User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3666 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    #1 Game in Post-Apocalyptic Simulation. Fallout captures everything you want from a nuked-out D.C. Bethesda has put out yet another great game and this will surely stand the test of time.
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This game is personally the greatest game I have ever played. With that being said, it is a game type and genre that goes well together for some gamers, and is seen as uninteresting and boring for others. Based on a nuclear war with China and America, survivors of the bombs funneled into these underground "Vaults" which were crazy social experiments to test human psychological andThis game is personally the greatest game I have ever played. With that being said, it is a game type and genre that goes well together for some gamers, and is seen as uninteresting and boring for others. Based on a nuclear war with China and America, survivors of the bombs funneled into these underground "Vaults" which were crazy social experiments to test human psychological and emotional well being. You play as a member of Vault 101, located in the Wasteland of form Washington D.C. and you are thrown right into the middle of something much larger than yourself. This game takes on a satirical and humorous view of the apocalypse, providing a fun perk system that makes everything more gory, or allowing roaming animals to come to your aid in a fight. On top of that, it has amazing game physics and graphics (note: that was like 5 years ago, its not like skyrim, but it is totally playable.). The overall sum of this review is this: Worth the $4-$20 you will spend to buy this. I actually believe that this is a crime against Bethesda to sell such a well developed and thought out game. Its immersive and has endless replayablity, I have logged over 700 hours and thats before you mod, which there are so many good mods for the game that add a Zombie virus or add extra companions. A MUST HAVE GAME FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES RPGS OR ANY VIDEO GAMES IN GENERAL. If you don't like this game, I apologize and think you should just go back to Call of Duty, because i'm sure you think that's the best game ever. Expand
  3. Jan 5, 2016
    9
    i don't care. This to me is the best Fallout game of them all and this game is exactly the reason why i was disappointed with Fallout 4. So on with the review then.

    Pros: -The atmosphere like any Fallout game is just pitch perfect. From the desolate city of Megaton to the destroyed Washington DC. Everything just looks amazing and it feels like a world gone to hell. -The story. This
    i don't care. This to me is the best Fallout game of them all and this game is exactly the reason why i was disappointed with Fallout 4. So on with the review then.

    Pros:
    -The atmosphere like any Fallout game is just pitch perfect. From the desolate city of Megaton to the destroyed Washington DC. Everything just looks amazing and it feels like a world gone to hell.
    -The story. This is what i was disappointed with in Fallout 4. The story in 4 is very simplistic but in this game it's anything but. You can be a good guy and save everyone and they will treat you like a hero or you can be an **** and people will try to kill you. It's up to you really. Do you save Megaton and do possibly the worst quests in the game for Moira or do you detonate the nuke in the middle of the town and be hated by everybody. It's all up to you.

    Cons:
    -If i had to nitpick i would say that the graphics haven't aged all that well and the combat is nothing to cheer about but it doesn't distract from the experience. Fallout 3 is a great game and any fans of action RPG's should check it out.
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2014
    9
    This game very cool! Intresting quests, characters, and of course Capital wasteland. This game have very intesting DLC. Bad that this game isnot optimized for Windows 7. This game freezes and slows down. But
    still it is cool.
  5. Jun 22, 2015
    10
    GET THE GOTY. Nice game, somewhat crash happy like all fallout games :P but it had nice mods and bug fixes. it can be stabilized on windows 7 with some mods.
  6. Oct 16, 2015
    8
    My biggest regret is that the game dropped isometric views in favor of first and third over the shoulder. It also suffers from some drab coloring, a very brief story, and quite suicidal companions. Overall, though, the story is good, and their expansion of the world was worthy of its predecessor,
  7. Dec 14, 2015
    10
    Very good game and super cheap on steam. The world is massive with hundreds of hours of replayability. The shooting is interesting as it's impossible to hit anything if your accuracy is bad. Overall just really fun and worth the $10 it is on steam
  8. Dec 21, 2015
    9
    I got a copy of this game at a Gamestop for less than $20 on the Xbox 360 along with a few other miscellaneous titles. At first, it just sat on my shelf gathering dust, but eventually, after getting frustrated with the disgrace that was Halo Reach, I finally plunked it in not knowing what to expect. What I got was an experience like no other. It was my first time with a western RPG, I gotI got a copy of this game at a Gamestop for less than $20 on the Xbox 360 along with a few other miscellaneous titles. At first, it just sat on my shelf gathering dust, but eventually, after getting frustrated with the disgrace that was Halo Reach, I finally plunked it in not knowing what to expect. What I got was an experience like no other. It was my first time with a western RPG, I got lucky that it was a Fallout game. From The Interesting characters to the wondrous landscapes and not to mention the humor spread throughout this masterpiece, it was enough to make me buy it again on the PC. Even though it was the same story and the graphics were starting to show their age there was still more to explore and more adventures to be had. The added bonus of mod support gives this game even more replayability than it had on its on. Even after playing Fallout New Vegas, even after playing Fallout 4, This is still my favorite Fallout game and my favorite game of all time. Only reason I'm not giving it a ten is because of the immersion breaking bugs that Bethesda is famous for. This was somewhat acceptable back then but is 100% inexcusable for their modern titles like Skyrim and Fallout 4. For the love of god, test your games Bethesda. Expand
  9. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    Really this game is much better than Fallout 4, in that you can find good quests (not a lot) and interesting world, and yes, it doesn't f**k the Lore!
  10. May 13, 2016
    9
    Fallout 3 was the first game from Bethesda I have ever played and after 800+ hours its still my favorite game.
    And after Fallout 4 was presented I started to play the game one more time and write this review.
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable, and worth every penny. I bought the GOTY edition which made it even more fun. Every aspect of this game draws you in! The campaign can take a long time to finish, and there are plenty of different outcomes from the choices you make. This makes for a great replayable game. Storyline is impeccable, and the graphics are amazing!
  12. May 30, 2011
    10
    One of the all time best games. The plethora of easter eggs makes this game all the better. Great solid story with a fantastic RPG play style that really lets you fully dictate every action your character does. Funny and extremely action packed game play with great graphics and animations. I recommend Fallout 3 to anyone who loves RPGs.
  13. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Just...wow. If you play it, and I mean REALLY play it, it will immerse you in a way no game has accomplished in years for me. By the time I did everything on the map (side quests etc) and finished the story line, I'd racked up 157 hours of in game time (doesn't count menu surfing, which is a huge portion of it). It looks gorgeous, the combat is deep and spontaneous, and the NPC's areJust...wow. If you play it, and I mean REALLY play it, it will immerse you in a way no game has accomplished in years for me. By the time I did everything on the map (side quests etc) and finished the story line, I'd racked up 157 hours of in game time (doesn't count menu surfing, which is a huge portion of it). It looks gorgeous, the combat is deep and spontaneous, and the NPC's are interesting enough that it holds together quite well as a 'world'. I have to say it: there are bugs that can be terribly annoying at times (like ones that kill you party going through doors, or flat out crashes). But I can overlook it for the sheer quantity of content and how much I enjoyed it. Solid recommend to everyone. Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is easily one of my favorite games. Quite possibly one of the best values in gaming as well. I could spend hours roaming the wasteland scavenging and taking out mutants. Lots to see and do, and especially fun for a fan of the the classic Fallout titles. Just glad that I got to spend more time with/as another vault dweller yet again.
  15. BMF
    Nov 3, 2008
    10
    Great game Bethesda captured the feal of the original games very well the only con i can think of is the animation for running and some other movements is very strange looking and erratic.
  16. BenS
    Jan 17, 2010
    10
    awsome! awsome! awsome! i beat the game already and i beat it agian it it super fun and very big too and i hope soo this will get past 95% of awsomeness! thank you bethesda
  17. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    i am so addicted to Fallout 3, i play it alot, i am a god in the game, i really enjow useing the Laser pistol and the Rocket launcher, i hate playing as a badass in the game, im always the goodguy
  18. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Whenever i think of this game i think of what a good time i had (and still do) scavenging and roaming the wasteland. I just love this game and i love Bethesda for making it.
  19. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So great atmosphere of wasting things and stuff. Graphic ain't so good, but worth it! The classic fallout gameplay, open world, nice soundtracks what else do you need? Expand
  20. Mar 4, 2012
    8
    I have to say this was very similar to Oblivion in many ways, even though the setting is entirely different. The post-apocalyptic setting seems tedious at first, but I think Bethesda have done a great job making the world very big and locations very picturesque. There is a lot of detail added, in particular with the amount of different weapons and items you come across. The VAT system isI have to say this was very similar to Oblivion in many ways, even though the setting is entirely different. The post-apocalyptic setting seems tedious at first, but I think Bethesda have done a great job making the world very big and locations very picturesque. There is a lot of detail added, in particular with the amount of different weapons and items you come across. The VAT system is simply amazing. It gives a lot of satisfaction killing an enemy in a cinematic style, especially getting to choose which part of the body you'd like to shoot at. The RPG elements are really great too. There is a lot of customization to your character's playstyle. Although all in all the game is great, there were some things about it that annoyed me. The greatest one of those was perhaps a considerable lack of enemies on the roads and sidequests. Most of the time when I was traversing the wasteland, it was uneventful and if not for the beautiful locations, I would've gotten bored. Seeing a giant scorpion moving towards you in order to have you for dinner, or a gang of raiders was a joyful sight. And also I felt the main story wasn't anything special. Maybe only towards the end it got a bit interesting, but that's about it. Other than those two points the game is great. I'd give it 8.5. I am yet to try the DLCs, though still can't find a way to access them (I think it should've been clearer). Expand
  21. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    This game is good beceause of these points:

    1) The free world, do whatever you want whenever you want.
    2) There is a war, I like that
    3) The first person shooter gameplay is pretty good.
    4) The VATS-system is just brilliant. You can even shoot you're enemy's weapons.

    Conclusion: Buy it!
  22. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    First Fallout game I ever played. Loved it to death. Explored everything, went everywhere. Characters varied in depth, but overall I really got into the story. Vault dweller aspect was really cool.

    The graphics were also really good for the time. Variability of skins, armor and weapons was also pretty good, so I didn't really get bored with them. Having a companion with you was a
    First Fallout game I ever played. Loved it to death. Explored everything, went everywhere. Characters varied in depth, but overall I really got into the story. Vault dweller aspect was really cool.

    The graphics were also really good for the time. Variability of skins, armor and weapons was also pretty good, so I didn't really get bored with them. Having a companion with you was a nice touch, but the AI pathing for them was a bit glitchy at times.
    Expand
  23. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Game have too many slave-quests, like make this, and for this u must run 100 miles and shoot to all generated monsters and crime-men.

    Fallout 1 and 2 was made for more freedom of players. And if u clear some place this place still clean.

    For playing with enjoy player must fully understand textual and audio information in game. But Fallout 3 on Steam-system was without Russian language.
  24. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    This game is good..very good.The rpg elements are good.the gameplay is awesome,and the story is also very interesting.I was very amazed of the work done by bethesda softworks.It was very good.
  25. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I know this game fails to capture the spirit of Fallouts 1 & 2, but its still a whole lot of fun. I know that the main quest is pretty bad, but its still a whole lot of fun. I hate the vaults in this game. I don't enjoy picking around through the same dumb-assed assets everywhere you go. Despite all that this game is a MAGNIFICENT ACHIEVEMENT. No game is perfect, and this game has plentyI know this game fails to capture the spirit of Fallouts 1 & 2, but its still a whole lot of fun. I know that the main quest is pretty bad, but its still a whole lot of fun. I hate the vaults in this game. I don't enjoy picking around through the same dumb-assed assets everywhere you go. Despite all that this game is a MAGNIFICENT ACHIEVEMENT. No game is perfect, and this game has plenty of little details about it that irritate, more than a few. Still you can't deny the amazing feeling you get in Fallout 3, that you really are walking around in a desolate post-apocalyptic wasteland. I can't undersatand the level of love for Skyrim, in which your character's progression has been violated by horrible design changes and you have to endure a horrible UI. Nor can I understand the 'purist objections to this game, where the UI and character progression are so WELL done. Buggy Shmuggy! Fallout 3 is FANTASTIC! Expand
  26. Jun 10, 2014
    9
    Otro de los juegos que más pavor me producía que hicieran mal pero cuyo resultado fue mejor del esperado. Uno de los grandes mundos abiertos en los que vagabundear por DC destruido por bombas nucleares ya vale el precio. Sin duda una compra óptima.
  27. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is asking a lot. It asks to be forgiven for mediocre graphics, for a forgettable storyline, for poor AI, for poor animation and for linear directed characters. The funny thing is, this game is one of the greatest I have ever played. I can't really describe why, you just need to play the game for yourself. It manages to immerse you fully as you explore the Capital Wasteland. ItFallout 3 is asking a lot. It asks to be forgiven for mediocre graphics, for a forgettable storyline, for poor AI, for poor animation and for linear directed characters. The funny thing is, this game is one of the greatest I have ever played. I can't really describe why, you just need to play the game for yourself. It manages to immerse you fully as you explore the Capital Wasteland. It manages to convey a feeling of pure epicness and you take out a super mutant with a sniper rifle from miles away while listening to the tunes of GNR. Fallout 3 expects us to play the game with a degree of leniency, and funnily enough, after playing for an hour or two most people forget the bugs and glitches that plague this game. Expand
  28. BillM.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    So atmospheric, and so much to explore. Easily one of the best games this year. People who give this a 0 have a bad case of sour grapes. When you look at most user scores they're between 8-10. Do metacritic use standard mean for the user rating average? Even median would be more useful because it would lessen the effect of a few crazies who give out 0s.
  29. JasonJ.
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    I guess I've been at it for a day's worth of playing. I loved Oblivion; it was a great action RPG, probably the best ever. And I don't know what it is, but Fallout 3 just seems boring to me. People argue that the story and writing are better than Oblivion, but I disagree. Better is in the eye of the beholder; but If dumbed-down Biowarish placekeeper boilerplate with I guess I've been at it for a day's worth of playing. I loved Oblivion; it was a great action RPG, probably the best ever. And I don't know what it is, but Fallout 3 just seems boring to me. People argue that the story and writing are better than Oblivion, but I disagree. Better is in the eye of the beholder; but If dumbed-down Biowarish placekeeper boilerplate with profanity is 'better' to you, then I suppose we have different eyes. Perhaps the game's biggest issue: the dialogue and narrative structure seem to be sorely lacking (with the single exception of the introductory chapter). In Oblivion I never found myself stumbling into NPCs I shouldn't meet yet or into places I shouldn't be in or picking up pieces of quests and encounters that I had no clue about what was going on in them; this keeps happening in FO3, and it is a sure sign of sloppy design. Combat: the trumpeted innovation, VATS, is slick visually, but that's about it. Even the mouse one swordplay in Oblivion felt better. And, yes, the game is Oblivion With Guns, deeply so, beyond the obvious cosmetic similarities. For instance, I just encountered a secret faction of vampires! They were hiding in a cave-- I mean, subway station. FO3 even has its corollaries for Dark Brotherhood and Akaviri guards, but this time wearing power suits and wielding laser rifles. (What's missing, however, is the compelling interactive story attached to these factions. I don't think I've met a character outside of the vault that I have any connection to whatsoever or care about.) The single thing Fallout 3 does better is a technical one: it runs much more cleanly and the world geometry is much tighter and more refined (although the quality of the player, armor and weapon models are vastly inferior to those in the 2006 GOTY). Mass Effect is another inevitable comparison; and ME, with its huge flaws, is superior to FO3 in many ways. Even with the incredible repetitiveness and horrible map design of ME, the game still had drive-- it pushed you to keep going; FO3 really doesn't have that. For example: instead of playing it, here I am, typing this. My guess is that many if not most gamers are are going to love FO3 and say it is superior to Oblivion,which they hated. Let me tell you what I think of their opinion. They are wrong. FO3 is inferior in every register that matters. (And this is unfortunate, since Bethesda will take these players' acclaim and change TESV accordingly; it will suffer for it.) Don't get me wrong: Fallout 3 is a AAA title; but it deserves no more than a high 8 for what it is, in itself; and it deserves less when you take Oblivion and the Fallout franchises into account. Expand
  30. J.W.
    Nov 8, 2008
    10
    If all you're concerned about is how close this game sticks to everything you hold dear concerning the old games, then don't buy this game because you'll never be pleased as you're an obsessive who needs to grow up and realise that trying to cling to the past and refusing to accept a game is honestly good because of the developer is incredibly pathetic, immature If all you're concerned about is how close this game sticks to everything you hold dear concerning the old games, then don't buy this game because you'll never be pleased as you're an obsessive who needs to grow up and realise that trying to cling to the past and refusing to accept a game is honestly good because of the developer is incredibly pathetic, immature behaviour. the game is fun. It carries the spirit of Fallout if only you'll let it show you. The combat is rich and varied, and frantic and fun enough to keep you constantly entertained. Character customisation is also fantastic, and the sheer amount of polish and content in the game is truly breath-taking. There are a few niggling little bugs, like the fact that some keys cannot be unbound on the keyboard and the occasional glitch but they're little things which should easily be solved with a small patch and don't tend to come up often. If you've never played Fallout before, buy this. If you have played Fallout before, buy this and don't be stupid, because it really and truly is a fantastic Fallout game. Expand
  31. Max
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    I really don't understand why some reviewers give this game 5/10, 2/10 or even 1/10. The most common argument is that this game is a mod to Oblivion. This is total nonsence, you can say it on almost all of the games coming out today. For example, around 60% of the new games use the Unreal Engine. Does it make them Unreal mods? My guess is that the low scores are coming from I really don't understand why some reviewers give this game 5/10, 2/10 or even 1/10. The most common argument is that this game is a mod to Oblivion. This is total nonsence, you can say it on almost all of the games coming out today. For example, around 60% of the new games use the Unreal Engine. Does it make them Unreal mods? My guess is that the low scores are coming from Fallout1&2 hardcore fans and from people who thought they were bying a FPS. So, if you're hardcore fan of Fallout1&2 and you don't mind that it's gone 3D and realtime, then Fallout3 delievers. However, if you want an overhead view and turn based combat then Fallout3 isn't for you. Just don't bash it, say it like it really is: "This game isn't for me". Also, if you're looking for FPS you really shouldn't buy this game, because it's not (although it resembles one). Sure there are technincal issues, misplaced dialogs and incorrect AI on some occasions (mostly concerns NPCs), however they're all neglegible when you look at the whole picture. Interesting and very long side quests, immersive and vast world (I think the underground part is almost as large as the one on the surface), and easily 100+ hours of gameplay, that is of course if you don't just play for the main story line, which can be sprinted very fast (should I remind you that, Fallout1&2 and Oblivion had very short main story, and most of the game was about exploring and side quests). One thing to note is that PC versions surpasses the 360 and PS3, and I'm not talking about graphics here. It's all about the modding community, which makes this game even better with every comming day. And almost forgot, kudos to Bethsoft for the soundtrack. IMHO it's easily one of the best soundtracks for games. Normally I'd give this game 9/10 but because of all those 1/10 I'm going to rebalance the score. Solid 9/10. Expand
  32. LouS.
    Nov 24, 2008
    8
    WOW.... it's sounds like everyone who has said this game is Bad had a Cock in their mouth at the time of play. Just saying. Anyways, Onward! Ya!... OK, so the game has some glitches, sure happens to the best of em'. Look past some minor graphical errors and maybe some AI stupidity and you have a game that's A) fun to play [especially if you screw around with cheats]. B) WOW.... it's sounds like everyone who has said this game is Bad had a Cock in their mouth at the time of play. Just saying. Anyways, Onward! Ya!... OK, so the game has some glitches, sure happens to the best of em'. Look past some minor graphical errors and maybe some AI stupidity and you have a game that's A) fun to play [especially if you screw around with cheats]. B) immerseve enough that I was excited to play it again after I had spent a day or two doing other things. And C) a vast improvement on the current "The Elder Scrolls" philosophy, which is very exciting considering their vision. But since I'm a Cynic as well as a Critic I'll tell you about the bad shit. YES the AI is still in the uncanny valley but is on the far side of the valley and starting to crawl up the wall. VATS is fun but feels somehow jaded, like it's thinks it's the only way to properly play the game, but since you can still shoot outside of VATS, it's not.The weapons do still feel like gun equivalents of RPG swords, this is to be expected though, but the weapons are varied enough to still be interesting. When I started playing it on the normal difficulty, I found myself standing on top of a mountain of stimpaks, ammo, and vagina fairly easily which was sorta a bummer since I like the scavenger ideal of the game world. Perhaps my biggest beef with the game is a matter of tactics. While in combat it's hard to be able to do much of anything but shoot at the enemy. To me this brings up images of old tunnel runner RPG gameplay. Which is fine, I guess, but besides laying down mines and luring enemies into them you can sneak around and try to be be unnoticed and gain a single sneak attack against A enemy on the first shot. Once this happens all enemies within line of sight of you instantly notice you and charge at you. Fun!!!.......NOT. It's fairly annoying because there is no good stealth to this game. Once noticed all bad guys will attack you if there in the vicinity. And, the ones in the room next to you will hear the cries of their friends heads exploding and do nothing about it. It just seems like the game could use more of a sense of "gamest realism". The idea of if I can think of it I should be able to do it in the game within the confines of the game world. On a better note, one of the better things about sneaking though, as an improvement, is putting live Grenades in someones pocket. That never get's old. On to the Good stuff! The story, well........Ya It's pretty good...... OK the voice actors are nice as long as there important characters, Like your father or Three-Dog. Not having to feed that damn Conversation Pie to everyone was by far the best improvement in the game. Yes I do acknowledge that is a Oblivion reference but it's undeniable not realize that this is what every one else has said. Anyways, main quest seems short but takes you all across the map and lets you go explore on your way there. Side quest are varied enough to not seem like repeats of other quest Ex. fetch this, kill that. That general World of WarCarafe bull shit they give you. The game world is nicely detailed with some interesting back story to places you visit given to you via what looks to be the video games tourist terminals. Overall it's a fun game with some minor flaws in design, but it's one step closer to what a sandbox styled games should be. It should be interesting to see what Bethesda comes out with next. Expand
  33. JohnD.
    Nov 3, 2008
    8
    A very enjoyable game so far. Have only found a few graphics errors so far. Frames become a bit choppy at times.
  34. NickA.
    Nov 3, 2008
    9
    Fallout 3 is a First Person Shooter with strong RPG elements. Apart from a cone of fire, you shoot where you aim, but the attributes, skills, and perks you invest in determine the amount of damage you cause. True to Fallout 2, attribute, skill, and perk choices are plentiful and allow for an enormous variety of roles to play. The 'Oblivion with Guns' criticism is true only to a Fallout 3 is a First Person Shooter with strong RPG elements. Apart from a cone of fire, you shoot where you aim, but the attributes, skills, and perks you invest in determine the amount of damage you cause. True to Fallout 2, attribute, skill, and perk choices are plentiful and allow for an enormous variety of roles to play. The 'Oblivion with Guns' criticism is true only to a point. Same engine, so you might recognize the *.ini file. Same story driven dialogue. You'll even hear some of the same phrases, such as "another satisfied customer" after a merchant transaction. With a few exceptions, there is not much 'vertical' in Fallout 3. As in Oblivion, you're playing mostly in a 2 story world. You can tell Bethesda made both games. But Fallout 3 is more FPS than RPG - and it's a surprisingly excellent shooter coming from a developer known for its signature Elder Scrolls series and bad Star Trek titles. Because of it's strong FPS characteristics and wide open game world, Fallout 3 bears a greater resemblance to STALKER than to Oblivion. Moreover, to the extent that Fallout 3 can be compared to Oblivion, it is a much more polished game: Simple, effective UI, simple controls, stunning graphics, stimulating level design, fun, addictive gameplay, and haunting atmosphere come together in Fallout 3 with great chemistry. It's not perfect though. F3 sports an enormous game world, although it suffers from underpopulation. Its environments are more varied than Oblivion's, although it could use a greater variety of enemies. Thematically it nails the Fallout Universe, and is graphically engaging, engrossing, and appealing, but if you do not know how to keep yourself busy in such an open world, you might find it boring. One of my favorite aspects of the game is that it's clearly Rated R. I'm sure it comes with parental controls, but all else equal, this title is dark and for adults. After all, the game takes place in the US capitol, after it has been devastated by atomic war. I've given this game a 9 because I don't give 10s. Bethesda has a GOTY candidate for certain in Fallout 3. Expand
  35. gas
    Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Im writing this a bit late tbh, as ive played this game more or less 1 year ago, but now i decided im going to have a second playthrough heavily modded so im going to add a little review here too.
    This game is not perfect, the engine is a bit disappointing compared to most of the "real" fps around, at least if not modded, as many objects have transparent parts only "painted" with alpha
    Im writing this a bit late tbh, as ive played this game more or less 1 year ago, but now i decided im going to have a second playthrough heavily modded so im going to add a little review here too.
    This game is not perfect, the engine is a bit disappointing compared to most of the "real" fps around, at least if not modded, as many objects have transparent parts only "painted" with alpha channels, this means if you try to shoot behind a fence you will discover the object is full solid and a bullet will never pass it, same can happen when hiding behind a rock, you fire aiming a mob and you will end hitting the rock instead... also without a mod the sniper rifle is useless for some reason it has less range then a normal rifle.
    Anyway, beside those 2 aspects and not many more the game is really really good.
    I liked a lot fallout 1 and 2 and i was a bit scared to find a title completely different going from isometric turn based strategy to a 3d fps game, anyway luckily the choices made by devs are quite good, basically there is a lot to explore, a very appealing (but short) main quest, a large number of more or less appealing side quests, some moments of fallout style humor, and a game that overall is really well made.
    What i like more is the fact this game reach to preserve the original fallout concept and feels really a step forward.
    The full DLCS are usually included in the package nowadays, all of them are quite crap compared to the game itself, anyway actually they can be considered something non mandatory you got with the game, so im not going to rate them here.
    At the end i finished the first play after around 180 hours, and i didn't even explore all the map nor i fully played the dlcs except anchorage, so it can be a huge experience, and a good one.
    Expand
  36. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game is a buggy mess, with code that resembles a bowl of spaghetti, and a poor engine. Yet I still give it a 9/10. Everything else about this game is great.
  37. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I'm behind the times I guess, because I just bought this game only a week ago. Well, I have already spent plenty of hours playing this game. The game world is awesome, the detail is stunning, and there are tons of things to do and explore besides the main storyline. The main storyline is not all that interesting, but it's enough to want to continue on with it once you get side trackedI'm behind the times I guess, because I just bought this game only a week ago. Well, I have already spent plenty of hours playing this game. The game world is awesome, the detail is stunning, and there are tons of things to do and explore besides the main storyline. The main storyline is not all that interesting, but it's enough to want to continue on with it once you get side tracked by a number of quests (which there are plenty of, even unmarked ones!). The only things I didn't like about the game are some of the bugs (occasional crashes and shoddy quad core support), and the fact that running feels like walking and the game doesn't come native with iron sites aiming. Thankfully the game can be modded, and a number of console commands can be used to tweak the game to your liking. Getting the iron sites mod with a few other complimentary mods to remove the auto-aiming and bumping up my run speed made this game almost perfect. As for the dialog and the NPCs they are quite cheesy in appearance and sometimes sound just down right annoying. The graphics are great for it's time, but the characters look unrealistic. But given the age of this game and the enormous amount of effort that went into making it engaging and entertaining, it's to be expected. You might get bored with it after awhile, but not before you get your money's worth...and if you do, it might be high time you go on over to Nexus and see what mods you can load up to add to the fun. One more thing: this is a single player adventure type game that can be ran in First-person or third-person (nice touch), so if you are aren't someone who enjoys SP adventure games this is not for you. Expand
  38. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This game kicks ass on every level. Core i7 920,GTX275,6 gigs Mushkin DDR3, Win 7 64, and runs beautifully so the people saying quad cores have an issue.. nah.. you may have an issue. Depth of story has been built upon for years and years from FO to NV it has been great to watch it evolve. this still remains my favorite of the series.. the graphics, environment, NPC's all grab you and pullThis game kicks ass on every level. Core i7 920,GTX275,6 gigs Mushkin DDR3, Win 7 64, and runs beautifully so the people saying quad cores have an issue.. nah.. you may have an issue. Depth of story has been built upon for years and years from FO to NV it has been great to watch it evolve. this still remains my favorite of the series.. the graphics, environment, NPC's all grab you and pull you in to where you forget yourself and take another role... this game is 10/10, 100%, KA award and a legend that stands along with others on " the best ever made". list.â Expand
  39. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 is - 6 years down the line - probably my favourite game. It's also one of the only two games |I've given a 10 to here on Metacrtic.

    It's not perfect (crashing is a way of life) but the open world game-play gives the option for creating your own story or just mucking about that no other sandbox game I've played has yet managed to capture.
  40. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of all time. Those complaining of "crashes" are using **** computers. Those complaining of "paying for DLC's" are cheap and probably stole the game. There is nothing... NOTHING anyone can say about this game that should sway you from NOT purchasing it. This is THE game to end all games.
  41. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I find it quite perplexing that people think that describing Fallout 3 as "Oblivion with guns" is something of an insult. If anything, it's quite an endearing term and a perfect way to describe what is one of the most enjoyable RPG's I've played in a long time. Fallout 3 gives the same sort of moral and personal freedom that the Elder Scrolls games are known for, whilst also taking quiteI find it quite perplexing that people think that describing Fallout 3 as "Oblivion with guns" is something of an insult. If anything, it's quite an endearing term and a perfect way to describe what is one of the most enjoyable RPG's I've played in a long time. Fallout 3 gives the same sort of moral and personal freedom that the Elder Scrolls games are known for, whilst also taking quite an interesting look at what the world might have been like, had the Cold War come to fruition. It's hard to dislike a game that gives you such creative ways to make ends meet. You can roam the wastelands as something of a divine protector, a saint to all you come across. Or you can be a total jerk, pick pocketing people, lying your way to success and selling others out for your own devious goals. There's really very little NOT to like about Fallout 3, unless you're not a fan of RPG's in general, anyone with a remote interest in open world exploring and question should definitely experience this. Expand
  42. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one deep, dark, sad and one of the best RPGs ever. Set in post-apocalyptic world player assumes role of Lone Wanderer on his mission to find and save his father who left safety of the Vault 101. Epic story, combat, V.A.T.S., enemies and atmosphere coupled with awesome gameplay make this game worthwhile investition.
  43. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I can't descrive this game . It's so beutiful .
  44. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Honestly a breath taking game!, I still play it and the mods are great. It has a wonderful environment, the vast open wasteland lots of quests to do areas to explore and the best DLC's in a game. Honestly theres no better game I have ever played in my life and must get for anyone I definitely recommend it alot :) 10/10 by a mile for me!
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The very best out of all of the Fallout games. I would not recommend any expansion packs though - once you have completed a large amount of the content in this game, I'd recommend going to New Vegas.
  46. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    While the main story is average, but there is just so much to do that you'll forgive it. Graphics are alright I guess for 2008 they would've been above average. Shooting without V.A.T.S is awkward but bearable. Being a Post-apocalyptic world you will have to do a lot of scrounging and it isn't tiresome, it actually feels proper to kill someone and take their clothes to sell. RepairingWhile the main story is average, but there is just so much to do that you'll forgive it. Graphics are alright I guess for 2008 they would've been above average. Shooting without V.A.T.S is awkward but bearable. Being a Post-apocalyptic world you will have to do a lot of scrounging and it isn't tiresome, it actually feels proper to kill someone and take their clothes to sell. Repairing items does get boring after awhile. 3rd person is weird but it's good to have to option to use it. Overall if you like action RPG games you'll love Fallout 3 Expand
  47. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played in my opinion. Awesome storyline a boat load of side quests, guns, and characters make this a one of a kind game. Add the five awesome dlc's on top of that and you have a true gaming masterpiece. The only problem that i can find is that it can freeze ever so often but isn't a problem if you have patience.
  48. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG games ever.
    Great story, Great game play, paradise for Mods
    you can play this game for over the 300 hour if not more
    you can customize your own character, and you level by an XP system
    that has bin put in very nice

    Sealreth,
  49. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    a great game, given that its a Fallout game, and its made by Bethesda, who is responsible for the Elder Scrolls, you would expect a winning combination, and they delivered with this one. there are a couple gripes about this game i have, 1 is the somewhat clunky menu system, 2 is the somewhat dodgy physics at times and awkward gameplay mechanics, and 3 is the sheer number of bugs anda great game, given that its a Fallout game, and its made by Bethesda, who is responsible for the Elder Scrolls, you would expect a winning combination, and they delivered with this one. there are a couple gripes about this game i have, 1 is the somewhat clunky menu system, 2 is the somewhat dodgy physics at times and awkward gameplay mechanics, and 3 is the sheer number of bugs and glitches in the game. I can kind of understand the bugs and glitches since the game is just so freaking massive, but they really should have tried to fix those kinds of things in the Oblivion engine. Ive noticed people complain about the story and some complain about how pointless the game is... apparently they dont understand what this game is and cant get a clue as to what the heck is going on. the entire premise is that you, who has never been outside of a nuclear shelter in their life, all of a sudden is forced outside into the wastelands. at that point, you are free to do what you want, whether its going for the main story, which is the pursuit of your missing father, or exploring the wastes for useful stuff. the last thing i want to complain about is the GfWL, M$ needs to stop trying to get into PC gaming again, their days of glory are over, its not the days of "Rise of Nations" anymore. M$ needs to stop getting into things if they are going to half-ass their work. however, with all those things aside, Fallout 3 really is a great game that has a pretty good story to back it up too, if only the mechanics were more like New Vegas, where they threw out any semblance of a good story... Expand
  50. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Now this game is worthy of the title "epic". Same scenario as the wonderful 1st and 2nd Fallouts, with a new engine and perspective on the game. Everything you could want in a Fallout game, and more.
  51. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    A fun game to play, especially if you played Fallout 1 or 2 before. They managed to mix the old turn-based combat and skill very well with modern fps, I was suprised how good it works! The post apocalyptic feeling shines. You get a big sandbox gameplay with a not too interesting main plot, but with many creative and fun side quest, tons of items and characters to meet. I played it overA fun game to play, especially if you played Fallout 1 or 2 before. They managed to mix the old turn-based combat and skill very well with modern fps, I was suprised how good it works! The post apocalyptic feeling shines. You get a big sandbox gameplay with a not too interesting main plot, but with many creative and fun side quest, tons of items and characters to meet. I played it over twice, and also played all of the expansions as well. (Those were below the level of the main game, sadly, but still all right if you manage to buy them cheap.) Expand
  52. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Considering its release date, I think FO3 should rate about an 8. Despite a few issues, its a great game that is very huge and offers so much to do(especially with all the player created mods and so forth). So why did I rate it a 10? I see some other reviewers in here literally admitted to rating the game at "0" for the sole reason to influence its overall score down to something "they"Considering its release date, I think FO3 should rate about an 8. Despite a few issues, its a great game that is very huge and offers so much to do(especially with all the player created mods and so forth). So why did I rate it a 10? I see some other reviewers in here literally admitted to rating the game at "0" for the sole reason to influence its overall score down to something "they" believe it should be. Its like they are spoiled little brats who spit on a cake cause they don't want anyone else to like it if they don't. Anyway, their tactic works both ways. I gave the game a 10 to counter some of their false scores. That means their score and my score cancel each other out but I can live with that Expand
  53. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Bethesda really knew that their style could be good for return of this legend. They`re got open world exploration, they`re got humor. Together with authentic visuals style and postnuclear atmosphere, they`re did something unbelievable.
    Right now, I`m slowely starting play Fallout 2. I remember this game from late 90`, because my Cousin played it. What I want to say is, that F3 has not
    Bethesda really knew that their style could be good for return of this legend. They`re got open world exploration, they`re got humor. Together with authentic visuals style and postnuclear atmosphere, they`re did something unbelievable.
    Right now, I`m slowely starting play Fallout 2. I remember this game from late 90`, because my Cousin played it. What I want to say is, that F3 has not that aspects of free world as his predecessor. Aspects what made him a legend. But has a great atmosphere, visual style, charakter creation, weapons, Story. Everything of this is make completely in original Fallout style. I`ve never played a game like this. Is not a legend, but one of the most incredible game of it`s generation.
    Expand
  54. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    ufff, how can i put it, this game sucked my life, when the game was out i played it around 2 years, not going to make a review about it, u can read plenty of them here, the only thing i can say is that the game is a freaking master piece, at his time was the best game i've ever saw, and now i still think on installing it and replay it.
  55. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Legendary! One of my favourite RPG's of all time, it's easy to forgive it's big amount of flaws but it's rather easy to forgive those when you have an fantastic open world, decent modding community and top notch DLC, A must have!
  56. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

    ++ A huge open-world that rewards exploration ++ Ton of mods to choose from, expanding the game tremendously + Total freedom, kill anyone you like, help anyone you like, game is not forcing a path on you + A fair amount of quests, enemies, places to go, items to obtain + More than one way to solve problems and overcome obstacles (eg. combat or sneaking
    The Good, The Bad and the Ugly

    ++ A huge open-world that rewards exploration
    ++ Ton of mods to choose from, expanding the game tremendously
    + Total freedom, kill anyone you like, help anyone you like, game is not forcing a path on you
    + A fair amount of quests, enemies, places to go, items to obtain
    + More than one way to solve problems and overcome obstacles (eg. combat or sneaking or using skills like science etc)
    + Probably the most immersive character introduction I've seen in an RPG game (game starts when you're born and continues through your childhood)

    . The game approach to post-apocalyptic theme is a bit light-hearted and not everyone might like it, but less than in Fallout New Vegas where it was to a point I considered it a major flaw. It's hard to explain, but to put a long story short the game technologically feels like the future but culturally like 1950s making a bizarre setting

    - Despite a huge world there are only 2 true towns in the world, and the rest of the world is either empty or outright hostile (eg. raider camps) making it feel boring after long exploration
    - Main quest is only fit for a good character or a neutral one, but not really for evil characters (however there is an evil ending option to it)
    - Braindead enemies offering little challenge to the player

    Overall: Recommended for RPG fans and post-apo theme fans but not the most hardcore ones
    Expand
  57. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent game where your choices actually alternate the ending. The leveling system is good with all needed skills and the perk system is out of this world. I can understand why someone wouldn't like this game that much but seriously someone gave a FREAKING 0 TO THIS GAME! It's understandable to give it a 7 but not 0 Expand
  58. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Fantastic game about a post nuclear holocaust world, really not many games explore such theme, and Fallout 3 did it with brio, basically if you like RPGs and exploring this is a game for you.
  59. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    The depressing atmosphere, the gunplay, the graphics (although a bit dated, Fallout 3 still looks good), the sounds, the quests, the huge map ... Call me a fanboy, but since it came out, Fallout 3 is my #1 PC game, I literally spent hundreds of hours with it and can't wait for Fallout 4. Your turn, Bethesda.
  60. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Fallout all Parts are a all time favourite of mire. This is also perfect Gameplay with perfect atmossphere. -1 Point because of DLCs needed to get the whole experience for the game. But Fallout is moddable like oblivion and skyrim. You could, after gametime of over 200 Hours, easily add more features from downloads that a free of charge. Fallout show all other gamedevelopers how toFallout all Parts are a all time favourite of mire. This is also perfect Gameplay with perfect atmossphere. -1 Point because of DLCs needed to get the whole experience for the game. But Fallout is moddable like oblivion and skyrim. You could, after gametime of over 200 Hours, easily add more features from downloads that a free of charge. Fallout show all other gamedevelopers how to build a good world, with good balance and intresting skilltress.

    Have fun build YOUR way and Play you'r way.
    Expand
  61. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Fallout 3 is a great game especially for fans of this genre. The story is pretty good, not superb but not bad. The combat is fun but a little dull, because it lacks a cover system or iron sights. The Voice acting is well done but the characters faces look stiff when they talk. The game world is awesome and i genuinely enjoy exploring. The game does crash often and it becomes veryFallout 3 is a great game especially for fans of this genre. The story is pretty good, not superb but not bad. The combat is fun but a little dull, because it lacks a cover system or iron sights. The Voice acting is well done but the characters faces look stiff when they talk. The game world is awesome and i genuinely enjoy exploring. The game does crash often and it becomes very frustrating. Overall i think it's a good purchase. Expand
  62. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, I got it quite recently, and have already 'wasted' 40 hours on it. For people who look here to buy this game, I decided to refute some of the negative reviewers arguments.

    It's world doesn't have enough stuff!: I don't know where you've been, but if you have a brain, you should be able to find ridiculous amounts of content, I recall there's 161
    One of the best games I have ever played, I got it quite recently, and have already 'wasted' 40 hours on it. For people who look here to buy this game, I decided to refute some of the negative reviewers arguments.

    It's world doesn't have enough stuff!: I don't know where you've been, but if you have a brain, you should be able to find ridiculous amounts of content, I recall there's 161 marked locations on the map, and that's not including the numerous unmarked locations and Downloadable Content areas.

    But it's not the fallout game I'm used to!: Sorry, but it's now produced by Bethesda, and it was bound to change, personally I prefer it's FPS and faux turn system, but I can understand why others would prefer the old system. It's really a matter of preferance, just don't expect it to be the same as 1 and 2

    It's lackluster and shouldn't be more than $10!: Think of it this way, most high quality games are $50-60, and while this is no longer the highest quality you can buy, it's worth the price you pay. Besides, if you buy it on steam, it's only 9.99 :P

    It doesn't work for my system D:!: Well, not really anything to deny here, it does have alot of these problems. It mainly has trouble with windows 7, so if you don't have that you *should* be good. Sometimes it will freeze up on start, I advise restarting the game, it seems to work for me

    The V.A.T.S. system is too overpowered!: Then don't use it, yep, it's really that simple. It's completely unnecessary and if you don't use it, you'll progress in the storyline just fine.

    Storyline is too short!: It depends on what you consider storyline, if you just want to complete the necessary quests, then yes, but if you want to complete all the content in the game, it'll probably take a few days
    Expand
  63. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    One of the best RPG experiences you could ask for. A truly open world, tons to do, a great V.A.T.S. system, You would do yourself a deservice if you didn't pick this up
  64. May 13, 2013
    9
    A very good story driven in a great and challenging atmosphere, with interesting gameplay and mechanics.

    A must for any FPS and RPG fan rolled in to one.
  65. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I bought this game for christmas with my xbox. I still have great memories about fallout. I rreally didnt know about it, never even knew what fallout was. This was my first fallout game to play. Yes it has plenty of bugs everywhere but its a bethesda game, nothing of that size can be fully patched to not have glitches. The story was wonderful and well written. I got myself to glitch theI bought this game for christmas with my xbox. I still have great memories about fallout. I rreally didnt know about it, never even knew what fallout was. This was my first fallout game to play. Yes it has plenty of bugs everywhere but its a bethesda game, nothing of that size can be fully patched to not have glitches. The story was wonderful and well written. I got myself to glitch the game ending and It was a bummer to start it all over, since I didnt save it alot and the lastest save was on the beggining of the mission, but it was my fault anyway (1st time) I later burned the disk after accidentally pushing my xbox so I bought the GOTY, since it was released then. I did the story line and fortunately I didnt break it horribly. Then I got to the DLCs which were great in theory but not so well realised ( im talking to you Operation Anchorage ) and the worst one was Operation anchorage, God, as a idiot that I am, I still didnt learn the lesson to SAVE THE DAMN GAME. I started it all over ( 2nd time ) again since I couldnt complete the damn DLC. So after some damn butthurt of completing the story I got myself to rank up and begun with Mothership zeta to get some guns and money. Mothership zeta was repetitive. Very Very Very repetitive but I still managed to suck the fun out of it and GOT LOTS OF MONEH! Then I got with the pitt, the pitt was bad, seriously bad, but since Im such a bastard I still sucked all the fun of cheating and killing people.. Then.. Then.. Then.. THE HORROR COMETH! I had to do Operation Anchorage. Goddamit I hate that DLC. I took me a week of pain in the anus to get over it, and the best thing I got off of it was that stealth suit, which didnt even suit me. Now back to the wasteland I got back to side stuff, and believe me, I hated every single side mission in every game ever, but fallout, fallout used envy to make you do the side missions, and it did a good job at making me do them, giving me my own taste of medicine. The most horrible one, which I felt guilty to do was to destroy megaton, I loved megaton I used to trade all the alien guns I got and to save them there. But I destroyed the **** out of it because of Moira Brown, Oh god I hated her, She felt very compelled to drag me into her dirty buisness, And if you were asking I didnt have enough skill to dissarm the bomb. So I left it for later, then I met that other guy and for the sake of my sanity I destroyed it. THEN I FOUND OUT THAT MOIRA IS STILL ALIVE......... Moving on, there were not many good side quest but the open world, the mods, oh the mods, I may need some years to talk about the mods. but the frosting in the cheesecake in fallout are random events, dogmeat, and some random things that may make you go wtf.. To blend it all in one piece, Fallout is one of the games of the century. PERIOD Expand
  66. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 is one of the greatest of the games since ever,no one could doubt its value.As the time i goes out of the vault 101,a story begins and a legendary is beginning to write.I can spend hours and hours and i can breakd it out once again and again,much more, the mods,everyone knows that.
  67. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I bought Fallout 3 and all DLCs at full price when they were released on DVDs. Being a fan of Fallout apocalyptic universe, I remembered I almost cried with excitement when I survived the initial wasteland trip and reached the very first city (Megaton). I loved the open-ended gameplay and rich storyline and side mission. This is one out of two games that I re-purchased on Steam forI bought Fallout 3 and all DLCs at full price when they were released on DVDs. Being a fan of Fallout apocalyptic universe, I remembered I almost cried with excitement when I survived the initial wasteland trip and reached the very first city (Megaton). I loved the open-ended gameplay and rich storyline and side mission. This is one out of two games that I re-purchased on Steam for collection purpose. Expand
  68. Dec 5, 2012
    9
    In a post-apocalyptic Earth, Fallout 3 shows us how the world has gone bad. Incredible game play is the shine of this game. Even though the story is not entirely great or the graphics are not as good as other games that came out that year, its game play won't bore you.
  69. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Post-apocalyptic open world FPS-RPG with an epic storyline where your actions actually influence and impact what happens in the world and how you advance the story (first town of Atom, anyone?) while also providing great and memorable characters and decent action? Sign me up!

    Buggy, but beautiful. Gameplay and combat could be better, but definitely still enjoyable. NOTICE: Would've
    Post-apocalyptic open world FPS-RPG with an epic storyline where your actions actually influence and impact what happens in the world and how you advance the story (first town of Atom, anyone?) while also providing great and memorable characters and decent action? Sign me up!

    Buggy, but beautiful. Gameplay and combat could be better, but definitely still enjoyable. NOTICE: Would've rated this a 9 were it not for the fact that this really got me hooked into playing open world RPG games, and RPG games in general actually, so this game does have added special value to me and in my eyes deserves a bump because of that.
    Expand
  70. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    Great game, full of memorable characters, and still looks good after all this time, but nearly ruined by Games For Windows Live. Hope Bethesda see the light and keep well away in future.
  71. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    This game was one of the best games i have ever played. It's not just the game play but the idea itself.
    The storyline and the game play made me feel i was in the fallout-world myself. I do not have much enthusiasm with games but this game changed my idea about it. The graphics were not bad and the game play was pretty difficult sometimes, the DLC 's were fantastic too, although the
    This game was one of the best games i have ever played. It's not just the game play but the idea itself.
    The storyline and the game play made me feel i was in the fallout-world myself. I do not have much enthusiasm with games but this game changed my idea about it. The graphics were not bad and the game play was pretty difficult sometimes, the DLC 's were fantastic too, although the storyline was way too short. This was an amazing RPG. Here and there there were bugs but they were no problem. Every time i play Fallout: New Vegas i think to myself why they haven't made it like Fallout 3 , because this game rocks !
    Expand
  72. May 9, 2013
    10
    as one of my favorite games iam shocked how poor it run's on newer systems for a game in 2008 you suspect it wil handle pc's for quie a while wel it dons't every 30mins or so it crashes this is unplayable as for bethesda doenst give a to fix this and yea i searcht for the fix and tryet to fix it)
    as a jewel its becoming a piece of as the years pas only by technical issues
  73. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    best game ever!!!!!!!!!!! i love to see America total destroyed of soviet union!!!! hahahaha. the best game series ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  74. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Absolute best game by far that I have EVER played. It's buggy, but there's a few homebrew fixes to them, and with a few mods it's an HD trip of classic awesomeness...
  75. Feb 1, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing!! Brilliant atmosphere, brilliant weapons and armour, and brilliant DLC! The only thing that lacks is how short the main quest is. But one of the DLC's does alternate the ending (For the better). Also, the radio is well thought out and amazing!
  76. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Fallout 3 throws you in a land of waste, you have nothing at first, but freedom to do anything. Hunting some mutants to eat, surviving in a bandit territory, stealing some chem to live, blown by some mines, amazing and memorable quest, amazing and memorable memory. Fallout 3 is those and much more. And there are mods in pc, things that make Fallout 3 even worth 9.5 for a score. 7.5 is wayFallout 3 throws you in a land of waste, you have nothing at first, but freedom to do anything. Hunting some mutants to eat, surviving in a bandit territory, stealing some chem to live, blown by some mines, amazing and memorable quest, amazing and memorable memory. Fallout 3 is those and much more. And there are mods in pc, things that make Fallout 3 even worth 9.5 for a score. 7.5 is way too low for a score of a game like this. If god was a game, he would be Fallout 3. Expand
  77. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    this game is an amazing way for bethesda to start there turn with the fallout franchise if you have not bought this yet then buy it and also some duct tape and a bed pan because you will not want to move
  78. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    This game gives you a feeling, you will never forget.It would be scary if there would not be Galaxy News Radio or the little boy from your Pip-Boy.Lots of weapon, cool story, big map, lots of side quests, lots of options of how to resolve quests. Karma points were also very fun. If you did a quest in the right way ex: you dezactivated an atomic bomb, you get positive karma points, ThreeThis game gives you a feeling, you will never forget.It would be scary if there would not be Galaxy News Radio or the little boy from your Pip-Boy.Lots of weapon, cool story, big map, lots of side quests, lots of options of how to resolve quests. Karma points were also very fun. If you did a quest in the right way ex: you dezactivated an atomic bomb, you get positive karma points, Three Dog (the guy talking on the radio) will say good things about you, but if you do it in the bad way ex: you blow up the atomic bomb and kill lots of people for some money, you get negative karma and Three Dog will say bad things about you. Expand
  79. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Perfect. For me as the unexperienced "Bethesda's style" player. When you play it don't think about anything... Just explore. All. It makes you feel as a part of post-nuclear life. And don't read someone's opinion before! Or tips, or something like that. Main opinion is yours. Making your own through-style is most unforgettable thing.
  80. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    I've lost count of the amount of time's Ive played this game and found something or seen something I hadn't in past play thru's. This game is a must have for any RPG or FPS fan.
  81. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This is Fallout 3! What has to be one of my favrite games of this modern generation in video gaming! Everything about this game is great! The storyline, side questions alike! ALL OF IT! GAMEPLAY I LOVE IT ALL. The game throws many refrenses to the classic loved fallout games before it, and does it with shine! But above all what this game excels at that many modern games of today fail at isThis is Fallout 3! What has to be one of my favrite games of this modern generation in video gaming! Everything about this game is great! The storyline, side questions alike! ALL OF IT! GAMEPLAY I LOVE IT ALL. The game throws many refrenses to the classic loved fallout games before it, and does it with shine! But above all what this game excels at that many modern games of today fail at is one simple thing. ATMOSPHERE! This game will forever be one of my favrite games that ive ever expereinced, and will experience Expand
  82. May 25, 2013
    9
    Bravo Bethesda, Bravo. This game was logged as over 10 hours the first night I purchased it. If you're reading this for decisions of purchase, I highly recommend it. When you choose to speak with a being, you are given plenty of options, and decisions. As far as travel, fluid controls, and RPG elements, I give them 10/10. As far as you play this game, it is impossible to see the game wasBravo Bethesda, Bravo. This game was logged as over 10 hours the first night I purchased it. If you're reading this for decisions of purchase, I highly recommend it. When you choose to speak with a being, you are given plenty of options, and decisions. As far as travel, fluid controls, and RPG elements, I give them 10/10. As far as you play this game, it is impossible to see the game was made in 2008. It looks like the graphics from Bioshock Infinite! When you play this game, it is impossible to do everything that is possible in the game. As far as character customization, you can select your facial type, hair, hair color, eyes, and even have traits like strength, agility, etc. I would give the game a 10/10, but there is just something about the game when you're playing it, that just makes you get off. This is better than Fallout: New Vegas because, this one is the more post-apocalyptic feel of a world. New Vegas has that element in some areas, but overall it is just too civilized. I love this game. And if I lost my data in this game, I would throw my PC out the window! Expand
  83. Aug 1, 2013
    8
    I'll do a pros and cons for this review.

    Pros: 1.) Atmosphere- While Fallout 3 had a different atmosphere than the original two, 3 still provides a great atmosphere and feel of the game. I really liked large amount 50s vibe it had to it. The 50s diners, cars, buildings, houses. This gives the game a unique twist and it defiantly makes 3 stand out from the pack. It's also gives a twist
    I'll do a pros and cons for this review.

    Pros:
    1.) Atmosphere- While Fallout 3 had a different atmosphere than the original two, 3 still provides a great atmosphere and feel of the game. I really liked large amount 50s vibe it had to it. The 50s diners, cars, buildings, houses. This gives the game a unique twist and it defiantly makes 3 stand out from the pack. It's also gives a twist of irony of the 1950s 'life is good' feel to the bleak world you're in.

    2.) The little things- Small things like leaving the Vault for the first time, hearing the wind whistle as you travel through the wastes, Dogmeat, Harold being a full tree, walking into Springvale for the first time, or the rust broken look of the hunting rifle, the list can go on. These small things really brings out some cool things that can really immerse you into the world and give a feeling of the atmosphere and the game in general.

    3.) Soundtrack, both radio and the OST- I don't like Three Dog, but I do like the playlist. Most of the songs on the radio fit perfectly into Fallout 3's world it's almost unbelievable. It really contributes to bringing the wasteland too life. In fact, most of these songs are 'feel good' music of America's post World War II prosperity and again, it goes back to the irony of the 'feel good' music in a desolate wastes.

    4.) Wasteland- It's well detailed and looks great. Every location has a something in it and the distinct 50s style brings it too life.

    CONS
    1.) Story- My god is it awful. It violates the definition of an RPG game with choices. It's short, linear, and the choices you make are virtually non existent. The story forces you to play the hero and side with the good guys and make all the right choices. Not very much flexibility.

    2.) Characters. Good characters can make a poor story better. But that's not the case. Most characters are generic and 2-D. They share the same personality and sometimes there voices seemed phoned in.
    With James and among other character, it forces a personal attachment on you and the game plays off of that regardless whether you actually care about them or not.

    3.) Black and white morality. The game assumes you want to play hero and almost expects you too. At least story wise. I don't know, it just seems to lean towards being a good guy. You can still commit heinous acts, but if you've seen some of the dialogue options and how the story plays, you'll understand.

    Still Fallout 3 is a good game, great in fact. It captures an immersive bleak, 50s style post apocalyptic DC that's just a joy to explore (despite the oh so many metro tunels).

    As for the DLCS- Operation Anchorage is the worst, as it leans toward a boring linear shooter and the rewards make the game way to easy. Mothership Zeta is the second worst, as the whole alien ship thing seems a bit wacky, even for Fallout 3.
    Broken Steel is a must, as it lets you continue on from the ending. The story for isn't too bad either.
    Point Lookout and The Pitt are the best. Capturing great atmosphere, characters, and story. The Pitt being the best as it forces you into a convincing moral dilemma.
    Expand
  84. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Fallout 3 is immersive, dark and fun RPG game that has tons of things to do and explore. The game takes place in post-apocalyptic Washington DC where several factions like supermutants, raiders, vault dwellers, brotherhood of steal etc. live in uneasy coexistence.

    It possible to play this game strictly by following the plot, but the main plot is somewhat short and strictly speaking
    Fallout 3 is immersive, dark and fun RPG game that has tons of things to do and explore. The game takes place in post-apocalyptic Washington DC where several factions like supermutants, raiders, vault dwellers, brotherhood of steal etc. live in uneasy coexistence.

    It possible to play this game strictly by following the plot, but the main plot is somewhat short and strictly speaking there are better plot-driven games. The real fun of Fallout is open-ended exploration. The game world is huge and has more than enough stuff to do,

    Although the game is very dark, everything is done tongue in cheek. This includes many subplots (e.g. Wasteland survival guide missions intended as tutorial are often outright hilarious), character development system and violence which is so excessive it becomes ridiculous (in a good way). The games also offers tons of different weapons and skills.

    Main problem with this game is the low-level cap of 20, which is reached very early in the game (especially if you like exploration). Broken Steel DLC increases this to 30, which is still low but alleviates the problem to some extent.

    To sum it up, Fallout 3 is definitely worth buying if you like exploration, RPG, excessive violence and silly dark humor. It offers tons of playtime and good value for your money.
    Expand
  85. Jun 27, 2013
    8
    This post-apocalyptic game is one of my favorite games, I have spent 35 hours of my life sitting on my couch lost in the unique post-apocalyptic open world of fallout 3. the one bad part is the fact that you can't continue playing the game after you beat the campaign unless you buy the Broken Steel dlc, which is a really lame move by Bethesda
  86. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Stunning when i saw the white house i was just blown away but some character animations needed more work and face expressions Sound: Great but for some reason i miss the music while you just wander around the world As for the voice acting, every voice for every character feels realistic Story: Fun but very short the game also ends
    A simplified review for novice gamers
    Graphics:
    Stunning when i saw the white house i was just blown away but some character animations needed more work and face expressions
    Sound:
    Great but for some reason i miss the music while you just wander around the world
    As for the voice acting, every voice for every character feels realistic
    Story:
    Fun but very short the game also ends after finishing the last quest
    Game play:
    Incredible tons of quests to finish and areas to explore but sometimes you might not be able to find the reply you are looking for when interacting with a npc but still its not very bad
    Overall Fallout 3 is a must get and if you are not sure rent it if you can and try it.
    Expand
  87. Jul 7, 2013
    9
    In Bethesda, to their credit, do not lie the game just squeezed an incredible number of recognizable elements, Fallout 3 is similar to its predecessors, if you look closely, much more than the same Gothic 3 on its own. A larger-then do not.
  88. Jul 20, 2013
    8
    Although the original fallout game had a very rich and rather detailed universe, a lot was left to our imagination due to the graphical and technical limitations of the game at that time. A lot was guessed or completed by our imagination, because we couldn't see that much of that world, or of those characters. Therefore, it was obviously a challenge recreating this world in 3D with theAlthough the original fallout game had a very rich and rather detailed universe, a lot was left to our imagination due to the graphical and technical limitations of the game at that time. A lot was guessed or completed by our imagination, because we couldn't see that much of that world, or of those characters. Therefore, it was obviously a challenge recreating this world in 3D with the subjective point of view you have with a traditional FPS. A lot was added to this world, although sometimes you do get the feeling of seeing bits of oblivion remixed in this Mad Max environment. Nonetheless, it's truly a great feeling to wander in these landscapes with the sunlight changing all the time, the moonlight taking over. You have a huge pleasure discovering new places, exploring and searching for small treasures or hints for a possible new adventure.

    Actually, the game gives you so much, it makes you wish you could have some more. After hours and hours of playing it, I wished there could be more different weathers, like rain or thunder, that would affect stealth for example and then I wished there could be seasons that would bring changes in how you could navigate or fight in certain areas; or what species you would be more likely to encounter in the wild, etc. The game succeeds in being immersing, capturing your imagination, making you feel like being there; which makes all the things you would expect in real life more lacking than in any other games.

    There are many great ideas like Agatha's song quests and its outcome. This kind of idea is wonderful and does make your imagination works a lot. And that's why you end up wishing it could have been even better. Same for the what your minds make you see in a certain vault.

    We lost the turn-based combat system of the original Fallouts. And well I haven't missed it as much as I would have expected. It's a common mistake we, fallout fans, have made we have tended to think that the turn-based combat system was essential to the fallout spirit. In the end, it was just a way to render RPG combat that probably was more suitable for the interface we had. In fallout 3, combat are more nervous, and somehow, more fun. It's true that in many cases, you can't apply any kind of strategy, and VATS tends to feel like a convenient way to reminds you that you're not playing an FPS, and helps in reminding how good or bad your characer is at using that particular weapon.

    Unlike what I've read in some other review, aiming an opponent's arm or leg will make a difference in how they move or fight. Crippling their heads makes their aim a lot more random. The only problem is you don't get to enjoy much of these advantages against common foes as them having a crippled member usually means they're one shot away from dying.

    Some of the negatives :
    - lots of glitches and bugs that can be quite annoying,
    - many quests are not that interesting, and feels more like an embryo of an idea.
    - The game lacks some obvious mechanisms. Whatever your character's specialization might be, he/she can wear any type of armor. Playing a stealthy ninja with a Tesla armor shouldn't be possible, should it ?
    - your character can become excellent in almost every skills and somehow the game doesn't give you any other way to fully enjoy all its secrets.
    - Companions are nice but limited and either cumbersome or way too powerful (especially with the add-ons, dogmeat becomes invulnerable for example). I would have rather see more specialized companions. Like, if you're no good in unlocking computers, you could hire a computer genius to do the cracking for you, which would have allowed a more specialized character evolution. Most of the time, I'm walking with Fawkes who does an excellent job as a mule, but who is very annoying in how he tends to shoot everything in sight without any sense of nuance. Shooting Radroaches with a laser gatling isn't really necessary, is it ?

    There are a lots of shortcomings that I could list but most of them would fit better in a wishlist for a future game. For example, I wish character's interaction would be more credible. For instance, what you wear doesn't change how people sees you. I wish I could put an enclave armor to pretend I am from the enclave, or that my ghoul mask would put people off, or that Derek would react differently when I'm wearing the mechanist armor. As immersive this game might be, those kinds of details tend to kill that.

    All in all, this game was a very ambitious game and while it doesn't entirely fulfill all its promises, it does give you an experience like none other. It's still one of the best games I've ever played. I'm 40 and I've played video games since I was 9. :D

    The PC version looks a lot better than the PS3 version, but the PS3 manages to be very enjoyable and provides some eye candies.
    Expand
  89. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    Fallout 3 was a fantastic game. I had never played the previous games, but this one looked promising. The story is superb and adventuring is a boat load of fun. This game, however, lacks the whole post-apocalyptic feel. Sure it looks like a wasteland, but it doesn't feel like one. I didn't feel like I needed to survive. Ammo was too plentiful, and I never say that. The story made up forFallout 3 was a fantastic game. I had never played the previous games, but this one looked promising. The story is superb and adventuring is a boat load of fun. This game, however, lacks the whole post-apocalyptic feel. Sure it looks like a wasteland, but it doesn't feel like one. I didn't feel like I needed to survive. Ammo was too plentiful, and I never say that. The story made up for this and the game was just great fun. Expand
  90. Aug 30, 2013
    9
    A little worse than Fallout NV but it's still a great game. If you need some atmospheric FPS/RPG game, that's for you dear gamer. You won't regret it.
  91. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    8.4/10. Just like The Last of Us, it has a wonderful feel that you really can't put your finger on. The setting is remarkably different from TLOU, as the game satisfies a 50s-perception-of-the-future-plus-bombs, but how hopeless the world feels is simply beautiful as a setting, and this setting is dominant in both games. With that being said, this game does have a few obvious flaws.

    For
    8.4/10. Just like The Last of Us, it has a wonderful feel that you really can't put your finger on. The setting is remarkably different from TLOU, as the game satisfies a 50s-perception-of-the-future-plus-bombs, but how hopeless the world feels is simply beautiful as a setting, and this setting is dominant in both games. With that being said, this game does have a few obvious flaws.

    For one, the story. It's a roleplaying game; the story should not be linear, and it should give your character a blank state instead of forcing you into a story you may not want (a.k.a the Vault 101 backstory). The other is the forced system. VATS should be a choice, not something you are forced into. Sure, you don't have to hit "V" every time you enter combat, but you'd might as well, considering that there are no iron sights.

    Voice acting was heavily recycled; they should have hired more voice actors instead of having the same guy voicing almost half of the characters in the game. The world size is nice, but it's mostly the same designs recycled over and over again. Fallout 4 has a ton of potential, if it combines what is good about Fallout 3 and New Vegas alike.
    Expand
  92. Sep 23, 2014
    9
    War....War never changes but Gameplay does with excellent mods. Fallout 3 is one of the greater games of last gen. and is still fun to play. Its a FPS/TPS that sends you into a vast world of The Capital Wasteland to explore its chilling environment that can look excellent in today's standard with textures pack. But the game needs mods to add in that extra 100 hours.
  93. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Probably my favourite game of all time. There is so much to do in this game, and the DLC is very well done. Some of the DLC content is a little on the strange side, but is a nice change of thematic pace from the rest of the game. There are MANY locations, and lots of side quests that make the game very enjoyable. There are even small (I would say kinda hidden) quests that don't really addProbably my favourite game of all time. There is so much to do in this game, and the DLC is very well done. Some of the DLC content is a little on the strange side, but is a nice change of thematic pace from the rest of the game. There are MANY locations, and lots of side quests that make the game very enjoyable. There are even small (I would say kinda hidden) quests that don't really add much to the game, but are good for completionists. Overall, a must play that will keep fans of RPGs engaged for a while. Expand
  94. Jan 17, 2014
    9
    What I have been waiting for in an Action RPG since Diablo 2: great difficulty and challenge, vast atmospheric world, tons of items, stats, and skills to customize, creative enemies, good story. A very addictive and memorable game overall.

    Only major flaw is the technical side of things: the game crashes more often than it should (about once every 2-3 hours), there are bugs and glitches
    What I have been waiting for in an Action RPG since Diablo 2: great difficulty and challenge, vast atmospheric world, tons of items, stats, and skills to customize, creative enemies, good story. A very addictive and memorable game overall.

    Only major flaw is the technical side of things: the game crashes more often than it should (about once every 2-3 hours), there are bugs and glitches here and there, and it took over an hour to figure out how to get it working on Windows 8 in the first place. Overall though, well worth the money, time, and effort.
    Expand
  95. Dec 22, 2013
    9
    Being a fan of the original Fallout games, I was skeptical at purchasing this. When I first started, I wasn't used to the FPS feature that was implemented. However, the game soon became astounding. Even though the landscape was kind of dull, the action and random encounters was appealing. Watching the world evolve with the choices you decided also made this game worth the 80+ hours I'veBeing a fan of the original Fallout games, I was skeptical at purchasing this. When I first started, I wasn't used to the FPS feature that was implemented. However, the game soon became astounding. Even though the landscape was kind of dull, the action and random encounters was appealing. Watching the world evolve with the choices you decided also made this game worth the 80+ hours I've spent on it.
    However, I crash on this game occasionally (more than any other game I've played) and the story line was kind of slow and boring.

    Overall, I give this game a 9/10 and was worth the $5 I spent on it.
    Expand
  96. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I will admit some bias as this was my first open-world go and do what you want game, but the moments that make you feel as though you are watching a movie instead of playing a game make this game worth it. The graphics make sense for its time, the characters you encounter are believable and you can relate with each of them, the combat is just difficult enough to make you work (while notI will admit some bias as this was my first open-world go and do what you want game, but the moments that make you feel as though you are watching a movie instead of playing a game make this game worth it. The graphics make sense for its time, the characters you encounter are believable and you can relate with each of them, the combat is just difficult enough to make you work (while not hindering you) and you want to go back to explore more even after beating the game. Expand
  97. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    This is one of my all-time favourite games. The story is captivating and there is SO much to do in the Capital Wasteland. There are many side-quests and freeform quests, and dozens of items to collect.
    The PC version, in my opinion, as far better than the console ports, mostly because of the controls. I find this game MUCH easier to play with a mouse rather than a controller.
    Also, the
    This is one of my all-time favourite games. The story is captivating and there is SO much to do in the Capital Wasteland. There are many side-quests and freeform quests, and dozens of items to collect.
    The PC version, in my opinion, as far better than the console ports, mostly because of the controls. I find this game MUCH easier to play with a mouse rather than a controller.
    Also, the DLC is amazing. Each one adds at least two or three hours of gameplay, or even more.

    In short, if you like RPG games and/or action games, GET THIS GAME NOW.
    Expand
  98. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    Fallout 3 is a spectacle of a game! Putting you into the boots of a vault dweller being shoved out by the disappearance of your father in search for him, it truly makes you feel that you are in an apocalyptic Washington DC. The story is great and the adventure and survival aspect is a great change for the series. There is endless replayabiltity in this game and great side quests to furtherFallout 3 is a spectacle of a game! Putting you into the boots of a vault dweller being shoved out by the disappearance of your father in search for him, it truly makes you feel that you are in an apocalyptic Washington DC. The story is great and the adventure and survival aspect is a great change for the series. There is endless replayabiltity in this game and great side quests to further make this game a work of art! Expand
  99. Apr 11, 2014
    9
    I preferred this compared to New Vegas mainly because I actually felt like playing Fallout 3 and I replayed it at least 15 times, but when I played New Vegas I wanted to replay it, but I felt like it was a hassle. At times I felt genuine fear of how many super mutants were around the corner and the story was amazing compared to New Vegas.
  100. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    Played this game in 2009, had fun, don't remember if I finished it or not.....
    Having finished Divinity:Original Sin and finding nothing comparable to it as of Jan. 2015, I was jonesing for a decent game and went through my old games collection. I re-installed Fallout 3 from disk, (remember disks?), and have been having a great amount of fun in it. Of course the graphics are 2008 vintage,
    Played this game in 2009, had fun, don't remember if I finished it or not.....
    Having finished Divinity:Original Sin and finding nothing comparable to it as of Jan. 2015, I was jonesing for a decent game and went through my old games collection. I re-installed Fallout 3 from disk, (remember disks?), and have been having a great amount of fun in it. Of course the graphics are 2008 vintage, but GOOD vintage. The marvelous open world of Washington D.C., post bombs, is a deadly place crawling with absurd mutations and Mad-Max like gangs of survivors, and you simply go from place to place shooting them in the face with whatever weapons you can find. Sounds childish, and is, but in a childish glee-like fashion. The game seems to run well on my mid-low end PC, and I'm having mindless fun. The gameworld is actually HUGE, full of discoverable places much like other Bethesda open world games. i'm having huge amounts of fun, even after 6 years of ageing on this game engine.

    I admit that I set off an atomic bomb in the survivor's town of Megaton, just to see the mushroom cloud.
    Killed dozens of innocent people in doing so, but hey, whatcha gonna do? Cheers to Bethesda for making a game that's actually enjoyable after 6 years of ageing.

    8/10 Would nuke innocent men, women , and children again. P.S., I thought that the early 1900's crooner soundtrack actually served as a chilling counterpoint to the wanton and gratuitous carnage.
    Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.