User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 106
  2. Negative: 20 out of 106

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2013
    4
    This does absolutely nothing for me and I say that as a fan of top down shooters. Obviously it works really well for a lot of people, I'm just not one of them. I just feel like I'm trapped in a twee kids cartoon from the 80s and not in a good way.
  2. Jan 30, 2013
    1
    MUltiplayer only. So unless you know several other people who want to play the same game, this is a total waste of time. Playing with strangers is terrible. Abusive 9 year olds already all over the place (no change there then) A buggy waste of time and the reason why many people over the age of 30 hate multiplayer., If I wanted to spend my time getting abused by idiots and children I'd go and stand outside my local Aldi with a Waitrose bag on my shoulder. Buggy, unfinished unfocussed mess - multiplayer only just makes it a whole heap worse. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    4
    This is one of the most simple, shallowest games you will ever play in your life. It breaks no new grounds and for a technical aspect, the game currently runs like garbage. Character growth is close to none and the only slightly unique aspect of the game is the 'DM' (Dungeon Master) mode. Which isn't really new and unique when compared to games such as "Dungeon Master" and "Never Winter Nights". The music is the basic fanfare, it's not terrible, but it can get annoying after playing for an hour. All in all, it's nothing special and nothing new. Right now it's a total let down. Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2013
    2
    I am a reservation buyer but by making this game this time Free-to-play, I feel a rage.
    The developer may not intended to do from the beginning to Free-to-play.
    However, it betrayed a buyer consequently.
    Can you buy a game in this company for trusting?
    I never again buy a game in this company.
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    4
    Good for local multiplayer only for a little while. Otherwise, avoid.

    Multiplayer is totally bug ridden, nevermind who you may be teamed with. Lag spikes, connection problems, and other bugs will be as much of a threat than the game will be. And God save you if someone drops and you're stuck with an AI Bot in their place.
    Single-player is a phony single-player. AI Bots can only be
    used with default settings, making them practically worthless. The Dev team has stated they have no interest in improving Bots or their AI.
    But the biggest bullet in the head for this game is how horribly imbalanced this game is. As the heroes, you will likely get massacred by the second wave unless a player controlled DM lets you win. If this was a roguelike, I might give the absurd difficulty a pass, but it isn't. It's a hack-n-slash in the same vein as Diablo and Torchlight. There is no excuse for this glaring design flaw.

    Overall: Unbalanced, Unfair, Unfun, and not worth your time. A potentially good idea (DM mode) is squandered by bad decisions and design flaws.
    Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    2
    Brief summary of my review
    Interesting concept, however poorly executed/buggy and not worth the purchase price. Full review below. Bought this game after seeing nothing but good reviews from people like AngryJoe, Totalbuscuit, and many others. However I was saddened to find that not preordering the game means that I received a limited product. Pretty much 20% of the game was stripped out
    and only available for preorders. I am certain they will be sold later as addition DLC seeing how it's from the same people who made Magicka and it has about 19 dlcs for between 1-6 dollars each. This game reminds me so much of Magicka in that the release is full of game breaking bugs and multiplayer is near impossible to manage. Multiplayer may require to open port 25002 to be able to host however, and some people may still be unable to play multiplayer even after these steps. Multiplayer matches are sorted in reverse alphabetical order by default, so the first match you will see will always be from Zzzzzzzzzap or someone like that, instead of matches sorted by ping which is not yet an option. Connection issues are abundant so expect people to lag out several times in a dungeon run. Multiplayer is very imbalanced in the dungeon masters favor making it near impossible to beat even easy mode. So many spell's and units are overpowered, the Dire duck unit is a glaring example of this as it can murder your whole team in one spin even in easy mode where you take half damage from all attacks. You can also team up with friends to co-op against a standard npc dungeons, this still suffers from connection issues and imbalances. Both in single and multiplayer the AI is abysmal. Enemies and friends alike get stuck constantly and tend to get themselves killed or just face their faces repeatedly into a wall trying to avoid attacks. As it is clearing a dungeon on offline with bots is also near impossible as the bots will die and waste all your extra life's in an instant. There is a good way to afk and get coins for cosmetics and dungeon master spells because of this. If you start a dungeon master match on any of the hard difficulties and wait for a couple seconds the npcs will kill themselves and you will be rewarded over 500 coins. I was very excited about the concept of this game and the gameplay I had seen online. My experiences with the game was nothing like the people who I saw having fun playing it. Instead of a fun time I had to deal with bugs and hassles throughout the game. I would not recommend this game at full price to anyone. If you truly want to play it I would say wait until they fix some of the issues and flesh out the game, and you might as well wait until it's 70% off on steam anyways because it is not worth even 10 dollars. Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    2
    First off, the game is dead.

    Buggy, shallow, repetitive... I couldn't recommend this game at 4.99. The game has a lot of potential but that's it, potential that will never be realized. 1 dm map? There ARE some fun fights, however the game ITSELF ruins those moments. Lag, terrible bot ai, terrible monster ai, flakey hit detection, random "you just die" deaths. I'd happily trade it in
    for something of price if I had the chance.


    MAYBE consider the game when it is on summer sale, however until then consider it dead.
    Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Apr 5, 2013
    65
    The game’s testers deserve having their butts kicked more than the creatures of Dungeonland. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.81]
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    70
    Dungeonland is ultimately pointless when it comes down to it. Yet it is the good kind of pointless, the kind that still produces entertainment with friends and fills a void. Dungeonland knows it does not amount to much, in fact it revels in it, wilfully mocking itself throughout.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    70
    Dungeonland is nowhere close to perfect, but in multiplayer it’s a brilliant bastard of a game. Just add friends – or enemies.