User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 64
  2. Negative: 13 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This mmo is... different. You start out with a custom character, there's a ton of unique things and a ton of unique players. It's very refreshing, and with a good role play guild it's simply amazing. Also, there are many ways to customize the graphics, allowing it to look nice on even low-end systems, and look great on high-end ones. (for an mmo, of course it can't compare to Black Ops inThis mmo is... different. You start out with a custom character, there's a ton of unique things and a ton of unique players. It's very refreshing, and with a good role play guild it's simply amazing. Also, there are many ways to customize the graphics, allowing it to look nice on even low-end systems, and look great on high-end ones. (for an mmo, of course it can't compare to Black Ops in graphics) Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    Since it's gone f2p this is the best f2p out there without a doubt- whenever I'm not playing a p2p or a console game, this is my fallback. The sheer variety of quests and goals in this game will blow you away- this isn't a 'grind 50 goretusks' game, every quest has its own story, enemies, bosses, traps and unique feel. This is one mmo that truly doesn't feel like any other.
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    9
    I'm relatively new to the MMO world, but I've been playing RPGs since I was a young kid. So this is coming purely from an RPG fan perspective. That being said, I am really enjoying it so far. I got lucky and have a few friends who joined up around the same time, and got invited into a guild fairly quickly, so I've had no problem finding people to do quests with.

    The combat is very fun
    I'm relatively new to the MMO world, but I've been playing RPGs since I was a young kid. So this is coming purely from an RPG fan perspective. That being said, I am really enjoying it so far. I got lucky and have a few friends who joined up around the same time, and got invited into a guild fairly quickly, so I've had no problem finding people to do quests with.

    The combat is very fun and the leveling system is very faithful to D&D while making the necessary tweaks to make it more fun on a PC. The community has been very helpful so far. Most of the negative reviews seem to be early in the game's F2P days, and from what I've read and discerned from talking to other players, the game has evolved a great deal since the early days.

    I'm not a graphics fiend, but I found the graphics to be acceptable, and the game runs great (30ish FPS outdoors, 50+ indoors) on my relatively low-end rig with a bit of tweaking, without looking like crap.

    I'm really enjoying this so far, about a week after signing up. I recommend doing some research into classes before signing up, or if you don't want to got that route, don't dual class with your first character.

    Overall a fun experience so far.
    Expand
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    This game has the closest interpretation of the Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 tabletop rules of any game. This leads to one of the greatest things about the game: it isn't balanced. You could build your character to be a badass, or you could build your character to suck. Its not going to stop you from doing either one. Using the system you can design your character to be quite unique andThis game has the closest interpretation of the Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 tabletop rules of any game. This leads to one of the greatest things about the game: it isn't balanced. You could build your character to be a badass, or you could build your character to suck. Its not going to stop you from doing either one. Using the system you can design your character to be quite unique and specialized. You could make a rogue is really strong, or really dexterous, or one that is really smart and has a mountain of high level skills to be able to handle any task. Its really up to you. The downside of this is for some people is that to really be good at this game you need to learn the rules of Dungeons and Dragons. Also, you really should have a good idea what you're going to do with your character before you create it, and that could be frustrating for some people who are new to the game.

    Like most of the Free-to-play MMOs out there, you can play this game completely for free, but it is a million times better if you're a subscriber. The free-to-play setup they use disables selling items on the auction house, the shared bank, and the majority of playable content over level 4 (there are 28 levels) and limited character slots. It also disallows free-to-play players from playing through content on a higher difficulty the first time through and there is a cap on the amount of money you can hold.

    With an active subscription you can sell items on the auction house and use your shared bank, collect mountains of gold and access all of the content. While this may sound like a lot of restrictions on free-to-play players, one should keep in mind that there are ways that it isn't as restrictive as certain other games where they don't let free-to-play players even whisper or hand an item to another player. This means that if you log in for free then you can give the game a good try before you decide to spend any money.

    As another reviewer mentioned, you could spend $1500+ on this game and still have things left over to buy. On the other hand, for $15/month you get the majority of that unlocked for you, which is a much better deal.

    I got to level 9 with a few characters, so I can't say much about the end game. I can say that this game is a lot better when you have a friend or guild to play with.
    Expand
  5. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Anyone interested in MMOs or D&D should try this. It is free and, while it is not perfect, it is very good. Of all the MMOs I've played (WoW, TSM, RoM, etc), including ones released years after this, DDO is the only one that managed to hold my attention. It has the best gameplay of any MMO I've seen. It lacks PvP, but it does have a mature and helpful playerbase. There's plenty of craftingAnyone interested in MMOs or D&D should try this. It is free and, while it is not perfect, it is very good. Of all the MMOs I've played (WoW, TSM, RoM, etc), including ones released years after this, DDO is the only one that managed to hold my attention. It has the best gameplay of any MMO I've seen. It lacks PvP, but it does have a mature and helpful playerbase. There's plenty of crafting and levels are very meaningful. Character builds vary widely and you can do things that I've not seen to be possible in any other MMO, such as making a melee character that takes literally no damage from attacks, or a spell caster who can instakill whole rooms full of enemies with one spell.
    Quests are varied. No "Kill 10 rats" type quests. There are only two things that stop me rating DDO a 9/10. One is that it can be a money sink, if you're not smart about what you pay for in the game. The other is that like any MMO, it can become repetitive once you've done every quest 3 times, and you're just re-running things to farm them for loot. Still, you can get at least a year of fun play out of it before it gets to that point. I'd encourage any D&D or MMO fan to try it.
    Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2011
    7
    DDO is game with a lot of great aspects, and a few very bad ones. Unfortunately the bad points, are so bad it weighs the game down to an almost unplayable level.

    Good: The combat is very fun once you get used to it. It is almost a prototype for this new era of "action mmo's" we are seeing today. The jumping and swimming mechanics are some of the best in any game, especially for its time.
    DDO is game with a lot of great aspects, and a few very bad ones. Unfortunately the bad points, are so bad it weighs the game down to an almost unplayable level.

    Good: The combat is very fun once you get used to it. It is almost a prototype for this new era of "action mmo's" we are seeing today. The jumping and swimming mechanics are some of the best in any game, especially for its time. It's D&D, plain and simple, if you are a fan of Dungeons and Dragons, you should like this game. Building your character, is a large part of the game, rather than just something you do for 5 minutes before you begin. Also DDO's f2p/p2p system is a real gem, and should be an example to the rest of the mmo world.

    As for endgame, the true reincarnation feature is wonderful. the ability to start your character back at level 1, with an xp penalty, but higher stats is pretty unique.

    Bad:
    The entire game is instanced. This is my biggest complaint. It really makes the game feel less like an MMO and more like a large scale co-op plat-former. You are never doing anything game play wise with more than 10-12 people. There are no large outside wilderness areas, where you just see a random player running by you. The only area in the game where you will ever see other players on a large scale is Stormreach. And even that is instanced.

    The endgame is extremely weak, rudimentary raid designs and poor tanking and healing mechanics make for just a pretty basic raiding experience. When an entire game is instanced, you would want the instances to be well designed.

    Finally the "crafting" is likely the worst I have seen in any mmo. Even worse that WoW's crafting, and that is pretty bad.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2013
    7
    I've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content and game play is the best. The developers do a good job at making each dungeon unique or adding little secrets and puzzles that adds challege to the dungeons. This isn't a game you race to reach the max level and stand around so people can gawk atI've been playing DDO off and on for about 5 years. I've played alot of MMO's but this is the game I always come back to. The content and game play is the best. The developers do a good job at making each dungeon unique or adding little secrets and puzzles that adds challege to the dungeons. This isn't a game you race to reach the max level and stand around so people can gawk at your gear. This is a game where you want to take your time leveling, were you like building up your charcter and learnign more about stories.

    DDO is not the MMO for everyone. No one will compare DDO to WoW or EQ2. DDO has it's own MMO style.
    Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2014
    6
    The last holdout of D&D 3.5 which offers the best character building options for a fantasy grade toon. I judge MMOs by their dungeon availability. Lack of dungeons = Lack of quality IMO. I don't want to fetch and carry, kill for other people, or compete with other people in an open wilderness. All of that feels like running in a hamster wheel. Dungeons = meat of an MMO. Choice inThe last holdout of D&D 3.5 which offers the best character building options for a fantasy grade toon. I judge MMOs by their dungeon availability. Lack of dungeons = Lack of quality IMO. I don't want to fetch and carry, kill for other people, or compete with other people in an open wilderness. All of that feels like running in a hamster wheel. Dungeons = meat of an MMO. Choice in character creation is the other piece. You will never have more choice or variation in character creation than in this game. 3.5 wins on that mark.

    In game voice on auto that works. Not the crappy stuff of WoW or other games, a bonefide quality ingame voice system. Makes group work easy and available. Social, same. Creates an oddly supportive community. Hop in a group and you can all communicate immediately. This does create a "must have ears" culture in game.

    This game is nothing but dungeons...with a couple slayer areas that you traverse to get to dungeons...which makes it far outshine most MMOs.

    The game, sadly, is dying for two reasons: raid bypass timers and out of control duping. Raid bypass timers are sold by Turbine in their cash shop. They allow you to bypass the timeout period between raids and thus run, say, 12 of the new raid in a row to get that item you want. They also remove all motive to continue playing because you can get what you want in a day...if you spend the cash. That cash became moot with duping. Buy 1 raid bypass timer and copy it into the thousands. Rinse/repeat with the rare raid crafting items for the best gear. Again, removes all motive to keep playing because the reward system for playing no longer exists. Turbine's punishment (a buddy duped and this was his): a 5-day ban, and you keep all your duped stuff. The dupe is now fixed but most people now have as much platinum as their accounts will allow them to hold. And bypass timers. And stat tomes. And dragon scales. And tokens. And...
    Expand
  9. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    Years after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rules ever seen in a video game. Tons of content, classes, items, dungeons, races, and stuff to do. The problem is the price. This "free to play" game may be the most expensive game ever made. To access the whole game-or at least experience all of theYears after launch, DDO remains one of the deepest MMO experiences out there, and can boast about one of the best adaptations of the D&D rules ever seen in a video game. Tons of content, classes, items, dungeons, races, and stuff to do. The problem is the price. This "free to play" game may be the most expensive game ever made. To access the whole game-or at least experience all of the classes, races, and dungeons--you would have to spend well over $1500. And there would still be many things left to purchase. The option to grind for in-game money is a sick joke, and would take tens of thousands of hours to unlock even a fraction of the game. It is hard to recommend this game, even though I really want to. Expand
  10. Jul 16, 2012
    2
    What you only need to do to accept quests, go to dungeons and complete it in the begin of the game. This is absolutely booring. Graphics not good, sounds okay and have booring storyline. Not really have PvP, can't crafting, no have auction house and no have mounts. Some places have invisible walls. Who love dungeons try it, who not like, search for another MMORPG game. DDO is a Free toWhat you only need to do to accept quests, go to dungeons and complete it in the begin of the game. This is absolutely booring. Graphics not good, sounds okay and have booring storyline. Not really have PvP, can't crafting, no have auction house and no have mounts. Some places have invisible walls. Who love dungeons try it, who not like, search for another MMORPG game. DDO is a Free to Play MMORPG, so you can try it for free. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. It is a great game, matching in spirit the pen and paper version.
  2. It hits on almost every front. Present are the adventure elements of high fantasy, the mysterious magical elements of the war-torn world of Eberron, and the deep-rooted numerical elements.
  3. Sure, there are flaws and the lack of any soloing capability, the occasional difficulty in finding groups, as well as the apparent slowness of levelling get irritating, but they're nothing in the face of what it does properly.