Eldritch Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Eldritch is a 1st-person action game inspired by roguelikes, immersive sims, and H. P. Lovecraft. Unearth ancient secrets and find your path to freedom. Sneak, fight, and explore strange worlds. Invoke mystical powers to augment your play style. Randomly generated levels provide fresh challenges and opportunities. Unlock shortcuts to jump directly to deeper dungeons. [Minor Key Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    Even in this initial release, even after a dozen hours of review play, I don't feel bored with Eldritch.
  2. Jan 14, 2014
    83
    Part Minecraft, part Lovecraft, all cry in the corner-craft. Bring clean underwear. [Feb 2014, p.78]
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    80
    Eldritch is brutally tough until you learn it, and then settles down to be pleasantly challenging, It’s a big random first-person dungeon crawl dripping with atmosphere, evil and fun in equal measure, and as a bonus you get to be a librarian reigning in the power of dark tomes of terrible knowledge.
  4. Eldritch is a punishing difficult game that tests a player’s ability to survive in a Lovecraft-inspired world.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    78
    This game has surely glimpsed the Necronomicon, and while the blood-curdling rituals may not bewitch you for years to come, it's a delightful cantrip to enchant you for a fortnight or so.
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    77
    Eldritch's various components tend to work quite well on their own, and create most of a great Roguelike. But the speed and arbitrary nature of death means that the crazy desperate stories of near-death (or death) that make other games in the genre so memorable are unlikely to occur.
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    Such well-executed atmosphere and level design could greatly improve with just a few tweaks to the items and systems. [Nov 2013, p.86]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing! Even for the cute graphics, the sound design and randomness of the game makes it terrifying! Hell, i made an account just to review this! The only problem is: There is so little weapons, on;y about 5 or 6, but other than that, the game has a lot of potential and since it just came out, the there is a big chance the devs will add more to It! Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Please keep in mind thus is my very first review. Thanks.

    Eldritch is an indie rougelikelike developed by minir key games. You wake up as a
    librairian stuck in a library, and before you are 3 books, every.book takes you to a new world which you can explore, and fight monsters in. Athe end of every level is a soul. The soul for the first world opens another book/world. Thr game is mistly easy but there is a HUGE difficulty spike in the second level. The game is very low on content, and i wish to see more, but until now, Eldritch is enough yo satisfy my indie rougelike needs. Collapse
  3. Sep 24, 2014
    9
    Pretty fun rouge-like game. I'm a fan of the lovecraftian universe and the first time playing the Dagon dungeon was a lot of fun. When I got to Nyarlathotep dungeon, thinks got creepy as hell. Statues that are similar to the weeping angels and these things that keep coming back to life when you kill them.

    Overall the game is enjoyable and it's not very expensive. it's good entertainment at that price.
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    8
    This basically Minecraft on acid, with a warped feel that gets under your skin and makes it completely unique. I haven't really delved into it too much seeing as other games have grabbed me more but it's certainly hard to fault Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    You'll hear people call this a sort of minecraft clone, and yes, obviously it's the easiest comparison there is. What you need to decide for yourself is whether or not that's a bad thing. In my opinion, this is an enjoyable rogue-like sim that blends some Lovecrafian intrigue with a nice sense of exploration.

    I love Lovecraft, and while I think Minecraft is somewhat overrated, I have enjoyed that as well...so for me, this game was right up my alley. It was also relatively cheap compared to Minecraft, and while some MC mods might offer a similar narrative, Eldritch focuses on it entirely.
    Expand
  6. Oct 23, 2013
    7
    This is a decent roguelike dungeon crawling experience done pretty well in the Lovecraftian universe. The sneak mechanics work well and smooth. On the other hand, while the game emphasizes on versatility in the ability to play different styles that doesn't cut it well as the resources get scarce and the monsters stronger you're often left with no option but to sneak.

    There is not much to say about the graphics and the sound, they are not extraordinaire but they do their job.

    The part that isn't fun is the lack of loot and choice in weaponry, for a roguelike and such a broad universe there is very little in the sense of loot currency, 5 common items and about 10 equipment items some secret ones I only found one) and no character progression what-so-ever. And in the end you will find that only a few items, which are clearly more beneficial, make sense taking along.

    This game requires more content for it to feel complete, it's nice ...but it had more potential.
    Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2013
    1
    Well... where to begin? First off, the graphics is... well it could just as well been released as a free Minecraft mod. It looks like Minecraft, it smells like Minecraft. If you don't like Minecraft just like me, you will not like this one either. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews