Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    70
    A good strategic RPG, with some pretty ideas, but it lacks a clear interface and some design choices undermine the final result.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    70
    In all honesty, forgoing the campaign mode and jumping straight in a skirmish might be a better proposition.
  3. May 8, 2013
    70
    A strategy game perfectly suited for the experienced gamers who are not afraid of complex gaming mechanics along with their complicated combination, and for those who are also willing to work out its confusing interface, and to wait for several annoying bugs to be removed.
  4. May 16, 2013
    65
    Eador: Masters of the Broken World is laden with good ideas and myriad reasons for strategy nuts to go... well, nuts, but for every compliment I could pay it, there's a caveat. Strange design choices and a serious lack of polish mars the things it does so very well. For a while, I couldn't even play the damn thing it was so unstable. Crashes every few minutes, and a bug around every corner made it not worth my time.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    60
    Eador: Masters of the Broken World has a lot going for it, but it buries a lot of its strong points under layers of monotony and frustration. It is a tough, but not impossible, game to recommend. If you are a hard core PC turn-based strategy junkie, your options or rather limited.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 62
  2. Negative: 20 out of 62
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    This is a great little gem for anyone who likes HoMM, King's Bounty, Crusader Kings etc. kind of games. There's a lot of depth to the gameplayThis is a great little gem for anyone who likes HoMM, King's Bounty, Crusader Kings etc. kind of games. There's a lot of depth to the gameplay mechanics and the graphics, music and atmosphere in the game is nice.

    I've played 7 hours into the game so far and have not experienced a single crash or freeze. The devs are comitted to making this game the best that it can be with regular patches so there's no reason not to dive into Eador. I'm happy that I bought the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic turn based game which easily rivals (and beats) fallen enchantress and the latest HOMMs. Where both of those games mayThis is a fantastic turn based game which easily rivals (and beats) fallen enchantress and the latest HOMMs. Where both of those games may have interesting aspects, one of the cornerstones of strategy games is the need for depth and size, which Eador definitely delivers.
    I have no idea where the extremely negative reviews are coming from and can only assume that they were either paid for by the competition or that that the players have ridiculously high standards. I never experienced any of the problems the negative reviewers experienced. Although it does lack a bit of polish (mainly in terms of some graphical issues and very minor bugs) this is incredible for a $20 game, especially considering the huge size of the game (think days not hours!) and is much better than the horribly overpriced Fallen Enchantress/HOMM
    .
    The amount of building options and units is huge, especially combined with the random events and exploration the fights are very HOMM3 style, but with a lot more options and variety (such as terrain differences and more RPG style equipment and levelling). The writing is funny and interesting, and the graphics are very good with an interesting and competent enough AI to not get bored.

    My only reasons for not giving it a 10 is that it is slightly buggy in parts, but mostly it suffers from a slightly confusing interface design which takes a bit of getting used to/figuring out (although really not that much). The campaign was also obviously a bit of an afterthought, but it hardly ever a focus of such games so I can't mark it too negatively on that alone.

    Overall, well worth a buy!
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    The game has a fantastic RPG system and is a very close recreation of Eador: Genesis. Better graphics make this game more appealing to theThe game has a fantastic RPG system and is a very close recreation of Eador: Genesis. Better graphics make this game more appealing to the mainstream crowd. WIth that said, the game at release is very buggy. The developers appear to be patching it daily though, so in a couple weeks this game would be very worth purchasing. It is a masterpiece. Full Review »