Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trading commodities while sneaking past hostile forces, racing the best pilots in the area, mining for diamonds, negotiating for survival, spying for a curious energy company, cleaning dirty solar arrays, transporting an impatient passenger... and that's just on a Monday. The life of anTrading commodities while sneaking past hostile forces, racing the best pilots in the area, mining for diamonds, negotiating for survival, spying for a curious energy company, cleaning dirty solar arrays, transporting an impatient passenger... and that's just on a Monday. The life of an independent mercenary is rarely without excitement. At times, you may choose to work under contract, while at others, you may want to take matters into your own hands in a quest to build your reputation and fortune. Your spacecraft awaits. Your adventure begins in the Sapphire solar system.

    In Evochron, you are free to seek your fortune as an independent mercenary in an adventure directed by your choices, abilities, and accomplishments. Each player can bring their unique skills and interests to the game, forming clans for cooperative goals or remaining solo to complete objectives on their own in true freeform space-sim gameplay.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    The important thing is this: this is a game made not just by a fan of the genre, but by somebody who understands when something is fun... and when it needs to be cut entirely.
  2. 88
    The graphics may be a bit dusty, but very few titles made me feel more "space explorer" like this one. In the mean time, I'll just keep on drifting through space with an unmatched feeling that I'm in a real spacecraft.
  3. On the technical side Evochron Mercenary is outdated and the narration is really poor, but surely the fanatics of space free roaming will appreciate the opportunity to explore the universe without any limitation and a well-rounded multiplayer.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    79
    A slow-burning but compelling universe in which to indulge your trading, mining and mercenary fantasies. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    67
    Life in space is probably not easy, so it's no surprise that there is a distinctly tough learning curve in Evochron Mercenary. Those with enough interest and diligence to stick with it, though, will be rewarded with deep, unfettered space sandbox game play.
  6. Dec 25, 2010
    60
    Evochron gives you the tools and the universe, but it's up to you to find a purpose. [Issue#185, p.66]
  7. Feb 9, 2012
    53
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This game offers everything you would imagine from an indie developer. and adding a demo is so much more pleasing as you can test the game toThis game offers everything you would imagine from an indie developer. and adding a demo is so much more pleasing as you can test the game to see if you will like it. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more than others can. If you enjoy EA games or generic fps shooters where you just mindless plug and play, you mightThis game offers a lot more than others can. If you enjoy EA games or generic fps shooters where you just mindless plug and play, you might complain about this game. The game takes some patience to play and enjoy, but once you grasp that, it can be a gem. One of the first things I like about this game is the **** You can exit the **** view if you like. The music is amazing. The game play will be fun if you enjoy being let out on your own to do what you want when you want. You can enjoy progressing your ship and money as far as you want. If you're a console-kid, this game isn't for you. It is more tuned for invested pc gamers that want a flight sim and more realism than a 2 hour video game reminiscent of a michael bay movie. Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    A very ambitious undertaking, lacks AAA polish but has to be one of the top indy projects ever. I think it's our duty to support theA very ambitious undertaking, lacks AAA polish but has to be one of the top indy projects ever. I think it's our duty to support the independent dev's who care about their product. While most games today are made as disposable, evoch merc just keeps on giving.

    It's reasonably priced and has an active community who are very helpful.

    The physics are amazing and are integral in combat. This is much more a simulator than meets the eye. Unfortunately for Evoch most gamers won't give it the time it takes to master the Newton'y of combat.

    Over all the game play is great for newcomers to space trading, veterans of X and Eve may feel it's a little shallow, but the combat more than makes up for it. On occasion I find myself landing on a planet during sunset as the sun kisses the ocean, gorgeous and to my knowledge no other game has ever pulled off seamless space to atmosphere transitions. many many hours of fun, but you will need an imagination.
    Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2011
    8
    Evochron Mercenary's intuitive game play and features are enough to attract new players/fans to the genre and still have a lot for it'sEvochron Mercenary's intuitive game play and features are enough to attract new players/fans to the genre and still have a lot for it's veterans. While, as others have said, not as in depth as the X series, it has just as much, if not more, fun factor due to the ease of getting directly into the game with competent tutorials (in game and some tutorial videos on youtube.com). Right away, the player has the freedom to do pretty much whatever he/she wants from the get go.

    There is a small sense of being overwhelmed at certain points in the game where you get a feeling of "ok, what now?" (though, not often at all), and I must confess that I was hoping for a little more with the planetary landings; however, they are still absolutely amazing and fun, don't get me wrong!

    I only have one piece of advice for players for this game.....SAVE OFTEN! lol
    Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2012
    7
    This is a pretty neat little project, albeit with a thin atmosphere. I greatly enjoyed the newtonian physics, and mastering combat with thisThis is a pretty neat little project, albeit with a thin atmosphere. I greatly enjoyed the newtonian physics, and mastering combat with this type of flight was an entertaining challenge. The graphics have a very dated look, but it doesnt detract too much from the game's fun. Alas, not long after you have mastered the game's steep learning curve, you realize you have already experienced all the game's content. For any readers familiar with it, X3 is harder to learn, but will keep you coming back for much longer than Evochron will. In Evochron, once you've been to one planet, one carrier, and one station, and flown most all the ships, you will already being to feel like you've seen it all. The game advertises how diverse its missions are, but each mission type is so straightfoward it very rapidly feels more like a series of errands, rather than missions. There is almost nothing to make you feel attached to any location or planet or faction. However, the newtonian space battles, as well as the always-fun element of getting to upgrade to shinier, faster, bigger ships, keep this game fun for a notable length of time. I would recommend nabbing this one for $10-$15 depending on the size of your wallet, $20-$25 if you love space combat sims. Expand
  6. NLD
    May 24, 2011
    6
    I do play EVE and I do play FPS and this game takes parts of both and tries to blend, but I really see no real depth to keep the players, FPSI do play EVE and I do play FPS and this game takes parts of both and tries to blend, but I really see no real depth to keep the players, FPS has speed & action, EVE has planning & an endless world with no reset button. Evochron has a reset button & lamented FPS combat (like a throwback to the 80's arcades). I found it dated and lost, somehow I feel there will be those that will like to play it for a while.

    Maybe I've been spoiled by EVE & it's one server, all players, no second chance.

    The only saving grace is it's free.
    6/10
    Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2012
    1
    The game really fails at key aspects. Simple things like SAVING YOUR GAME literally do not work as intended. Reloading takes literally 5The game really fails at key aspects. Simple things like SAVING YOUR GAME literally do not work as intended. Reloading takes literally 5 minutes on my alienware PC. WTF? The price tag on this game is a huge rip off. It's not worth more than 5 bucks at the most. Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers