Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. Jul 12, 2012
    82
    The deep size of the game makes Endless Space a product that will not be everyone's cup of tea. However, it's hard to ignore its addictive nature.
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    77
    A slick interface allows you to easily govern an entire empire and to direct its people like a crafty strategist would move chess pieces. The game misses tactical and diplomatic depth, but this is what an excellent spreadsheet program might look like!
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    90
    In my mind, I do understand that Endless Space is not without its flaws. But the mere sight of such a coherent space strategy game is mesmerizing.
  4. 85
    Endless Space is a tribute to intelligent design and meticulous polish, offering endless hours of micro management goodness on all fronts. Whether you are duking it out against an accomplished AI in the games single player or vying for cultural dominance online, this 4X turn based wonder accommodates all levels of experience and play styles, providing countless sessions of entertainment for newbies and pros alike.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Proven mechanics and nice graphics make Endless Space a game enjoyable not only for 4X enthusiasts, but also for everyone else. [10/2012, p.71]
  6. 82
    No two games will ever be exactly the same, and the experience is basically the same online as off. If you enjoy what's happening here, there's no reason to ever stop playing.
  7. 79
    Ultimately, Endless Space can be a fun experience, even though I disliked the superficial combat mechanics and the skinny tech-tree. Yet the game's biggest problem is the low replay value, with each game being eerily similar to the previous one, which is not a very bright point for a 4x strategy.
  8. Aug 20, 2012
    90
    The highlight of the game by far is exploitation.
  9. Aug 7, 2012
    70
    If you like turn based strategy games and want one that takes place in space then Endless Space can surely scratch that itch.
  10. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    It's a must for anyone looking to experience the genre for the first time; it's very newcomer friendly, but old hats might find it a bit wanting. Its longevity may also be increased by the multiplayer mode, but I personally don't have the patience for all these people who take far too long to take their turn. On the whole, it's more than worthy of your interest.
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    It's all horribly addictive. You're compelled to keep clicking that "end turn" button one more time, inching closer to an interlocking web of different goals, watching your domain grow and spread, star systems turning from neutral grey to your chosen faction colour as you go.
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    73
    Endless Space is far from a disaster despite its bad AI and unfortunate micromanagement issues, with excellent online play making it one of the better multiplayer turn-based strategy games around. My decade-and-a-half wait for the space empire savior continues, though.
  13. Jul 5, 2012
    90
    I could honestly write a thousand words more on what makes Endless Space so much more addicting and absorbing than the bulk of its contemporaries. Visually, it's detailed and opulent where it needs to be, yet simple and clean everywhere else. It makes its voluminous level of complexity accessible with a terrific interface which affords a pace and ease of management that few other games in the genre can match. But I'm not going to write those thousand more words, folks. I've got a galaxy that's waiting to be conquered, one more time.
  14. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Endless Space's gameplay is somewhat close to a board game. Conquest must be achieved with but one goal in mind, but you will not be able to excel if you have more than one strategy. Economy, diplomacy, military, scientific, whatever you choose, stick to it. It's only true shortcoming for the time being is a less-than-stellar AI that sometimes acts irrationally, and some mising multiplayer tools to better plan the experience.
  15. Feb 12, 2013
    70
    What it lacks in storytelling and script it gains in gameplay and in the way it can get awfully addictive.
  16. Oct 27, 2012
    80
    This is a fun and addictive space strategy game. It doesn't quite have the character of Master of Orion 2, but it offers intelligent gameplay, smart opponents and plenty of fun while you build your interplanetary empire. Well worth trying, for both hardcore and casual strategy gamers.
  17. Aug 24, 2012
    81
    We'd have loved more control over battles, but that's a minor blemish on an otherwise accomplished, incredibly well balanced strategy game. [Oct 2012, p.92]
  18. Aug 6, 2012
    60
    At first glance you see a nice strategy game that's been, however, dragged down by several design decisions that would possibly bring an international train into collapse, and I don't even talk about your wits and patience. Game's replayability goes hand in hand with immense frustration of uneven gameplay.
  19. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    Endless Space is a relentlessly difficult sci-fi strategy game, challenging your intelligence at every turn.
  20. Jul 6, 2012
    70
    Endless Space easily earns a strong recommendation to fans of this genre. But I also can't quite call it a great game, because it lacks the flavor that makes games like Alpha Centauri, Sins of a Solar Empire, or Civilization so great.
  21. Jul 19, 2012
    70
    As a turn-based space sim, Endless Space is essentially preaching to the choir. Its pacing, minimal story and lack of ground-level interaction isn't going to bring any new gamers to the fold (lightning-fingered StarCraft fans, stay far away). Luckily, the game gets big charm out of its aesthetics and what little writing it does have, and the core gameplay is balanced and nuanced.
  22. Jul 10, 2012
    82
    For a first game it's surprisingly complex, challenging and motivating.
  23. Jul 18, 2012
    90
    There's no denying, that Amplitude Studios' debut is spot on. There's epicness and complexity that make the player use tactical thinking, teach management, panience and provr that war isn't always the key to victory. Despite a few setbacks, Endless Space is a very well made, relaxing game. It's no revolution but clearly shows that 4X games won't be forgotten.
  24. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    A smart, polished and intelligent game of countless permutations. Its strength lies in how carefully and how cleverly it's balanced, as well as how it rewards all kinds of playing styles. We haven't seen a strategy game quite like this in a while.
  25. Jul 11, 2012
    80
    Veterans of this game type will rightly nit-pick at aspects of the combat, lack of espionage diplomacy options (this one does hurt a bit) and certain AI behaviours, but there should be no argument that Endless Space is one of the best 4X titles to appear for a good long while. It hasn't quite delivered the incredible potential it offers; but it's tantalizingly close.
  26. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    At the end of the day, you can't find any big problems that could waste your game experience of Endless Space. Some might say that the battles aren't spectacular enough, the IA is too basic, or the graphic engine is very demanding. But it's nothing if you look at the long nights you'll spent managing your galactic empire. For this price, do not hesitate. End turn.
  27. 30
    It works but it's more of an "MS Excel strategy" than a regular game – controls are minimalistic and the motivation to game is absent. [Sept 2012]
  28. Jul 10, 2012
    70
    A hugely ambitious space strategy that rivals even Civilization in terms of presentation and addiction - despite a few rogue elements.
  29. Jul 23, 2012
    80
    A well made turn base strategy game. It only lacks some depth in battles, and the AI is not that brilliant, but you can always realy on the multiplayer. And it has some nice graphics and menus.
  30. Sep 10, 2012
    82
    A space strategy game that streamlines empire-building better than any other. Combat and AI could be better. [Nov 2012, p.70]
  31. Aug 31, 2012
    84
    Witnessing my armada nearing their home planet, the Sophons desperately try to buy peace, offering 'earth and water'. Woe to them! A few turns later, the race of the Sophons is wiped clean from the map and the United Empire controls most of the galaxy, the friendly Amoeba Empire being the only competitor. I have no reasons to attack. They have behaved and show no aggressive attentions. But their territory stops me from painting the universe with the colors of the Empire. My ships slowly move to their borders. Yes, now I completely understand the villains who want to conquer the world. [September 2012]
  32. Jul 31, 2012
    90
    Jumping out of nowhere with a confidence that beggars belief, Endless Space is galactic strategy at its best. [Aug 2012, p.54]
  33. Oct 14, 2012
    83
    Master of Orion still retains its throne, but Endless Space with its enticing atmosphere and fluid gameplay is one of the best 4X games in recent years. [Sept 2012]
  34. Jul 23, 2012
    80
    Endless Space may not push any boundaries or possess much 'wow' factor, but it's a very enjoyable 4X strategy game, set in a rich and diverse science-fiction universe that begs exploration.
  35. Jul 17, 2012
    80
    Endless Space smooths over a lot of the issues typical to 4x space, but it also bulldozes perhaps a bit much in the combat.
  36. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Endless Space offers a very addictive experience that will keep you playing till deep in the night. It has a few flaws and it does nothing spectacular but other than that it's still a great game.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 424 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 155
  2. Negative: 31 out of 155
  1. Jul 6, 2012
    8
    A great game, but there is a lack of depth when you reach high-level play. It's still a lot of fun though, I suggest purchasing it.

    This
    game is easy to learn, and easy to master. Don't get me wrong, it's amazingly fun to play. Even if you've never played a 4X game before, I can guarantee you will like this game. Nevertheless, once you grasp the basic mechanics, Endless space is not quite as deep as it seems. Combat/ship design is rather rock/paper/scissors-ish. Upon colonizing a new system, I will always build the same improvements over and over again. Diplomacy is rather simple. There are very few ways to play this game, but somehow it's still very enjoyable. The GUI is amazing, and tooltips make the game very approachable. The game is actually quite beautiful. Whenever I start a game, it is very difficult to stop playing.

    This game is both enjoyable and addictive, although is very simple gameplay-wise. If you buy it, you won't regret it. Just don't expect deep strategies or tactics. You will use the same strategy EVERY TIME.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 6, 2012
    6
    I am surprised at the number of 10's this game is getting. It's not a bad 4X game, but its not an outstanding one either. The combat system is bit pot luck, and the lack of ingame info is very frustrating. I get the feeling we will see more features as the game gets patched. Full Review »
  3. Jul 14, 2012
    2
    The Steam video was impressive, lots of action, the promise of a really good space adventure comparable to Masters of Orion from years back. I bought the Deluxe version with the Dreadnaught and off I went to play... end turn... end turn... end turn... end turn... end turn... The strategy is limited to researching terraforming techniques to inhabit other systems in a land grab, then building endless numbers of disposable ships to wage a 'rock, paper, scissor' battle where the resolution is painfully simplistic and offers little for interaction to the outcome. The races are somewhat different technically, but offer no real interaction that makes Amoeba's different from the Humans. No voice overs, no videos, very 1990's interaction. Shipbuilding is limited to an 'auto-upgrade' feature, anything less and you are not effectively utilizing the capacity/firepower ratio that ultimately determines victory or defeat. If you are looking for a fun space adventure game, keep looking. $34.99 wasted, I've seen better facebook games that do the same thing, for free. Full Review »