Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1043 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    dis gfame was lkie awesome in lkie eveary way d00d but i didnt like thae sotry parts because i think story es stupid d00d but c0d is better in like every way d00d Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    The only disadvantage of this Duke incarnation is that it's too short. Anything else is a pure fun. Hope that Gearbox keeps on working on the next sequel. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    I think the metascore here is a little bit too harsh. This game is good fun, although it plays like Doom 3, is still a great game. Although the humour revolves around potty humour a bit too much, Duke Nukem Forever is a refreshing game in an age where we keep getting Call of Duty clones. I like how you can interact with everything (yes, even poo) and I also like the fast paced addictive combat. If it was released at the same time as Doom 3, this game would have been a shining star. This game is fun, and is greatly underrated by critics. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2011
    7
    Rule #53. You judge a game by its merits. You don't give bonus marks because it managed to survive, you don't give bonus marks because its main character reminded you of the good old days, and you don't give bonus marks merely because others think badly of it. Anyway, despite all the negative reviews, I went ahead and finished the game. It has a good shooter mechanics, interesting weapons, interesting stages of game (mini-Duke, monster truck). I liked fighting/shooting/executing the aliens (boy do they have some new tricks up their sleeves) so yeah the core mechanics were pretty well done. The 2 disputable features: regenerating health and 2 guns at one time didn't bother me too much, although I admit I missed scrambling around looking for health packs when I'm seriously wounded in older FPS. There is also a healthy amount of cultural references (the first boss cracked me up a bit) and one-liners to keep players entertained. NPCs are hopelessly bland, their attempts at humor fall flat on the face (except for a few of them) but nevermind that, that has never been the Duke's concern. What led to the (admittedly exaggerated) animosity toward the game is probably the level design / pacing. While the alien-bashing was fun, too many a times the action is halted in favor of solving puzzles and navigating through obstacle courses. While they are fairly simplistic, they feel very contrived and they effectively stopped the game from gaining momentum. Plus the game is very restrictive in the sense that most of the time you end up in a confined space, fighting off several waves of enemies, and a previously locked door mysteriously unlocks and you go ahead to solve a puzzle. Rinse and repeat. Even if you are not in a confined space, running around doesn't reveal any interesting places (such as the secrets in Duke Nukem 3D) or anything interesting to do (if we disregard the minimalistic interaction with several in-game objects). My conclusion? I had fun. But sometimes the game feels unnecessarily tedious. It would have been a much better game if there were more alien-bashing and way way less puzzle-solving / platformer action. Expand
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    4
    this game have humor and.......i cant of think anything else. This game is TOP 1 candidate on biggest disapointment of 2011. DONT BUY THIS, ITS WASTE OF MONEY better get drunk or buy your girlfriend something nice... Expand
  7. May 27, 2012
    0
    The most annoying game I've played for ten years. My rating: -10. Extremely annoying jump and run parts stopped me from playing the game to the finish. Expand

See all 431 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.