Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1038 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Previously referenced as "version 2.0," this title has been rebuilt from the ground up, and centers on the core concept of rebirth, featuring a new world to explore and storyline to experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    100
    Square Enix has pulled off the seemingly impossible: rescuing a disastrous flop of an online game without going free-to-play, and creating an incredibly addictive, satisfying experience for both MMO and Final Fantasy veterans in the process. A Realm Reborn is a triumph for Naoki Yoshida and his team.
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    90
    Final Fantasy 14 is a great MMO; perhaps more meaningfully, it's the first Final Fantasy game in years to capture the energy and joy that made me fall in love with the series.
  3. It’s one of the best MMOs on the PC and basically the only game of its type on the console. The company has made the game it promised when it when back and rebuilt FFXIV 1.0.
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    85
    Square Enix did it. They took a mediocre game called Final Fantasy XIV and turned in a fun MMO with a stunning character's progression system that cuddle the player far beyond the level cap. Eorzea is a vibrant and vivid world in which is way too easy get lost, and for this we have to thanks Yoshida and his team, that gave to use a game that is both modern and linked to a glorious past.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    81
    A quality MMO, whichever machine you're using and filled with gorgeous scenes to drink in. [Dec 2013, p.70]
  6. 80
    The main conquer of A Realm Reborn is the fact that it feels like a Final Fantasy Game so it´s possible to enjoy it without remembering that we are playing a MMO. I don’t know if this alone justifies a monthly fee, what I know is that it will require a lot of quality updates to keep both publics interested.
  7. Sep 26, 2013
    60
    Final Fantasy XIV’s shine wears off as your level increases.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    Best MMO I've ever played, most end game content from release I've ever seen, I can't wait to see what the future for this game holds! I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Wow. Holy Wasn't expecting this. Skipped first one. Like the one that got away type deal. I played every other MMO lately. Only to totally enjoy the out of this. FFXIV has brought back the MMO fun for me. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This game has come a long way from the fiasco that was version 1.0. Overall, Square Enix has done a great job completely remaking the game and optimizing everything that failed in the first. And aside from the server issues during Early Access and the 1017 errors as of launch this game couldn't be any better.

    You can call me a fanboy or just not agree with what I'm saying, that's fine. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion and this happens to be mine. I've been playing since 1.0 but didn't play it for long because it did suck big time. When I heard about FFXIV:ARR I was excited and hoped they would do a better job this time around. They have.

    The game is better in almost every way. The graphics are almost as good and don't kill your system like 1.0 did. Most people couldn't run the old game. The optimizations have worked out wonderfully. I can safely say that it's one of the besting looking MMORPG's out. People seem to mistake that for best looking game but that's not the case. This is right up there with TERA in terms of beautiful MMO graphics. By the way, I am running on maximum settings with 60+ fps. Perks of building your own extreme gaming PC.

    The quest system is much improved and everything just feels more fluid. There is a lot of text to read but that's pretty standard. They do a pretty good job of defining what you need to do and it all isn't just fetch or kill quests. I think the most a quest has ever had me kill is 5 of a particular monster. I'm currently a 26 Marauder. My only gripe is I wish all the dialogue was all voice acted but as it stands only select in game cutscenes are voice acted. The ones that are are pretty well done too, some of the voices fit the characters while there are others that don't.

    Things to do are plentiful in this game. Want to quest, sure, go ahead. Want to craft? You can do it all on one character. FATE's are frequent and award nice experience and GC seals when you get that far. Leves are a fun diversion though I wish you weren't restricted to the allowance you're given. And you only gain 3 every 12 hours real life time. The story missions have been great too. Lot's of lore and character development to discover. Another great diversion are the Logs you have access to. Hunting Logs have you kill monsters for super bonus experience. It's all a nice way to help you level up.

    The only real issue I've had with the game so far is just the server issues which are doing much better than they were at the start of Early Access. Despite those issues I have given this game a 10/10 because it is everything I wanted and more. And the beauty is that it can only get better from here! They have so many wonderful plans for the future and even near future! So stick with it guys, I will, and I guarantee it will be a blast!
    Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Like many others, I came to FFXIV 1.0 after enjoying the old-school FFXI game that preceded it. I wasn't expecting it to be as "hard-core", since the trend has been making games more solo-friendly and "easy", but I *was* expecting something along the same lines.

    What we got in 1.0 was something between an alpha and beta test of a new combat system, a different class/job system, and a graphics engine that felt both too advanced and too limited, at the same time. I can only assume the previous development team was working on both the PC and PS3 versions at the same time, and failures on one held up the other, in both directions.

    After Yoshi took over, he made a concentrated effort to fix and salvage what was good from the PC version of the game, and shifted focus to developing a brand new engine from scratch, which would eventually become A Realm Reborn. It was the best decision he could have made.

    The re-launch of FFXIV is a success, and the first time in history an MMO has ever found success with a second chance. The game is just fun to play, and amazing to look at. On top of that, it's very smooth and responsive, even on middle-of-the-road hardware.

    The only issues have been the crazy popularity that was MUCH higher than they expected, causing a lot of server issues on the North American cluster during launch week, and some minor irritations with the UI that almost every game has until they have time to refine things a bit more.

    Unlike some other MMO's (which I won't name), FFXIV feels like the devs really love the product, and the franchise in general. There are all kinds of little polish details you don't really expect from an MMO, and especially one still in launch phase. There are lots of them, but the most recent one I noticed was that when riding a mount, you get unique background music that fits the mount you've chosen to ride... and that the volume of the music ramps up while you're racing along, and falls back into the background as you stop. Wonderful immersion detail that is purely there for flavor.

    I totally recommend it to my friends. And if you got burned on 1.0, you now own the new version, and have a few days to check it out without paying... now that most of the launch issues are either fixed or have a fix in sight, it might be worth the time to download it and see.
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Great game once you can actually logged into it (I can't give it a bad review just based on servers issues). The team did an awesome job revamping the entire game. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2014
    5
    First off, I would like to say that I played this game since launch, and quit about a month ago (February 2014).

    The Pros:
    > You can
    switch classes whenever you want (outside of combat) on the same character! This means that you can have basically every class unlocked on the same character so you can fill virtually any party role. If you picked a DPS at the start and find that it is too hard to get into groups, then you can just start to level up a healer.
    > To help with re-rolling, you actually get an EXP boost to level up your other classes basically twice as fast.
    > The grouping system / duty finder is really nice in this game. You can just queue up solo and be paired with a random group (this usually goes a lot better than it sounds), or you can queue up with some friends. When you queue solo you now have the option of leaving a player commendation which can be spent on some aesthetic items, like a crown.
    > The graphics are stunning and the soundtrack is also quite nice!
    > The story is really interesting, as are most FF games. Depending on where you start off (one of three different towns, JOB dependent... not race) then you get to meet different a certain couple characters more in-depth than the others. This gives people a little bit of a unique feel for the game, and also makes it slightly more enjoyable to create a completely new character.
    > You get mounts that you can level up and use while exploring the game! Well, the only mount that you can have fight with you is the chocobo mount, but you can get other mounts that you can ride as well.

    The Cons:
    > The armor system makes no sense.... when you first get to level 50 you are probably using armor that was either crafted, or just found in a dungeon. This armor, if it is i50 or i55, can be infused with materia to give it bonus stats... like +HP or +Accuracy. However, you can easily get some new i70 armor from doing some dungeon grinding for a few hours, or by crafting it (this crafted armor can have materia added to it). This armor has a higher item level (the i#) and usually a little more defense with some stats added on to it. Later, you can get myth tomes in order to get the next highest item set which is i90. This armor is just a little better than the i70. However, if you put as much materia as possible on the i70 armor then you can basically have armor that is just as good, if not better than the i90 armor! The i90 armor is something you have to either wait MONTHS to get (since there is a mythos cap per week) or you have to beat the coils over and over and over which will also take months (since you can only do it once per week...). So basically the materia system is pointless because you can't use it with any of the high level armor, and it makes easy to get armor basically the best. This also renders the higher end dungeons, like the coils, basically useless (at least when it comes to loot acquisition).
    > They have completely broken the market so that there is no way to make money! You can have every crafting profession that you want, but there is no point to any of them since they take forever to level up and no one can buy / sell anything since patch 2.1 came out. This patch brought out guild housing at 1,000,000 gil!! This made everyone and their brother try to make money at the same time, so everyone was trying to sell things and no one was buying them... no guild on my sever could even afford a large house (the million dollar house) and only 3 guilds could even afford a medium house (15,000 gil).
    > Every major update that SE has planned so far (patch 2.1, and patch 2.2 *not out yet*) has just destroyed the game further when it comes to the actual game content. In 2.1 they came out with something called the Crystal Tower where there are three teams of 8 players fighting a series of bosses and enemies in order to get some random loot. This loot is seriously random, and basically all that was dropped were Lancer and Monk gear the whole time, when 8/10 times there wasn't even that class in your party. This frustrated SO many people... Also, once you obtained loot for that week you were not allowed to get any more for that week - but you could still do the dungeon. Thus, it was important to pass on loot that you didn't actually want!! However, some people at the end of the dungeons were getting FORCED to take loot, resulting in them being locked from getting loot the rest of the week! SE did nothing to fix this, and they were then behind in gear because of a programming error.
    > Trying to level up another class, even with the EXP boost is terribly slow and grueling; exponentially more so if you are trying to level a DPS class. When using the duty finder, you may have to wait for over an hour for just one dungeon! This one dungeon won't even get you half a level either... Tanks however, get into everything instantly, so if you plan to level a DPS, then you need to get a tank friend!
    Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Combat is slow and dull and only gets mildly better as you level up. Story is bland and unremarkable in any way as the time in between any parts that are ok is broken up by tons of typical bland fetch/ups quests. Quests often have you go from point A to point B back to point A then on to point C etc etc... The FATE events almost all fall into one of two categories, either kill a small zerg of normal mobs or kill one mini boss type monster. This is mostly the same as other games that feature this style of event, how ever it feels worse here.

    Endgame fights rely mostly on extreme gimmick mechanics combined with the long global cool down to force difficulty into the fights. In most cases just reacting to a fight mechanic will not be enough you have to memorize the pattern of the boss so that you can move pre emptively, part of this is due to the horrid net coding used and the awful latency/updating the server does. Itemization on gear is horrible. Secondary stats provide so little benefit that they shouldn't even be on gear, spell/skill speed being the biggest culprit. It provides so little benefit so as not to break the long GCD system they designed that it should have never been created.

    This comes from a pre 2.2 player that cleared turn 4 and just stopped caring about the game due to all the above issues.

    P.S. Crystal tower loot system is the worst thing ever.
    Expand

See all 413 User Reviews