Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Jun 11, 2011
    49
    Only the fact that games like this are rare on PC may make Garshasp an interesting game for some people. But we hardly had any fun with it. What did the developers do during the three years of development time?
  2. Jul 14, 2011
    44
    Garshasp falls short of genre standards in nearly every way, and its shortcomings are too numerous to compensate for. [Sept 2011, p.75]
  3. May 24, 2011
    40
    On a good day, it's even approaching mediocre or average. Then you fall into the swamp because the killing animation took you over the edge of your small raft and you die instantly.
  4. May 17, 2011
    40
    Garhasp was developed by a nine people studio, and taking this into account, it's impressive. But that's the only way it is. It's not enough to deliver 3 hours of gameplay with poor production values, especially considering its current price.
  5. Jul 13, 2011
    35
    There are average hack & slash games that have their faults, like Conan or Viking: Battle for Asgard, but fans of the genre can usually overlook them in favor of having fun. Garshasp, however, sadly doesn't come close to being one of those games.
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    33
    Dead Mage Studios have said they are going to put out an update to fix these issues but for the time being we will just have to make do. Garshasp shows potential but it needs some fixes to make it worth that $19.99. At only three and a half hours of gameplay and with all the constant bugs and glitches, I can't condone the pricing when you are going to be regretting it more and more as you play through.
  7. May 24, 2011
    25
    Rather than a careful exposition of Persian themes and stories we get a shambling mess of a game that fails to deliver on any front. What's most disappointing is that rather than making the classic text accessible, Garshasp's narrative just mires too deep in forgotten lore to be interesting to anyone who doesn't already know what it's about. This is definitely a game about Persians and by Persians but it lacks the fundamentals to be enjoyed by anyone, including Persians.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 12
  2. Negative: 6 out of 12
  1. May 26, 2011
    4
    The game plays well for me so I have no issues with the gameplay, however, the camera angles are sometimes ridiculous and I'm currently at on point where I cannot progress any further in the game as I cannot see where I am supposed to be jumping too due to the camera angle.

    The game has had updates but the response from the devs is poor, I asked one question regarding a changelog as the game was being updated but I had no idea what was being changed and to date I have had no reply to that request, this is my first and last game bought from this dev.

    It's a shame as the game could be great with a few camera tweaks and a little more feedback from the devs but I refuse to support a game I cannot complete due to issues.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    It's very good, i like this game for simple texture with good scenario. i think this game can goes better with enhancing graphical scene. the story is really fascinating. Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2011
    8
    For an indie team of just 9 people this is really great.
    Graphic: One of the best looking indie games, and some sort of uniqueness about art
    style, Persian mythology looks interesting in this title for me.
    Gameplay: There is nothing new in this title, but combat and other mechanics are good enough for 4-5 hours of gameplay time. Not so bad for an indie game.
    Sound and Music: SFX is good enough too but music sounds interesting for me.
    Overall: The game was some sort of fun for me to play, this hack n slash type games are new for PC and I think a price cut can help to sell better.
    Full Review »