard to find a pleasant game were there isn't someone abusing someone on either team.
  55. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    I was about to try something new and... Horrible, pathetic and weak piece of crap. Boring experience, ugly and completely unbalanced game. There is no any civilised multiplayer, this is rather gang bang. Hordes of rapists running around in large groups, spamming most powerful spells and weapons. There is no any civilised community as well. Typical Valve cheap half-product which hasI was about to try something new and... Horrible, pathetic and weak piece of crap. Boring experience, ugly and completely unbalanced game. There is no any civilised multiplayer, this is rather gang bang. Hordes of rapists running around in large groups, spamming most powerful spells and weapons. There is no any civilised community as well. Typical Valve cheap half-product which has nothing to do with strategy or planning like excellent Warcraft III. Expand
  56. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    An utter failure in all possible ways a game can fail. It did not take inspiration from the Warcraft 3 defense of the ancients modification: it ripped it straight out and stuck a price tag and microtransaction store in it. It's downright horrible that anyone would give this game anything higher than a 2.
  57. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    Excuse my bad english.
    I mean. Well what the hell valve's dota2 staff were doing when we players all put discussion thread regarding "restoring to dota2 connection" every now and then. Are we ghosts here putting thread and no response from the staff? PLEASE FIX THE ISSUE. IM BEGGING YOU.
  58. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    The developer doesn't listen to costumer
    - They ship the game with a lot of bugs
    - Prioritizing hat sale rather than gameplay - Matchmaking combines noobs with pro in the same game - Russian playing in Australia(no region lock) - Shady Matchmaking, those developer will secretly team you with noobs - Not competitive at all - Most casual game from all MOBA - South American play in
    The developer doesn't listen to costumer
    - They ship the game with a lot of bugs
    - Prioritizing hat sale rather than gameplay
    - Matchmaking combines noobs with pro in the same game
    - Russian playing in Australia(no region lock)
    - Shady Matchmaking, those developer will secretly team you with noobs
    - Not competitive at all
    - Most casual game from all MOBA
    - South American play in US east & West
    - THEY LIED to you when they said they are so competitive
    Expand
  59. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    One of the most overrated game of all time, it is not really good, a big learning curve, graphics, a stupid item system, and you need to have steam to play it. What a piece of
  60. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    REMOVE MUTE SYSTEM VALVE !
    this game is great itself. But mute system is UNFAIR, since you dont need to have reason or not to make someone being muted impossible to chat with your teammates about strategies.... This is just RUINING the game. This system only exists on dota2, and Valve would never put such system in TF2 or any other of their game. REMOVE MUTE SYSTEM
  61. Dec 14, 2013
    0
    1 of worst commutation in MMO games ever.
    Matchmaking is totally broken, find Russian players to party even if You want play America servers with English preference.
  62. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one caresNo one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores.No one cares about metacritic user scores. Expand
  63. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    This game is generally terrible, with also an obnoxious and toxic community. If you are a new player or possibly interested, STAY AWAY

    Don't Waste your time and money
  64. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    servers so bad and it sadly valve fix it!! imbosible to play ffs yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
  65. Dec 20, 2013
    0
    Someone said "Game improved so much since beta" really? How much you got paid? This game has even more bugs now than in beta phase.

    As far as game itself is quite ok, Valve deserves not even a single penny for this crap. Ten thousand lies about fixes, changes, but servers' uptime is still ~10%. Newly added Matchmaking Rating? Well, all the being told about 'skill based' not 'win
    Someone said "Game improved so much since beta" really? How much you got paid? This game has even more bugs now than in beta phase.

    As far as game itself is quite ok, Valve deserves not even a single penny for this crap. Ten thousand lies about fixes, changes, but servers' uptime is still ~10%. Newly added Matchmaking Rating? Well, all the being told about 'skill based' not 'win based' MMR is making me laugh. You have no damn dignity, Valve. You're bunch of liars and frauds. The game you try to develop SUCKS. You keep making more and more custom items to get money instead of fixing your broken game.

    0/10. As long as this ****ty game doesn't get fixed.
    Expand
  66. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    Toxic comunity, full of hate
    Why the update delete the "dont match with party" option???
    I JUST WANT to queue solo Ranked matchmaking why there are 3 people queuing with a party in my team,?? They blame on me the whole game, insult me for 10mins. I have never been insulted for so long time since I was born and there are 3 people at the same time! I have played dota for 6 years, from
    Toxic comunity, full of hate
    Why the update delete the "dont match with party" option???
    I JUST WANT to queue solo Ranked matchmaking why there are 3 people queuing with a party in my team,?? They blame on me the whole game, insult me for 10mins. I have never been insulted for so long time since I was born and there are 3 people at the same time!
    I have played dota for 6 years, from 6.48 to 6.79, lately I always feel angry after playing dota, because of teammates‘ vilifying in the game.
    WHy people insult others ?
    1、The match is not balance
    2、2 or more friends queue together ,they can report or insulte anyone who goes against them.
    Dont play this game if you are solo, delete dota2 dont let it ruin your life!!
    Expand
  67. Dec 22, 2013
    0
    Impressive how you can take one of the most loved games the world over, and come out with such a terrible sequel. Based on a Blizzard game- I suppose the devs are doing what they can to follow suit.

    This is the Diablo 3 of mobas.
  68. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    they dnt give diretide n time. basically game is terrible. if u play game u no wat diretide is n i lose much of everything from not diretide... basically how am i get item when u give me diretide then dnt.. then wehn i qwit then they give diretide.. okay not fair what is retard game?
  69. Dec 29, 2013
    0
    How to explain my DOTA2 rating in easy points....

    1. It is always the same crap! Same map, same conditions, same stuff....feels like a demo! 2. The match-making is totally crap. Newcomers get no chance to win, since the more advanced players use the same OP strategies over and over again! 3. The graphics are just old. Sure it is looking better than Warcraft 3, but for a 2013 game
    How to explain my DOTA2 rating in easy points....

    1. It is always the same crap! Same map, same conditions, same stuff....feels like a demo!
    2. The match-making is totally crap. Newcomers get no chance to win, since the more advanced players use the same OP strategies over and over again!
    3. The graphics are just old. Sure it is looking better than Warcraft 3, but for a 2013 game looking a little better, than a 2003 game, is a shame!
    4. The early access price some months ago....WTF?!....they wanted over 10 Euro for giving early access to the game. Sure it changed, since noone wanted to play this game. Now everyone plays it, because Steam/Valve spammed massive gift-copies.

    It is a shame, that they destroyed such a good modded-map from Warcraft 3 and made this micropayment crap. You old-school dota-players should be ashamed for supporting this crap!

    BTW: Gamereactor Sweden gets my full love for being fair and giving a fair score and judgement to this game. All others: SHAME ON YOU FOR GETTING PAID BY VALVE!
    Expand
  70. Feb 3, 2014
    0
    If you want to get better, find a group of players to play with DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME SOLO. You will be mute banned by Peruvians, Venezuelans, or Mexicans playing on United State servers.
  71. Feb 13, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played this game several times also i have watched pro games of pro player like alliance vs. This game just a disgusting i think there is only same items that they use like meka dagger.Some of games you get chests and you will want open it no you cant you must use REAL money.And There is also same tactics same game finish style get roshan push finish gg wp. Expand
  72. Feb 16, 2014
    0
    Crappy game forces you to play losing matches, imbalanced heroes, HORRIBLE matchmaking algorithm, all around **** game that should have stayed on Warcraft 3, it was way better back then.
  73. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Honest Review. This game is a huge headache Ive been playing MOBA's for over 12 years. You want to progress without a team. Prepare to be at the fate of people that do not want to play as a team game. This game is meant to be a team game. The Team idea of this game is for your entire team to pick a ( Carry ) most cases a hero that can last the length of a game and skills scale very well.Honest Review. This game is a huge headache Ive been playing MOBA's for over 12 years. You want to progress without a team. Prepare to be at the fate of people that do not want to play as a team game. This game is meant to be a team game. The Team idea of this game is for your entire team to pick a ( Carry ) most cases a hero that can last the length of a game and skills scale very well. Hence everyone wanting to play this type of hero. Then you have support which I really do not mind playing as well as long as we are a team. Nope be prepared to be faustrated to the point of no return. I have uninstalled this game as I can truly see no positive coming from this game. People are rude. The team play is near non existent unless you are on a team and everyone wants to have the score despite no record keeping being held on the game. Yes it is easier to potty train your children then to progress past a point in this game. Then if you make mistakes instead of being coached you get bashed on continuesly until your spirit is not even in the game no more. Yes Potty training is not fun, but at least your kids arent bashing you continuesly while your coaching them to aim their skills correctly. Soapbox out and I've uninstalled this trainwreck for the last time. Thank you valve for bringing premium entertainment at no cost but I think I would rather be in the bathroom at this point at least everyone there speaks english. Expand
  74. Feb 25, 2014
    0
    Before that, all was bearable until Valvil not released fit and offerings ... I was disappointed in the event, and even more from the offerings. Over 40 + pages of rare eventually got no use to anyone. So let oppressive VALVE on!
  75. Feb 26, 2014
    0
    I know this game, it's a bad LoL, now, it's impossible to speak about Dota without speaking about LoL too. Dota 2 is a really bad game, but it's a real free2play not like LoL. But LoL is just better. So, don't play to this game.
  76. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    This game could be cool but there is something wrong with it. IT'S **** MATCHMAKING. VOLVO, CAN YOU THINK ABOUT IT? PEOPLE WITH 3K HOURS DON'T KNOW HOW TO PLAY! OMG
  77. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    Worst game ever. Just copypast of original dota with the function of reconncect. Terrible community, very gloomy graphic. And dota isn't a hard game. I don't hear it about original dota, but dota2 has become so hard(WHY?). You don't need a lot of ideas and time to make copypast, it was only made to take YOUR money.
  78. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    I'm play on the SEA servers as playing on the other servers causes lag.Majority of the people met here are Pinoys.Granted not all of them flame and feed and harass and spoil the game,but the ones who do,do it in extreme.It's never fun to play as you get these brainless dirtbags most of the time.There are other reasons involved for this rating such as sad server mainenence,loads and loadsI'm play on the SEA servers as playing on the other servers causes lag.Majority of the people met here are Pinoys.Granted not all of them flame and feed and harass and spoil the game,but the ones who do,do it in extreme.It's never fun to play as you get these brainless dirtbags most of the time.There are other reasons involved for this rating such as sad server mainenence,loads and loads of useless cosmetics and a single map to play on.Frankly speaking the pinoys should have their own servers(whuch won't happen) or should be banned from Dota 2.I've left the game and if you do play on SEA servers I suggest you dropout too which would grant you peace of mind. Expand
  79. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    Horribly unbalanced game. Community is full of immature people. Game for people with no lives. Not for a casual video game player. Would not recommend this trash to anyone.
  80. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    дота говно ебаное блядь пиздец хуйня для мудаков и долбоебов сраная поебень созданая очкодерами для очкодрал вшивый высер от обоссаных уебков и хуесосов
  81. Apr 2, 2014
    0
    F*cking, terrible. There is literally nothing i found good about this game, I played the original DotA mod for Warcraft III and was hooked, it was **** glorious, but now it is pure **** it doesn't look good in any way, it's slow, and boring, only in the end is it fun, it is in no way good or competitive. Jesus **** Christ, if you haven't played any MOBA before this is THE LAST MOBA youF*cking, terrible. There is literally nothing i found good about this game, I played the original DotA mod for Warcraft III and was hooked, it was **** glorious, but now it is pure **** it doesn't look good in any way, it's slow, and boring, only in the end is it fun, it is in no way good or competitive. Jesus **** Christ, if you haven't played any MOBA before this is THE LAST MOBA you wanna try, it is not newbie friendly, neither is the community, there are few english speaking people who you'll find in this game and the rest are ALL **** RUSSIAN, if you wanna experience a good MOBA you should play smite or LoL (i know, i know... but they're basically DOTA 2 with smoother graphics and more competitive). Long story short, DO NOT, i repeat, DO NOT BY ANY **** MEANS PLAY THIS HORRID **** GAME. Expand
  82. Apr 19, 2014
    0
    It used to be good, now you get communication-banned for saying stuff like "that was a bad play." Count on Valve to ruin anything that might have been good. MMR system is completely awful and if you live in the US, expect to have people who don't speak English on your team. Great game fallen to ruin by self-righteous, nanny trash company. I've never liked Valve as a company or any of theirIt used to be good, now you get communication-banned for saying stuff like "that was a bad play." Count on Valve to ruin anything that might have been good. MMR system is completely awful and if you live in the US, expect to have people who don't speak English on your team. Great game fallen to ruin by self-righteous, nanny trash company. I've never liked Valve as a company or any of their previous games. I was happy about dota because they got the original developer of the game. I have been playing Dota 2 since early beta and the game is not the same anymore.

    Is it so hard to mute people you don't want to talk to through the in-game UI? Apparently Valve thinks so! Whenever I can't stand Peruvians screaming gibberish or nasally voiced 12 year olds, I just mute them. Nanny Valve doesn't trust your judgment though, so I guess they'd better mute people themselves so nobody can listen to them!
    Expand
  83. May 5, 2014
    0
    GIFF ME DIRETIDE ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AND TANGO
    GIFF ME DIRETIDE ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AND TANGO
    GIFF ME DIRETIDE ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AND TANGO
    GIFF ME DIRETIDE ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AND TANGO
    GIFF ME DIRETIDE ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ AND TANGO
  84. May 7, 2014
    0
    I've never played a worse game in my entire life. How does something this bad leave the drawing board phase? Valve, get it together. We are waiting for Half-Life 3 for 10 years and you deliver this trash? ...
  85. May 9, 2014
    0
    Valve time and time again has disappointed its userbase now by not releasing its compendium for their grand tournament TI4. It actually pains me to give it such a low score because i tried to believe. But as with diretide they have failed in satisfying its players. This is where League outperforms valve in almost every aspect. And dont even get me started on the server downtimes as well asValve time and time again has disappointed its userbase now by not releasing its compendium for their grand tournament TI4. It actually pains me to give it such a low score because i tried to believe. But as with diretide they have failed in satisfying its players. This is where League outperforms valve in almost every aspect. And dont even get me started on the server downtimes as well as the LAG. Which in all of my time playing League of Legends, I have never experienced Expand
  86. May 15, 2014
    0
    This game started out as creative and innovative, but has since fallen into the trap of moneyhatting. This game is all about making money, and the fans get disregarded. Also, 90% of the players are a$$holes and treat nOObs like $hit, which kind of hurts the game's appeal. Then it updates EVERY DAY. Annoyed, I deleted it.
  87. Jun 2, 2014
    0
    I really wish this piece of crap never exists. It split DotA community apart, it ruin all the old connections and fun (you cant play with great players anymore - they are all in dota2, trying to win some money). The game itself is not even REMOTELY close as good as DotA Allstars was, it has terrible graphics, models, sound, interface, everything is basically piece of ****
    Valve will never
    I really wish this piece of crap never exists. It split DotA community apart, it ruin all the old connections and fun (you cant play with great players anymore - they are all in dota2, trying to win some money). The game itself is not even REMOTELY close as good as DotA Allstars was, it has terrible graphics, models, sound, interface, everything is basically piece of ****
    Valve will never be able to create such animations, models and sound like there were in godly Warcraft 3. I cant even watch at this trash game, not even playing it. SF is just some black ugly goat face something, puck looks and speaks like **** storm spirit is a fat ugly mexican **** again, etc. All sounds is terrible, rune notifications is worse than terrible.

    Game went fully casual, mindless item management and stupid clothes is a proof.
    Report system is prevent you to enjoy this game (like you ever could?). Doing some other_than_in_guide_starting_item_set? Here you go, mass report from stupid retards that mostly play this game. Carrying your team solo? Get reported as frag stealer from 9 noobs - 5 enemies that sucked whole game because why not, and 4 idiots from your team, because from their idiotic point, you are the one who steal their kills and ruined their game! So with a score of 38-7 and whole team with 0-22 you end up getting reported.

    I actually stopped playing even allstars, because this noob teams in moba games is a disaster. They ruin all the fun, they ruin your games. But now all 9 year kids went from allstars to dota2, because it has cute shiny graphics and clothes, set clothes, holy **** So allsters will be probably better place to stay, playing with people who really love the first initial great moba is great.
    Expand
  88. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    Never In my entire life have I witnessed a worse community revolving around a video-game than the one that is to be found in Dota 2. The players are: Egotistic, ego centric, unsporting, aggressive, hostile, uncaring, mean, mistrusting, immature, callous, apathetic and incredibly pretentious while at every loss prompting everyone inside the current game to "Report player X" if someone onNever In my entire life have I witnessed a worse community revolving around a video-game than the one that is to be found in Dota 2. The players are: Egotistic, ego centric, unsporting, aggressive, hostile, uncaring, mean, mistrusting, immature, callous, apathetic and incredibly pretentious while at every loss prompting everyone inside the current game to "Report player X" if someone on their team was even remotely new to the game or did any other action not sanctified by them, be it going in what lane you want, not purchasing courier/wards or simply just had an unlucky run/getting cross-classed. Along with being completely miserable to be around, they frequently never speak the language in the region you're playing and nowhere else is this more apparent when russian is spammed into the chat at all times on European zones from 3 different sources at once. And if people do know English, trolling is nothing short but assured from all directions to all teams.

    Second biggest problem with this game would be the elitist mindset that orbits anyone that has played this atrocious game for more than a couple of hours. Any behavior that breaks the typical dota 2's hardcore player routine of buying tango, healing salve and iron branches, perhaps with some boots of speed if they're feeling adventurous will result in a wave of F-bombs, intentional feeding, votes of surrender, spam prompts to report player X and disconnecting users as far as the eye can see. I even had cases where players left the game because some guy forgot to buy a courier at the start of the game. And that's me overlooking the fact that killstealing off your TEAMMATES is considered average behavior/a common tactic. In LoL, you can even report people for "being unskilled". As in, anyone. Even if they're level 1.To put it bluntly, MOBA's like dota 2 give out a special kind of disgusting behavior that makes me feel physically ill for very good reasons.

    Coming close to problem number 2 is the third epic fail problem of this game. The match-making in Dota 2. Broken, poorly thought through and executed horribly. You are prompted to select a variety of regions before initiating the match-making system and the more regions you have selected, the less waiting time..

    Which begs the question, what is the point with the regional system if you're just gonna encourage people to sign up for all regions? The end result will be that nobody sticking to their geographical zones and not only causes frustration in the form of people trying to communicate and chat with eachother in the chat as described above but also disallows any kind of vocal / text tactical communication since everyone does not speak the same language. In all honestly, this game is overloaded with issues just like this and I would be able to overlook this particular embarassing design-flop if it wasn't for the actual hard functionality of the MM as well being broken. The scenario on where 4-5 organized people in a group, all sitting in ventrilo/teamspeak while packing thousands of hours in Dota 2 each have a very likely possibility to be "teamed" up against new players with less than 10 hours with no complaints from the match-making system (even if there is a very large queue) throws out any chance of that. This happens particulary often if you decide to try the game out with a friend or two which leaves me with yet another question: The purpose of match-making was to find equally skilled opponents. So why is this even remotely possible? Team-based games with a mandatory MM are supposed to be fair. Not Tyrannosaurus rex VS a duckling. I'm reluctant to say that Dota 2 even has a match-making at all once you look at all the facts.

    Even with all these problems, I could actually see myself overlooking them at a certain time during a year due to the sheer amount of possible combinations in this game with heroes & items and the addictive quality the game has if it wasn't for all the other flaws.

    The commitment to play DotA MOBA's however, is the biggest flaw of them all that this game inhibits. It changes whoever plays the game as a person. For the worse. Why? Because the game inhibits "addictive" qualities similar with that of jamming needles full with endorphin into your spine every half hour. It's painful, it hurts your emotional stability, it hurts you as a person and it hurts the people around you and for what? A small kick of pleasure/self satisfaction as you managed to win a fundamentally unbalanced game with an emphasis on gank above all else due to chance or otherwise pre-meditated "pubstomping"? Not worth it in so many ways since at the end of the day, Dota 2 will never be fully balanced because Valve will be split between tournament-balances and casual or the "normal" version of the game while repeatedly adding more and more content in the form of heroes.

    I could keep on going with design flop after design flop but at the end of the day, this game is not worth anyone's time or dedication.
    Expand
  89. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    DotA2 is very much a mixed bag. They did a fairly good port regarding graphics, aesthetics and general feeling of DotA1 is in there. The game is wonderful when you get into a good game, with opponents and team mates equal of your skill. However, the game is a horrible experience when you don't. And that's the main problem of DotA2. This game has almost 0 infrastructure to support it, toDotA2 is very much a mixed bag. They did a fairly good port regarding graphics, aesthetics and general feeling of DotA1 is in there. The game is wonderful when you get into a good game, with opponents and team mates equal of your skill. However, the game is a horrible experience when you don't. And that's the main problem of DotA2. This game has almost 0 infrastructure to support it, to get you into those good games.

    The most important part, the matchmaking, is utterly horrible and doesn't deliver. Also its is so non-transparent that its impossible to know anything about your game before hand. Valve doesn't seem to care about this which is very problematic. Because without a good drafting the MOBA genre is a horrible experience which degenerates quickly into a flame fest stomp which just sucks.

    Also it lacks ranked play and a way to distinguish they players who are out for a casual experience or others that want a competitive approach to DotA. Putting these two types of play styles together always results in a flame fest. Valve has not solved this. And the flame fest is probably what will alienate new players from the game genre. Valve hasn't put in a adequate system to handle this. The report system they have installed is rather used to report bad play than flame fest which, of course, further will alienate new players.
    Expand
  90. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Hello Valve, I am quite shocked with recent news that Fnatic will be disqualified if they are not able to play with Era. This is truly unfortunate as this is not a choice of players or the management, this is a concern of Era's health and wellbeing. I do not understand why the 4 remaining members of the team should be prevented/stopped from reaching their dream because of a health issueHello Valve, I am quite shocked with recent news that Fnatic will be disqualified if they are not able to play with Era. This is truly unfortunate as this is not a choice of players or the management, this is a concern of Era's health and wellbeing. I do not understand why the 4 remaining members of the team should be prevented/stopped from reaching their dream because of a health issue that they have no control over. These players have been practicing day in and day out and should not be disqualified for playing with Excalibur who has proved to be a stand out player in his own right. Hopefully, there is a reassessment of this situation as so many Fnatic fans will be upset/disappointed if they don't see their favorite team participating at TI. There's likely hundreds of fans that have bought plane tickets, hotel tickets, and TI tickets to be able to meet Fnatic members and cheer their team on. Especially considering the fact that EG was able to put Mason as a stand in for Fear, it seems unfair towards Fnatic for not being able to do the same. Cheers Expand
  91. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    AS a dota 2 player of to years this game is **** because of the matchmaking they force you to play with some unhumain retards the MMR system is a joke and that's why league of legends is better
  92. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    I'm sure my humble review will never get paid attention to, but I feel like I know the game fairly good being a player starting from 2007 to now. I have seen the lobbies of eurobattle.net, 5.84b crawled with bugs, and played on custom servers for different regions.

    All I have to say is Valve has ruined the game ruining the lobby mechanics with a broken matchmaking system, linking
    I'm sure my humble review will never get paid attention to, but I feel like I know the game fairly good being a player starting from 2007 to now. I have seen the lobbies of eurobattle.net, 5.84b crawled with bugs, and played on custom servers for different regions.

    All I have to say is Valve has ruined the game ruining the lobby mechanics with a broken matchmaking system, linking players who are completely different by language and region to play a competitive game where every player's mistake is punished heavily by the game mechanics.

    Back in the day when people had a set username, you used to carry your reputation around also having a network of players you used to play with from chat channels. This is very important since you can have balanced matches with people in your region or your interest in custom made lobbies that you HAVE TO use in order to play.

    The current situation is you end up playing with adolescent kids who can't speak a word of english nor know the game, even in "high" brackets at 4-5k MMR. They can ruin your gaming experience and leave without a punishment, lowering your MMR thus pulling you down to play with players exactly like him.

    I can't stand the game I grew up playing is ruined by this so called "community" oriented company who only uses this game to just milk money out of people. They are not interested in making a better game, they are interested in one thing and one thing only, making PROFITS.
    Expand
  93. Jul 7, 2014
    0
    Never In my entire life have I witnessed a worse community revolving around a video-game than the one that is to be found in Dota 2. The players are: Egotistic, ego centric, unsporting, aggressive, hostile, uncaring, mean, mistrusting, immature, callous, apathetic and incredibly pretentious while at every loss prompting everyone inside the current game to "Report player X" if someone onNever In my entire life have I witnessed a worse community revolving around a video-game than the one that is to be found in Dota 2. The players are: Egotistic, ego centric, unsporting, aggressive, hostile, uncaring, mean, mistrusting, immature, callous, apathetic and incredibly pretentious while at every loss prompting everyone inside the current game to "Report player X" if someone on their team was even remotely new to the game or did any other action not sanctified by them, be it going in what lane you want, not purchasing courier/wards or simply just had an unlucky run/getting cross-classed. Along with being completely miserable to be around, they frequently never speak the language in the region you're playing and nowhere else is this more apparent when russian is spammed into the chat at all times on European zones from 3 different sources at once. And if people do know English, trolling is nothing short but assured from all directions to all teams.

    Second biggest problem with this game would be the elitist mindset that orbits anyone that has played this atrocious game for more than a couple of hours. Any behavior that breaks the typical dota 2's hardcore player routine of buying tango, healing salve and iron branches, perhaps with some boots of speed if they're feeling adventurous will result in a wave of F-bombs, intentional feeding, votes of surrender, spam prompts to report player X and disconnecting users as far as the eye can see. I even had cases where players left the game because some guy forgot to buy a courier at the start of the game. And that's me overlooking the fact that killstealing off your TEAMMATES is considered average behavior/a common tactic. In LoL, you can even report people for "being unskilled". As in, anyone. Even if they're level 1.To put it bluntly, MOBA's like dota 2 give out a special kind of disgusting behavior that makes me feel physically ill for very good reasons.

    Coming close to problem number 2 is the third epic fail problem of this game. The match-making in Dota 2. Broken, poorly thought through and executed horribly. You are prompted to select a variety of regions before initiating the match-making system and the more regions you have selected, the less waiting time..

    Which begs the question, what is the point with the regional system if you're just gonna encourage people to sign up for all regions? The end result will be that nobody sticking to their geographical zones and not only causes frustration in the form of people trying to communicate and chat with eachother in the chat as described above but also disallows any kind of vocal / text tactical communication since everyone does not speak the same language. In all honestly, this game is overloaded with issues just like this and I would be able to overlook this particular embarassing design-flop if it wasn't for the actual hard functionality of the MM as well being broken. The scenario on where 4-5 organized people in a group, all sitting in ventrilo/teamspeak while packing thousands of hours in Dota 2 each have a very likely possibility to be "teamed" up against new players with less than 10 hours with no complaints from the match-making system (even if there is a very large queue) throws out any chance of that. This happens particulary often if you decide to try the game out with a friend or two which leaves me with yet another question: The purpose of match-making was to find equally skilled opponents. So why is this even remotely possible? Team-based games with a mandatory MM are supposed to be fair. Not Tyrannosaurus rex VS a duckling. I'm reluctant to say that Dota 2 even has a match-making at all once you look at all the facts.

    Even with all these problems, I could actually see myself overlooking them at a certain time during a year due to the sheer amount of possible combinations in this game with heroes & items and the addictive quality the game has if it wasn't for all the other flaws.

    The commitment to play DotA MOBA's however, is the biggest flaw of them all that this game inhibits. It changes whoever plays the game as a person. For the worse. Why? Because the game inhibits "addictive" qualities similar with that of jamming needles full with endorphin into your spine every half hour. It's painful, it hurts your emotional stability, it hurts you as a person and it hurts the people around you and for what? A small kick of pleasure/self satisfaction as you managed to win a fundamentally unbalanced game with an emphasis on gank above all else due to chance or otherwise pre-meditated "pubstomping"? Not worth it in so many ways since at the end of the day, Dota 2 will never be fully balanced because Valve will be split between tournament-balances and casual or the "normal" version of the game while repeatedly adding more and more content in the form of heroes.

    I could keep on going with design flop after design flop but at the end of the day, this game is not worth anyone's time or dedication.
    Expand
  94. Jul 21, 2014
    0
    A great strategy & skill & reflex game with many heroes and abilities. However the worthless community nearly destructs everything. I can only recommend this game if you have thick skin or you have friends to play with. Otherwise you'll become someone who becomes angry while playing rather than having fun and you'll do it while becoming racist against Russians & Spanish speaking people.
  95. Jul 29, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つVOLVO GIVE TECHIES༼ つ ◕_◕ ༽つ Expand
  96. Aug 6, 2014
    0
    This **** sucks, terrible gameplay, terrible community, **** graphics. League for life. League> Dota 2. League> Dota 2.League> Dota 2.League> Dota 2.League> Dota 2.League> Dota 2.
  97. Aug 11, 2014
    0
    a terrible game running by a company just try to make money.it hasn't updated for a long time,but i often have to update the game for its ingame **** you valve.
  98. Aug 17, 2014
    0
    This game's community is really bad. Every match they have at least 5 Russians and they don't speak English. Plus this game is very addictive that my brother forgot about his real life.
  99. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    Awful gameplay. Awful graphics. Awful support from Valve. I honestly can NOT think of a single good thing about this game. League of Legends is the better MOBA in every regard.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  2. Sep 1, 2013
    90
    Unforgiving from the get-go, but a landmark in competitive multiplayer design. [Oct 2013, p.68]
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.