Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Prepare for DRAMA as the Baron's tale unfolds, from the harsh deserts of Cairo, to the shady streets of Victorian London... and beyond. The finest actors and actresses of the day have been employed to ensure the ABSOLUTE authenticity of the story. Prepare to play out the most spectacular and explosive moments of the Baron's life; improbable beasts, astonishing villainy, and at the heart of it all - the mysterious Foul Play. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 17, 2013
    90
    With its great sense of humor, exciting narrative, cool art style and fun stage play antics, you would think that Foul Play would be at the top of everybody's must-buy list.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    81
    Backing up that gleeful imagination with a mechanic that encourages good rather than simply energetic play makes for a rare treat that both novice and veteran brawlers can enjoy while it lasts.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    75
    Diversity is Foul Play’s huge advantage – each of 22 levels offers a completely different setting, increasingly unconventional monsters and plenty of bosses. Still the game gets tedious if you play it too long. [12/2013, p.67]
  4. Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Its fresh looks and swashbuckling attitude ultimately don't change the fact that this is a game better enjoyed in small dosages. I love endless combo series as much as the next guy, but Foul Play's fighting engine and general run of play are a tad bit too simple to merit longer sessions. That said, this is one hell of a likeable game, if this sort of brawler floats your boat.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    60
    If the filler were stripped out Foul Play would only be a two hour game but it would be two hours flush with ideas instead of five hours sprinkled with them. It would make for a more appealing co-op game, too. You won’t find yourselves saying “Just one more act,” you’ll be loading up Castle Crashers.
  6. Oct 22, 2013
    60
    The excessive linearity, the mismanagement of the combat system, and a too easy difficulty level, irreparably damage a title with lots of potential.
  7. Nov 21, 2013
    55
    The lack of depth hurts Foul Play the most, and it's really a shame considering how brilliant the aesthetic is. I wanted to run around the stage, but playing the game made me exit stage left.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    In Foul Play the developers have really excelled themselves in creating a beautiful, charismatic, original and extremely playable game my only criticism is that there's so much beautify stuff to look at I sometimes struggle to keep up! Collapse
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    This game is just awesome. Amazing handcrafted art, a large variety of combos, and a main character who looks just like the pringles guy. The gameplay is fast, intuitive and never really gets boring.

    The idea of an on-stage brawler alone is pretty genius, seeing the audiences reaction to your on-screen action is bloody awesome. The fact that Foul Play is good enough to going to keep me away from playing GTA 5 for the weekend should say something too, lol :)

    My english isnt that good, so ill just stick with the pros and cons:

    +graphics, handcrafted +gameplay, mechanics +level up system +unlockable goodies and combos //+rewarding button mashing +humour, dialogues

    cons: so far i didnt really find cons, though its too bad the game doesnt really have a voiceover. i imagine how amazing it would be to have the pringles guy aka Baron Dashforth with an english accent.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    There is no doubting that Foul Play is a good game. It is a fresh experience with a lot of personality, the gameplay is fluid, if a little repetitive, and generally I had a good time. Will continue to play this for the foreseeable future. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    3
    Foul play have a lot of potential but fail in every aspect. The gameplay is repetitive, you need to press the same attack button for achieve the best combo. The sound is repetitive, same music from stage to stage. It's not even original as an idea. I don't vote 0 because have a good design. Expand