Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 28, 2011
    70
    Edna & Harvey: The Breakout is very much a mixed bag. Its distinctive art style is marred by a problematic interface. Its massive wealth of interactivity is hindered by a handful of vastly unfair puzzles. Its imaginative setting is dragged down by long, often tedious dialogues. Still, it's a game I'm glad I played, and that's mainly because the underlying story about a girl who's lost her way is so touching.
  2. 60
    A crazy old-school adventure game where you can see it was done out of love and not for money. [Mar 2011]
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    60
    Clever, endearing and fun to play, probably slightly overpriced. Beware of the ending, though. [Apr 2011, p.57]
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    60
    The frequent hit-and-miss nature of the gameplay and the irritating technical problems will probably chase a lot of adventure gamers away. Still, if you don't mind all the issues with the game, you're in for a interesting story and a whole cast of kooky characters.
  5. Feb 21, 2011
    60
    We wouldn't put this too close to the top of the pile. [Issue#106, p.120]
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    50
    But as much as I'm certain I should be warning you off this bizarre, broken thing, I can't quite bring myself to do it. Clearly, if they'd localised it properly, fixed the numerous bugs, and made it in an engine that remembers John Major as Prime Minister, the score would go up significantly.
  7. Apr 23, 2011
    41
    What's just not funny becomes sandpaper pants irritating when delivered in broken English. [May 2011, p.97]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    The graphics of "Edna & Harvey: The Breakout" definitely take some getting used to but in the end the comic-look fits the setting perfectly.The graphics of "Edna & Harvey: The Breakout" definitely take some getting used to but in the end the comic-look fits the setting perfectly. The game offers crazy characters, quirky dialogs, whacked-out puzzles and a story which takes more than one unexpected turn. Outstanding: Edna passes a unique comment on almost any action you take during the game.
    Despite the cartoonish graphics this game is not suited for kids.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 30, 2014
    6
    I'm finding it difficult to rate this game. On the one hand I want to give it 10/10 for story but 3/10 for the sheer illogicalness of theI'm finding it difficult to rate this game. On the one hand I want to give it 10/10 for story but 3/10 for the sheer illogicalness of the puzzles (many are nigh impossible to figure out without a walkthrough) which really interrupts the flow of the story a lot. There is also a LOT of backtracking in the middle half of the story which gets old really fast.

    Another thing about the game I really liked were the voices... solid 10/10. There's also plenty of comedic situations in there. The graphics are good and suit the story/atmosphere. Didn't like the load times though. For a game with 2D backgrounds, the load times are sometimes several seconds for some odd reason.

    Most of the problems with this game were fixed in the sequel, so I highly recommend playing it (Harvey's New Eyes).
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    If you are a fan of adventure games then you should definitely try Edna & Harvey: The Breakout, because it has somewhat unique: the originalIf you are a fan of adventure games then you should definitely try Edna & Harvey: The Breakout, because it has somewhat unique: the original comment for the every combination of items you can find in the game. And not just for the combinations but also for all interactions. My style of playing was actually to enter the new location and try to talk to every single item there. And all the dialogs, texts are very funny and meaningful. Firstly I wanted to skip this part and just start playing the sequel first (Edna & Harvey: Harvey's New Eyes). But actually I was disappointed by it after the first one.
    The story itself is very good and intriguing till the last moments and the graphics which seem too simple at first are just good for the madness that rules around you. The puzzles may sometimes get weird, but well it's a weird game you know.
    The soundtrack is brilliant. I often listen to it after finishing the game. I read few times that english voice isn't very good, but it seems to be the early version and the final one looks very good for me though I'm not a native English speaker.
    Anyway, I strongly recommend at least to try it.
    P.S. And the story about the creation of the game which was actually started as a university project looks very appealing.
    Full Review »