User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2525 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 8, 2011
    5
    Bland and boring is the best way I can describe it. From the contrived storyline, to the setting which borrows heavily from other works of fantasy and real life, I felt like I was thrust into a world that was a boiled down, flavorless version of every fantasy story ever told. I do give them credit for not making D&D: Sword Coast vol. XXVI, and the Origin system was a great idea. The characters are pretty good as is the interaction between them. Mechanics-wise DA:O is good - combat is tactical and fun, though I still can't figure out how, in 2009 (2011 as of this writing), Bioware STILL hasn't been able to come up with a decent inventory system. Probably the worst aspect of this game were the uberdungeons of the Fade and Orzammar, which single handedly dissuaded me from doing another playthrough. Bottom line, it's not the spiritual successor to BG it was billed as, but you may find some elements you enjoy. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    The best. Ever. Sure, game preference is entirely subjective, but I cant help but feel that the negative review scores this game received were provided by people who never actually played the game. From the start, it's clear that the world of Thedas is an epic place, with conflict, nuances, and thousands of years of history. Likely you disagree, but don't believe the gamers giving this game a poor score. Beyond being a sublime game, dragon age origins pushes the boundaries of emotion, choice, and freedom within gaming. DAO doesn't simply faithfully receive Baldur's Gate II's mantle of best game out there, it rips that mante from BG2's cold, dead hands, then uses it as a weapon to single handedly enslave every other game in existence. Expand
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    6
    I just can't see how anyone got pass the extreme cliché, bad combat system, and crazy long load scenes.

    Guess: Bioware + Hipe = love from the masses.

    on the good side i did enjoy some brief moments of the story, and giving the chance to start with different classes and races with an unique "origin" is a plus, but they might have spent that time and money crafting a better
    game after that... Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best RPGs I've ever played. Sadly, many Bethesda fanboys will rate it as a 1 or 0 simply because it does not have the exact same aspects and gameplay as a Bethesda game. I know I will get many "not helpfuls" for this but I'm gonna go ahead and say it. Oblivion is garbage. Complete and utter trash. It has the worst leveling system of any game I've ever seen and the combat is boring and repetitive. The story is also more cliche than even this game. Fallout was a little better, but Bethesda is not the topic at hand. This game has excellent combat, hundreds of possible conversation permutations, a story that might not be the most original, but is at least somewhat compelling, and for the most part, good voice acting. Some people dislike the combat, which is understandable. This is not a game that can be played in real time. If you want to be successful in this game past the easy difficulty, then a very good amount of time will be spent in the pause screen queueing up attacks for your 4 party members to carry out at once. Each fight feels a little different and must be tackled with a strategy appropriate for the enemy you're facing. As stated earlier, the story itself is rather cliche, but the characters and the game world make up for it. The only thing that I could possibly see as a negative is the lack of an outside world to roam around in, which isn't always a bad thing, and should be expected from a bioware release. Travel is basically instant, and you always end up going where you originally intended to go. Oh yeah, @RichardS, no. Just because YOU cannot play the game above the easy difficulty setting does not mean this game is incomplete. "Babysitting your team" is how the game is designed. You are not playing one character, you are playing four. The description of the easy setting even states "best for players who expect to play in real time." If you can't handle that, I guess you're simply not intelligent enough for this game. It's not the developer's fault you wasted your money on a game you're too stupid to play. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    1
    I could not get into this game, no matter how hard I tried to like it. The game graphics are horrible to look at even on max settings, the battle is slow and boring, the story might be good but i just could not deal with the other issues to get into it.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    3
    According to most reviews, this game should be something like the gamer's paradise, well actually its purgatory or worse. I really cant understand why should I prefer it in comparison with such titles as The Witcher, Dragon Knight Saga (that was really fun to play !) or even good old Dungeon Master. I can compare it to watching a movie, separated by short sequences of "tactical" combat in which Im supposed to metaprogram my companions behavior according to conditions of my or enemy's or ally's parameters. Seems good idea, but sadly, In practice I found this concept really boring. I have to all the time rearrange my "tactical" companion script with every new spell or skill and troubleshooting it through combat. I found this so very uncool, that I really just pray for end of it wave after wave of hurlocks genlocks nad other locks, so i would be able to see another cut scene of the plot. I tried to play this game twice, around 20 hours or so, but in the end I fell asleep somewhere around or after Loithering village. I cant give this movie more than 3 points, just for the work of programmers, sorry. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2010
    1
    I bought this game because of the rave reviews and because I loved Oblivion - I naively imagined that the role-playing fantasy genre would have developed a good deal further in five years. Instead, I felt I'd gone back in time, not forward - Dragon Age felt more like my old Amiga games than a state-of-the-art PC game. I gave up after a few hours - never to return.
  8. Feb 20, 2011
    1
    What a completly horrible interface. Worst possible combat ui ever! If your a fan of being attacked by things you can't see because of the terrain overlapping the enemy and the ui unable to rotate it then this is the game for you! Anything remotely close to the Baldur's Gate combat ui would have been preferable. I bought this game due to the high rating and am stunned that so many find this not only an acceptable game, but a good one. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    +Good Story
    +Good Character development
    +Good Graphics
    +Good Voice acting
    +Good Options
    +Good Challenge
    +Good Character creation
    +Much diversity
    +Very Original

    -Might be Hard for Inexperienced gamers.
  10. Feb 25, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, one of the few I have logged over 40hours in. 120 and counting. Love the combat system. People have complained about the AI but that is what the tactics menu is for. Being able to pause game and micro manage everything is one of the best parts though!
  11. Mar 9, 2011
    3
    I've been a big fan of Bioware ever since the first Baldur's Gate game out. It truly saddens me to see them release this pile of crap. There is nothing I like about this game. The graphics look like the game could've been on the PS2. The combat and whole gameplay has a derpy feeling in it. The story is aimed for babbies. Deleting negative reviews, really now Bioware?
  12. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    It's not Baldur's Gate, but it is a very good game. Although slightly long-winded in places (by which I don't mean 'long' but 'lacking in variety') the negatives are far outweighed by the positive. Highly recommended.
  13. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    A formidable juggernaut of the RPG world, an instant classic. The story has well over 100 hours of gameplay, lore and side-quests alongside a believably written cast featuring Kate Mulgrew and Claudia Black lending their voices as the witches of the wilds. (Also, it is unusual that a lot of the 0 reviews are actually for the sequel, Dragon Age 2, maybe in their blind rage these people are just reviewing anything with Dragon Age in the title and giving it a 0?) Expand
  14. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Dragon Age is definitely one of the best games I've ever played. But I'm a huge fan of lore for a universe. As long as it has tons of great backstory, you'll have grabbed my attention right off the bat. The lore is amazing, as is the story. Sure it's kind of a "hero's journey" type of story, but that's not a bad thing. There are plenty of origin stories to partake in, each one lasting at least a few hours. If you're not a fan of cut scenes, and dialog, and story, then this game is NOT for you. And by extension I'd say no RPG out there is, because they all have tons of dialog and character interaction. RPG's are more about story and the characters in them, than about combat mechanics. I love the characters in the game, they truly come alive with their voice actors. Morrigan (Claudia Black) in particular is the jewel of the bunch. The combat is sort of like the gambit system from FFXII. If you haven't played that game you won't know what I mean. You basically get lines of "tactics" for your characters to follow during combat. (E.G. 1.Cast this spell. 2. Perform this action 3. Target this specific enemy first.) This system makes it so you don't have to micromanage every single character during combat, which can be tedious IMO, although some do enjoy doing so. Is the system perfect ? No. But it CAN and will work if you give it a chance, on any difficulty. What some people don't realize is that you must change the tactics for certain battles, because they no longer apply to that specific challenge. You really only need to do some major tactics swapping for boss battles though. A good solid tactics base will work for almost all the regular enemy types. One also has to take into account that you must have a tank, healer, and damage dealers in the party. It's basically like an MMO. One character has to hold most of the damage, another heals everybody, and the rest dish out the punishment. There are plenty of combinations to choose, and no you are not limited to being the healer or the tank with the main character. The graphics are pretty good, but not cutting edge. They are certainly better than older games, but also not as good as others that came out around the same time. Hopefully this will be addressed in a big way for the sequel. My biggest gripe about the game is the silent main character. This part of the game is seriously old school, especially for BioWare who created the conversation system in Mass Effect years before this game even came out. It's great that they are switching this for the sequel, but that doesn't help the original. However, this could, and may still be fixed with the mods for the game. This aspect is easily the saving grace for the game, and what propels it above the console versions by miles. The modding community is certainly active, and the mods plentiful. Everyday new ones are created. They enhance the game in a multitude of ways. Visual effects, new armor and weapons, new characters, items, and even quests. They're not all top notch stuff, but there are more than enough that are. The official DLC is also great. It's nice to see that BioWare is finally sticking to it's guns in regards to DLC. They've released a good amount for this game, and most of it is awesome. A few of them aren't all that, but they're decent. Good thing is, you don't have to own them all in order for them to work. They're each separate on their own. So in closing, would I recommend this game ? Most definitely. If you're into story, character interaction, and tons of amazing lore you will love this game as much as I do. The combat mechanics are passable and can be plenty fun. But if you want an action centric, balls to the wall, in your face type of gameplay you are seriously mistaken on your choice of genres. RPG's are not for those types of players. Hope I wasn't too longwinded, and that this helps somebody else decide to pick up and enjoy this amazing game Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent game. Lots of fun over many, many hours. I've played many RPGs and I think this is as good as they come. The characters have distinct personalities and interact with each other in interesting ways. The game world is absorbing and fun to explore. The combat system is excellent for those like me who enjoy managing my character's actions for best effect.
  16. Jan 14, 2011
    4
    Very big let down. I should let you know I have never played any othe RPG other than Chrono Trigger (SNES) and Final Fantasy VII (PS1). PROS: The voice acting was incredible for a few characters, and I loved how characters within the party interacted with each other. The conversations were witty and modernized, the humor was not stale at all. The variety of the quests was predictable, but still entertaining. I enjoyed the storylines much more than I expected I would due to some of the criticisms here. CONS: Coming from first person shooters, I like to play games in real time and even on normal difficulty some of the combat was impossible to perform in real time in order to survive. The fact that most crowd damage spells are friendly fire capable means that you have to position your party well...something that is impossible in real time. "Tanking" does not work, your party will still head straight for the enemies and your "meat shield" pretty much whacks away with useless damage done. Chain-chugging potions to stay alive or restore mana is extremely boring and demotivating. "Tactics" scripting does not work at all; it is a result of very poor AI in the programming. You may enjoy this game it you are familiar with the genre, but expect frustration and displeasure if you like to play games in real time. Expand
  17. Feb 2, 2011
    3
    I wanted to like this game, I really did. However, I had the same experience with this game as I did with Mass Effect. After about 10 hours, I felt like I was just playing Knights of the Old Republic all over again. However, this game's major saving grace was that the storyline was much more interesting and involved; it's typical dark fantasy stuff, but it had an interesting spin by including a nod to real-world Middle Ages politics in the form of an all-powerful church and the existence of slave labor; that bit of mythology was interesting. However, after over 30 hours of play, I stopped caring. Novel ideas were quickly abandoned and there were no new narrative developments or interesting new characters after a while; in fact, there was one character who was so incredibly boring I just kicked him out of my party. Add this to the fact that, despite some new narrative spins, DA:O still managed to implement every single fantasy RPG cliche (not to mention well rehashed BioWare plot devices) into the first two-thirds of the game. As for the game play, I grew tired of a camera that never seemed to be where I needed it to be and AI partners that either never did exactly what I wanted them to do. BioWare threw in a clunky tactics system that was supposed to allow for fine-tuned combat strategy, but it was too complicated to be useful and never really translate into any useful AI actions for me. Not to mention that the endless dialogue trees never felt like they had any actual impact on the game, nor did I ever feel as if my character had any true personality. I really don't understand why this game got the incredible reviews it did and why people love it so much; it's a tired, recycled template with some new modifiers and prettier graphics slapped on it. Time would be better spent reading George R. R. Martin.â Expand
  18. Feb 19, 2011
    3
    I wanted to go this far and write a review to let people know to stay away from this game, like most of you I read the reviews and gave this game a chance, I must say this game will make you pull your hair out, got pretty far in the game and it was not even fun, you spend most of your time dying, trying different strategies to defeat your opponents, what makes it so hard is AI is so horrible, people here aren't lying its really bad, midway through the game and Im still wondering when Ill get some armor to compensate on some battles where I fight 20 enemies at once or an overblown boss. I suggest you buy this game when its 10 dollars and spend the rest of the money on beer just so you'll manage to ignore all the flaws in this game. Buyer Beware. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest RPG's ever made. I'm playing it a 2nd time around and it gets even more enjoyable after you've played it through once, believe it or not.
  20. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. Extremely interesting story, with a lot of replayability. I ripped through it, and then instantly started again, one of the only times I have done that on any game.
  21. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    Absolutely the finest single-player RPG in the history of the genre from the groundbreaking combat to the intense and richly detailed storyline. Every instant of the game is skillfully voice acted by professional actors, with several characters voiced by major celebrities.Although the combatants in your party are already skillfully scripted with advanced AI, you can dip into their tactics and lay out in very fine detail what you wish them do in a variety of situations, allowing you to fully customize their behavior. It was sleek, streamlined, good looking, hyper-detailed and a thoroughly enjoyable romp through over 100 hours of gameplay per playthrough. a big 10 from me. Expand
  22. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    replaying this game right now, to get the taste of the taste of the decidedly inferior sequel out of my mouth. looking over my previous saves, apparently i spent well over three hundred hours playing. numerous characters, every ending in the book. still just a great game in every way, and even more glaringly obvious what's been lost when you compare it to DA2.
  23. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I'd give this a 9, but there are too many 0's from people who just don't like RPGs, and don't like tactical combat. This is an RPG with tactical combat, and a story. Would you rate a lamp as zero because it's not a blender? That's absurd. If you want to run around and shoot things, play something else. There's nothing wrong with games like that. Yes, you definitely cannot trust the AI to control your companions effectively on higher difficulties. I pause repeatedly during combat to give each minion a command, so that the timing of all spells and other actions is right. The thought of having to aim at things in real time and get good at reacting to on-screen events with well-timed and -placed mouse clicks -- not interested. It may not look as good as Oblivion or whatever (never played), but it's way the hell better than NWN2, the previous title I played. Not every choice affects outcome, but when the game ends, you will get to read what became of the different characters, towns, etc. The characters are rich, though interaction with them through conversation is by no means necessary. I could see where people would give it a point or two lower because the graphics aren't as good as X or the AI isn't as good as Y, but it's very good at what it purports to be, and any reviews you read that rank this game below about 7 are unjustified and misguided. Expand
  24. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    I was inspired to visit this site after witnessing the absolute mockery that is DA2. What the hell happened? As soon as I got halfway through the ridiculous demo, I immediately started a new DA:O campaign. =) You know the old saying, you never realize what you've lost til it's gone. Well, the multi-character party, tactical combat-based, story-driven RPG is gone. I don't know how many decision trees I have left in DA:O, but they're gonna have to last me until the rightful successor to DA:O comes along. Expand
  25. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Best fantasy based RPG I've ever played. Original and graphically pleasing. The only way they could have made it better is if the player character was voiced for every playable race and gender.
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Oops, I came here to write to review of Dragon Age 2 and accidentally posted it in the Origins review site.

    I'll re-review to wipe out my bad rating for Origins! Origins is one of the best games ever created. If you like RPG or tactical combat, you'll love Origins.
  27. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    I'm a Bioware fan-boy so it's difficult for me to admit just how bad this game is. But when I'm honest with myself I have to admit it's a bad game. It just is. It's difficult to point out where it all went wrong. Maybe they just tried too hard. Maybe they thought the name alone would sell it. I don't know.

    The story is totally non-compelling. The combat system is horrible and there
    is just way too much combat that doesn't advance the story. The personalities of the NPCs are mostly uninspiring. The only reason I don't give it a zero is because I think it retains Bioware's solid production values. Very few bugs. Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best isometric role playing games ever made. Deep, intricate, fantastic storytelling - serviceable combat, and epic in length. This game surprises, thrills, and engages. It even becomes emotional and powerful throughout it's very long campaign. The world is not as inventive or quirky as planescape torment, however it's pacing is fantastic for a game of this type.
  29. May 6, 2011
    4
    At the core, it's a movie. You get to create a character from some limited options, play a 'beginning' that has a scripted result every time, and which has no effect on what happens later. Most dialog is like that, hinting that it has an effect but in reality the same things occur no matter what you say. After you learn this, the invasive dialog prompts become a waste of time. I put in probably 20 hours, always getting to the same point and dieing because my AI is so poor. And I wasn't even that far into the game, since with all the dialog and prompts, the game moves at a snail's pace. The dialog is good, and characters developed, but BioWare just needs to give up and make movies, because these games are just time consumers and disgraces to their genres. No open world, no real choices, 3 classes, long loading screens at every room, and a game world that is made up of a bunch of rooms... this is a joke of an RPG, and shows that BioWare is truly overrated. Expand
  30. May 7, 2012
    10
    As a rule, I don't give games, movies, etc. a rating above a 9, no matter how much I may enjoy them. With Dragon Age Origins, I can honestly say it is the best game I have ever, and probably will ever play. I have played it through at least a half dozen times and am still not nearly done. If you never buy another game again, buy DA:O. The basic one alone has better characters, plot line and immersion than every other game I've ever played combined. Expand
  31. Oct 19, 2011
    9
    Great story. I love how many ways there are and how mayn descisions you can make. Of course they will all lead to the final battle, but well, it's still a game- I can't really understand why other players critisize the A.I. cause it works perfectly for me. you can even change every behaviour of every single party member. what more do you want? and keeping the defaults won't even be stupid just not perfect. so if you like RPG buy it. oh one thing: if you hate long dialogs with a perfect synchro don't buy it. but if you love playing a movie (thats overexerating) buy it :D Expand
  32. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    Wonderful game, rich, inspired, clever. Deep story abd realistic combat made for an unforgettable experience. A must have for all RPGs fan. Ignore the sequel as its a very inferior product in every aspect.
  33. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I picked up Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition during a Gamefly sale, and for $7.49, this has been the best value that I've ever gotten for my gaming dollars. Dragon Age gripped me from the moment that I started playing it, and after over 100 hours of gameplay, I'm still having a blast.

    To me, Dragon Age plays a lot like a single player linear-ish MMO, if that makes any sense.
    Because you can set a "casting priority list" for each of your party members, switch characters whenever you want, and issue commands while the game is paused....yeah, I really felt like I was using special mind control powers over a fairly typical MMO party. Once you add in some great character development and dialogue, the kind that BioWare is well known for, along with a gripping story, the result is an RPG classic. Origins is a can't miss game for anyone who loves mages and warriors and rogues and stuff.

    Dragon Age isn't a perfect game, as no game is, but for the sake of bumping up the score, I feel compelled to give it a 10 out of 10 (after all, I can't select 9.5, which is what I think it deserves). I'll also mention that the extensive DLC content, as well as the Awakening expansion, just add more of what makes Origins itself so much fun. If you haven't played Origins at all yet, then I definitely would recommend buying the Ultimate Edition.
    Expand
  34. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Easily the best RPG I've played for at least a decade, if not ever. It's like Baldur's Gate all over again without all the glaring deficiencies of the old D&D ruleset. Great story, great characters, good voice acting, and it's a party-based RPG! The biggest downside to the game is that it has to end at some point. Oh, and the AI is a bit daft if left to its own devices. If you're even mildly interested in the premise of the game, you really should play Dragon Age: Origins. I want more of the same please! Expand
  35. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    One of the best games that I have played in all my live. It is one of the few ones that you will be able to remember some years later as one exclusive experience. Original, entertaining, long and the most important, exciting. Only a few games will leave you this way.
  36. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    Some of the negative reviews of this game accuse the positive reviewers of only liking it because it is a Bioware game. Well, when I started playing, I hadn't played any Bioware games and didn't know their reputation. Actually, going in to this game, I was fairly skeptical. I had never played Baldur's Gate or anything similar before.

    This may be my favorite game of all time.

    It is
    not a perfect game, as most people are willing to admit. Its propensity to crash and some of the wonky camera angles force me to drop my rating down to a 9. But I still love this game. The dialogue options you choose do have an effect on the game, even if it is only subtle and in the background. Some accuse it of being cliche'd and unoriginal, which baffles me. I've played many fantasy games and read thousands of fantasy books, and I find this original enough to be fresh while familiar enough to not turn me away.

    The only thing that gave me pause at first was the combat system, but after I got around the fairly easy learning curve, I came to love it--the strategy and planning involved.

    The story is great. The combat is great. The music is great. The graphics are...okay. Not Skyrim-level, but serviceable. I would recommend this game to anyone with even a passing interest in fantasy RPGs.

    One caveat. This review is for the PC version. I watched someone play the Xbox version and was dismayed at the UI and how it affected combat. I'm certain it's still a great game, but not nearly as good as the PC version.
    Expand
  37. Aug 21, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best story driven RPG's ever released. The great strength of this game lies in its immersive story and compelling characters. Bioware has created an epic fantasy world that draws you in from the opening scenes and holds you up till the final credits and beyond. The sound track is hauntingly beautiful and sets the mood wonderfully.
    The weakness of this game is that the
    game play does not quite match up quality wise to the story. The graphics, while not horrible, aren't overly impressive either. The combat can get repetitive after a while and the AI can be buggy in places. And it's almost too easy even on higher difficulties. Despite these flaws I found it to be a highly riveting game. It's like an epic fantasy novel that you can play instead of read. If your the kind of person who can get lost in a good book for hours on end, then Dragon Age: Origins is a must have. If however you play RPG's strictly for the combat and item collecting, you may be disappointed with this title. Expand
  38. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    The game introduced old school RPG to this modern day when lots of teenager play FPS and other action oriented games. Despite of the trend, the game managed to score high on many review site and that is big achievement for Bioware. It is a shame that DA:O scored lower than Mass Effect though. Even though they are both great, they have same amount of flaws. I guess its because ME2 is more about action and not strategy and roleplaying. For those who admire traditional RPGs in the past, this game is for you. Expand
  39. Apr 3, 2011
    3
    I really want to like this game, i really do but there is one critical flaw that bioware made. THE GAME IS TO DAM DIFFICULT! There so much good in the game, but the difficulty just makes me hate it so much. Even on easy your gonna have a nightmare trying to win large fights,and by large fights i mean more than 5 enemies at one time. You enter these large fights, your party lasts about 1 minute, your left alone and eventually get piled. You die and you are knocked back about 30 minutes worth of playing. You lose all the xp and items you gained and you have to do it all again.Cant enjoy it, at all. Mass effect was done much better, this just feels half ass compared to the effort put in mass effect. Expand
  40. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    This is the ultimate D&D experience and successor to Baldurs Gate; the game IMHO is flawless. The element that impressed me the most is the LOVE and disproportionate time that went into the design of this game, which includes the artwork, conversations and choice trees along the plot. Even the monster battle tactics and animations were varied, rich and awesome.

    The designers did not
    simply place cookie cutter dungeon walls that all look the same here and there, or cheap out on voice acting. No, the did the exact opposite. Every room looks lovingly designed to be slightly different. In a warehouse? Each room, has a different seemingly real world appearance that is different from one another. Ditto with the Dwarven caverns, and human castles, etc. Each character has a distinct personality. Does the thief use a different sword animation when she backstabs? you bet! And it looks pointy and deadly! Does the golem rock the ground simply by walking alongside you? Yes, nice touch. When a spider overwhelms your character and feasts on your prone body does it look disgusting and horrifying. Yup. Characters have different conversations with each other depending on who is in your party AND what you have accomplished in the plot and your choices. Your choices have a real impact on your game. You can even KILL some of the people that would have joined your party otherwise. It is truly mind boggling how many different plot twists there are depending on your started with (hence the origins) and what you do, and how you choose to do it. And, I know many of you are not big fans of cinematic sequences here, but the acting is really good - one scene, in a human castle, potentially was brutally heart wrenching, depending on how you chose to solve the issue.

    Others here, no doubt covered the controls, the plot, etc. I liked it all, honestly, But the real point is that at a time when designers push products out the door that all look the same and bang for the buck, you KNOW they spent far far more time than they had to, to make a good game here.
    Expand
  41. Jan 24, 2011
    8
    Dragon Age:Origins is a unique but quite narrow game. The game has no aspect of free worldness, Fallout 3 is a great example of a free world game. Nothing like it. It is the only shortcoming in the game. I hope in Dragon Age 2, Bioware will create a more creative game and they should really take after Bethesda. In conclusion, Dragon Age is a very good game as the main story is very compelling and lucrative. Expand
  42. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    Since Baldur's Gate and NeverWinter Night ... I was waiting for a worthy successor.
    When i ordered Dragon Age first time, i was a little bit impatient. When i got the game, i was like a child.
    The game mechanics themselves aren't really innovating, graphisms are not wonderfull, but ambiance, in game scenario, different possibilities, choices, and endings are really greats.
    To shorten my
    critic, i just can say that this game is one of my favorites.
    I'm waiting impatiently Dragon Age 2 !
    Expand
  43. Oct 14, 2011
    9
    Good, solid Fantasy RPG. Nothing revolutionary, but definitely worth the money. The storyline was immersive, the characters were interesting, and the graphics were sufficient (not great though). Too bad Dragon Age II was apparently such a disaster, if it had been more like Origins it probably would have done a lot better.
  44. Sep 30, 2011
    7
    Pluses: Great story, totally believable and interesting characters, superb voice acting and good music, good lore and some very well written material. Minuses: Enemies, weapons and armour are all very bland and do not have much variation. Combat is ok but you find yourself spamming the same spells/abilities a lot. Character classes and abilities are so-so.
    The Deep Roads dungeon is
    extremely tedious and predictable, the Fade only slightly less so. Those two areas discouraged me from playing through for a third time and I've not had the urge to play again since the game came out. I expected better from Bioware. Expand
  45. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty good, overall. I enjoyed the storyline and the world it set up. I can imagine Bioware will have a few sequels for this.
    It's no NWN or BG, but we're not gonna see anything like those for a while, I imagine. They're just not popular anymore.

    Characterisation was great, dialogue was good, voice acting was good, graphics were good, plot was interesting. Combat was good, although the
    blood effects were over the top. Disappointed me that there were party members committed to fighting the blight who just sat around in camp all day doing nothing, but the only way around that is to have less party members.

    One of the best RPGs I've played. Sure, it's not the best, but I enjoyed it.
    Expand
  46. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    As time goes on, I look back with more and more fond memories of Dragon Age: Origins. When I first played the game, I was lukewarm to it. I thought it was decent, but too much of an old-school RPG. But as I played the game more, and after I beat it the second time, I realized that Dragon Age may be one of the finest RPGs ever created. The same warm feelings I have for classic RPGs like Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, and Neverwinter Nights are now applying to Dragon Age as well. Bioware's singular ability to create a world and populate it with interesting characters, events, and locations is on full display. It's such a shame that Dragon Age 2 was a disappointment. Hopefully DA3 will live up to this amazing game. Until then, I shall be playing this game over and over, and forgetting that DA2 even exists. Expand
  47. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    An absolutely engrossing RPG with compelling companions, huge strategic battles and a memorable (if slightly generic) background story. I played this one through non-stop over the course of a few days. It was difficult to tear myself away. And I went back and played it a few more times through as different classes and genders. I enjoyed each play-through thoroughly. There are some minor annoyances such as shuffling during fights and the many 'fetch' quests that plague most RPGs but the story more than makes up for it along with a beautiful world and unforgettable companions. Epic and engrossing. Expand
  48. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    A script and dialogue to rival Planescape: Torment. That's the highest praise I could ever give a game. Play it through and be prepared to be engrossed, captivated, and moved in equal measure. As far as a sidenote in terms of gameplay, its rather micro-managed combat can take a bit of getting used to, but is ultimately rewarding and challenging. Looks great, plays great, reads even better. Utterly superb. Expand
  49. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    It is really beautiful. Very long and very captivating. You'll find yourself completely living in that world. I didn't want it to end. The story is very strong, even has political subtexts and the gameplay is very fun. I strongly recommend this to anyone who likes RPG. Don't even hesitate.
  50. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Dragon Age Origins is the best Rpg game that i have ever played, and i have played many rpgs like : gothic,diablo,elder scrolls,dungeon siege,mass effect,fallout and many more, but none of them made me lose track of time or being so fascinated by the world which they delivered like Dragon Age Origins. This game is my most favorite game and i can't even explain of how amazing this game is. The story is amazing one of the best which i experienced, the gameplay is very unique and i guess some will not like the gameplay but for me the gameplay was perfect, character are funny,amusing,interesting and very easy to like, the graphic for me is very beautiful and i didn't encounter any bugs or any kind of technical issue. All the rpg elements like customization,dialogue,exploration,side missions,items and inventory,skills,abilities,experience and levels all of that is executed perfectly. In the end the only thing i can say about Dragon Age Origins that this is the best game i have ever played in my life Expand
  51. Apr 10, 2012
    8
    This game is very decent and features a solid plot along with many different little paths that can greatly alter your experience. However, it failed to give me the desire to continue playing, as combat was slow, and progress, seemingly insignificant.
  52. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    If you have the ultimate edition like me, you'll find this is one of the best RPGs in long time, unlike the sequel which is pretty crap due to console button bashing gameplay, this game maintains a PC grade experience who prefer a bit of strategy and planning. Excellent story, decent graphics, easily 100+ hours of gameplay.
  53. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    The story, the setting, the characters and the gameplay are fantastic i actually couldnt stop playing it. Its like a book you cant put down until you know what happens next
  54. Jun 1, 2011
    8
    This is a great game and with the sequel out, Origins looks even better than ever. The amount of detail and meatiness to its dungeon crawls, 6 different Origin stories and fan development with the toolset has put my total time related to this game in the multiple hundreds of hours. As a drawback Origins preforms poorly compared to similar or better looking games out there. Its memory leak on launch has improved with its patch but not eliminated. The loading times are long; I've never appreciated having a solid state drive more than I do when I play this game. DLC installation can be buggy and DRM server instability has broken and locked players out of their games. Perusing the game files with toolset it is apparent that assorted lines of dialog with voice acting or other small bits of content isn't implemented for no apparent reason. If you like this game you owe it to yourself to download mods to restore this content and user-developed bug fixes from Dragon Age Nexus; I could rate my game installed with mods at a 9 or 10. Expand
  55. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story was brilliant and highly immersive. This game truly played on my emotions, from the tragic to the comic. The power struggle in my warden's relationship with Morrigan reminded me of real-life. Alistair's social ineptitude made me laugh. When I played a female warden and romanced him I acquired a previously unknown-to-me rapport with women in general. The voice actors were brilliant. The dramatic events were staged with cinematographic insight. The music was inspiring. The game isn't perfect, and the combat tended to degenerate into freeze and smash (cone of cold beats everything), but I don't play these games for the combat and overall this is what RPGs should be. (Too bad about the turd of a sequel...) Expand
  56. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    With Dragon Age Origins Bioware showed quite well that when it comes to telling a story and putting you at the head of it, their are still the best around. Someone could complain that the interface is not perfect, the graphics now always top level, the battles somewhat repetitive after a while. But in the end what makes the game great is that you have a run through a wonderful story while meeting truly memorable characters which will hold a place in your heart all along those from your favourite movies and books. And this is something which largely compensate for every minor flaw, making it rather irrelevant... Expand
  57. Jun 16, 2011
    6
    This is one of those games, that shouldn't be a game at all. Awesome story, interesting world, great characters and roleplaying potential build for an awesome experience, but is awfully crushed by the repetitive and annoying combat.

    Not only you need to babysit entire party, but also to cut through dozens of easy mob packs, that can't harm you even if you went AFK... then throws a boss
    that you can beat only by 10 times saveloading until your awesome heroes manage to cast a spell that doesn't get resisted or manage to hit with their awesome slaying arrow at least ONCE.

    Furthermore, it's incredibly easy to mess your party, pick wrong skills, stats or composition and end up either with boring easy experience or impossible normal+. Hell it's even possible to get stuck AT EASY! Yes, you have to start over at the end of the game, if you were foolish enough to not read a guide first and make all the bad choices that looked good on "paper".

    With all of the above, the charm of the game is cut in half. Of course people say this game is as good as Shadows of Amn, and surely they are right. Problem is, we are decade ahead of those times and standards went up since then. It's good sequel didn't follow this route and made combat easier to manage, especially for consoles. If only the story quality of sequel was the same...
    Expand
  58. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Player through this game 6 times and found something new each time. Read both books, The Stolen Thrown and The Calling. Great story telling and attention to detail; truly epic.
  59. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    One reviewer called this game a love letter to the classic RPG, and it's true. Huge, epic story on the scale of BG2, side plots, romance and a climactic final battle. Dragon Age: Origins brings the formula up to date. It has top-down-view tactical combat with a custom ruleset that works far better than the D&D one -- no "resting", and warriors and rogues have a range of abilities now! Multiple endings, and even a gay romance plot that's been the subject of controversy but that I thought was rather good and a step forward for the genre. A little cliche and with some slow bits, but basically excellent. Expand
  60. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, I highly recommend it! Just completed it and I want to start again. I can honestly say I haven't played such great RPG for very long time. Grab this masterpiece.
  61. Jul 4, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG's released in a decade. The story is riveting and deep, the characters are believable and fun to interact with. The options in every situation that affect the outcome of the game are thoughtful and well implemented.
  62. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Dragon Age Origins has a different feel than most RPG's that i am used to, though i still enjoyed the game the story sucked me right in yet it wasn't perfect the mechanics were fun but took some getting used too gameplay was more strategic than action this is were it hurts me the most i like Action Role Playing Games like Diablo 2 LOD and Dragon Age Origins took some getting used to. Over all this game is worth the money If you are interesting don't hesitate its should be relatively cheap now. Expand
  63. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    BioWare is one of few studios I trust. Why? This game is why; with a great story line, a wonderful gameplay mechanics and an overall beautiful looking game. Dragon Age: Origins is the reason why I spent an entire summer vacation in front of my computer! I invite everyone to share the epic-ness that is, Dragon Age: Origins!
  64. Jul 17, 2011
    10
    After over 500 hours of playing this game, I have to say that this is probably one of my all time most favorite games ever. I especially loved the story, the battle structure and the dialogue. The dialogue/conversations are awesome, I have never laughed or cried so much for just one thing be it game, movie or book. You get so immersed in the story and the companions that they almost seems real. I adored the romance aspect of it, it was such an interesting way to affect gameplay. I only have one small complaint-the item juggling got old after a while. Yes, the party chest was handy but I got pretty tired of constantly tromping up there to see if the items I'd just won were better than what I already had stored away. That compared to the awesomeness of the rest of the game though, it's hardly worth mentioning. Expand
  65. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game. The person who complained about the AI is playing the wrong type of game. You aren't supposed to stand still and watch your players fight. You are supposed to think and work out how to use your team's mix of skills, and tell them what to do. It works very well: in hard battles you can keep pausing to keep track of everything going on and give new instructions. In easy battles you can give a few commands and let it play out. The really great thing about the game is the moral dilemmas. Time and again I was suprised that a quest to go and beat someone up turned into an interesting conversation where I became sympathetic to them and had to think to decide what to do. This is gaming at its very best. Expand
  66. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    This is not Baldur's Gate. Dragon Age is average and tedious; catering to the Lord of the Rings crowd with soap-opera character interaction and bland "looks-like-medieval-Europe" fantasy setting It took effort to get into the game, through it's constipated origin stories (all dull, save the Dwarven one), to the peaks and valleys of the main game: for every interesting interaction (Shale) there is far too often a descent into a seemingly never-ending, mind-numbing dungeon-crawl (The Urn of Sacred Ashes, The Fade, Orzammar). Expand
  67. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    Well, Dragon age: Origins isn't a game for everyone because you have to invest a lot of time to get the best out of it but that doesn't mean it's not good. Quite opposite, in my opinion it is the best RPG ever made (RPG is my favourite genre and i played a LOT of RPGs) with its great, nonlinear story, clever and challenging combat system, witty writing, huge and emersive world and so on and so forth... Expand
  68. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    (10.0)Almost a perfect game. Though combat needs to be a little more dynamic, story, characters, depth, perfect.
    It's epic and absolutely worth buying, it has like 50-60 hours long, one of the best games of the last 4, 5 years for sure.
  69. May 25, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time, with amazing depth and story. I've revisited it a couple of times with some of the mods created by the community to keep it fresh. (Thanks for "Skip the Fade" mod!) The voice acting and storytelling are truly top-notch, and I actually cared for the characters. It's unfortunate that DA2 was such a letdown, being the Phantom Menace to DA:O's Empire Strikes Back that leaves a taint. Expand
  70. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    Definitely a worthy unofficial successor to the Baldur's Gate series although it limits the open-worldness of BG. Had a blast with the story/choices you can make in the game as well as the graphical detail/smoothness of gameplay. The combat was varied and the decisions you make while paused actually matters. NPC reactions were often pretty well designed although I am very disappointed that Bioware decided to add "mission boards" for the side quests instead of promoting exploration. AI has also been improved from their previous games as well. Expand
  71. Aug 20, 2011
    0
    Absolutely terrible combat I am properly disgusted that developers would think this would be a good combat system in this day and age! Just stand there and watch your character and an enemy stand there and take turns hitting each other, what is this Runescape? If you want to play a half decent RPG play Mass Effect or The Witcher 2, at least you will be able to actually take control of combat and actually do something rather than sit back and helplessly watch your characters die. Expand
  72. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    One of the best rpg's ever! The only downside is that battle can be challenging, but is that really a downside? Playing the elf mage I think has the best storyline. The dialogue/conversations are as realistic as any game i've ever played. great voice acting. Do yourself a favor by getting Origins as opposed to Dragon Age 2 which is the complete opposite.
  73. Aug 30, 2011
    8
    Not the size nor the scenarii of a neverwinter night (1 or 2) but a good successor. Classes are simple but complex,the game system is nearly perfect, difficulty is challeging. The universe is deep and dark. The inherited tactical pause is very appreciable. A must play, for every RPG or D&D fan.
  74. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    As a fan of RPG games, this game with Baldurs Gate take first place in my RPG list. This game taking your whole mind into this magic world. The story is made perfectly, side quest are interesting, the choices which you are making makes diffrence in the future, there`s everything what good RPG game should have. If you haven`t played it... just DO IT.
  75. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of my favorite games. I just love almost everything in this game: gameplay, characters, cutscene, graphics, and even control I really liked, well, nothing I can not help myself! =) Another great game from the hardcore BioWare!
  76. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    It's a typical BioWare's game, and it means tahat game is very good. It's hard - but hard in friendly way. It's generic - but depsite og this, it's still interesting.
  77. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Not a perfect game, but a thoroughly engrossing and utterly enjoyable adventure. The best top-down RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. If they improved on this formula, we could be looking at one of the best games of all time. But they didn't. Accordingly, the worst part about this game is how disappointing its sequel is.
  78. Sep 22, 2011
    1
    Is that really a 2009 game ? Limited area of play, bad AI, no way to get out of dialog when you want to (have to click, click and click), so so graphic . I tried to like it ! When you get some action, it's only to get bored . I wont buy another game from Bioware . If you like watching a movie go ahead . If not, stay away .
  79. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    best RPG ive played in a long time, loved everything about it, though it was a tad glitchy, but meh, your so involved in the game u hardly notice, each playthrough takes about 30hours to do fully, and i reckon ive finished the game least 10 times, so deff tonnes of replayability
  80. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    I don't normally like linear and scripted RPG's but this turned out to be very well written and entertaining. The combat was fun and changing the party make up provided refreshingly different play styles. Combat scripting was nice to have but it was even better to have a pause option and micro manage each battle if you wanted to. I really couldn't put this game down until I finished it.
  81. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    One of my all-time favorites. This is a shameless D&D style nerdfest of an RPG and I wouldn't have it any other way. The combat is a bit clunky, but it was crafted that way on purpose. The fighting has more of a chessboard feel, really.
  82. May 22, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game. Anyone whon likes RPG's should get and play this ASAP, it's an instant classing. And unlike Mass effect 3, the game ends how you choose!
  83. May 14, 2012
    10
    in my opinion, this is the best game of all time. I really have nothing else to say, as I should clearly be playing Dragon Age RIGHT ****
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Could not stop playing it till i beat it 3 or 4 times. I had to see every ending, every corner of the game. it was so immersive. I can't really think of another game that I felt as compelled to play.
  85. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, sadly the follow up, Dragon age 2 was horrible.. : ( I wish they had spent a year or so longer developing the second game and insured that it would be just as good as the first one
  86. Nov 23, 2011
    10
    Excellent RPG, I rank this game up there with the first Neverwinter Nights. It's also cheap enough now where you can pick up the expansion and all the DLC for a reasonable price. Give it a try, I would be very surprised if you come away disappointed.
  87. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Played through to about three-quarters of the PC version of the game so far, so I would say I'm not being too quick to give my rating. Engaging storyline, fun mechanics, natural and well paced leveling up (unlike most leveling systems - makes you feel stronger but not overpowered, and fun even playing warriors, unlike traditional hack and slash, there are actually fun clickable abilities for them). Their stats system is quite enjoyable - there are no "wasted" stats - even Magic (something like intelligence in classical DnD) is specifically useful for a warrior. Be warned though, battles are challenging - in some cases, you'll need several reloads trying out different tactics or just hoping for the best (along the lines of: COME ON! DANG MAGE, JUST LET YOURSELF BE STUNNED ALREADY and don't unleash that damn lightning storm... ), especially if you refuse to lower the difficulty to easy mode (which I insisted on) (also please heed the advice by the game: don't always expect a full frontal assault of your party of four versus twenty enemies to work - please... you're powerful, but not godlike powerful...). You'll also need to master the pause button (IT"S NOT MEANT TO BE A REAL-TIME BATTLE SYSTEM), much like the Baldur's Gate series, which may be a bit confusing for some players, but once you get the hang of it, it is actually very enjoyable - e.g. it lets you tell the character to cast the high level blizzard storm, and you can watch the effects only when you are ready, and prepare combo spells to follow up without it being a confusing click-fest. As for the critics, who seem to be mainly the Oblivion converts (I payed to play it too, and it is fun in its own way), but this is a different type of RPG - one where the focus is on a strong story line, and less on things like getting lost in a maze or spending eight hours doing something mundane like fishing and perhaps never managing to get on with the story (as per Oblivion). The most impressive facet of this game to me is the amount of detail put into it - every SINGLE line is actor-voiced, and you can actually feel the emotions. The back story is also rich, including mini-treatises and actual wordings on plot items, but the game mechanics give you the option to read them only if you feel like it (warning: if English isn't one of your language, you may not be able to enjoy it much, some side quests require you to do "reading comprehension" to get it right; and you may also not appreciate the often interesting and amusing banter between companions). The developers also make sure to include snippets in the game that flatter the player, which actually succeed in making you feel smug about yourself when they do happen. Note: you're not doing justice to the game if you aren't playing in maximum graphics capability. Anyway, after I first played it for like five hours, and it was only starting to dawn on me that the attention to details were actually going to persist throughout the game, I was going like - "OMG! I can't believe I payed only thirty (Singapore) dollars (~20 USD) to play this game. How in the world are the developers going to recoup their losses from hiring all these graphic designers and voice actors? They must have spent a gazillion hours making the game. Please don't go bust anytime soon, I really want more of these priceless pieces of art...". Apparently, there are also different back stories depending on which class and race you choose to play (no, I'm not going to spoil them by wiki-ing them up), so there's going to be replayability. You can also pick different companions for next time, or just rotate them as you like - backbenchers will level up together with your main party, so you don't have to farm for xp (there's actually not much mindless farming you can do in this game). All in all, you won't regret buying this game UNLESS 1. you want to live in an alternate world literally and maybe never get on with the story (get Oblivion instead, it's a great game too), 2. you want a five minute learning curve ("why can't i just click UP UP DOWN DOWN LEFT RIGHT and make the enemy drop dead instantly?"), 3. you want to play ONLY a single player ("Can dang Morrigan and Alistair just do your own thingies without me needing to tell you what to do? I don't care if you two can make wonderful sophisticated combos out of the range of the capacity of any computer AI, I'm only interested in controlling ME AND ONLY ME!!!"), 4. you don't actually want a DnD-ish RPG title and got to this page by mistake, 5. you are a disgruntled EA employee fired for scolding your boss's mum a whore or something like that, 6. I can't think of a 6... Expand
  88. HD3
    Dec 16, 2011
    9
    Excellent game, the combat system is wide and varied, challenging but rarely frustrating, The enviroments are rich and well developed and a surprisingly rich plot with lots of character development which is lacking in a lot of other WRPGs. So refreshing to see a WRPG where the narrative is treated with as much care as the gameplay and enviroment. A guranteed crowd pleaser.
  89. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    Epic rpg, great story, great combat, BW hit it out of the park. Its one that you need to think taticly with every member of your squad.One unique feature is the ability to play as one of your companions, additionally as experience yo set the actions off your team to take.
  90. Dec 22, 2011
    8
    One of Biowares best pieces of work. A must for any RPG fan. Sadly I am not greatly into fantasy games so did struggle at some points to enjoy it and did reroll a few times. It is great though because of the story, characters and I can understand how it is such a good game- although I do prefer sci fi.
  91. Dec 20, 2011
    7
    A very compelling plot and characters helped make up for this games lacking combat system, which struck me as repetitive and stagnant at some points in the game. A good sense of replayability and interesting in-game choices further added to the experience. A very decent game, though not revolutionary or inspiring, it is still entertaining and good fun.
  92. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    A true epic adventure which took me 70+ hours to complete, sidequests included. It has great characters, a rich and interesting world and a superb story!
  93. Jan 9, 2012
    10
    This is the most solid fantasy RPG of the generation, and I loved every minute. It is quite Lord of the Rings (in a good way, if also in a cliched way), and there is not a huge amount of innovation to be found here. Nonetheless, the game world is rich and detailed, voice acting is excellent, companions are interesting for the most part, and combat is addictive and deep. The game is also long, and feels like a genuine epic (unlike, say, Oblivion, which feels oddly empty and soulless at times)........... This game is receiving a 8 from me on consoles, and a 10 on PC, simply because it is very 'click heavy', and is suited for mouse and keyboard over a controller. It's also been optimised for PC. Enjoy the game, ignore the sequel DA:2, and let's hope DA:3 builds on this solid foundation. Highly recommended. Expand
  94. Aug 2, 2012
    10
    It may be cliched with fairly unoriginal characters, but DA:O does almost everything right. The journey is so completely involved and compelling that one can't help but ignore the fact that this is the umpteenth time this story has been told. Giving the player this many options to play it out makes up for the generic villians- a true RPG incarnation if there ever was one. It has that "epic" feel to it that helps overcome what problems it has, in my experience matched only by Skyrim. The Ultimate Edition is a superb value, and even someone who is usually very averse to fantasy games like myself fell in love with Dragon Age. I highly recommend it. Expand
  95. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Hands down the best and most true RPG to date. This is/was and always will be, BioWare's best work - the best masterpiece created in video-gaming history, ever... !
  96. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Bioware has created a solid dark fantasy RPG in Dragon Age: Origins but it lacks polish and has some fiendishly difficult battles which holds it back from true greatness.
  97. Mar 11, 2012
    9
    Dragon Age is very enjoyable experience. Of course there are some bumps here and there but overall this game is great. For example combat is not as fluid as it should be but engaging story, chalenging fights and some very memorable characters (Morrighan honey... I'll come back to you every year, I promise!) let me forget about minor issues and enjoy it a lot.
  98. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    Dragon Age: Origins is what you would expect from Bioware, a polished rpg experience with great characters and background lore. The combat is tactical and challenging as you control four characters at a time. Positioning and strategy is very important if you want to defeat some of the bosses in the game, atleast on the higher difficulties. When it comes to the world design I guess it's ok. Some areas are a little too small, textures are bad and they have a lot of reused dungeons. Despite some of the flaws this is still one of the best rpg experiences out there for the pc Expand
  99. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome game is awesome, the combat was a bit slow and your characterr beeing mute is a bit awkward from time to time, but the story and companions is well written.
  100. PaulS.
    Feb 6, 2010
    0
    An incredible game. The combat is perfectly balanced and requires tactical thinking, and the multitude of skills you can choose for your characters combined with the easy swap-out of party members creates a huge variety of options in how you approach each battle. The plot, writing of the characters, voice acting, and presentation are among the best of any game I've ever played - only other Bioware games are in the same league. Best of all, unlike many role-playing games, in this game you actually play a role - your choices have a believable impact on every encounter, and though you aren't free to enter every house or visit every hilltop, you ARE free to play exactly the kind of character you would want to be. It's a thought-provoking and memorable artistic experience, as well as a polished and challenging tactical game. Top-notch. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. If you're into rpgs, or rather if you love roleplaying in general, there's really no need to waste time reading any reviews of this game. The same goes if you regard games like Planescape: Torment, Fallout 2 and the Baldurs Gate-series among the best computer games ever made. Because this game is everything a person like you look for in a game, and so much more. Be aware though, Dragon Age: Origins is not a revolution of the genre, rather it is an evolution, where Bioware has refined everything that made them into a formula as close to perfection as possible. Without a doubt one of the strongest Game of the year-candidates so far this year and a game we will remember with warm feelings many years to come.
  2. An outstanding story-driven RPG with fantastic writing, RPG depth and tough tactical combat. It's BioWare's best RPG since Baldur's Gate 2. [Holiday 2009, p.38]
  3. Dragon Age Origins will keep you in front of your computer for hours! Graphics, sounds and the controls couldn’t be much better!