Fortune Summoners: Secret of the Elemental Stone Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Elemental Stones: stones imbued with the power of an Elemental Spirit, which grant the wielder of one the ability to control that element via 'magic'.

    In the country of Scotsholm, three centuries have passed since they were first created. Elemental stones are now mass-produced and widely
    used, making magic a personal, commonplace part of people's lives.

    In this country lives an energetic little girl named Arche. Arche, having moved with her family to a new home in the town of Tonkiness, has begun attending the only school in the area. That school is the Minasa-Ratis School of Magic. And it's here that Arche may discover something amazing about elemental stones... and herself.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 15, 2012
    78
    Fortune Summoners: Secret of the Elemental Stone is hard as hell. For beat it you have to make practice with the slow control system, but in the end is a good indie JRPG.
  2. Feb 6, 2012
    75
    Don't let its charming aspect fool you. Fortune Summoners is a game that can challenge the most experienced and skillfull players thanks to its hard but fair combat system, which requires the player to be mindful of how and when strike for maximum effect. It has some technical shortcomings, and can be really frustrating, but overall it's another small jewel brought to west flawlessly by Carpe Fulgur.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    60
    A frustrating, obtuse, weirdly satisfying experience, covered in yayness and cute. [Apr 2012, p.56]
  4. Mar 21, 2012
    58
    Held back by a difficulty that isn't satisfying to overcome, but annoying for its fiddly controls and cheating AI. [May 2012, p.77]
  5. Feb 9, 2012
    50
    This is a disturbingly conservative action RPG that functions as a museum of bad game design.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    30
    After wasting thirty hours of my time, this is one game that has no right to pass kindergarten.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    At first glance, one could very easily fool ones self into believing this is an offline Maple Story. They would be VERY mistaken. The combat system the developers have chosen to implement was extraordinarily complex and rewarding, plus the amount of content crammed into this game was pretty insane as well. It is a 2D platformer / RPG with cheesy anime dialogue, and pretty 1 Dimensional characters, but it does its job.... it kept me entertained for a substantial period of time. A+ in my book, and I was glad that I bought it. Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Very good JRPG sidescroller. It has a very classic feel to it, but the art design and sound are by no means dated.

    This game is hard and
    even brutal at times though it stays fair.
    The combat/controls are very responsive and I would very much compare it with the way one controls a character in Street Fighter when in fighting, this also means you can not charge at mobs and expect to beat them as they all need to be defeated in a certain way and require skill. The game is also translated good, to the point where one is unable to tell
    Story-wise it's nothing ground breaking yet satisfying, but the perspective one is given is to my liking.
    Characters feel very alive and all represent a stereotype or another.

    It will not hold your hand on the way through, expect to do some digging around in order to find out what to do next, but as there are many walkthroughs already it will be of no hassle.

    Try the demo as it will reveal a great bit about the game.
    For what this game is : 10/10
    Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    A little gem, that will go unnoticed by most people. But I have to say that this 2d game was so much better and so much more entertaining than 99% of the games that we get these days. It took me 40 in-game hours to complete it and it was worth it. I had a feeling that I just finished reading an amazing book. If you are into jrpgs, warm and colorful stories, give this gem a try and I bet you won't regret it. Collapse
  4. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    Fortune Summoners is a fun game that suffers from a few unfortunate flaws. It's a 2D action RPG although the RPG elements are pretty basic...you level up, gain stat boosts, can equip better items as time goes on, etc. The game's story isn't bad but not particularly interesting. This isn't a game you'd play for the story but rather the fun but difficult combat. There's something immensely satisfying about defeating enemies in this game and the combat system allows you to pull off all sorts of neat moves and combos. Sadly, the controls are slippery and at times unresponsive. I've tried both keyboard and controller, both had the same problems. Characters tend to slide around and it's difficult to turn around in heated battles or jump onto platforms. There's also a delay before moves but this could be considered part of the challenge and not necessarily poor controls, you have to be strategic with your timings (this is no button masher!).

    Another flaw is the insane enemy AI. It often seems like enemies can literally predict your moves and combined with the sloppy controls it makes the game frustratingly difficult. Luckily, the AI of your other party members is surprisingly amazing and this somewhat counters the crazy enemies. The difficulty levels don't seem to change much, expect a challenging game even on easier modes. The game's difficulty and controls honestly reminded me of old school games (which isn't really a bad thing).

    Even with these issues, most people will want to keep playing. The combat is fun even with the control problems and it's rewarding to pull off combos. The characters are cute and the translation/localization is excellent. If you do try to play this to completion, expect 30+ hours of playtime, not bad for an indie action RPG.
    Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    8
    When I saw this game in the steam store, I first thought to myself, a bunch of little girls running around killing things? whaaa?...Then I decided to try it out since I do enjoy side scrolling beat 'em ups, and I was surprised to how much I enjoyed the combat as well as the cutesy dialog, This is an example of a person who plays games and knows what to add into games, game developers today I think goto school to learn how to make games and have not actually played a game in their life, that or lost touch with their gaming side. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2012
    8
    This game is a solid plataformer with some RPG touches. The story is terrible and full of kawaii cliches, but the gameplay makes it worthy. The combat and magic system is complex, with lots of combos, the AI of the companions is good and the regular enemies do present a challenge. This is a hard game, even the normal enemies can, and will, kill you many times. So if you don´t stand repeating a couple of times a certain area don´t get near this game.
    The greatest problem of this game is that a small time passes between the moment you press the button and the moment the character executes the action. I don´t know if this is a design choice or some kind of bug, but sometimes, specially during the first fights against aerial foes can drive you crazy.
    Overall a good and enjoyable game that is worth much more than it´s market price.
    Expand
  7. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    If there's anything that needs to be said about this game, it's that it is incredibly difficult. The difficulty borders along that line of "Incredibly Satisfying" and "Pull your hair out from irritation". It takes a LOT of getting used to, but overall this game is charming, cute, and funny. The story isn't exactly mind blowing, but the like-able characters make it worth sitting down and listening to. There are some obvious flaws, like massive difficulty spikes, unfair situations, and a bit of repetivity, but overall the goods outweigh the bads by quite a bit.
    Anyone who is a fan of anime and jrpg's should pick it up, and anyone looking for a good challenge, but otherwise, don't bother with it.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews