Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 23, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece by any measure. [July 2013, p.89]
  2. 100
    It’s a charming, charismatic adventure that will leave you with a smile across your face for the duration of your play.
  3. May 10, 2013
    95
    There’s a touch of brilliance to this game. You feel the incentive to play on, because solving a puzzle unlocks a new door and you enter into another uncharted and mysterious world. We love the music and the retro-style, pixelized art. Fez harks back to 2D classics, so if you’re anything like me, nostalgia should kick in almost instantly.
  4. May 1, 2013
    95
    The sum of Fez’s intelligent level designs, perception mechanic, massive number of stages and secrets, and incredible art is so much more than just a shout-out to old-school gaming. Fez is a game in love with games.
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    90
    A gorgeous puzzle-platformer that's both a treat for the eyes and a thorough workout for the mind. [July 2013, p.82]
  6. May 27, 2013
    90
    Fez is a marvel of a game. Rotating its 2D world on the third axis transforms what would otherwise be a forgettable platformer into an instant classic. Paired with smart and satisfying puzzles, Fez provides hours of entertainment at a budget price. It is disappointing that PC controls and additional content come up short but the quality is unquestionable. Fez is a must buy.
  7. May 9, 2013
    88
    FEZ is one of the most accessible and best experiences you can find in the indie game scene.
  8. 85
    The variation of the broken-down elements of the game is such that, if you miss two or three of the dozens of screens of the game, you will have missed on something special and unique. [June 2013]
  9. Apr 30, 2013
    85
    For $10, FEZ is one of the most solid “must-buy” titles in the indie game scene.
  10. May 17, 2013
    83
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. May 3, 2013
    80
    Fez may not be as polished as its pairs, the Limbos and the Braids, but it's the indie gem we were expecting it to be. It's an ode to 8bit clichés for sure, but also a puzzler that will appeal to all the thinkers and explorers alike, filled with cuteness, an awesome soundtrack and atmosphere, and quite a load of secrets to uncover.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 825 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 149
  2. Negative: 43 out of 149
  1. May 2, 2013
    10
    FEZ brings pixels to life. The vivid colors and music that gives every scene its own style and atmosphere makes every discovery and exploration worthwhile. I could not stop smiling at it and at times I would just pause to appreciate the artistry and the environment. It gives a refreshing taste of platformer and puzzle games. Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2013
    1
    Doesn't work as intended. Crashed on first loadup, noticed my fan was going crazy so I checked my temperatures. CPU was at over 90 C. This game is so ill-optimized it will try to kill your computer.
    If you have any intention of playing this and don't live in antartica, play the waiting game a bit more first
    Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2013
    6
    Decent game in spite of some minor glitches and crashing until updated, since update 1.03 i have not had any more problems with it crashing. The levels do tend to get repetitive and as far as where to go, it seems to be just guessing,and having to do alot of backtracking and redoing levels,the 3-d map is more confusing than anything. But in spite of the minor annoyances it is an enjoyable game with some interesting puzzles and levels.
    As far as the review i read complaining about needing a 'discreet graphics card".and it not being made apparent. I have to ask. What game doesn't need a half decent video card nowadays? I would venture to guess the vast majority do, and if you bothered to look at the system requirements for the game it clearly states the minimum graphics card,as being nvidia 8600gt or radeon 6450 .so this was made more than apparent to anyone that bothered to look it up.
    Full Review »