Enclave PC

Enclave Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In an age long past, the rift was formed, decisively separating the lands of light and the plains of darkness by an impassable chasm. Over time the Enclave of light grew strong and prosperous, while those confined to war-ravaged plains of the outlands harbored nothing but hatred andIn an age long past, the rift was formed, decisively separating the lands of light and the plains of darkness by an impassable chasm. Over time the Enclave of light grew strong and prosperous, while those confined to war-ravaged plains of the outlands harbored nothing but hatred and jealousy. Now, after hundreds of years, the rift is closing, and it is only a matter of time before a full-scale war erupts. Enter the fantasy universe of Enclave where the eternal struggle between good and evil rages, and your actions will determine the fate of a nation. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Play Magazine
    90
    Enclave on PC is illegally beautiful; in fact, I'd venture to say it ranks among PC's best-looking ever if you have the power to run it optimally. What a shame and horrible oversight that it doesn't allow you to use a control pad of any kind. [June 2003, p.58]
  2. The PC version of Enclave has a much tighter control scheme then compared to the Xbox version.
  3. The game is fun, with great environments, fun weapons, tight controls, and quirky enemies.
  4. This fun is tempered by the frustration created by the lack of mid-mission saves, surprise death traps, and a combat system which makes a challenging game even more difficult.
  5. Beyond the graphics, Enclave isn’t particularly anything special. The plotline is such a shallow hash that you don’t end up feeling anything for the characters, which are unlikely to evoke the sort of empathy (or major motion pictures) of, say, Lara Croft.
  6. 73
    A technical demonstration gone horribly awry when it came time to lay in the gameplay that would make it all truly epic.
  7. Computer Gaming World
    30
    Twenty to 30 hours of gameplay, and not a single one of them worth a damn. [July 2003, p.84]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    This is an underrated gem. The controls are fixed (compared to the Xbox version), and that improves the game overall, leaving intact theThis is an underrated gem. The controls are fixed (compared to the Xbox version), and that improves the game overall, leaving intact the excellent level design, physics, graphics, and gameplay that already grace the PC version. Expand
  2. Akkmutd
    Apr 30, 2003
    10
    Challenging... ... Especially attempts to grab all the golds & survive!
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    A great game that reminds me why I love the action/adventure genre. The graphics are great, the premise is unique, the gameplay is solid, andA great game that reminds me why I love the action/adventure genre. The graphics are great, the premise is unique, the gameplay is solid, and there's a sense of exploration from trying to find the hidden stashes of gold. Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2015
    6
    A real classical game, can't believe this was created by Starbreeze Studios! My favorite game company. The game is really good on firstA real classical game, can't believe this was created by Starbreeze Studios! My favorite game company. The game is really good on first impressions, I like that there are two campaigns. Light and Dark, I highly recommend first time players play it on Easy, as you can die allot! On the whole, the game is really cool, a great RPG experience

    But I must warn you, that the game is really glitchy and really put me off with all of its bugs and glitches, and the game can get pretty boring quickly, so, if you like RPG games like this with some clunky mechanics and glitches, then this is the game for you, if on the other hand, you like RPG's but you want a good solid game, then this game is not for you
    Expand
  5. JohnM.
    Nov 26, 2007
    6
    I would've given this a solid 8 if not for the typical lazy console port job. Lack of any sort of quicksave is inexcusable on PC, and I would've given this a solid 8 if not for the typical lazy console port job. Lack of any sort of quicksave is inexcusable on PC, and these days it shouldn't be tolerated on consoles either. I'll never understand the stupidity of most console developers. Which one of these ruins the immersiveness and flow of a game more: being able to hit F5 to save anywhere you want, then F7 to load, or having to replay the exact same level, doing the exact same thing, over and over until you hit some checkpoint or end the level? Pretty obvious to me. Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2015
    6
    A game that is surprisingly enjoyable even though old with ugly old graphics. Not bad at all for a game I got for 50cents. If you don't mindA game that is surprisingly enjoyable even though old with ugly old graphics. Not bad at all for a game I got for 50cents. If you don't mind ugly graphics and rather sub par combat you're likely to enjoy it.

    Has a variety of characters that you can play each mission with though at first you only start with 1 character and get more as you progress. It's important to collect as much gold as possible as in between missions you use it to upgrade characters with better weapons and armour.

    And there are two campaigns to play light and dark.

    Swapping weapons is so slow. And blocking doesn't seem to work well.
    Sure it's not perfect but I still find it fun and enjoyable.
    It's still an ok game better than some triple A titles.
    Expand
  7. Jok`RdeMo
    Mar 22, 2003
    1
    One word - CONSOLE. If you like PS2 or X-BOX, then U will like this, but every self respecting PC gamer will hate this game. I gave it one One word - CONSOLE. If you like PS2 or X-BOX, then U will like this, but every self respecting PC gamer will hate this game. I gave it one point only because of graphics, everything else sux. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews