User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 94
  2. Negative: 6 out of 94

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    This game is a great strategic type game. I also love to mess around with the multiplayer aspect, no one plays it really, but it's fun to have a friend over and make some custom characters and mow each other down once in a while. I think if tactics ever became a flash web game for multiplayer it would do great! As far as the actual game goes, I don't really recall much of a story line, I don't think it really claims to have one either, it's more managing your characters and setting up combat. If you really wanted a story I'm sure you could piece it together through missions but that would probably be annoying. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Fallout Tactics is a great game. Anyone who says this doesn't deserve the name "Fallout" hasn't played Fallout. The story is great, entertaining, and engaging, and straight out of the Fallout fiction. While the RPG elements of the previous two Fallout installments are mostly absent, Fallout Tactics gives you complete control of each member of your party down to the clothes they wear, the guns they carry, and exactly what they do. As you travel the wastes, you can pick up additional team members and types, making the customizability of this game and replayability immense. I have played and replayed this game multiple times, as the graphics and gameplay have stood up over the years quite well. My only complaint is the linearity of the storyline, but even then you can just go wander the wastelands if you feel like it, which is fun in itself (albeit dangerous). I wish I could find a game as well put together as Fallout Tactics these days. Expand
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    I don't understand all of the critical negativity surrounding this game (outside of Metacritic, that is!). It was never meant to be a direct sequel to the first two Fallout titles and yet it gets judged as if it were one time and time again. It's a combat strategy game with some adventure/RPG elements set in the Fallout universe. It also happens to be fairly good. It's aged reasonably well and I recommend it, as long as you're not planning to hold it to the light of the original Fallout titles. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Fallout Tactics is a neglected masterpiece. This game gets so much right: Great atmosphere, Great sound., Great level design. Great character levelling. Great Tactical combat. However the game also falls off badly in the second half. meaning that it is hard to appreciate all the brilliant design by the time you finish it. The way the game finlly ends and fails is tragic: : It is too linear and so is a kind of long railroad rather than a role playing game with any meaningful choices in it. The inventory system is wonderful, but unfortunately most inventory choices become redundant in the second half of the game by which time the player team is way overpowered and the game thus becomes dull, and boring before it reaches its final, rather uninspired conclusion. This is a game that badly needs to be rebuilt and perfected. The fundamentals are so good, that this could be the basis for a brilliant, brilliant role playing experience Expand
  5. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    This is a really decent tactical squad game, i bought it as an x-com refugee looking for more of the same and was not disappointed. The building of your squad and play style is reminiscent of baldurs gate and you may nostalgically recognize more than a few voices throughout.

    It loses a mark for a few bugs to do with enemy miniguns and the annoying random attacks when you travel.
    72
    hours in Sept, 2013. Expand
  6. Nov 2, 2013
    7
    I started with the newer Fallout games. Then about a year ago I decided to pick up the triple pack (Fallout 1, 2, and this one. At first, I didn't quite understand this game. It was confusing, felt a little weird and such. I got a few missions in and I have to say that it isn't all that bad. I was astonished by the graphics of the cutscenes. A little disappointing in the linear gameplay.
    Though if the original 2 games had combat like this, it would be nearly perfect.
    I say around a 7 or 7.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    A very different idea to the original fallouts while still visually looking similar and concentrating on the same universe. Fallout tactics concentrates on... well.. tactics. And it does it well. Imagine Jagged Alliance in the fallout universe.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's simply too frenetic in spots for some tastes. Still, that's a fairly minor quibble with what is undoubtedly one of the more enjoyable strategy offerings of the year thus far.
  2. An innovative game with a long single player campaign filled with loads of detail and fun gameplay.
  3. A very enjoyable game with an intriguing storyline, a captivating environment, and engrossing gameplay.