Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Apr 14, 2011
    86
    The vibrant community is what makes the difference, Forsaken World is simply not forsaken. The key points for a MMO are available right away: Cool graphics, lots of players and even more details.
  2. May 7, 2011
    80
    This is an AAA title, a big gun; it goes up against recent hits like Rift and holds its own.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    This game's focus on Western style gameplay really sets it apart from other Eastern imports.
  4. May 11, 2011
    75
    It's free, it's pretty, and it's got hot, busty vampire chicks. If any of those things interest you, Forsaken World is worth checking out.
  5. Apr 15, 2011
    70
    From pets to pvp, even jobs, titles, reputation, achievements and so many other things, Forsaken world defiantly has a plethora of content. It is not hard to get into the game and once you do, you will be surprised how easily it sucks you in. This is a fun and visually pleasing game for many types of gamers like casual, non-casual, players who do not want to spend money, and even players that do. Whatever your play style, I am sure Forsaken World will grab you in and offer hours upon hours of fun.
  6. Apr 25, 2011
    56
    While there is a decent amount of content to keep players occupied, Forsaken World tends to feel stale faster than it should.
  7. Jun 18, 2011
    55
    Even with the generous free-to-play model factored in, it's hard imagine why anyone would want to deal with the basic combat and utterly forgettable lore of this world. [Aug 2011, p.63]
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 48
  2. Negative: 18 out of 48
  1. Jul 2, 2011
    2
    It's clear that PW has put a lot of effort into their new flagship MMO and I was very excited to play it but after no more than a couple days, I've uninstalled the game and am ready to forget about it.

    The first issue I have with the game is PW's greed. I'm used to micro-transaction P2P but there's not much "micro" about this system. Starting my first character, it's obvious that they attempt to herd you into the cash shop. At level 7, I've killed enough mobs to purchase 5 pieces of food for the purposes of restoring my health. Not 5 stacks, but 5 pieces. Looking in the cash shop, I see that for a mere $10 of my money, I can purchase 4 health potions that will restore 70% of my health. So, I can either pay for 2/3 of a month of p2p MMO time, or I can purchase 4 health pots in Forsaken World.

    Another issue for me is the controls. It's not very smooth. When I click a mob or NPC, it usually click-to-moves well behind the character instead of selecting them. attempting to rotate also often sends you off into the woods. Rotating the camera while running? Well, that's impossible.

    Finally, the environment just seems lacking and sparsely populated. Running through the woods, I kill mobs to have them respawn mere seconds after killing them, they just pop into existence right by you within 5 seconds of killing it's predecessor.

    There's more, but to be honest, in spite of the features included in this f2p(dungeon finder, planner, prayers, etc) it still feels like a bare bones MMO released to grab as much money from the cash shop as possible.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    5
    Forsaken World is yet another MMORPG which similar game-play. You level up, go instances/events for more XP for more levels, do easy quest with auto-NPC finder for more XP thus levels and when you reach the level cap.......you afk, there isn't much for you do to be honest. But i do praise the amount of effort they put into creating distinctive races and classes such as the ever popular Vampires! (Not diamond like vampires, yay!). This game does not offer Roleplaying as this game evolves around leveling and pvping for the sake of it. 5/10 due to repetition of XP gaining event/quest. Full Review »
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    4
    Forsaken World does have amazing character models and beautiful worlds. There is a lot of content and many things to do. There are 3 main draw backs however. First, the PvP system feel unfinished and very flat. Users will attack other users just for the sake of griefing other users. There is absolutely no risk or reward for PvP. This makes questing on a PvP server close to impossible without a party as a griefer will wait and stalk users until they are busy, then attack them. The second is the dual currency in the game. Certain items cost soul coins or gold coins. Items purchased from NPC's cost soul coins, but items purchased from other users require gold coins. There is no system to convert between the two. This makes using the auction house almost pointless because the accumulation of gold coins is very rare unless you sell things on the auction house. Users also cannot trade soul coins to help other users out for mounts or other and makes the user and their friends grind more than they need to to enjoy the game.
    Third, there was some lazy work with both programing/scripting and how they put the world together. There are countless spots in each realm where a player can get completely stuck with no hope of getting out unless they use their teleport ability. If they have used this ability they must wait 10 minutes for the skill the recharge. There are also a lot of lazy blocking volumes where the level builder must have just went "good enough, it kinda works". The pathing nodes in the game seem very blotchy and placed almost willy nilly around the world. There are also countless quests, auto-routes and NPC Ai that were scripted badly. I have a 23 inch 1080p monitor and when I can't read the text during the cut-scenes, you have a problem. The cut scenes are not the only thing wrong with the text. With special quests, the man who thought Bright red 8 point font on a bright yellow background should be shot. 90% of people couldn't read it if their lives depended on it. It was a horrible decision and takes another huge chunk away from the games polish. For a F2P game based on MTX, this game is lacking in quality and didn't travel far past an 'Idea' of merging guild wars and WoW. Lack of polish and development plagues the game on all angles.
    Full Review »