Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    80
    Dragon's Prophet is a pretty standard MMORPG enriched with some action and tons dragons. Those aren't just mounts but friends, helpers, allies, enemies and ancient gods. Unfortunately, they live in a pretty boring world.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    74
    Do you remember the original hunter in World of Warcraft? Where you could look for and then tame wild beats? I miss that and that's why I like Dragon's Prophet with its Pokémon-like hunt for exotic creatures.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    65
    Yes there are tons of dragons and yes, you're gonna catch 'em all, but sadly this is not enough to recommend Dragon's Prophet. Under scales and tusks there is an ordinary MMORPG with boring quests and too much grinding in it, and the old graphics engine doesn't help to keep players engaged, but at least it's free to play.
  4. Oct 11, 2013
    60
    Seducing with its dragon theme, free to play and quite well done as it even offers advanced housing, Dragon's Prophet is an MMORPG which does not look ridiculous. But we do have to admit that it lacks some punch to be able to compete against the genre's stars because of poor polish, an old graphics engine, dull quests and a small amount of races and classes. We note that those drawbacks could be improved by an update overtime which allows us hope. But is trying Dragon's Quest enough to get hooked? Not really but at least it's free to try.
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    53
    I had such high hopes for Dragon’s Prophet. Everything about it sounds like so much fun on paper. But what we have is a clear case of a game that needs a lot more time in development before it should be taking money from anyone. This shouldn’t be an open beta, and you shouldn’t be able to spend money in Auretia. I understand that SOE and Runewaker need to pay the bills, but both parties would have been far better off letting the game take a little more time in closed beta to take in and react to feedback from its community. Dragon’s Prophet isn’t the worst game I’ve played this year, but it could have been so much better. And that’s what’s really unfortunate.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    51
    With dragon taming, action combat, and robust skill and housing systems, there's an enjoyable experience at the core of Dragon's Prophet that never manages to break free of the dull environment and grinding pace that surrounds it.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 11 out of 24
  1. Oct 13, 2013
    3
    OK that guy that said this isnt pay to win or pay to play is lying. You need to pay for backback space and slots for dragons. You can NOT possibly do this game with default. This guy lied to everyone. Thats you Frenk-the-Vile. Thats you. Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    2
    Game has a lot of potential. Combat could be fun. Mount system and lots of dragons are good, and the housing system is spot on.
    HOWEVER.

    This game is complete garbage in two ways
    First, the opening few hours are disgusting. 100%. They are so slow, boring, endless cutscenes with lip-syncing that I would expect from a PS1 game and the subtitles do not math the voices.
    Speaking of PS1 games, put the game on the lowest settings and you'll see what I mean. Anything that's nearing the middle-range of your vision begins to move at a few frames per second, so a character will move a good distance and have taken two steps, and that is just not acceptable for a game being released in 2013, even on lowest settings.
    On highest settings, however, the game still looks like it's something out of 2008 and yet is ridiculously hardware intensive for how bad it looks.
    2/10, painful to play
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    I really liked this game, 'till now (1 week). I think dragons as pets & mounts are cool, combat based on combos is enjoyable and more challenging than auto-attack, and graphics is overall nice...depth of field quite sucks, but characters and obj. in landscape are good.
    I think the point is: will this cost me money? Not so much, not just to play...it's not a P2W for what i've seen.
    Full Review »