User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2536 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    Este juego es uno de los tres mejores de la presente generacion. Profundo, divertido, desafiante, larguísimo, original, inmenso...me prodría pasar el día alabándolo. Es cierto que no es perfecto y por eso le doy un 9. Gráficamente es mejorable en especial las terribles animaciones de los presonajes y tiene algún que otro bug (razonable dado la enormidad del juego), pero una vez te sumerjas en su ambientación retro-apocalíptica, con un sentido del humor genial y algunas misiones inolvidables, todos esos fallos serán insignificantes comparado con todo lo que te ofrece el juego.
    Graficos: 8 Sonido: 8 Diversion: 10 Duracion: 10
    Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is asking a lot. It asks to be forgiven for mediocre graphics, for a forgettable storyline, for poor AI, for poor animation and for linear directed characters. The funny thing is, this game is one of the greatest I have ever played. I can't really describe why, you just need to play the game for yourself. It manages to immerse you fully as you explore the Capital Wasteland. It manages to convey a feeling of pure epicness and you take out a super mutant with a sniper rifle from miles away while listening to the tunes of GNR. Fallout 3 expects us to play the game with a degree of leniency, and funnily enough, after playing for an hour or two most people forget the bugs and glitches that plague this game. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    This is a fun game for a while. I got the game of the year for $10 on Steam. The graphics aren't much better than Oblivion, the textures are unimpressive, and the side quests get old after a while. The main story was well done, but, the end feels like it was slopped together.
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I will first review this properly without my own opinions, then include them. The game is giant; there are over 200 locations to explore. This gives a lot of playing time, and the inclusion of the karma feature allows each player to take their own path. It doesn't offer multiple story paths unlike it's successor New Vegas, which can be a good or bad thing depending on your taste. I found it buggy a couple of times, but nothing too serious. The shooting action isn't amazing, the focus is on the in-game feature 'VATS' but i rarely used this as I felt it took too long for each enemy. Now my own opinion is, I freakin' loved this game. I borrowed it quickly off my dad one week and that was about a year ago. I've played it through about 4 times, it was just a fantastic experience that I loved. There was real strategy about making money, how much weight you could carry, dropping items for more valuable ones. I have bought most of the DLC afterwards because I really wanted to carry it on. You can pick it up cheap, I hope you won't regret it. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2011
    6
    Like; atmosphere of the wasteland, landscapes, soundtrack, mod availability.
    Dislike; horrible combat system, bland sound effects, plasticky guns without any significant recoil (am I shooting toy guns?), sub par character animations. Overall it's a good game, but definitely not excellent.
  6. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    This is a game that will always have a place in my heart as one of my favorites. I've always been a sucker for post-apocalyptic settings, but Bethesda delivers it in such a perfect manner that I can't help but visit the radioactive Wasteland over and over again in my escape from reality. It has a great story, should you choose to pay attention, but that isn't really what defines a Bethesda game. Instead, it's the vastness of the open world around you and the freedom you get to travel to wherever you want to go and do whatever you want to do. You want to travel to the nearest town and detonate the dormant nuke lying within? You can do that. You want to play the hero and help everyone out with their problems? You can do that. You want to travel the world and explore every little crevice the Wastes have to offer? You can do that. Or do you simply just want to shoot every little thing that moves? Because you can do that, too. From start to fini--well, I really shouldn't say "finish", as I haven't actually completed the entire game yet. After approximately 100+ hours of playtime, I still haven't finished every quest. I'm pretty sure I haven't even discovered half of the locations in the world, yet. So, through and through, this game is utterly amazing and will take up a good majority of your time, if you're into those non-linear sorts of games. The only complaint I have about Fallout 3 is the shooting system (which is quite nearly broken), but luckily is mended by the implementation of the VATS targeting system. And if all else fails, you could always pour your skill points into Big Guns and fire Fat Man nukes every which way until your enemies stop moving and their limbs are scattered across the Wasteland. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    Pro: + Free to explore a huge apocalyptic world + the missions drag you deep into the world, as you keep decending into the underground. + good storyline + alot of gore + good powerfull gunsounds. + awesome cinematic effects. + sweet graphics in general. + weapons and power-ups left, right and centre + fiddling with locks to gain extra loot con: - you need to use the interface, everytime you want a different weapon, including switchign for grenades
    - aim is horrible, if the enemy is 2 feet away u'll be likely to miss the shot still.
    - AI is retarded, most things just run towards you, a bit like the mobs in serioussam.
    - some ppl cant handle all the freedom and get lost and cant find the next mission.

    Conclusion: If the AI and weaponswitching were better i would have to give it a 10, but they aren't. And you will find yourself running backwards 90% of the time.
    Expand
  8. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    lease listen! Fallout 3 maybe the best game I've ever played. If this game had some nudity in it would be the best game of of all time. Fallout 3 has HOURS of game play. I've had it a week and I've put 54 hours into playing it. I rank Fallout 3 right up there with Half-Life. The story line is great. You choose your own path. You pick if your good or bad. Help people for free and be a hero or take what you need and be a raider. Please buy this game its one of the best games out today! Expand
  9. Jan 17, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is a very different game than so many other games we see in stores these days, Fallout 3 have something special than most other games dont have and therefore i think its an awesome game! The Wasteland brings that epic feeling of almost IRL feeling, danger is everywhere. War, War Never Changes. Deffintly worth buying!
  10. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    One of my most favorite games ever. Everything about the game is great, I almost never encountered bugs, only few did I encounter. This game got me into post-apocalyptic games and made me fall in love with them. Worth all the time and money I spent into this game.
    I think everyone should give this game a try, it's a really good game.
  11. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    Such a great game! I don't see why people write bad reviews just because a few little things just ruin everything the game gives. The only thing that I don't like about the game is just the total environment. It is just too dull for me as you would think 200 years after a nuclear holocaust that sky would be blue and that there would be some vegetation coming back. Otherwise, I don't have a thing to complain about, but I don't let the environment ruin everything else that is included in the game. I simply love the game, though once you're done exploring everywhere and done with all the quests, it gets kind of boring. But that's why there's mods out there! They add excitement back to the game and some even help clear out glitches and help increase difficulty, realism, and the environment of the game. Even though the mods weren't made by Bethesda, they're still part of the game. So in all, completely awesome game and I cannot wait to buy Fallout 4 when it comes out! Expand
  12. Jan 28, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game does a lot of things right, but just as much bad. Basically, it starts off like the first two Fallout games - character creation is nearly identical even though there are slightly fewer options. The story goes like this: you're living in a vault during a post-apocalyptic era when one day your father mysteriously escapes and you decide to go after him in the barren wasteland. The game handles exploration well, especially because you get rewarded some experience points when you discover a new landmark. As for what you can do in those landmarks? Unfortunately, not always will you be so delighted to find a new town or whatever, since chances are there won't be anything to actually do there. There is, in fact, only one major town with plenty of inhabitants, called Megaton. And it's really, really ugly. In addition, pathfinding is a pain sometimes. I found myself often being stuck walking against walls a lot of the time because I wasn't taking the right path towards my destination. Did I mention the invisible walls (which don't act as a useful design feature, unlike in Borderlands, where invisible walls have a meaning so as to not break the game. Here, they're a true hindrance.)?
    The actual combat in Fallout 3 is all right. It's simple and there are plenty of weapons to choose from. The ability to target separate body parts is a nice touch, although aiming is annoying because there are no iron sights. Graphically, the game isn't so impressive. Animations are what you'd expect from the Gamebryo engine. Characters' faces look deformed and the dialogue interface is kind of retarded. On the other hand, the actual wasteland is well crafted and it really sets the mood.
    But what irk me most are the RPG mechanics in this game. Your stats don't have that much influence on your character and gameplay. It usually comes down to how well you use your weapon and its damage rating. There are also far too few side quests - just about 15 or so. And some of the choices you can make in this game are plain stupid. Even if you do -spoilers- blow up Megaton, you wouldb;t actually feel any remorse because the town feels so lifeless anyway. Overall, Fallout 3 is an average game and it's not as good as it's made out to be. People might enjoy its sandbox-style gameplay, but I came expecting far deeper RPG elements. If you want to play a better RPG check out Fallout: New Vegas. It may seem rehashed at the start and the world may not be as immersive, but as an RPG it succeeds so much more.
    Expand
  13. Feb 2, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fallout 3 is by far my favourite video game I have ever played. I played it for X Box 360, as well as for PC, i greatly enjoyed playing it through multiple times, I played the first two or three times without the DLC, and i liked it a lot. but i must say, it makes the game a whole if you have all the DLC because it makes the game more playable. for instance, without DLC, you die at the end without the DLC, but if you have the DLC (i think it is broken steel DLC... not sure.) it makes it so you were only knocked unconscious, and you awaken back at the citadel 2 weeks later, unlocking countless more hours of play time. my game play time on X Box 360 is in total at least 2 months worth of play time, and my PC play time is only around 3 weeks, because i just recently bought it. but it is the only game i can play NON-STOP without getting bored. fallout 3 is definitely the best game ever played. when i played New Vegas, i was greatly disappointed. i went back to Fallout 3 and was satisfied. i give this game 10/10. but in reality this game would break the scale, it is truly a god in the video game library, and should be in every gamers arsenal. Expand
  14. May 7, 2012
    9
    Fallout three is one of the most perfect games that there is. Once you get past the imperfect graphics, fallout three is a dark game filled with tragedy and reality, forcing you to make decisions that you may not necessarily like. Not the fastest paced game, fallout will have you exploring a great deal (a selling point for Bethesda, kind of like Bioware's writing, it's just a strong point). The story is excellent and combat staves off repetition by allowing you to watch your bullet destroy the skull of an unsuspecting foe. Be careful, though, the fallout engine is EXTREMELY buggy so if you can't stand crashes to desktop, don't buy the game. Any other game with bugs this numerous would drop down the score significantly, however fallout three is just so perfect. Another annoying part of the game is the item degradation system, which has never been a good idea for a game mechanic in the history of any game ever. The stealth system is sub par. In the end though, if you can get through the bugs, fallout three will provide you with at least three replays of 12 hours each at least, and then you can add mods or make them yourself easily if you want. I highly reccomend. Expand
  15. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    An excellent free-roaming post-apocalyptic RPG, Bethesda Softworks style. The game does have intrusive DRM and lots of quest bugs though, so be warned!
  16. Apr 6, 2012
    5
    I really wanted to like this game, and for the first 15-20 hours I did. I ignored the numerous bugs I encountered, from getting stuck over and over until I had to restart (until I got the mod), to being shot randomly by a monster far far out of the range of his shotgun, to falling through walls that just were not there. After a while I just became to powerful and the game was little to easy. But the game itself was fun, the post apocalyptic DC was executed well and I was immersed into the story. I deliberately didn't do main story line trying to complete all the sidequests first, but constantly sidequests would lead me to people who would just assume I am on a certain step of another quest and basically allow me to keep that going/complete the quests I didn't even know existed. When finally a side quest took me to a place where the game only gave me options for a conversation that referred to me wanting to talk to a person I never heard of, and that caused the a jump that turned out to be 6 steps in the main story line, I quit, uninstalled and walked away. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    really amazing game, sure its not as great at being a shooter as call of duty, and its not as time consuming as fallout 1 and 2, but its atmosphere really sets it apart from any other game on the market. the dungeons in fallout 3 have arguably more story then its main quest line, which may seem like a bad thing but for an open world rpg such as this it allows for a lot of replay value and enjoyable exploration. i would also like to add that there is a tension added to this game if you play it on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  18. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The fallout universe is one of the gaming universes I love the most. The huge open wasteland is fun to explore and very well designed. The progression system is one of the best I've seen, rewarding you xp for killing, questing, lockpicking, persuading etc. If there's something I would like to see an improvement on it must be the combat. I would have liked to see more action oriented combat maybe a little more like an fps, but this is still an amazing game, and one of my favourite rpg's! Expand
  19. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Easily one of my favorite games of all time. Not a good FPS, but the RPG elements really stand out. The story may seem somewhat cookie-cutter, but if you take the time to look around the world there's a lot more going on than it seems superficially. Bonus points because I live near D.C. and recognized a lot of the streets and towns rather than just the monuments.
  20. May 23, 2012
    6
    All of the reasons I have for not enjoying this game are dwarfed by one giant, black monolith of death: THIS GAME WILL SHOVE "GAMES FOR WINDOWS LIVE" DOWN YOUR THROAT. Maybe if we stop going along with Microsoft's evil, ill-conceived monstrosity, then developers will remember how to keep saves on the local machine.
  21. May 10, 2012
    10
    Game of the Year 2000-2010. Take pride Bethesda. This is the holy grail of RPG's, except for maybe Skyrim but that came later. You start in a Vault and develop your character from being born, to a young man, before being thrust into the Capital Wasteland on an epic quest in search of your Father. Most of this game is exploration and questing. Immersion is deep and you will spend hours upon hours of your time simply exploring caves and ruined metro systems. Bethesda gives you many opportunities to deal with problems. At the start of the game you are confronted with a Bully. Now you can simply beat the crap out of him but you can also talk to his friends and convince them to rebel against him. You can kill hoards of enemies to get into a secret room, or simply fix some gears to open the door and just walk in easily. 10/10
    The game has no flaws even worth mentioning.
    Expand
  22. May 13, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm going to keep this short. I'm not going to talk about graphics and such since good games are determined by story and game play, not graphics. The game play is nothing new what so ever. Anyways. The main quest (MQ) could use some improvements. All you really do is run around looking for your character's father. Once you do the MQ is almost done. However, the DLC Broken Steel saved the game, somewhat. Expand
  23. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    I love the story, the landscape, and the end of days atmosphere. It´s also the reason why i play it always in ego-shooter perspective, because if not the game loose all the magic. The animation of the character is so ridicoulous. And there are a plenty of game who manage to give realistic movement, but not Bethesda Programmers. I think a good investment were a Motion Capture System! Please do it. Like Dark Souls, were the animations and gravity of the character are almost perfect!!! And then Fallout 3 will be the best game ever :-) Expand
  24. Jul 7, 2012
    10
    It's an amazing Action RPG game. It all takes place in a post-apocalyptic Washington, DC years after The Great War that has led to a worldwide massive nuclear destruction. The capital has been reduced to a wasteland with mutants, a dangerous wildlife and people trying to make a living. Many has gone underground seeking safety in hi-tech Vaults were people has developed a small society. You are a vault resident from Vault 101 and your father is a scientist that runs away for reasons that are unknown. You set out to find him and get some answers. In the game you get to make your own character choosing gender, looks and age. You get to wander the wastes and explore it. The game has a wide variety of weapons and armors. You can kill your enemies using a targeting system called V.A.T.S. that allows you to freeze the moment and zoom in on your enemies choosing were you want to shoot them, and the odds for hitting those certain limbs. Fallout 3 is without a doubt the best RPG game I have ever played. It has so much content and replay value. You decide if you want to be good, evil or neutral. There are tons of choices to be made that has an effect of how people sees you as a person. Even though the game has some technical issues including numerous amount of bugs and a robotic movement it's something you shouldn't miss out on. Expand
  25. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    Sehr gelungenes Shooter-RPG :DD
  26. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    This is a great game from start to finish the fact that you can do what ever the FU*K you want made for me one of the best games ive ever played, the only down side to this game was the story and the ending i hated the fact that the game just ended, their was so much more i would have liked to do also running this game on pc is very diffecat and time consuming, LOVED THIS GAME AND WOULD RECAMED IT TOO EVERY BODY Expand
  27. Jul 25, 2012
    6
    I was very anxious, coming from skyrim, to play this game. Awaiting the download, when I clicked "play" through steam, I had an error for .NET install while installing. After that, I spent at least a good 24 hours reading and trying different things to get this older game to work on my windows 7 system. I've gotten to the point where xp service pack 3 compatibility gives the game anywhere to a few minutes to a couple hours gameplay till it crashes. So many other games of this time period I can play without any issues, or system customizations. I'm very disappointed with it, and if I could get the $5 back for it, I think I would. Better then spending all that time restarting the game because it has random crashes. I know now why Skyrim had crashing issues when it first came out. Bethesda needs to fix that engine. Expand
  28. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    There's tons of first-person and third-person shooter games around these days, but Fallout 3 is 5th best shooter I've ever played after Half-Life, Half-Life 2, Metal Gear Solid, and Snake Eater. The only problem I have with this game is that they went a little crazy on it being non-linear. A mini-map would have been nice to include in the gameplay, for example.
  29. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Fallout 3 is the best game ever, and all the haters are just sad that its not a turn-based game anymore. Well I think that the RPG/FPS format is genius. Also, who cares if it has a lot of bugs? Thats what makes the game so unique.
  30. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    4/5 (good) There's just so many "WOW" moments in this game and the whole "after-a-massive-nuclear-war" thing builds up to such a rich atmosphere. Of course the game is not perfect and sometimes feels limited, but I suggest you try it. And please... try to "RP". You know you want to.
  31. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    One of my all-time favourites. Credible world, long motivation, good graphics, great quests, nice jokes. A must for players of earlier Fallout games, and on one step with Fallout New Vegas. Thumbs up!
  32. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    I absolutely love this game, I have played it over and over again and it still doesn't get boring. I'm not to sure what keeps me in it, maybe the ability to mod at your will or just the fact you can do what ever the heck you want. Yes, there is bugs, but there are mods to fix that. I'll admit the vanilla game of this can be pretty dull, but when you add mods its epic and never ending. The story line is a little short, but still fun. There is defiantly more than enough place to explore, quests to find, and loot. Expand
  33. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    I remember turning this game on when I first bought it for PC not having ANY idea what I was in for. I had little to no experience with an open world game and I didn't play Fallout 1 or 2. I was off to a slow start, in the vault and still not knowing what to expect. Once I moved out of the vault and into the world, that's when it all began. By "it all" I mean a truly wonderful gaming experience. Fallout 3 did for me what no other games have in a while, get my full attention and for a continuously long time. This was the first title I played where I could make multiple choices that would lead to many different consequences. Also, you can play it in first or third person so it's like a FPS / Action RPG all-in-one . This game was amazingly fun, going around D.C. which really looked and felt like a post-apocalypse world. Incredibly rewarding, scary, and VERY satisfying are the words that come to mind. It was great exploring to collect new guns and bottle caps, trading and buying at the store, and leveling your character. You eventually become very powerful and able to basically run the city. This game brought me into the next level of PC gaming, and I am still thanking it and Bethesda to this day. Expand
  34. Sep 17, 2012
    7
    Compared to Fallout:New Vegas, this game just didn't really appeal to me, it's boring atmosphere and bland characters made the experience somewhat less than entertaining..
  35. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Definitely a title worth buying, this game will never die. If you're trying this after coming from any Elder Scrolls titles, you must play this with an open mind, and not assume anything simply because of the developer. This game was never intended to be anything similar to any of the Elder Scrolls games.
  36. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    PLAY THIS GAME. Its is simply amazing, playing the first 2 and tactics, I can tell you this lives up to and surpasses the originals. New Vegas was acceptable, but for 2008 this game is mind blowing.
  37. Sep 7, 2013
    7
    Take the Elder Scrolls, reskin it to look like Fallout, give it really terrible shooting gameplay, give it a pretty weak story, mediocre voice acting, mediocre writing, enemies that are way too easy to kill, a ridiculous amount of bugs and a lame system to try to hide the fact that the gameplay is crap, and you get Fallout 3. It may not be bad, but it certainly isn't good. This game is just average. Expand
  38. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I know this game fails to capture the spirit of Fallouts 1 & 2, but its still a whole lot of fun. I know that the main quest is pretty bad, but its still a whole lot of fun. I hate the vaults in this game. I don't enjoy picking around through the same dumb-assed assets everywhere you go. Despite all that this game is a MAGNIFICENT ACHIEVEMENT. No game is perfect, and this game has plenty of little details about it that irritate, more than a few. Still you can't deny the amazing feeling you get in Fallout 3, that you really are walking around in a desolate post-apocalyptic wasteland. I can't undersatand the level of love for Skyrim, in which your character's progression has been violated by horrible design changes and you have to endure a horrible UI. Nor can I understand the 'purist objections to this game, where the UI and character progression are so WELL done. Buggy Shmuggy! Fallout 3 is FANTASTIC! Expand
  39. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    I read here people were saying Fallout 3 was Oblivion with guns. No, that's not the case. Contrary to Oblivion, EVERY place on the maps is worth visiting because you can always find something new. The leveling system is also much, much better. The main story may not be the best, but still more interesting than Oblivion's. The only thing that I find similar is that enemies get stronger way too quickly. Fallout 3 is full of secrets and crazy things to discover, where Oblivion is dull and boring and always the same. The add-ons give the cake its topping (okay, I'll credit Oblivion having a great add-on with Shivering Isles too). This game has nearly everything I wanted Oblivion to have and continues the spirit Morrowind had way better. Expand
  40. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    amazing game you will play through once a year to re-experience at least that's what i do!

    This is a game other games aspire to be a game that captures all the right elements an engages the abundance with pure entertainment an exuberant experience. You will feel like you are in the waste land the you become attached to your protagonist through the customization of him or her seeing that
    he or she is silent witch is what a rpg character should be. Expand
  41. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    This is Fallout 3. This is one of the greatest games I've ever played, and I will explain why. This game offers a unique, First Person Shooter RPG Gameplay style. One of the best things about this game is the complete uniqueness and immersion you feel. The Fallout universe is vast, and every single little detail Bethesda put in to this game made it amazing. The story is incredible, and is on the top of my list when I talk about great stories in games. The gameplay is also great, although not perfect (V.A.T.S. is gory and fun, but there are some problems with normal gunplay). The graphics are nice as well, and the atmosphere and look of the overall game add nicely to it. The soundtrack suits the game well, and it's extremely fun to roam around the wastes. Overall this game is incredible, and everybody who is a gamer should experience it. Immerse yourself into the Fallout universe, and have a great time... Expand
  42. Nov 3, 2012
    9
    Certainly one of the best open world games I've ever played. The story, whilst not being great, is gripping, the characters interesting, the locations diversified.
  43. Oct 11, 2013
    7
    As much as I love this game, it just turned in the wrong direction. It doesn't really feel like a Fallout game, but more like a completely new game. This game is the Fallout game of Empire: Total War basically.
  44. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    I love this game. The customization is amazing, the world is huge and expansive and there isn't anywhere you can go without finding something interesting.
  45. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Loved this game when it first came out. The arsenal of weapons to choose from was immense, the gore, gameplay, exploration, scare factor, and graphics were all superb. Story could have been better but the good points about the game more than make up for any shortfalls in that area.
  46. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Muddy textures made uglier by the game's green colour filter. The story is pretty basic and full of really gaping plotholes culminating in one of the most illogical endings in video game history. The gunplay is basic and due to the lack of iron sights and accuracy penalties when firing from the hip, VATS is incredibly overpowered. In Fallout 1 and 2, you could target specific points on an enemy but it wasn't a gamebreaking mechanic because those titles were turn-based. Here you can just spam the VATS button, aim for the head because nothing else is worth shooting at and repeat. Expand
  47. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    If it wouldn't be for all the glitches, Fallout 3 would be one of the best games ever. It's exactly what an open-world should be; looks great, handles great and keeps you coming back for more exploration. Unfortunately, exploring becomes difficult when load screens take up 10 minute blocks of time and your character and frame rate lag.
  48. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    Fallout 3 is and always will be one of the best RPG's of all time, it's amazing combat, cool graphics and great story all make up for an epic experience that almost no other games can topple.
  49. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    This is downright my favorite game of all time. Granted it didnt make me feel as much as some other games did, but the storyline, quests, choices, dlc, and overall gameplay made up for it greatly. Every quest i could feel myself really get into it. I can allways remember thinking to myself what would be behind the next corner, and when i think that the building i was exploring was depleted of "goodies" id realised i missed an entire level. The map itself could win awards. Its vastness could make you lose yourself in it for hours on end. Ive beaten this game several times allready, and have accomplished every achievment for it including the dlc's, and have put well over 500 hours of gameplay into this masterpiece. For the people who say that its horrible because of its never ending glitches; i pity you. I can recolect on countless nights stayng up to 3 or 4 in the morining laughing histarically at the mysterious glitches this game has to offer. The fighting system is also top notch. This is the only game series I know that allows you to stop time and pick your target for your shot. Dont even get me started on the weapons, i would spend countless nights trying to find special weapons and ammunition. The leveling system is also just superb. Itd take me 10 minutes to just figure out which perk id want. "Do i want this one to get more xp, or this one to make myself a better fighter". Its just magnificent. And the companions uhhhhhhhhh the companions. I remember dogmeat specifically. He was the best friend a person could have wondering through the wastes. He fought enemies for you, found you ammo, and health, and he was damn near invincible. When i lost him for the first time it brought me to tears (thank god for his puppies!!!!). There is no other game i love more than this one, and i can not wait for four!!!! Expand
  50. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    I played the original two Fallout games back in the day on PC, and I will always love Fallout 3. One of the greatest games I’ve ever played, hands-down.

