Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11262 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dota 2 features the characters and factions from the original Defense of the Ancients title with new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Aug 30, 2013
    100
    A great PvP game that offers some of the most intriguing and nuanced team combat around.
  2. Feb 19, 2014
    95
    Simply irresistible and addictive as hell.
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    90
    Those who choose to commit to Dota 2 will find many happy hours within this immaculate update.
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    90
    All of which makes Dota 2 an absurd video game to try to recommend. Being the largest and most immediately open MOBA, with Valve showcasing its talent for rewarding and fostering a community, it demands and offers more than literally any game I can think of. It's almost more comparable to basketball than most commercial games. Something utterly opaque bearing no endgame, but that could happily fill every waking second of your life.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    90
    You’ll need knowledge, skill, and a smidge of spider-sense. Friends to learn with are a must, and don’t be deceived by the lack of a pricetag: Dota 2 will cost you hundreds of hours.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    There's a steep, daunting learning curve, but DOTA 2 offers one of the most rewarding game experiences you can find on PC today. [Sept 2013, p.80]
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    70
    A strategic adrenaline rush, but the graphics are dated and the learning curve is steep.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    thos mad kids... after day they all will be back and hoping for next update with free stuf, they even dont care about mod just everyone wasthos mad kids... after day they all will be back and hoping for next update with free stuf, they even dont care about mod just everyone was hoping on free items Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Great game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hopeGreat game! Don't be fooled by the 1% of the idiots who ruined the score because of something stupid, valve gave us a great game and lets hope that it goes the distance! Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intenceThis game improved so much since it was released on the beta. There are over 90 heroes to choose from currently and the gamplay is as intence and as rewarding as DOTA 1. I know alot of people will be hesitant to try it at first but there has been a new tutorial system implemented in DOTA 2 and I think it will help new comers. I know some people who play LOL might bash in this game, but both games are compleatly different. Its like comparing COD and Battlefield, they are so different that connot be compared. (no preference on either game, I think bot of them are good) Give this game a try, the learning curve is very steep but it is rewarding when you learn. I think this is the best gave valve has ever developed and has been the most played game on steam ever since the second year of beta development. Try it out, its free and badass! Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    Diretide came later, so what? Its a free game, and one of the best of its Kind. But thats the DOTA community as you have to love them, alwaysDiretide came later, so what? Its a free game, and one of the best of its Kind. But thats the DOTA community as you have to love them, always nagging and whining :P.
    Dont bother about those guys, it may be frustrating some times, but it will be worth it
    Expand
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates NO Normal matchmaking system New updates is new sets and tickets New updates is new sets and tickets
    NO Diretide
    NO New Hero
    NO Updates
    NO Normal matchmaking system
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    New updates is new sets and tickets
    Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    So. First of all Dota was the best game i've ever played, but now its the worst game with the worst state. valve doesnt care about players andSo. First of all Dota was the best game i've ever played, but now its the worst game with the worst state. valve doesnt care about players and more and more players will play lol or hon because of events and etc. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    0
    Gaben i forgive you, I love this game, valve did a great job on makeing this game. IMO far better then any other similair game.. Keep on doingGaben i forgive you, I love this game, valve did a great job on makeing this game. IMO far better then any other similair game.. Keep on doing the good stuff valve! Expand

See all 4793 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.