Freelancer Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A society taking its first timid steps into 48 sprawling galactic systems cannot hope to dam every human spring of greed and bloodlust. Make your own way, Freelancer. Ply the trade lanes for profit or raid them for plunder; slake your own thirst for vengeance on the world or take up arms to enforce the law. Take your wealth as a hired gun if you choose. No single truth rules the limitless possibility of space. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. The word epic describes Freelancer, Microsoft Game Studios' latest title, thanks to its strong narrative and virtually limitless game play opportunities.
  2. Freelancer isn’t just a game – it’s a way of life.
  3. The gameplay is truly a remarkable achievement... Aesthetically pleasing, lots to do, lots of options, lots of ships and weapons to buy, and a great story. Sounds good to me.
  4. If we consider they worked for this game for about 4 years, a massively multiplayer add-on being cancelled 2 years ago, its presence on just one CD doesn't really justify the absence of a true nonlinear gameplay, the imbalance between the economical and military aspects, the lack of some options which are considered now a standard of the genre, the low difficulty of the game due to the poor quality of the AI and the short period of time after which both modes don't offer any more challenges.
  5. 83
    The combat is electric and there's so much to explore and discover that it'll take quite a while before most players discover that the universe isn't as deep as it could have been.
  6. Suffers from a severe lack of character development in almost every nook and cranny of its design. But it offers an interesting main story, bottomless value for the dollar in terms of sheer open-ended exploration, and a very cool co-op mode. [May 2003, p.96]
  7. Remarkably compelling. But there's only so much joy to be found in repetition, particularly when dogfighting interludes are so mannered. Ultimately, it's difficult to recall what all the fuss was ever about. [May 2003, p.100]

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    10
    Fast, accessible and most importantly a lot of fun.

    I've spent a lot of hours in this game - mostly in multiplayer with friends but the
    single player campaign is well written with plenty of twists and turns.

    Graphically the game still looks polished - I remember being blown away when I first saw it and they still look crisp and clear today - albeit with fewer effects you would expect of games today. Let's remember it's over 10 years old.

    I recently saw star citizen and thought I'd dust my old copy of Freelancer down. I've just completed the single player campaign (for the third time) and am very pleased there's a handful of mods that take this further.

    In short one of my favourites overall and by far the best for this genre in my opinion. Can't wait for Star Citizen!
    Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    Having spent far more hours playing this game than I probably should have I still have a craving to play through the single player campaign for a third time. Massive universe, great story, seamless controls, fantastic soundtrack.

    I'm yet to get anywhere near as much enjoyment out of a game of the same genre as Freelancer. Needs a sequel.
    Expand
  3. May 29, 2013
    10
    One of my favourite PC games of all time. The atmosphere is great, you really feel free in space and there is a lot to discover. There are many planets and space stations with different ships, weapons and goods for different prices. Opposing parties fight with each other as well as pirates with industrialists. It's the player's decision how he wants to play the game. You can try to find freighters with rare goods to get their loot or you buy your owen frighter yourself and trade. It doesn't get boring for a long long time. I'm looking forward for a new game like Freelancer! Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2010
    9
    One of my favorites for the PC- an engaging single-player storyline, incredible scenery, and a soundtrack that really brings you out into the Freelancer universe. While the free-play mode could use one or two more notches of depth, the online multiplayer was unique and the simple controls let you hit the ground running. This game's shortcomings didn't stop me from falling in love with it, and i still play it from time to time. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    8
    I still play this game occasionally 10 years later.
    The criticisms about the limited scope of missions is true.
    I personally enjoyed the
    Level based storyline where you upgrade your ship to new ships.

    There's still an amazing amount of fan made mods and servers available to play on, which is pretty impressive so many years later.
    There's mods to update the drivers and screen sizes as well to wide screen which is really nice.
    On top of that updated textures and all sorts of stuff.
    It's still a worthy purchase all these years later.

    I hope that Elite dangerous and/or Star citizen will trump it though.
    Expand
  6. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    A beautiful game spoiled only by the microscopically tiny star systems (with planets sitting on top of each other) and the repetitive nature of the combat missions. If you enjoyed Elite or Frontier, you'll love this game. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2010
    6
    While this game was very innovative back in 2003, with it's realitme NPC conversations and well built multiplayer support, only today we can see some of it's major flaws. The lack of variety for such a game is rather amazing, which really becomes noticeable in both singleplayer and multiplayer missions, which are exactly a handful of Go-There-And-Kill-Target sequences. However, this is a very targeted game for third party modders, and with titles like the Discovery Mod, Shattered worlds, Monkey Universe, Flack and others, one might wonder if the Microsoft corp would finally make the game's source code public to enhance the experience of a 2003 game, which is still favored by a wide variety of players even now.

    The game's best features is it's very simple, arcade-like control system, which allows new players to quickly master the movement of their ships, something not a lot of arcade games can boast about. Obviously calling Freelancer a space sim is rather odd, the odd scaling of ships and stations vs planets, lack of gravity, very odd distance measurement and broken physics give this game a clear arcade feel to it. An arcade game, which can keep you amused for a very long time.
    Expand

See all 34 User Reviews