    I’d say, however, that you need to understand what type of a game you’re getting into. It’s a technical RPG, very open world, and will require lots & lots of exploring. This is not a simple first-person-shooter. Anyone expecting a FPS
    will end up quite frustrated, as will anyone who jumps into the game without planning how to level their character.

    Taking all that in mind, Fallout 3 was an immersive experience of gaming bliss I do not expect to be equaled any time soon. Possibly not ever. There was something about walking out of the vault into the unknown wasteland with nothing but a pistol, baseball bat & a few rounds of ammo in my pocket that was great fun. I also loved how, in the middle of traveling to one destination, I could easily find myself sidetracked for days at a time with random waypoint markers that led to other events & new quests.

    The design of the game is beautiful, as well. One of my favorite areas is looking across at the aircraft carrier at night, because you can see holes in the walls where light is shining through from the people living there, as well as gazing at other details like the wrecked part of the front ship or the giant trenches dug all around the Mall near the Washington Monument.

    Some of the environments do get a bit repetitive, but as long as you are leveling you have a reason to explore. And whatever area you’re in, whether a cave or abandoned warehouse, usually has some sort of story to go along with it that can be found by hacking into computers & reading some information. It’s not necessary but adds some depth & life to world you’re playing in.
    As I said, it makes for a very immersive experience.

    The difficulty also scales satisfactorily. In the beginning, you’ll be happy to get a junky machine pistol and survive a handful of raiders. Near the end (with proper builds), you’ll be able to decimate an entire band of raiders with VATS sniper rifle headshots, watching them explode in slo-mo as you do so.

    The only real disappointment I had was once I reached maxed level, but that was only because Fallout 3 makes leveling feel like quite an event, even playing a special musical theme to mark the occasion. However, it will take you a good while to hit max level and you’ll have done a great deal of exploration by then.
    Expand
  51. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    I love this game. I think it's the best game of the century. I know that there are some glitches and bugs, but it is not so important, because this game is really awesome
  52. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    This game is one of the Top 5 RPG of all-time. With the great Mods available for it and just the massiveness and content in this game, it will provide literally 100's of hours of enjoyment.
  53. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    #1 Game in Post-Apocalyptic Simulation. Fallout captures everything you want from a nuked-out D.C. Bethesda has put out yet another great game and this will surely stand the test of time.
  54. Oct 22, 2013
    0
    The developers of this game refuse to do any kind of work to support the game with Windows 7 or higher. So, as soon as you upgrade your rig you can kiss this game goodbye.
  55. Oct 30, 2013
    0
    The worst first-person Fallout game you could imagine! Small game map, oblivion-like instances, bad skill balance, horrible graphics (even old Fallout isometric graphics looks better), combats are extremely boring, VATS is nothing here while you have a high skilled character after 13 of game and a 99% headshot chance...
  56. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This game is personally the greatest game I have ever played. With that being said, it is a game type and genre that goes well together for some gamers, and is seen as uninteresting and boring for others. Based on a nuclear war with China and America, survivors of the bombs funneled into these underground "Vaults" which were crazy social experiments to test human psychological and emotional well being. You play as a member of Vault 101, located in the Wasteland of form Washington D.C. and you are thrown right into the middle of something much larger than yourself. This game takes on a satirical and humorous view of the apocalypse, providing a fun perk system that makes everything more gory, or allowing roaming animals to come to your aid in a fight. On top of that, it has amazing game physics and graphics (note: that was like 5 years ago, its not like skyrim, but it is totally playable.). The overall sum of this review is this: Worth the $4-$20 you will spend to buy this. I actually believe that this is a crime against Bethesda to sell such a well developed and thought out game. Its immersive and has endless replayablity, I have logged over 700 hours and thats before you mod, which there are so many good mods for the game that add a Zombie virus or add extra companions. A MUST HAVE GAME FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES RPGS OR ANY VIDEO GAMES IN GENERAL. If you don't like this game, I apologize and think you should just go back to Call of Duty, because i'm sure you think that's the best game ever. Expand
  57. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    for making me believe that this is gonna be a new fallout, well it makes me sad and shows, where the priority lies for bethesda. certainly not games.
    funny though, its not so bad a game on its own, and ironically the best use of their oblivion-engine(less melee). its in that tradition, so if you think skyrim and oblivion have good writing, interesting sidequests and npcs, go ahead, this
    is what you want!

    its not what i like or want.
    Expand
  58. Aug 18, 2014
    0
    Real time combat in this game is not existing I cant find way to play it as FPP game for example Half Life. Ok I understand there may be boss as deathclaw but in Fallout2 I was able to kill one by machine gun survive where here am climb on rock and do some else dirty trick to jam monster on obstacle which looks so stupid cheating but I just cand do it normally am shoot monster in head from sniper riffle at large distance and he is able to run from there and even don't care am machine gun his eye. The same boss problems have on island DLC Where am actually lost every items from ufo DLC am take all trat super treasures to locker in my house, then I go for trip to island and when am return all that items was gone. So what am actually have interesting? My best gun is AK47 again? Am really feel like stuck to some simple weapon and cant understand it break with every shoot am made. This should be in (un)realistic mode because am found this annoying in normal game. I just cant play this any longer when my battles looks like jam monster on obstacle and watch animations as bullet come out from riffle and slowly travel to monster head.. everytime.. eve-ry sin-gle ti-me this is not postnuclear FPP as I thought it to be, this game have something broken and am found it to be unplayable or frustrating & boring. Well what you may expect from Elder Scrolls, these games are.. as they are everybody known. Definitely this is not true Fallout 3 its just postnuclear mod to Oblivion. It is well done mod but not Fallout 3 game I dont see any reason to do it in 3D, it could be done on Infinity Engine, for example modification to Baldurs Gate 2. I could see that working, but Oblivion? Noo not really.. My score is low because I dont enjoy it anymore, I cant complete this game which is crazy. If this was real F3 then am already would complete it 10x am pretty sure of that, but I don't completed it even once which mean this is not F3 it is fake game, modification to completely other game.This is like unplayable mod to Oblivion nothing more in my opinion. Actually if this was mod am would score it high as about 8/10 but this is not game, this not working because it obviously cant. Its like modify car into washing machine by rolling it from hill, this just don't work whatsoever and whole idea is ridiculous... turn Oblivion into Fallout 3 ? LOL Why somebody ever tried that? Ok am actually interest to see Fallout 4 on Skyrim.. but hey.. isnt Skyrim is actually modified Fallout 3.. huh? Weird or what? So we already seen Fallout 4 on Skyrim engine.. it is Fallout New Vegas! OMG that is so ridiculous. Look, they improved Oblivion to make F3, then they improved F3 to make Skyrim and New Vegas this is the same engine rolling. Expand
  59. May 3, 2014
    9
    This game very cool! Intresting quests, characters, and of course Capital wasteland. This game have very intesting DLC. Bad that this game isnot optimized for Windows 7. This game freezes and slows down. But
    still it is cool.
  60. gas
    Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Im writing this a bit late tbh, as ive played this game more or less 1 year ago, but now i decided im going to have a second playthrough heavily modded so im going to add a little review here too.
    This game is not perfect, the engine is a bit disappointing compared to most of the "real" fps around, at least if not modded, as many objects have transparent parts only "painted" with alpha
    channels, this means if you try to shoot behind a fence you will discover the object is full solid and a bullet will never pass it, same can happen when hiding behind a rock, you fire aiming a mob and you will end hitting the rock instead... also without a mod the sniper rifle is useless for some reason it has less range then a normal rifle.
    Anyway, beside those 2 aspects and not many more the game is really really good.
    I liked a lot fallout 1 and 2 and i was a bit scared to find a title completely different going from isometric turn based strategy to a 3d fps game, anyway luckily the choices made by devs are quite good, basically there is a lot to explore, a very appealing (but short) main quest, a large number of more or less appealing side quests, some moments of fallout style humor, and a game that overall is really well made.
    What i like more is the fact this game reach to preserve the original fallout concept and feels really a step forward.
    The full DLCS are usually included in the package nowadays, all of them are quite crap compared to the game itself, anyway actually they can be considered something non mandatory you got with the game, so im not going to rate them here.
    At the end i finished the first play after around 180 hours, and i didn't even explore all the map nor i fully played the dlcs except anchorage, so it can be a huge experience, and a good one.
    Expand
  61. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    A cool game that lacks a bit of dynamics, balance, difficulty and openness. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Expand
  62. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game is a buggy mess, with code that resembles a bowl of spaghetti, and a poor engine. Yet I still give it a 9/10. Everything else about this game is great.
  63. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I'm behind the times I guess, because I just bought this game only a week ago. Well, I have already spent plenty of hours playing this game. The game world is awesome, the detail is stunning, and there are tons of things to do and explore besides the main storyline. The main storyline is not all that interesting, but it's enough to want to continue on with it once you get side tracked by a number of quests (which there are plenty of, even unmarked ones!). The only things I didn't like about the game are some of the bugs (occasional crashes and shoddy quad core support), and the fact that running feels like walking and the game doesn't come native with iron sites aiming. Thankfully the game can be modded, and a number of console commands can be used to tweak the game to your liking. Getting the iron sites mod with a few other complimentary mods to remove the auto-aiming and bumping up my run speed made this game almost perfect. As for the dialog and the NPCs they are quite cheesy in appearance and sometimes sound just down right annoying. The graphics are great for it's time, but the characters look unrealistic. But given the age of this game and the enormous amount of effort that went into making it engaging and entertaining, it's to be expected. You might get bored with it after awhile, but not before you get your money's worth...and if you do, it might be high time you go on over to Nexus and see what mods you can load up to add to the fun. One more thing: this is a single player adventure type game that can be ran in First-person or third-person (nice touch), so if you are aren't someone who enjoys SP adventure games this is not for you. Expand
  64. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Fallout 3 has potential but suffers a lot from mediocre game design. First problem of fallout 3 is the gameplay. The V.A.T.S. system of location-specific targeting has been added to sort of simulating turn-based combat for those interested, but it is poorly done with some repetitive and boring killing animations. Gameplay is primarily first-person, but it turns out not working very well since you are not able hit anyone if not using awkward V.A.T.S system at the beginning. Second the game's quests are mostly done with linear solutions. In Fallout 2, most of quests can be done in different ways. it seemed that there would be a lot of choices in how Fallout 3's quests were to be solved but shortly after going into the game, those different solutions tend to fade away especially for the main quest. Fallout 3 tries to give you an illusion of choices to impact the story but it actually does not offer any non linearity in the quest structure. But I still would say Fallout 3 is a fun game to kill time in a virtual, massive and varied world, just do not treat it like a fallout game, it just does not have the spirit of Fallout. Expand
  65. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This game kicks ass on every level. Core i7 920,GTX275,6 gigs Mushkin DDR3, Win 7 64, and runs beautifully so the people saying quad cores have an issue.. nah.. you may have an issue. Depth of story has been built upon for years and years from FO to NV it has been great to watch it evolve. this still remains my favorite of the series.. the graphics, environment, NPC's all grab you and pull you in to where you forget yourself and take another role... this game is 10/10, 100%, KA award and a legend that stands along with others on " the best ever made". list.â Expand
  66. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    This would have been a 10/10 BUT: Game for windows live is as painful as always, and lack of support for win 7. It behaves weirdly with some graphic cards, I keep having to reinstall the same drivers each time I want to play this game. Also some times you can feel the influence of the console version. Apart from these aspects the game is plain awesome: from the general atmosphere to each single weapon, everything is how it should be. Don't expect an important main story tough: as with many bethesta titles this game is more about freeroaming. While the main campaing is still better than, say, oblivion, it is quite short. Expand
  67. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 is - 6 years down the line - probably my favourite game. It's also one of the only two games |I've given a 10 to here on Metacrtic.

    It's not perfect (crashing is a way of life) but the open world game-play gives the option for creating your own story or just mucking about that no other sandbox game I've played has yet managed to capture.
  68. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of all time. Those complaining of "crashes" are using **** computers. Those complaining of "paying for DLC's" are cheap and probably stole the game. There is nothing... NOTHING anyone can say about this game that should sway you from NOT purchasing it. This is THE game to end all games.
  69. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I find it quite perplexing that people think that describing Fallout 3 as "Oblivion with guns" is something of an insult. If anything, it's quite an endearing term and a perfect way to describe what is one of the most enjoyable RPG's I've played in a long time. Fallout 3 gives the same sort of moral and personal freedom that the Elder Scrolls games are known for, whilst also taking quite an interesting look at what the world might have been like, had the Cold War come to fruition. It's hard to dislike a game that gives you such creative ways to make ends meet. You can roam the wastelands as something of a divine protector, a saint to all you come across. Or you can be a total jerk, pick pocketing people, lying your way to success and selling others out for your own devious goals. There's really very little NOT to like about Fallout 3, unless you're not a fan of RPG's in general, anyone with a remote interest in open world exploring and question should definitely experience this. Expand
  70. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one deep, dark, sad and one of the best RPGs ever. Set in post-apocalyptic world player assumes role of Lone Wanderer on his mission to find and save his father who left safety of the Vault 101. Epic story, combat, V.A.T.S., enemies and atmosphere coupled with awesome gameplay make this game worthwhile investition.
  71. May 29, 2014
    5
    The worst Fallout in the series. While it has things like a vault, and Enclave, everything else about it is a pure watered down Bethesda hack job. As a romp around a nuclear wasteland, it's fine, but as far as feeling like your character has any choice in anything, it's far from what came before. No matter what character you build, you can do anything, so role playing is pretty much gutted. Though there are some interesting side areas, the main quest is terribly bland with little choice involved. Combat is dull, requiring little tactics since VATS is god mode, and so long as you're smart enough to click Target> Head, you'll win every time and never take damage. It's a cheap knock off of the series. Get New Vegas, if you want a better next gen Fallout experience. Or better yet, play the old games, to understand just how far off the mark Bethesda was when they tried to make an actual RPG. Terrible game. Expand
  72. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I can't descrive this game . It's so beutiful .
  73. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Honestly a breath taking game!, I still play it and the mods are great. It has a wonderful environment, the vast open wasteland lots of quests to do areas to explore and the best DLC's in a game. Honestly theres no better game I have ever played in my life and must get for anyone I definitely recommend it alot :) 10/10 by a mile for me!
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The very best out of all of the Fallout games. I would not recommend any expansion packs though - once you have completed a large amount of the content in this game, I'd recommend going to New Vegas.
  75. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    While the main story is average, but there is just so much to do that you'll forgive it. Graphics are alright I guess for 2008 they would've been above average. Shooting without V.A.T.S is awkward but bearable. Being a Post-apocalyptic world you will have to do a lot of scrounging and it isn't tiresome, it actually feels proper to kill someone and take their clothes to sell. Repairing items does get boring after awhile. 3rd person is weird but it's good to have to option to use it. Overall if you like action RPG games you'll love Fallout 3 Expand
  76. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played in my opinion. Awesome storyline a boat load of side quests, guns, and characters make this a one of a kind game. Add the five awesome dlc's on top of that and you have a true gaming masterpiece. The only problem that i can find is that it can freeze ever so often but isn't a problem if you have patience.
  77. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG games ever.
    Great story, Great game play, paradise for Mods
    you can play this game for over the 300 hour if not more
    you can customize your own character, and you level by an XP system
    that has bin put in very nice

    Sealreth,
  78. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    a great game, given that its a Fallout game, and its made by Bethesda, who is responsible for the Elder Scrolls, you would expect a winning combination, and they delivered with this one. there are a couple gripes about this game i have, 1 is the somewhat clunky menu system, 2 is the somewhat dodgy physics at times and awkward gameplay mechanics, and 3 is the sheer number of bugs and glitches in the game. I can kind of understand the bugs and glitches since the game is just so freaking massive, but they really should have tried to fix those kinds of things in the Oblivion engine. Ive noticed people complain about the story and some complain about how pointless the game is... apparently they dont understand what this game is and cant get a clue as to what the heck is going on. the entire premise is that you, who has never been outside of a nuclear shelter in their life, all of a sudden is forced outside into the wastelands. at that point, you are free to do what you want, whether its going for the main story, which is the pursuit of your missing father, or exploring the wastes for useful stuff. the last thing i want to complain about is the GfWL, M$ needs to stop trying to get into PC gaming again, their days of glory are over, its not the days of "Rise of Nations" anymore. M$ needs to stop getting into things if they are going to half-ass their work. however, with all those things aside, Fallout 3 really is a great game that has a pretty good story to back it up too, if only the mechanics were more like New Vegas, where they threw out any semblance of a good story... Expand
  79. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Now this game is worthy of the title "epic". Same scenario as the wonderful 1st and 2nd Fallouts, with a new engine and perspective on the game. Everything you could want in a Fallout game, and more.
  80. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    A fun game to play, especially if you played Fallout 1 or 2 before. They managed to mix the old turn-based combat and skill very well with modern fps, I was suprised how good it works! The post apocalyptic feeling shines. You get a big sandbox gameplay with a not too interesting main plot, but with many creative and fun side quest, tons of items and characters to meet. I played it over twice, and also played all of the expansions as well. (Those were below the level of the main game, sadly, but still all right if you manage to buy them cheap.) Expand
  81. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Considering its release date, I think FO3 should rate about an 8. Despite a few issues, its a great game that is very huge and offers so much to do(especially with all the player created mods and so forth). So why did I rate it a 10? I see some other reviewers in here literally admitted to rating the game at "0" for the sole reason to influence its overall score down to something "they" believe it should be. Its like they are spoiled little brats who spit on a cake cause they don't want anyone else to like it if they don't. Anyway, their tactic works both ways. I gave the game a 10 to counter some of their false scores. That means their score and my score cancel each other out but I can live with that Expand
  82. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Nearly every aspect of Fallout 3 has already been critiqued and reviewed. Everything in this game is nearly perfect. The player is left wanting more. The only real problem with this game is that it will crash occasionally, but what game doesn't?

    I become immersed in the game really quickly and I have to admit that this causes me to overlook some of the game's obvious flaws and mess-ups.
    As another reviewer pointed out, shooting someone using VATS and aiming for a specific body part does not seem to effect, hamper or handicap them in any way. Although this is true, it never bothered me enough to ruin my gaming experience. I can even overlook just because it makes the enemy a bit more challenging.

    I got the impression from negative reviewers that Fallout is boring, grey, depressing with the same thing everywhere you go. Hello, have these people forgotten where this game takes place? Post-nuclear, post-apocalyptic D.C. area! The whole point of the game is to take you to this dark, depressing time that offers little hope to humanity and the player. Fallout 3 does a great job of immersing players and giving them the feeling that they really are in a hell-hole wasteland. The dj, radio stations and choice of music was pure genius that really tied the game together. I don't know what a real post-nuclear apocalypse would feel like, but this game made me feel like I was in one.

    My advice to new Fallout 3 players is to play the vanilla version from start to finish. If you liked it, browser around the Nexus website for the top-rated mods and select the ones that appeal to you. Mods have given this game even more replay value and have addressed most issues people have with the game.

    Originally review Oct 27, 2011, revised Jun 18, 2014. Still love the game as much as I did when it was released.
    Expand
  83. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Bethesda really knew that their style could be good for return of this legend. They`re got open world exploration, they`re got humor. Together with authentic visuals style and postnuclear atmosphere, they`re did something unbelievable.
    Right now, I`m slowely starting play Fallout 2. I remember this game from late 90`, because my Cousin played it. What I want to say is, that F3 has not
    that aspects of free world as his predecessor. Aspects what made him a legend. But has a great atmosphere, visual style, charakter creation, weapons, Story. Everything of this is make completely in original Fallout style. I`ve never played a game like this. Is not a legend, but one of the most incredible game of it`s generation. Expand
  84. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    ufff, how can i put it, this game sucked my life, when the game was out i played it around 2 years, not going to make a review about it, u can read plenty of them here, the only thing i can say is that the game is a freaking master piece, at his time was the best game i've ever saw, and now i still think on installing it and replay it.
  85. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Legendary! One of my favourite RPG's of all time, it's easy to forgive it's big amount of flaws but it's rather easy to forgive those when you have an fantastic open world, decent modding community and top notch DLC, A must have!
  86. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    The Good, The Bad and the Ugly ++ A huge open-world that rewards exploration ++ Ton of mods to choose from, expanding the game tremendously + Total freedom, kill anyone you like, help anyone you like, game is not forcing a path on you + A fair amount of quests, enemies, places to go, items to obtain + More than one way to solve problems and overcome obstacles (eg. combat or sneaking or using skills like science etc)
    + Probably the most immersive character introduction I've seen in an RPG game (game starts when you're born and continues through your childhood)

    . The game approach to post-apocalyptic theme is a bit light-hearted and not everyone might like it, but less than in Fallout New Vegas where it was to a point I considered it a major flaw. It's hard to explain, but to put a long story short the game technologically feels like the future but culturally like 1950s making a bizarre setting

    - Despite a huge world there are only 2 true towns in the world, and the rest of the world is either empty or outright hostile (eg. raider camps) making it feel boring after long exploration
    - Main quest is only fit for a good character or a neutral one, but not really for evil characters (however there is an evil ending option to it)
    - Braindead enemies offering little challenge to the player

    Overall: Recommended for RPG fans and post-apo theme fans but not the most hardcore ones
    Expand
  87. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    A great game with a very interesting story. Hours of gameplay. This is totally a special and a unique RPG. 1st Person shooter an third. The introduction was too long and difficult. It gives you a bad impression about the game. The V.A.T.S. sounds like cheating, but no. 2 headshots and the beasts still standing. Variety is good. I think this whole game is a big success and a huge fascinating work.
  88. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent game where your choices actually alternate the ending. The leveling system is good with all needed skills and the perk system is out of this world. I can understand why someone wouldn't like this game that much but seriously someone gave a FREAKING 0 TO THIS GAME! It's understandable to give it a 7 but not 0 Expand
  89. Jul 22, 2013
    8
    Fantastic game about a post nuclear holocaust world, really not many games explore such theme, and Fallout 3 did it with brio, basically if you like RPGs and exploring this is a game for you.
  90. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    The depressing atmosphere, the gunplay, the graphics (although a bit dated, Fallout 3 still looks good), the sounds, the quests, the huge map ... Call me a fanboy, but since it came out, Fallout 3 is my #1 PC game, I literally spent hundreds of hours with it and can't wait for Fallout 4. Your turn, Bethesda.
  91. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Fallout all Parts are a all time favourite of mire. This is also perfect Gameplay with perfect atmossphere. -1 Point because of DLCs needed to get the whole experience for the game. But Fallout is moddable like oblivion and skyrim. You could, after gametime of over 200 Hours, easily add more features from downloads that a free of charge. Fallout show all other gamedevelopers how to build a good world, with good balance and intresting skilltress.

    Have fun build YOUR way and Play you'r way.
    Expand
  92. Jan 21, 2013
    8
    Fallout 3 is a great game especially for fans of this genre. The story is pretty good, not superb but not bad. The combat is fun but a little dull, because it lacks a cover system or iron sights. The Voice acting is well done but the characters faces look stiff when they talk. The game world is awesome and i genuinely enjoy exploring. The game does crash often and it becomes very frustrating. Overall i think it's a good purchase. Expand
  93. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played, I got it quite recently, and have already 'wasted' 40 hours on it. For people who look here to buy this game, I decided to refute some of the negative reviewers arguments.

    It's world doesn't have enough stuff!: I don't know where you've been, but if you have a brain, you should be able to find ridiculous amounts of content, I recall there's 161
    marked locations on the map, and that's not including the numerous unmarked locations and Downloadable Content areas.

    But it's not the fallout game I'm used to!: Sorry, but it's now produced by Bethesda, and it was bound to change, personally I prefer it's FPS and faux turn system, but I can understand why others would prefer the old system. It's really a matter of preferance, just don't expect it to be the same as 1 and 2

    It's lackluster and shouldn't be more than $10!: Think of it this way, most high quality games are $50-60, and while this is no longer the highest quality you can buy, it's worth the price you pay. Besides, if you buy it on steam, it's only 9.99 :P

    It doesn't work for my system D:!: Well, not really anything to deny here, it does have alot of these problems. It mainly has trouble with windows 7, so if you don't have that you *should* be good. Sometimes it will freeze up on start, I advise restarting the game, it seems to work for me

    The V.A.T.S. system is too overpowered!: Then don't use it, yep, it's really that simple. It's completely unnecessary and if you don't use it, you'll progress in the storyline just fine.

    Storyline is too short!: It depends on what you consider storyline, if you just want to complete the necessary quests, then yes, but if you want to complete all the content in the game, it'll probably take a few days
    Expand
  94. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    One of the best RPG experiences you could ask for. A truly open world, tons to do, a great V.A.T.S. system, You would do yourself a deservice if you didn't pick this up
  95. May 10, 2014
    7
    I played a fully modded version from Nexus mods. This is a good RPG to play if you are itching for a classic western game to play. Fully modded the game looked really good for being so old. The story did not grip me that much but it was still fun to play. I found playing with a 360 controller to be far superior than keyboard and mouse. I am playing this right after Dark Souls. And the 29 hours it took me to play this game took me by surprise after playing a 65 hour game. But overall a good game on sale. This is a must play because Fallout 4 is in the chamber. Expand
  96. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    I can see bugs everywhere....
    But beyond this fog of crashes there is an absolute masterpiece.
    Not so hard to complete, but it's impossible to stop to play it .

    If you can play it, you must love it.
  97. Oct 12, 2012
    5
    I had high hopes for this game as I played on, but the further I got into the game as my XP, Perks earned and more weapons became available the easier it got until the competition seemed like child's play. Storyline was fair I suppose, but if you accept a certain quest too soon the game is over way before it's time. I even added 'Point Lookout' and killed the game so soon b my choice of Quests I never experienced the Add On. No point In going on at this point as I know how the game ends no matter what choices or changes I make. The end sucks me very much. Expand
  98. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    I am a huge fan of Fallout 1 and 2 and that's why I was really worried about this game. I didn't believe Bethesda has what it takes to create a game that will satisfy the fans. I found Oblivion disappointing at least, so when I first started Fallout 3 I didn't have high expectations.

    The beginning is quite unusual, starting as a baby and taking your first steps, then progressing through
    some events of your childhood. It felt really weird, but it served as a decent tutorial. At the end of it we leave the vault. Blinding sun effect fades and we witness the postapocaliptic wasteland.

    It was just how I imagined it, dirty, brutal and unforgiving, but this time from first person perspective - making it even more real. I was lost for countless hours wandering around, trying to survive, exploring, fighting... and listening to great radio podcasts. Finally I realised that I have some storyline to progress. Oh, right...

    The main story was good, side quests are great, combat system is fluid and encounters are challenging. Exploring the world, wandering through wasteland is more fun than exploring of Oblivion or Skyrim will ever be. More importantly - watseland is unforgiving. It takes a really long time to feel comfortable wherever you go. You never know if a lonely abandoned town you decided to visit will be just a quiet place or a death trap full of deadly deathclaws that will rip through your power armour with ease.
    Will there be an epic item waiting there for you?
    Well, there was a really annoying talking armour that got me addicted to chems... and I loved it!

    Sure, the character developement could be better, we could use some extra weapons, more quests, etc.; but at the end of the day I'm a vault dweller travelling through wasteland with his supermutant friend and listening to climatic songs on the radio.
    Expand
  99. May 13, 2013
    9
    A very good story driven in a great and challenging atmosphere, with interesting gameplay and mechanics.

    A must for any FPS and RPG fan rolled in to one.
  100. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I bought this game for christmas with my xbox. I still have great memories about fallout. I rreally didnt know about it, never even knew what fallout was. This was my first fallout game to play. Yes it has plenty of bugs everywhere but its a bethesda game, nothing of that size can be fully patched to not have glitches. The story was wonderful and well written. I got myself to glitch the game ending and It was a bummer to start it all over, since I didnt save it alot and the lastest save was on the beggining of the mission, but it was my fault anyway (1st time) I later burned the disk after accidentally pushing my xbox so I bought the GOTY, since it was released then. I did the story line and fortunately I didnt break it horribly. Then I got to the DLCs which were great in theory but not so well realised ( im talking to you Operation Anchorage ) and the worst one was Operation anchorage, God, as a idiot that I am, I still didnt learn the lesson to SAVE THE DAMN GAME. I started it all over ( 2nd time ) again since I couldnt complete the damn DLC. So after some damn butthurt of completing the story I got myself to rank up and begun with Mothership zeta to get some guns and money. Mothership zeta was repetitive. Very Very Very repetitive but I still managed to suck the fun out of it and GOT LOTS OF MONEH! Then I got with the pitt, the pitt was bad, seriously bad, but since Im such a bastard I still sucked all the fun of cheating and killing people.. Then.. Then.. Then.. THE HORROR COMETH! I had to do Operation Anchorage. Goddamit I hate that DLC. I took me a week of pain in the anus to get over it, and the best thing I got off of it was that stealth suit, which didnt even suit me. Now back to the wasteland I got back to side stuff, and believe me, I hated every single side mission in every game ever, but fallout, fallout used envy to make you do the side missions, and it did a good job at making me do them, giving me my own taste of medicine. The most horrible one, which I felt guilty to do was to destroy megaton, I loved megaton I used to trade all the alien guns I got and to save them there. But I destroyed the **** out of it because of Moira Brown, Oh god I hated her, She felt very compelled to drag me into her dirty buisness, And if you were asking I didnt have enough skill to dissarm the bomb. So I left it for later, then I met that other guy and for the sake of my sanity I destroyed it. THEN I FOUND OUT THAT MOIRA IS STILL ALIVE......... Moving on, there were not many good side quest but the open world, the mods, oh the mods, I may need some years to talk about the mods. but the frosting in the cheesecake in fallout are random events, dogmeat, and some random things that may make you go wtf.. To blend it all in one piece, Fallout is one of the games of the century. PERIOD Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.