FIFA Soccer 08 Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: FIFA Soccer 08 challenges players to master the skills required to play like a pro soccer player. Fans around the world can experience the same highs and lows of real-world players and tackle the challenges they face on a daily basis. FIFA Soccer 08 puts you on the pitch to defy the odds,FIFA Soccer 08 challenges players to master the skills required to play like a pro soccer player. Fans around the world can experience the same highs and lows of real-world players and tackle the challenges they face on a daily basis. FIFA Soccer 08 puts you on the pitch to defy the odds, perfect your skills, elevate your game and rise up to win glory for your club. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. The footie's great, and that's good enough for me. [Christmas 2007, p.66]
  2. The tackling has been improved, and while the whole thing can feel a bit spongy, it still plays a decent game of football. [Christmas 2007, p.76]
  3. 80
    A humungous game built around 12,500 real-life players with more modes and teams and options than a stadium has face painters, FIFA 08 is a superior soccer experience despite its ho-hum facade.
  4. Even though it’s closer to real life football, FIFA 08 seems like it could’ve been just a large patch. The main issue with this version is that the developers showed that they could implement an even better graphics and physics system on the next gen consoles, but PC fans will have to wait to see it in action, at least until the next title in the series.
  5. While the next gen consoles got a new facelift the PC version seems to have been an afterthought.
  6. EA are improving things, slowly but surely. However, the problem is that they are also degenerating in certain areas too, in their efforts to balance gameplay issues. And there is a deeper problem too - earlier versions of FIFA are actually more enjoyable!
  7. It has to be that AI again. It just feels too rigid, too tediously functional to capture the sheer fluid exuberance of football. [Dec 2007, p.78]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. ZeeM.
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Superb! One Of My Favorite Soccer Games Ever! Love The Ghrapics, Gameplay, Everything! All-Around Wonderful!
  2. JeremyL.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    The first serious soccer sim from EA sports. It's bloody hard on the higher levels, though.
  3. WamiqG.
    Oct 11, 2007
    9
    A fan cant wait to get his hand on the new edition of Fifa. well i was not impressed on 1st look but started liking to graduallt as i played A fan cant wait to get his hand on the new edition of Fifa. well i was not impressed on 1st look but started liking to graduallt as i played on. Flaws - 1. Superhuman Goalkeeper 2. Long range shooting from the front of the net still sucks. 3. It's unfair to people who play the game on keyboard, not to hav skills control... Expected a hell lot more from you guys. Expand
  4. PolarniM.
    Oct 17, 2007
    5
    If you have played fifa 2006, you couldn't get much with fifa 2007. This time, you get almost nothing. only better thing is AI, but If you have played fifa 2006, you couldn't get much with fifa 2007. This time, you get almost nothing. only better thing is AI, but it's not even close to be enough to please soccer gamers. all the bugs and the worst graphics in newer gaming world- are (still) there. this is the last fifa i'll buy before reading reviews, if not the last at all. Expand
  5. TitoN.
    Dec 23, 2007
    5
    I'm very, very disappointed. having played all the other fifa's i thought this one would be superior, sadly its not. First off the I'm very, very disappointed. having played all the other fifa's i thought this one would be superior, sadly its not. First off the graphics are bad, like someone stated before how its 2007 yet they made the crowed in the game 2D. very sad, plus you'd think the characters faces would improve. 2nd thing is the controls, very slow.. and not 100% half the times, pass to top right and sometimes it goes bottom right or even just right. i also love how you can be literally 5 meters from the net, and still miss it... by yards, explain? makes me wonder, these guys are professionals, how could anyone miss a shot like that. 3rd. go go goalie, the opposite team can play with just its goalie, since scoring on him is impossible, "he shoots.. oooh the goalie pulled a triple back flip to a double aerial and saves the shot".. no thanks. 4th. glitches, i love when the ball is passed.. slowly.. and goes through my player, or when it passes by them and they just stare at the ball as it passes. oh anyone else find it impossible to steal the ball when your behind a player.. but when you have the ball and their behind you its not so hard. comeon.. what are you guys in EA doing over there?.. letting the college kids take this one for you? waste of money, big time. im not sure why im giving it a 5, garbage. Collapse
  6. ShammyS.
    Nov 1, 2007
    5
    It's sad really, this game is really no different than FIFA 2007, it's definitely not next gen ready. Doesn't even come close It's sad really, this game is really no different than FIFA 2007, it's definitely not next gen ready. Doesn't even come close to the GFX of the new PES 2008. Very disappointing, but hey it's what I've grown to expect from EA. Expand
  7. fifa08_pcsuckssucks
    Dec 9, 2007
    0
    worst game ever 07 was so much better the defenders suck and they changed the switch button, the computer can just run down the field thenworst game ever 07 was so much better the defenders suck and they changed the switch button, the computer can just run down the field then your AI guy switches and misses a tackle and they walk into the goal, i hate this game, they should have just released a patch for 07 with the updated transfers and uniforms, worst fifa ever for the pc, great on ps3 or 360. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews