Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jun 27, 2013
    92
    The kind of 4X that brings my relationship with strategy games to a lofty peak. It is engaging and yet oddly meditative, almost relaxing to play rather than nerve-wracking and brain-frying.
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    90
    Competition in the 4X space might seem quaint to some, but Stardock easily proves that there’s more than one great ruler who deserves fealty.
  3. May 23, 2013
    88
    This is a good expansion/patch to a good game. It fixes some bugs, adds some interesting features, and slips in lots of changes to quietly improve gameplay and balance. It's definitely worth $20 for “Fallen Enchantress” owners, and $40 for anybody looking for a good 4X fantasy TBS.
  4. May 23, 2013
    87
    Fans of 4X games and RPGs should really look into Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes.
  5. May 29, 2013
    85
    None of Legendary Heroes' rough spots keep it from being an excellent game that I recommend with no reservations. Stardock has finally delivered on the promise that Elemental once held, back in the halcyon days of 2009. You don't have to be any kind of strategy savant to appreciate what this exceptional release has to offer.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    80
    One of those games that you sit down to play for half an hour and end up spending whole night with. It’s not flawless (e.g. it lacks a multiplayer mode) but you will not regret investing time in it. [01/2014, p.50]
  7. Aug 9, 2013
    80
    Legendary Heroes makes Fallen Enchantress the game it’s wanted to be all along.
  8. Jun 26, 2013
    80
    Graphically raw but nonetheless enjoyable, Legendary Heroes is the series’ best installment to date.
  9. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    This standalone expansion is a wonderful fantasy strategy game in its own right, but it doesn't quite have enough to place it in the pantheon of classics.
  10. Jun 6, 2013
    80
    With its intuitive gameplay and in-game tutorials and hints, Legendary Heroes should be quick to pick up even for the 4X uninitiated.
  11. Jun 4, 2013
    80
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes hits the sweet spot for this continually improving strategy franchise.
  12. May 28, 2013
    80
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes becomes a stronger game by weakening its hero characters.
  13. Aug 19, 2013
    75
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes is without a doubt the best Elemental game to date.
  14. Aug 16, 2013
    75
    This DLC passes the fun test in a way the previous games didn't. [Sept 2013, p.97]
  15. 75
    Certainly an improvement over its predecessor. By no means is it a perfect game as some of the technical issues did cast a shadow over the experience to a degree. That said, Stardock has been hard at work ironing out the wrinkles and the positives far outweigh the negatives.
  16. May 30, 2013
    75
    Fallen Enchantress: Legendary Heroes is now a solid fantasy 4X game with plenty of mechanical depth for those who delight in tweaking parameters, if still lacking that certain spark to elevate it into the top tier of the genre.
  17. Oct 7, 2013
    73
    Legendary Heroes is yet another step forward for Stardock, If you are not familiar at all with Elemental, the studio’s previous effort, or other 4X fantasy strategy games, it may even surprise you. It’s just not a stand-out game.
  18. May 22, 2013
    50
    At first glance the lack of direction appears to be a weakness, but in actuality Legendary Heroes requires you to assist it, to give it the direction it needs.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 7 out of 49
  1. May 22, 2013
    7
    I'd rather put 7.5 but the system doesn't work like that. This game is pretty good but the combat gets old pretty quick in my opinion. After aI'd rather put 7.5 but the system doesn't work like that. This game is pretty good but the combat gets old pretty quick in my opinion. After a certain point in the game your troops roll over everything with many instances of one shot kills and its pretty easy to get all your troops to move first so very often the other side does not even get to fight back. The RPG part of the game is pretty good, I wish there was greater number of weapons and armor. The city building is also just ok. The races are all really similar; everyone really looks the same. After a few I only play small maps anymore (I have around 40 hours in the game). Late game gets super boring. Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2013
    8
    Legendary Heroes is a significant set of improvements to Fallen Enchantress, and anyone keen on the original should pick it up. All elementsLegendary Heroes is a significant set of improvements to Fallen Enchantress, and anyone keen on the original should pick it up. All elements of the game have been improved, but still many are imperfect. The graphics engine which underpins the game is remarkable. There has been significant work to 'balance' various aspects, but there is more that could be done. I have played for a few hundred hours, and there are still interesting surprises to be found.

    I recommend it to TBS fans especially. Makes a good change from Civ or similar. I don't think it can be given a 10, as it still has some rough edges and occasional bugs.
    Full Review »
  3. omi
    May 23, 2013
    10
    A lot of improvements to its base game. Especially graphic haul is impressive.
    I strongly recommend this to any fan of turn based strategy
    A lot of improvements to its base game. Especially graphic haul is impressive.
    I strongly recommend this to any fan of turn based strategy game and tactical battles.
    Game play is fun details are amazing. AI seems a little bit feeble at the moment I have experienced but I haven't tried high settings.
    I applaud developers for sticking with their game, and making it shine I hope they deserve the well earned recognition for this.
    Full Review »