Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall whoThe release date of this game is "When it's done". Anything else, and we mean anything else is someone's speculation. There is no date. We don't know any date. If you have a friend who claims they have "inside info", or there's some game news site, or some computer store at the mall who claims they know - they do not. They are making it up. (So is Metacritic!) There is no date. Period. And yes, we know the game has taken a long time. There's no possible joke you could make about the game's development time that we haven't already heard. :) [3D Realms] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 48
  2. Negative: 17 out of 48
  1. Jun 24, 2011
    85
    A real time machine, Duke Nukem Forever gets you back to the glorious age of PC gaming. And despite some dated graphics and level design, it's freaking worth it. [July 2011, p.81]
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    What awaits you is a Duke that would have rocked the genre nine years ago but for today's standards this is just mediocre.
  3. Jul 12, 2011
    69
    A love letter to PC gaming, scrawled in crayon by an alcoholic bigot. Wait for the bargain bin to say goodbye to Duke. [Aug 2011, p.98]
  4. Jun 13, 2011
    52
    It's just a mess. It pains me to say it, but it's absolutely true.
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    50
    If you're going to 'go modern', do it. If you're going to 'go retro', do it. Just don't go half-and-half and end up failing to appease fans of both approaches. While DNF is kind-of fun, is playable and can be enjoyed all the way until the end, it's far away from what it should have been.
  6. Jun 22, 2011
    40
    You won't find any lasting qualities in Duke Nukem Forever and it doesn't have anything to compete against numerous modern games that have so much more to offer.
  7. Jun 27, 2011
    16
    I can't think of anything fun throughout my time with the game. I did like some of the models of the monsters and the game never crashed on my PC, but that's about it. I don't blame Gearbox, but I wonder what 3D Realms was thinking all these years.

See all 48 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    A great classic Duke romp. The reason it gets so much hate, is because expecations are far too high because of the very extended dev time.A great classic Duke romp. The reason it gets so much hate, is because expecations are far too high because of the very extended dev time. This is a triple A game and deserves that respect. Great fun. decent graphics by todays standards. Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a gameI love this game. Just like the original game Duke steps outside the box; world interaction, great game play, and classic quotes; its a game that can be played over and over and I still laugh. When you're ready for some fun gaming in your downtime this is it! Come get some. Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Quite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for theQuite frankly the greatest game of our generation. From the rock solid humor to the smooth graphics, all is good here. I can;t speak for the issues people are having with the console versions, but the pc version is top notch! Game of The year, BABY!! Expand
  4. Mar 23, 2013
    8
    This game was great. A lot of interest in it for example to increase the ego, you can add a lot of things, like if you smoke, have sex, etc..This game was great. A lot of interest in it for example to increase the ego, you can add a lot of things, like if you smoke, have sex, etc.. I do not understand why you are scolding the program. But I understand the artwork, but they could not have been better bring out a more than 10-year graphic engine (Unreal Engine 1). Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    Duke Nukem's iconic macho humor is as strong as ever, with all it's hidden ego items, which rewards players for spending time dicking aroundDuke Nukem's iconic macho humor is as strong as ever, with all it's hidden ego items, which rewards players for spending time dicking around and finding ways to pat themselves on the back (though less so later in the game). This rewards players by increasing the size of Duke's ego, which is apparently powerful enough to stop bullets (but getting shot still makes him feel bad). The levels have some wonderfully novel and creative design. It's a breath of fresh air against all the modern shooters of nonstop shooting to find puzzles intermittently placed between shootouts, and allows for a stronger narrative characterizing Duke. The best joke of all is that after 15 years in development the game still feels rushed, and shooting simply isn't fun. Of all the fantastic weapons in Duke's arsenal, he's only allowed to carry two at a time, and not anywhere near enough ammo. For a game about kicking ass and chewing bubblegum, Duke spends way too much time looking at the ground trying to find the right tool for the job. Mid fight duke can refill his ego by humiliating and executing aliens, which is an entertaining idea, except Duke's default and constant ego regeneration is so fast, that such maneuvers are hardly worth doing. The regeneration also heavily encourages players to just turtle up behind cover and hide whenever they get hurt, which is very uncharacteristic of Duke Nukem, and sometimes results in long drawn out standoffs without the specific gun Duke is supposed to use (which can often be found nearby without any in world explanation). On harder difficulties all these problems are made worse, as duke has to spend more time hiding to recover ego, and it's more important that you have the specific gun the developer wanted you to use for that part.

    Duke Nukem could of been an exciting blast from the past, but instead a halfassed attempt to "modernize" it ruins the game and makes it play like a cheap, and clunky Call of Duty clone.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2011
    4
    The gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played itThe gameplay is dull and the Storyline is cliché Although i find this game quite humorous from time to time if you have played it you tend to see that this game doesn't take itself too seriously but even then that does not make the game. I would only recommend that you get this game if its on some sale for Steam. Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    Basically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal peopleBasically there is nothing good in this game. Yes, you start it and will love it; it's the duke! After about 15 minutes most normal people will find their dreams and expectations shattered. Nothing can live up to almost 1 1/2 Decades of hype and expectations building up, but all i wanted was a good contemporary shooter, and it failed to deliver. The graphics are medieval, and it still manages to have frame rate drops on a modern system. The story is flat, boring, humorless and plain simple stupid. It basically brings nothing new to the table, nothing that hasn't been seen before; there is no shame in "borrowing" ideas, the best also do it, but doing it badly is a huge nono, and that's basically everything that was done here, old bad ideas made worse and mushed into the rough shape of a game. Just as this review it got tons of useless filler. Did i mention it looks medieval? The only good thing is the dukes voice. Get Manhatten Project instead if you want some duke, it just costs a fraction of DNF, it's much more fun, and lasts a lot longer. Expand

See all 451 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.
  2. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.