Dust: An Elysian Tail Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 463 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Immerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning itsImmerse yourself in a gorgeous hand-painted world on a search for your true identity. As the mysterious warrior, Dust, your action-packed journey will take you from peaceful glades to snowy mountaintops and beyond. At your disposal is the mythical Blade of Ahrah, capable of turning its wielder into an unstoppable force of nature, and the blade's diminutive guardian, Fidget. Battle dozens of enemies at once with an easy-to-learn, difficult-to-master combat system, take on a variety of quests from friendly villagers, discover ancient secrets and powerful upgrades hidden throughout the massive, open world, and uncover the story of an ancient civilization on the brink of extinction as you fight to uncover your own past. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    Dust is energetic like a tornado. It has its artistic touch to it. This gem is like the best of the video games history, to shine upon the present days. [Issue#232]
  2. Jun 2, 2013
    90
    There's great gameplay, graphics, music, and heart here, and I have no reservations whatsoever in wholeheartedly recommending it to anyone that enjoys these kinds of games.
  3. May 28, 2013
    86
    An absolutely must-have for any PC user. This adventure is an eye-popping effort, with tons of frenetic battles, exploration and fun.
  4. May 27, 2013
    80
    The PC version is also an excellent port, offering a steady framerate, crisp visuals and well-established controls. If you missed out on this grand adventure when it was on the Xbox 360, here’s the perfect opportunity to fix that.
  5. Jun 4, 2013
    79
    It’s a bit rough around the edges but the smooth action, beautiful visual design and engrossing story made Dust a trip to Elysium for me.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    79
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 8, 2013
    79
    Highly entertaining, substantial and a visual treat but with a slight whiff of Gorgonzola in the story department.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 106
  2. Negative: 5 out of 106
  1. May 25, 2013
    10
    This game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic andThis game is everything you could want in an action rpg. Dust has an amazing art style with fluid, engaging combat. The music is fantastic and the voice acting is some of the best I've ever heard.

    The story line is really fresh and makes you feel very sympathetic to it's characters. Not often am I impressed by a game this much. I would highly recommend this game. A game this polished, creative and entertaining to not be played would be a crime.
    Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    Dust an Elysian Tail may be rough here and there, and I admit I hated certain sgements, but looking back at the whole adventure, this isDust an Elysian Tail may be rough here and there, and I admit I hated certain sgements, but looking back at the whole adventure, this is easily one of the best games out there, and a shining example of how a PC game truly should be. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is a great game. Its one of the very few that kept giving me goose bumps. Every quest as well as the side quest is a pleasure to completethis is a great game. Its one of the very few that kept giving me goose bumps. Every quest as well as the side quest is a pleasure to complete because of the characters and the interesting things they would say. And well Fidget, she is hard to explain but is a really loveable companion. I've never really gotton any connection to any enemy before but the first boss is one of my top fav character in the game. It does has some majior glitch at times, i havent noticed on pc except half the screen get cut off in the title for a bit, and for the xbox it does crashes to home screen. just save multiple times for different slots like an elder scrolls game and if you see a power up that your supposed to get that is not there. i'm sorry but new game or reload a save file that doesn't have that problem. so far ive had to new game once. This is really a good game. Better then muramasa in my opinion. Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    10
    Take a slice of Metroidvania, take a side of Secret of Mana, throw them in a pot with a dash of Devil May Cry style combat (or perhaps anTake a slice of Metroidvania, take a side of Secret of Mana, throw them in a pot with a dash of Devil May Cry style combat (or perhaps an Arcsys fighter, after all dust DOES seem to wield his sword like Sol), and you've got the inspiration behind Dust. This game takes what made the greatest classics of the 16 and 32 bit era what they were and upgrades that formula with modern design sensibilities and high definition art. As if the strong features of the actual game itself aren't enough, at a paltry 15 dollars it's an ambitious success that you'd have to be foolish to overlook, even as a budget minded gamer, and make no mistake: This is one very well executed port that feels like it belonged on PC in the first place.

    The story itself reminds us of a time when the fantasy genre in video games wasn't desperately clinging to the coattails of Tolkien or drenched in angst and J Pop style, and the gameplay teaches us the valuable lesson that designs of the past are still relevant and can be improved upon. Bright, whimsical storybook fantasy story and characters that yet manage to be woven seamlessly into a serious and perhaps tragic story are found alongside straightforward and gripping gameplay that does nothing to divert the player from the goals laid out in front of them. In short, Dust makes up a sleek and well assembled package that shows far more polish and planning than you'd expect of a big name let alone indie.

    Like Bastion or perhaps Cave Story, it's a throwback to days long gone, improving upon the strong foundation left behind in such a way that it begs the player to question why such things were ever abandoned to begin with. If this was a game you found yourself watching and waiting for on PC, make no delay in picking it up, it really is a no brainer purchase. It is a game that will suck you in, though, so be warned: You may want to put aside some time for it.
    Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    One of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty graduallyOne of the best games I played this year. The adventure is great, nice music and voices, and fast-paced combat. The difficulty gradually changes, and you get better items to fight the harder monsters, so you dont need to waste hours grinding
    The game is not expensive, and really worth buying
    Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2015
    9
    A thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money andA thoroughly fun adventure through an anthropomorphic world with seemingly endless combos and enchanted swords. Well worth the money and another notch on the belt of fantastic indie games. A bit of a button masher but if you loved Odin Sphere for PS2 you will absolutely love this game. Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2016
    0
    GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok.....GREAT GAME is what i would say if i was dummmb i hate dust theAMAZINGN BILKO FOREVERR LOLLO te worst game I hate dust!?!?! meh game is ok..... just KIDDING llolol Expand

See all 106 User Reviews