Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3095 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fallout: New Vegas TV Ad
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 51 out of 566
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    This is REAL fallout I expected. Fallout's identity is post-post apocalypse game, which tells us story of rising factions and rebuildingThis is REAL fallout I expected. Fallout's identity is post-post apocalypse game, which tells us story of rising factions and rebuilding society after nuclear war. Fallout 3 was just common post apocalypse game. I think there is just one defect in this game. Ending of this game, especially Lonesome Road DLC was not very good. But overall, this is really good game and I recommend this game strongly. Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    In my opinion, which shouldn't carry a lot of weight, Bethesda really nailed this one. The sheer number of things to do, whether doing all theIn my opinion, which shouldn't carry a lot of weight, Bethesda really nailed this one. The sheer number of things to do, whether doing all the many quests, or joining a faction, or even just exploring and collecting unique weapons. this game brought to you something Bethesda didn't do, something black isle did in the original 2 fallouts, it gave you choices, a good story, and fun, you dont have to use VATS to win, like in fallout 3, if you like aiming with guns, use the ironsights, makes it more fun, and even feels better to play with, instead of pausing the game every 2 seconds to aim at some guy trying to kill you, you can just aim at him and let it rip. then you get the DLC...4 of them, all with a great story, that all tie together in a little way with the original game, bethesda...i take my hat off to you, Great job. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    A very impressive game, addicting too. There is alot of quests to do and the only flaw about this game is the travelling, it takes too longA very impressive game, addicting too. There is alot of quests to do and the only flaw about this game is the travelling, it takes too long and there should be some vehicles or something to make you run alot faster. There isnt much of a storyline... You're meant to deliver a package but you get betrayed and shot in the head. You get revived by a doctor and you seek out revenge to kill Benny (your killer) Expand
  5. May 12, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    8
    Utterly amazing game, if you expected Obsidian to re-invent the wheel that was Fallout 3 you will be sadly dissapointed. Despite this theyUtterly amazing game, if you expected Obsidian to re-invent the wheel that was Fallout 3 you will be sadly dissapointed. Despite this they have managed to tweak the games mostly for the better but at it's core it's just more Fallout 3, and when you consider what a brilliant game that was it's not necesarily a bad thing.

    However seeing how it essentially the same game with a differant story I urge you to pick up Fallout 3 if you are new to the series as it can be found in stores or online for about half the price.
    Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2018
    0
    **** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy**** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy anything from people who have been able to fix something like this for 5 years Expand

See all 566 User Reviews