Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 621 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Europa Universalis IV explores the world history in an experience crafted by Paradox Development Studio, the masters of Grand Strategy. The experiences of true exploration, trade, warfare and diplomacy will be brought to life in this epic title rife with rich strategic and tactical depth.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. 100
    The ultimate strategic simulator of an early modern history state with wide options for both success and failure. Do you want to unite Britain under Scotland, thwart the Spanish Reconquista or maintain the Inca empire? Suit yourself. [Issue#234]
  2. Aug 26, 2013
    95
    Paradox Development Studio has shown that it understands grand strategy like no other studio. Europa Universalis IV is the defining game in the genre, laying out the whole world in front of players and just letting them have at it. It's a polished, almost terrifyingly vast title that gets its hooks in you the moment you click on that first country, and simply refuses to let go.
  3. Aug 16, 2013
    90
    So, Paradox have done it again – learning from the design of Crusader Kings II, Europa Universalis is an excellent starting foundation.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    The newest installment in the “Europa Universalis” franchise is yet another evolutionary step forward. If you liked EU1 – EU3, you will want to pick this one up. If you are interested in grand strategy and you have not played it, you should pick up a copy. If only they could fix the combat system.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    How does it feel to lead a nation over a couple of centuries? As fascinating as it is frustrating. The handling is overly complicated, you can get overwhelmed by the most simple matters. But if you’re willing to invest time, you might just etch your name in history.
  6. Aug 27, 2013
    83
    Europa Universalis IV is the game of August for all the proud PC owners. Paradox Interactive wanted to give to his Grand Strategy game a fourth chapter that is even more refined.
  7. Aug 13, 2013
    70
    Europa Universalis IV is the game you graduate to when you’re tired of Civilization. That’s ultimately also why all those numbers are there, beneath the surface: because you never graduate away from Europa Universalis IV. It drops you in the deep end before you’re ready, but if you can swim back towards the shallows during those first five hours, you’ll unlock a game so rich, it’ll be helping you tell stories for years.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 147
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    WOW! For about ten years Paradox Development have been a small team of nice guys working hard to give us good games and mostly failing. Their games have been for the most part tedious, pretentious and ugly, with cluttered mechanisms, and hideous micromanagement. Most of the Paradox efforts suffered from terrible tutorials and ridiculous learning curved that discouraged any vaguely casual gamers. But beyond inaccessibility, the games were finally not that good, because even when you figured out the mechanisms they were still too MECHANICAL: not even really worth learning in the end because they were all variations of a sausage machine. However something miraculous happened with Crusaders Kings 2, and echoes of the good things we saw in earlier games (Hearts of Iron 2) reappeared: Better looking graphics. Simpler, yet DEEPER gameplay. The machine kept churning away but Paradox learned to save us from the worst of it, and the gameplay began to blossom. Europa Universalis IV seems to demonstrate that Paradox has really turned the corner. The game is beautiful. Gameplay is fluid. The depth and complication is welcome, but it has been softened with a more thoughtful and gaming friendly structure! GREAT WORK PARADOX! Good things take time, and your grand ambitions are finally bearing fruit. I'm very excited about where this will lead with the Hearts of Iron series, because all the design wisdom that we can see in CK2 and EU4 is leading in the absolute correct direction. If you love strategy gaming please go and buy this game and support this developer! This is a FAR, FAR superior game to Civilizations 1-5 as well as anything put out by Creative Assembly. It's been a long wait but worth it. Can't wait to see what we get when the final few pieces of the game design puzzle fall into place. If they get the budget to build something with a more solid multiplayer experience we will see the PERFECT game. Expand
  2. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    I think this is a niche game, and you must like this sort of complex games to actually enjoy it, but it is definitely The best game of its kind. The company’s attitude to its fans deserves its own praise. Expand
  3. JtW
    Aug 21, 2013
    10
    I am a Civilization fan dating back to Civilization I, and have played all the games in the series. Recently, the Brave New World expansion came out, and I loved it.

    However, I decided to pre-order Europa Universalis 4 as well (never having played the earlier versions of the game). And guess what? I cannot go back to Civilization anymore! I love the depth of this game: the learning curve is steep, but manageable with the tutorials. And once you start to get what's going on... Let's just say, I've played 16 hours straight on my first session.

    I also love painting alternative histories in my imagination while I play, and EU4 is just amazing for it.

    I am also impressed by the general polish of the game on release. I have only encountered one minor bug so far, and also very little balance issues.

    I wholeheartedly recommend this game to all strategy gamers.
    Expand
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    After about an hour of looking at the world map of 1444 all its factions, religions, diplomatic entanglements (alliances, etc) and more I was finally confident enough to choose my first starting nation.

    There is a lot going on in this game, don't let the simple graphics fool you. (Note: the demo is limited to Europe for some reason and makes the game appear smaller or simpler that it actually is.) Prepare to be educated if you've never played an EU game before, but I stuck it through and found that no two play-thrus are alike. Each play-thru is memorable and makes me want to go back and try a new strategy.

    The tutorial could have been more in depth it did not prepare me whatsoever for the intricacies of the game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    I only need 3 words to describe this masterpiece of a game; Gigantic, Beautiful and Addictive. This is a game that may not be for the weak of heart but once you get into it; damn, it's one of the best games you've ever played! Wanna do a campaign as the Ming empire? Sure... you can do that! Wanna unify Japan? Yep, you can do that too! This is a game where you can do pretty much everything! Strongly recommended! Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    By all means one of Paradox Development Studio's better games (Although I like them all really). They've made much-needed improvements in comparison to EU3 in most areas, and although there is some controversy over the monarch point system and to a lesser extent trade, it's definitely worth the money. The visuals and season system is one thing in particular that is quite nice which I wasn't expecting to enjoy as much as I did. I've yet to get the full enjoyment out of it after many hours. Expand
  7. Apr 10, 2014
    0
    Sadly, a lot of work was put into this game and I wanted hard to like it but no, it sucks. If civ5 is a little predictable, EU4 is soo random. EU4 is superior to civ5 as to diplomacy BUT: Constant clock watching and reading of mundane pop-ups of bad news. Very few units and buildings and 90% of that implies no visuals. Not to mention that the battles are devoid of any strategy besides terrain modifiers and adding generals and admirals (which is more of a choice than a strategy anyways). Overly hard, boring and complicated. Virtually no tutorials. Nice graphics though. Expand

See all 147 User Reviews