Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 632 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Far Cry 3: Blood Dragon is a spin-off that contains around eight hours of original content and features a single open-world island to explore, with many of Far Cry 3's gameplay systems and mechanics making a return.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. 90
    Thanks, Ubisoft Montreal, for getting this right on the first try, because this is undoubtedly the only time it will be fresh and exciting. Still, the degree of creativity and the load of ideas on display really demonstrates which ways you can treat your source material inventively via spin-offs or DLCs. I really could get used to that.
  2. May 9, 2013
    90
    This game is pure irony: story, dialogue, music, graphics... everything recalls the craziest clichés of the 80s.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    Like wandering through a theme park dedicated to the excess of 80s blockbuster entertainment, Blood Dragon takes Far Cry’s proven gameplay formula and adds humour, a new coat of paint and a script free from qualms of narrative dissonance.
  4. Jun 19, 2013
    81
    It's Far Cry 3 dressed as trashily as you can imagine; the joke only goes so far, but it's definitely fun to play. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. May 2, 2013
    80
    It´s a poor man's Far Cry 3 without the stunning vistas and cut mechanics, but it´s also a fun homage to the 80s and Action Hero movies, all while delivering a nice and straightforward shooter.
  6. Apr 30, 2013
    80
    I really thought that Blood Dragon would quickly become too much, but I'm surprised that it was able to make me laugh all the way through this heavily deformed and 80's enriched Far Cry 3. It goes in all directions, and at great length, to charm all over-the top, punchline riddled, references fans. A smart and refreshing stand-alone take.
  7. 50
    Even though Blood Dragon is packed with the relaxed charm of the 80ies, it just doesn't is enough to entertain in the end. It lacks content and variation and it doesn't even look good. This is nowhere near the awesomeness that is Far Cry 3.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 143
  1. May 11, 2013
    10
    Its the funniest game i ever played. I love Biehn Voice and the stupid story.Just buy it its worth it. This is a lot better then all FC3 combined togheter Expand
  2. May 4, 2013
    10
    Definitely worth the money, compared to the highly forgettable realistic-wannabe shooter games out there Blood Dragon stands out as a kind of its own, giving you a break from being "some serious business special force guy" saving the world from nuclear war.

    A game made without push financial constraints and possibly involve someone going on a holiday and getting a bit too high.

    There's a lot of cheesy combat dialog involved, so if you like being a serious tightass, or just don't like having fun, this game is not for you.
    Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    9
    This game is over the top in all of the right ways. It's very similar to Far Cry 3 as far as its mechanics and systems go. However, it contains a lot more humor and creativity than the "AAA" experience you get from Far Cry 3. Buy this game. It's cheap and it's great. Enough said. Expand
  4. May 1, 2013
    9
    I like this game, its fun!!!, I am not going to ruin anything, but the 80's stuff made me chuckle.

    Although I have learned with steam you
    have to solve your own problems.

    To the people who are complaining up it not showing up. I exited stream and re signed in and there it was, Then when I when to play it, it gave me a EXE error.. The you have to right click the game and verity the files if you get that error, then all is set worked for me. If this don't work your own your own.
    Expand
  5. May 16, 2013
    8
    Tons of fun, and completely refreshing. More games need to do this with dlc for games. Some minor problems, but overall lot of fun, and best opening scene for a game ever. Long tall sally. Expand
  6. May 11, 2013
    8
    It's OK. I loved FC3 and Blood Dragon as a DLC is decent given the low price. Interesting environment and theme is worthwhile. The dialogue is a bit weird, SLOW, and at one point it's like "get on with it already." But I would recommend it. Expand
  7. Oct 4, 2014
    0
    Requires Uplay. No more need be said, but:

    I cannot access the game because I do not maintain a Uplay account. I do not maintain a Uplay
    account because I don't want to go down the rabbit hole of bloating my hard drive with a new DRM/rootkit/spyware application for every developer and publisher attached to every game I own -- nor do I want to burn my resources opening a game inside of a DRM environment inside of a DRM environment inside of...

    I maintain a Steam account. Steam verified my purchase. Ubisoft has my money; I have no game. Because I refuse to pay for the "privilege" of helping Ubisoft to use Steam as a platform to bolster their direct competition with Steam.
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews