Evochron Mercenary PC

Evochron Mercenary Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trading commodities while sneaking past hostile forces, racing the best pilots in the area, mining for diamonds, negotiating for survival, spying for a curious energy company, cleaning dirty solar arrays, transporting an impatient passenger... and that's just on a Monday. The life of anTrading commodities while sneaking past hostile forces, racing the best pilots in the area, mining for diamonds, negotiating for survival, spying for a curious energy company, cleaning dirty solar arrays, transporting an impatient passenger... and that's just on a Monday. The life of an independent mercenary is rarely without excitement. At times, you may choose to work under contract, while at others, you may want to take matters into your own hands in a quest to build your reputation and fortune. Your spacecraft awaits. Your adventure begins in the Sapphire solar system.

    In Evochron, you are free to seek your fortune as an independent mercenary in an adventure directed by your choices, abilities, and accomplishments. Each player can bring their unique skills and interests to the game, forming clans for cooperative goals or remaining solo to complete objectives on their own in true freeform space-sim gameplay.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Oct 24, 2010
    90
    The important thing is this: this is a game made not just by a fan of the genre, but by somebody who understands when something is fun... and when it needs to be cut entirely.
  2. 88
    The graphics may be a bit dusty, but very few titles made me feel more "space explorer" like this one. In the mean time, I'll just keep on drifting through space with an unmatched feeling that I'm in a real spacecraft.
  3. On the technical side Evochron Mercenary is outdated and the narration is really poor, but surely the fanatics of space free roaming will appreciate the opportunity to explore the universe without any limitation and a well-rounded multiplayer.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jul 12, 2012
    79
    A slow-burning but compelling universe in which to indulge your trading, mining and mercenary fantasies. [Sept 2012, p.74]
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    67
    Life in space is probably not easy, so it's no surprise that there is a distinctly tough learning curve in Evochron Mercenary. Those with enough interest and diligence to stick with it, though, will be rewarded with deep, unfettered space sandbox game play.
  6. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 25, 2010
    60
    Evochron gives you the tools and the universe, but it's up to you to find a purpose. [Issue#185, p.66]
  7. Feb 9, 2012
    53
    Quotation forthcoming.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 36
  2. Negative: 8 out of 36
  1. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    This game offers a lot more than others can. If you enjoy EA games or generic fps shooters where you just mindless plug and play, you mightThis game offers a lot more than others can. If you enjoy EA games or generic fps shooters where you just mindless plug and play, you might complain about this game. The game takes some patience to play and enjoy, but once you grasp that, it can be a gem. One of the first things I like about this game is the **** You can exit the **** view if you like. The music is amazing. The game play will be fun if you enjoy being let out on your own to do what you want when you want. You can enjoy progressing your ship and money as far as you want. If you're a console-kid, this game isn't for you. It is more tuned for invested pc gamers that want a flight sim and more realism than a 2 hour video game reminiscent of a michael bay movie. Expand
  2. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    This game offers everything you would imagine from an indie developer. and adding a demo is so much more pleasing as you can test the game toThis game offers everything you would imagine from an indie developer. and adding a demo is so much more pleasing as you can test the game to see if you will like it. Expand
  3. NLS
    Jan 21, 2014
    9
    I would give a 10, considering this is an one-man-project, but then again I give a 9 exactly because this is an one-man-project and I wantI would give a 10, considering this is an one-man-project, but then again I give a 9 exactly because this is an one-man-project and I want this guy to keep working on it (and he does).
    The game improves constantly, Vice listens to his fan base (heck even ASKS his fan base), quite a contrast from other "major" space title ahem, X:R, ahem...
    If you check the game's site, you'll will find a huge list of features. The funny thing is that those features are INDEED there and INDEED work. Yes some are "average", but still a basis to improve.
    In a poorly represented (these days) genre and waiting for big names like Elite: Dangerous and Star Citizen (and others), this is a must have and actually a bargain.
    Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    A very ambitious undertaking, lacks AAA polish but has to be one of the top indy projects ever. I think it's our duty to support theA very ambitious undertaking, lacks AAA polish but has to be one of the top indy projects ever. I think it's our duty to support the independent dev's who care about their product. While most games today are made as disposable, evoch merc just keeps on giving.

    It's reasonably priced and has an active community who are very helpful.

    The physics are amazing and are integral in combat. This is much more a simulator than meets the eye. Unfortunately for Evoch most gamers won't give it the time it takes to master the Newton'y of combat.

    Over all the game play is great for newcomers to space trading, veterans of X and Eve may feel it's a little shallow, but the combat more than makes up for it. On occasion I find myself landing on a planet during sunset as the sun kisses the ocean, gorgeous and to my knowledge no other game has ever pulled off seamless space to atmosphere transitions. many many hours of fun, but you will need an imagination.
    Expand
  5. Vas
    Jun 29, 2014
    8
    Wewt, this game is fairly good. I mean the physics and realistic space is nice, even being able to land on planets and fly around on them andWewt, this game is fairly good. I mean the physics and realistic space is nice, even being able to land on planets and fly around on them and such is nice. However it does have a pretty hard level curve when you first leave the system you start in, you have to get quite a bit of money and stuff before you can leave.

    Your save files are nearly unhackable, which is a big bonus with the game, being extremely hard to cheat with. Attempting to cheat will destroy your save file. Your save files work across all servers as well so you can play in single player and take your stuff with you to multiplayer.

    If you like space fighters and space games, you'll like this.
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    6
    A fairly good game with some nice ideas. It's a bit like Freelancer, but a little more "real" and more involved. The multiplayer is where theA fairly good game with some nice ideas. It's a bit like Freelancer, but a little more "real" and more involved. The multiplayer is where the majority of the fun is at, but you will find it lacks depth. Once you have enough money to buy the best ship in the game (which does not take long at all), you will struggle to find anything to do except explore.

    The control of your ship never seems quite right, and you find yourself constantly "sliding" everywhere. I have no problem playing space games with inertial dampeners off, but something about this just feels wrong - it takes forever to make course changes if you have any kind of speed.

    The developer is absolutely brilliant though. I visited their forums to ask some questions and instantly got a reply from the developer, who implemented a new mechanic to the game based on my questions and feedback. I was stunned at how welcoming and kind the community is for this game. That alone is worth its weight in gold.

    A good game, that could be a great game.

    Jimbo Rating: 6/10
    Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    1
    Even at $25 this game is way overpriced. The graphics are basic at best. Piloting the ship is relatively straightforward once you figured outEven at $25 this game is way overpriced. The graphics are basic at best. Piloting the ship is relatively straightforward once you figured out the key combinations and the space travel physic is quite accurate (In space that is, not when landing on a planet) but, beyond this, I have nothing good to say about this game. The game play choices are clear, either boring or nearly impossible to achieve. Too many programming shortcuts were taken in the making of this game. Safe for the player's information, nothing is saved. The same fighting mission stated number of foes will change every time after restoring a saved game. Regardless, you can never trust the information provided. The estimated number of enemy ships as nothing to do with the actual number of foes you'll be faced with. The difficulty has nothing to do with your abilities. It's always based on inaccurate information, better equipped enemy ships and large number of foes with seemingly endless supplies of missiles while yours will be expended within the first few shots. You can even get killed while docked at a station, just trying to trade or get a mission. Don't expect to be able to do the same though as you will never find your target in the same position. As far as upgrading your ship, you better be very, very, very patient. You will need about half a million credits to equip a barely acceptable fighter ship. With the ship you have to start and the type of missions you can hope to do in the beginning, you'll barely get 15,000 credits for each successful mission once you have paid for spent fuel and equipment. So just do the math... it's a long time on cleaning arrays (tantamount to washing windows), mining asteroids (Even there, you can not choose what you're mining so you'll waste even more time dumping what you did not want in the first place) and racing through ever winding ring type tracks. Fighting missions pay more but, as explained before, the odds are stacked against you and your slow poorly equipped ship. With luck though, you may end up fighting against three ships only and win the prize but, likely, other foes will materialize and blow you to pieces unless your lucky enough to make it to a jump gate and get out in a not too unfriendly solar system. The problem is that as soon as you accept to take a mission for one faction then the others will become your enemy until you accept long enough work for one of the others and then the first one will turn against you. Need I continue? The only thing I appreciated about this game was that it was easy to un-install... Good riddance!!! Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers