Dreamkiller PC

  • Publisher: Aspyr
  • Release Date: Oct 12, 2009
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 45
  2. Negative: 17 out of 45

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    7
    This game got some pretty bad reviews, but personally I enjoyed it all the way though. Every weapon in this game is awesome and fun to shoot (exactly what an FPS should be like (My personal favorite is the Sunbeam which shoots sunshine and happiness.)) Some of the levels are fun and quite imaginative. The game has a brilliant premise too, but doesn't always take advantage of this, thereThis game got some pretty bad reviews, but personally I enjoyed it all the way though. Every weapon in this game is awesome and fun to shoot (exactly what an FPS should be like (My personal favorite is the Sunbeam which shoots sunshine and happiness.)) Some of the levels are fun and quite imaginative. The game has a brilliant premise too, but doesn't always take advantage of this, there are moments where you're bored of killing all the monsters and just want to move on with the story. I enjoyed the game, but looking back, near unlimited potential is wasted on repetitive gameplay. Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    This game was a unique experience into the simple fps genre. Rather then the classic Judeo/Christian heaven hell story, or aliens, we are give a glimse into the world of dreams. It could have been better. But if you just want to kill time, this is a great time waster. I should have delved deeper into the whole nightmare part of the game and turned this into a well written and portrayedThis game was a unique experience into the simple fps genre. Rather then the classic Judeo/Christian heaven hell story, or aliens, we are give a glimse into the world of dreams. It could have been better. But if you just want to kill time, this is a great time waster. I should have delved deeper into the whole nightmare part of the game and turned this into a well written and portrayed horror game. As it sits however I had more fun with Serious Sam. Expand
  3. Bonta
    Dec 15, 2009
    5
    Just another FPS game, nothing really original. I would give it another point if they include some fan service stuff like being able to play your character nude or something.
  4. PeterD
    Dec 22, 2009
    6
    i dont find this game bad, i find it sad. sad that such limitless potential is squandered so so grueling gameplay, such boring environments, a more compelling storyline and some characters you can actually feel with, instead of some tattoo badgirl blowing out worse oneliners than arnold schwarzenigger in conan the barbarian (she is standing is a ruin with with debris swirling around a i dont find this game bad, i find it sad. sad that such limitless potential is squandered so so grueling gameplay, such boring environments, a more compelling storyline and some characters you can actually feel with, instead of some tattoo badgirl blowing out worse oneliners than arnold schwarzenigger in conan the barbarian (she is standing is a ruin with with debris swirling around a black void overhead, and utters proptly "something isnt right here"... way to go sherlock) the gameplay is repetitive, and ultimately boring. you wander from room to room battling spiders, wierd looking fellas with metal claws and mech dogs, and wierdly enough the spiders from a arachnophobiac appears in the mind of guy who dont like overwork. also, the bossfights are a pain, blowing into a guys nuts for 10 minuttes untilhe goes boom, i think i got past that some 10 years ago... all in all, the 6 is only for its premise Expand
  5. RayS
    Jan 4, 2010
    7
    Also played it on the free weekend. Got through it just in time, which got me in a awkward situation. I had enough fun so that i acutally would like to reward the developers, on the other hand i really don't feel like i need to own the game now ^^ So, it's fun, it's simple and it's short. I'd pay/donate ~5
  6. AlekZD
    Oct 13, 2009
    7
    Kinda fun, great stress relief, awesome weapons, etc. Overall though, very repetitive as the the protagonist is trying to clear an individual's brain of bad thoughts, and so far this usually amounts to shooting lots and lots (and lots) of the same kind of enemy. The game's only real navigation system is either a red dot that shows you where the closest enemies are, or a green Kinda fun, great stress relief, awesome weapons, etc. Overall though, very repetitive as the the protagonist is trying to clear an individual's brain of bad thoughts, and so far this usually amounts to shooting lots and lots (and lots) of the same kind of enemy. The game's only real navigation system is either a red dot that shows you where the closest enemies are, or a green dot directing you to the next stage. Although honestly, with the amount of freedom one has to roam around in the game, I'm surprised they didn't just make it a rail shooter. The settings are kinda interesting and dark and creepy and all that, but sparse. Basically I guess my biggest problem with the game is that it's kind of, well, shallow. There isn't even a map to consult, and most of the awesome weapons you get have unlimited ammo, so there's not even the challenge of having to keep track of various kinda of ammo. Overall it's a fun shooter game, just not the most well-done one I've ever played. Hopefully it'll get better in later levels, but I don't know. Expand
  7. GregB
    Dec 12, 2009
    7
    Free to play this weekend on steam. The reviews don't give this game justice, they are way too harsh. Which is probably why this game was free to try. Great visuals, doom clone gameplay, fun to play if a bit repetitive. If you're looking for a shooter with a lot of action this is worth a try.
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Dreamkiller is, through and through, a budget game. The visuals are colorful but look decidedly old, the action is as shallow as it gets in a modern shooter, and the sound effects lack oomph. The premise is neat, and some of the enemy designs are legitimately awesome. But if you've been dreaming of some old-fashioned twitch shooting, you should return to the old standbys and let this sleeping dog lie.
  2. It's fun, but the fun is short lived. Dreamkiller is a copy-cat game that tries to emulate Serious Sam but places Sam in a cube.
  3. 42
    The game's spectacular premise is ultimately unfulfilled. What might have been a truly eye-opening, perspective-shattering trip through the battlefields of a tortured psyche is merely a rehash of everything we've been through in the Painkiller series.