Fallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Honest Hearts takes you on an expedition to the unspoiled wilderness of Utah's Zion National Park. Things go horribly wrong when your caravan is ambushed by a tribal raiding band. As you try to find a way back to the Mojave, you become embroiled in a war between tribes and a conflict betweenHonest Hearts takes you on an expedition to the unspoiled wilderness of Utah's Zion National Park. Things go horribly wrong when your caravan is ambushed by a tribal raiding band. As you try to find a way back to the Mojave, you become embroiled in a war between tribes and a conflict between a New Canaanite missionary and the mysterious Burned Man. The decisions you make will determine the fate of Zion. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. May 25, 2011
    90
    Honest Hearts is one of the better DLC packs Bethesda has released yet, and it comes down to the combination of an interesting landscape and original story along with unique RPG choices, then layering the signature Fallout brand (at least, since Bethesda took over) of slightly off-kilter, but still intensely entertaining FPS combat on top.
  2. PC Games (Russia)
    Jun 24, 2011
    80
    A fresh perspective on what Fallout: New Vegas may be – very relaxing and calm game. [July 2011, p.117]
  3. May 18, 2011
    75
    The narrative could be stronger and there's a lack of variety in terms of creatures occupying the park, but these are minor complaints about an otherwise enjoyable time.
  4. May 27, 2011
    70
    Fallout: New Vegas - Honest Hearts is a conventional but enjoyable addition to the series.
  5. Jun 25, 2011
    66
    The story and decisions are bigger attractions than the limited-appeal loot and artificially toughened enemies.
  6. May 24, 2011
    60
    Can Honest Hearts be considered a must buy? For the survivors of the Mojave desert, drinking Sarsaparilla and eating radioactive scorpions, probably it is. For those who ended New Vegas without feeling the need to replay the various plots and side quests, it definitely isn't.
  7. May 20, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    'Zion may not be lost to us after all.'

    When I heard this quote, there was something completely bad-ass about it that made me look forward
    'Zion may not be lost to us after all.'


    When I heard this quote, there was something completely bad-ass about it that made me look forward to this DLC. And I did enjoy it. Very much. But I can recognise the flaws here too.


    Joshua Graham. The Malpais Legate. The Burned Man. The man who defied Caesar's death order. Whatever you want to call him, this is the guy, perhaps Ulysses apart, that we all wanted to know. Was he really still alive? Well we all figured he would be, that's just how storytelling works. Does he live up to expectations? Probably not.

    But why am I talking about one man and not the rest of the DLC? Well, that's how hyped this guy was in online communities. But then we find him, embroiled in a petty war between three tribes, remember, this is the guy who ruthlessly killed many people, He's still an intruiging character, but when you meet a character for the first time, that you've only heard of in references, they're never quite as good as in you head are they? Just sat in a cave? Hm. At least, from a story point he holds an interesting bent. The idea of flushing out the evil people and creating a 'good' society from scratch. Zion.

    Ah Zion. My favourite locale in the whole of New Vegas. If you had to identify New Vegas, and indeed the whole of the Fallout series in general by a colour, it'd be grey. Grey grey grey grey grey. A splash of plant green here and there, and some grey-red if you're playing Dead Money. Zion remains almost untouched from the great wars. Plants grow everywhere, the water is beautiful, the canyons steep and gorgeous. It wills you into following Graham's idea that this could be paradise,

    Unfortunately the story, while at a good pace, isn't that gripping. The choice? Kill the bad guys and stay in Zion, or run away. Duh, kill the baddies of course. Wow, that was a tough choice, might need a lie down now. The quests are pretty poor mostly too. Go and find 5 lunchboxes? Oh yeah, totally man. The only thing that forgives this is walking through the lushness.

    Honest Hearts is a welcome break in a new direction for New Vegas. Joshua Graham is a good character, but no way did this Graham kill many many people in the Legion. The best looking DLC and a new refreshing slant in New Vegas.
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    Thumbs up from this Fallout3 fan. I liked the setting far more than Dead Money's morbid landscape, liked it better than New Vegas. I play atThumbs up from this Fallout3 fan. I liked the setting far more than Dead Money's morbid landscape, liked it better than New Vegas. I play at greatest difficulty and hardcore, and it's still not hard enough, but in Honest Hearts it's not easy, and I had to carefully watch my ammo and supplies, even with a few perks that let me make my own. I do wish Zion was fully realized, more depth and development, more interaction with the various tribes, friendships, and perhaps even a little romance. On the minus side, Honest Hearts crashes Fallout-NV more than usual (for me it's uncommon for FNV to crash, but it crashed about 5-6 times in the whole HH playthrough), companions utter their convo lines too often, and, like I stated, I really wish there was more to this world-within-a-world, more depth. Regardless, gave it a 8, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  3. May 23, 2011
    8
    This expansion is so much better than Dead Money in every way.
    I love the settings of this DLC, it takes place in Utah, at a place called
    This expansion is so much better than Dead Money in every way.
    I love the settings of this DLC, it takes place in Utah, at a place called Zion.
    This expansion also features rain, something i have never seen before in a Fallout game, if my memory is not failing.
    Also, it is a little bit longer than Dead Money, that if you decide to explore everything and complete every Quest and Side quests.
    Expand
  4. Aug 3, 2013
    6
    A mediocre, but improved DLC offering over Dead Money, an interesting new ambiguous character and the Indian inspiration still leave a littleA mediocre, but improved DLC offering over Dead Money, an interesting new ambiguous character and the Indian inspiration still leave a little bit to be desired. Expand
  5. Rem
    Jun 23, 2016
    5
    Fallout: New Vegas is in many aspects a true RPG. Respecting player builds and catering a game around whatever the player decides to do is anFallout: New Vegas is in many aspects a true RPG. Respecting player builds and catering a game around whatever the player decides to do is an amazing achievement. Honest Hearts continues this achievement but does so in smaller increments and a much less compelling world and design. For $10, very little is added to the overall experience.

    In terms of world design, the change in scenery is certainly refreshing. However, the Zion Valley in which Honest Hearts takes place is unfortunately void of much interesting locations. At least a third of the area is littered with caves and there isn't much incentive to explore the 30+ different marked areas on the map.

    In terms of story, the introduction of Joshua Graham and the two tribes that are vying for control of the region is interesting, albeit brief distraction that I was able to finish all available sidequests within 3 hours. Nothing is different much in terms of gameplay, which is a good thing. The biggest disappointment comes in the underwhelming content. What's available is serviceable, just not groundbreaking in any way and at times, boring.
    Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2013
    5
    Very good environment,too short game length and the story isn't good as it should be,when it was interesting tribes and very interesting mainVery good environment,too short game length and the story isn't good as it should be,when it was interesting tribes and very interesting main characters i think its a makeshift story work and i think that there should be an option to choose to ally with White Hands if you had a good reputation with legion (and not be from the beginning of the game hostile to you!!!)(like to be appointed by Caesar to travel to Zion Canyon and help the Caesar allies The White Hands to destroy the other tribes or make a peace treaty (Which you can take the one or the other side and help them to negotiate the treaty and stop the war (Like TES:Skyrim when you have to negotiate peace treaty to win Alduin) and the loser side leaves(And go to the NV environment or to a new environment like Dead Horse Point (And you can visit them and help them win the new war against the tribe living on these lands(Not for the white hands cause they have already some other lands except Zion Valley)or losses some lands and you can persuade Caesar not to assimilate the white hands if they win or do a quest like the Great Khans and persuade the White Hands to break their alliance with Caesar and do many quest with the tribes like become their leader or persuade them (For example) to turn from raiders to farmers or to gun dealers or to technology collectors(Like brotherhood of steel) or to a democracy (Like NCR) or raise their army make new encampments or settlements and some other quests about citizens differences,about stop the Legion or NCR or other factions assassins to kill their leaders,about make alliances and about fortify their settlements building new (wood mostly) houses and other building(Like assassins creed 3 homestead) and many other quests.And i think they must had grow the map (make it at least 3 times bigger have more tribes,citizens,factions (like Caesar's Legion and NCR)and more place to make some more villages and other places and more story.
    In conclusion i think that this whole dlc was an sketchy work and had a lot of things to bean added!!!
    (And It is ridiculous when the white hand leader the Salt-Upon-Wounds loses the battle and cry like a little girl to not been executed i think that he had to deal with it with bravery!!!
    Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    3
    Beautiful scenery can not save this DLC from its failings - tedious fetch quests, an uninspiring main plot, and few interesting new items.Beautiful scenery can not save this DLC from its failings - tedious fetch quests, an uninspiring main plot, and few interesting new items. While Dead Money was a bit too long; Honest Hearts is far too short. I was really surprised when the final mission began - I'd only been playing for an hour or so. If you're not already set on getting all the DLC, avoid this one. Collapse

See all 27 User Reviews