Enemy Territory: Quake Wars PC

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 231
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Emil
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    Biggest plus for this game...maps will not get boring. So many different tactics to use. Longevity = Very very high!
  2. SvenF.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Big, fast, intelligent teamwork action. pure fun.
  3. DickC.
    Oct 7, 2007
    10
    Best multiplayer FPS in years. The level design, class balance, and sheer amount of tactical choices is staggering. It's Wolfenstein Enemy Territory's objective game play on steroids. The deployables add a RTS element that no other MP FPS has achieved. ETQW takes old school FPS shooting skill and new era team based strategy games to a new level. Graphics are good but not mind Best multiplayer FPS in years. The level design, class balance, and sheer amount of tactical choices is staggering. It's Wolfenstein Enemy Territory's objective game play on steroids. The deployables add a RTS element that no other MP FPS has achieved. ETQW takes old school FPS shooting skill and new era team based strategy games to a new level. Graphics are good but not mind blowing. On maximum settings, they will not disappoint unless you're the most jaded of graphics whores, and expect it to compete with Crysis. But unlike that game, it doesn't require SLI 8800GTX to look good and perform well. The lighting on levels like Island and the Ark is breath taking. The sound effects are great but the voice overs are intentionally campy, so that point is lost on some. But the most important element, gameplay, has been polished to perfection. Watch the game trailers.com video review for an idea of what to expect. Take the ridiculously low (3,4,5) user scored reviews with a grain of salt. Typical complaints include "too confusing" and "too fast". Hardcore and casual players a like will love this game. Nothing has as much excitement. No other game gives you this much sense of accomplishment when you manage to diffuse a bomb with 10 seconds left in the match, or conversely hack the final objective for your team taking all the glory. I used to love simple CTF type games, but not anymore. They're all so boring compared to ETQW. And the best part is it's just beginning. This series has extensive community and mod support. I can't wait to see what next year will bring to this game. Do yourself a favor and register on the official community forum and find out why you need to buy this game ASAP. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 7, 2007
    9
    I think Peter K. summed it up best in his review when he said, "Not outstanding in any single category, but it comes together as a solid team, objective-based shooter. A great sequel to Wolfenstien:ET and better than any other team FPS out there - hands down". In my opinion it's not quite as high as a 9 but it's definitely higher than an 8. I think it deserves something around I think Peter K. summed it up best in his review when he said, "Not outstanding in any single category, but it comes together as a solid team, objective-based shooter. A great sequel to Wolfenstien:ET and better than any other team FPS out there - hands down". In my opinion it's not quite as high as a 9 but it's definitely higher than an 8. I think it deserves something around an 8.5 so I'll round it up to a 9. Expand
  5. KaskaM.
    Mar 3, 2008
    10
    Best MP game I played.
  6. PatrickB.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    Must be the best online teamwork first shooter game of the moment!!
  7. RobertoO.
    Apr 2, 2008
    9
    Excellent multiplayer FPS shooter. Much more in depth than CS:S and CoD4 and much more action packed than the Battlefield games. Definitely a game that requires more skill than most FPS which might put some people off who want to be at the top 5 minutes after playing it.
  8. MathieuR
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    Very fun. I think it gives Battlefield 2 a run for it's money. You may have to switch classes a lot, but otherwise very fun. Requires a decent PC.
  9. Dalek
    Aug 3, 2009
    10
    This game is really fun! I remember playing this at a LAN before on the demo, great fun. I played the demo alot to. The graphics are ok for 2007, but they could had done better. The missions are fun so you don't need to do the same thing over and over. Online: It is fun, the players aren't impossible to kill like in CS 1.6 - there are some Quake 3 sounds in there to.
  10. arnysirplus
    Sep 9, 2009
    9
    No game gets a 10 - but playing GDF with a good team on your side totally rocks - awesome.
  11. RobertD.
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    Best game that I've played plus better than the other battlefield games.
  12. Alex
    Oct 10, 2007
    9
    Maybe the best multiplayer fps game. A must for every fan of the quake series who wants more than deathmatch.
  13. TillG.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Its a fast Team Shooter. Nice Missions, Nice Graphics and very nice Gameplay.
  14. DaveH.
    Oct 31, 2007
    9
    Amazing in general, the game exceeds all that I thought it would. The AI are brilliant so even when you are not playing online, you still have a challenge if you so choose it! A Must Get!
  15. KG
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    As of October 2007 this is the best Multiplayer First Person Shooter currently available. The graphics are just awesome. Megatextures create snowcapped peaks and incredible lush green valleys the way the artist originally intended. Draw distances are unmatched by any game besides Armed Assault. Shader effects are used heavily and to good effect. Sound is also excellent, hard hitting and As of October 2007 this is the best Multiplayer First Person Shooter currently available. The graphics are just awesome. Megatextures create snowcapped peaks and incredible lush green valleys the way the artist originally intended. Draw distances are unmatched by any game besides Armed Assault. Shader effects are used heavily and to good effect. Sound is also excellent, hard hitting and appropriate. Vehicle and character models are well animated excepting the lack of ragdolls. In the great framerates you get with low end hardware justify this, but it's too bad you can't see your enemy flop down a hill after a railgun hit. You really have to pay attention to the sounds around you to stay alive. Gameplay is the area where Quake Wars utterly decimates its competition. Objective based campaigns are an incredible breath of fresh air compared to the capture the flag style games that have come before and look set to be coming soon. The varied classes and weapons, not to mention the several kinds of deployables create a high speed game of rock paper scissors that adds a whole metagame above the already satisfying raw shooting action. The objective style gameplay and many and varied styles of play can put people who like simpler one dimensional fare such as Battlefield or Team Fortress off, but in the end the player who likes to be challenged will love it. Expand
  16. BackDraft
    Oct 6, 2007
    9
    Seems like some people here have misplaced expectations about this game. This is an EVOLUTION of the Enemy Territory franchise, and only uses the Quake universe as a backdrop. This game takes may not a bit longer to pick up but when you do you will be having a blast. The graphics are fine for a game built on the Doom3 engine. It's nothing groundbreaking like Crysis but for a game Seems like some people here have misplaced expectations about this game. This is an EVOLUTION of the Enemy Territory franchise, and only uses the Quake universe as a backdrop. This game takes may not a bit longer to pick up but when you do you will be having a blast. The graphics are fine for a game built on the Doom3 engine. It's nothing groundbreaking like Crysis but for a game that has emphasis on gameplay you will be surprised how well they work. Check out this thread for some usermade in-game screenshots: http://community.enemyterritory.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6405 Overall, if you enjoyed the MP aspect of RTCW and Wolfenstein: ET, then you will enjoy this game. Expand
  17. EirikB.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    This is the perfect tactical online shooter - for those that like it fast! As a long-time fan of the original ET, I was very pleasantly surprised by how well QW maintained the gameplay from its predecessor, while still managing to have lots of new interesting gadgets, tactics, weapons - and vehicles; all of which add to the experience. Nothing is overpowered, and if a powerful threat is This is the perfect tactical online shooter - for those that like it fast! As a long-time fan of the original ET, I was very pleasantly surprised by how well QW maintained the gameplay from its predecessor, while still managing to have lots of new interesting gadgets, tactics, weapons - and vehicles; all of which add to the experience. Nothing is overpowered, and if a powerful threat is encountered, there are many, many ways to counter it. No more of the vehicle-whoring that the Battlefield series are known for! Give this a try! Expand
  18. JonT.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Having been a FPS fan and player for many years, I have to say this is quite possibly the most fun and the most engaging game I have ever played. Although at first things can seem a little confusing or daunting, given a little time, practice and education the game truly opens up and flourishes. It is a perfect follow up to Wolfenstein Enemy Territory and should not be confused as a follow Having been a FPS fan and player for many years, I have to say this is quite possibly the most fun and the most engaging game I have ever played. Although at first things can seem a little confusing or daunting, given a little time, practice and education the game truly opens up and flourishes. It is a perfect follow up to Wolfenstein Enemy Territory and should not be confused as a follow up to Quake, even if it does use the Quake universe as the basis for the game. Once you have established the basics of the game (point and shoot ;o) you will find yourself investigating the game further. Each team (GDF or Strogg) has a selection of classes to play as, following the same format as W:ET. This shifts the emphasis to team play as each team will require specific class characters to complete certain missions or objectives. There are differences between each side, but these should be explored and not read about on any forum/review. I will say however, I never expected playing as a Strogg would be so shocking...truly 'Mortyfying' ;o) Happy fraggin. Expand
  19. AnthonyW.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Awesome Game! Graphics Stunning, Great Game play and unique team balancing. Mega-Textures make a whole new environment and for iD it makes a new beginning to stunning games!
  20. ViktorL.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    Awesome game. The best teamwork game ever. Nice graphics, good sounds, and as I said, so AWESOME teamplay! Best FPS I ever seen!
  21. AndrewN.
    Apr 10, 2008
    10
    The new leader in the strategic online fbs market. Battlefield has lost its crown!
  22. QasimF.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    I am a huge Quake fan with owning all the other 4 + expansion packs wen i played this game I was like WOW!! its much betta dan battlefield and other mp games and i think its better than TF2 what a game its got everything u need good graphics intelligent AI this game is supererb and is very hard once u on on the hard levels.
  23. Chris
    Jun 10, 2008
    9
    This game's learning curve is a little steap and the tutorial doesn't help much in this regard either. This is a word of advice, get the game, study it in single player before going online or you'll think you made a mistake buying this. In the end it sums up to this: If you are like and thought Battlefield flag capturing system was crap and ruined the game, get this. It This game's learning curve is a little steap and the tutorial doesn't help much in this regard either. This is a word of advice, get the game, study it in single player before going online or you'll think you made a mistake buying this. In the end it sums up to this: If you are like and thought Battlefield flag capturing system was crap and ruined the game, get this. It draws people into areas and makes combat as beautifull and rewarding as it can get. Every class has it's role and every class is very fun to play. I'm giving it only an 8 because after the 1.5 patch, developers will not support the game anymore, furthermore, even if the tools are there, modding and creating maps for this game requires really talented people. Enjoy, I know I did! Expand
  24. CarlM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Simply one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences i've ever come across. Spend the time to get to know it, with practice this is game can be a very rewarding experience.
  25. noNameN
    Aug 24, 2008
    10
    Good game, Very good game, this FPS game I had played is AWESOME, but I hate it when the players show off and go solo then leave me alone and get killed by either sides btw GG
  26. DanM.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Well pretty much what i was expecting, great game, reminds me a lot of the Wallenstein enemy territory. Just lacking some of the original quake weaponry.
  27. A.Nonymous
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    Ironically, people who condemn this game as "too frantic" will most likely go on to play Halo 3, Battlefield 2 and Team Fortress 2. Not that those are necessarily bad games, but they surely cannot be described as placcid. With imaginative designs, specialised classes and intense firefights, Quake Wars is everything Battlefield 2142 wanted to be; inspiring.
  28. sha1dy.
    Oct 15, 2007
    10
    ET:QW is a best team MP game released this year.
  29. Cpt.Mike
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    Strategy is awesome, is really the first game to come around that actually forces teams to work together on a goal. I have become so bored with the shoot um up games that have no depth. This game builds camaraderie within your team to complete goals. Thanks ID for the terrific game.
  30. ScottF.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Excellent game. A lot of long term playability
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. A brilliant and immersive game...On the one hand you've got the sheer technical prowess and experience of id, and on the other you've got Splash Damage's intrinsic understanding of what makes a good online shooter. Together, you've got a game that could set a new benchmark for the genre. [Nov 2007, p.62]
  2. ETQW delivers plenty of fast-paced action, and nothing beats the feeling of finally breaking through firmly entrenched defenses. It's not the absolute best multiplayer game, but it's definitely worth playing.
  3. Edge Magazine
    80
    No other combat game has maps this lavish, or ambitiously designed. [Nov 2007, p.88]