User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 213

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best "game" in the world. As ever, a reader should discard any review of a multiplayer game where the reviewer has failed to play the game with other people. Lo and behold, most of the negative reviews on this game are from people who start out saying "I spent a day figuring this game out" or "I couldn't get into it" or "who plays this piece of crap" or "I like the character creator herpderp". If you aren't willing to take the time to play a multiplayer game with multiple players, you've never played it. That's rule number zero. Rule number one is increasing reward for increased risk. With EVE, this is true ingame and out. Risk more time and more resources, put yourself out there and meet new people and you may well be rewarded with endless fun and the best gaming experience there is -- or your name might be googlebombed if you try to become an internet celebrity like The Mittani did. Risk your ship and your ISK and you might make it big, or you might get ganked on the way there. The trick is managing those risks. Rule number two: EVE can be modelled as one big series of prisoner's dilemmas. Is the chatty guy in local out to get you? At what point should you grab the loot accrued with your newfound friend and run? Are the people around you whom you have chosen to risk trusting going to take everything from you tomorrow, or while you sleep?

    Rule number three: specialize. Yes, there are people smarter than you who have been playing this game for almost a decade. Yes, you may never catch up to them. But skills work such that no one character has them all, and this is unlikely ever to happen as CCP grows the game. If you choose a niche or playstyle (do your research) and if you apply the resources to hand intelligently, and better yet if you team up with people you can trust, nothing can stand in your way. A corollary of this is specialist knowledge: don't hand out the tricks of your trade for free, or you won't be able to charge as much for them. And so, I leave the rest of the rules for you to discover. Here's a rubik's cube. Go **** yourself.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    A really milestone MMO. I'm playing it for more than 5 years and it does not became dull. I like it sci-fi style and sandbox mechanics. However since it is not theme park MMO you need to be able to put some effort in the game to make it fun.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    What can i say i started this buggy game back in 2002 yes 2002 beta stage even in 2d scale yes 2d, was the original eve online. But he the change it to 3D. So in short next year i play eve online 10 years.And no not 8 year break i payed all the 10 years now and play it full. That`s 1/3 of my life in it. Yes almost all my free time (now les because iam dad) Now back to the point. The gameWhat can i say i started this buggy game back in 2002 yes 2002 beta stage even in 2d scale yes 2d, was the original eve online. But he the change it to 3D. So in short next year i play eve online 10 years.And no not 8 year break i payed all the 10 years now and play it full. That`s 1/3 of my life in it. Yes almost all my free time (now les because iam dad) Now back to the point. The game is growing slow but still growing. The implant the new 3D station walk Well a 1 room place but still this crappy bugged space game have become one of the best game out there. Why iam saying this because it is. This is a very hard game very very hard to master. Even with this new guild wiki and more you need to practice allot. Don`t forget every one that say this game sucks is because of 3 things. 1 boring 2 not his standerd game 3 dont like space games. Yes indeed there are bugs still here and still not fixs but the are working hard to make this game user friendly and thats indeed happening. Its is easier to learn and play when back in my time 10 years ago. Dont get me wrong here people but you need to get patience if you dont have that dont try it. Because the boring will get you faster than you can think about it. Also just try the 14 days and play the tutorial and stay at your general corps and read help chat and ask help. People will try to help you. Now if you dont like the game in this 14 days dont play it wait till to make it easier for you. Have fun pilot. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Eve Online is a game that you like or don't. The graphics are nice and the art design is great. I loved the character customization and the variety of ships and roles. The space is amazing. There's this nice sense of seriousness when you talk about player formed corporations etc. But after these good sides the game went completedly downhill for me. The UI gets VERY frustrating, the font isEve Online is a game that you like or don't. The graphics are nice and the art design is great. I loved the character customization and the variety of ships and roles. The space is amazing. There's this nice sense of seriousness when you talk about player formed corporations etc. But after these good sides the game went completedly downhill for me. The UI gets VERY frustrating, the font is horrible and most of the time your screen is full of sh*t that you can't see anything. The game is NOT newbie friendly. The missions are way too complicated and boring. Nothing else than point, click and wait. I wasted 1 hour on trying to figure out how to do an air show mission, but I don't if it whether was bugged or something else but I just couldn't get through it. And the buggy controls and confusing space wont help anything. Also it feels like there's no one around. I just sometimes saw one another ship going somewhere, nothing special. Expand
  5. 232
    Mar 14, 2012
    10
    great game if ure an sci-fi fan and just suffer threw the long tutorial ^^ after that this game is sooo huge you can do almost any thing u want to do whit an ship, if u love space fights ul love this game, if u want pvp ul love this game, if u want pve ul lov this game, if u just want to be an dick an run around shoot down other ppl ships you will LOVE this game :D
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    I played this game a few years back, it was ok. With the new updates the game is a totaly new beast, the size of the world alone is more than enough to get you into the game. There is no level system it is all skill based, If you love MMORPGs as much as me, take it from a true gamer, this is one of the beast ones out there.
  7. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    Great game, sure some dislike the prospect of click and wait. But combat takes more skill. Click and wait 20 seconds for an hour or so to make a decent profit, as opposed to clicking every few seconds to kill creates in WoW or mine in Runescape? Immersive world, great community, brilliant strategy, legendary graphics for a world of its size. Every aspect of the game draws you in if youGreat game, sure some dislike the prospect of click and wait. But combat takes more skill. Click and wait 20 seconds for an hour or so to make a decent profit, as opposed to clicking every few seconds to kill creates in WoW or mine in Runescape? Immersive world, great community, brilliant strategy, legendary graphics for a world of its size. Every aspect of the game draws you in if you survive the first 5 or so hours of elarning the basics (which I doubt many of the negative commenter's did). A game not for a 13 year old Runescape addict, but for a mature gamer ready to use their head to win a fight rather than having the bigger numbers necessarily. Take the time to learn the game before you judge it, until you see through the click interface to the makings of something that will only improve with time. Expand
  8. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    TO BEGIN, i want to get the one fact that people get wrong about this game. Which is the skills... The skill training is RADICALLY different, and i know i can say that with much, uncontroversial, confidence. people also say that this makes people pay more, or makes them stay and pay real money to learn skills for years. this is TOTALLY FALSE, in the fact that they are not trying to takeTO BEGIN, i want to get the one fact that people get wrong about this game. Which is the skills... The skill training is RADICALLY different, and i know i can say that with much, uncontroversial, confidence. people also say that this makes people pay more, or makes them stay and pay real money to learn skills for years. this is TOTALLY FALSE, in the fact that they are not trying to take your money. This MMO game is different in the way that you can buy TIME, with game money. The game allows you to buy PLEX on the game market to PAY FOR REAL TIME. MUST i say it again? You can but 30 days of game with game money! i have yet to encounter a popular MMO with a subscription to do this. the first thing that comes into my mind is WoW, this does not let you pay for time, but this is because it does not have the LONG TERM GAMEPLAY that EVE does. Lets say that two different people are just starting off playing both EVE, and WoW at the same time. The WoW player will have a fairly easy time in the beginning, go through the game get to level 80 and... well quit, or make a new character, THAT'S IT? Yes WoW is FUN, for a period of time. EVE on the other had Makes it VERY HARD in the beginning, the LEARNING CURVE IS THAT OF A BABY TRYING TO LEARN ABOUT THE HYPOTHETICAL MULTIVERSE MODEL, WITH NO PREVIOUS KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THE UNIVERSE. i say that with great confidence because most people die right when they log on, because there brain is overflowed with how much you can do, and how challenging it can be AT FIRST. ( i like to show this with the learning curve graph located here: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3088/2335016192_6003c39c4c_z.jpg?zz=1 ). but when you do learn all there is to EVE it is amazing and fun. the long term gameplay for EVE online is overwhelming. That with its amazingly newb friendly, and amazing community of players and developers makes it, To me, one of the greatest MMORPG games ever developed, maintained, and played by thousands of players IN ONE CONTINUOUS UNIVERSE....10/10 Expand
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    In my opinion this is the second best MMO right after WoW, there is so much information about it, so if you would want to learn ALL about the game it would take about 18 years to achieve. I recommend this game to people which have some patience and are opened for new types of MMO games. There is probably a lot of haters but you should give this game a try
  10. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    Graphics looks beautiful, from the models to the effects it a plus for a 2003 game!
    If you like space, and like MMO's then this is your game.

    For me award for best 2003 MMO game.
  11. Oct 14, 2011
    10
    Awesome game if you have a lot of patience. If you're too hooked on instant gratification, you should probably stick to something else (like WoW). Eve Online is a game of community and player politics first and foremost, with a much smaller emphasis on gameplay. It reminds me a lot of my old experiences in Ultima Online, although not quite as gripping. I definitely recommend this title toAwesome game if you have a lot of patience. If you're too hooked on instant gratification, you should probably stick to something else (like WoW). Eve Online is a game of community and player politics first and foremost, with a much smaller emphasis on gameplay. It reminds me a lot of my old experiences in Ultima Online, although not quite as gripping. I definitely recommend this title to anyone who enjoys taking part in MMO pvp, community and player politics. Expand
  12. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    A steep learning cure (made a tad easier through recent expansions), great graphics/visuals, deep economy and skill system makes this game one of the best Sci-fi MMO's out there. Perfect for the veteran MMO players tired of the casual mainstream selection. Newcomers should follow the tutorials thoroughly and it won't bite so hard. Great, friendly community to help and answer questions.A steep learning cure (made a tad easier through recent expansions), great graphics/visuals, deep economy and skill system makes this game one of the best Sci-fi MMO's out there. Perfect for the veteran MMO players tired of the casual mainstream selection. Newcomers should follow the tutorials thoroughly and it won't bite so hard. Great, friendly community to help and answer questions.

    Don't expect an arcade shooter, this is more of an alternate reality sim set in another galaxy where individualism is just as important as community. Highly recommend it.
    Expand
  13. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    Fear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you knowFear - I believe it is the one thing missing in 99.9% of MMO's, and the best part of any decent MMO. If I'm not playing an MMO that has a 'significant loss' attached to dying I don't feel it - it's a rush. I've been playing MMO's consistently since 97 but only recently tried Eve. It definitely provides it, along with a million other things that make this game so great to play. If you know what I'm talking about - give it a go, the trial is free. Expand
  14. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    Not everyone will catch the immense essence of this incredible game. The mechanics of this game are crearly designed to keep WoW kids away, and it works flawlessly. If you didnt like this game there can only be 2 reasons: 1- You are a kid and don't like complex, mature games. 2- You don't like sci-fi MMO's. Because EVE Online is the best MMO ever made. Been out there since 2003 and theNot everyone will catch the immense essence of this incredible game. The mechanics of this game are crearly designed to keep WoW kids away, and it works flawlessly. If you didnt like this game there can only be 2 reasons: 1- You are a kid and don't like complex, mature games. 2- You don't like sci-fi MMO's. Because EVE Online is the best MMO ever made. Been out there since 2003 and the game is still growing! What other game can say the same? Expand
  15. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    They have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course the game controls were mouse based but that has changed too, now they habe key bindings and usual mmo stuff so you can actually play it by using mouse+kb, the sandbox concept in which economy is completely run by players (they mine, craft, farm and doThey have improved it a lot for new players, revamped graphics and user interface, added more features to do apart from pvping, of course the game controls were mouse based but that has changed too, now they habe key bindings and usual mmo stuff so you can actually play it by using mouse+kb, the sandbox concept in which economy is completely run by players (they mine, craft, farm and do all related stuff) plus the politics, alliances, pirates, and so on is what makes this game stand out from the rest, and now you can even have your very own 3d avatar created by an top notch character creator. You definitely have to give this game a try, if you find it diffcult to learn is because is like nothing you have played so far, but that is not bad, just ask your questions on chat, grab a corporation and learn the ways of the game, it really worth it. Expand
  16. Apr 25, 2012
    9
    I started playing EVE last year when it was on sale on Steam, so i only paid about £3 for the game which i felt at the time wasn't a big loss whether i liked it or not. Boy it was the best £3 i've ever spent! - At first I didn't like EVE - i felt like i was a lone wolf in the middle of a massive solar system & that was it, so basically thrown in at the deep endI started playing EVE last year when it was on sale on Steam, so i only paid about £3 for the game which i felt at the time wasn't a big loss whether i liked it or not. Boy it was the best £3 i've ever spent! - At first I didn't like EVE - i felt like i was a lone wolf in the middle of a massive solar system & that was it, so basically thrown in at the deep end with nothing to do. But the key to enjoying EVE is to find yourself a good corporation that you can become friends with the people in it. That way you gain a SENSE OF PURPOSE which keeps you wanting to subscribe - so i am now a fan of EVE whereas before i never used to be. This game has a rubbish metacritic score due to the time it was reviewed, but there is always new content - so maybe it should be reviewed again. Expand
  17. May 9, 2012
    9
    played this since it was released, it just gets better and better, amazing universe to roam around, huge scope for customizing your game play, whether its blowing the crap out of other people and looting their destroyed ships, to mining and manufacturing etc, you can become what you want to be. Various patches over the years and a whole graphics overhaul have let eve survive where othersplayed this since it was released, it just gets better and better, amazing universe to roam around, huge scope for customizing your game play, whether its blowing the crap out of other people and looting their destroyed ships, to mining and manufacturing etc, you can become what you want to be. Various patches over the years and a whole graphics overhaul have let eve survive where others have failed... it might not have the biggest online community, around 30-50000 players online usually, however the universe is very much alive, there is a tremendous amount of skills to train, and a lot of information to take in, so it takes patience and dedication to truly get the best from EVE. Also with the upcoming "Dust 514" FPS on PS3 in the pipeline that ties in directly with the EVE Universe, this MMO is about to get bigger. Eve is not for everyone, but if you like ship to ship combat in a universe bigger than Pamela Anderson's cup size then give it a try. Ill be waiting for you....gun ports open ;) Expand
  18. May 18, 2012
    10
    Most other contemporary games in this genre focus on linear progression through leveling and the acquisition of gear. EVE Online contains no character levels to grind and all ships and equipment can be bought, sold or lost. Skill is gained over time through non-linear progression of which you are in full control. Whether you want to be the best frigate pilot or pilot a mighty armoredMost other contemporary games in this genre focus on linear progression through leveling and the acquisition of gear. EVE Online contains no character levels to grind and all ships and equipment can be bought, sold or lost. Skill is gained over time through non-linear progression of which you are in full control. Whether you want to be the best frigate pilot or pilot a mighty armored battleship, the choice is yours. Expand
  19. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    The most complex MMO out there. At first is rather harsh to get into, but there is a unique world in there to be explored.

    I can`t detail the game in this review, cause it is huge, so many paths, so many opportunities. It would take me thousands of words only to scratch the mechanics and the general stuff; so I won`t do that. Maybe the game has some particularities that will exclude
    The most complex MMO out there. At first is rather harsh to get into, but there is a unique world in there to be explored.

    I can`t detail the game in this review, cause it is huge, so many paths, so many opportunities. It would take me thousands of words only to scratch the mechanics and the general stuff; so I won`t do that.

    Maybe the game has some particularities that will exclude the players that hope for something predetermined, as "aim and shoot, fast reward in serotonin, you never loose, you never win anything", instead it grows on you, and will make you realize how much emptiness resides in the current gaming world. So if you are tired with the boring, identical games that pop up today, you should try this one.

    EVE is hard, EVE is unique, EVE is deep, EVE will consume you and will reward you.

    A 10/10 for the wonderful experience that this game offered me.
    Expand
  20. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. what word would i use to describe eve? i cant type that word.. there's a reason why the primary fan base are in there 30's. eve online has several books out to help people understand the story behind the game. good read, not for younger eyes. i have newbies asking me, whats the point of the game. i reply, whats the point of life? eve is very much like life. no point, you just do what you do to survive. if your a scum bag, you'll most likely end up in the swirling cesspool of filth called jita, taking advantage of honest hard working people. if your hard working, you'll probably end up as a miner or probing for treasure. if your a hater you'll be killing people. if your a drama queen you'll end up dealing with corporations and alliances. if you like to punish yourself you'll probably end up as a CEO. your personality type will push you into roles that you never wanted. just like life sometimes you'll find your self bored and not knowing what to do, other times you'll find your self grinding away for a week. you will love or hate this game. there's no in between. this game is great for those of us that have other things to do. kids, that stack of papers work sitting on your desk. there's many ways to make isk, eve money while not always being at the controls. well with some risk of course. then my fav, you can buy your game time with or isk, sell for or isk and trade. Expand
  21. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    best online game in the history of online games. Sandbox, harsh, real consequences. No kiddie playground. If you want the real deal, play Eve. Losers in Eve are the ones complaining the most. Be a winner.
  22. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very unique game. I think one of a kind in whole market.
    All of you already read about open world, economy, interaction, alliances etc. Yes, this is EvE.
    The game is like another life.
    And what is very interesting - you can make studies of people behavior, economy, system performance etc. based on EvE "virtual-real" world.
    I started my adventure with EvE in 2009 and it is still my favourite title.
    Expand
  23. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Not so much a 'game' as it is a simulator... those who are weak or whine a lot: dont play or instead go play that other wizards and dragons MMO. This 'game' is for more mature players....
  24. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    The only game that I've rated 10/10. Huge learning curve, it takes some time to figure out the basics. This is not a game that you can get a lvl 90 in a few months, patience is required.

    Great game!
  25. May 9, 2014
    10
    WARNING, only play EVE if you love interacting with other players, not Soloing, as it is extremely hard or boring to do so, if your looking into EVE you would soon see all the jokes with the high learning curve, they are correct, i was extremely lost and confused for a solid week randomy missioning, only got some sort of direction and new ship thanks to a corporation(pretty much a guild)WARNING, only play EVE if you love interacting with other players, not Soloing, as it is extremely hard or boring to do so, if your looking into EVE you would soon see all the jokes with the high learning curve, they are correct, i was extremely lost and confused for a solid week randomy missioning, only got some sort of direction and new ship thanks to a corporation(pretty much a guild) looking for new people, otherwise i would have been lost still.

    i would say you could enjoy this game if you like something that is pretty much a part-time job, since you play this game to achieve and work toward something, which the 30k-50k people who log in daily apparently want to work and get something, that is what you are doing, working, its not relaxing whatsoever, unless working to get money and then bigger ships and then plotting to kill other ships with very complicated builds is your idea of relaxing. even so i love this game and im fine with working at it, since its awesome feeling for me to achieve something, barter with people, take others out. so yes play it if you want to work, AVOID at all costs if you want to relax. :)

    Update. i wasnt trying to put down the game, hence why i gave it a 10, its just extremely difficult and confusing to get things going and the fun about this game is by accomplishing something difficult and it requires alot of thought and concentration to get things done correctly, also lots of dependency on interacting with real players if you really want to do the most awesome stuff.

    so as far as playing a game to relax like skyrim or something where you explore and take in the sights, this is not like that, your in the world to gain more power, by money or fighting or something, so trying to get more power and become stronger and better is not the most relaxing thing to do right after work but i find this game when i have the time or money to play it very rewarding and fun, just not relaxing.
    Expand
  26. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    I've gotta say, Eve Online is a very fun game to play. It has a steep learning curve, as many would have already pointed out. Believe me. I've been there. When you get going however, the game really opens up to a universe of choices, battles, missions, factions and generally freedom. You will love it if you love games where you can explore and make choices. It's a great Sci-Fi gameI've gotta say, Eve Online is a very fun game to play. It has a steep learning curve, as many would have already pointed out. Believe me. I've been there. When you get going however, the game really opens up to a universe of choices, battles, missions, factions and generally freedom. You will love it if you love games where you can explore and make choices. It's a great Sci-Fi game that you won't regret playing if you learn it well. The community is also great. I got a lot of help there. There are plenty of staff on board to give you advice and help you. I don't think the learning curve being steep is enough to justify lowering this rating, because the fun you get afterwards is worthwhile. Expand
  27. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    Kinda sad so many reviewed the first 1 hour of the game, i was really frustrated and upset when i played EVE and if i just stoped playing after that first hour, i dont think i would have had a good impression of the game, any real gamer can get into EVE, it's just about giving it some time to digest in your brain, it took me alil over a hour that i realized behind the complicated menu andKinda sad so many reviewed the first 1 hour of the game, i was really frustrated and upset when i played EVE and if i just stoped playing after that first hour, i dont think i would have had a good impression of the game, any real gamer can get into EVE, it's just about giving it some time to digest in your brain, it took me alil over a hour that i realized behind the complicated menu and inacurate tutorial(objects in your quest will be yellow icons but after you get to a real the yellow blip goes away leading to you just clueless) (stuff like that happens early and often)

    after 6 hours or so of the game , i realize how simple it really is , there is alot more micro managment than there needs to be, but i love the difficulty, it means you will have something to do since achieving the top is so far away and endless, in wow you level 2 months later you stop playing, if you can earn your sub in wow like EVE, i think it would have given players something to do while we wait for expansions and updates, instead of just nothing to do because everyone is to casual.
    Expand
  28. May 23, 2014
    10
    The most complex game ever, only smart players can appreciate it.
    You can play it at a slow, medium or hard pace. It has the complexity that kids are scared.

    The fights are often mature, no hard feeling, no insults. Only respect.
    You are prepared to play this game, only if you can tell a player "respect" after he killed you.
  29. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    An unparalleled sandbox experience, EVE Online is truly the most player drive open world experience in the history of gaming.

    One must enter EVE Online expecting their enjoyment to come from player interaction and roleplay primarily. In EVE Online you captain a spaceship through an open world of over 5,000 connected star systems. You can pilot all sorts of spacecraft - from the dinkiest
    An unparalleled sandbox experience, EVE Online is truly the most player drive open world experience in the history of gaming.

    One must enter EVE Online expecting their enjoyment to come from player interaction and roleplay primarily. In EVE Online you captain a spaceship through an open world of over 5,000 connected star systems. You can pilot all sorts of spacecraft - from the dinkiest of mining vessels to motherships - for various purposes. The game offers a wide variety of gameplay options. Mining, trading, combat, exploration, piracy, theft, scamming and crafting are the main gameplay elements in this regard. There are many players who do none of this, but choose to focus entirely on the social aspects of the game: Leadership, espionage, strategy building and management.

    In EVE there is no purpose but that in which you create. Want to be a thorn in the side of the locals in a certain star system? Dedicate your team to blowing up their profit-making spaceships. Want to be Donald Trump in space? Play the market and become a monetary force to be reckoned with. Want to own your own solar system? Gather up friends, form an alliance and fight against others for control of space.

    None of this is very exciting from a gameplay standpoint. While PVP combat is quite exhilarating, most other forms of gameplay are rather dull. What makes EVE so special is how your actions relate to others. Sure, mining might be boring, but using those profits to build a spaceship to defend your own star system is not. Even defending the system itself might be somewhat boring. It's the experience that is worth it. You look back on your time in EVE and you realize something important: it mattered. 1 year later, what you did matters. No other game can say the same.
    Expand
  30. May 13, 2014
    10
    What a fantastic game!!!!! 10 years of patches and updates have made such an incredible game that is amazingly polished and beautiful to play.

    There is a learning curve, but it does mean that people who are impatient, jerks etc, seem to get frustrated and filtered out, leaving a great community who is fun to play with, and fun to play against! I have only just started 2 months ago..
    What a fantastic game!!!!! 10 years of patches and updates have made such an incredible game that is amazingly polished and beautiful to play.

    There is a learning curve, but it does mean that people who are impatient, jerks etc, seem to get frustrated and filtered out, leaving a great community who is fun to play with, and fun to play against!

    I have only just started 2 months ago.. but will be playing this game for many years to come!
    Expand
  31. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    I've been playing EVE for over 3 years and I can say that CCP are doing a good job of maintaining a very unique game, that stays on the bleeding edge of MMOs for over 11 years now. It's the biggest and most hardcore game up to date, I've never been immersed into a game as much as I've been into EVE. You make real-life friends (and possibly enemies) in this game. I personally know a coupleI've been playing EVE for over 3 years and I can say that CCP are doing a good job of maintaining a very unique game, that stays on the bleeding edge of MMOs for over 11 years now. It's the biggest and most hardcore game up to date, I've never been immersed into a game as much as I've been into EVE. You make real-life friends (and possibly enemies) in this game. I personally know a couple that meet ingame and ended up engaged a couple years later. Corpmates and ally mates in EVE are true friends in real life, because the game rewards deep, trusting interactions. As well as carefully planned diversions and espionage. Large ally's TeamSpeak servers get DDOS attacks during fleet fights to sabotage the team coordination. And guess what - Good fleet commanders have backup servers on standby for this cases! It gets crazy at times, it feels like being part of a military organization... Also when you, for example, make a pirate raid on someone's home system - some people would skip work to stay online when their stations become vulnerable to defend them! That's for the social/intaraction aspect of the game.

    The physics aren't realistic but you get to see it as a game feature that you might learn to exploit, or have it used against you. For example "bumping" - ramming your ship at 5 km/s into another vessel deal's no damage, yet changes the velocity of both, and can be used to prevent or enforce certain maneuvers of your opponent, such as alignment for warp or reaching a stargate.

    CCP also employ the best payment model I've seen so far (p2p OR buy PLEX with ingame money - you choose).

    I'd give them a 10 but it's a 9 'cause I must admit that they do make bugs of both the "this doesn't work" or "omg this is just dumb!" kind occasionally.
    Expand
  32. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This game is difficult. Eve is unforgiving, complex, and brutal. I've best heard it described as "hours of mind-numbing boredom punctuated by moments of intense action," and that description holds up. You'd do best to learn as much as you can about it before you start. The tutorials have gotten better recently, but they really can only do so much. Eve rewards research, planning, knowledge,This game is difficult. Eve is unforgiving, complex, and brutal. I've best heard it described as "hours of mind-numbing boredom punctuated by moments of intense action," and that description holds up. You'd do best to learn as much as you can about it before you start. The tutorials have gotten better recently, but they really can only do so much. Eve rewards research, planning, knowledge, ambition, courage, and desire. It is not for people who need to be told what to do as in modern "theme park" MMO. It is truly a sandbox where you can do as you please but must face the consequences of your actions. It is certainly worth a download (not from Steam, that version acts weird with your Steam account) and a trial. As the devs say, "either you quit in the first few days of your trial period or you subscribe forever." It's much more than spreadsheets in space, but the spreadsheets do help.

    Added bonus: free expansions approximately twice a year and the ability to pay for game time with in-game currency.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. As expectations are put aside and the game is explored for its own merits, it begins to provide a vast sense of potential that few games can muster. [June 2003, p.97]
  2. A game of epic proportions.
  3. An enjoyable game. It emphasizes teamwork and really gives a lot of character tweaking to sink one’s teeth into, but you really need to be patient individual to deal with the mining aspect of the game.