Frozen Synapse PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 194

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 25, 2014
    9
    当年预购CODMW3时得到的,同时得到的还有那个梦境模拟游戏Trauma。玩了一小会,仅仅因为不想玩和难度稍高就没再玩过,但是我很清楚这个游戏的操作机制和游戏性都没问题。推荐尝试。
  2. May 10, 2014
    9
    A thinking man's game. The game is a simultaneous turn based strategy game. You plan your moves and your opponent plans theirs. And then both the team play their moves together at the same time. The game is very simple to learn. Twenty minutes of investment and you know how to play. However it is with included online play that the game comes to life. You can play with hundreds of playersA thinking man's game. The game is a simultaneous turn based strategy game. You plan your moves and your opponent plans theirs. And then both the team play their moves together at the same time. The game is very simple to learn. Twenty minutes of investment and you know how to play. However it is with included online play that the game comes to life. You can play with hundreds of players from around the world. And the best part is you can play at your own pace. Don't want to finish your move today? No problem log in tomorrow and your game is still there! No limit to wait until a player abandons. Get it on a Steam sale! Its worth every penny! Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2014
    7
    Pretty good strategy game, too bad the community is too small and lacks basic improvements. A recent update made it possible to enable timed turns, but the other person has to agree on it, what we wanted was to search for a game with a person that agrees with timed turns (i.e. 5 mins), not to find us a game and then ask the other person if they want timed turns...
    It's pretty good to play
    Pretty good strategy game, too bad the community is too small and lacks basic improvements. A recent update made it possible to enable timed turns, but the other person has to agree on it, what we wanted was to search for a game with a person that agrees with timed turns (i.e. 5 mins), not to find us a game and then ask the other person if they want timed turns...
    It's pretty good to play with friends, if you're playing alone it gets boring rather quickly (you might squeeze 10-15 hours of gameplay).
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    Definitely one of the best Indie games I've ever played, if not THE best. An over the head, simultaneous turn tactical shooter might sound confusing, but the game is brilliantly put together. You have 5 different types of units, each specialized for certain tasks. You plan out your troop's movements in 5 second intervals while your enemy does the same, trying to predict where he's hidingDefinitely one of the best Indie games I've ever played, if not THE best. An over the head, simultaneous turn tactical shooter might sound confusing, but the game is brilliantly put together. You have 5 different types of units, each specialized for certain tasks. You plan out your troop's movements in 5 second intervals while your enemy does the same, trying to predict where he's hiding his guys and what he's likely to do. Then you prime the movement and pray that everything goes according to plan, because it sure as hell isn't likely to.

    Delightfully unforgivable, FS trains you to anticipate and plan for everything. Is he going to shoot a rocket here, or is it safe to keep your gunner behind this wall for another turn? It's been 10 seconds since you saw that shotgunner, better lob a grenade around the corner, in case he's hiding there. Get your sniper trained on that wall and blow it open with a rocket so you can start taking potshots at whoever's on the other side. Your prerun shows that you can't get a gunner across this battlefield before he gets his brains blasted. Have a spare unit draw some fire long enough to get both troops to cover!

    Overall, FS is a great game at a great price. Challenging, fun to master, and put together very well, I'd recommend this game for any fan of the slower, more thoughtful strategy game.

    My only criticism of the game is that every match is ranked. Even a friendly practice round with a buddy will affect your overall score. I'd like an unranked game feature, to take the pressure off of winning even casual round.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    5
    I seem to be the one person this doesn't work for. I've loved squad based tactic games from Laser Squad on the Amiga through the XCOM series through Jagged Alliance and love turn based strategy and maybe... maybe that's the problem. Because this isn't turn based strategy it's paused realtime where you queu up moves and are unable to react to stimuli and personally that just doesn't seem asI seem to be the one person this doesn't work for. I've loved squad based tactic games from Laser Squad on the Amiga through the XCOM series through Jagged Alliance and love turn based strategy and maybe... maybe that's the problem. Because this isn't turn based strategy it's paused realtime where you queu up moves and are unable to react to stimuli and personally that just doesn't seem as fun to me. Plus you get trapped in the old school chasing round the map way too often. Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    Great game! Some consider it too hard but its a pure tactical game. I also agree with that it can be too difficult but hey, all games can't be casual
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    4
    Great idea, I really like both the design and the gameplay. The difficulty level is very high, but that is okay for me. However, Frozen Synapse has two major flaws: It becomes repetitive after a rather short time. And the loading times in between turns are really bad: waiting for 25 seconds for the game to move on to the next turn despite me not having given any orders? I don't have theGreat idea, I really like both the design and the gameplay. The difficulty level is very high, but that is okay for me. However, Frozen Synapse has two major flaws: It becomes repetitive after a rather short time. And the loading times in between turns are really bad: waiting for 25 seconds for the game to move on to the next turn despite me not having given any orders? I don't have the patience for this, sorry. Expand
  8. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The best way to explain this game is, it is essentially a complex game of chess. It really tests ones ability to strategize and to out-smart the opponent. If you enjoy a game that puts your mind to the test, I could not recommend this game more. But if you are a casual gamer that does not enjoy much of a challenge, then I guarantee this would be a waste of your time and a major cause ofThe best way to explain this game is, it is essentially a complex game of chess. It really tests ones ability to strategize and to out-smart the opponent. If you enjoy a game that puts your mind to the test, I could not recommend this game more. But if you are a casual gamer that does not enjoy much of a challenge, then I guarantee this would be a waste of your time and a major cause of frustration. It is a bit pricey for being a relatively simplistic indie game at $25. But I find it well worth the money. Download the demo on Steam and try it for yourself. Expand
  9. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    I think this game has a lot going for it and deserves more praise than it currently has. It is a incredibly deep strategy game and when a turn is being played out, it provides a tension unlike any game I have played. I will agree that the AI in single player can be frustratingly clever at times and unfortunately, the online community is fairly quiet at the moment. The gameplay however isI think this game has a lot going for it and deserves more praise than it currently has. It is a incredibly deep strategy game and when a turn is being played out, it provides a tension unlike any game I have played. I will agree that the AI in single player can be frustratingly clever at times and unfortunately, the online community is fairly quiet at the moment. The gameplay however is hugely satisfying and addictive. When a plan goes your way, it feels awesome. The music is also great (at first) as well as the cool art style. The fact you get two copies with each purchase is clever, so get someone to play with, and you will enjoy this immensely. Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    It's funny when the people giving this game a bad grade (or what ever you want to call it) are only talking about the single player gameplay. It's like saying that LoL is a crappy game because it's single player gameplay sucks. This game is 99,99 multiplayer and 0,01 single player game. If you don't have an internet connection or for some reason hate to play against other people do notIt's funny when the people giving this game a bad grade (or what ever you want to call it) are only talking about the single player gameplay. It's like saying that LoL is a crappy game because it's single player gameplay sucks. This game is 99,99 multiplayer and 0,01 single player game. If you don't have an internet connection or for some reason hate to play against other people do not buy this game or you will be disappointed. But if you do like to play against other people and you like tactical games where psychology plays a big part then this game is a must buy. I consider it to be one of my all time favourite multiplayer games. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    Turn based grid-less version of X-COM but without the resource management and metagame. The most interesting part is planning out both your moves and predicting your enemy's moves, playing it out, and optimizing your turn based on your available information and predictions. LoS and cover can be frustrating with you occasionally you being shot before you can shoot the enemy withoutTurn based grid-less version of X-COM but without the resource management and metagame. The most interesting part is planning out both your moves and predicting your enemy's moves, playing it out, and optimizing your turn based on your available information and predictions. LoS and cover can be frustrating with you occasionally you being shot before you can shoot the enemy without explanation from the game. Single player is pretty generic and multiplayer is a bit empty. I assume most people set up their own matches between friends because I get the feeling this is one of those games that a dozen hardcore people play publicly just to stomp people online. This could be a great tactical play-by-email game between friends but I wouldn't recommend it unless your friends get it or you buy multiple copies for some. Be prepared for 30min-1hr long turns and week long games; this is something you really have to dig deep into. Expand
  12. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    This game is so simple and so complex at the same time. In a world where turn based games seem to have been forgotten, Frozen Synapse comes as a refreshing option to strategy fans. The game is pure fun and addiction.
  13. Aug 2, 2012
    7
    I'm absolutely astonished by this game. Agreed, the graphics are not much to look at, but the gameplay more than makes up for it. This is tactical excellence to the fullest.
    Basicly, you take full control of a squad of infiltrators, and have to eliminate the opposing force. Micromanagement is a must if you want to succeed in this game, and this makes the planning sequence of the game
    I'm absolutely astonished by this game. Agreed, the graphics are not much to look at, but the gameplay more than makes up for it. This is tactical excellence to the fullest.
    Basicly, you take full control of a squad of infiltrators, and have to eliminate the opposing force. Micromanagement is a must if you want to succeed in this game, and this makes the planning sequence of the game crucial to your success. Turns are in 5 second intervals that you have to plan out in advance, and not knowing what the enemy will do can have lethal consequences if you're sloppy in your planning.
    If you're impatient of nature, this is NOT a game for you, especially in multiplayer where waiting for the other player to finish the planning can be quite long.
    But if you like turn based strategy and tactics, the gameplay will keep you hooked for hours.
    Expand
  14. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    It is perfect. I cannot remember the last time I had this fun with a PC game. Rebirth of Rainbow Six feelings (before Ubisoft kill the licence), chess game with rocket launchers. Love it !
    (Dark mode only)
  15. May 16, 2012
    9
    It's a shame when people have only AAA games in their mind and ignore hidden gems such as Frozen Synapse. The game is not for anyone - that can be said about any game out there. But in this case what I mean is that unlike other games where you just rush and kill everything in sight, in Frozen Synapse you must take a slower and more tactical approach. You are in command of a squad ofIt's a shame when people have only AAA games in their mind and ignore hidden gems such as Frozen Synapse. The game is not for anyone - that can be said about any game out there. But in this case what I mean is that unlike other games where you just rush and kill everything in sight, in Frozen Synapse you must take a slower and more tactical approach. You are in command of a squad of soldiers, each equipped with different weapons, from shotguns through sniper rifles all the way to rocket launchers. The game has a good tutorial which can make a person understand the basic and more advanced tactics - from the standard take cover tactics to the more advanced search and destroy where each member of the squad covers the blind spot of the other and thus advance in their search for the enemies. Afterwards people can chose whether they want to advance to the campaign, practice against the computer in skirmish matches or go online against other people around the world. This is a game which would be more suited to the gamers which favor brains and strategy over the standard gamers which know only how to react and rely on reflexes while gaming ... If you are of the first type - I recommend buying this, if you are from the latter one - prove us wrong, joins us and show us ! :) Expand
  16. Apr 18, 2012
    9
    Frozen Synapse is a turn based military strategy game. FS sacrifices pretty graphics and fast action, for a more thoughtful, bare bones experience. The soundtrack is very good, and fits nicely to the mood of the game. The single player campaign is long and challenging, but it's the multiplayer mode that really shines. The secret sauce for this game, in my opinion, is that both players'Frozen Synapse is a turn based military strategy game. FS sacrifices pretty graphics and fast action, for a more thoughtful, bare bones experience. The soundtrack is very good, and fits nicely to the mood of the game. The single player campaign is long and challenging, but it's the multiplayer mode that really shines. The secret sauce for this game, in my opinion, is that both players' turns resolve at the same time. You can plan out your own moves, and then endlessly simulate what you think your opponent will do until you get your plan just right. You not only have to account for what your opponent has done, but also what you think he might do. After both players submit their turns, you get to see the results. The anticipation of waiting to see if your plan worked the way you thought it would is awesome. Games can take from several minutes, to several days, depending on how fast each player submits their turn. You can get email notifications that it's your turn if you are offline, which is a neat feature. The slow pace and fairly high learning curve may turn some people off. It took me about 5 hours of playing before I really had any clue what I was doing. It's a different kind of strategy game, but potentially very rewarding if you have the patience. Expand
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    Think of Frozen Synapse like playing chess with military soldiers, but the board changes each time you play. I love to play chess so that is probably the reason I like this game. There's an intricate amount of detail underneath its simplicity. This is turn-based strategy done right.
  18. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    Not for everyone. I used some of the single player levels to learn about the game. braved up and tried multiplayer and never went back to the story mode. no need. The music is amazing, the graphics are fitting. all around this time sink got way more out of me than I paid. and I still have a smile. so.. high score from me.
  19. Jan 26, 2012
    3
    This is a game that could work well as a conceptual/research project for something bigger, but as it stands, becomes tiresome too quickly.

    The gameplay is innovative, but there is a steep learning curve to get the hang of it. Once you do master the gameplay, the game is put down by repetitiveness and bland level design. The minimalist glowing neon art style is interesting at first, but
    This is a game that could work well as a conceptual/research project for something bigger, but as it stands, becomes tiresome too quickly.

    The gameplay is innovative, but there is a steep learning curve to get the hang of it. Once you do master the gameplay, the game is put down by repetitiveness and bland level design. The minimalist glowing neon art style is interesting at first, but soon turns to boredom since levels all look pretty much the same. The amateurish looking UI tends to overlap the gameplay area, making it harder to see what's going on. This is made worse by the fact that you need to use the keyboard to scroll the area. The absence of a mini-map doesn't help things either. Overall, a bland, repetive game with a cumbersome interface. Put your money elsewhere.
    Expand
  20. Jan 22, 2012
    4
    I've played it, passed few maps, did what seemed to be correct and failed. Failing itself isn't that frustrating (it's part of every game) but the loading times between each part of the decision making process... I don't have time for such a thing! Idea seems good and the art direction is recognizable but entry barrier is too high. Sorry.
  21. Jan 19, 2012
    8
    Such a simple concept, yet so brilliantly executed. A superb comination between RTS and TBS, and one of few strategy games were strategy really matters (as opposed to say multi-tasking, or memorising building orders).
  22. Dec 25, 2011
    4
    The game is ok, but the AI is what really disappoints me since that is the main ingredient to play this game. It's not about controlling things entirely yourself. I got bored of the tutorial, and decided to move on to the campaign, I know what I'm doing. But when I reached the hostage mission its impossible to complete it. Thanks to the overpowered sniper, that is basically an aimbotThe game is ok, but the AI is what really disappoints me since that is the main ingredient to play this game. It's not about controlling things entirely yourself. I got bored of the tutorial, and decided to move on to the campaign, I know what I'm doing. But when I reached the hostage mission its impossible to complete it. Thanks to the overpowered sniper, that is basically an aimbot because he always detects my soldier when I attempt to kill him. So, this game could had been really good if they improved the AI; I also think they ripped off the theme of DEFCON and Uplink Expand
  23. Dec 23, 2011
    8
    This was a game I enjoyed but it's definitely not for everyone. The complexity and the amount of time it'll take to actually get good at this game seem daunting. But if your willing to go out of your way to learn the ropes then you'll enjoy this game quite a bit. I personally have not played in an online match so far but I hear the community is a good one and is willing to help you to getThis was a game I enjoyed but it's definitely not for everyone. The complexity and the amount of time it'll take to actually get good at this game seem daunting. But if your willing to go out of your way to learn the ropes then you'll enjoy this game quite a bit. I personally have not played in an online match so far but I hear the community is a good one and is willing to help you to get better, instead of bashing you for learning how to play. I'd recommend it to people, but the one person I've already talked to said they hated it. Definitely read up on this game first before you buy it as it might not be for you. Expand
  24. Nov 28, 2011
    9
    Im after 9 hours of gameplay and i can only say - amazing tactical game! First minutes were pretty hard, you can easily get discouraged... Controls does not seem clear, but when you get hang of it - it becomes easy and intuitive. Gameplay is tactical driven, but you'll mostly find rock-paper-scissors mechanics here. In every mission you will take control of soldiers, in random generatedIm after 9 hours of gameplay and i can only say - amazing tactical game! First minutes were pretty hard, you can easily get discouraged... Controls does not seem clear, but when you get hang of it - it becomes easy and intuitive. Gameplay is tactical driven, but you'll mostly find rock-paper-scissors mechanics here. In every mission you will take control of soldiers, in random generated scenery. There's always an objective, but nothing will surprise you - attack, defend, take hostage, rescue hostage.. and so on. In most situations you'll have limited turns to complete you task, so no messing around. Gameplay involves planning phase, when you give orders... then you can test your plan and finally - execute it. The other side is doing the same thing so you need to think ahead of your opponent. So where's the rock-paper-scissors mechanics? Your team operate in simple ways - soldier in cover always beats exposed unit, shotgun wins with everyone in close quarters, sniper always beats every unit in distance ( vice versa he gets killed in close quarters in a second) ... and so on and so on. You'll at least hour to get a grip of it and think about every possible situation and its outcome. Then you can really enjoy the game ! :) Single Player Campaign is about 50 (!!!) missions long... I guess im not far than 10 and it's getting seriously hard. Nevertheless, multiplayer is the most interesting feature in Frozen Synapse. Playing with live opponent is far more exciting. The mechanics allow you to participate in 5 or more matches in one time, you just conclude your turn and while waiting for other player - play another skirmish. Of course your can compete in leaderboards or even upload your replays on youtube... instantly. What else can i say? Buy it. It's great. Support indie developers. Support GOOD games. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    **** don't buy this why have this game 8.0 User Score ?
    Mode 7 have creat a bad Game soory but this is not a good game for me.
    Is to hard to hard !!!
  26. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    One of the best tactical game i ever had, all you have to do is think what the enemy want to do and move accordly, you can simulate each move (even the possible move of the enemy) before commit your turn, so the random factor is next to zero.
    The only bad thing is a poor communication with the developers, there are a few problems that could be easly fixed, but after that it's a very solid
    One of the best tactical game i ever had, all you have to do is think what the enemy want to do and move accordly, you can simulate each move (even the possible move of the enemy) before commit your turn, so the random factor is next to zero.
    The only bad thing is a poor communication with the developers, there are a few problems that could be easly fixed, but after that it's a very solid product. Buy it (on Steam) and send the extra copy to a friend who loves hard tactical games.

    P.S. the music is really amazing too..
    Expand
  27. Aug 21, 2011
    3
    has the POTENTIAL to be a good game - it's a good game ENGINE. Just not a good game. No variety, no reason to continue playing. Just the same thing over and over again. Really did not care for it.
    O. And the graphics are TERRIBLE! Like, 1986 terrible.
  28. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    Very addicting game. If you want a strategy game which emphasizes the word "strategy" then pick this. If you lack the knowledge and capacity to realize this game is like a game of chess, and trying to determine your opponents movement patterns to outsmart them like Shinigurai who gave this game a 1 (since you cant skip the tutorial or he cant outsmart the AI he gives it a 1, pro tip thereVery addicting game. If you want a strategy game which emphasizes the word "strategy" then pick this. If you lack the knowledge and capacity to realize this game is like a game of chess, and trying to determine your opponents movement patterns to outsmart them like Shinigurai who gave this game a 1 (since you cant skip the tutorial or he cant outsmart the AI he gives it a 1, pro tip there Shini, its a tutorial you're not usually supposed to skip those things, its there to teach you). I played the demo for 20 minutes and beat a few skirmishes, enjoyed the ambient music and decided hey I get a free copy with this game once I buy it too? Sweet. Gift for a friend. This game is meant to exercise the brain. Its like that Sudoku but with guns, and instead of numbers you have infantry. It is very addicting and I have a hard time putting it down. Pick this up. Expand
  29. Aug 13, 2011
    9
    An extremely polished, unique, underrated game. People complain about the AI, Graphics, and Price. Fact is, the AI will beat you many times, but you realise that "Oh, I should've noticed that rocket over there." Another fact, since when did graphics make up a game? Walk in with an open mind. It's a small indie game, not a massive AAA game. Also, the price is not $25. It actually is $12.50,An extremely polished, unique, underrated game. People complain about the AI, Graphics, and Price. Fact is, the AI will beat you many times, but you realise that "Oh, I should've noticed that rocket over there." Another fact, since when did graphics make up a game? Walk in with an open mind. It's a small indie game, not a massive AAA game. Also, the price is not $25. It actually is $12.50, but you can't buy one copy. My only complaints are the storyline and the unfair advantage the AI gets. Usually, I start with 1 rocket and two machinegunners while the AI also gets a shotgunner. The story I could not understand, but you don't need to in order to like this game. Otherwise, it is a very good game that deserves all the respect it can get. Expand
  30. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Frozen Synapse is a great little turn-based strategy game, but before you eagerly click the "buy" button, know a few things:

    -It's targeted to a niche slow-paced strategy crowd, so if you prefer fast-paced RTS games or twitchy shooters, you may want to pass on this one. -The AI is hard as balls and is almost psychic. It takes a lot of PATIENCE to beat the campaign. You can't just pray
    Frozen Synapse is a great little turn-based strategy game, but before you eagerly click the "buy" button, know a few things:

    -It's targeted to a niche slow-paced strategy crowd, so if you prefer fast-paced RTS games or twitchy shooters, you may want to pass on this one. -The AI is hard as balls and is almost psychic. It takes a lot of PATIENCE to beat the campaign. You can't just pray that the AI won't make a certain move- you need to position your units such that the AI will be forced into a loss. That being said, it makes winning all the more satisfying =]

    -I couldn't really understand the storyline. It's probably just me. Maybe you have to play it a few times, but it involves a lot of strange names that are hard to keep track of.

    -The main reason I gave it an 8/10 is because there are a lot of bugs and frequent crashes. The final mission bugged out on me so I had to watch the ending on Youtube. This is rather frustrating.

    If you're cool with all that, then you really can't go wrong for the price.
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    90
    A fast-paced tactical game that is easy to approach but has depth in spades when you dig into it. The mix of randomness and determinism isn't quite optimal, but the end result is mostly excellent. Despite some lacklustre storytelling, even the single player side provides hours and hours of quality gaming. A cult classic. [Aug 2011]
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    80
    Pure strategy, complex but solid controls and an irresistible multiplayer make Frozen Synapse a surprise hit. It's not a beautiful looking game, but ignore the basic presentation, because this is a game everyone should try at least once.
  3. Aug 14, 2011
    70
    Frozen Synapse is no rival to full-fledged tactical strategy games, but it's an ideal time-killer for a lunch break.