Game Dev Tycoon Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 745 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game Dev Tycoon is a business simulation game in which you replay the history of the gaming industry by starting your own video game development company in the 80s. Create best selling games. Research new technologies and invent new game types. Become the leader of the market and gain worldwide fans. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  6. Aug 29, 2013
    65
    Game Dev Tycoon is a simple, but extremely funny and entertaining game. It would be far superior just adding certain technical improvements and gameplay components. Those responsible should continue to develop this original idea. They could achieve a great title just by implementing a few changes and adding some content. A really nice offer.
  7. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 280
  1. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    It is really the best game that i have ever played!
    I bought it on Steam Autumn Sale, so, you must to buy it too, because there are no games
    that like this one. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is really fun. It gets harder when you progress which I like. I like games that are easy ,but they get harder and harder. I mean I don't know what to say. It's like giving you an easy start and then they give you a challenge.... I don't care what other say. You don't like tycoon games is what I say ,but this game is really fun... How can you hate on such a fun game? Game Dev Tycoon needs an 10/10 and here it is. I rate it 10/10. Really fun I can play it for hours which I agree. 3 hours spend on this game says everything Expand
  3. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    Please ignore bound4earth, he doesn't understand that its the same company which made the flash game, that made this one. It is a very entertaining game and appeals to all gamers. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2013
    8
    fun game to play while you learn about the life of game developers
    the story follow what happened in real life add the fun i this game

    a
    lot of room for improvement though waiting for updates or sequel Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    Game dev tycoon is original, quirky, fun, fairly cheap and rewarding, yet it is massively frustrating and badly made (the resolution is too big for my monitor, no way to fix it...). It's a decent game, and will give you a good amount of fun. I'd recommend it. Expand
  7. Aug 23, 2014
    0
    I thought this was a remake of a Game Dev Story by Kiarosoft, it's actually a completely mindless unoriginal copycat POS I have ever seen. It's one thing to go for the same genre and subject, but another to also steal every single idea. I sincerely hope you guys paid some licensing fee otherwise I hope you get sued and go bankrupt. 0/10, uninspired, unoriginal, disappointing, meh, borderline thieving. Expand

See all 280 User Reviews