Fallout 3 PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3570 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LoganS.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far The hallowed memories of yesteryears games makes the Fallout tradition a challenging project to have undertaken. Bethesda has not released a perfect game, but there is no doubt in my mind that this is indeed a worthy heir to the Fallout lineage. What it has lost by leaving the 3rd person isometric view it has gained back 100 fold by an amazingly detailed world, storylines that go far beyond simple lines of dialog, and many different paths for the player to choose. There is in fact far more content than any single playthrough needs to experience, promising greater replayability. Expand
  2. JoH.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    I just bought fallout 3 6 days ago and I'm just blown away... I played fallout 1 and 2 and I have to say that it does live up to the legacy ! It is definitely one of the best games of his generation (a generation of many many really bad and dull games...but fortunately there is fallout 3 [and starcraft 2 let´s hope it goes well...]). The only negative point about this game are I just bought fallout 3 6 days ago and I'm just blown away... I played fallout 1 and 2 and I have to say that it does live up to the legacy ! It is definitely one of the best games of his generation (a generation of many many really bad and dull games...but fortunately there is fallout 3 [and starcraft 2 let´s hope it goes well...]). The only negative point about this game are the many crashes for the pc version although that doesn't disturb me from loving this game to the full extend, because :yeah it´s that good. Expand
  3. ZekeO
    May 30, 2009
    8
    I gave this an 8 because its a good game over all but the graphics on high are to hard for any computer to handle and the waste land is to populated and things are to far away the map in this game is way to big but its very fun i would rent this first before you buy because you ether love it or hate over all its a good RPG.
  4. Seb
    Nov 16, 2008
    8
    A good game likely to keep you entertained for many hours. If you really didn't enjoy Oblivion, I wouldn't recommend playing this game. The game shares many similarities. Pros: - Large, persistent world to explore. - Plenty of little quirks and side quests to keep you entertained and personalise your gaming experience. - Atmosphere is great. - Good music. - VATS combat system is A good game likely to keep you entertained for many hours. If you really didn't enjoy Oblivion, I wouldn't recommend playing this game. The game shares many similarities. Pros: - Large, persistent world to explore. - Plenty of little quirks and side quests to keep you entertained and personalise your gaming experience. - Atmosphere is great. - Good music. - VATS combat system is fun. - Terrain graphics are quite good. - Plenty of character customisation options. Cons: - Can't help but think of Oblivion when playing the game (It's just way to similar). - Voice acting is often cheesy. - AI sucks. - Characters models and animations are not up to todays standards. - Quests generally consist of 'do things the good way or the bad way'. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2016
    8
    The Fallout series has always had this unique vibe with the gameplay and the world itself. The Storyline is developed and shows conflict but risking your life and sacrificing your father just to purify water is a bit off. The land is huge. Not as big as GTAV or Just Cause 2 but still... It is huge. It gives the player a reminder that Fallout 3 is a free roam and free choice RPG andThe Fallout series has always had this unique vibe with the gameplay and the world itself. The Storyline is developed and shows conflict but risking your life and sacrificing your father just to purify water is a bit off. The land is huge. Not as big as GTAV or Just Cause 2 but still... It is huge. It gives the player a reminder that Fallout 3 is a free roam and free choice RPG and that the player doesn't need to follow the story. The content is overwhelmingly massive. Almost all the NPCs have something to say when you interact, just like other Bethesda games like Skyrim. Fallout 3 also has a good and reliable modding community so you will never get bored. For a game, made in 2008 and still popular today is incredible. Fallout 3 really is 'the ultimate video game.' Expand
  6. EnglishDan
    Jul 11, 2009
    8
    I would give this a 10, as it is probably the best game I have ever played. The only problem is the crashes, this game crashes so much, I'm not really getting anywhere with it, because it just goes to the last save, though I have noticed disabling SLI cuts them down a bit, and there are patches (if you can get them). So, if you can be bothered trying to fix this game up and making I would give this a 10, as it is probably the best game I have ever played. The only problem is the crashes, this game crashes so much, I'm not really getting anywhere with it, because it just goes to the last save, though I have noticed disabling SLI cuts them down a bit, and there are patches (if you can get them). So, if you can be bothered trying to fix this game up and making optimum conditions for it so it doesn't crash so much, or if you think you can handle it crashing every 5 mins (and sometimes it can be as much as every 10 secs, seriously), then this is a brilliant game. Expand
  7. KaarleWasama
    Mar 5, 2010
    9
    This game is truly quite miraculous and here's why: It combines in a wonderful way features of FPS and RPG. It even involves some SIMS-type game play including the decorating of your own house, wherever that might be (see for yourself). The playing area is large and flexible, you'll find that restrictions are very few in number. The weapon/item arsenal is very large and This game is truly quite miraculous and here's why: It combines in a wonderful way features of FPS and RPG. It even involves some SIMS-type game play including the decorating of your own house, wherever that might be (see for yourself). The playing area is large and flexible, you'll find that restrictions are very few in number. The weapon/item arsenal is very large and what's more, you can make your own weapons or other stuff. The fact that the game is situated to happen in Washington DC area (and outside) adds to the excitement. This together with the Cold War-type of background story cooks up an amazing game atmosphere. I could go on for pages, enough spoiling though: the goodies are all there for you to find. Bad sides? That's a tough call. If I was forced to dig out one, that would be the fact that the main story is so short. Compared to how large the area is and how much there is to explore and try out, the main storyline seems inadequate. This combined with the fact that once you finish the final objective the game ends is disappointing. Nonetheless the game is wonderful and if you're not in a rush and like scouting around, you'll find tons of stuff to do and even if you only did the main story line there will be hours after hours of gaming to do. I have no regrets of making this purchase even if it cost me $30 :) Expand
  8. Trineon
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    As a fan of the previous Fallout games, I was naturally disheartened by the demise of Black Isle Studios and the apparent death of the series. Feelings for seeing Bethesda pick up the license later on were mixed. Joyed to see that a long awaited third sequel was on the way, worried that it's artistic and mechanical direction would stray too far from the style and feel that made the As a fan of the previous Fallout games, I was naturally disheartened by the demise of Black Isle Studios and the apparent death of the series. Feelings for seeing Bethesda pick up the license later on were mixed. Joyed to see that a long awaited third sequel was on the way, worried that it's artistic and mechanical direction would stray too far from the style and feel that made the first two games so gorgeous and in my opinion, the best Western CRPG's I've had the pleasure to experience. The teaser trailer released a year ago was a good indicator of the new developers grasp of the atmosphere (in addition, the fact that they chose the original Inkspots piece intended for FO1 was a welcome tip-of-the-hat to the fans). But the indication that the same engine used for Oblivion was planned for this game resurfaced early fears. I have very much enjoyed Morrowind from Bethesda, despite a general dislike of the arche-typical fantasy-sword-and-sorcery genre of RPG's. Oblivion on the other hand, while possessing an engine that provided a vast, rich and colorful world setting and a character creation system that allowed intensely detailed tweaking when it came to physical looks, still overall disappointed me with a combat system that felt too clunky, voice acting that lacked enthusiasm, level-scaled enemies, and an NPC AI that acted far too awkwardly for me to suspend disbelief. Overall it only felt like a step-up from Morrowind and graphics and physics, with most other aspects feeling like a downgrade. Having played Fallout 3 for several days now, I would posit that the early fears were not entirely misplaced, but thankfully a little bit exaggerated as one would expect from an oversensitive fan base that was hyped up and let down one too many times over the past few years ;) The landscape, colors and settings definetely reflect the feel of the previous games; Desolate, hopeless with death and decay everywhere, no signs of life or motion other than the occasional dust winds. The soundtrack is very fitting to this atmosphere, with pieces that are either soft and slow that induce a sense of solitude, or louder scores that emphasize the vastness of the wasteland, and thus just how hopeless the prognosis of this new world is. As it was with Oblivion, detail is not spared from observation. Whether the player is traversing the wasteland or walking about in the few makeshift towns of surviving communities, they will notice the gritty look of decaying or rotting structures, the various amount of junk material sprawled around and about, perforated or covered with dirt and rust where applicable. The visual and aural setting, certainly does not disappoint. The behaviour of the NPC AI however, is still on the awkward side as it was in Oblivion, though perhaps not as painful to watch. For example, NPC's converse with each other as it was in Oblivion. And while it still looks stiff and artificial, their conversations seem to be more coherent, much unlike the almost completely random lines spouted by their Oblivion counterparts. The voice acting, while not convincing enough to be heralded as an industry example, has definetely improved enough to be considered satisfactory. Different characters sound more apart, and emotion in their tones is easier to pick up. Some textures and models in the game feel a little dated, possibly implying that the game engine has not improved since Oblivion. The first gun you procure in the game (the classic 10mm) looked and felt disturbingly clunky in my hands, although this is partly due to the fact that the pre-rendered drawings and illustrations on the previous games had given the same gun a nicer, smoother look. Fortunately such issues are not numerous, and can be ignored in time, for the most part. Combat has left me with mixed impressions. The game certainly does not play like a typical shooter for obvious reasons; The condition of the weapon as well as your skill in utilizing it directly affects your performance. Still, after previous FPS-RPG's such as System Shock 2 or Deus Ex, the glaring hopelessness of trying to shoot or snipe an enemy from afar, or even middle-range is slightly irritating, more so when said enemy doesn't seem to be having much trouble perforating you with burst fire from the same distance. Still, this is somewhat an early observation. I'm currently Level 5 with a Small Weapons skill of 55 to 60, and all my weapons are at about 55% condition at best. So the challenge, while irritating, is perhaps understandable. The transition from turn-based combat to real-time is disorienting for Fallout veterans like I, who are used to taking their time to plan their moves and spend AP's as efficiently as possible. The paused combat option of VATS compensates for this, but only up to a point. It allows time to think about your next series of moves, and of course, allows for called shots directly influenced by the usual RPG mechanics of the game. The slow-motion cinematic play out of your commands is definetely satisfying to watch, more so when you score a critical hit. However, perhaps due to the shifting camera angles during this cinematic phase, the player is disoriented for a split-second when it ends and combat continues onward. Even if only for a split second, its still typically enough for a speedy AI enemy to fire off a few more shots at you as you regain your senses and move on. For the most part, my combat style has consisted of taking some calculated shots with VATS, then taking cover while my AP's regenerate for the next attempt. The pace feels too slow for an FPS, and perhaps a bit fast for an RPG. Nevertheless, the cinematic phase entertains me enough to overall enjoy combat. Plot wise, I have not made much progress with the main quest, seeking out side quests where I can to extend gameplay. However it looks interesting so far, and I will eventually move onwards. The missions offered from various NPC's so far have not felt boring or tedious. Some are tied to the main quest, others are enjoyable distractions. The amount of solution choices and the feel of the quests are in line with the Fallout spirit. I am once again the diplomat I used to be in the West Coast of post-apocalypse USA, looking for peaceful solutions, but sometimes just going with the flow of my rifle barrel :p Overall, I am enjoying Fallout 3 with great gusto. Yes, I would have very much loved to see the Van Buren project of Black Isle succeed. Having tried out its released alpha form a year or so ago, I have little doubt that the original Fallout 3 that was supposed to happen several years earlier would have been fantastic, probably much better than what we have in our hands today. But sadly that project is buried in history now. I don't subscribe to the belief that "Any X is better than no X." In my opinion, the Fallout 3 delivered by Bethesda is not a cheapened form of Fallout, nor a fundamentally different form of Fallout. It is a Fallout that fully delivers the retro-futuristic, dark-humored setting its fans have come adore. The changes in gameplay, while understandably troubling for some veterans, are not major enough to dismiss this game as a failed Fallout by any means. Still, I would urge Bethesda to either drop this Oblivion engine, or fix those stiff movements for the next installment ;) .....there will be a fourth installment, right? Expand
  9. Will
    Nov 8, 2008
    8
    Fallout 3 is a wonderful game - certainly more than "Oblivion with guns". It's problem is that it can't make it past the big "now what?" moment. You finally reached level 20, beat the main quest, and when you ask yourself what to do next, there's not much. Once the world is explored, that's that. It could have been such a better game if Bethesda had implemented Fallout 3 is a wonderful game - certainly more than "Oblivion with guns". It's problem is that it can't make it past the big "now what?" moment. You finally reached level 20, beat the main quest, and when you ask yourself what to do next, there's not much. Once the world is explored, that's that. It could have been such a better game if Bethesda had implemented factions and small-time quests, like they did with Morrowind. In games like TES3, when you finished something, there was always something more to do - always. In Fallout 3, there is an end, and it seems to quick to come. Don't get me wrong, though. Fallout 3 is an immensely enjoyable game with a lot to offer to anybody who likes FPS or RPG games. Expand
  10. AndersM
    Jan 13, 2010
    9
    Allright. Fallout 3 is a great game. You can use hours and hours running around in the wastelands and killing all sord of weird monsters and doing some Quest. But you will get tirred of this game when you have completed it. GREAT story line. I'll say this is a must buy. expect 40 hours of fun and dont buy any expansions (they suck too expensive and almost nothing new) I'll say Allright. Fallout 3 is a great game. You can use hours and hours running around in the wastelands and killing all sord of weird monsters and doing some Quest. But you will get tirred of this game when you have completed it. GREAT story line. I'll say this is a must buy. expect 40 hours of fun and dont buy any expansions (they suck too expensive and almost nothing new) I'll say this You will LOVE!! this brilliant game Expand
  11. RobertT.
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    A worthy addition to the Fallout franchise. One point subtracted for not having any multiplayer capability whatsoever. A second point subtracted for including "Xbox Live" support in a PC game without any other multiplayer support whatsoever. If I wanted to have anything to do with Live achievements and other BS, I would have bought a Xbox.
  12. MattC
    Nov 2, 2008
    8
    Very fun game to play - visuals, atmosphere, action, and story are decent. Runs very well. Definitely not 'Oblivion with guns' - they've learned a little since Oblivion. There's some brilliant moments - they've nailed the feeling of exiting the vault perfectly, and some action sequences are amazingly good fun, such as the behemoths. I haven't really come Very fun game to play - visuals, atmosphere, action, and story are decent. Runs very well. Definitely not 'Oblivion with guns' - they've learned a little since Oblivion. There's some brilliant moments - they've nailed the feeling of exiting the vault perfectly, and some action sequences are amazingly good fun, such as the behemoths. I haven't really come across any "go halfway across the land and collect 5 [item]" to complete a quest. There is some running around to do, but these have interesting story lines. The scale of the game feels right, and I'm happy to see there isn't duplication in dungeons. It isn't perfect through, there's quite a few minor problems, most of which you've probably already read about. None of these issues really effect the fun to had though. The 8-rating reflects these weaknesses and a couple of poor design decisions - e.g. the first town being 2min stroll from the vault. Don't pay attention to the 10/10 reviews - the reviewers must have been intoxicated. I'm not sure what's wrong with some Fallout veterans and Bethesda haters - the game really isn't bad at all. The weaknesses in voice acting etc. aren't really noticable unless you're looking for them. I'm hoping that a series of mods will improve the game - if so you can safely jack up my score to a 9 or 10. Expand
  13. JohannVII
    Nov 4, 2008
    8
    First off: as has been previously stated, this game is not Fallout. Nor is it Fallout 2, but I think this goes without saying. Both were (and still are) excellent games, and if you haven't played them, I strongly suggest you do. I know some of you out there were looking for a second re-hash of the original Fallout, and you will be disappointed (but hey, given the open nature of the First off: as has been previously stated, this game is not Fallout. Nor is it Fallout 2, but I think this goes without saying. Both were (and still are) excellent games, and if you haven't played them, I strongly suggest you do. I know some of you out there were looking for a second re-hash of the original Fallout, and you will be disappointed (but hey, given the open nature of the original games, you can always go play them again). Sadly, Black Isle (and Troika too) is dead and gone forever, and Van Buren died with it. Fallout 3 IS a beautiful realization of a portion of the Fallout universe in the Gamebryo engine (and incidentally is superior to Oblivion in every possible way, though it still suffers from a few of the same pitfalls, and I wish for once my headshot-kill would result in something other than the head flying from the body, though F1/2 used the same sprite animations for each model's death). The modified SPECIAL system used lacks a certain RPG depth, but it still stands above every first-person "RPG" I've played since Vampire: The Masquerade - Bloodlines. The dialogue options are almost universally of the form Good, Bad, Neutral, but well-written within that framework, and they often have real consequences beyond a simple Karma shift. The plot is much more developed than those of previous Bethesda games, and a number of the characters have enough dimension to motivate emotional involvement. Finally, I think VATS may be my favorite feature. Though combat becomes repetitive over time, the cinematic presentation (while occasionally utilizing bizzare camera angles) goes a long way to keep it satisfying. I may never get sick of seeing a slow-motion tracking of the railway spike I fired flying to a Feral Ghoul's head and pinning it to the wall. The game is still a bit buggy (random crashes in Vista x64), so I recommend saving often. Overall, it turned out much better than I had hoped: so much so that, though I had originally planned to simply steal the game once it had been cracked, I wound up buying a copy at 6pm on the 28th after watching my friend play for a while. Fallout 3 isn't perfect, but it's easily worth $50 if you have the cash. Now if only someone would come out with a Child-Killer mod. Expand
  14. BobS
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    Fallout 3 is amazing game. The game does a great job blending FPS and RPG elements with a very in-depth story. Also the detail level in the game is astounding, making the entire capital wasteland world seem real. Fallout gives you almost complete freedom with how you want to play the game and progress through the story, which makes the replay value very high. My only gripes with this game Fallout 3 is amazing game. The game does a great job blending FPS and RPG elements with a very in-depth story. Also the detail level in the game is astounding, making the entire capital wasteland world seem real. Fallout gives you almost complete freedom with how you want to play the game and progress through the story, which makes the replay value very high. My only gripes with this game that holds it back from being a 10 is that it needs a mini map to make navigation easier and the computer version tends to crash alot. Expand
  15. AdamG
    Jul 12, 2009
    8
    Fallout 3 is a great game but incredibly glitched and most of the time you'll find your self wedged between a tree and a hill. Forcing me to reload an older save. Another feature is what you have done in the affects the rest of the game and multiple choices of finishing quests.
  16. YeagleyO.
    Jul 2, 2009
    8
    I've played through Fallout 3 three times now (I'm currently on my third game) and I still enjoy it. There are so many possible outcomes, the fun never ends. I do agree, however, that the game isn't what we were promised. We were promised a game with "hundreds of endings", and ended up with only ten or so (which really aren't that differant from eachother). And while I've played through Fallout 3 three times now (I'm currently on my third game) and I still enjoy it. There are so many possible outcomes, the fun never ends. I do agree, however, that the game isn't what we were promised. We were promised a game with "hundreds of endings", and ended up with only ten or so (which really aren't that differant from eachother). And while there are some consiquences for your actions, they're not as major as Bethesda would like you to think. In Megaton, I murdered the doctor, and no one ever noticed. I would have been happy if occasionally one of them mentioned his death. And if you think having a follower changes anything, it doesn't. They become your backup and your pack mule. No one else notices them. If you can ignore major flaws like that, it is a very fun game with some replay value (you always tend to miss something when you play the game the first time). I recommend it, but don't expect it to be revolutionary. Maybe Fallout 4 will be free of these issues? Expand
  17. billT
    Jan 15, 2010
    8
    I'm seeing some bad reviews and they are a bit low for this game first off if you think there are only 5 different pieces of armor your exploration in the wasteland included starting out searching the suitcase in the first town killing mr. burke and doing the questline, the main quest isnt realy the main focus of the game the main focus is to explore the wasteland. although there are I'm seeing some bad reviews and they are a bit low for this game first off if you think there are only 5 different pieces of armor your exploration in the wasteland included starting out searching the suitcase in the first town killing mr. burke and doing the questline, the main quest isnt realy the main focus of the game the main focus is to explore the wasteland. although there are parts i agree with the weapons are a bit off and vats is overused but this is an RPG it isnt meant to be realistic in an rpg when you get a high level you can take about 300 bullets. I also agree they couldve put more effort into the speech arm movements ect. but it wasnt my main concern. the quest also could use some work but they do have a bit diversety of the old kill and fetch (while there are many) there are a few that are unmarked that are interesting such as saving a girl from a perverted man. But the main reson i love this game is you do whatever you want in your little box of wastleland you can kill almost everyone except kids of course or decide to save someones life you can sell people off as slaves blow their pants off set offf a nuke or do common repairs whatever you like you can do it. this was my first fallout game and i enjoyed it. Expand
  18. CCourt
    Jan 24, 2010
    9
    I love this game but wouldn't call it the best game ever, yes it has bugs, yes the dialog could be improved as could a whole host of other things but for all that it is still an excellent and engaging romp, there is some humor in there and the game shouldnt be taken to seriously , so its a post apocolyptic world and some nasty stuff happens the amount of humor that was in the prevous I love this game but wouldn't call it the best game ever, yes it has bugs, yes the dialog could be improved as could a whole host of other things but for all that it is still an excellent and engaging romp, there is some humor in there and the game shouldnt be taken to seriously , so its a post apocolyptic world and some nasty stuff happens the amount of humor that was in the prevous Fallout games was a tad over the top, I think if Bathesda reworks some textures and makes things look a little better it will help, the addons from the GOTY edition take it even further. OK Short version yes it needs some fixing up but its still one realy cool game. Keep up the good work Bathesda, improved what you have and add to it ill keep buying the extras. Expand
  19. WolfMan
    Nov 11, 2008
    8
    I originally had no interest in getting this game because "Oblivion with guns" turned me off, but after reading a tremendously long review by a poster here stating, yes, all the things that people don't like about it are true, but then... you stop thinking about it and get yourself caught up in the storyline. This influenced me to give it a try. I have to say I really enjoy this I originally had no interest in getting this game because "Oblivion with guns" turned me off, but after reading a tremendously long review by a poster here stating, yes, all the things that people don't like about it are true, but then... you stop thinking about it and get yourself caught up in the storyline. This influenced me to give it a try. I have to say I really enjoy this game, and have got sucked into the storyline. Yes, I agree, this is not the Fallout I was expecting, and frustrations I had from previous Bethesda works have bled onto the page here which is why I withheld two stars. But, that standing, I think Bethesda did a tremendous job with this project. I think Bethesda is getting better, and maturing with its offerings. As a standalone game, for me, Fallout3 has been much more immersive and enjoyable than Oblivion. Yes, there are still some kinks that come from Bethesda, and yes some irritation that what I enjoyed from the previous Fallout series was seriously missing in this game. This game sucks you into a world of nuclear fallout and about survival. At the end of the day I have a smile on my face while playing this game, blowing up super mutants, saving the damsel in distress and surveying the shattered world. it is an enjoyable and immersive experience. Expand
  20. HardcoreGamer
    Dec 29, 2009
    9
    I am not a big fan of RPG, but this hybrid got me hooked. Intriging story which changes depending on your choices. Allows you to team up (NPC). There are a few minor glitches. This is, by far, the best game I played this past year.
  21. scottd
    Dec 31, 2009
    9
    A game testimate to a theory that i have: a game series in the hands of someone who thinks of growth of a franchise over nostalgia and fanservice will always be superior in the end
  22. Feb 12, 2017
    9
    I played the great Fallout 1 and the "in my opinion not so great" Fallout 2, so I was very excited to explore the Fallout world in 3D.
    The start is a masterpiece: Being born, try the first steps as a baby, explore the vault and later the world. Unfortunately there are some elements in the game, that destroy a much better score: First of all, it is no more a round based game, but much more
    I played the great Fallout 1 and the "in my opinion not so great" Fallout 2, so I was very excited to explore the Fallout world in 3D.
    The start is a masterpiece: Being born, try the first steps as a baby, explore the vault and later the world. Unfortunately there are some elements in the game, that destroy a much better score: First of all, it is no more a round based game, but much more a shooter for Action, Action, Action. Very bad decision.
    Technically this game doesnt work on Win 7...lol... you need a mod, that users made. This is inexcusable.
    Speaking of mods: there are plenty of them and many are useful, so download them.
    After many hours the game starts to repeat, because many things are just copied and pasted in the world: the houses, the enemies. Level scaling is a key word: Even in the later game you will still fight with RAD Scorpions for example -.-
    Many things are restricted: the story and dialogs are linear, so you will not have many decisions to play a quest. The same goes for your character: The most fun is still a sniper/ shooter character.
    The strong women characters were annoying: 50-55kg woman fighting with a big minigun (hmm 10kg?). They are very unfriendly, masculin. Gender politics, brain washing and so on... easy to see through. As a bad guy I killed many of them for being too rude and vain to me :)
    The idea to listen to radios is fun, but the moderator Three Dogs could be less childish.
    The DLCs are dissappointing: too much shooter with a bad AI, especially Anchorage and Zeta.

    But there are improvements in the game: Graphic with some mods looks great of course.
    In F1 you could choose 1 new perk every 3 levels, in F3 you get an extra every level, which is better in my opinion.
    The main story and the side quests are very well written and motivate to play the game more and more.
    There are many areas just for exploring without any quest and still got a lot of content + stories to tell. This way exploring makes fun.

    Overall a very good game, but not perfect. It has a high fun level, but too many elements are too annoying. 8,5/10
    Expand
  23. Jun 12, 2016
    10
    Probably the closest thing to a perfect game, and easily a 10/10. Everything you love about Oblivion's vast open-world RPG style, but with a great Fallout story in a post-apocalyptic wasteland. Top notch main quests, seemingly endless side-quests, huge map to explore, excellent leveling, skill point, and karma system. There's really nothing negative that I can say about this game. AnProbably the closest thing to a perfect game, and easily a 10/10. Everything you love about Oblivion's vast open-world RPG style, but with a great Fallout story in a post-apocalyptic wasteland. Top notch main quests, seemingly endless side-quests, huge map to explore, excellent leveling, skill point, and karma system. There's really nothing negative that I can say about this game. An overall unforgettable gaming experience with a wide variety of immersive post-apocalyptic adventures. Highly recommended. Expand
  24. Nov 16, 2016
    10
    As a huge fan of Fallout 1-2 and also Elder Scrolls series this one of the best thing that could ever happen to me in the gaming world. I remember Fallout 1 was one of the game that really helped me to learn English and I believe Fallout 3 is decent sequel.
    10/10.
  25. AlexT.
    Oct 28, 2008
    8
    Fun game, I've liked it so far and I think it's better than oblivion in many, many ways, voice acting is juiced up, atmosphere is breath-taking. All in all it's a solid, fun game. BethesdaSUX, Fallout 3 was made by Bethesda, -not- Black Isle, you can't expect to play the exact same game you did over 10 years ago. And why would you want to? And to have a go at the Fun game, I've liked it so far and I think it's better than oblivion in many, many ways, voice acting is juiced up, atmosphere is breath-taking. All in all it's a solid, fun game. BethesdaSUX, Fallout 3 was made by Bethesda, -not- Black Isle, you can't expect to play the exact same game you did over 10 years ago. And why would you want to? And to have a go at the inconsistency is just nit-picking. It's like you Fallout 1/2 die-hards go out to get this game, just to find every possible way you can criticize it. Expand
  26. noname
    Oct 30, 2008
    10
    I'm giving this game 10 rating because I hate the oldschool Fallout fanboys and people who gives the game ratings before it's even released!!!!11one (Just kidding, I honestly believe it deserves more than 7.8. And I'm Fallout fan too. It's not Fallout 1 or 2 but it's good in it's own right. If it gets that many 100% percent reviews it can't be THAT bad.)
  27. JordanD.
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    I love this game. Combat is interesting, dialogue is great, but is hinderd by bad voice acting, i love the fiction, lots of content, but not half as much as oblivion, which makes sense because the fallout isnt bethesdas series, and too remain faithfull to the series, they have to stay with the established fiction.
  28. OliverS.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Probably one of the best games I've ever played, it improved on Oblivion and its engine, had a fantastically immersive game world with an awesome atmosphere - loved the radio personally, much of the lack of the variety in Oblivion was dealt with and there were a ridiculous amount of unique locations, the stat system worked just fine if you ask me, and I found the graphics to be a lot Probably one of the best games I've ever played, it improved on Oblivion and its engine, had a fantastically immersive game world with an awesome atmosphere - loved the radio personally, much of the lack of the variety in Oblivion was dealt with and there were a ridiculous amount of unique locations, the stat system worked just fine if you ask me, and I found the graphics to be a lot better than the 'dated' graphics others are talking about here. Only faults are poor AI, a fair amount of bugs (but considering the scope of the game it's hard to fault them) and VATS glitching sometimes. Otherwise, between this game and the DLC I've spent well over 100 hours in and around the Wasteland. Loved every minute of it! Expand
  29. AndyB.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    As a fan of both fallout and oblivion all I see here is the best that both games had to offer. The "turn based" combat is excellent and visually stunning, the storyline is captivating. Its one of if not THEE best game out at the moment. The folks here who have rated this game "0" clearly have no idea what they are talking about!
  30. AdamK
    Nov 5, 2008
    10
    Stunning game, the whole apocalyptic atmosphere really works in this game, exactly what I have been waiting for. Day/Night cycles are impressive, however would have loved to see much more changing weather... V.A.T.S should be a buyable upgrade... it makes for very easy killing. I must say im very impressed so far, and hopefully look forward to fallout 4 if it is planned.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. PC PowerPlay
    90
    Minor niggles aside, Fallout 3 is almost entirely spectacular. Everything from the graphics, to the sound, to the plot is first-rate. The VATS system worlds like a charm, and it’s so easy to get the hang of, you’ll be cracking skulls like there’s no tomorrow. [Dec 2008, p.55]
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    100
    A vast and open world of unimaginable possibilities opens in front of you in Fallout 3. Great story, flawless combat system, and the option to choose your own way makes it a hot candidate for game of the year. [Nov 2008]
  3. Fallout 3 is one of this year's best games. It's an unforgettable journey that lives up to the series. You are an ex-vault 101 inhabitant, and you discover a whole new world, full of zombies, mutants, raiders, aliens and all kinds of creatures. Welcome to this post-apocaliptic reality, where you are going to spend hundreds of hours.