User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2560 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    Okay, lots of people gave this game bad reviews so I'd like to address some of those, First off to the hundred or so people who said "Its hard to find ammo" I say, Your playing in a nuceluar wasteland after a huge atomic war, ammo isn't really a main concern for people then. To the people who say i cant find anyone to interact with I say, GO TO A CITY!, For the game itself its gameplay isOkay, lots of people gave this game bad reviews so I'd like to address some of those, First off to the hundred or so people who said "Its hard to find ammo" I say, Your playing in a nuceluar wasteland after a huge atomic war, ammo isn't really a main concern for people then. To the people who say i cant find anyone to interact with I say, GO TO A CITY!, For the game itself its gameplay is amazing, the guns are realistic the textures are amazing the PC versions great because you can mod. Fight sequences are unique and challengeing and it is hard to kill thinkgs, guess why, THEY ARE MUTATED HUMANS! MUTATED! HUGE GREEN MUTANTS! Overall this game is definitly worth 50 bucks hell this games worth 100, ive got 800 hours for Fallout 3 on steam so thats gotta mean something. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    This game is pure epic. It had nothing that I didn't like. Great story, great ACTING, great horror themes, great gunplay and combat. It was beautiful. The weapons were intriguing, the hardware support made me think that Bethesda still love us and the DLC's were brilliant. At least 60hrs of gameplay for the completer, and I went back to it loads more times just for the sake of it. Then IThis game is pure epic. It had nothing that I didn't like. Great story, great ACTING, great horror themes, great gunplay and combat. It was beautiful. The weapons were intriguing, the hardware support made me think that Bethesda still love us and the DLC's were brilliant. At least 60hrs of gameplay for the completer, and I went back to it loads more times just for the sake of it. Then I met something I didn't like. It had Games for Windows Live integration for achievements and such, so I tried it out and I hated it. I had to use a "storage device" when I wasn't logged in. Garrrg! Stupid Microsoft. Anyway, great game Bethesda! Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    9
    I think i need to defend my score for this game, this was my first Bethesda game to play since oblivion, so the retro style, the gameplay elements, the RPG backbone and the well crafted story caught me by surprise. Still, i have to recognize it gets repetitive and buggy at times, and that it was probably the game responsible for the actual stupidity of many game developers, with itsI think i need to defend my score for this game, this was my first Bethesda game to play since oblivion, so the retro style, the gameplay elements, the RPG backbone and the well crafted story caught me by surprise. Still, i have to recognize it gets repetitive and buggy at times, and that it was probably the game responsible for the actual stupidity of many game developers, with its interest in making money by DLC and beating franchises with sticks to see how much money they can get away with before having to start making decent (and complete) games again. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    this is a great game for anyone who likes to explore large areas and this game is easy to play due to the targeting system making it much easier for people with even the WORST aim in the world to pick up the game and get into it imediantly.
  5. Dec 24, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game when it came out and even better now, As with most Bethesda titles they are very buggy when they come out but these past 4 years have served FO3 well. A great modding community has provided FO3 with a range of high fidelity face lifts as well as tonnes of new custom animations, quests and items. Since its an older game the GOTY edition can be picked up for a low price andFantastic game when it came out and even better now, As with most Bethesda titles they are very buggy when they come out but these past 4 years have served FO3 well. A great modding community has provided FO3 with a range of high fidelity face lifts as well as tonnes of new custom animations, quests and items. Since its an older game the GOTY edition can be picked up for a low price and you get great value for money with the amount of time you can spend in it.

    It is great fun to explore the post apocalyptic DC and finding all the unique and bizarre characters that live there. Lots of entertaining quests, characters and items to use with great voice acting and story. The vanilla game does have its issues with it being quite easy for experienced players and the animations messing up slightly but for those who like a challenge there are lots of mods available like FO3 Wanderers Edition which provide a gritty hardcore experience for this game.

    Without the modding community this title atm would be around an 8 given whats available at a similar price but there is no excuse not to pick up a few staple mods like MMM and a HQ texture pack if you PC can handle it - all made considerably easier with Fallout Mod manager.

    You will struggle to find as much entertainment and Hardcore RPG gameplay for as good a price as you can at the moment with a Modded FO3 a must buy if you haven't already picked it up.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    This is Oblivion in future.I give it a 10 not only because i liked The elder scrolls 4 oblivion very much but for its nice game play elements as well as the exploring world.A nice game detailed and in which the atmosphere is very very realistic. You can see the elder scrolls elements in it like jumping at a place if you have discovered it or the usage and repair of items.But netherless isThis is Oblivion in future.I give it a 10 not only because i liked The elder scrolls 4 oblivion very much but for its nice game play elements as well as the exploring world.A nice game detailed and in which the atmosphere is very very realistic. You can see the elder scrolls elements in it like jumping at a place if you have discovered it or the usage and repair of items.But netherless is a solid game even if the main story is short has many side quests Expand
  7. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    Great game, lots to do and a massive play area to explore, I sort of don't like VATS and the large amount of ordinance it takes to put things down, but that doesn't even merit half a point deduction.
    Story is pretty interesting in a wasteland of uninteresting stories that fill most games these days.
    Really sucks you in, just wish the FPS aspect was a bit better implemented ie. no
    Great game, lots to do and a massive play area to explore, I sort of don't like VATS and the large amount of ordinance it takes to put things down, but that doesn't even merit half a point deduction.
    Story is pretty interesting in a wasteland of uninteresting stories that fill most games these days.
    Really sucks you in, just wish the FPS aspect was a bit better implemented ie. no autoaim, stronger weaponry being used by/against you. Tons of content for 20 or 30 bucks, can't go wrong.
    Expand
  8. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    A good FPS with some RPG elements. Pro: - Immersive, huge environments: you can play Fallout 3 for months before finishing it.
    - Good graphics: I really enjoyed the "comics-style" graphics.
    - Simple but not easy: yes, you have to use few commands but you have a lot of stuff to do. - For the beginner and for the pro: I enjoyed the simplicity of my first games then I switched to the "pro"
    A good FPS with some RPG elements. Pro: - Immersive, huge environments: you can play Fallout 3 for months before finishing it.
    - Good graphics: I really enjoyed the "comics-style" graphics.
    - Simple but not easy: yes, you have to use few commands but you have a lot of stuff to do.
    - For the beginner and for the pro: I enjoyed the simplicity of my first games then I switched to the "pro" gaming LOL just joking but yes, the game was really hard and time-consuming.
    Cons:
    - Frustrating: and you can bet it, expecially the first games, when you learn that aiming can be used not only to eliminate your enemies but also to disarm them. - Time consuming: yes, Fallout 3 is simply a great game but you have to play it for hours - weeks - to finish it. And you have some fun DLC too so ... some more time.
    - Cartoon: it's a pro or a con, it depends.
    - Nukes: the game is about a post-nuclear war and you can use some "radio" equipment against your enemies. I know it's only fiction but someone said me he found it not good.
    Expand
  9. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    I would recommend Fallout 3 to everyone (especially game of the year edition), so much to do, but just not enough time! I don't know how many days, weeks and months I used to explore every little bit, taking all the quest, following the 'good' storyline and the 'bad'. This game is what you should play -Bethesdas bigest succes! Graphics is great, and you don't need those high-end-computersI would recommend Fallout 3 to everyone (especially game of the year edition), so much to do, but just not enough time! I don't know how many days, weeks and months I used to explore every little bit, taking all the quest, following the 'good' storyline and the 'bad'. This game is what you should play -Bethesdas bigest succes! Graphics is great, and you don't need those high-end-computers for it.
    Comparede to their new game Skyrim, this is the bomb! Graphics is not much different, but still in Skyrim you need to buy a computer with the price about 2000 U.S dollars to play it at the fullest, no just play it without lagg. Don't always look forward, also look backwards, because you will find this game, and I can ensure you, it is worth every goddamn coin!
    Expand
  10. May 31, 2012
    9
    I think I speak for all that are great minds when I say, we don't want structure, we don't want a direct quest line, we want real world choices and their consequences, we want to be able to nuke villages and screw things up, we want to be a serial murderer and murder an entire street of people. These things are possible in Fallout 3, because it's a game which actually is a real RPG, youI think I speak for all that are great minds when I say, we don't want structure, we don't want a direct quest line, we want real world choices and their consequences, we want to be able to nuke villages and screw things up, we want to be a serial murderer and murder an entire street of people. These things are possible in Fallout 3, because it's a game which actually is a real RPG, you can be what you want. If you want a linear shooter where you just go from point A to B shooting things, following quest markers, first of all go die, but if you aren't willing to do this service to the world, then at least don't complain when you play an epic game like fallout. It's a brilliant game, the style and art really suck you in, it's way better than elder scrolls in this respect, it's not a lame ass medieval game all over but really a dark sad world in ruins after a nuclear disaster. You will feel lost, because that is what the character is supposed to feel as he steps out on this strange world. You will feel the game. Few games achieve this. This is truly one of the best games in the past decade, and one of the few "epic" games ever. No - I am not giving it a 10, because for one it is much too short, for two the max level is WAY too low except if you DLC, which is **** and for three the games posses after all these years game breaking bugs, which if screwed up and would never have been tolerated if it had been a japanese title. Expand
  11. Jul 25, 2012
    9
    Fallout 3 is a game that was pretty much abandoned by Bethesda a short time after hitting the shelves. The game did receive five DLC-titles but the lack of bugfixing patches made alot of people quit playing it. I gave Fallout 3 a chance, and i didn't like it. I thought that the game was too open, it didn't tell me where i needed to go. I've played a lot of single-player games and most ofFallout 3 is a game that was pretty much abandoned by Bethesda a short time after hitting the shelves. The game did receive five DLC-titles but the lack of bugfixing patches made alot of people quit playing it. I gave Fallout 3 a chance, and i didn't like it. I thought that the game was too open, it didn't tell me where i needed to go. I've played a lot of single-player games and most of them tell you exactly what to do, always. Fallout didn't, and it scared me to have so much freedom. It took me a somewhere between 8-10 of hours of gameplay to completely grasp the Capital Wasteland and it's sheer size. It is enormous. When i finally realized how fantastic Fallout 3 was, it had me in it's claws. And it hasn't let me go since. Fallout 3 has a pretty good main story, but the side missions are better. The RPG-elements are more than satisfying but the game's strong side is it's atmosphere. I think everybody should at least try Fallout. It is a beautiful game set in a horrifying world. Expand
  12. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    One of the best games of all time. I mean it. Gameplay can go over a hundred hours if you want to finish all quests this game offers. The ONLY drawbacks of this game are: - few kinds of enemies; - bad movement's mechanics. But all the superb positive features make this game a joy to behold.
  13. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing! A lot of quests and interesting enemies/locations. This is extremely worth the money, you wont regret you bought it...

    The story is pretty great, you get born in Vault 101, but when you're 19 years old, you're dad leaves the vault and you have to go look for him. The graphics is Decent, I would say they are much better than Oblivion. Fallout 3 had also some little
    This game is amazing! A lot of quests and interesting enemies/locations. This is extremely worth the money, you wont regret you bought it...

    The story is pretty great, you get born in Vault 101, but when you're 19 years old, you're dad leaves the vault and you have to go look for him.

    The graphics is Decent, I would say they are much better than Oblivion. Fallout 3 had also some little bugs, the game crashes sometimes, but it was still enjoyable!
    Expand
  14. May 16, 2011
    10
    ONE OF THE GREATEST RPGs I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY WHOLE LIFE. Whoever doesn't like this is a distasteful idiot. Sure there are a couple of bugs and a bit of lag. but who really cares? The setting is fantastic, the writing is top-notch, the voice acting is great, the side-quests are enjoyable and infinitely replayable, the combat is solid and suits the game very well, looting is satisfying,ONE OF THE GREATEST RPGs I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY WHOLE LIFE. Whoever doesn't like this is a distasteful idiot. Sure there are a couple of bugs and a bit of lag. but who really cares? The setting is fantastic, the writing is top-notch, the voice acting is great, the side-quests are enjoyable and infinitely replayable, the combat is solid and suits the game very well, looting is satisfying, levelling up is perfect, the characters have true variety and depth, the graphics have aged well and produce some STUNNING views (such as the destroyed, barren landscape that is the Capital Wasteland, or watching Megaton go up in an extremely satisfying and explosive mushroom cloud) and the locations are so iconic, they border on fantastical. But Fallout 3's greatest strength isn't it's combat or its graphics; its the sheer freedom and sense of scale: as soon as you leave the confines of Vault 101 you drink in this endless, barren landscape and realise there are endless possibilities. Wrangle children for slavers. Collect bobbleheads. Blow up a town or two. Or simply just explore. If you play any RPG, Fallout 3 is it. Expand
  15. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    I went into this game with literally no idea how the story went and what the setting was and if im totally honest, it was the greatest game i have ever played, although i dont play many games i just know that this game will always be my favourite game
  16. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    although it is old,i played for whole 2008(that time i still not know what is authorized game or how to get,china is such xxxxx country(support pirated CD) ,at last at 2010 i s=know steam through cod6 then i bought fallout3 too at Christmas day and till now i want play it again)

    i prefer the main story of fallout3,better than FNV i think,and i prefer aim like this,though iron sight is
    although it is old,i played for whole 2008(that time i still not know what is authorized game or how to get,china is such xxxxx country(support pirated CD) ,at last at 2010 i s=know steam through cod6 then i bought fallout3 too at Christmas day and till now i want play it again)

    i prefer the main story of fallout3,better than FNV i think,and i prefer aim like this,though iron sight is real,but it is more playable and comfortable to use without that.
    a freedom game and dlc is very nice,with mods it is better but unstable
    without the mods it is still very very nice,with the mod and if u can handle well without freeze or crash,it will be perfect
    Expand
  17. Sep 26, 2013
    9
    Well, it took me a few playthroughs of this game, but I have finally reached a verdict. This game is just amazing! It is another fantastic game that I've played from Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is a truly spectacular game that successfully combines both the RPG and First-Person Shooter genres. That line can sum up the game's gameplay in a nutshell. This game mixes Fallout's ownWell, it took me a few playthroughs of this game, but I have finally reached a verdict. This game is just amazing! It is another fantastic game that I've played from Bethesda Softworks. Fallout 3 is a truly spectacular game that successfully combines both the RPG and First-Person Shooter genres. That line can sum up the game's gameplay in a nutshell. This game mixes Fallout's own roleplaying mechanics with that of Bethesda's Elder Scrolls franchise. In this game, you can be whatever kind of character you want, and do what you want in the wasteland that was once Washington D.C. As in the Elder Scrolls, you can travel anywhere you want in the capital wasteland, buy what you want, fast-travel where you want, and so much more. This is hardly an Elder Scrolls clone however. This is not just Oblivion with guns, not in the slightest. There are several more things that this game has that the Elder Scrolls does not. This game has its own perk system (which was actually added into the Elder Scrolls Skyrim), that makes it different from Oblivion. The perks are special specific stats for your character that Oblivion does not have. They can give your character special bonuses, such as doing more damage than you normally would with all weapons. Leveling is also different from Oblivion. In Oblivion, you could only level up while your character was sleeping. Here, your character levels up almost immediately. This is an excellent improvement from Oblivion, as I did not like how you had to sleep just to level up. It proves that Bethesda Softworks truly is a company that learns from its mistakes. Also, along with the RPG elements, there are also shooter elements, which further cement that this is a truly different game from Oblivion. There are plenty of guns to choose from in this game, and the shooter mechanics are executed perfectly. However, I do find myself constantly running out of ammo from time to time. Money is also very scarce in this game, so it is a little difficult to buy ammo too. There are also a few bugs and glitches, however, these shortcomings don't hurt the game all that much. The graphics and sound of this game, all I can say is, they are excellent. This game is one of the most beautiful looking video games that I have ever played/seen. It is not Skyrim or Just Cause 2, but it does look brilliant nonetheless. The sound of this game is also done very well. The weapons sound right, and the monsters sound the way they should. The best part about the sound of this game however, is its spectacular music. This game mixes songs from the 50s (and yes, I mean actual songs from the 50s, not ones that sound like songs from the 50s) with more orchestrated pieces from the composers of the Elder Scrolls franchise. The soundtrack of this game truly is a beautiful mix. The story of this game is also phenomenal. It involves the main character's father trying to give the wasteland of Washington D.C. fresh water for all who inhabit the wasteland. It is up to you, the main character to leave your vault, find your father, and help him in giving the wasteland fresh water. This is a very unique story if you ask me, and it not the stereotypical story that people might find in most post-apocalyptic games. There are also many choices that your character can make throughout the game that will determine what people think of the character through the game's karma system. These decisions will effect what happens in the game's main story. Good actions will make everyone love your character, while bad actions will make them hate your character. This system is done very well, as it is very easy for your character to change from good to evil and then back again, unlike most games with systems like this. It also has a system called V.A.T.S. which was also in the first two Fallout games (that I was unfortunate enough not to play), that allows you to pause the action, and aim for specific body parts on the enemy. This is a really good system, and I'm happy it was used. Overall, I'd say that this game is fantastic. If you love a good first-person shooter, or role-playing game, you should definitely consider buying this game. It is every bit as amazing an experience as The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion, and more than deserving of a nine out of ten. Expand
  18. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    Just...wow. If you play it, and I mean REALLY play it, it will immerse you in a way no game has accomplished in years for me. By the time I did everything on the map (side quests etc) and finished the story line, I'd racked up 157 hours of in game time (doesn't count menu surfing, which is a huge portion of it). It looks gorgeous, the combat is deep and spontaneous, and the NPC's areJust...wow. If you play it, and I mean REALLY play it, it will immerse you in a way no game has accomplished in years for me. By the time I did everything on the map (side quests etc) and finished the story line, I'd racked up 157 hours of in game time (doesn't count menu surfing, which is a huge portion of it). It looks gorgeous, the combat is deep and spontaneous, and the NPC's are interesting enough that it holds together quite well as a 'world'. I have to say it: there are bugs that can be terribly annoying at times (like ones that kill you party going through doors, or flat out crashes). But I can overlook it for the sheer quantity of content and how much I enjoyed it. Solid recommend to everyone. Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Hands down one of the top ten games ever released. After countless hours, nay, days of fun gameplay, any game would become a little dull. But this, like most Bethesda titles, has an avid mod community that keeps it updated, so with Fallout 3 you can play a new game every week. Last week I was blasting nazis in the Alps (with canon weapons too, still use my luger even though I'm done withHands down one of the top ten games ever released. After countless hours, nay, days of fun gameplay, any game would become a little dull. But this, like most Bethesda titles, has an avid mod community that keeps it updated, so with Fallout 3 you can play a new game every week. Last week I was blasting nazis in the Alps (with canon weapons too, still use my luger even though I'm done with the mod), before that I was playing with EVERY GUN EVER MADE, not kidding, ask anything and it'll be there. Before that I fought in a zombie apocalypse, and went to iceland, and got a motorcycle, and lived in a series of mansions, dabbled in witchcraft, Shot 300 nukes at once out of a pistol at stuff, fought every fallout monster from the prequels, and etc..... Plus if none of those sound fun to you, there are ample modding tools to make your own. With no prior experience I went on to rebuild an entire museum, got an army of old guys to punch my enemies to death, and made my guy 300 feet tall. Nuff said. If at first it wasn't a ten by now we've made it one. Expand
  20. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Probably Bethesda's finest hour. The absolute.. hands down.. best first person open world game on the planet. Blows everything else away and also carries on a universe I'd already fell in love with while playing the previous titles in the series. Magnificent.
  21. May 6, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Wait, scratch that, THE best game I've ever played. The open world with great atmosphere, the people who look and act like they should, the weapons that aren't overpowered yet effective, and to top it all off, the DLC is excellent.

    This game looks just right. If I imagine a nuclear wasteland of DC, Fallout 3 portrays that exactly as I
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. Wait, scratch that, THE best game I've ever played. The open world with great atmosphere, the people who look and act like they should, the weapons that aren't overpowered yet effective, and to top it all off, the DLC is excellent.

    This game looks just right. If I imagine a nuclear wasteland of DC, Fallout 3 portrays that exactly as I imagined. The people in the game look great. The creatures you face are varied and challenging, and graphically spot-on.

    The music, oh the music, is overwhelmingly great. It matches the atmosphere precisely. Dialogue is great, I love the system.

    In summary, this game is the best game I've ever played. Every aspect of the game is perfect, 10/10.
    Expand
  22. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    I am not giving Fallout 3 a 10 to bring the score up as some people gave it a 0 simply to bring the score down. That would be blantly dishonest, just as the people who gave it a 0 were patently dishonest and mean spirited toward a fabulous game. This is a great game deserving of GOTY. You get more than your monies worth with this game and you can replay it over and over. Read the reviewsI am not giving Fallout 3 a 10 to bring the score up as some people gave it a 0 simply to bring the score down. That would be blantly dishonest, just as the people who gave it a 0 were patently dishonest and mean spirited toward a fabulous game. This is a great game deserving of GOTY. You get more than your monies worth with this game and you can replay it over and over. Read the reviews that give it a 10. Those reviewers love this game. Blown away by the detail of the world. Detail contributes to its, in my opinion, greatest ability: the ability to immerse the player in the world of Fallout 3. Gamers talk about the immersion factor of games. This immersion litany is one of the top factors for liking a game. Fallout 3 is by far one of the most immersive games out there. Now, look at the negatives, and the downright disingenuous trashing of Fallout 3, especially by those who gave it a 0 or a maximum of 2. Their criticism rings false. The score minus the false reviews would bring the 7.8 up closer to 9.1 the professional critics gave the game. Fallout 3 has all the traits of one of the great games produced. May their be a Fallout 4 very soon. Expand
  23. Jul 15, 2012
    10
    Don't play it like oblivion! I feel I have to admit that when I first played this game, I got very bored of it and gave up quickly. After playing fallout 1&2 I realized why, I was playing it wrong. With the takeover of the series by bethesda if you have played oblivion you will realize a very similar look, feel and gameplay, but keep in mind this is not oblivion and resist the temptationDon't play it like oblivion! I feel I have to admit that when I first played this game, I got very bored of it and gave up quickly. After playing fallout 1&2 I realized why, I was playing it wrong. With the takeover of the series by bethesda if you have played oblivion you will realize a very similar look, feel and gameplay, but keep in mind this is not oblivion and resist the temptation to play as if it where (one central city to keep returning to, game will guide you in the right direction). Playing it in the style of fallout 1&2 provides for a much more interesting and enjoyable gameplay Expand
  24. JGo
    Aug 1, 2012
    10
    One of the best games ever. Absolutely genius.
  25. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Thoroughly enjoyable, and worth every penny. I bought the GOTY edition which made it even more fun. Every aspect of this game draws you in! The campaign can take a long time to finish, and there are plenty of different outcomes from the choices you make. This makes for a great replayable game. Storyline is impeccable, and the graphics are amazing!
  26. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    Game have too many slave-quests, like make this, and for this u must run 100 miles and shoot to all generated monsters and crime-men.

    Fallout 1 and 2 was made for more freedom of players. And if u clear some place this place still clean.

    For playing with enjoy player must fully understand textual and audio information in game. But Fallout 3 on Steam-system was without Russian language.
  27. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    This game is good..very good.The rpg elements are good.the gameplay is awesome,and the story is also very interesting.I was very amazed of the work done by bethesda softworks.It was very good.
  28. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    i am so addicted to Fallout 3, i play it alot, i am a god in the game, i really enjow useing the Laser pistol and the Rocket launcher, i hate playing as a badass in the game, im always the goodguy
  29. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Brilliant. A 40-50's representation of a classic run down nuclear wasteland. The gameplay of combat is not as beneficial to the game. It never was for the fallout series. Its all about making decisions. the storyline is epic. Just pure epic. purify the water (or poisin it) for a nuclear wasteland while getting by a healthy amount of super mutant, irradiated freaks. with amazing views the entire way. Its like visiting washington DC! but.... in ruins. Anyway, Compared to the other fallout games. Its not really a fallout game. But this is made by Bethesda. what did you expect? A vast, continual RPG that is very, very, fun. (Thats if you dont mind easy head shooting) It is not as funny as the other fallout games. That is what new vegas is for. And it does occasionally have that feeling of a bare RPG. Whereas Fallout new vegas has the strip as a wierd contrast to the wasteland. A long, fun RPG. Expand
  30. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Very good game, the extra DLC's were an amazing add on. Very fun and very mod-able to provide hours of fun, I bought it expecting a game I would play once and then probably never again. I was proven wrong. Bethesda goes and make an excellent game that had me hooked and has caused me to play the campaign more times then I can remember. With 100 hours of game play I can safely say, if youVery good game, the extra DLC's were an amazing add on. Very fun and very mod-able to provide hours of fun, I bought it expecting a game I would play once and then probably never again. I was proven wrong. Bethesda goes and make an excellent game that had me hooked and has caused me to play the campaign more times then I can remember. With 100 hours of game play I can safely say, if you like RPG's, 1st and 3rd person shooters, trust me on this you will love Fallout 3. With complete freedom and lots of guns, weapons, and quests, you will be spellbound by the awesomeness of this game. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.