User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2501 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable, and worth every penny. I bought the GOTY edition which made it even more fun. Every aspect of this game draws you in! The campaign can take a long time to finish, and there are plenty of different outcomes from the choices you make. This makes for a great replayable game. Storyline is impeccable, and the graphics are amazing!
  2. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Game have too many slave-quests, like make this, and for this u must run 100 miles and shoot to all generated monsters and crime-men.

    Fallout 1 and 2 was made for more freedom of players. And if u clear some place this place still clean.

    For playing with enjoy player must fully understand textual and audio information in game. But Fallout 3 on Steam-system was without Russian language.
  3. Aug 15, 2010
    6
    I don't know how so many people reviewed this so highly. Fallout 3, as a game, is directionless and vague in all it does, poorly structured (you can skip out half the story if you're not careful), caters for gaming idiots and worst of all is anything but true to the Fallout name.

    Ok so I shall start with the positives, it's a good looking game as long as you remain in first person,
    apparently no one in Bethesda has ever seen a real person walking as evidenced by switching to third person. There are some truly great scripted moments that are only really effective because of the level of the graphics, anyone who's played it should know what moments I'm talking about. Moving onto the world itself, it is big and there are a lot of places to go and visit, a lot of people to meet and a lot of items to collect (if you're a hoarder like me). The ambient sound is ok in most places and good in a few, it never gets annoying so I can't really fault it. Weapons sound as they should or probably should, the music sort of sets the scene but is relatively forgettable. That just about wraps up the good things.

    Ok so first of all this game suffers from all the faults Oblivion had and some. "Dungeons" or "Vaults" as Bethesda would have you believe all have that same rehashed feeling they had in Oblivion, as do buildings. As I already mentioned, third person character movement is appalling, though this is not too much of a problem as most people, as I did, for a bulk of the game will be playing in first person. You would have thought with the budget they had and the time they had they could at least get that right however. The other thing is that it can't be played as you would play a first person shooter, you can aim your cross hair over an enemy all you want but that doesn't make it any more likely you will hit; whilst this is true to the Fallout series it doesn't translate in their first person iteration of it, except for when enemies are firing at you; they don't seem to be bound by the same constraints. Neither does VATS for that matter, in the original if you specifically targeted and hit an enemy's body part it would have a noticeable affect on that enemy's ability to fight, in Fallout 3 it doesn't seem to make a blind bit of difference, for example, blinding an enemy would make it near impossible for them to attack you. As for the storyline, what there isn't of it that is, now I know that there is much more to a game in terms of its immersive-ness than the main storyline but it does have to provided direction and motivation to finish the game. The main storyline can be completed in five hours or less if you're skipping parts of it and is not once engaging or driving enough to want to continue. Not good by any standard. It doesn't help that the story is told by an incredibly lacklustre group of NPCs. In fact nearly every character in this game has a personality roughly equal to a shade of beige. They are an incredibly boring group and there is little diversity to them, in fact you will come across many with an overwhelming sense of familiarity, even though you may not have met them yet. Also the game is incredibly buggy, even after numerous patches.

    That covers all of the issues I see with it except for, what is for me, the biggest one of them all. Now then, if you're going to take up already established IP and expand on that you have to pay attention to what that originally stood for. Now I know Fallout has diverged in the past from it's roots but never has it strayed this far. The first two of the Fallout series had some intelligent and very witty writing, a varied, interesting and soulful group of NPCs and hugely interesting world full of sleaze and humour. This variation on the Fallout theme has stripped out all of this, there is never a funny moment, the writing is appalling, NPCs are bland and the sleaze has completely gone. No more can you take a job as a porn star or engage with the post-apocalyptic mob or score drugs from a shady character to fuel your addiction. This strips most of the realism and life out of the world and the fact of the matter is that by comparison to most of the rest of the series Fallout 3 has no soul, it's been stripped out in an attempt to bring it to all out commercial success (yes I know this sounds whiny and unrealistic as these companies are there to make money, but do that with their own IP not just off the back of a recognised and fondly loved and remembered franchise).

    Anyway in conclusion Fallout 3 is, as a game, a mildly above average game. However, as an addition to the Fallout series it is an incredibly poor and disappointing addition so far removed from what Fallout was that it is barely recognisable any more. I just hope that with some of the original Fallout team working on New Vegas they can get that amazingly lively, funny world that Fallout used to be back.
    Expand
  4. Aug 27, 2010
    7
    On the level the game itself is far more satisfying than Bethesda's previous entries into sandbox titles. The PC version offer the same expansive environments but the more claustrophobic feel of a wasteland city gives a less mundane feel to the environment and a clear and concise story line gives the game a clear sense of direction. On PC platform with relatively powerful hardware the game produces clear crisp textures and matched with the relatively huge dialogue giving it a relatively immersed feel.

    After setting all of the positive aside, I have a very difficult time ignoring all of the bugs and technical shortcomings the game experiences in what seems like a very random manner. Certain graphics settings cause direct crashes almost predictably during play, and it would seem under almost perfectly stable conditions you can experience random hardware driver crashes, even more frustrating is how the game handles the DLC expansion material, once installed properly every endeavor into a previously saved game pauses the game to remind the user that a new radio station has been discovered, this not only breaks the experience altogether it does so on a fairly random basis assuring that no matter how into the game you become you can be assured that it will be ruined for you without any warning.
    Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    This game is good..very good.The rpg elements are good.the gameplay is awesome,and the story is also very interesting.I was very amazed of the work done by bethesda softworks.It was very good.
  6. Sep 10, 2010
    2
    This game sucks ass. If it weren't for the awesome user made mods I never would have bought the game. In no way is it anywhere near as great as the originals. **** writing, **** storytelling, **** graphics, **** fps integration. Just a horrible, horrible game.
  7. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    Fallout 3 has to be a favourite of mine, and due to a new rig build i decided to start it again. I realised that the generic storyline is a only but a speck on what the game has to offer if you indulge your character in the little side missions available. Much like other massive RPG's days of your life can be put into this customising things with pc mods and just generally playing through different ways. Eitherway, despite some bugs, and some slightly poor graphics in certain areas, its a good game allround Expand
  8. Sep 23, 2010
    0
    A great game attempted to get through, but was crushed under the heaping pile of excrement that is the Gamebryo engine. It adds an element of suspense though, should I save now or walk a few minutes more and risk it crashing to desktop for no reason at all? The same problems that plagued Elder Scrolls Oblivion came back in spades, to the point where attempting some of the expansion packs makes the game completely unplayable. I love the Fallout series and have played them all, but I really wish they'd hand the series over to someone more capable. Expand
  9. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    This game is pure epic. It had nothing that I didn't like. Great story, great ACTING, great horror themes, great gunplay and combat. It was beautiful. The weapons were intriguing, the hardware support made me think that Bethesda still love us and the DLC's were brilliant. At least 60hrs of gameplay for the completer, and I went back to it loads more times just for the sake of it. Then I met something I didn't like. It had Games for Windows Live integration for achievements and such, so I tried it out and I hated it. I had to use a "storage device" when I wasn't logged in. Garrrg! Stupid Microsoft. Anyway, great game Bethesda! Expand
  10. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    This is Oblivion in future.I give it a 10 not only because i liked The elder scrolls 4 oblivion very much but for its nice game play elements as well as the exploring world.A nice game detailed and in which the atmosphere is very very realistic. You can see the elder scrolls elements in it like jumping at a place if you have discovered it or the usage and repair of items.But netherless is a solid game even if the main story is short has many side quests Expand
  11. Sep 26, 2010
    7
    Fallout 3 is the best game I've played. Ever. I have a feeling only it's successor, New Vegas, will dethrone it. It's horribly buggy, though, and I hate buggy software. So I knocked three points off for that. Still, you should buy this.
  12. gas
    Dec 1, 2011
    9
    Im writing this a bit late tbh, as ive played this game more or less 1 year ago, but now i decided im going to have a second playthrough heavily modded so im going to add a little review here too.
    This game is not perfect, the engine is a bit disappointing compared to most of the "real" fps around, at least if not modded, as many objects have transparent parts only "painted" with alpha
    channels, this means if you try to shoot behind a fence you will discover the object is full solid and a bullet will never pass it, same can happen when hiding behind a rock, you fire aiming a mob and you will end hitting the rock instead... also without a mod the sniper rifle is useless for some reason it has less range then a normal rifle.
    Anyway, beside those 2 aspects and not many more the game is really really good.
    I liked a lot fallout 1 and 2 and i was a bit scared to find a title completely different going from isometric turn based strategy to a 3d fps game, anyway luckily the choices made by devs are quite good, basically there is a lot to explore, a very appealing (but short) main quest, a large number of more or less appealing side quests, some moments of fallout style humor, and a game that overall is really well made.
    What i like more is the fact this game reach to preserve the original fallout concept and feels really a step forward.
    The full DLCS are usually included in the package nowadays, all of them are quite crap compared to the game itself, anyway actually they can be considered something non mandatory you got with the game, so im not going to rate them here.
    At the end i finished the first play after around 180 hours, and i didn't even explore all the map nor i fully played the dlcs except anchorage, so it can be a huge experience, and a good one.
    Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I enjoy the premise and design for this game, but that's about where it ends. The game crashes on almost ANY pc close to several times an hour. Tried on 3 different PCs, all high end nvidia or ati beasts, vista/7/xp doesn't matter. Clicking an NPC twice shouldn't freeze ANY game.

    That being said I really wanted to enjoy this game, bought the GOTY including all DLC and haven't been able
    to get more than an hour out of the story. It simply crashes too much in the open world. Play this game on a console, sad to say, but it looks amazing when it works. Expand
  14. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    this is a great game for anyone who likes to explore large areas and this game is easy to play due to the targeting system making it much easier for people with even the WORST aim in the world to pick up the game and get into it imediantly.
  15. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Great game, lots to do and a massive play area to explore, I sort of don't like VATS and the large amount of ordinance it takes to put things down, but that doesn't even merit half a point deduction.
    Story is pretty interesting in a wasteland of uninteresting stories that fill most games these days.
    Really sucks you in, just wish the FPS aspect was a bit better implemented ie. no
    autoaim, stronger weaponry being used by/against you. Tons of content for 20 or 30 bucks, can't go wrong. Expand
  16. Nov 26, 2010
    4
    When I heard that Bethesda(somebody, please! Help me about pronunciation) was going to make a new Fallout game, I felt tight little bit. Just because this is a company that makes games which are both massive, and at the same time superb boring. Take Oblivion for example: At first massiveness of the game embraces you thanks to all the details like story, music, etc... but all these stuff has only 3 or 4 hours lifetime. We have same thing for Fallout 3 here. Post Apocalyptic world with 3d graphics, some different quest, weapons bla bla.. but beyond all of these, this game has no soul. All characters in the game are so mechanic and dull. They speak as if if they were forth or fifth class actors. All the environmental is lack of persuasiveness. so on ans so forth. From that point, this game looks like a more fan-base 3d Fallout clone(and I would give 8 if it was) rather than spiritual incomer for original Fallout. Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    A good FPS with some RPG elements. Pro: - Immersive, huge environments: you can play Fallout 3 for months before finishing it.
    - Good graphics: I really enjoyed the "comics-style" graphics.
    - Simple but not easy: yes, you have to use few commands but you have a lot of stuff to do.
    - For the beginner and for the pro: I enjoyed the simplicity of my first games then I switched to the "pro"
    gaming LOL just joking but yes, the game was really hard and time-consuming.
    Cons:
    - Frustrating: and you can bet it, expecially the first games, when you learn that aiming can be used not only to eliminate your enemies but also to disarm them. - Time consuming: yes, Fallout 3 is simply a great game but you have to play it for hours - weeks - to finish it. And you have some fun DLC too so ... some more time.
    - Cartoon: it's a pro or a con, it depends.
    - Nukes: the game is about a post-nuclear war and you can use some "radio" equipment against your enemies. I know it's only fiction but someone said me he found it not good.
    Expand
  18. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    A cool game that lacks a bit of dynamics, balance, difficulty and openness. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game.Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Great game. Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Okay, lots of people gave this game bad reviews so I'd like to address some of those, First off to the hundred or so people who said "Its hard to find ammo" I say, Your playing in a nuceluar wasteland after a huge atomic war, ammo isn't really a main concern for people then. To the people who say i cant find anyone to interact with I say, GO TO A CITY!, For the game itself its gameplay is amazing, the guns are realistic the textures are amazing the PC versions great because you can mod. Fight sequences are unique and challengeing and it is hard to kill thinkgs, guess why, THEY ARE MUTATED HUMANS! MUTATED! HUGE GREEN MUTANTS! Overall this game is definitly worth 50 bucks hell this games worth 100, ive got 800 hours for Fallout 3 on steam so thats gotta mean something. Expand
  20. Nov 17, 2011
    2
    Fallout 3 is bland, lengthy, tedious, and repetitive. I often hear people say they like it because the world is so big. Honestly though, who cares if the world is "big"? It really is all just the same burning rubble copy-pasted all over a big map, so there isn't really a whole lot to explore because very little of it is new and you also can't interact with much of it anyway. The only things that break the repetition and boredom are the cities, but there aren't that many, and they are very few and far between in a HUGE wasteland. The world is definitely "big," but there also isn't much to do in it or interact with.

    The developer didn't provide any vehicles, so while "exploring," you get to have fun walking...everywhere... at a painfully slow pace. Imagine GTA, but without cars, with a lot of burning buildings that you can't really interact with the vast majority of the time, very few people, and it's populated by the same 5 kinds of bad guys all across 90% of the map. Despite the terrific art-style and interesting setting, the game does a terrible job of storytelling, and what little story-content there is is spread out throughout approximately 60 hours of mind-numbingly repetitive combat and "exploration." Soon, you realize that you are fighting the same bad-guys over and over, that the houses and assorted bits of rubble and trash you see lying all over the world all look more or less the same, and the whole experience is downhill from there.

    Repetitive combat + copy-pasted rubble + no significant story = boring waste of time.

    Don't buy into the hype about the game being "open-world." Open world games aren't that great when everything you come across in the game looks bland, lifeless, and identical to 80% or more of everything else you've already come across in the game.
    Expand
  21. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    i am so addicted to Fallout 3, i play it alot, i am a god in the game, i really enjow useing the Laser pistol and the Rocket launcher, i hate playing as a badass in the game, im always the goodguy
  22. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    This game is a buggy mess, with code that resembles a bowl of spaghetti, and a poor engine. Yet I still give it a 9/10. Everything else about this game is great.
  23. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Far supurior to its console bretheren. Fallout 3 may start slow and boring, but it makes up for its size and impact on the game. I found that it is more leaned towards the good karma, which is a bit of a dissapointment, but the game has its generic gameplay. A decent story and your actions realy do help shape the capital wasetland. This game is also greatly improved with a few mods, but as a vanilla product. Its graphics are not the best but they are pretty decent and realy suit the feeling of the game. While some parts are pretty repetative, i found its vats and gruesome enviroment a key factor in helping this game live to its past predeccesors. Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant. A 40-50's representation of a classic run down nuclear wasteland. The gameplay of combat is not as beneficial to the game. It never was for the fallout series. Its all about making decisions. the storyline is epic. Just pure epic. purify the water (or poisin it) for a nuclear wasteland while getting by a healthy amount of super mutant, irradiated freaks. with amazing views the entire way. Its like visiting washington DC! but.... in ruins. Anyway, Compared to the other fallout games. Its not really a fallout game. But this is made by Bethesda. what did you expect? A vast, continual RPG that is very, very, fun. (Thats if you dont mind easy head shooting) It is not as funny as the other fallout games. That is what new vegas is for. And it does occasionally have that feeling of a bare RPG. Whereas Fallout new vegas has the strip as a wierd contrast to the wasteland. A long, fun RPG. Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2011
    4
    The people in charge of handing out Game Of The Year awards should be ashamed of themselves for giving this bug ridden game the award. Bethesda show complete lack of care for their customers by churning out such a blatantly unfinished product. The gameplay is also repetative to the point of being boring. There are some saving graces but whats the point when the coding is this bad.
  26. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Very good game, the extra DLC's were an amazing add on. Very fun and very mod-able to provide hours of fun, I bought it expecting a game I would play once and then probably never again. I was proven wrong. Bethesda goes and make an excellent game that had me hooked and has caused me to play the campaign more times then I can remember. With 100 hours of game play I can safely say, if you like RPG's, 1st and 3rd person shooters, trust me on this you will love Fallout 3. With complete freedom and lots of guns, weapons, and quests, you will be spellbound by the awesomeness of this game. Expand
  27. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    A truly epic adventure--an absolute stellar collaboration of FPS and RPG experiences. The vast open landscape allows unhindered exploration. The game offers a wealth of NPC characters, each having their own distinct personalities opening or limiting choices based on how you interact with them. The story conversations go far beyond simple dialog, offering players deep and rich character development. There's even multiple paths/outcomes depending on the choices you make throughout the game. Multitudes of different monster types and weapons. While the story and side missions are enough to keep anyone busy for hours on end, the DLCs are well integrated and keep the game fresh for many more. Expand
  28. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This would be the single most immersive game I've played, as its mostly about exploring every nook and cranny in a post-apocalyptic world. New Vegas expanded on the rpg system a bit, but I guarantee you're going to miss the VATS from this game. The main quest isn't that long, but it's a bethesda/fallout game, why are you playing if you aren't going to get immersed into the world as a whole instead of what you're main job is. As always, one of the coolest things about a fallout game is its humor, and you should be able to get plenty of laughs wandering around the capital wasteland. Expand
  29. Jan 8, 2011
    6
    To correct my last review. There is definitely a story and lots of missions. I just didn't take the time to learn the map system and realize where my missions were. It takes TIME! So sit back, and relax on this one.
  30. Jul 11, 2011
    9
    I'm behind the times I guess, because I just bought this game only a week ago. Well, I have already spent plenty of hours playing this game. The game world is awesome, the detail is stunning, and there are tons of things to do and explore besides the main storyline. The main storyline is not all that interesting, but it's enough to want to continue on with it once you get side tracked by a number of quests (which there are plenty of, even unmarked ones!). The only things I didn't like about the game are some of the bugs (occasional crashes and shoddy quad core support), and the fact that running feels like walking and the game doesn't come native with iron sites aiming. Thankfully the game can be modded, and a number of console commands can be used to tweak the game to your liking. Getting the iron sites mod with a few other complimentary mods to remove the auto-aiming and bumping up my run speed made this game almost perfect. As for the dialog and the NPCs they are quite cheesy in appearance and sometimes sound just down right annoying. The graphics are great for it's time, but the characters look unrealistic. But given the age of this game and the enormous amount of effort that went into making it engaging and entertaining, it's to be expected. You might get bored with it after awhile, but not before you get your money's worth...and if you do, it might be high time you go on over to Nexus and see what mods you can load up to add to the fun. One more thing: this is a single player adventure type game that can be ran in First-person or third-person (nice touch), so if you are aren't someone who enjoys SP adventure games this is not for you. Expand
  31. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    Huge game with tons of playing hours. If you don't have time to put into this game for a long time don't get it! It's easy 100 hours of playing time and very involved. Huge maps, clues, tidbits, secrets, missions, etc. It is a Roll Play Game but adds first person and 3rd person shooter styles to it. It really LACKS in the shooting segments. The shooting is worthless unless you use the special PIP BOY aiming system. You can't accurately hit anything with Iron sites with any weapon. It doesn't feel REAL. That's my main complaint about the game and it takes me out of it. There are a few glitches here and there that can cause a system to crash but no big deal. Also a few strange things that don't really fit realistically with the story they present. But it's a game. Enjoy it! Just make sure you have TIME! Expand
  32. Dec 16, 2011
    6
    Fallout 3 has potential but suffers a lot from mediocre game design. First problem of fallout 3 is the gameplay. The V.A.T.S. system of location-specific targeting has been added to sort of simulating turn-based combat for those interested, but it is poorly done with some repetitive and boring killing animations. Gameplay is primarily first-person, but it turns out not working very well since you are not able hit anyone if not using awkward V.A.T.S system at the beginning. Second the game's quests are mostly done with linear solutions. In Fallout 2, most of quests can be done in different ways. it seemed that there would be a lot of choices in how Fallout 3's quests were to be solved but shortly after going into the game, those different solutions tend to fade away especially for the main quest. Fallout 3 tries to give you an illusion of choices to impact the story but it actually does not offer any non linearity in the quest structure. But I still would say Fallout 3 is a fun game to kill time in a virtual, massive and varied world, just do not treat it like a fallout game, it just does not have the spirit of Fallout. Expand
  33. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    I got this game a couple years a go for Christmas. Since then I have played hours and hours of this game. I was shocked to see how many people just despise this game. This Game is a work of Art! The only downfall of this game is Games for Windows live. I personally didn't mind too much mainly because I bought it retail. If you buy on Steam Keep that in mind.

    Performance wise I was able to
    run the game full resolution on medium settings on a old duel core machine flawlessly. If you are worried about bugs, most of them have been worked out at this point.

    If you are looking for a game that will last you this game will do that and more. If the base game wasn't enough the DLC adds even more. I highly advise that you get the game of the year edition because it comes with the DLC and you save money.
    Expand
  34. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This game kicks ass on every level. Core i7 920,GTX275,6 gigs Mushkin DDR3, Win 7 64, and runs beautifully so the people saying quad cores have an issue.. nah.. you may have an issue. Depth of story has been built upon for years and years from FO to NV it has been great to watch it evolve. this still remains my favorite of the series.. the graphics, environment, NPC's all grab you and pull you in to where you forget yourself and take another role... this game is 10/10, 100%, KA award and a legend that stands along with others on " the best ever made". list.â Expand
  35. Sep 19, 2012
    1
    I cant remember playing a more tedious and broken game. the interactions with enemies is neither FPS like nor RPG like and the game runs terribly slow for something that has ancient graphics.
  36. Apr 7, 2013
    7
    This would have been a 10/10 BUT: Game for windows live is as painful as always, and lack of support for win 7. It behaves weirdly with some graphic cards, I keep having to reinstall the same drivers each time I want to play this game. Also some times you can feel the influence of the console version. Apart from these aspects the game is plain awesome: from the general atmosphere to each single weapon, everything is how it should be. Don't expect an important main story tough: as with many bethesta titles this game is more about freeroaming. While the main campaing is still better than, say, oblivion, it is quite short. Expand
  37. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Whenever i think of this game i think of what a good time i had (and still do) scavenging and roaming the wasteland. I just love this game and i love Bethesda for making it.
  38. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    An excellent game let down spectacularly by its main quest. Atmospheric, visually fascinating and manages to maintain your curiosity at high levels. Can't say I met any NPCs with anything resembling a personailty (with the possible exception of Moira) but that's not uncommon nowadays. Sniping with the dart gun was great fun, but the tube stations got irksome quickly. I don't see what all the fuss about VATS is - to me it just seems like cheating so I never used it. There is a lot here to interest the casual FPS and RPG fan but perhaps not enough to interest the hardcore elements of both factions. The main quest is totally uninspiring and (maybe thankfully) a fair chunk of it can be missed without warning. Plenty to see and do and I finished it 3 times which probably says more than any of the above. Definitely worth a try. Expand
  39. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Very good game. I haven't played the old Fallout games so I don't know how consistent this game is with them but I can say that I really enjoyed the setting of a postapocalyptic washington d.c. The game plays kind of like the Elder Scrolls games and I say that in a good way. VAT system is really cool with the slow motion kills and all. The main quest is a little bit dull at first but it gets better later. There is a big and interesting world to explore as always with Bethesda. The leveling system is not perfect but it is quite alright even though I would have liked a higher level cap given that the world is so big that you reach max level with less than half the content in the game. The UI is only so so as usual and could really use a makeover for all Bethesda games on PC.
    Overall a nice experience that shows a lot of game universes could work very well with Elder Scrolls type of mechanics. Now they only need to make a new Vampire: Bloodlines game with their engine!
    Expand
  40. May 9, 2011
    4
    This game loves to crash, interesting my fix is not running the game with quad-cores good start. But thats fixed and when you go past it? Well it starts well the atmosphere is good though I can't say I ever felt any engagement with the plot, but none the less the atmosphere is pretty dam good. BUT, that doesnt last once the wasteland starts to feel more familiar , it feel safe, you reach a point of financial comfort and then it's kind of over. The rpg/shooter gameplay is far from a stong point and simply doesnt carry the game when the feel fades. Had the game kept the player from feeling comfy and maintained the feel of the wastes no doubt I would be giving this 8+ despite its poor gameplay but sadly this isnt the case and the game just falls short of the mark. Expand
  41. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    I think i need to defend my score for this game, this was my first Bethesda game to play since oblivion, so the retro style, the gameplay elements, the RPG backbone and the well crafted story caught me by surprise. Still, i have to recognize it gets repetitive and buggy at times, and that it was probably the game responsible for the actual stupidity of many game developers, with its interest in making money by DLC and beating franchises with sticks to see how much money they can get away with before having to start making decent (and complete) games again. Expand
  42. Aug 26, 2011
    4
    This might not be completely fair as i never finished the game but the game just did not resonate with me. The story was decent but not as entertaining as i wanted, i found the gameplay to be incredibly boring for the first two hours and once you finally escape the vault, the wastelands are depressing and unappealing. The graphics were good but because of the setting it just felt too heavily textured and bland. The guns were okay but i didnt progress far enough to discover anything all that interesting. On top of that the game felt confusing with too many things going on at once. In the end i just found the game to be unattractive and boring. Expand
  43. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought the Steam Game-of-the-Year edition of Fallout 3, and though far from perfect, it's a very good game and far better than the disappointment of Oblivion.

    Since gaming for me is all about story and immersiveness, I suppose I'll start with that. The story was good. It wasn't complete crap like Oblivion's was, and I was well-entertained by it throughout the game, if not completely enthralled or astounded. You're born in one of the underground vaults designed to protect several thousand American citizens from the apocalypse, and when you're nineteen, the overseer of your vault goes berserk after your father leaves. He and his goonies try to kill you and you're forced to leave and search for your father. This whole early portion takes about an hour and mainly involves character building (which I still have similar issues with from Oblivion, but that's for later).

    After leaving the vault, the remainder of the campaign takes you all across the Capital Wasteland, and this world, unlike Oblivion's, was truly unique and enjoyable. To be honest, I'm giving this game a nine mainly because of the world design. Exploration was incredibly fun, as you get to see first-hand the results of the nuclear apocalypse on Washington D.C. And unlike in Oblivion, there was actually a point to exploring before max level, in which you were so bored because of the I-finished-all-the-faction-quests-and-there's-nothing-to-do-but-dungeon-dive syndrome. In Fallout 3, you actually have to survive, and that's what made this game fun for me. You scrounge around the remnants and frames of buildings, sewer stations, utility plants, looking for anything and everything that could help you survive, whether it be rare weapons, ammunition, or just caps for money. At heart, I think Fallout 3 is a survival game, and it accomplished this exceedingly well.

    Oh and did I mention? Enemies no longer level with you, meaning that if you try and do everything at level 1, prepare to get your ass handed to you. (Though if you somehow managed to acquire the money/food/supplies to take on some of the higher-level areas, I suppose you could succeed.) To be honest, I would recommend sticking around the first town you come across until about level 3, just to make sure you can survive long enough to do any actual exploring.

    But exploring does more than just let you live off the remains of the land and tick off markers on your map. Though there are no factions like in TES games, Fallout 3 has its share of some pretty remarkable side quests, and most of these are found through exploration. Finding a secret cult of "vampires," stumbling across what appear to be the last vestiges of flora in D.C., or going on some inane hunt for soft drinks are each the basis for some very enjoyable quests and characters, even if (once again) the facial animations are pretty far from believable.

    And to be honest, that's pretty much my only complaint. When it came to FO3, I found few bugs, or anything else that really detracted from the game. The karma system was kind of cool, but it was pretty basic, I guess, and there were only two cities, but these aren't really big issues. The only problem I really had is a flaw with Bethesda's Gamebryo engine, and the fact that it cannot animate people's faces with any sort of believability. Also, you will always be playing the same character, since the CharGen, though very flexible, somehow makes all your characters end up looking pretty much the same, unless you switch genders.

    Gameplay was another success, in my opinion. I have seen complaints that targeting body parts with your fire saw little impact, but I disagree. Headshots killed faster, crippling arms immediately disarmed the monster you were shooting at, and hitting the legs effectively crippled them from running. It wasn't groundbreaking gameplay mechanics but they worked solidly. VATS, however, was a different story. To be honest, there still isn't anything quite like blowing sombody's head off in slow motion, and your action points, on which VATS is dependent, regenerate fast enough that it's not gamebreakingly easy to spam, but still allows you to use it quite frequently. The best part is, it allows you to quite seamlessly switch from real-time combat to a moderate form of turn-based combat-by-the-numbers. Overall, I personally thought it was a resounding success.

    So Fallout 3 definitely bested Oblivion. I immensely enjoyed it, easily logging 100 hours or more. It wasn't flawless, but it's the best we've gotten out of Bethesda since Morrowind, and it was highly enjoyable. So I will settle for a 9/10. But I'm still waiting on Skyrim...
    Expand
  44. Apr 16, 2011
    2
    I don't get it. What's all the hype about this game? Same thing over and over and over- just in different parts of the map/world.

    Seriously overhyped. This is boring.
  45. May 16, 2011
    10
    ONE OF THE GREATEST RPGs I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY WHOLE LIFE. Whoever doesn't like this is a distasteful idiot. Sure there are a couple of bugs and a bit of lag. but who really cares? The setting is fantastic, the writing is top-notch, the voice acting is great, the side-quests are enjoyable and infinitely replayable, the combat is solid and suits the game very well, looting is satisfying, levelling up is perfect, the characters have true variety and depth, the graphics have aged well and produce some STUNNING views (such as the destroyed, barren landscape that is the Capital Wasteland, or watching Megaton go up in an extremely satisfying and explosive mushroom cloud) and the locations are so iconic, they border on fantastical. But Fallout 3's greatest strength isn't it's combat or its graphics; its the sheer freedom and sense of scale: as soon as you leave the confines of Vault 101 you drink in this endless, barren landscape and realise there are endless possibilities. Wrangle children for slavers. Collect bobbleheads. Blow up a town or two. Or simply just explore. If you play any RPG, Fallout 3 is it. Expand
  46. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So great atmosphere of wasting things and stuff. Graphic ain't so good, but worth it! The classic fallout gameplay, open world, nice soundtracks what else do you need? Expand
  47. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    Utterly outstanding open world RPG Shooter that everyone should be forced to play by law, ok the graphics are rubbish by PC standards, but they work well so I can forgive them for that, the story has so many side quests that it can take 100+ hours of hunting to do them all. BIOWARE needs to take a look as their newer titles (ME2 and DA2) have fallen behind Bethesda's offerings.
  48. Apr 26, 2011
    9
    A extremely fun and enjoyable game. Whilst some hardcore Fallout 1 and 2 fans will be disapointed with the writing and plot it still holds up as an excellent game worthy of the praise given to it.
  49. May 10, 2011
    9
    Look, this game is great. I mean, it's like Mass Effect because of the dialogue and RPG because of the upgrading system. I'm a shooter and a RPG fan, so I was really excited for this game. And it delivered in every way imaginable. However, it does use the crappy Games For Windows Live, and I use Steam, so I wasn't able to get achievements in the game. It also sometimes crashes, but who cares? It auto-saves everytime you enter a different room. Also, the loading times are so short it's amazing. You get the whole wasteland in just five seconds. The graphics are really good too. There are a lot of quests you can do to, and the karma is interesting. Most of the people who say this game isn't good are just haters because they didn't listen to what the NPCs said. People, if you don't listen to what people say you will not get the story. Just saying. It's really realistic too. Like, if you take too much of a drug you will get addicted to it, and then there will be side effects, like minus one agility or strength. I'm giving this a nine because of GFWL. It just kinda ruins it. Steam forever! Expand
  50. May 2, 2011
    7
    I waited for Fallout 3 for years, and this game was disappointing. It is an ok game, just so much is missing from it. The original level cap of 20 killed all fun in exploration after hitting it. I hear it has been raised, but by then the game has been already finished. Bethesda redeemed itself with Fallout: NV, but not this title
  51. Jan 31, 2014
    10
    Fallout 3 is - 6 years down the line - probably my favourite game. It's also one of the only two games |I've given a 10 to here on Metacrtic.

    It's not perfect (crashing is a way of life) but the open world game-play gives the option for creating your own story or just mucking about that no other sandbox game I've played has yet managed to capture.
  52. Mar 4, 2012
    9
    I have to say this was very similar to Oblivion in many ways, even though the setting is entirely different. The post-apocalyptic setting seems tedious at first, but I think Bethesda have done a great job making the world very big and locations very picturesque. There is a lot of detail added, in particular with the amount of different weapons and items you come across. The VAT system is simply amazing. It gives a lot of satisfaction killing an enemy in a cinematic style, especially getting to choose which part of the body you'd like to shoot at. The RPG elements are really great too. There is a lot of customization to your character's playstyle. Although all in all the game is great, there were some things about it that annoyed me. The greatest one of those was perhaps a considerable lack of enemies on the roads and sidequests. Most of the time when I was traversing the wasteland, it was uneventful and if not for the beautiful locations, I would've gotten bored. Seeing a giant scorpion moving towards you in order to have you for dinner, or a gang of raiders was a joyful sight. And also I felt the main story wasn't anything special. Maybe only towards the end it got a bit interesting, but that's about it. Other than those two points the game is great. I'd give it 8.5. I am yet to try the DLCs, though still can't find a way to access them (I think it should've been clearer). Expand
  53. May 17, 2011
    9
    Fallout 3 was a truly fascinating journey into what the world could be like after a nuclear apocalypse. Beautiful story, awesome characters, great gameplay, and an enormous worldscape make for an unforgettable experience.

    Where the graphics or polish fell short, the modders reached out and closed the gap.
  54. May 16, 2013
    6
    I was never quite fond of Bethesda-made RPGs: Morrowind felt like an utter chore and despite several attempts I could never force myslef to whitstand the tedium of slo-mo hiking for more than few hours. Oblivion was kinda fun, but only stealthing through dungeons, really. rest of the game felt sterile, copy-pasted and NPC were (and still are in all their RPG games) a joke. So obviously I wasn't sure what to think, when I found out that Bethesda got their hand on Fallout series, which I loved and Fallout 2 is imo still one of the best RPGs of all time, second only to Planescape: Torment. Then the teaser trailer came out and I was thrilled, for the mood was just right.

    Then all the gameplay interviews with that Todd Howard came out and watching him launching teddy bears and mini nukes on orc-like supermutants, while stating how he and the team love original Fallout series sew the seeds of doubt.

    In the end, things ended up better than expected, as Fallout 3 got many things right and it was no doubt the best Bethesda RPG released at the time. On the other hand, it was also still the worst Fallout game, should I ommit the Brotherhood of Steel piece of crap that came out on PS2.

    Point is, that even with VATS, randomized loot, and new pipboy aside (which are both crippled alternatives to what FO1/2 had to offer), the core stuff was just..wel... not really there. NPC had little to no character (although at least one could have an actual dialog with them), quests were mostly flashy stuff with zero substance and had zero influence on wasteland beyond their respective locations. And the main story was just pathetic, as water shortage was never a thing outside the Vault 13 of FO1 and Modoc village of FO2. Wasteland has never seemed to care about how clean is their water supply and so I could never take the main quest too seriusly. Then Enclave came into picture with their own plans and I was like 'why did we even bother.'

    It sorta had the right atmosphere, but it just was meh, wrong in its design. And yet kiddos and critics love it, happily ignoring the existence and greatness of the first two games. I can understand the kids who were simply too young to play or appreciate the qualities of first two Fallout games, but from proffesional critics who often played games for longer time than I am even alive, I would expect their experience to reflect on FO3 and comparison to FO2 should have been made where possible. Hell or even with other, newer, great RPG games, because FO3 simply is not one of those. And instead they were drooling all over it like a bunch or retarded kids. And mind you it is not like the greatness of the old Fallout games wasn't relevant anymore, New Vegas has proven that much.

    So here we are, drolling over this cripple of a Fallout game, ignoring great FO1/2 games for being too old and whining over bugs in New Vegas the one which brought much of that greatness back to present day. How can I take the co called proffesionals seriously, if they act like the '3' at the end got there by some silly accident?
    Expand
  55. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The greatest game of all time. Those complaining of "crashes" are using **** computers. Those complaining of "paying for DLC's" are cheap and probably stole the game. There is nothing... NOTHING anyone can say about this game that should sway you from NOT purchasing it. This is THE game to end all games.
  56. May 30, 2011
    10
    One of the all time best games. The plethora of easter eggs makes this game all the better. Great solid story with a fantastic RPG play style that really lets you fully dictate every action your character does. Funny and extremely action packed game play with great graphics and animations. I recommend Fallout 3 to anyone who loves RPGs.
  57. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I went into this game with literally no idea how the story went and what the setting was and if im totally honest, it was the greatest game i have ever played, although i dont play many games i just know that this game will always be my favourite game
  58. Jul 4, 2011
    9
    Well fallout 3 is amazing, vast world, with a nice storyline and will get you hours and hours of gameplay and sure you will want to play it again!

    One of my favorite RPG's
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    8
    I find it quite perplexing that people think that describing Fallout 3 as "Oblivion with guns" is something of an insult. If anything, it's quite an endearing term and a perfect way to describe what is one of the most enjoyable RPG's I've played in a long time. Fallout 3 gives the same sort of moral and personal freedom that the Elder Scrolls games are known for, whilst also taking quite an interesting look at what the world might have been like, had the Cold War come to fruition. It's hard to dislike a game that gives you such creative ways to make ends meet. You can roam the wastelands as something of a divine protector, a saint to all you come across. Or you can be a total jerk, pick pocketing people, lying your way to success and selling others out for your own devious goals. There's really very little NOT to like about Fallout 3, unless you're not a fan of RPG's in general, anyone with a remote interest in open world exploring and question should definitely experience this. Expand
  60. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is one deep, dark, sad and one of the best RPGs ever. Set in post-apocalyptic world player assumes role of Lone Wanderer on his mission to find and save his father who left safety of the Vault 101. Epic story, combat, V.A.T.S., enemies and atmosphere coupled with awesome gameplay make this game worthwhile investition.
  61. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    10. This game is massive. Hours and hours of game play. I have about 130+ and there are still places I haven't been, and things I have yet to do. This game is much better than Fallout New Vegas. The story is deeper, I feel like I have a reason, meaning to explore, to find out. The story is very rich, and the game is very absorbing. The amount of content in this game is unreal. Bethesda has done it again. Absolutely perfect game, in every regard. And to those who say it's doesn't have enough action, your mistaken. It has a mixture of everything, instead of 100% one thing. That's what makes this game so fantastic it has so many elements, and gives you reason to play it over and over, because it'll always turn out different. Expand
  62. Jun 29, 2011
    0
    It wasn't a real Fallout game, nor was it an RPG.
    Everything imaginable was done wrong, Bethesda have proved that they can't make a real Fallout game.
    It was just dumbed down into a shooter with stats slapped on.
  63. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is a game that was pretty much abandoned by Bethesda a short time after hitting the shelves. The game did receive five DLC-titles but the lack of bugfixing patches made alot of people quit playing it. I gave Fallout 3 a chance, and i didn't like it. I thought that the game was too open, it didn't tell me where i needed to go. I've played a lot of single-player games and most of them tell you exactly what to do, always. Fallout didn't, and it scared me to have so much freedom. It took me a somewhere between 8-10 of hours of gameplay to completely grasp the Capital Wasteland and it's sheer size. It is enormous. When i finally realized how fantastic Fallout 3 was, it had me in it's claws. And it hasn't let me go since. Fallout 3 has a pretty good main story, but the side missions are better. The RPG-elements are more than satisfying but the game's strong side is it's atmosphere. I think everybody should at least try Fallout. It is a beautiful game set in a horrifying world. Expand
  64. May 29, 2014
    5
    The worst Fallout in the series. While it has things like a vault, and Enclave, everything else about it is a pure watered down Bethesda hack job. As a romp around a nuclear wasteland, it's fine, but as far as feeling like your character has any choice in anything, it's far from what came before. No matter what character you build, you can do anything, so role playing is pretty much gutted. Though there are some interesting side areas, the main quest is terribly bland with little choice involved. Combat is dull, requiring little tactics since VATS is god mode, and so long as you're smart enough to click Target> Head, you'll win every time and never take damage. It's a cheap knock off of the series. Get New Vegas, if you want a better next gen Fallout experience. Or better yet, play the old games, to understand just how far off the mark Bethesda was when they tried to make an actual RPG. Terrible game. Expand
  65. Jul 14, 2011
    0
    A boring, glitchy and mindless mess. If you want a good RPG forget this and go play Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, made by a company that actually knows what it's doing.
  66. Aug 15, 2011
    4
    I purchased this game twice. When it first came out, the whole DLC hype hadn't started yet so I assumed I purchased a full game and finished it. I quite enjoyed my first play through, spent several hours per day playing it. Now that I bought the Game of the Year Edition on Steam to have all the content I missed out on before, I am revisiting the game and now wonder how I could have put up with such shoddy gameplay the first time around. The interface is simply horrible, quite obviously dumbed down for console players. The physics system causes items to fall through the floor and often make it hard for you to use grenades and other explosives because they do not always trigger the way they're meant to if they do not land properly. The inventory management system is horrible. You can't even use the mouse and it feels exactly like a 90's DOS application. This was intended but only to hide the fact that it was designed for console users. Another excruciatingly annoying feature is that you can only wield one weapon at the time. If you want to wield another weapon, you will first have to locate it in your inventory. For a game that expects you to use several weapons at once, they sure aren't making it easy. Not to mention the massive amount of loot that you will find in this game. You'll spend a lot of time trying to find a way to make it all fit in your inventory; you will find so much that you'll be wondering if perhaps the British rioters have had a go at the scenery before you went in. The AI in the game is absolutely pathetic; it gets stuck behind every conceivable object and the way they attack is unrealistic, reminiscent of Doom 1; they simply march straight forward while firing away, always scoring several cheap shots on you while you limp (You can only walk or run, not sprint.) to the nearest cover. If you're unlucky, you'll find out the hard way that car wreckage does not make for good cover; they tend to CATCH FIRE and DETONATE like nuclear bombs!
    The good parts of this game are few. I thought the story was interesting the first time I played it through but now that I play it again, I can't help but think just how childish the writing is; Vampires? A town full of children? A town full of teenagers? A town built around a nuclear bomb? Really? I just can't bring myself to care for any of these places. They characters in them have no personality whatsoever and you continuously run into the same voice actors, destroying immersion. Fallout 1 and 2 created a much better and believable atmosphere. The main plot is reminiscent of the previous titles and arguably the better part of the experience. Unfortunately, the ending suffers from dimwitted writing once more. Haven't gotten around to trying the DLC yet. Don't know if I'll get to that point, I am already fed up with walking for hours and hours running into the same boring piece of lifeless scenery again and again while shooting the same uninspired enemy that I managed to get stuck behind the same uninspired object over and over.
    Expand
  67. Jul 5, 2011
    7
    I have to say i really enjoyed this game though the score doesn't deserve a 10 i think they should have put more thought into some o the mechanics, weapons, story, the whole shebang. The game was real buggy and not polished therefore it was released to early and/or had bad support for resolving the bug issues.
  68. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Well done comeback to post-nuclear world of fallout. Iâ
  69. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    This is the most addictive game ever. So far I have played about 65 hours and the adventure still continues far beyond the horizon. I got the game of the year edition and haven't opened the expansions yet either. The game as a whole is one of the best put together action/rpg combos ever. I'm trying the good guy routine this time around and next I'm just act like some crazed merc for the next go round. Being able to fine tune how the character is with such physical and personality trait depth is incredible as well. Like others have said it does crash and act glitchy at times but it's easily overlooked due to the sheer immersion level this game provides. Expand
  70. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    Possibly the greatest game ever made so far. Judging it with all the expansions and updates to fix the initial bugs, its a superb ride with a huge amount of content.
  71. TTT
    Aug 19, 2011
    10
    I can't descrive this game . It's so beutiful .
  72. Jul 15, 2011
    3
    I don't even know where to start... Fallout 3 is most certainly an amusing game - when it works. Yes, when, not if. This game is moody like a pregnant woman, no two seemingly identical situations actually turn out exactly alike. And unfortunately, thats mostly not because of the - admittedly - inventive ways to solve quests, but rather the result of a failing script. So let's start with the positives and then work our way up.

    - Atmosphere: The game has that. You step out into a vast, devastated wasteland, inhabited by mostly hostile creatures after your hide. The world is enormous, it takes weeks to see all the places, never mind solving the problems you are confronted with.

    - Variation: As said above, every little job has a good handful of solutions. Want the super powerful armor out of that deep pre-war bunker? Perhaps hacking through the security systems will do? No? Then perhaps you could pick the locks and trust in your weapons for the hostile robots and turrets in your way. Of course, if you are good enough, why not sneak past them? Or, of you are the Highway-man type, why not just tell someone else where to find what you seek and wait with your gun at your side once they fought through hordes of robots, turrets and traps so you won't have to?

    - Humor: Admittedly, not everyones cup of tea, but Fallout has and always had a pretty... unique type of humor. Fallout 3 dropped the ball a little compared to its predecessors, but it still does a fine job confronting you with dozens of scenarios that leave you standing there scratching your head.

    - Compelling Story: Yup, it has that. Definitely. Long, interesting and with a lot of twists and a very interesting ending - which I loved. Just that much: The solution stares you in the face since you learned to walk and yet it takes a couple of minutes to think of it. Brilliant!


    That leads us to the bad parts. I will not list them all. I will simply list the most glaring of them. - Bugs: Yes. Loads and loads and loads of them. Some are critical, some are not. The fact is, this game is the worst bit of software I have ever had the misfortune to lay my hands on. I bought the game twice - once at release and then a few years later via steam. Neither version could be compelled to work as intended, if at all. Most of the time, you sit there wandering how the heck you go around that particular bug again. Not fun. At all.

    - No customer support: Bethesda has kept themselves rather... covered concerning their shoddy piece of junk. No solutions are forthcoming unless you brave the community-forums - which are admittedly very open and helpful.

    - Combat: Not half as much fun as it is supposed to be... for a shooter, the aiming is to imprecise and the damage simply too low to be fun. For a tactic-shooter, the mobs are too stupid. Hide behind a corner with your trusty Combat-Shotgun and nothing will ever be able to stop you. So yeah, nice idea, bad execution. Try again, please!


    In conclusion: This game could be great, but it simply isn't because it isn't working. Don't do this to yourself until Bethesda fixed what they should have done right in the first place. Amusingly enough, a quote from the game itself: "It is easier to do things right than later explain why that hasn't been done." [I am unfortunately german, thus have the german version which is even worse due to horrid synchro. So the quote MAY be diffrent in english, I wouldn't know. The meaning is the same.]
    Expand
  73. Jul 17, 2011
    3
    As a stand alone its a great game, just by being plain fun to play. Boring main quest and, unkillable children (dont put them there if i cant shoot them in the face) and other idiotic flaws like that drags it down but overall its a good game.

    As a sequel it fails miserably, at least according to my personal definition of what a sequel is.
    This is a first person real time action/rpg with
    pause bullet time. (NO GROIN SHOTS WTF)
    It fails to capture the spirit of its predecessor, not saying Fallout 2 is a better game, but fallout 3 is a horrible sequel.
    Expand
  74. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    Honestly a breath taking game!, I still play it and the mods are great. It has a wonderful environment, the vast open wasteland lots of quests to do areas to explore and the best DLC's in a game. Honestly theres no better game I have ever played in my life and must get for anyone I definitely recommend it alot :) 10/10 by a mile for me!
  75. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. The world detail level is amazing (characters, plot, scenery, world size...), it is a a huge software development. The "VATS" system is really innovative and does a lot of work for the player, so you can focus on more important things than just aiming your weapon.

    The world is too big for my taste. It took me about 40 game-play hours to finish the game in normal mode and completing several quests. I prefer games that are more intense and need less dedication...

    The "karma" system is cool, but it is too easy to reach the top karma level and, in the end, doesn't have too much impact on the plot. I miss more karma levels and a bigger impact in the game's development.

    Despite some multi-core freezing issues I faced at the beginning (found solution here: http://forums.steampowered.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1328904), the game is technically brilliant.

    If you like RPG games, this is a game for you.
    Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The very best out of all of the Fallout games. I would not recommend any expansion packs though - once you have completed a large amount of the content in this game, I'd recommend going to New Vegas.
  77. Sep 4, 2011
    9
    While the main story is average, but there is just so much to do that you'll forgive it. Graphics are alright I guess for 2008 they would've been above average. Shooting without V.A.T.S is awkward but bearable. Being a Post-apocalyptic world you will have to do a lot of scrounging and it isn't tiresome, it actually feels proper to kill someone and take their clothes to sell. Repairing items does get boring after awhile. 3rd person is weird but it's good to have to option to use it. Overall if you like action RPG games you'll love Fallout 3 Expand
  78. Aug 6, 2011
    7
    Fallout 3 is an interesting game, with an extremely unique setting. The setting is the games biggest advantage (or disadvantage). If you like a post-apocalyptic setting with extremely high realism and details. But for people like me, who get easily swept up in games will find this game very pessimistic and not that fun. The other problem this game has is the landscapes. They are just TOO large. Who wants to walk for 10 MINUTES to find something! And this wouldn't even matter if the locations were interesting, but it's mostly a desert. But there are loads of people who love this, and for those people this game is a gem. Expand
  79. Aug 7, 2011
    6
    The idea of 'Fallout 3' was an intriguing one when I first heard of it, however after playing the game in its entirety I found it to be; interesting at times and yet lacking something. The story was quite difficult to follow much the same as a previous game from the same developer. I understand it is supposed to be a free roam game however everything felt a little too loose. Events in the story seemed to quite weakly follow each other, and the combat system left something to be desired. However the graphics for the year of release were incredibly impressive and there was a sense of atmosphere. Overall I think this game is not linear enough , in other words it does not have a strong enough sense of direction. Expand
  80. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The best game I've ever played in my opinion. Awesome storyline a boat load of side quests, guns, and characters make this a one of a kind game. Add the five awesome dlc's on top of that and you have a true gaming masterpiece. The only problem that i can find is that it can freeze ever so often but isn't a problem if you have patience.
  81. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    One of the best RPG games ever.
    Great story, Great game play, paradise for Mods
    you can play this game for over the 300 hour if not more
    you can customize your own character, and you level by an XP system
    that has bin put in very nice

    Sealreth,
  82. Aug 24, 2011
    9
    a great game, given that its a Fallout game, and its made by Bethesda, who is responsible for the Elder Scrolls, you would expect a winning combination, and they delivered with this one. there are a couple gripes about this game i have, 1 is the somewhat clunky menu system, 2 is the somewhat dodgy physics at times and awkward gameplay mechanics, and 3 is the sheer number of bugs and glitches in the game. I can kind of understand the bugs and glitches since the game is just so freaking massive, but they really should have tried to fix those kinds of things in the Oblivion engine. Ive noticed people complain about the story and some complain about how pointless the game is... apparently they dont understand what this game is and cant get a clue as to what the heck is going on. the entire premise is that you, who has never been outside of a nuclear shelter in their life, all of a sudden is forced outside into the wastelands. at that point, you are free to do what you want, whether its going for the main story, which is the pursuit of your missing father, or exploring the wastes for useful stuff. the last thing i want to complain about is the GfWL, M$ needs to stop trying to get into PC gaming again, their days of glory are over, its not the days of "Rise of Nations" anymore. M$ needs to stop getting into things if they are going to half-ass their work. however, with all those things aside, Fallout 3 really is a great game that has a pretty good story to back it up too, if only the mechanics were more like New Vegas, where they threw out any semblance of a good story... Expand
  83. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    although it is old,i played for whole 2008(that time i still not know what is authorized game or how to get,china is such xxxxx country(support pirated CD) ,at last at 2010 i s=know steam through cod6 then i bought fallout3 too at Christmas day and till now i want play it again)

    i prefer the main story of fallout3,better than FNV i think,and i prefer aim like this,though iron sight is
    real,but it is more playable and comfortable to use without that.
    a freedom game and dlc is very nice,with mods it is better but unstable
    without the mods it is still very very nice,with the mod and if u can handle well without freeze or crash,it will be perfect
    Expand
  84. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    One of the best games of all time. I mean it. Gameplay can go over a hundred hours if you want to finish all quests this game offers. The ONLY drawbacks of this game are: - few kinds of enemies; - bad movement's mechanics. But all the superb positive features make this game a joy to behold.
  85. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Well, it took me a few playthroughs of this game, but I have finally reached a verdict. This game is just amazing! It is another fantastic game that I've played from Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is a truly spectacular game that successfully combines both the RPG and First-Person Shooter genres. That line can sum up the game's gameplay in a nutshell. This game mixes Fallout's own roleplaying mechanics with that of Bethesda's Elder Scrolls franchise. In this game, you can be whatever kind of character you want, and do what you want in the wasteland that was once Washington D.C. As in the Elder Scrolls, you can travel anywhere you want in the capital wasteland, buy what you want, fast-travel where you want, and so much more. This is hardly an Elder Scrolls clone however. This is not just Oblivion with guns, not in the slightest. There are several more things that this game has that the Elder Scrolls does not. This game has its own perk system (which was actually added into the Elder Scrolls Skyrim), that makes it different from Oblivion. The perks are special specific stats for your character that Oblivion does not have. They can give your character special bonuses, such as doing more damage than you normally would with all weapons. Leveling is also different from Oblivion. In Oblivion, you could only level up while your character was sleeping. Here, your character levels up almost immediately. This is an excellent improvement from Oblivion, as I did not like how you had to sleep just to level up. It proves that Bethesda Softworks truly is a company that learns from its mistakes. Also, along with the RPG elements, there are also shooter elements, which further cement that this is a truly different game from Oblivion. There are plenty of guns to choose from in this game, and the shooter mechanics are executed perfectly. However, I do find myself constantly running out of ammo from time to time. Money is also very scarce in this game, so it is a little difficult to buy ammo too. There are also a few bugs and glitches, however, these shortcomings don't hurt the game all that much. The graphics and sound of this game, all I can say is, they are excellent. This game is one of the most beautiful looking video games that I have ever played/seen. It is not Skyrim or Just Cause 2, but it does look brilliant nonetheless. The sound of this game is also done very well. The weapons sound right, and the monsters sound the way they should. The best part about the sound of this game however, is its spectacular music. This game mixes songs from the 50s (and yes, I mean actual songs from the 50s, not ones that sound like songs from the 50s) with more orchestrated pieces from the composers of the Elder Scrolls franchise. The soundtrack of this game truly is a beautiful mix. The story of this game is also phenomenal. It involves the main character's father trying to give the wasteland of Washington D.C. fresh water for all who inhabit the wasteland. It is up to you, the main character to leave your vault, find your father, and help him in giving the wasteland fresh water. This is a very unique story if you ask me, and it not the stereotypical story that people might find in most post-apocalyptic games. There are also many choices that your character can make throughout the game that will determine what people think of the character through the game's karma system. These decisions will effect what happens in the game's main story. Good actions will make everyone love your character, while bad actions will make them hate your character. This system is done very well, as it is very easy for your character to change from good to evil and then back again, unlike most games with systems like this. It also has a system called V.A.T.S. which was also in the first two Fallout games (that I was unfortunate enough not to play), that allows you to pause the action, and aim for specific body parts on the enemy. This is a really good system, and I'm happy it was used. Overall, I'd say that this game is fantastic. If you love a good first-person shooter, or role-playing game, you should definitely consider buying this game. It is every bit as amazing an experience as The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, and more than deserving of a nine out of ten. Expand
  86. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    I'm dissapointed by this game. It has to be continued of legendary games like F1 and F2? What's good abut this game, is the open world. As a sandbox - F3 make a good work. Here's many secrets, quests and NPC's.
  87. Dec 30, 2011
    0
    Were I writing a review for the Xbox version, it would be a 10. This game simply doesn't work on many computers (with no solution from Bethesda or anyone on the internet) which blow the system requirements out of the water such as mine. I could say that this game was my favourite game ever, except that on the PC I can't play it.
  88. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Just...wow. If you play it, and I mean REALLY play it, it will immerse you in a way no game has accomplished in years for me. By the time I did everything on the map (side quests etc) and finished the story line, I'd racked up 157 hours of in game time (doesn't count menu surfing, which is a huge portion of it). It looks gorgeous, the combat is deep and spontaneous, and the NPC's are interesting enough that it holds together quite well as a 'world'. I have to say it: there are bugs that can be terribly annoying at times (like ones that kill you party going through doors, or flat out crashes). But I can overlook it for the sheer quantity of content and how much I enjoyed it. Solid recommend to everyone. Expand
  89. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Now this game is worthy of the title "epic". Same scenario as the wonderful 1st and 2nd Fallouts, with a new engine and perspective on the game. Everything you could want in a Fallout game, and more.
  90. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I would recommend Fallout 3 to everyone (especially game of the year edition), so much to do, but just not enough time! I don't know how many days, weeks and months I used to explore every little bit, taking all the quest, following the 'good' storyline and the 'bad'. This game is what you should play -Bethesdas bigest succes! Graphics is great, and you don't need those high-end-computers for it.
    Comparede to their new game Skyrim, this is the bomb! Graphics is not much different, but still in Skyrim you need to buy a computer with the price about 2000 U.S dollars to play it at the fullest, no just play it without lagg. Don't always look forward, also look backwards, because you will find this game, and I can ensure you, it is worth every goddamn coin!
    Expand
  91. Dec 9, 2013
    9
    A fun game to play, especially if you played Fallout 1 or 2 before. They managed to mix the old turn-based combat and skill very well with modern fps, I was suprised how good it works! The post apocalyptic feeling shines. You get a big sandbox gameplay with a not too interesting main plot, but with many creative and fun side quest, tons of items and characters to meet. I played it over twice, and also played all of the expansions as well. (Those were below the level of the main game, sadly, but still all right if you manage to buy them cheap.) Expand
  92. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Having played through both Skyrim and Oblivion, I eventually decided to buy Fallout 3 and see how Bethesda's formula would hold up against such an alien setting. Some people say that Fallout 3 is shallow compared to previous games, but since I have yet to try them out, I'm just going to judge F3 for what it's worth. In many ways, Fallout 3 is actually better than the ES games. Specifically, the moral choices are a bit more important to how you go about the game. Unlike in Skyrim, where you'd need to go ahead with many quests without being offered a choice of whether you wanted to do the quest or not, in Fallout you'll more often get a choice whether to help the poor dying man or shoot his head off with a shotgun. I am surprised by the variety of scenery, especially considering that a post-apocalyptic wasteland will mostly just consist of scorched rocks and ruined buildings. As usual with Beth's behemoths, the quests are deep and varied: some will be the usual fetch quests (kept more interesting by the different locales), while others have you following a giant robot while it obliterates enemy soldiers with giant lasers (really). No game is perfect though, and Fallout 3 is no exception. The interiors are a bit bland and repetitive, the city routes are noticeably more linear than other parts of the game and the enemies lack any interesting variety. As a whole though, Fallout 3 is deep, interesting, addictive and a must for any fan of open-world RPG's. Expand
  93. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    Considering its release date, I think FO3 should rate about an 8. Despite a few issues, its a great game that is very huge and offers so much to do(especially with all the player created mods and so forth). So why did I rate it a 10? I see some other reviewers in here literally admitted to rating the game at "0" for the sole reason to influence its overall score down to something "they" believe it should be. Its like they are spoiled little brats who spit on a cake cause they don't want anyone else to like it if they don't. Anyway, their tactic works both ways. I gave the game a 10 to counter some of their false scores. That means their score and my score cancel each other out but I can live with that Expand
  94. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Nearly every aspect of Fallout 3 has already been critiqued and reviewed. Everything in this game is nearly perfect. The player is left wanting more. The only real problem with this game is that it will crash occasionally, but what game doesn't?

    I become immersed in the game really quickly and I have to admit that this causes me to overlook some of the game's obvious flaws and mess-ups.
    As another reviewer pointed out, shooting someone using VATS and aiming for a specific body part does not seem to effect, hamper or handicap them in any way. Although this is true, it never bothered me enough to ruin my gaming experience. I can even overlook just because it makes the enemy a bit more challenging.

    I got the impression from negative reviewers that Fallout is boring, grey, depressing with the same thing everywhere you go. Hello, have these people forgotten where this game takes place? Post-nuclear, post-apocalyptic D.C. area! The whole point of the game is to take you to this dark, depressing time that offers little hope to humanity and the player. Fallout 3 does a great job of immersing players and giving them the feeling that they really are in a hell-hole wasteland. The dj, radio stations and choice of music was pure genius that really tied the game together. I don't know what a real post-nuclear apocalypse would feel like, but this game made me feel like I was in one.

    My advice to new Fallout 3 players is to play the vanilla version from start to finish. If you liked it, browser around the Nexus website for the top-rated mods and select the ones that appeal to you. Mods have given this game even more replay value and have addressed most issues people have with the game.

    Originally review Oct 27, 2011, revised Jun 18, 2014. Still love the game as much as I did when it was released.
    Expand
  95. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the top ten games ever released. After countless hours, nay, days of fun gameplay, any game would become a little dull. But this, like most Bethesda titles, has an avid mod community that keeps it updated, so with Fallout 3 you can play a new game every week. Last week I was blasting nazis in the Alps (with canon weapons too, still use my luger even though I'm done with the mod), before that I was playing with EVERY GUN EVER MADE, not kidding, ask anything and it'll be there. Before that I fought in a zombie apocalypse, and went to iceland, and got a motorcycle, and lived in a series of mansions, dabbled in witchcraft, Shot 300 nukes at once out of a pistol at stuff, fought every fallout monster from the prequels, and etc..... Plus if none of those sound fun to you, there are ample modding tools to make your own. With no prior experience I went on to rebuild an entire museum, got an army of old guys to punch my enemies to death, and made my guy 300 feet tall. Nuff said. If at first it wasn't a ten by now we've made it one. Expand
  96. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Probably Bethesda's finest hour. The absolute.. hands down.. best first person open world game on the planet. Blows everything else away and also carries on a universe I'd already fell in love with while playing the previous titles in the series. Magnificent.
  97. Jan 20, 2012
    4
    As a game, Fallout 3 is mediocre at best. As a Fallout game, it falls flat on it's face. It seems as though Bethesda really couldn't grasp what the feel of Fallout was supposed to be.

    Most of the environments were uninteresting, the characters really had no depth, the main quest line was a joke, RPG elements were incredibly weak (You could easily "break" the game becoming too powerful),
    the animation is just awful, and the writing and voice acting is cringe-worthy.

    The game can be enjoyable at times, but for the most part it's not a great follow-up to Fallout 2 or 1.
    Expand
  98. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I have been playing video games all my life. Fallout 3 is one of the best games I have ever played. Revolutionary when it came out in 2008. Fallout universe > Elder Scrolls.
  99. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Fallout 3 is easily one of my favorite games. Quite possibly one of the best values in gaming as well. I could spend hours roaming the wasteland scavenging and taking out mutants. Lots to see and do, and especially fun for a fan of the the classic Fallout titles. Just glad that I got to spend more time with/as another vault dweller yet again.
  100. Dec 27, 2011
    8
    This game is good beceause of these points:

    1) The free world, do whatever you want whenever you want.
    2) There is a war, I like that
    3) The first person shooter gameplay is pretty good.
    4) The VATS-system is just brilliant. You can even shoot you're enemy's weapons.

    Conclusion: Buy it!
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.