Far Cry 2 PC

Far Cry 2 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1367 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Caught between two rival factions in war-torn Africa, you are sent to take out "The Jackal," a mysterious character who has rekindled the conflict between the warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the factions against each other,Caught between two rival factions in war-torn Africa, you are sent to take out "The Jackal," a mysterious character who has rekindled the conflict between the warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the factions against each other, identify and exploit your their weaknesses, and neutralize their superior numbers and firepower with surprise, subversion, cunning and, of course, brute force. Real-time story telling, systemic auto-healing, minimal in-game interface are just few of the features that make you feel the tension of being alone against barbarous warlords that threaten thousands of innocent lives. Choose from a wide range of weapons to make your way to your primary target. Meet the fight head-on with your machine-gun, go berserk with your machete or make stealth kills as a Sniper. If you feel that the atmosphere is not warm enough, light up your flamethrower and let your enemies and everything around them feel the heat. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC PowerPlay
    100
    The unique setting, brilliant AI and palpable atmosphere, make Far Cry 2 a quintessential PC gaming experience. [Dec 2008, p.63]
  2. After playing Far Cry 2, I'm simply unable to go back to straight and simple first-person shooters. This game has executed my expectations. [Nov 2008, p.62]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Unusual in that a first person shooter shows you the fictitious African country where real crimes against the civil population are fought in the name of profit. An intense experience in all aspects. [Nov 2008]
  4. It has its shortcomings, but it still makes its mark as one of the best releases of the year, at this point. The graphics and setting alone make it a real stand-out, and I like the fact that Ubisoft tried to go after something a bit more unique in a genre that is known for rampant replication.
  5. Edge Magazine
    80
    Combat is thrilling – each weapon packing a solid, vicious blast; movement suggesting heft and momentum. [Dec 2008, p.80]
  6. Visually impressive and ambitious but ultimately falls short of the hype. Attempts very hard to immerse you in a realistic sandbox world but fails to be anything but a simple, repetitive shooter. Driving across beautiful but lifeless world while fighting infinitely respawning enemies to complete unimaginative missions for people who all try to kill you can be summed up as beautiful but disappointing.
  7. In 2007, Ubisoft sent to Africa a whole team of Far Cry 2 developers so they could record sounds, take pictures and soak in the spirit of "Heart of Darkness". Judging by the promotional videos, the guys had the time of their lives. It's a pity that the game fails to convey even the tiniest fracture of their emotions.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    An island for me to do lots of funny or crazy things thats one of what i need.Although it may takes a feel of bore as time passes by.Seek forAn island for me to do lots of funny or crazy things thats one of what i need.Although it may takes a feel of bore as time passes by.Seek for diamonds or just sit into a car to drive casualy,complete quests of two opposite forces-a good game. Collapse
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    I love the setting and mood of this game, not to mention the lack of a HUD which increases immersion. Combat is very fun, with capable AII love the setting and mood of this game, not to mention the lack of a HUD which increases immersion. Combat is very fun, with capable AI opponents that turn psychotic in vehicles. There is nothing like shooting a flare pistol at someone in the dark and lighting them and the surroundings on fire. Missions do get repetitive, but the incredible landscape and enjoyable combat compensate for everything else. I came back to this game after playing a bit of Far Cry 3. Expand
  3. JohnS.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    I dont understand why people give this game a bad rating. The graphics are excellent, sound is very good, and story is okay. But the enemies I dont understand why people give this game a bad rating. The graphics are excellent, sound is very good, and story is okay. But the enemies are a little mind less but that really doesn't make a difference unless you play on hard (I play on medium) This game is enjoyable. Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    the graphics are really nice but the game is extremely boring.
    the game is repetitive, the enemies respawn constantly and are extremely
    the graphics are really nice but the game is extremely boring.
    the game is repetitive, the enemies respawn constantly and are extremely stupid.
    It has a plot,

    conclusion:

    + graphics
    - EVERYTHING ELSE!!
    Expand
  5. Charlie
    Nov 24, 2008
    4
    The dynamic fire and amazing graphics are the first thing you will notice about this game, and they are just great. However, I found this The dynamic fire and amazing graphics are the first thing you will notice about this game, and they are just great. However, I found this game a huge let down; the missions quickly become repetitive (its all just go here, kill this guy, come back), having to clear out EVERY guard post you come across also gets repetitive quickly, and after a while you will just get a bit sick of how nothing new ever comes along. Also, the AI is just awful: they'll either see you from miles away, or shoot you while looking in the opposite direction, somehow. I give Far Cry 2 a 4 for the fire and graphics, but i wouldn't really bother with this game if i were you. Expand
  6. dylanu
    Oct 30, 2008
    3
    My 4 outof 10 is for visual only, People that say this game is good either have not played it or like driving for to long and shooting checkMy 4 outof 10 is for visual only, People that say this game is good either have not played it or like driving for to long and shooting check points. The aiming system is shit the ai is useless its a first person shooter not lets wander around look at the sights shoot someone the come back past and they are back what a waste of money and time. Expand
  7. FredWhatever
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    In case nobody noticed, the two critical reviews of this game which are being displayed on the main page are written by the same person, andIn case nobody noticed, the two critical reviews of this game which are being displayed on the main page are written by the same person, and almost quote each other.

    For all the site admin bitch about user ballot-stuffing, it seems they're content to let PC Gamer do it. Probably because PC Gamer pays for the space and we don't.
    Expand

See all 440 User Reviews