Fist Puncher Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fist Puncher is a retro-styled, side scrolling beat em up with RPG elements and plenty of button mashing goodness. It follows a group of vigilantes as they fight their way through the streets of a lawless city. You can think of it as Double Dragon meets Castle Crashers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    100
    Fist Puncher is really a standout example of how to do retro right, and is something that certainly deserves more attention.
  2. 80
    Did you gain weight over the Holidays? Well, this karatistic odyssey is for you then: it will help you to get back in shape and have fun doing it. [Issue#238]
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    Like a roller coaster ride. Except that you don't fall down into the cold water at the very end but directly among bizarre and violent enemies. This is one of the best action-oriented game I have recently played.
  4. 70
    Fist Puncher‘s name fits it well. It’s a game where you punch a great many things and will have a lot of fun doing so. While that fun is hampered a bit with navigation problems, when those don’t crop up, it’s impossible to not enjoy yourself.
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    70
    This is a game that hardcore fans of the genre are more likely to want to spend some time with. Casuals are better off grabbing something like Castle Crashers or Chronicles of Mystara instead, as they are quite a bit better so far as beat 'em ups on the PC go.
  6. Jun 26, 2013
    70
    Even though its level design capabilities are kind of rudimentary, the game still manages to give its short intense bursts of action some variety, ensuring that you return to it for another round. This, and the lovingly – and knowingly – dilettantish Amiga-style graphics makes this a really solid sleeper of a game. Had Dungeons and Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara not come out shortly before, this would most probably haven gotten more buzz.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    At first Fist Puncher seemed like good, mindless fun, but the more I played, the more tired I grew of it. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.75]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    A rivoting retro-style brawler that provides hours of fun! The characters and plethora of levels will make you chuckle while you live out your dreams of being one heck of a tough coconut. I demand action figures! Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    Crazy old-style beat 'em up. Lots of characters, lots of levels, slick gameplay. Dr. Karate. Steroid Jackson. The Beekeeper. Need I say more? Insane number of levels too. I've defeated over 30 levels and still have a lots more to get through. And it's tough. Feels like you're playing an old school NES game. Might be too tough for casual, facebook gamers. Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This game is huge! I can't believe how much they packed in here tons of levels, characters, unlockable moves, achievements and a massive campaign make this a bargain. Reminds me of Castle Crashers but kind of funnier depending on your sense of humor. Controls are spot on, everything is smooth and fluid, especially when you play with a controller. Glad to see someone is still making this kind of game, there aren't many quality brawlers out there these days. Collapse
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    10
    A wonderful throwback to the era of brawlers, when street fighting seemed poised to solve all the world's problems. Graphics are the standard indie retro vibe, but Fist Puncher stands out for its smooth as silk gameplay and sizeable stable of playable characters. Some of the bosses are a little hard, but I wouldn't have it any other way. There are generous save points for the strugglers, and it doesn't take long before leveling up gets you past any tough fight. This game let's it all hang out and manages to stay interesting the whole way through (and it is massive!) Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    After giving Fist Puncher a try I get the impression that the developers really didn't grow up in that era and sort of misses the essence of what old school fighting games are suppose to be like. Take out the nostalgic factor and imagine for a second that Fist Puncher came out at around the same time as Double Dragon or Streets of Rage. Most gamers at that time would have looked upon Fist Puncher as being okay but not great. First off Double Dragon and Streets of Rage looked a whole lot better on NES and Genesis. The pix-elated graphics here is overdone to say the least. Second, the fighting physics in those games was much more refined. Every move felt like it was actually connecting with the enemy. Here the fighting physics feels messy and unrefined! Third, I believe character leveling up is unnecessary in this genre. Game difficulty is what its all about. Fourth, is there a reason why weapons shouldn't last for more then 3 hits? Fifth, no online multiplayer. What! Finally, despite having some faults I still think that Fist Puncher is a pretty decent fighter overall. I would also recommend checking out Castle Crushers same genre better game if your interested. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    6
    fun beat em up game repetative but fun just not worth the 10 or 15 dollars i paid. Like the humor and the story line is funny too but even though being a retro game it could've been done a lot cooler with a lot more options to it. would've def paid 5 bux for it but no more with that with how many other great games there are out there for same amount of money (go to steam they have 5 dollar specials a lot of times on games that were once 20 30 40 or 50 dollars and were rated well at that). Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    2
    Button masher with SO MANY not very clever decisions in level designing. For example if player can't target enemies properly (most the time you simply mash buttons hoping you'll hit somebody) don't make level with lawsuits who you cannot hit.
    Like leonlp12 said this game is unfair and repetitive.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews