User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1822 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2010
    2
    A shame. New Vegas would have been great, but it's ridiculously buggy. Clearly a game rushed out way too soon. I've no idea how it got an average of 86 with such glaring lack of polish and a battery of game breaking bugs. Only worth buying on a discount AND once the game has been sufficiently patched.
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    If you loved fallout 3, you'll find a new world to explore and waste hours adventuring. The quests are tighter and much more enjoyable. you'll get to do a little vault diving again. the plot is almost nonexistant and the game leaves you to roam where ever, find plenty of new and interesting weapons, and see the sights. On the other hand, the game is as glitchy as ever. I once saw a scorpion clipped through the ground trying to attack me. There are invisible walls everywhere, so that little hill you want to get over is impossible, I don't understand this design choice for an open world environment. You rely much less on vats due to less volatile movements and improved aiming. The special system seemed to be much more important as each attribute has its pros and cons and played in more during conversations. the skills have much more diverse uses, expect finding practical uses for repair and medicine. The worst part however is this amounts to a reskin of fallout 3. While new weapons and enemies keep it fresh, combat is the same and many places seem familiar. If you enjoyed fallout 3, be prepared to be drawn into a new world along with a few hiccups here and there. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    First, some stats. I played the game completely through once; I completed the ending two different ways from one save point; I had added over two dozen mods when I finished playing. Total time playing: +100 hours. Total time getting my mods to work: +10 hours. Second, the above should indicate that I have pushed the game to the breaking point - I ruined several save games - but kept coming back for more. Why? The game is that good. Playing with the amazing mods available for this game made it very engaging and compelling far beyond what the vanilla did. And the vanilla game was superb. Third, the game ran fine for me till I got over the dozen mod mark. In fact, most of my frustration with the mods came from one particular mod (New Vegas Bounties) that eventually corrupted save games after a certain objective had been accomplished. When it was me and the original game (first 40 hrs), I think the game crashed once. Once! That is a fairly stable game to me. Now I know that many people have had significant problems with the bugs in this game. I think Bethseda has smoothed those out for the most part. Bottom line: great game play, solid graphics, good plot, and a ton of replay value. Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2010
    7
    Fallout New Vegas is obviously a game which has had a lot of care and attention put into its development. Unfortunately it is hampered massively by an out-dated and unforgivably buggy engine.
    The characters and factions retain that old Fallout charm they are witty, unique and well voiced however it is very hard to form any kind of attachment to any of the characters. This, I believe, is
    mostly down to the engine, very little emotion appears on their faces as they speak, it would be the real life equivilant of going to watch a play where none of the actors have read the script before and no indication of how they should feel is given. The story was somthing of a dissapointment in my opinion; I have always been a fan of narrative diven play whereas the open ended nature of New Vegas leaves very little space for detailed narrative. The weapons available to the player, remain as satisfying as ever, whether it is driving (a large number of) rifle rounds through the head of a Deathclaw or firing mini nukes into crowds of gambling innocents. While on the subject of crowds this, as with Fallout 3 is a dropping points. In the so called epic battles of the game, it is rare to see more than a dozen people in your area. This gives rise to a laughable occasion in the game when a particular character gives a speech.... to a crowd of around 5. What else is there to blame for this than the engine again, which unfortunately will hamper an otherwise great game all the way. Whether its the poor lip synching, to poor walking animations (walk diagonally and you can ice skate) or the rather imbessilic enemy AI, or the main issue which remains a large base of bugs and performance issues. Hopefully light will have finally dawned and this will be the last we see of this engine in any future game (TES V, anyone?) Expand
  5. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  6. BMF
    Oct 25, 2010
    10
    When I first picked up new vegas I was a little worried that it might be a smaller version of fallout 3 but it turned out new vegas was a huge new post apocalyptic world to explore that even the buggy Gamebryo engine couldnt bring down. Modders have already released a large amount of mods for new vegas and more are pouring in so im sure I will be adding to the 50 or so hours it took to beat the game the first time. Fallout new vegas is truely diserving of the Fallout name and I look forward to seeing where the series goes next. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    Utterly amazing game, if you expected Obsidian to re-invent the wheel that was Fallout 3 you will be sadly dissapointed. Despite this they have managed to tweak the games mostly for the better but at it's core it's just more Fallout 3, and when you consider what a brilliant game that was it's not necesarily a bad thing.

    However seeing how it essentially the same game with a differant
    story I urge you to pick up Fallout 3 if you are new to the series as it can be found in stores or online for about half the price. Expand
  8. Oct 19, 2010
    3
    Buggy POS. This game is very much in the habit of reverting quicksaves and autosaves to the first one you ever make. So let's say you get 4 hours into the game and then crash or restart, guess what? Next time you run the game you lose 4 hours of playtime and start at the beginning. Invisible walls are everywhere, can't hike up a hill without running into one. Also enemies have a habit of of spawning inside walls and crashing the game. There may be some improvements over Fallout 3 in there, but I wouldn't know as I've been replaying the same 4 hours of game over the past 8 hours. Expand
  9. Oct 28, 2010
    3
    Bugs galore. Very last gen graphics. Animated characters walking in thin air. How about a decent auto save system? Nope. Random game crashes on high end PC 's that run any game easily? Yep. How does this thing score more highly than Kane and Lynch, which was slammed by many critics. If I had to choose between the 2 games, K&L would win hands down. Do not believe all the hype. This game is mediocre, and that is being generous. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2012
    7
    By looking at all these reviews im guessing a lot of the reviewers are Skyrim/oblivion fanboys. Fallout 3 was an amazing game and is considered one of the best of all time so people cant say **** about it. Everyones entitled to an opinion but calling the game the worst piece of **** you've ever played just makes you look like a butt hurt fanboy of what ever game you prefer. Anyway back to the review.

    Fallout new vegas is a great game that will entertain you for hours how ever it is not much of an upgrade from fallout 3 which was released 2 years prior to this game. The graphics are pretty much identicle, along with gameplay. How ever there is nothing wrong with that if you loved fallout 3. Your more or less getting the same thing except with a brand new map, and over 100 hours of gameplay. And i know what your thinking "That's not the same thing! Your whole statement is bull" but hear me out. Yes bethesda has given us 100 new hours of gameplay but it feels too much alike fallout 3. guns, graphics, enemies, and some quests are exactly like ones ive already played in fallout 3. It does have its upsides though. Overall Fallout new vegas is a great game. However if you were looking for something new this is not the game for you. I give Fallout new vegas a 7.5 out of 10
    Expand
  11. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    I'm so surprised at the negative reviews of this game. I've read some, and am just not seeing many negatives for this game. The new weapon mods make crafting and item hoarding meaningful, where I felt in Fallout 3 there was a lacking quality there. The world is HUGE, but it's not littered with "events". You can actually move a good distance across the wasteland without running into Mutants or Radscorpions, etc....although, you do find plenty of that stuff. The storyline and the adaptive qualities of the side quests make this playthrough much more compelling than it's predecessor, Fallout 3. The new Hardcore mode makes the game a tad more immersive in the fact that you need to sleep, eat, drink, and heal your dismembered body.

    I'd recommend this game to anyone who wants to get lost in a great story with an incredibly detailed and gripping world.
    Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have played this game for 55 hours thus far. My game has crashed about 4 times, and I have had only a handful of minor bugs. I am thankful for this, since most reviews seem to focus in on how many bugs there are, and I've been able to enjoy this game pretty much unimpeded.

    And what a joy it's been. This game takes a lot from Fallout 3, but I'm fed up of the amount people focus on the engine. This is a lot more than an 'expansion pack's worth, tons of new weapons, new game systems, whole new story, a map BIGGER than the original, gambling games, new perks, new companions. As far as I see it, that's the meat of a Fallout game. I play Fallout because of its awesome story, immersion and beautiful locations.
    And let me tell you, despite low-resolution textures, clipping and a host of graphical shortcomings, it still manages to look beautiful when you look into the distance, especially when you see New Vegas and other massive structures.

    But I'll tell you the main reason this game is awesome. Factions. Nobody has any excuse to ignore the sidequests in this game, because while you CAN do that and still complete the main quest, you'd be doing it the most uninteresting way. Obsidian have fantastically tied in all the factions' sidequests (and let me tell you, after 55 hours I still haven't completed them) to the main story, which gives you an excuse to go round the Mojave doing just about everything to set up your perfect finale.

    If I had to nitpick, I'd wish that the Legion showed off Caesar's views a bit more. After speaking to the head honcho, it's obvious that he has some interesting ideals. However, none of these are expressed by anyone else at any other point in the Legion. Everyone else in his force makes it look like a big, savage tribe (which technically it is, but Caesar claims he is trying to be like the Romans).

    In essence, the story of this game is much stronger than Fallout 3's, but since it borrows a lot from Fallout 3's engine through models, textures, lore and even voicework, it lacks the punch Fallout 3 had. Thus I would put it on a par in my books. And hell, that's a good par, because I gave it a 10 :P.
    Just be patient you who are moaning about books and too much similarity, get immersed in the game and it'll reward you in kind.
    Expand
  13. Oct 26, 2010
    5
    Nothing new in this big DLC, just a recycled engine, stolen ideas from user's mods, shake it and the New Vegas **** is done.Really disappointing for a Bethesda fan, not the game itself that is still valid for a normal user, but if you used to play Fallout 3 with popular mods it's easy to recognize nothing really new from the software house, this is just a great example of brand exploitation, not worth the full price. Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    A very impressive game, addicting too. There is alot of quests to do and the only flaw about this game is the travelling, it takes too long and there should be some vehicles or something to make you run alot faster. There isnt much of a storyline... You're meant to deliver a package but you get betrayed and shot in the head. You get revived by a doctor and you seek out revenge to kill Benny (your killer) Expand
  15. Oct 31, 2010
    3
    Considering this Game is almost exactly like Fallout 3 , one would think it to be more like an expansion. The Game engine is the same and although they did change a few things such as iron sights on guns it does not really feel any newer. If you charge $60 For a full retail game update graphics and game engine after 2 years! Now onto the ultimate crime... this game is so buggy that it crashed on me about 5 times in 10 hours... even after I patched it. the quests are broken and unplayable... if this title was $20 and was stable I would recommend it to hardcore Fallout 3 players only because its a new story and you have additions like gambling now. I bet this will hurt Bethesda/obsidian hard... Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    Great fun. Perhaps even more so than Fallout 3 itself. I played it two months after release and even after two major patches, I still experienced two quest-stopping bugs. Then there were other times when quests were just downright confusing. Also, crashes to desktop were fairly common. Obviously will need a couple more patches until it's near perfect. However, even with those bugs, this game has a lot going for it. There's tons of story and interesting places to explore (it's not all either wasteland or sewers as in FO3). The weapons and combat are enjoyable, particularly with the new iron sights, weapon mods, and unique weapons. The iron sights don't take you out of the action as much as the VATS does. There's a lot more perks and companions plus each companion has a unique perk, so there's a lot of different RPG and tactical elements to play around with. Also, I love Weapon Repair Kits for repairing those hard to find weapons. Expand
  17. Oct 31, 2010
    8
    Ultimately this is a good game that could be so much better if the developers took more time to work out the bugs. If you can wait a few months while they sufficiently patch the game you should.
  18. Feb 11, 2011
    8
    Better than Fallout 3 by miles. Almost every issue I had with the last game has been resolved. Crappy dialogue? Fixed. Boring Characters? Fixed. Uninspired story? Oh, it was fixed alright. What more, the hardcore mode definitely adds a layer of immersiveness that, while not really making the game any harder than before, gives it plenty of atmosphere. Now, I did say "Almost every issue" earlier. There is actually one thing that Obsidan (not Bethesda, they did not develop this) managed to do worse than Fallout 3. The game is buggy as hell. Even with the most recent patches, there are plenty of crashes, bugs, and straight up oddities lurking below this great game. I finished a playthrough of this game (not 100%) in 37 hours, not including time backtracked due to crashes. Expand
  19. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    If you liked Fallout 3, then you will like New Vegas. The games are remarkably similar in their gameplay. These games are not for people who want to button mash or kill lots of people online. They are both expansive worlds with lots of places to discover, challenges to overcome and an interesting main storyline. I actually enjoy wandering around the map discovering things and seeing what I can find. Most games like this restrict where you can and cannot go; other than the outside borders, you can explore this whole world. Fallout 3 was a 10 for me. New Vegas is not as good, mostly because of how glitchy the game is. You can lose hours of game play just because it freezes. You can lose "companions" that fall places. You can utterly screw up your entire game by going out a door you cannot re-enter. It would have been a great deal better if they had waited to put this game out and fixed the glitches. One of my good friends told me how glitchy it was and I thought it must be something she was doing or her system. Nope. At times, you cannot get totally into the game because you need to think about whether its going to freeze on you. That makes a 10 a 7 to me. Expand
  20. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent game, unfortunately marred by so many technical problems at launch it was ruined for many PC gamers. My review score ignores all the technical problems, and there is a lot. Be warned that you will likely have extremely poor performance and other technical issues galore. If you aren't up for some forum searching, tweaking and waiting for patches, don't bother buying the PC version. Basically if you loved Fallout 3, you'll really love this game. The formula hasn't changed much, but the additions to crafting, faction reputations, gun modding, ammo types, survival skills, hardcore mode, improved companion system, etc has improved the experience a lot. Obsidian's excellent storyline and dialog writing improves things further, giving characters and locations more personality and likely drawing more than a few laughs from you as you play. After a few months of patches this game will be the masterpiece everyone hoped it would be out of the box. Expand
  21. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    First of all, this game was developed by Obsidian Entertainment, not Bethesda. Obsidian, a.k.a Black Isle has an impressive resume which includes Baldur's Gate 2. This is not Fallout 3. The game engine is the same, as well as the interface and the combat system, but the voice acting, dialogue and sheer volume of quests surpasses Fallout 3 in any way. If you're looking for something 100% revolutionary. If you did not like Fallout 3 at all, or found Fallout 3 to be a mediocre game, you might be better off skipping New Vegas.

    But, if you even kind of liked Fallout 3, NV is worth picking up. I enjoyed Fallout 3, but I'm not a huge fan. New Vegas blew me away and continues to impress me every time I pick it up.
    Expand
  22. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a fan of Fallout 3, I was eagerly anticipating the release of this game. First thing I discovered was that Steam was required. Many people will ***** about steam, but I find it to be very useful in organizing, opening and updating games. The game has a mediocre start- you are brought back to health by this stranger in the town of Goodsprings. Yes, it is the same graphics engine. That is good and bad. One of the good things is that the water still looks wonderful from fallout 3. Also, the sky has been greatly improved, so you can see cloud movement. However, the graphics also work against the game with the occasional glitch you see from distant objects. The factions of the game are wonderful- obviously, the folks at Bethesda and Obsidian thought through how quests for each would interfere with other factions, forcing you to take sides. The game is significantly shorter, but this is balanced out with a number of different endings, based on whether you decide to ally with Mr. House, the NCR, Caesar's Legion, or go alone. Many new types of enemies add new gameplay elements and strategies to how you fight. Many magnificent places such as the Hoover Dam and the Strip add glamor to the not so glorious Mojave wasteland. Many people overlook all the glitches, but there are many great features in the game too, that everyone should explore. And with the PC mod community, you won't have to wait long before people create mods that fill up the completely empty freeside, and add new quests to the wasteland. Expand
  23. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Fallout: New Vegas is a very fun and immersive game. It scratches that itch I have for in-game exploration oh so well. The only major downside is the bugs, ooooohhhh the bugs. For example, I can't finish a certain quest without it corrupting my saves. Also, the frame rate slows down significantly when multiple NPCs show up on screen. Another minor downside is some of the quests are very dry and lack variety, kind of like just go here and kill these people/creatures or go here get this thing. That's not to say there isn't a lot of creativity on display here, its just that sometimes quests can be kind of meh. Overall, if you loved Fallout 3 you will love this, provided you don't run into game-killing bugs. Expand
  24. Dec 16, 2010
    8
    This Game has gotten a mixed comment with me. It is a typical FALLOUT game, and a such has a great reception with me. The bugs aren't noteworthy as STEAM sorts them all out and i haven't encountered any. The fact that there is no play without Internet is bad, but the additions and all the faithful exploring makes me glad that this game was brought to the public as it is one great RPG.
  25. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    I enjoyed Fallout 3 a lot, and hoped the same would be the case with New Vegas, but.., it doesnt have the same openness, feels more linear, and the bugs seem even more apparent. One thing is having a foe stuck in a rock, I can accept that once in a while. But there is huge flaws in the game mechanics when it comes to factions when you can simply walk into a camp and set free a captive, without any reaction whatsoever, seeing how you are friendly aligned with both factions involved. (The captured and the captures). Such elements really break down the game world reality and make it far less fun to play. As for the state the game is in atm, I find 60 to be what it deserves, with hope that it can improve into the 70-80 with a few patches.â Expand
  26. Oct 21, 2010
    4
    Bethesda did it again. Even when I thought my expectations could not have possibly been lower since the mediocre FO3 and it's laughable DLC, they managed to amaze me yet another time by taking this game into a new low. Do not believe the reviews of the press.

    Every aspect of this game has been catered to what we call the 'new generation' of gamers. A poorly thought out, yet incredibly
    simplistic rpg system that effectively kills any sort of difficulty in this game. If you do not roll through the game using the VATS system, or kiting equally fast enemies to death using the laughable shooting mechanics that take any sort of excitement out of this game, then you are sure the game beats itself using the bug fest of a game engine against your enemies.

    How could this engine still be so terrible? Bethesda has been using it since Oblivion. That's at least 5 years of development. Bugs and random crashes break any fun of the game. Enemies getting stuck in objects and bumps of the map.. even scripted events like quest completions tend to break the game. And what is up with the graphics? Did Bethesda stop improving the visuals since Oblivion? It looks like a PS2 game released in 2010. Walking to new locations takes up a considerable time, and adds virtually nothing to the game play, other than a way to sink your time with uninspired environments and enemies.

    The 'plot', is an absolute joke. Whereas Bethesda ruined the concept of the Vault Dweller along FO3's progression, they did not even seem to care to make a game where dialogue and story plays a major role interesting. Conversations are forced and robotic (in both speech and animations, even when it has many voice actors), and embarrassing to any human being that ever wrote anything down. The karma system is, as in FO3, poorly thought out, breaking any game credibility for a decent role playing experience.

    It's a poor port as well. I've seen developers do better in the past when they at least tried to make something out of a muliplat release.
    Expand
  27. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    This is an enjoyable game. Its focus on the wasteland, rather than on the player's character's daddy issues make it very true to the originals. The wasteland also is built in a way to direct not so obsessive players in the right directions, minimizing random deaths. There are tech issues, but with a few hacks they never took away from my experience (thanks to the brains of community). What I'd like to see next time is more mysteries being revealed, as for now some of the plot elements are very strong at start, but feel like could have been expanded into epic side-quests, such as the solar power station could have added a bit more juice to the plot. In overall, worth one hell of a play-through. Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2010
    8
    Fallout: New Vegas is a great addition to the Fallout series, the story is weaker than Fallout 3 and the graphics are mostly reused on all items in FO3. you will find yourself more interested in the side quests then the main story. Overall this is however a solid RPG for fans and newcomers alike.
  29. Oct 29, 2010
    0
    I had heard that there was some alleged improvement in the writing department. This is occasionally evident, but the plot-lines are banal and the NPC's are still robotic and stilted, demonstrated by their oft inconsistent and unlikely behaviour that makes it difficult to become immersed. The best bits still comprise wasteland-wandering, and the hardcore mode is a curious addition. However, the Gamebryo engine is beginning to feel dated; It usually looks fine, but loading screens between doorways, the limited NPC population and the lack of views to underpin context add to a collective impression of unreality. Since NV uses the same graphics as FO3, it surprised me that NV shuns years of modding and DLC content by making this a 'new game', when it should have been implemented as a full expansion; Our FO3 character could easily have been asked to courier the Chip from, say, Rivet City to New Vegas and found ourselves confronted with Benny, allowing for a seamless merge. For those of us who have tweaked FO3 to our liking since '08, being dragged back to a 'Vanilla' world is a stark reminder of the flaws that mods have fixed (unless you are a console-gamer). I could have excused the game for occasional crashes and glitches, and I understand that the emphasis is now on the console-market, but the trigger that turned my mind from "give it a chance" to "this is dull" was the awful immersion. This was achieved by the inane AI, the primitive patchwork world, the poorly/lazily constructed story & narration, and the implausible architecture. My zero score is for balance. My true score would be 3, for its efforts to add 'Hardcore', improve the implementation of skills when dealing with NPC's, and some other beneficial but superficial improvments. NV's increased linearity irks me slightly as well. I hope ID Software graces Bethesda with a better 3D engine for TES V:Skyrim. Expand
  30. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    Maybe the score should be 10/6 for outdoor vs. indoor play only b/c my computer could do cartwheels outside with a 100 enemies and have no FPS lag whereas indoors it stuttered like crazy despite the specs of my super computer - how counter intuitive is that?? If/when they patch it properly probably a true score would be 9. Anyway, what can I say? more Fallout 3 but improved with Hardcore mode (the only way to play) and a Western theme. Despite my frustrations inside, love it. Also wish creatures would not respawn all the time (even mods didn't seem to stop it). Oh and get the RACE mod and the song packs - Bethesda's radio was a cute idea (again) but they need the 1-200 extra songs modders put in for them. Expand
  31. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    A good game is memorable but a great game makes you feel as though you've fallen in love for the first time all over again. Fallout: New Vegas is nothing short of greatness.

    I would easily have rated it 10 if it didn't ship with so many frustrating bugs. However, don't let it be said that the bugs diminish the amazing and liberally nostalgic post-apocalyptic experience waiting for you
    in any significant way and really, there's nothing that can't be fixed in the upcoming patch.

    From the moment I pre-ordered New Vegas to the moment my character stepped into the Wasteland, I thought that this would be just another Bethesda RPG, its only redeeming quality being Obsidian behind it. I had modest expectations which in no way prepared me for one of the most immersive and enjoyable gaming experiences in years.

    Fallout: New Vegas flows in the same prestigious blue-blooded vein as much-loved RPGs from the 90's. It is an instant classic, it is true to the original Fallout games, it is an appreciation of everything that gave the original games their cult-following: choice, consequence, a dark believable atmosphere, timeless humour and memorable companions.

    Hardcore mode enhances the sense of immersion and is a wonderful addition to the gameplay. The plot-line is just a driving force that keeps you heading in the right direction but is in no way the only interesting thing to see or do in the Mojave. It doesn't overpower the experience nor does it come short of delivering a well-balanced and brilliantly thought-out plot.

    Hearing nostalgic snippets of the original games, like the name of Tandi, Shady Sands, seeing Marcus again, mention of The Master. This is the true, honest-to-goodness, thoroughbred successor of Fallout 1 and 2.

    I believe that Tim Cain will be proud.

    Thank you, Obsidian, for giving me a truly memorable and enjoyable experience. I sincerely hope you work on future Fallout games as well--you've put Bethesda to shame :)
    Expand
  32. May 17, 2011
    5
    This game didnt surprise me which is a bad thing i half expected it to be as boring as Fallout 3 but no, it took it to the next level . The environment is still excrutiatingly boring( yes it is in a wasteland but thats no excuse). The game has no feeling of progress, you just feel like you stay the same strength throughout the game. The graphics are exactly the same. But we all no that this was just a game to keep ourselves with busy before Skyrim comes out where hopefully the real effort will be put in. This game is a weak, mediocre, unimprovement upon a less boring piece of **** and I will never play fallout again. cough cough oblivion is better cough cough. Expand
  33. Xyz
    Nov 19, 2010
    8
    If you played Fallout 1 & 2 and liked them, and you played Fallout 3 and didn't like it because of its weak storytelling and atmosphere this is the game for you. This one brings the atmosphere and story that we all enjoyed in first two instances and combines them with gameplay dynamics of the third. Some say its just like Fallout 3, but I say it's not. It's got the soul of the first two parts, and technology of the third (Which isn't perfect, but it's still playable). Now, the only thing that prevents it from getting a perfect 10 are the bugs... They are plentiful, none gamebreaking, but funkillers all of them... So, with a few (possibly more than a few) patches this could be the greatest singleplayer experience ever... This way, its just a reminder of how gaming industry is just that, and industry... Oh, where are those good times when games were made BY GAMERS... FOR GAMERS Expand
  34. Dec 26, 2010
    10
    I think we should get to the point. If you enjoyed Fallout 3, you will not only enjoy New Vegas, but that you should buy New Vegas for the great changes in game play and atmosphere. The most important change is the amount of factions. Bethesda finally got this right after the brief blunder of Oblivion and Fallout 3. Comparing Fallout 3 to New Vegas is like Oblivion to Morrowind. You do good things for one faction, the other one dislikes you more (lack of price discounts, more negative dialogue). You kill members of a faction, the faction members will try to kill you on sight for now on. It is so important to the RPG element for the ability not only to make personal choices, but the idea that actions may have both positive and negative effects. Why did it take over eight years to implement this again? Expand
  35. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    PC has been patched up well so most of the negative reviews about this being too glitchy should be reconciled. Plain and simple, this is game is more Fallout 3. And by more I mean a LOT more. Not only is there a lot of content in this game, but the sidequests are really interesting and fun. The faction system is a small but quite potent addition but unfortunately the changes pretty much end there. Bioshock 2 and Left 4 Dead 2 were also very alarmingly similar to their predecessors thought so I guess there's not much to complain about. Point is, if you liked the original Fallout 3 and want more interesting sidequests to play, Fallout: New Vegas is something you cannot ignore. Expand
  36. Oct 20, 2010
    7
    I don't know why the professional reviewers are whining about the game engine so much. It's been announced since day one that the Fallout 3 engine was going to be used, so give it up and just review the damn game, wouldja?

    Anyone who has played a Fallout game knows it's all about the story, the game mechanics, the NPC interaction, etc. Even with that, the graphics (especially the
    detail) are completely acceptable in today's gaming.

    At any rate, hard to put together a review with only 6 hours of game play, but this is another great Fallout offering by Bethesda. Plenty of new nuances to the game, combined with the comfortable layout of the Fallout 3 GUI. Storytelling is terrific. Loving the new radio music and broadcasts.

    In a nutshell, if you're a Fallout fan at all, than this is a must have. If you're a RPG fan, this is a must have. If you're interested in trying an RPG for the first time this is a must have. Just buy the game and get on with it. ;-)
    Expand
  37. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    Fallout New Vegas is without a single doubt, a contender for the best game of 2010. Why? Because it is an absolutely astonishing game.

    On the surface, it looks very similar to Fallout 3, and you would be correct in thinking that, for the most part. However, when you begin the bigger quests, explore a bit more, and turn on 'Hardcore mode' (more on that later) you realise this is totally
    different. The story is very good, with a choice of 4 endings as well, you can be sure the game plays out a different way when you replay and fight for a different faction. The map seems smaller than in Fallout 3, especially because at least a quarter of the map is sealed off by cliffs. However, this doesn't matter, as each location is interesting to visit, the majority having a quest to go with it, loot, or NPC's to talk to. The action has been revamped as well, allowing V.A.T.S, and having 'true aim' - something Fallout 3 desperatly needed. The graphics are still nice, especially seeing the Strip of New Vegas lighting up the night sky. While Fallout 3 was possible of this, the environment is not just ruins and rubble, allowing for nice variety.

    The aforementioned 'Hardcore mode' is a welcome, and optional addition. What it does is introduce aspects like dehydration, hunger, needing sleep, and needing proper medical attention when crippled. This doesn't make the game that much harder than what it can be already, but does make the experience richer when turned on.

    A lot of reviews are damning this game purely on the bugs, glitches and problems. This game does have some bugs - but as did Fallout 3. Most of these are fixed with a reload however, and are not as big a problem as people claim. The one thing I will mention though - my computer is more than powerful enough for this game, a 2.93GHZ Quad Core, 4GB of RAM and an Nvidia 295GTX, running on a 64bit version of 7. The performance is very bad when a lot of people appear on screen, and the larger battles become difficult. I feel this is due to having a 64bit system, as my old install with far older hardware had no problems whatso-ever in Fallout 3. This is a big issue - and Obsidian need to fix this as soon as possible.

    In closing, the problems in this game are completely dwarfed by what it does right - providing 30+ hours of RPG bliss, and is an absolute essential for any gamer.
    Expand
  38. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Short and simple. If you loved Fallout 3, and don't mind more of the same, then yes, you will love New Vegas.

    This isn't a step forward or step backward per se, but there aren't many huge improvements that make this feel like an entirely new game. It feels more like DLC despite what previews had said.. How do I feel paying $50 for it? I'm okay with it, but I will be reluctant to buy
    Fallout: New Something using the same outdated graphics, gameplay, and glitches/bugs. This is a vast game, trust me, as with Fallout 3, there is ALOT of game here. So bugs are understandable. But you will encounter them often just because of how open and non linear this game is. And unfortunately, frequent bugs CAN ruin the game and makes this for a frustrating unpolished product. Just because it's unpolished doesn't mean it's not fun, it just means for a little disappointment for the gamer. And I think alot of people feel a bit offended that they would release this product the way it is. But what I love about this game is still the same. I can spend hours and hours playing this. So far, I'm LOVING this game as much as Fallout 3. Hardcore mode is a nice touch but hasn't gotten me into tons of trouble yet. So when you have a formula, it's good to stick with it. But the players won't stick with it as long as you may think.... For the next game, they will have to reinvent the engine, reinvent the gameplay, and figure out a way to better debug this game. They cannot continue the series this way, it will not last. Given those words, not everyone will like this game. It deserves a higher score, really, it does. But it's been done before, and is more or less on the same level as Fallout 3. Expand
  39. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    First let's get the tech issues out of the way. Yes there are many. Some have been resolved, and some most likely never will. However, if you're looking to play this game, then you've probably played Fallout 3. If this is the case, the glitches with the game engine have not changed. Graphics look identical to Fallout 3 / Oblivion. The most agravating issue was the quicksave disappearing. I didn't realise it was an issue until, I got home from work to find that my first 2 hours (or more) were gone. Now I'm so paranoid that I still do a full (esc, save, pick a slot, confirm to overwrite, OK) save before I quit a session. Quicksave seems OK while playing though. As for performance, I find it identical to Fallout 3 on a Phenom II 965 / 6 Gb DDR 3 / ATI 4890. I played FO 3 on Phenom 9950 / 4 Gb DDR 2 / Same video card. I suspect that my recent upgrade has no impact on the performance of this game. If it does, I'll edit this review when my son gets his copy, as he has inherited my old machine. (Well, the major guts of it anyway.)

    The gameplay is pretty much the same as FO 3 and I'm sure that you've read enough by now to know about the factions, and the companion aspects that have been introduced. So I won't bore you with that. I do find New Vegas to be a wee bit harder than FO 3. In one situation I had to restart a battle with some Legionaires about 6 times, before I came up with a way to get out of the location alive. (I hate to admit this, but I killed them and then ran away like a total wuss until I could fast travel to a safe spot. Just like the kid giving his playground bullies the finger from the safety of Mom's car.) I love the sound effect when a new quest becomes available, and the few side quests I've completed are enjoyable. Now, that I'm no longer worried about losing my game progress, I enjoy playing this game as much as FO3. I does sort of play like an expansion, but from what I see so far, there is alot to do here. If you liked Fallout 3 on the PC, then I wouldn't hesitate to pick up New Vegas.
    Expand
  40. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I found Fallout New Vegas to be a refreshing turn from Fallout 3. The combat isn't spray and prey anymore, the spread of rifles is more logical, the ammo is great and 3 hours in and no enclave or super mutants which in Fallout 3 seemed to be the only opponents other than the occasional rad roach or feral. The binoculars don't zoom as far as I had hoped but they do help some. Other than that it's a great game and worth the money, for the PC that is, it has a few bugs and is obviously better as we have unofficial patches and mods for the PC. I wouldn't buy any bethesda game on the Xbox or Ps3. Expand
  41. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    There is a lack of reviews for this game this morning for some reason so I am posting this to help people out. Keep in mind I did not play for very long but this will give you something. I downloaded last night as pre-load from Steam and played a little before I went to work this morning. The game is similar to F3. Graphics seem a little better than the last game. My settings are Ultra High. I loved F3 but the dismal environment got depressing. The Mojave desert has some green cactus's mixed in and bright colors. This is a welcome change for me and I really like the new look. Weapons can also be modded. I really like this. Dev's said that scopes can be traded out on guns. I saw in pip boy that weapons had a choice to mod but I did not have any mods that early in game. The mods sound similar to Rainbow 6 Vegas 2 which I loved. First person shooting is a good addition I think instead of running away or backing up to rebuild AP. I did not play for very long(~40 minutes) but I did NOT notice long load times, clipping, or game breaking show stoppers such as those described in console reviews. This review is for PC. I understand it is not extensive but I am a little irritated by the lack of main stream reviews and decided to act instead of **** So far the game seems pretty impressive and solid for me. Can't wait to play when I get home.

    My system is quad core Phenom 2, 4870 GPU, 8 Gigs RAM, okay quality motherboard. Not trying to show off my system, just posting so you can compare.
    Expand
  42. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    Autosaves DO work, they are in your FalloutNV folder in My Documents, as a .bak file, just need renaming... give it a try, copy them all and plat around with what is the right one.

    Not the ideal solution, but this game is amazing, and this autosave bug is easily rectified
  43. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Bethesda does it again. Fallout: New Vegas is the epitome of, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." even the "bugs" that came with fallout 3, are a welcome site to see again. also, if you are wondering where the multi player mode is....in order for Bethesda to gain the rights to the fallout franchise, they had to sign into contract with Black Isle that they can only produce SINGLE player fallout games, not multi player. trust me, it's true, im not lying. go google it. Expand
  44. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Having enjoyed Fallout 3. I expected very much from Fallout New Vegas and it did not disappoint. These two games are similar yes, but not exactly the same. With slight graphical and technical improvements; New Vegas as much to offer for new and returning players. I have not come across any major glitches/bugs that effected my game play, but as well you cannot expect a new release to be 100% bug free. With a vast wasteland at your feet and countless hours to explore. Fallout New Vegas is well-worth its value. Expand
  45. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I loved part 3 and i haven't played part 1 and 2 *shame* I love the game engine, already loved it in oblivion and its still fantastic. great areas, nice indoor and tons of non scripted situations that make every step unique in this dangerous future scenario. Not perfect yet, but with dlc, patches and mods it gonna rock even more. 10 points because after the work that has to be done it would be an 11 or 12 score :) Expand
  46. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    I thought the game would be pretty much identical to F3, but it brings up some great improvements such as mods, a lot more weapons than the first, great dialogue and funny some times like in F3 and a slight graphical and technical improvement. I haven't played a lot, but since now there was no game break or tons of bugs like i was reading in almost all the xbox reviews. But overall if you liked the first one, buy this one. Expand
  47. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    With Fallout: New Vegas all I can say is that it's NOT a DLC that they just called another game just to rip you off full price... (cough cough left 4 dead 2). This game is a full fledged world with a full and descriptive story-line. The game has been given graphically, some touches here and there. This is things in game such as: Better looking characters, slightly farther viewing distance, better lighting and texture reactions to lighting, and flora has been touched on as well noticeably. All the new revamped sounds for the guns and weapons sound realistic as well now. Third person mode was fixed where it is now an "accurate" camera, so when I look at something in third person mode, now I can pick it up. So far, being 6 hours in, no major glitches are present, just some areas where my framerates will go from smooth 60 to 20, thats being around stuff like fire, smoke, dust-devils, etc. The new environment has been completely redone. I have seen almost NO repeating textures from Fallout 3, besides a few rocks and some dungeon floors maybe, but have noticed some reused stuff from oblivion such as glowing mushrooms or their dungeon looks. Aiming down the sights is now present and is actually accurate. Crouching now affects your aim more, which gives a more realistic approach to combat. Enemy AI are slightly changed with more aggressive, and conservative(by fleeing) enemies. The tons of new guns, plus a couple of classics like the 10mm pistol from FO3 are present. The new factions system is amazingly done, so many factions, and all of it is your choice openly on what to do to them. A full fledged crafting system is now in-game. Now you can create ammo types, Modify guns(stuff like silencers and scopes, barrels, etc.), and cook stuff from healing powders to anti venom. Enemies now are harder as well thanks to the new armor system. If I shoot a radscorpion, he is armored, it will tell me next to his health-bar. This gives the game a more RPG feel where tactics are involved. Some enemies now poison your character, requiring you to have anti venom. Hardcore mode makes the game allot more realistic. They should have called it realism mode because its not really more difficult, its just how you play. The food and drinking system is realistically paced, that means i only get dangerously thirsty/hungry/sleepy around the amount of time it take someone in real life to. It also makes stimpacks and foods heal over time instead of instantly. Character movements have been changed to look less robotic as well. This applies to stuff such as getting hit in the head and jumping and running animations. The map is around 3/4 the size of FO3, but guys, we all know that 1/4 of FO3's map was mob space anyways, just there to hold enemies. The other 3/4 where content filled, just like the WHOLE entire vegas map. Plants now grow around the wastes for you to pick and use to craft with, or just eat. About 9/10 of their perks i have seen so far you gain on leveling are cool and helpful, unlike its predecessor which had a broken perk system. The trait system is cool as well, and the game presents you with them simple and faster near the beginning. The start of the game has been improved so now you can get into the wasteland for "real" to play in less than a few minutes. So... Overall the game has been revamped, and I really love it. Its more shooter, and more rpg than FO3 was. I give it a 10/10 because this just perfected what FO3 tried to achieve, the perfect fallout world. Expand
  48. Oct 19, 2010
    9
    Awesome game! A lots of graphic improvements ... The audio is beautiful...
    Dont have the fallout 3 bugs... Now i cant minimize the game without crash it!
    The history takes your attention for hours!
    Recommended!
  49. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    A marvelous addition to the Fallout franchise. Even if the bugs prohibit some players to enjoy the game to it's fullest. They are a minor inconvenience to an otherwise excellent game. The story is compelling, the graphics still hold up to today's standards. Overall, an excellent and a must buy game.
  50. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I will keep this very short; There are bugs and slow downs on older systems. In terms of the gaming experience, I like the whole idea of scrounging in Post-Apocalypse and being able to craft your own gear, gadgets, mods, etc. I felt the npc interactions felt less generic and robotic than other games; char. creation with Doc Mitchell, and the "tutorial" with Sunny are good examples. This won't be for everyone, but I'm loving it so far. Too bad limit demos are a thing of the past. Anyone old enough to remember playing the first chapter of Doom for free? Expand
  51. Oct 20, 2010
    7
    Feels like a Fallout 3 expansion with a few new superficial bells and whistles, and a lot of new bugs-specifically its frustrating habit of losing save files. Also the VATS system is painfully slow on this one compared to Fallout 3 (played on the same computer).
  52. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Simply amazing. I am loving every second of this game, from crafting, to iron sights, to new quests, and the New Vegas strip. The dark humour from Fallout's 1 and 2 is back, and with the Wild Wasteland trait, the game is funnier than ever. Everything is balanced, from perks, to guns, to leveling, and even the enemies, although the cazadors are a bit hard to kill. The new locations really show off the beauty of the engine, and while there are some bugs, a patch came out today that's really working quite well. The voice acting is great and the characters, simply charismatic. Enjoy your stay. Expand
  53. Oct 20, 2010
    10
    Finally a return to what Fallout was really like. It might st ill be Oblivion with guns, but the story (and writing) is obviously much, MUCH more like it's origin's than Fallout 3 (okay, i'm a purist, I admit it).
  54. Oct 21, 2010
    2
    I'm very disappointed with this one, certainly a piss poor PC port. No in-game graphics options, can't even use standard windows shortcuts such as alt-enter, on that basis alone this game wouldn't even pass Games For Windows certification (not that I am a big GFWL fan mind you). Loads of graphical glitches, loads of gameplay glitches, terrible distance LODing. Despite seeing a lot of things that shouldn't be in a shipped game in the first few minutes I gave it more of a chance, after about 40 minutes of gameplay I realized that I had played this game before, except its previous incarnation was a lot less buggy.

    This is the last time i'll buy a game from these clowns (Obsidian/Bethesda) without carefully looking into it first, as a publisher/developer they certainly don't seem to care much for quality (at least for the PC version, I can't comment on PS3/XBox360). Infortunately, this was a day 1 purchase for me. I should have waited and read the reviews.
    Expand
  55. Oct 21, 2010
    10
    Finally the true Fallout 3 arrives. Thankfully for PC users we got the patch for bug fixes pushed out almost immediately, thus far I've encountered no issues playing the game-other than the compulsive need to continue playing long into the night. Fans can scoop up this game assured you'll be getting a wonderful game complete with all the dark humor, entertaining dialogue and pop culture references that have been staples of the franchise. Obsidian has crafted their first excellent game, something long overdue for such a talented but underutilized studio. Expand
  56. Oct 21, 2010
    6
    New Vegas is an example of a company that relies on brand recognition to sell an inferior product. Over 2 years ago, Fallout 3 was successful and profitable game. With Fallout: New Vegas, Bethesda decided to squeeze every last dollar out of the franchise by creating a game that should have been an expansion pack or downloadable content. The storyline is nearly identical to the previous game. The mechanics, combat, and interface have not changed. Even the graphics engine is the same one as Fallout 3. Bethesda did not even bother adding modern graphical effects with DirectX 10 or 11. The bugs are so incredibly obvious on the PC that anyone who was testing the game would have a list pages long after a couple hours of gameplay. This game should have been $19.99 as a downloadable expansion for Fallout 3. The PC version is clearly an afterthought, and it shows. New Vegas was written for a console, probably as a minor release, but at some point it was decided to make it a major, full priced release.

    But is it fun to play? Well, if you can get past the bugs, and perhaps after a few patches, then yes the game is enjoyable. If you liked Fallout 3, you'll like this game. But wait until it hits the bargain bin.
    Expand
  57. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    Fallout: New Vegas is a solid game with intriguing characters and a more vibrant landscape than Fallout 3. The re-use of building material skins and lack of new hairstyles feels lazy, but this is only a disappointment, not a major detriment to game play. Factions provide a new dimension, although the faction system is not as in-depth as players may like. Some have complained about the ability to carry faction armor, but it's enough of a drain on your weight limit you're unlikely to lug it around "just in case The new ammo system feels bulky at times, but offers new avenues of strategy to veteran players. The game has many annoyances that make me wonder how hard Bethesda was trying, especially in regards to invisible walls that make travel unduly difficult, but the writing is top-notch. If you loved Fallout 3 you'll be pleased with New Vegas, although it takes longer to immerse yourself in than it's predecessor. Expand
  58. Oct 21, 2010
    8
    Proof that the PC is still top dog when it comes to platform quality. While this game fails to deliver the thrill that made Fallout 3 the best RPG since Neverwinter Nights, its undeniable quality and "go anywhere" freedom make it an excellent example of the open world in an action RPG. Bugs and underwhelming story makes a non story focussed game only slightly less brilliant, and this title shimmers with quality and fun. Expand
  59. Oct 21, 2010
    4
    I've played each Fallout game since the first and I have to say I'm as disappointed with Fallout: New Vegas as I was with Fallout 3. I always thought it would be fun to have a 1st person perspective while playing Fallout 1, 2 and Tactics, but Bethesda simply does a poor job of it. New Vegas was rushed to market before it was ready much like Fallout 3. Wait for the bargain bin on this one.

    Positives: Obsidian does a MUCH better job of writing story lines and quests than Bethesda did. Good voice acting. New environment and (slight) movement forward in terms of the Fallout canon. Negatives: Its still Oblivion (LOLblivion) with guns. As others have posted, you think they would've improved the game engine and graphics by now! The VATS system makes the game laughably easy and you can kite any enemy in the game. If you play the game without VATS, the NPCs dodge and weave like a weasel on crack all while maintaining pinpoint accuracy. Although the stories for each quest is better, the execution is still murky at best as one wrong dialogue choice cuts off entire quests. Certain quests are only offered under poorly designed circumstances with NPCs not reacting to successful completions or acting as if you DIDN"T just save their whole city from bad guys. Final analysis: Rushed out to market before true completion in a manner typical of Bethesda. This is essentially DLC for Fallout 3 that they tried (and failed) to pass off as a stand alone game. Although the fan boys, "independent reviewers" and paid Bethesda employees will seek to skew these rating sites, the proof is in the lackluster sales and general negative, poor opinion of Bethesda.
    Expand
  60. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    FVegas seams as F3 + many unnecessary things... today 2010 year, but in game mouseaccel, invisible textures, strange hitbox, stupid NPC - it's goddam. SLAPDASH!!!!
    score 5 for music from F1 & F2
  61. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    The game is very well done considering it's storyline, quests, new features. The only real problem (which in my opinion is exaggerated) is lack of graphic improvement and bugs.

    Graphics are already very good to being with, especially considering that fallout 1 and 2 had very bad graphics by modern standards, yet it was quality of storyline and freedom that made people fall in love with
    these games. Thus, in my humble opinion lack of graphics improvement is of a very little importance.

    In regard to shooting I have to say that it actually improved in relation to Fallout 3(especially iron sights, which I love.) People who whine about it not being as good as in Call of Duty are forgetting that this is RPG and not a SHOOTER.

    I, during my 5 hours of playing had not experienced a single crash, or a major bug. Only common bug I saw in the game was that NPCS would sometime get stuck in some objects
    Also quick saves and auto saves do not work after game is restarted, but I am pretty sure that will be fixed, if not already, very soon. Any other bugs are rare or not annoying.

    People who said that game is laggy are crazy. I play on all the highest settings (ultra high, with resolution of 1440x900 or something like that) and I never experienced a lag. My computer stats are Quad 2.4HZ 4GB memory, 260GTX Invidia.

    If you are a fan of RPG in any way, this is a must buy.
    Expand
  62. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    I will just say one thing to those people who are talking crap about this brilliant game. I am a big fan of Fallout franchise and this one is also a masterpiece in this franchise. Yes i admit one thing the graphics are not good but if you just look at graphics then u can't be a gamer. If u really are a gamer then just stick to the gameplay. And plzzz don't talk any other crap about this brilliant game plzzz.. Expand
  63. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    This is what games should be like. This is a mature game, for those that really want to invest in a game and immerse in the storyline. If you're looking for an on-rails shooter just let this game go and go buy one of the 99% of boring same games out there.

    The storyline sucks you in and is much more loyal to the 2 first amazing fallout games. Sure the graphics are dated, and there are the
    occasional bugs, but the game is challenging (especially in hardcore mode) interesting and keeps you coming for more.

    And finally it's an RPG whose storyline is not: The end is coming (the blight, the horde, the dark forces or whatever) and you're the one who has to stop it...There's an original story with much more complex and interesting elements.

    If what I mentioned above is what you're looking for in a game, go get it RIGHT NOW
    Expand
  64. Oct 24, 2010
    10
    Fallout New Vegas is hands down the best game of the year. Surpassing FO3 in all aspects. The New Vegas world is much more interactive and better made than the FO3's world. The graphic were only slightly improved but the great amount in the game you cannot blame them for not giving the game a major makeover. The new game play aspects are amazing such as hardcore mode, the revamp of the workbench and campfires. Yes there are quite a few bugs but nothing as disastrous as the major glitches in FO3. Definitely worth the time! Expand
  65. Oct 24, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fallout: New Vegas has grown in so many ways. Numerous more weapons, voice actors, skins, apparel, and factions to side with. Also, there are numerous new ways to advance your character past the old kill, pick, hack, coerce, complete quest experience gain. Now there are challenges to complete that sometimes supply a new perk, two extra traits to choose during character creation, and even the choice of your companion can offer a perk (Ex. Boone's Spotter perk). Hardcore mode does not seem as hardcore as it could, as you can easily find food, water, and a place to sleep, and making the stimpaks and radaways tick per second only causes a few retries on the tougher encounters. At launch many people had saving issues which is a nightmare for those who lost and couldn't find their many hours of game data, though the manual save feature has and still does work. Graphics seem improved due to the amount of what is to be seen on the screen during larger battles and the entry of New Vegas Strip. The decisions of the player make for a different ending each time, but once you complete the main story line, do not expect to continue on unless you have an old save file. New Vegas has proved to be an impressive title that lives up to most of its fans expectations. Expand
  66. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    Lots of bunk little reviews on here - scores of 2 and 3, you people should get a bit of a grip. Truth is: FNV isn't perfect. But as many have said, it is the game FO3 should have been. Although the map is smaller, the world just feels so much more alive, for a large part because of the factions fighting amongst themselves. FO3 was a great sandbox game, but FNV is simply better: the combat feels more balanced, hardcore mode turns a shooter with RPG edge into an RPG with a shooter edge. The music is great. The graphics aren't great, but they're more than up to task of drawing you in. VATS is as great as ever, but it's good that crits drop you into slo-mo outside of VATS now too. Melee weapons are a lot more fun. But most importantly: the quests, the world and the dialog are a lot more believable and enjoyable than FO3's. If you enjoyed FO3, consider that a trial run and just get FNV, You'll love it. If you didn't like FO3, I'm not sure this will convince you. But at the end of the day, this is simply one of the best RPG's available on PC. Expand
  67. Oct 25, 2010
    9
    Obsidian realized with New Vegas what Bethesda intended with Fallout 3. Upon first inspection, New Vegas appears to be a reskin of Fallout 3 set near the west coast. However, Obsidian brings to the table the character, design elements, and moral ambiguity of the original two Fallout games to New Vegas, overhauling the game's mechanics to fall more in line with what we traditionally associate with Fallout: You are imperfect, and you must use your personalized assets as best as you can to make it through. Whereas Fallout 3 afforded you a "Perk" every level, New Vegas cuts that down to once every two levels, and generally gives you fewer opportunities to morph your character into an all-in-one death-god. Also new to the game is the concept of "Damage Threshold" for armor, introducing a game mechanic which would require that you use heavier weapons for armored targets or face the risk of wasting rapid-fire ammo and meeting your death.

    Obsidian also included a "Hardcore" mode which seems more like the intended way of playing, rather than the optional feature that it's hyped up to be. Much like your radiation meter, in Hardcore you now have Hunger, Thirst, and Sleep meters which slowly creep up while you quest through the Mojave Wasteland, necessitating that you sleep, eat, and drink at semi-regular intervals. Crippled limbs are also much more of a hindrance in Hardcore mode, as they can only be healed by one of three routes: By paying a doctor, using a Doctor's Bag, or using "Hydra", a drug that regenerates your limbs.

    Game mechanics aside, New Vegas is to Fallout 3 what Fallout 2 was to Fallout 1. It builds and improves upon every aspect of it's predecessor, at the cost of building a game as large and intricate as a house of cards. Because there are so many different questlines, so many different ways you can do things, it's likely that at some point, you will break the game. The greatest criticism right now with New Vegas is that it has bugs. Anyone who's played Fallout since the 90s knows, however, that bugs crawling out from under the series' ambition has always plagued Fallout games. Fallout 1 and 2 have had unofficial patches from the community, fixing bugs and adding content that was originally planned; Obsidian and Bethesda are obligated to patch the game after release, as bugs are found, but if they treat this game the way they did Fallout 3 and Oblivion before it, you can expect to see a community patch in the future as well.

    However, despite release-day bugs, the game is solid, it's epic, and it will move you. I'm convinced that those who have rated this game below a 6 or 7 on the basis of "bugs" are harboring greater, older prejudices, and are looking for some justification to smear this game on the account of it not being a "true sequel" to the original two Fallout games. (ie, produced by Black Isle in the 2d isometric turn-based style)

    The soundtrack consists of sweeping ambient melodies as those found in Fallout 3, and also a brand new setlist of 50s era music, with a decidedly more "western" or "Vegas" feel (Sinatra, songs about cowboys, etc). The graphics engine is still running on a modified GameBryo engine (the same that powered Oblivion and Fallout 3) but Obsidian has manipulated the engine to great effect in order to make the world more "alive". In the opening town, Goodsprings, you'll find tumbleweeds floating around and sand twisting in the wind. As you travel from place to place, you find that atmosphere is much more diverse than Fallout 3's bleak rubble.

    The storyline is also much less contrived for you, allowing you to decide your allegiances just as you like, without feeling penned into a Good vs Evil storyline that mired Fallout 3. No single faction is purely good; Expect to make some hard choices if you want to play morally. Altogether, I'm giving this game a 9, because it'll suck you in, keep you involved, and even when you beat it, you're going to want to start one new character after another to try every route that you couldn't take in your previous playthrough. The only downsides are the bugs and the outdated graphics engine, but neither of those get noticeably in the way of the overall gameplay or storyline, which are the two big draws for this title. If the game was properly polished (which is unimaginable for QA testers considering the overall breadth and depth of the game) it would deserve a perfect 10.

    As for New Vegas, the game is as much a sequel as it is a spinoff, but I think I'm in love. Ain't that a kick in the head?
    Expand
  68. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    First of all, I'll agree that the game "seems" like it could have just been an expansion (a very large one) on fallout 3. It does use the same buggy engine, much of the same resources (textures, even buildings are reused in a cut & paste fashion from FO3 in some places) and has many of the same mechanics. However, there are also a number of new mechanics, and features that weren't in FO3, many that have come back from FO1 & 2 (traits, etc).

    I'm going to start with the criticisms first, then move on to the good parts, as I like reviews that end happy...

    My harshest criticisms come from two main areas: 1. They've had 2 years to update the textures... the modding community updated them within the first couple months. Sure, the character models on the PC have better detail, but overall the textures are the same quality as FO3. Don't get me wrong, New Vegas is pretty, but they SHOULD have upgraded the textures that are used throughout most of the game. If it was done this way to accommodate the 360/PS3, then they should have had the option for the PC crowd (like Civ5 asking to run in DX9 vs. DX10, or Eve Online & LotRO's high res packs). Thankfully, I got the game for the PC via Steam and can count on the modding community to update the textures for me. Console players will have no such luck.

    2. Bugs... OMG are there a lot of bugs and really bad ones. There's nothing that stops you from technically competing the game (that I've seen) but there are a number of quest related bugs where people/object just disappear, etc. In the PC version which is what I'm playing, it is very common to experience CTDs (Crash to Desktop). I've experienced well over a dozen in 15+ hours of play. Even after the recent patches this has not improved (though some quests are now playable). There are also little glitches like NPCs freezing (becoming immobile and immortal) in the middle of a gun fight.. This is easily fixed by entering a new area such as a building then re-entering. But it SHOULD have been caught in QA. Many of the present bugs are those that existed in FO3, so IMO there is little excuseâ
    Expand
  69. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    Why do i get the feeling i just paid $100 dollars to run Beta for a large gaming production? I paid this money so that i can put a disk in my PC load on a game and float away in an imaginary world, instead im stuck patching this, installing a lost .dll file, changing a wordpad doc while clapping my heads and spinning around backwards saying i got suckered by a large game production company. EPIC FAIL. As faithfull as i am still to this game, me and all of those having these problems shouldt be put through this.. i didint pay 'Beth' money so that i can read up forums and fix the game myself!! Expand
  70. Oct 26, 2010
    6
    Downloaded from steam, missing a d3d9 file in the download, completely broken, took an hour of googling to find it was the same fault from fallout 3 which was not adressed, very buggy and stutters a LOT, gets better after a while, like fallout 3 but differrent setting, no real game changes, its like a huge expansion pack to fallout 3, not actually too bad a game would have been an 8 without the hours spent trying to fix it myself. Expand
  71. Oct 27, 2010
    2
    I'm giving this a 2. FO:NV feels like Elder Scrolls ported into Fallout 3 and given a slap of user forum content feedback veneer and released while in beta.

    A piss poor PC port using a dated engine, bringing nothing new to the table; FTW example of how to milk a franchise without improving the game. If you MUST buy it, expect bugs, crashes, graphic instabilities galore.
  72. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    To simply put it is amazing, idk what derpderpderp is talking about, the graphics are nice, shooting mechanics are great. Simple, no long review, my review is in the number!
  73. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    All-in-all Fallout: New Vegas is not a bad game, the problem is that itâ
  74. Oct 28, 2010
    1
    This game started well...but since I'm unable to play further I can not rate it higher than 1. Did they even have a QA department? I refuse to believe that this game is "so big that it's impossible to properly test it" excuse given by them. I accepted that it was almost like playing a mod in Fallout 3 (really the graphics are almost identical) but the fact that it stopped working after 14 hours of gameplay (my last four save games refuse to load)...now the only option I have is to lose several hours (4+) of gameplay (which means redo the last four hours of scavening, killing, etc.).

    I've patched, tweaked, etc. and I just can't get those save games to load again (the backups also don't work)...if I'd know this before I could probably have just replayed the same bits over again instead of trying to fix it but now I'm afraid to commit any more time to this with the same problem repeating itself later on. Quite frankly I'm going to try and get my money back for this bug infested excuse of a release.
    Expand
  75. Oct 28, 2010
    7
    Its a decent game, not as good as fallout 3

    HOWEVER to all of you bashing Bethesda for this, you are wrong to do so. Reason being? BETHESDA DID NOT MAKE THIS GAME OBSIDIAN DID.
  76. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    This game does not deserve the low scores it is getting. Doesn't deserve a 10, but certainly not a 0-5. It's a fun game. I have not found any glitches yet. Aside from jumping sideways instead of forward when running after not jumping for a while, that's about it. Story line isn't as good as FO3, but i'm thoroughly enjoying the game. There are plenty of changes in the game that give it a different feel than aforementioned FO3. If you liked #3, there's a very good chance you'll enjoy New Vegas. That is all. Expand
  77. Oct 31, 2010
    5
    While the Fallout universe is undeniably fun and compelling, New Vegas is badly let down in the quality department, a criticism levelled at Fallout 3 and Oblivion as well.

    While the game is bug-ridden (creatures spawning inside rocks, the player falling into cracks in the geometry, etc.) the greatest flaw is in the writing. The story is cumbersome and boring; the dialogue is dull, wordy,
    repetitive and uninteresting; the voice acting lacks any real direction - character lines are delivered limply, even by the "big name" actors. Inappropriate casting choices also hamper immersion (the choice of John Doman as Caesar is particularly bizarre).

    Bethesda - get better writers and better voice directors. Your game has once again been sabotaged by a lack of quality.
    Expand
  78. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    To me, the most stunning part of this game is the DLC. Not that you can't have a bunch of fun without it. It's just super fun to explore the new dynamics. Highly recommend Old World Blues and Honest Hearts
  79. Nov 1, 2010
    7
    The problem with F:NV isn't that there's not enough "new", there's plenty. The problem is that it's just not as polished as the original, at least where the PC version is concerned. It seems strange to me that I was able to run the original on full settings without a hiccup out of the box on older hardware, while this version never ceased to give me difficulties (on new hardware), exacerbated by having to exit out of the game entirely in order to tweak settings. The game play itself hasn't really changed (the new companion option is pretty sweet, but nothing really dramatic), and the story and quests are both phenomenal, so if you liked the last installment, you owe it to yourself to at least give this one a chance. Just be warned that as far as the PC goes, this one is a much rougher model than the last. Hopefully it'll be fixed up in a patch or two. Expand
  80. byF
    Nov 2, 2010
    7
    In comparison with Fallout 3, Fallout: New Vegas offers completely different experience. Despite the overall "ugliness" its atmosphere drags you in. The game design itself doesn't lack logic and dialogues are pretty fine and meaningful (voice acting contributes to that). It really reminds me of lovely grandpas, Fallout 1 and 2 (and it's full of references; especially with Wild Wastelander trait - must-have for any player who is familiar with Fallout before FO3) Expand
  81. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    A lot of fun. I have been almost completely bug free, though I've heard about a lot of bugs on the x-box version. The main quest is a bit laking, but the huge interesting world is a blast to explore, and the general gameplay is very enjoyable.
  82. Nov 16, 2010
    9
    This is an update of my previous review. The score has been adjusted upward from 8/10 to 9/10.

    Atmosphere. Atmosphere never changes, and it's everywhere in Fallout: New Vegas. The game literally drips with ambiance, clever plots, and interesting characters. In many ways, F:NV is the sequel that FO3 should have been, with much tighter writing and plenty of the series' trademark black
    humor. I've been continually impressed with the actual fun factor of the game. There are no cookie cutter quests, no boring grinds. Every task is unique. Also, the sheer extremism of some of the factions can provoke a visceral reaction. You'll understand what I mean after a few brushes with the men in skirts. This is a true RPG with plenty of meat to its bones, but also a heavily tactical shooter that demands specialization and punishes hesitation. In short, the gameplay absolutely rocks. So why isn't it a ten? A handful of reasons, most of them regarding the aging Gamebryo engine. To note, the Facegen and DirectX problems that plagued earlier versions have finally been fixed, and the majority of players can now have a smooth Wasteland experience! Kudos to Bethesda, although they should have taken care of these issues pre-release.

    Loading stutters will still happen, even on high end machines. AI behavior can be downright goofy (sometimes intentionally). The graphics are noticeably dated, although still pretty. There isn't a great deal of musical variety on the radios, although incredible mods like CONELRAD and Existence 2.0 rectify this situation quite nicely. There are a whole host of minor flaws and little bugs that mar the experience. Despite this, it is an amazing game and well worth the caps... err... cash.

    The only reason I would not recommend this is if you don't like the post-apocalyptic genre in general or the Fallout series in particular. Otherwise, pony up and get ready for Vegas.
    Expand
  83. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    Who ever sais that new vegas is a bad Bugged game then u either dont update or have a bad computer.
    Im a huge fan of the fallout series and they are awsome rpg's. I admit it's alot like F3 and could have been named a complete expansion, but the mods and new ammo along with gambling really gave it a different feel. Even with a phew moments of scratching your head seeing an npc walking
    above the ground or stuck outside the map bethesda/obsidian has made a game of great proportions. Expand
  84. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    Another great game from Bethesda! A lot of improvement since Fallout 3, a really long and intense playtrough with a bunch of side quest.
    The story is more open ended (like Fallout and Fallout 2) than Fallout 3, and reintroduce the reputation system.
    Of course, the PC version maintain the community modding feature... the secret of success of Bethesda games.

    Hope to see soon some quality
    DLC... maybe like Point Lookout.
    Like I've already say this game is great, and have the potential to improve even more with Mods and DLC.
    Expand
  85. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    It's a good game, more morally ambiguous and darker than FO3, and with a less linear main story. However things like bugs (mostly in the engine), a few design flaws like excess of items in inventory, messed up marking of objects as theft, and too few levels (as a repeated flaw), mean that it does fall short of the original FO3 in my opinion. One great new addition is binoculars and scopes that actually work, making sniping and reconnaissance viable (and advantageous!). The engine is showing it's age and the radio feature didn't seem as good as FO3 as well. There is also less humour, which does seem strange since this is supposedly by a team with a lot of Black Isle members. However it's still good, and a welcome fresh twist on the original FO3. Expand
  86. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    Simply awesome game! I never really enjoeyd fallout 3, but this is really a blast. On my third playthrough and im still having a great time with all the customization etc. I have hope in the mods as well.

    Rated 9/10 and not 10 because of the various glitches (Steam's erasing 5 hours of gameplay, horrible fps without the player fix, dog's eyes out of head, people in the roof/walls, etc,
    mostly not game-breaking) Expand
  87. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This game is what I had hoped it would be and more. I loved Fallout 3 but I hated the persistent crashes. So far, FONV has run without a hitch. There is definitely improvements on the user-interface. The story and dialogue are outstanding....and it's gangster noir western, via the Vegas backdrop, is awesome. If you loved FO3 and Las Vegas, then you will probably love FONV. Obsidian has earned my respect after the NWN2 debacle. Cheers!!! Expand
  88. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    A good game for sure, but it could definitely use much more polish. The game mechanics from Fallout 3 have been slightly improved, and a hardcore mode makes the game feel more immersive. But unfortunately, the game suffers from a handful of not horrible, but annoying bugs. An outdated graphics system is visible all across the Mojave (the lack of an in-game graphics interface should be noted as well), and a very predictable storyline that reads much like that of its predecessor is a big let-down. Expand
  89. Nov 6, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fallout: New Vegas seems to be too close to the previous series, but after a few minutes you understand the striking difference which is altough not enough to reborn Fallout franchise, unfortunately.11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111 Expand
  90. Nov 7, 2010
    6
    While I like the story and playing the game was entertaining, Fallout: New Vegas still suffers from the Bethesda curse of being riddled with bugs and glitches. One thing that is very highly rated by me is character development. Bethesda giving development back to Obsidian was definitely a good move. All of your companion's backgrounds and personality were well made (my personal favorite being Veronica). The storyline was also a step up from Fallout 3. In Fallout 3 your decisions for the end were, be a good guy or be a good guy. In New Vegas there were multiple endings, which is something I also like. The game play was just more of the same. Playing the game felt like Fallout 3, but more brown instead of gray. Although I felt that there was some tuning the shooting mechanics. Some, but not a lot. There was also a lot more quests and locations to visit, making the game, I felt, longer and more satisfying than Fallout 3. Now we get to my biggest problem with this game. Bugs. Lots and lots of bugs and glitches. I'm not sure when it became okay to release a game that isn't finished, but Bethesda seems to be able to make all of their games that way. I would understand if there was a bugs here and there, but sadly this isn't the case. There are bugs that make you stuck in one place, bugs that break quests, bugs that remove your companions from the world completely, bugs that will halt the storyline completely and many, many, many more. The fact that Bethesda seems to think this is okay is quite upsetting. In the PC version there is the console, which while can be cool at times, but mostly I find myself quickly reaching for the "~" key because something broke on me. If you don't mind doing quite the amount of debugging then New Vegas is worth picking up. I would wait until Steam puts it on sale though. Expand
  91. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    Worthy follow up to fallout 3. You'll never find a game that gives you more freedom than this. Minor bugs and glitches are all excused. To give an idea of what you are free to do, someone completed the whole without killing any people or animals! Took him a 70 hours run though hehe.
  92. Apr 2, 2011
    6
    If you can get past the very slow start and enemies rendering slowly, but still shooting you, then this game is a must own for hardcore fans. But if this is your first RPG you are probably going to get bored and possibly regret your purchase.
  93. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    I've been playing this for a week now and I can safely say that this is my game of the year. Better in every imaginable way than Fallout 3, if you think FO3 is just "OK" or above you owe it to yourself to buy this game. Fantastic job by Obsidian. There are some technical issues but again, much less and not so severe as in FO3. All in all a nearly perfect game that can only get better (by official patches/DLCs and the very active mod community) Expand
  94. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Awesome! Another great job by the guys and gals at Obsidian. Thanks a bunch for an excellent game! Just getting started but I love all that I've seen so far.
  95. Jov
    Nov 9, 2010
    9
    To preface, I'm a fan of The Elder Scrolls series (though I've grown distaste for Bethesda as a company in the past few years), and thoroughly enjoyed Fallout 3. I'm also a bit of a mature gamer.

    I am loving New Vegas. I feel it is an improvement/refinement of Fallout 3 in every way. The difficulty (at Hard/Hardcore mode) is sufficient. The wasteland feels a bit more empty this time
    around (less enemies), but this also feels more realistic.

    One of the things I actually like, is the main quest feels a lot less prominent than almost any game I've played. There is obviously a primary quest, but once you reach a certain point the game doesn't forcefeed you motivation to complete it. It's just there. The game truly feels like an open world, and it a pretty genuine one, at that.

    The weapons are cool, and the weapon mods are a great addition. They are expensive; Giving you something to spend your heaps of money on, which Bethesda has never been so great at. The armor and weapons are also pricey, they are tempting, but I've held off on buying any.

    The bugs are very minor to me. The only one that I have really had a problem with is the save corruption bug, but that is avoidable so long as you avoid the Come Fly With Me quest, and avoid Vault 34 (?). So, having skirted one quest and all vaults, I've had a more or less bug-free experience.

    This game is great fun, with lots of unnecessary dialogue that serves purely to enrich the game world, with much better voice acting than Bethesda ever accomplished. I'm more than satisfied with Obsidian, and wouldn't mind if they made TES:V, because I think Bethesda is losing their touch.
    Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    If you liked Fallout 3, you may very well like Fallout: New Vegas. They have a lot of similarities; the only reason I can't be sure is that I didn't like Fallout 3, so I don't know what it's like to be you.

    If you liked Fallout 1 or Fallout 2, you probably hated Fallout 3's hackneyed dialogue writing, awful plot, cookie-cutter characters etc. and expect to hate New Vegas because it'll be
    more of the same. I know *exactly* what that is like. Now that I've completed the game, though, I may definitively state - FNV is *not* more of Fallout 3. This game is what fans of the real Fallout games have been waiting for. The game is a big fat diamond covered in **** Most of the **** is Bethesda's perennially buggy engine, topped with a generous helping of rushed-release-belying content bugs. Extra stink is added in the form of very inconsistent voice acting - some is brilliant (Primm Slim, Benny), while some is inexcusably bad, with cases of actors clearly not understanding the semantics of the line they're reading, or obviously-Caucasian characters having obviously-African-American voice actors and vice versa. I began to dread encountering a similar mix-up but with the genders reversed; thankfully I never did.

    All that said, I don't think I'd turn down a diamond covered in **** if it were offered to me just because it was covered in **** and neither should you. The game is visually limited to reusing a lot of Bethesda content, but all the new art was clearly made by people who understand what the Fallout aesthetic is supposed to be like. FNV's dialogue hearkens back to the games that made the series great, exposing Fallout 3's writers for the intellectual midgets they are, and the game's plotting is compelling (for an epic hero story, which all modern RPG's seemingly must be) and flows well. You will not be left asking yourself why an incredibly obvious solution to a problem was not possible in the game; the game's factions range from darkly humorous to just dark, but they (and their actions) all make sense in context. The game allows actual choice (not merely the illusion thereof) in the player's approaches to problem-solving, and does not exhibit Press Blue To Win Syndrome. For those who didn't play Mass Effect 2, what I mean to say is that many choices have real consequences in that they are mutually exclusive - you cannot consistently have your cake and eat it too.
    Expand
  97. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Fallout: New Vegas plays like Fallout 3 and feels like Fallout 2. Fallout games have been in my top 5 since it first came out. I love the atmosphere the games create. The landscape it puts you in. The non-linear gameplay it presents. The humor and pop-culture references. The stories they create. New Vegas is another great addition to the Fallout universe. There are a lot of tie-ins in the game with the original Fallout games. It builds on the lore and stories of the world without bogging down the main story for new players with it. The atmosphere is just as good as previous ones. It was a wonderful surprise to hear the same ambient music from Fallout 2. The acting was great, especially with being reminded of Dave Foley when you first hear the Yes Man. (and later I found out it was actually Dave Foley voicing him). The story was great, and realistic considering the setting. But like all Fallout games, the best stories are the ones you create for yourself. Those little adventures off the main path, to explore that cave or abandoned shack you see in the distance or those gun shots you heard from just over the hill. It should please old fans greatly and appeal to new fans as much as Fallout 3 did.

    Cons: - The graphics are ok, but this almost being 2011, should be a little better. I would expect them to improve in the next Fallout game.
    - For some reason I really really wanted MORE music on the radio stations. It didn't seem like they had enough this time around. But it was still great voice acting!
    - Hardcore mode doesn't seem to be hardcore enough. But a wonderful addition nonetheless!
    - I don't understand why you can't fully rotate the camera.
    - Invisible walls. There are a lot more of then in New Vegas then Fallout 3. I explore a lot, and when I can't go over a 4 foot high hill due to an invisible wall, that is really really really really disappointing and take you out of the experience. Then you have to walk around it.. there's no excuse for this in today's games, but a lot of games STILL have that. New Vegas, more so then others.
    - The bugs that everyone is apparently having is sure a downer. If anything that's staying true to the Fallout franchise. Every Fallout game was loaded with bugs on release. Fallout 2 even had a community patch to fix most of them. This is nothing new in the video game world. I however did not experience any "game ending" bugs. Out of the 80 some hours I put into it, its crashed once. And I had 1 buggy quest that I had to use the console command to fix, since I seemingly did it out of order. And that's it.

    If anyone wants a wild theory as to why my game is preforming so much better then others with almost no bugs, maybe its because I have a weird need to open the door to every bathroom stall I come across? Just a theory that holds as much weight as some of the complaints for this game.

    I was however impressed with how fast patches started to come out of the game. The day after release was a major patch even. So people who are giving it a bad review for the bugs, let me ask you this, would you give it a better review if you played it, say a month after release? I can't see how you would not.
    Expand
  98. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Ah, Fallout. A wonderful world, and always great to return to. This time around, with Obsidian developing it, things are looking up. For one, the story is better. While similar in parts, this time you get to chose who the "bad guy" can be (as compared to Fallout 3's Enclave being the certified enemies). This also falls in place with the Reputation system, which is very nice, although a bit annoying at some parts. You can now go around and get the worst karma, but as long as members of same faction don't know about it, then they will simply treat you the same. Its very nice, although it seems like you can quickly get a bad reputation with any faction very quickly, and will hopefully be fixed in future patches. Weapon mods are also in, however so far they don't seem to make a huge difference. The real winner for this game is the sheer amount of stuff packed into this world. So many quests, side quests, choices, companions, minigames, and they all seem to have different objectives. Another wonderful aspect is while violence is always acceptable, there are a lot more choices for dialogue, sneaking, and alternative methods to finish quests that, in Fallout 3, would probably end in a bloody shootout. One of the best games of the year, in my opinion, and deserves RPG of the Year, if not Game of the Year. Expand
  99. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    I loved fallout 3, but new vegas just seems old, dated, slow and boring. It is pretty much the same game just worse, or maybes fallout 3 wasn't really that good after all and when i was playing it i had nothing better to do. I don't know, all I know is this game is boring, I played it for a week then had no desire to play again. Such a shame.
  100. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Saying that this game is less than extraordinary would be a lie, that is, in terms of "RPG and action" that game is an epic, the game has it all: freedom, good story, game-play and an extraordinary game system, which is very similar to Fallout 3 (for players over time), but of course the game is not perfect, it has some glitches and bugs, but this is a very weak reason not to try this game, which will surely epoch. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. May 27, 2011
    88
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Apr 21, 2011
    65
    Despite Obsidian's fan-service, Fallout: New Vegas is a heaping pile of bugs.
  3. Mar 18, 2011
    82
    Fallout: New Vegas looks like an Add On to Fallout 3, but that should not mean, that it's a copy of its forerunner. It scores with an great atmosphere, nice story and all the typical and awesome Fallout features.